اللاجئون والتغير المناخي والقانون الدولي

ماريا حوسيه فيرنانديز

كيف يمكن لفئة "لاجئي المناخ" أن تلقى الاهتمام ضمن القانون الدولي في القرن الواحد والعشرين؟

إذا سلَّمنا بوجود ظاهرة التغير المناخي التي يتسبب بها البشر، لا يمكننا أن ننكر المضمونات الواضحة لها على حقوق الإنسان. لكنَّ الأمر الذي ما زال غير واضح كيفية ودرجة وصف تأثيرات الغير المناخي على أنها تمثل انتهاكات لحقوق الإنسان بالمعنى القانوني البحت.  فالقانون لا يرى شيئاً اسمه "لاجئو المناخ" رغم الاستخدام الكبير لذلك المصطلح  لأن القضايا المناخية والبيئية لا تقع ضمن تعريف اللاجئ في اتفاقية اللاجئين لعام 1951.

 ومع ذلك، يمكن تطبيق مبدأ عدم الإعادة القسرية على الحالات التي لا يوجد فيها أمل معقول بعودة المهاجرين إلى الأوضاع التي تهدد حياتهم. فالتغير المناخي غالباً ما ينظر له على أنه عنصر مضاعف للمخاطر في سياق الظروف الاجتماعية والاقتصادية والبيئية القائمة مسبَّقاً التي تمثل عناصر أساسية من عناصر الخطر لكل مجتمع محلي. ومع أنَّه من الممكن القول إنَّ الأفراد الذي يواجهون الفقر الشديد في بلدانهم الأصلية قد يخضعون للتسويغ ذاته على أساس فهمنا لوجود مسائل هيكلية واقتصادية ضمنية تتجاوز نطاق سيطرة هؤلاء الأفراد، فهنا تظهر "المسؤولية" على أنها عنصر حيوي في هذا الإطار إضافة إلى أهمية عنصر التوافق على سبب التغير المناخي. فنحن نعيش في وضع عالمي يعولم فيه كل شيء حتى التلوث وحيث يصعب فيه تأسيس المسؤولية الخارجة عن نطاق الاختصاص الإقليمي لبلد ما.

وهناك انفصام ملحوظ بين حقوق الإنسان والتغير المناخي. ويتضمن الموضوع خطابين اثنين منفصلين يستبعد أحدهما الآخر من الناحية العملية. ومن عينة الوثائق المختارة التي بلغ مجموعها 65 وثيقة اختيرت من 294 وثيقة ضمت قرارات الجمعية العمومية للأمم المتحدة والمعاهدات والاتفاقيات وغيرها من التقارير والوثائق، تبين أن 23% منها تذكر التغير المناخي و25% كانت تتعلق بالقضايا التي تشير إلى المهاجرين واللاجئين لكنَّ 6% منها فقط أسست علاقة بين الظاهرتين.

ومن هنا يتضح فقدان الربط بين التغير المناخي والهجرة والمعاملة القانونية لتلك الفئة من اللاجئين. وكذلك الصكوك القانونية المتاحة لنا حالياً وكثير منها صيغ قبل بضع سنين لا تنظر في الجوانب التي تثير الجدل اليوم في حين لا تؤدي غيرها دوراً عدا عن أن تكون صكوكاً ثانوية (مثل الإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان للأمم المتحدة واتفاقاتها الدولية واتفاقية الحد من ظاهرة انعدام الجنسية وإعلان قرطاجنة حول اللاجئين). وهذا يجعل تعريف مسؤولية الدول إزاء التغير المناخي واحداً من أكثر القضايا تعقيداً.

وبالنظر إلى غياب أي صك قانوني يمنح الحماية للأشخاص المهجرين بالتغير المناخي أو العوامل البيئية، يرى بعض الناس ضرورة في إصدار صك جديد مخصص لهذه الحالة. ولكي تحقق الاستجابة المرجوة أكبر قدر من الفعالية، يجب أن تنظر في التنقلات المرتبطة بالتغير المناخي ضمن إطار واسع لحقوق الإنسان. وفي عام 2010، عُرضَت نسخة ثانية لمسودة 2008 التي صاغها مختصون من جامعة ليموز، وتعد تلك النسخة واحدة من أكثر الاقتراحات اكتمالاً لهذا التاريخ.[1] وهي مساهمة قيِّمة لأنها تجمع ما بين الحماية والمساعدة والمسؤولية وتُدمج عنصر القرب المكاني ونسبة التأثير والتأثر ونبذ التمييز وتسلط الضوء أيضاً على مبدأ المسؤوليات المشتركة والمتمايزة في آن واحد.

وهناك عوائق حالياً لا يمكن التغلب عليها تواجه عملية التأسيس لاتفاق دولي ويرتبط بعض تلك العوائق بالإرادة السياسية. ففي السنوات الأخيرة، تضاعفت أعداد المنتديات الدولية التي تبحث في الأمور المناخية والبيئية لكن أياَ منها لم يتمخض عنه حلول ملزمة. ومع ذلك، حتى لو تبنى المجتمع الدولي تلك الاتفاقية المطلوبة، نتوقع أن المصادقة عليها لن يكتمل إلى الدرجة التي نرجوها وهذا ما سيؤدي إلى إضعافها.

وفي الوقت الحالي، سيكون من الصعب إن لم يكن من المستحيل تحقيق إجماع عالمي على قضية تحركات السكان الدولية والتغير المناخي. وبالإضافة غلى ذلك، سيكون من الخطر أن ننقل إلى القانون الدولي الجدل الدائر الذي ما زال أصلاً يثير الخلافات في المجال العلمي، والأسوأ من ذلك أن عملية الانتقال تلك سوف تقود إلى تعديل الكيانات القانونية التي ما زالت تنشط حالياً، رغم العيوب التي تعتريها، في حماية اللاجئين. وأي تغيير على الأنظمة النافذة قد يعرض للخطر التقدم المحرز حتى الآن في أوائل سنوات القرن الواحد والعشرين. فقد ازداد عدد اللاجئين (وفقاً للتعريف الحالي) في السنوات الأخيرة ما يعني أن مضاعفة هذا العدد لن يكون ذا فائدة ترجى إذا لم يُترجَم على أرض الواقع في تحسين وضع حقوق الإنسان وكرامة الأشخاص المتأثرين.

ومن ناحية أخرى، سوف يؤدي تقييد حماية المتأثرين بالتغير المناخي إلى تهميش المتأثرين بالظواهر الجيولوجية البيئية والتغيرات التي تطرأ عليها (سواء أكانت تلك التغيرات ناتجة عن فعل البشر أم لا) وهذا ما قد يكون محوراً للنقاش القانونية من ناحية المسؤوليات وليس من ناحية حقوق الإنسان.

ولعل الظروف الحالية لا تسمح لإيجاد تعريف للمشكلة التي ما زال الغموض يحيط بها. فلا بد من إيجاد تعريف بعدي للوضع القانوني لهؤلاء المهاجرين لتأسيس ما إذا كان بالإمكان تمييزهم بشكل أو بآخر كجماعة لها خصائصها المنفردة عن غيرها.

وفور تأسيس هذه المقاربة، سوف تكون الحلول الإقليمية أو ثنائية الأطراف المؤسسة المنحى الأكثر تفضيلاً للسير قدماً في التعامل مع هذه المسألة. وسيعني ذلك العمل مع الحكومات المتأثرة حول استحداث الحلول التي سوف تتضمن إجراءات التعامل مع الحالات في المكان ووضع استراتيجيات التكيف التي يصاحبها التزام حقيقي بخفض انبعاثات التلوث. ومع أنَّ الاستجابة الإقليمية من هذا النوع قد لا تبدو بالطموح المطلوب، فستمثل الخطوة الأولى نحو بذل مزيد من الجهود الدولية واسعة النطاق.



[1] مشروع لاتفاقية حول الوضع الدولي للأشخاص المهجّرين بسبب العوامل البيئية.http://tinyurl.com/CIDCE-Environmental-displaced

 

FMR 49
May 2015

المحتويات

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

Refugees, climate change and international law

María José Fernández

How can the category of ‘climate refugee’ be considered within international law in the 21st century?

If we accept that anthropogenic climate change does exist, we cannot deny the obvious implications of this in terms of human rights. What is not so obvious is how and to what extent the effects may be described as violations in the strict legal sense. Legally the concept of ‘climate refugee’ does not exist, despite the term being in frequent use, as climate and environmental issues do not fall within the definition of refugee in the 1951 Refugee Convention.

Nevertheless the principle of non-refoulement could apply in situations where there was little reasonable hope that migrants will return to life-threatening situations. Climate change is frequently viewed as a risk multiplier in the context of the pre-existing social, economic and environmental conditions that constitute the key risk factors for each community. Although it could also be argued that individuals facing extreme poverty in their countries of origin could be subject to the same justification on the understanding that there are underlying structural and economic questions beyond their control, this is where the element of ‘responsibility’ is vital and, in this sense, agreement on the cause of climate change is fundamental. We live in a global situation where even contamination is globalised and where extra-territorial responsibility is, at the very least, difficult to establish.

There is a disconnect between human rights and climate change. The issue involves two totally separate discourses that are mutually exclusive in any practical sense. Of a sample of 65 documents selected from 294 relevant United Nations (UN) General Assembly Resolutions, Treaties and Conventions, other reports and documents, some 23% were found to mention climate change and 25% were on issues referring to migrants and refugees but only 6% established a connection between the two.

The lack of a link between climate change, migration and the legal treatment of the category of refugee is clear. The legal instruments currently at our disposal, many of them shaped years ago, do not consider aspects that generate debate today, while others can only serve as subsidiary instruments (such as the UN’s Universal Declaration of Human Rights and its International Covenants, the Convention on the Reduction of Statelessness and the Cartagena Declaration on Refugees). Defining state responsibility for climate change is one of the most complex issues.

Given that no legal instrument offers protection relating to people displaced by climate or environmental factors, some people see the need for a new and specific instrument. The most effective responses would have to consider movements related to climate change within a broad human rights framework. In 2010, a second version was presented of a 2008 draft, drawn up by specialists from the University of Limoges, which is one of the most complete proposals to date.[1] It is a valuable contribution as it combines protection, assistance and responsibility, incorporating the principles of proximity, proportionality and non-discrimination, and highlighting the principle of common but differentiated responsibilities.

There are some currently unavoidable obstacles in the way of establishing an international agreement, some of which are linked to political will. In recent years, the number of international forums on climate and environmental issues has multiplied but none of these has arrived at any binding solutions. However, even were one adopted, we could expect ratification to be less complete than is necessary, resulting in an instrument that is weak.

At the moment, then, it would be difficult, perhaps impossible, to achieve global consensus on the issue of international population movements and climate change. Also, it is a risky move to transfer into international law a debate which continues to generate controversy in the scientific sphere and, worse still, for that transferral to lead to the modification of legal entities that currently function – in spite of their deficiencies – to protect refugees. Any change to the statutes in force could endanger the advances achieved so far in the early years of the 21st century. The number of refugees (by the current definition) has increased in recent years; swelling that number further would serve no purpose if this is not translated into an improvement in terms of the human rights and dignity of those affected.

On the other hand, restricting protection to those affected by climate change issues would marginalise others affected by geo-environmental phenomena and changes (whether anthropogenic or not), which could be discussed legally in terms of responsibilities but not in terms of human rights.

Perhaps current conditions do not allow for an adequate definition of a problem that is still mired in uncertainties. An a posteriori definition of the legal status of these migrants would have to be created, establishing whether they can in some way be differentiated as a group with their own characteristics.

Once this approach is established, regional or bilateral solutions would be the preferred way forward. This would mean working with affected governments on solutions that involve in situ measures and adaptation strategies, accompanied by a real commitment to the reduction of contaminating emissions. A regional response of this type, although it may appear a little ambitious, could constitute the first step towards more widespread international efforts.

 

María José Fernández mjfernandez84@live.com.ar is a graduate in International Relations from the Universidad Católica de Salta, Argentina. www.ucasal.edu.ar/



[1] Project for a Convention on the International Status of Environmentally Displaced Persons http://tinyurl.com/CIDCE-Environmental-displaced

 

FMR 49
May 2015

Contents

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. All articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.