نزع الجنسية القضائي للدومينيكيين المنحدرين من أصل هاييتي

إذا ما طُبق أحد القرارات التي صدرت مؤخراً عن المحكمة الدستورية في الجمهورية الدومينيكية على النحو الذي صيغ عليه، فسيكابد آلاف الدومينيكيين مشاكل انعدام الجنسية وستُبعث رسالة إلى الدول الأخرى مفادها أن عمليات إزالة الجنسية الجماعية التعسفية مقبولة طالما أنها أجريت بأمر قضائي.

صار التمتع بالجنسية والحقوق المترتبة عليها في الجمهورية الدومينيكية أمراً مستحيل المنال عند المنحدرين من أصل هاييتي الذين يتراوح تعدادهم بين 250000 و500000 شخص من بين كل عشرة ملايين نسمة تقريباً.[1]وقد عكست التغييرات الأخيرة التي طرأت على دستور الجمهورية الدومينيكية وما تبعها من تفسيرات خاطئة من قبل المحكمة الدستورية في سبتمبر/أيلول 2013 التهديد الذي يواجه المنحدرين من أصل هاييتي والتي تنتزع منهم جنسيتهم كلية مثلما جاء في القانون الدولي بالرغم من كونهم مواطنين بموجب دستور البلاد نفسه.

ولعل من الأسباب الرئيسية وراء تهميش الدومينيكيين المنحدرين من أصل هاييتي عزوف الدولة من قديم الأزل عن الاعتراف بجنسيتهم الدومينيكية. فمنذ 1929 وحتى يناير/كانون الثاني 2010، منح الدستور الدومينيكي الجنسية الدومينيكية لجميع الأطفال الذين ولدوا على الأراضي الوطنية واستثنى منهم أبناء الدبلوماسيين و"العابرين أراضي البلاد" في وقت ولادة الطفل. وقد أصرت الجمهورية الدومينيكية لسنوات على أن الأطفال المنحدرين من أصل هاييتي المولودين في الجمهورية الدومينيكية لا يحق لهم التمتع بحقوق الجنسية الدومينيكية لأن أباءهم كانوا مجرد عابرين للبلاد في وقت ولادتهم حتى إن كانت عائلاتهم قابعة في البلاد لأجيال عديدة.

وفي سبتمبر/أيلول 2005، كانت محكمة البلدان الأمريكية لحقوق الإنسان أول محكمة دولية تصل بما لا يدع مجالاً للشك أن الحظر على أساس التمييز العنصري يمتد إلى قضايا الجنسية. ففي حكم تاريخي في قضية بين يين وبوسيكو ضد الجمهورية الدومينيكية، حكمت المحكمة بأن التطبيق العنصري الذي تجريه الجمهورية الدومينيكية لدستورها وقوانين المواطنة وتسجيل المواليد واللوائح الخاصة بذلك لديها تتسبب في انعدام جنسية الأطفال المنحدرين من أصل هاييتي وتمنعهم من التمتع بالمساواة في حق الحماية أمام القانون. فقد أقرت المحكمة بما يلي" "بالرغم من أن تقرير من هم مواطني دولة ما مازال ضمن نطاق سياسة هذه الدولة، يجب تحديد السلطة التقديرية للدول بحقوق الإنسان الدولية القائمة لحماية الأفراد ضد الإجراءات التعسفية التي تتخذها الدول. فليس للدول ممارسة سلطتها التقديرية بصورة مطلقة في منح الجنسية نظراً لالتزاماتها بضمان المساواة في الحماية أمام القانون وللحول دون حدوث مشاكل انعدام الجنسية وتجنبها وتقليلها".[2]

ومع ذلك، فبوصفه قرار ملزم قانوني، كان لحكم المحكمة أثر معاكس للهدف المقصود منه على الصعيد الوطني. فحتى قبل قضية يين وبوسيكو، سنت الحكومة في 2004 قانوناً للهجرة توسع في تعريف "العابرين لأراضي البلاد" ليضم "غير المواطنين" جميعهم وهي فئة واسعة تشتمل على أي فرد قادر على إثبات إقامته الشرعية في البلاد. ومن هذا المنطلق، يتغير معنى منح الجنسية الوارد في الدستور دون تغيير أسلوب صياغته. وبعد قضية يين وبوسيكو، سار تطبيق هذا القانون بخطى حثيثة. وعلى الرغم من وجود نية لتطبيق ذلك مستقبلياً، بدأت هيئة التسجيل المدني الدومينيكية في تفعيله بأثر رجعي لسحب الجنسية من الدومينيكيين المنحدرين من أصل هاييتي الذين قد اعترفت السلطات مسبقاً بصحة جنسيتهم.

ففي 26 يناير/كانون الثاني 2010، صدقت الجمهورية الدومينيكية على دستور معدل على نحو كبير لا يمنح الجنسية إلا لأطفال "المواطنين" المولودين على الأرض الدومينيكية. وهكذا، لا يتمتع من ولدوا في الجمهورية الدومينيكية عقب يناير/كانون الثاني 2010 ولا يملكون وثائق ثبوتية لجنسية أبائهم الدومينيكية أو لإقامتهم الشرعية في البلاد بحق الحصول على الجنسية الدومينيكية وذلك لأن أباءهم في أعين السلطات غير مواطنين بصرف النظر عن المدة التي قضوها أو قضتها عائلاتهم على أراضي البلاد الدومينيكية والتي قد تمتد إلى أجيال عديدة.

ولعل من الأمور المزعجة أيضاً أن الوثائق الثبوتية الحكومية للإقامة الشرعية المحدد الرئيسي للحقوق التي يجب أن يتمتع بها الفرد وليست الأحداث الواقعية. وقد تجد أن لآباء فرد ما أو لأجداده جميع حقوق المواطنة التي نص عليها الدستور الدومينيكي ولكنهم في الوقت عينه لا يمتلكون ما يثبت ذلك جراء الإخفاقات البيروقراطية أو اللوجستية للدولة أو جراء ممارسات التمييز العنصري المتبعة بها. وبهذا، يُعلي الدستور الجديد من قيمة الممارسات التاريخية للدولة، حتى إن كانت خاطئة أو ناقصة في وقت تنفيذها، لتصبح العوامل المحددة لحقوق الأفراد حالياً في البلاد.

وعقب رفض هيئة التسجيل المدني منح الدومينيكيين المنحدرين من أصل هاييتي وثائق الهوية، مثل: بطاقات الهوية الوطنية وشهادات الميلاد دون امتلاكهم اعترافاً رسمياً أو أوراقاً ثبوتية تدل على جنسيتهم، عانى كثيرون من تدهور أوضاعهم المعيشية. فبالنظر إلى سمة المواطنة على أنها "المدخل للحياة"، لم يعد حق الحصول على الجنسية على المحك وحسب بل امتد ذلك أيضاً ليشمل التمتع بحقوق الشخصية الاعتبارية والمساواة أمام  القانون والحياة الأسرية والتعليم والمشاركة السياسية وحرية التنقل. فبدون الحصول على جنسيتهم قانونياً، ستستمر نظرة الحكومة للدومنيكيين المنحدرين من أصل هاييتي على أنهم دائماً سكان غير شرعيين على أراضي بلادهم.

التطورات الأخيرة

جاءت الصفعة الأخيرة على يد حكم المحكمة الدستورية الصادر في 23 سبتمبر/أيلول 2013 التي قضت بأن جوليانا ديجاس بيير، التي ولدت في الجمهورية الدومينيكية عام 1984، قد سجلت خطأً بوصفها من أصل دومينيكي عند مولدها. فقد قررت المحكمة الدستورية أن والديها، الذين لم يتمكنا من إثبات أن هجرتهم إلى الجمهورية الدومينيكية كانت "نظامية"، "أجانب عابرين لأراضي البلاد" بموجب التشريعات المحلية الدومينيكية. وبهذا، لم يكن لجوليانا حق المواطنة الذي قد مُنحته عند ولادتها وأقرت المحكمة ضرورة سلبها هذا الحق. وقد أمرت المحكمة الدستورية أيضاً هيئة التسجيل المدني بفحص جميع شهادات الميلاد جميعها الصادرة منذ عام 1929 وحذف جميع الأشخاص المسجلين خطأً والمعترف بهم بوصفهم مواطنين دومينيكيين.

وكان قراراً غير مسبوقاً من قبل المحكمة الدستورية. فبادئ ذي بدء، من حيث أعداد المتضررين، زعم بعضهم أن هذا القرار سيتمخض عن فقدان ما يناهز 200,000 شخص لجنسيته. فالاعتراف المسبق بهم بوصفهم دومينيكيين جردهم من أحقيتهم في الجنسية الهاييتية إلا إذا ما تمكنوا من اكتساب الجنسية الهاييتية التي لن تتأنى لهم إلا بالإقامة مجدداً في هاييتي. 

ثانياً، يتجاهل قرار المحكمة الدستورية على نحو صارخ حكم قضية يين وبوسيكو الملزم قانونياً وينتهك الدستور الدومينيكي الذي ينص على ضرورة عدم تطبيق أحكامه بأثر رجعي ويؤكد على أنه عند تعارض سلطتين قانونيتين يجب أن يسود المبدأ الذي يكفل الحقوق الفردية أكثر من غيره. وبعيداً عن محكمة البلدان الأمريكية والدستور الدومينيكي، ثمة ثلاث مبادئ حقوق إنسان تؤطر تشريع المواطنة، هي: حظر ممارسات التمييز العنصري، وحظر أسباب انعدام الجنسية، وحظر الحرمان التعسفي للتمتع بحق المواطنة. إلا أن قرار المحكمة ينتهك هذه المبادئ الثلاثة.

ردود الفعل تجاه هذا القرار

كان للقرار أثر صادم في جميع أرجاء البلاد والمنطقة ومجتمع حقوق الإنسان الأوسع. فما معنى أن تتخذ الهيئة المعنية بتفسير الدستور قراراً متنافياً مع معنى النص الدستوري نفسه؟ وما هو دور القانون في هذه الحالة؟

ويمكن الزعم أنه يحق للسلطة التنفيذية الدومينيكية عدم تنفيذ هذا القرار انطلاقا من احترام الدستور نفسه، ولكننا نجد في الوقت نفسه اقتناع كثير من الدومينيكيين بأهمية احترام هذا القرار لأنه صدر عن أعلى محكمة في الدولة حتى إن كانوا يشعرون في قراره أنفسهم بأخطاء هذا القرار.

وقد أعرب كل من مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين واليونيسيف والولايات المتحدة والاتحاد الأوروبي عن اهتمامهم بهذه القضية. وقد شجبت الجماعة الكاريبية بصراحة هذا القرار بأن علقت النظر في طلب الجمهورية الدومينيكية الانضمام للجماعة الكاريبية وطالبت بضرورة مناقشة الوضع مرتين في المجلس الدائم لمنظمة الدول الأمريكية. وقد انتقد الشتات الدومينيكي في الولايات المتحدة عموماً القرار وقد يعود ذلك لتخيلهم ما قد تؤول إليه حياتهم إذا ما قررت الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية إتباع المبدأ نفسه.

وها هي الأعين تتحول جميعها إلى مدينا، رئيس حكومة الجمهورية الدومينيكية، المعني بتنفيذ قرار المحكمة الدستورية. فقد سارع بتقديم اعتذار لجميع المتضررين من هذا القرار فور صدوره مؤكداً أنه لن يُسلب أي شخص جنسيته ثم ما لبث أن تراجع عن اعتذاره وبرر ذلك بضرورة احترام قرار القانون على الرغم من قلقه إزاء الآثار الإنسانية التي قد تترتب على مثل هذا القرار، وسرعان ما طالب بتحليل أوضاع المتأثرين بهذا القرار وتقييمها قبل أن يعلن نهائياً بأن الحكومة سائرة قدماً على طريق تنفيذ هذا القرار.

وعقب ثلاثة أشهر من إصدار قرار المحكمة الدستورية، أجرت لجنة البلدان الأمريكية لحقوق الإنسان زيارة للجمهورية الدومينيكية. وأثناء مهمتها، أعلن الرئيس مدينا طرح مشروع قانون للتجنيس إلى مجلس النواب لإرجاع الجنسية للمتضررين من هذا القرار الذين سبق أن اعترفت هيئة التسجيل المدني فعلياً بحقوق مواطنتهم. إلا أن "مشروع قانون اكتساب الجنسية الخاص" هذا تعطل كثيراً.

وبعد انتهاء مهمتها، قررت اللجنة ضرورة أن تشتمل إجراءات تنفيذ قرار المحكمة الدستورية على:

  • ضمان حق التمتع بالجنسية لدى الأفراد الذين يحظون فعلياً بهذا الحق بموجب النظام القانوني المحلي المفعل منذ 1929 إلى 2010.
  • عدم الاشتراط على الأشخاص الذين انتُزعَت جنسيتهم  فنياً، بموجب القرار للتسجيل بوصفهم أجانب وجعله شرطاً أساسياً للاعتراف بحقوقهم.
  • التأكد من أن ضمانات تمتع المتضررين من قرار المحكمة الدستورية بحق الجنسية عامة وتلقائية وألا تكون تقديرية أو تنفذ بطريقة تمييزية.
  • ضمان أن آليات استعادة حق المواطنة أو ضمان التمتع بهذا الحق ميسرة مالياً.
  • إشراك المجتمع المدني وممثلي المتضررين في قرار المحكمة.[3]

فإذا ما تجلت هذه المبادئ في "خطة تقنين أوضاع الأجانب غير النظاميين في الجمهورية الدومينيكية"، فقد نتمكن من تفادي جزء من عدم الإنصاف المتأصل في قرار المحكمة الدستورية.

وقد حان الوقت لأن يجد المجتمع الدولي طريقة للتعبير عن أن "سيادة القانون" لا تشير إلى أي شيء أو إلى كل شيء تقره المحكمة ولكن لهذه السيادة مضموناً مستقلاً وإجرائياً وعلى المجتمع الدولي أن يرفع التكلفة السياسية التي ستتكبدها الجمهورية الدومينيكية إذا ما شرعت في تنفيذ قرار المحكمة الدستورية على هذا النحو.

 

ليليانا غامبوا liliana.gamboa@opensocietyfoundations.org مسؤولة البرامج في مشروع المساواة والمواطنة وجوليا هارينغتون ريدي julia.harringtonreddy@opensocietyfoundations.org مسؤولة قانونية رئيسية في مشروع المساواة والمواطنة في مبادرة العدالة في المجتمع المنفتح. www.justiceinitiative.org

 



[1]انظر ودينغ ب. "تفنيد ممارسات التمييز العنصري وانعدام الجنسية في الجمهورية الدومينيكية", مجلة الهجرة القسرية، العدد 32 "انعدام الجنسية". www.fmreview.org/ar/pdf/NHQ32/23-25.pdf

(Contesting discrimination and statelessness in the Dominican Republic)

[2]ديلسيا يين وفيوليتا بوسيكو ضد الجمهورية الدومينيكية، محكمة البلدان الأمريكية لحقوق الإنسان، قضية رقم 12,189 (سبتمبر/أيلول 8، 2005).

[3] "الملاحظات الأولية لزيارة لجنة البلدان الأمريكية لحقوق الإنسان إلى الجمهورية الدومينيكية",لجنة البلدان الأمريكية لحقوق الإنسان، سانتو دومينجو، 6 ديسمبر/كانون الأول 2013. www.oas.org/en/iachr/media_center/PReleases/2013/097A.asp

(Preliminary Observations from the IACHR’s Visit to the Dominican Republic)

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Judicial denationalisation of Dominicans of Haitian descent

Liliana Gamboa and Julia Harrington Reddy

A recent Constitutional Tribunal decision in the Dominican Republic, if implemented as drafted, will leave thousands of Dominicans stateless and send a lesson to other states that mass arbitrary denationalisations are acceptable as long as they are judicially mandated.

In the Dominican Republic (DR) enjoyment of nationality and its attendant rights has become all but impossible for persons of Haitian descent – a population that numbers between 250,000 and 500,000 in a population of about ten million.[1] Recent changes in the DR’s constitution, followed by a perverse interpretation by the Constitutional Court in September 2013, have heightened the threat that Dominicans of Haitian descent – although citizens under a plain reading of the constitution – will become permanently stateless, as defined by international law.

An important cause of the marginalisation of Dominicans of Haitian descent is the state’s longstanding reluctance to recognise their Dominican nationality. From 1929 until January 2010 the Dominican constitution granted Dominican nationality to all children born on national territory, except for those born to diplomats and to parents who were “in transit” at the time of the child’s birth. For years the DR insisted that individuals of Haitian descent born in the DR had no right to Dominican nationality because their parents were in transit, even when these families had been in the country for multiple generations.

In September 2005, the Inter-American Court of Human Rights became the first international tribunal to find unequivocally that the prohibition on racial discrimination applies to nationality. In a landmark judgment, Yean and Bosico v. Dominican Republic, it ruled that the DR’s discriminatory application of its constitution, citizenship and birth-registration laws and regulations rendered children of Haitian descent stateless and unable to access equal protection before the law. The Court affirmed that: “Although the determination of who is a national of a particular state continues to fall within the ambit of state sovereignty, states’ discretion must be limited by international human rights that exist to protect individuals against arbitrary state actions. States are particularly limited in their discretion to grant nationality by their obligations to guarantee equal protection before the law and to prevent, avoid, and reduce statelessness.”[2]

Notwithstanding that it is a legally binding decision, the Court’s ruling had the opposite of its intended effect at the national level. Even before Yean and Bosico, in 2004 the government passed a migration law that expanded the definition of “in transit” to include all “non-residents”, a broad category which included anyone who could not prove their lawful residency in the country. In this way the meaning of the nationality provision of the constitution was changed without changing its wording. After Yean and Bosico, application of this law was stepped up. Although intended to be applied prospectively, the Dominican civil registry agency (JCE) began using it retroactively to withdraw citizenship from Dominicans of Haitian descent whose nationality it had previously recognised.

On 26th January 2010, the DR adopted a heavily revised constitution which accords citizenship only to children of “residents” born on Dominican soil. Thus individuals born in the DR after January 2010 who do not have documentary proof of their parents’ Dominican citizenship or legal residency no longer have the right to Dominican nationality, as their parents are now categorised as non-residents – regardless of how long they or their families have lived in the DR, which might extend to generations.

Equally disturbing, it is now government-issued documentary proof of legal residency that determines what rights an individual has, rather than real events. An individual’s parents or grandparents may have had every right to citizenship under the earlier Dominican constitution, yet been denied that proof due to bureaucratic or logistical failings of the state, or discrimination. The new constitution thus elevates the historic actions of the state – even though they may have been wrong or flawed at the time they were committed – to be determining factors of the rights of individuals today.

After the JCE began refusing to give Dominicans of Haitian descent identity documents such as national identity cards and birth certificates without official recognition — documentary proof — of their nationality, many of them experienced an erosion of their quality of life. Due to citizenship’s character as a ‘gateway’, it is not only the right to nationality that is at stake but also the rights to juridical personality, equality before the law, family life, education, political participation and freedom of movement. Without access to their lawful nationality, Dominicans of Haitian descent will continue to be consigned by their own government to a status of permanent illegality in their own country.

Recent developments

The latest blow was a ruling of the Constitutional Tribunal (CT) on 23rd September 2013 which ruled that Juliana Deguis Pierre, who was born in the Dominican Republic in 1984, had been wrongly registered as Dominican at her birth. The CT decided that her parents, who allegedly could not prove that their migration status in the DR was “regular”, were therefore “foreigners in transit” for the purposes of Dominican domestic legislation. Therefore, Juliana was not entitled to the citizenship she was granted at birth and must be denationalised. Going further, the CT also ordered the JCE to thoroughly examine all birth registries since 1929 and remove from them all persons who were supposedly wrongly registered and recognised as Dominican citizens.

The CT decision is unprecedented. Firstly, in the numbers affected: some argue that as many as 200,000 persons will be made stateless. Their prior recognition as Dominicans makes them ineligible for Haitian nationality except by naturalisation, which in turn requires residence in Haiti. 

Secondly, the CT decision is in flagrant disregard of the legally binding Yean and Bosico decision, and violates the Dominican constitution, which provides that its provisions should not be applied retroactively and which also holds that where two legal authorities contradict each other, the principle most protective of individual rights should be upheld. Beyond the Inter-American Court and the Dominican constitution, there are three basic human rights principles that frame the regulation of citizenship: the prohibition against racial discrimination; the prohibition against statelessness; and the prohibition on arbitrary deprivation of citizenship. The ruling violates all three principles.

Reactions to the ruling

The decision sent shockwaves throughout the country, the region and the wider human rights community. What can it mean when the body charged with interpreting the constitution takes a decision at odds with the constitution’s plain language meaning? Where does the rule of law stand?

Arguably, the Dominican executive should not implement the ruling out of respect for the constitution itself; however, many Dominicans, while recognising the ruling’s flaws, believe that it must be respected simply because it was issued by the nation’s highest court.

Statements of concern were issued by UNHCR, UNICEF, the US and the European Union. The Caribbean Community (CARICOM) has been outspoken in its condemnation of the ruling; it suspended consideration of DR’s application to join CARICOM and demanded that the situation be discussed, twice, in the Organization of American States Permanent Council. The Dominican diaspora in the US seems generally critical of the ruling – perhaps because it is easy to imagine the devastation that would be wrought in their lives if the US ever applied a similar principle.

Now all eyes turn to President Medina of the Dominican Republic, head of the branch of government that must implement the CT decision. Immediately after the ruling he apologised to those affected, saying he would ensure that no one would be denationalised; then he retracted the apology, stating that the rule of law must be respected, although he was concerned by the humanitarian effects of the ruling; then he called for an analysis and assessment of the numbers of those affected, before finally announcing that the government would proceed with full implementation of the ruling.

Within three months of the CT ruling, the Inter-American Commission of Human Rights visited the DR. During the mission, President Medina announced that a special naturalisation bill would be submitted to Congress to restore the nationality of those affected by the ruling whose citizenship had already been recognised by the JCE. However, this ‘special naturalisation bill’ has been repeatedly delayed.

Following its mission, the Commission specified that implementing measures of the CT ruling should:

  • guarantee the right to nationality of those individuals who already had this right under the domestic legal system in effect from 1929 to 2010
  • not require people such as those who were technically denationalised by the ruling to register as foreigners as a prerequisite for their rights to be recognised
  • ensure that guarantees of the right to nationality of those affected by the CT ruling are general and automatic, and must not be discretionary or implemented in a discriminatory fashion
  • ensure that mechanisms to restore or guarantee citizenship must be financially accessible
  • involve civil society and representatives of the populations affected by the court decision.[3]

 

If these principles are reflected in the ‘Regularization Plan for Foreigners in an Irregular Migratory Status in the Dominican Republic’, part of the worst injustice inherent in the CT ruling may yet be averted.

Now is the time for the international community to find a way to articulate that ‘rule of law’ does not refer to anything and everything handed down by a court but has substantive as well as procedural content, and to raise the political cost to the DR of implementing the CT decision as it stands.

 

Liliana Gamboa liliana.gamboa@opensocietyfoundations.org is Program Officer for Equality and Citizenship and Julia Harrington Reddy julia.harringtonreddy@opensocietyfoundations.org is Senior Legal Officer for Equality and Citizenship in the Open Society Justice Initiative. www.justiceinitiative.org



[1] See Wooding B ‘Contesting discrimination and statelessness in the Dominican Republic’, Forced Migration Review issue 32 ‘Statelessness’ www.fmreview.org/en/FMRpdfs/FMR32/23-25.pdf

[2] Dilcia Yean and Violeta Bosico v. Dominican Republic, Int. Am. Ct. H.R. Case No. 12.189 (Sept. 8, 2005).

[3] ‘Preliminary Observations from the IACHR’s Visit to the Dominican Republic’, Inter American Commission on Human Rights, Santo Domingo, December 6, 2013 www.oas.org/en/iachr/media_center/PReleases/2013/097A.asp

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.