ضرورة وجود مقاربة إثنوغرافية في بيرو

جيريميا كوميتي

من النادر أن تحظى التحركات البشرية بالشروحات الوافية على أساس أنها مستحثة بالعوامل البيئية والمناخية. وعليه، لا يمكن اعتبار أي تحليل للتحركات السكانية مكتملاً ما لم يأخذ بالتبعات الثقافية للتغير المناخي على المجتمعات المتأثرة.

هناك قصور في معظم الأبحاث المتعلقة بالارتباطات بين التغير المناخي والهجرة من ناحية أخذ منظورات المجتمعات المتأثِّرة. أما المقاربة الإثنوغرافية التي تضع في اعتبارها الطريقة التي تمثل فيها هذه المجتمعات التغير المناخي فتقدم نظرة أدق لعملية التحليل وتسمح بأن يتحقق فهم أكبر لدى العاملين على هذا الموضوع للتحديات الماثلة أمام تلك المجتمعات.

الكيوروس من الجماعات الأصلية التي تعيش على ثلاثة مستويات من الارتفاع على المنحدرات الشرقية لجبال الأنديز في البيرو وكل مستوى منها ينفرد بخصائصه البيئية. وعلى مدار العشر سنوات الماضية، بدأت أعداد كبيرة من قبائل الكيروس في جبال الأنديز البيروفية الهجرة للتَّعليم والعمل واستجابة لتغير المناخ. وقد غادر بعضهم ببساطة البلاد في حين بقى آخرون يتحركون ذهاباً وإياباً أو وسعوا مجال تحركاتهم البدوية لتشمل المدينة..واتفقت قبائل الكيروس على تضاءل إنتاجية محصول البطاطس وتدهور جودته أيضاً بفعل تغير نمط هطول الأمطار. وزعموا أن هذا التغير مسؤولًا أيضاً عن انتشار الطفيليات التي تؤثر على البطاطس والجوع والوفيات بين قطعانهم من الألبكة واللاما.

وبالرغم من تفسير العوامل الاقتصادية والاجتماعية والبيئية إلى حد ما لهجرة قبائل الكيروس، ما زال هذا التفسير ناقصًا لعدم إدراجه لطريقة تلقي قبائل الكيروس تغير المناخ. وتقوم المقاربة الغربية المعيارية على ثنائية من عنصرين متضادين هما الناس وثقافاتهم من ناحية والطبيعة والبيئة من ناحية أخرى إذ يستبعد أحد عنصري الثنائية الآخر. وفي هذا المنظور الحتمي، يمكن النظر إلى الهجرة كشكل من أشكال التكيف أما التغير المناخي فيقود في بعض مضموناته إلى الهجرة.

ومن وجهة نظر قبائل الكيروس، العلاقات بين الطبيعة والبشر مستمرة وليست منفصلة.. ويبرر معظم قبائل الكيروس تغير المناخ بكونه نتيجة للانقسام في علاقتهم المتبادلة مع آلهتهم، مثل تحول بعضهم لديانات أخرى وهجرهم لممارساتهم التقليدية واستخدام آخرين سمعتهم كالشامان لجني الأرباح من السائحين وسكان المدن.

وبهذا ترى قبائل الكيروس رابطًا بين تغير المناخ والهجرة ولكنه ليس علاقة سببية نشأت نتيجة ثنائية الناس والطبيعة. ولكنهم يرون هجرتهم بعيدًا عن مناطقهم التقليدية وبعيدًا عن طقوسهم أو عن تفعيل هذه الطقوس سببًا في تغير المناخ. فهم يرون أنَّ تخليهم عن طقوسهم الجماعية التي كانت تضمن نمو محاصيلهم وصحة ماشيتهم جلبت عليهم تغير المناخ.

ويساعد مراعاة وجهة نظر قبائل الكيروس في تسليط الضوء على الدلالة الرمزية لتغير المناخ أولاً وفي افتراض التفاعل بين تغير المناخ والهجرة ثانيًا وهو أمر أكثر تعقيداً ويتجاوز العلاقة السببية التقليدية. وهكذا، لا يكتمل التحليل إذا أخفق في مراعاة العواقب الثقافية لتغير المناخ على المجتمعات المتضررة بأن يستخدم السياق الغربي السائد جنبًا إلى جنب مع وجهة نظر المجتمع المتأثر.

جيريميا كوميتي geremia.cometti@college-de-france.fr  زميل ما بعد الدكتوراه في مؤسسة العلوم الوطنية السويسرية في مختبر الأنثروبولوجيا الاجتماعية، باريس. http://las.ehess.fr/

FMR 49
May 2015

المحتويات

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

The necessity for an ethnographic approach in Peru

Geremia Cometti

A movement of people is rarely explained by environmental or climatic factors alone. Therefore an analysis which does not take into consideration the cultural consequences of climate change for affected societies is incomplete.

Most research into the links between climate change and migration does not sufficiently consider the perspectives of the affected societies. An ethnographic approach which takes into account the way that these societies represent climate change gives more rigour to the analysis and allows those who are working on the issue to better understand the challenges.

The Q’eros are an indigenous group living in three levels of altitude on the eastern slopes of the Andes in Peru, each with their own ecology. Over the past ten years large numbers of Q’eros have begun to migrate – for education, for work and in response to climate change. Some of them just leave and others move back and forth or extend their nomadic movements to include the city. The Q’eros are agreed that potato crop productivity has been diminishing and that its quality is also suffering because of the changing pattern of precipitation. They claim this change is also responsible for the spread of a parasite affecting the potatoes, and for hunger and deaths among their flocks of alpacas and llamas.

Although economic, social and environmental factors explain to some extent the migration of the Q’eros, the explanation is incomplete because it lacks the inclusion of the way that the Q’eros make sense of climate change. The standard Western approach is built on the dichotomy between people and their culture on the one hand and nature and the environment on the other. In that determinist perspective, migration can be seen as a form of adaptation; climate change in some sense leads to migration.

In the Q’ero worldview, relationships between nature and people are conceived as continuous, not disjoined. Most Q’eros explain the changing climate as the result of the breakdown of the reciprocal relationship they have with their divinities; some of them have turned to other religions and abandoned their traditional practices and others are using their reputation as shamans to turn a profit from tourists and city-dwellers.

So the Q’eros do see a link between climate change and migration but it is not the kind of causal link arising from the dichotomy between people and nature. They would say that their migration – away from their traditional areas, away from their rituals, or instrumentalising those rituals – brings about climate change. With them no longer keeping up the collective ceremonies that were designed to guarantee their harvest and the health of their animals, the climate has begun to change.

Taking into account the point of view of the Q’eros helps, firstly, to highlight the symbolic significance of climate change and, secondly, to posit an interaction between climate change and migration that is more complex and goes beyond classic causality. Besides, an analysis which does not take into consideration the cultural consequences of climate change for affected societies – putting the dominant Western discourse together with the viewpoint of the society involved – is incomplete.

Geremia Cometti geremia.cometti@college-de-france.fr is a post-doctoral fellow of the Swiss National Science Foundation at the Laboratoire d'Anthropologie Sociale, Paris. http://las.ehess.fr/

FMR 49
May 2015

Contents

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. All articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.