التنمية ومخاطر التَّهجير

غلوسيا بوير وماثيو ماكينون

للتغير المناخي آثار لا يُستهان بها على حالات الطوارئ قد يغفلها أحيانًا تحدي التنمية. ومع ذلك، يُحدث تغير المناخ أنماطًا نظامية من التدهور الاجتماعي والاقتصادي تؤثر بدورها على عوامل التَّهجير بسبب الكوارث وتستلزم وجود استجابات موازية لها.

من المعروف على نطاق واسع أنَّ غالبية الأشخاص المهجَّرين يعيشون في مستوى خط الفقر أو دونه وأنَّ الفئات ذات الدخل المنخفض تتأثر على نحو غير متكافئ بالكوارث المرتبطة بالطقس. وعلاوة على ذلك، إذا ما جنبنا عامل الكوارث نجد أنَّ ثمة مجموعة من العواقب المختلفة المرتبطة أيضاً بالمناخ المتغير تُضعف عامل المرونة وخاصة عند مزارعي الكفاف ما يجعلهم أكثر استضعافًا. وبهذا تعد هذه العواقب دافعًا قويًا للهجرة من الريف إلى الحضر؛ وحتى إن أمكن تجاوز المسائل المناخية تجاوزًا كبيرًا بفعل المبررات "الاقتصادية" التي تقدمها تدفقات المهاجرين، سينتهي المطاف غالباً بكلتا فئتي المهاجرين في الأحياء الفقيرة نفسها.[1]

تفرض الأيام شديدة السخونة ومواسم الجفاف الطويلة والقاسية وقلة هطول الأمطار عمومًا ثم انهمارها بغزارة فجأة ضغوطًا لا يُستهان بها على المجتمعات الريفية منخفضة الدخل. ويعاني مجال الصحة، على سبيل المثال، من الظروف المواتية بشدة لانتشار الأمراض المنقولة عن طريق الغذاء والماء والحشرات. وتقلص مواسم الزراعة القصيرة وقليلة التوقعات إضافة إلى قلة هطول الأمطار وزيادة معدل الفيضانات المحاصيل الزراعية في حين يقلل زيادة عدد الأيام شديدة الحرارة من إنتاجية العمل في الهواء الطلق (الغالبية العظمى من جميع أعمال مجتمعات زارعي الكفاف) وتجعله أكثر خطورة بسبب الإرهاق والجفاف. وبزيادة صعوبات زراعة المحاصيل والعمل التي تعرقل المزارعين، يطل انعدام الأمن الغذائي برأسه وتتزايد معدلات سوء التغذية لدى الأطفال في الوقت نفسه.

تدهور المناطق الريفية في المنطقة الشرقية العليا بغانا

تتجلى آثار زيادة درجات الحرارة على مجتمعات الكفاف بشدة في هذه المنطقة من غانا التي كانت في يوم ما سلة خبز البلاد. ومن أساليب تعويض قصور مواسم الزراعة أو القدرة الإنتاجية توسيع مساحة الرقعة الزراعية ولكن ذلك غالباً ما يأتي على حساب الأشجار وعلى حساب التنوع البيولوجي وجودة الأرض ومساحة الظل التي يتمتع بها المزارعون وتحتاجها المحاصيل. وتساهم إزالة الغابات والأشجار وتدهورهما في زيادة تغير المناخ بفعل فقدان نقاط امتصاص الكربون وفي قسوة مسببات الاستضعاف أيضاً، مثل: رفع درجات الحرارة المحلية وزيادة مواسم الجفاف وكثرة معدل الفيضانات. وعلاوة على ذلك، ما زالت حتى الآن أقل الأراضي إنتاجية المناطق الوحيدة المزروعة ما يعني أن نقص المحاصيل سيأتي بعواقب وخيمة.

تؤثر الخسائر في الدخول الخاصة بالمثل على قطاع الخدمات العامة. ويمثل تراجع الاستثمارات في البنية التحتية المحلية للمياه مشكلة على وجه الخصوص لأنها تقلص مساحة الأراضي المتاحة الصالحة للزراعة أثناء موسم الجفاف ما يدفع مزيداً من الناس إلى الهجرة موسميًا. ولا يمكن إنكار مؤشرات وجود الضغوط المجتمعية أيضاً. فمثلًا، يرعى مالكو المزارع الصغيرة عدداً قليلاً من الماشية ويعهدون أيضاً بعدد قليل آخر إلى رعاة الماشية الرحّل من قبيلة الفولاني التي تتردد على الأراضي الهامشية في المنطقة. وفي ضوء الاعتماد سابقًا على المنفعة المتبادلة لخدمات الرعي مقابل الغذاء أو الدخل، أظهر نقص هذا النوع من التبادل كيفية انتقال صدمات سبل كسب الرزق التي تواجهها المجتمعات المستقرة من خلال القنوات الاقتصادية لتضر بالعلاقات الاجتماعية التقليدية.

 

القدرة الاستيعابية لأنظمة الحكم تحدد المرونة

مثل تلك الظروف الصعبة شائعة في المجتمعات الريفية في جميع أرجاء المناطق المدارية النامية. والمستضعفون تحديدًا هم الدول والمجتمعات التي تحتل فيها إسهامات القطاع الزراعي نصيب الأسد في الناتج الاقتصادي أو من مساحة القوى العاملة فيها والتي تشتمل على أعداد كبيرة أيضًا من الأسر التي تعيش في مستوى الكفاف. وبالرغم من اختلاف التفاصيل، غالبًا ما نصل للنتيجة نفسها؛ أناس وخاصة من فئة الشباب تتدهور حالتهم سراعًا بالهجرة بأعداد متزايدة للعيش في المدن وأحيائها الفقيرة. وبهذا تنتقل معهم المشاكل إلى الحضر فضلًا عما تحمله تلك العملية بين طياتها من مخاطر على كلا من مجتمعات المنشأ والمقصد.

وفي حين تقدم المجتمعات الريفية المنهكة مناخيًا في إفريقيا جنوب الصحراء الكبرى وأمريكا الجنوبية وآسيا وحتى في الشرق الأوسط إمدادات جاهزة من السكان الجدد إلى الأحياء الفقيرة الحضرية، لا تتأثر المناطق المماثلة جغرافيًا في جنوب غرب الولايات المتحدة أو في أستراليا مثلًا على النحو نفسه على الرغم من الضغوط المناخية المشابهة التي تتعرض لها هذه المناطق. وتبرز هذه الحقيقة أهمية قدرة المجتمع المحلي الاستيعابية وأنظمة الحكم في التعامل مع مثل هذه التغيرات المناخية.

التجديد الريفي

وُضعت مجموعة واسعة من الإجراءات والمقاربات للتكيف مع تغير المناخ مثلما هو بارز في الأنشطة الموسعة التي تنبأت بها برامج العمل الوطني للتكيف. [2] ومع ذلك، في مجتمعات الكفاف المسيطرة، العامل الرئيسي الذي يعوق تحقيق الاستجابات غياب وسيلة يُعتمد عليها لبدء هذه الإجراءات ,وإدامتها. ويتطلب استخدام بذور ذات جودة أعلى وأكثر مقاومة للجفاف ووجود مرافق مياه أفضل أو أنظمة أرصاد جوية يمكن أن يغطيها التأمين المتناهي الصغر من بين جميع المبادرات الأخرى بلا استثناء نفقات يصعب توفيرها ما يعرقل إمكانية الوصول لمن هم من أكثر القادرين على تقديم المساعدة.

لا تتطلب جميع مبادرات التكيف مع تغير المناخ موارد لكنَّ زيادة القدرة الاستيعابية واستخدام المقاربات القائمة على المرونة من شأنها زيادة نطاق الاستجابات المتاح زيادة كبيرة. وفي حالة منطقة شمال غانا على وجه الخصوص (انظر المربع النصي)، يعد عكس اتجاه تدهور سبل كسب الرزق خطوة مهمة على طريق تأمين الاستثمارات للبنية التحتية للمياه والري والحفاظ على المناطق المحمية وتوفير التأمين وغيرها من الإجراءات الكثيرة التي قد تكون في متناول اليد في ضوء زيادة القدرة الاستيعابية. 

وفي الوقت الذي تعد فيه الحكومات قادرة على دفع عجلة التغيير من خلال الحوافز المالية أو حملات التوعية، لدى كثير من أصحاب المصلحة أيضاً، مثل: جماعات الضغط على الحكومة في المجتمع المحلي أو المنظمات الدينية، فرص لتعزيز المرونة والتجديد الريفي بالرغم من التغيرات المناخية الحادثة. وعلاوة على ذلك، من شأن الاقتصاد الريفي الأكثر حيوية توفير عائدات أكبر تُجنى من الهجرة الموسمية والدائمة من خلال زيادة احتمالات تبادل المهارات والروابط التجارية وتصبح حينها التحويلات النقدية ذات نفع محلي ملموس. وبهذه الطرق، يمكن أن تُمثل الهجرة جزءًا من إستراتيجية التكيف بدلًا من كونها مجرد الملاذ الأخير.

الخاتمة

حرص برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي على جعل المرونة في مواجهة تغير المناخ والكوارث الطبيعية محورية في خطته الاستراتيجية للأعوام 2014-2017 ويهتم كذلك البنك الدولي اهتمامًا متزايدًا بآليات التكيف مع تغير المناخ وتخفيف حدته. وقد كان برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي أيضاً مشاركًا رئيسيًا في الجهود المبذولة لتقديم حلول التنمية للتغلب على تحديات الحاضر المتزايدة الكامنة في النُّزوح المطوَّل وذلك من خلال طرح المبادرات، مثل: تحالف الحلول وخطة الاستجابة الإقليمية لسوريا والصمود الإقليمي للاجئين السوريين.[3]

وتواجه الدول والمجتمعات الأكثر استضعافاً للتغير المناخي تحديًا كبيرًا في التغلب على اتجاه تدهور الحالة الريفية وضغوط الهجرة في ضوء تسارع التغيرات البيئية والمناخية. وسيتطلب فهم الطبيعة المتغيرة للنُّزوح المتعلق بتغير المناخ التفكير في التنمية وإدراك أهمية الاستجابات الإنمائية الفعَّالة في الوصول إلى الحلول المستدامة لمثل هذه التحديات.

غلوسيا بوير glaucia.boyer@undp.org متخصصة في سياسات الحلول الإنمائية للنُّزوح  وماثيو ماكينون matthew.mckinnon@undp.org متخصص في منتدى دعم المستضعفين جراء التغيرات المناخية في مكتب السياسات ودعم البرامج التابع لبرنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي.

www.undp.org/content/undp/en/home/ourwork/climate-and-disaster-resilience/overview.html

 

 


[1] انظر مجلة الهجرة القسرية، العدد 34  "التأقلم مع النزوح في المناطق الحضرية" صwww.fmreview.org/ar/urban-displacement

 [2] راجع مقال وارنر وآخرون

[3]  www.3rpsyriacrisis.org وwww.solutionsalliance.org

 ملحوظة: سيغطي العدد 51 من مجلة الهجرة القسرية هذا الموضوع: انظرwww.fmreview.org/ar/solutions

 

FMR 49
May 2015

المحتويات

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

Development and displacement risks

Glaucia Boyer and Matthew McKinnon

Climate change has such significant implications for emergencies that sometimes the development facet of the challenge can be overlooked. Yet the impact of climate change induces systemic patterns of socio-economic erosion that also affect the dynamics of disaster displacement and that require parallel responses.

It is widely recognised that most displaced persons live on or below the poverty line, and that lower-income groups are disproportionately affected by weather-related disasters. Furthermore, disasters aside, a host of different consequences also associated with a changing climate weaken resilience, especially of subsistence farming groups, and thereby breed further vulnerability. These are then an amplifying factor for rural to urban migration, even if climate issues are largely concealed by ‘economic’ explanations for migrant flows and both groups of migrants often end up in the same slums.[1]

Hotter days, longer and more intense dry seasons and less overall rain but heavier downpours place significant pressures on low-income rural communities. Health, for instance, suffers due to more favourable conditions for food-, water- and vector- borne diseases. Shorter, less predictable growing seasons, less rain and more flooding all cut farm outputs, while the increase in the number of extremely hot days makes outdoor work (the great majority of all work in subsistence farming communities) less productive and more dangerous because of exhaustion and dehydration. As it becomes harder for farmers to grow produce and to work, food insecurity climbs, with child malnutrition rates typically increasing in tandem.

Rural erosion in Ghana’s Upper East Region

The effects of increases in heat on subsistence communities have been most pronounced in this region of Ghana, once the breadbasket of the country. One way to compensate for diminished growing seasons or productive capacity is to extend the amount of land under cultivation; however, this is very often at the expense of trees and therefore at the expense of biodiversity, land integrity and shade for farmers and crops. Deforestation and the degradation of trees and forests not only contribute to more climate change through the loss of carbon sinks but can also intensify local heat, drought and flood vulnerabilities. Moreover, only the least productive lands remain to be brought under cultivation, so these diminishing yields come at great expense.

Private revenue losses likewise affect public services. Declining investment in local water infrastructure is particularly problematic because it shrinks the area of arable land available during the dry season, leading more people to migrate seasonally. Indications of societal strains are evident too. As smallholder farmers keep fewer livestock, for example, they also entrust fewer to the care of nomadic Fulani herdsmen who frequent marginal lands in the region. Previously reliant on the mutually beneficial interchange of herding services for food or income, the erosion of this exchange demonstrates how livelihood shocks for settled communities can be transmitted through economic chains, harming traditional social ties.

 

Governance capacity defines resilience

Challenging conditions like these are common to rural communities across tropical developing regions. Particularly vulnerable are countries and communities with very high agricultural sector contributions to economic output or to the workforce, and large numbers of subsistence-level households. Although the specifics vary, the outcome is frequently the same: people, especially youths, hasten decline by leaving in growing numbers for cities and their slums. Problems are not only transposed to the urban realm; the process also compounds risks for communities of both origin and destination.

While climate-stressed rural communities of sub-Saharan Africa, South America, Asia and even the Middle East furnish a ready supply of new inhabitants to urban slums, geographically similar areas of the south-western US or of Australia, for instance, are not affected in the same way despite analogous climate pressures. This fact underscores the significance of community capacity and governance systems to deal with such change.

Rural renewal

A wide variety of measures and approaches to adapt to climate change have been developed, as highlighted for instance by the breadth of activities foreseen by National Adaptation Programmes for Action.[2] Among predominantly subsistence communities, however, the key factor restricting responses is a lack of reliable means to initiate and sustain such measures. Higher quality, more drought-resistant seeds, improved water installations or meteorological micro-insurance schemes, among other initiatives, all typically require effectively unachievable outlays, circumscribing access for those most in a position to benefit.

Not all initiatives to adapt to climate change require resources but increased capacity and resilience-based approaches greatly expand the feasible range of responses. In the specific case of northern Ghana (see Box), reversing the trend of livelihood erosion is a critical step for securing investment in water and irrigation infrastructure, for maintaining conservation zones, for accessing insurance and the countless other measures that could increasingly fall within reach as capacity expands.  

While governments can stimulate change through fiscal incentives or education campaigns, many stakeholders, such as community interest groups or religious organisations, also have opportunities to foster resilience and rural renewal in the face of climate change. A more vibrant rural economy would additionally enable greater dividends to be reaped from seasonal and permanent migration by increasing the probability that exchanges of skills, business links and remittances are of real local benefit. In these ways, migration can form part of an adaptation strategy rather than simply be a last resort.

Conclusion

The United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) has made resilience to climate change and natural disasters central to its 2014-17 Strategic Plan and the World Bank is placing growing emphasis on climate change adaptation and mitigation. UNDP has also been centrally involved in efforts to provide development solutions to today’s increasingly protracted displacement challenges through initiatives such as the Solutions Alliance and Syria’s Regional Refugee and Resilience Plan (3RP).[3]

The countries and communities most vulnerable to climate change do however face a major challenge in overcoming the propensity to rural decline and migratory pressure as climate and environmental change continues apace. Understanding the evolving nature of climate-related displacement will require thinking in terms of development, with the effectiveness of development responses central to reaching durable solutions for these challenges.

 

Glaucia Boyer glaucia.boyer@undp.org is Development Solutions for Displacement Policy Specialist and Matthew McKinnon matthew.mckinnon@undp.org is Climate Vulnerable Forum Support Specialist in UNDP’s Bureau for Policy and Programme Support. www.undp.org/content/undp/en/home/ourwork/climate-and-disaster-resilience/overview.html



[1] See FMR 34 ‘Adapting to urban displacement’ www.fmreview.org/urban-displacement

[2] See article by Warner et al page 8-9.

[3] www.3rpsyriacrisis.org and www.solutionsalliance.org Note that FMR issue 51 will cover this subject: see www.fmreview.org/solutions

 

FMR 49
May 2015

Contents

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. All articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.