الاتجار بالأعضاء البشرية

فلاديمير ماكيه

الاتجار بالبشر للحصول على أعضائهم جريمة جديدة عابرة للحدود أخفقت في جذب اهتمام دولي كاف. 

 

أقرت لجنة الأمم المتحدة لمنع الجريمة والعدالة الجنائية في جلستها الثالثة والعشرين التي انعقدت في مايو/أيار 2014 قراراً قدمته روسيا البيضاء بعنوان "منع الاتجار بالأعضاء البشرية والاتجار بالبشر بغرض نزع الأعضاء ومكافحتهما". وقد كلّف القرار مكتب الأمم المتحدة المعني بالمخدرات والجريمة بإجراء دراسة موسعة بشأن هذه القضية وإعداد تقرير يُقدم للجنة في 2016 سعيًا لتحسين فهم أبعاد هذه الجريمة ما سيساعد على وضع سياسات فعَّالة للتصدي لها.

ولا يوجد مفهوم موحد عالميًا لجريمة الاتجار بالأعضاء البشرية ولا حتى أداة عالمية ذات صلة ملزمة قانونيًا. وغياب هذين العاملين لا يعني مع ذلك عدم أهمية هذه الجريمة. ولكنّه إشارة إلى كون هذه الجريمة ظاهرة جديدة يخطو المجتمع الدولي خطواته الأولى على طريق محاولة فهم نطاقها.

تأتي هذه الجريمة على ثلاثة أشكال. أولها، بينما الاتجار بالبشر بغرض نزع الأعضاء شكل من أشكال الاتجار بالبشر مثلما نص بروتوكول باليرمو لمكافحة الاتجار بالبشر لعام 2000، يتنامى إدراك أنَّه أيضاً ضربا من الاتجار بالأعضاء البشرية. وثانيها ما يُعرف باسم "سياحة زرع الأعضاء".[1] ويُقصد بهذا سفر الشخص المستفيد غالبًا (وليس حصرًا) من إحدى الدول المتقدمة إلى الدول النامية حيث يخضع هناك لعملية زرع أعضاء بشرية اشتريت من المانحين المحليين. وفي ضوء ذلك، لا يعني الاتجار بالأعضاء البشرية مجرد نقل الأعضاء ولكنه انتقال الأشخاص  من الاقتصادات النامية والناشئة إلى الاقتصادات الغنية في شكل الاتجار بالبشر بغرض نزع الأعضاء ثم ترحيلهم من الدول الغنية إلى الدول النامية في شكل سياحة زرع الأعضاء. وأما الشكل الثالث فالإتجار بالأعضاء البشرية بمفهومه الضيق أي الانتقال غير المشروع للأعضاء البشرية نفسها بين الدول.

وما أثار هذا التحدي العابر للحدود تنامي صناعة زرع الأعضاء البشرية في جميع أنحاء العالم.  بيد أن ظهور جريمة الاتجار بالأعضاء البشرية لم يأت نتيجة هذه الصناعة في حد ذاتها ولكن بسبب الثغرة المتزايدة بين الطلب على الأعضاء البشرية والعرض الشرعي لها.

ومثلما هو حال جميع النَّشاطات السرية، نطاق الاتجار بالأعضاء البشرية غير معروف بدقة. وقد أجريت محاولة لمعرفة المزيد عن هذا النشاط في 2004 عندما أقرت الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة قرارًا بشأن "منع الاتجار بالأعضاء البشرية ومكافحته وتجريمه". ولكن، صرّح تقرير تالٍ قدمه الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة بأن الدول الأعضاء لم تقدم معلومات كافية بشأن هذه القضية ما جعل تحدي الاتجار بالأعضاء البشرية غير مستكشف إلى حد بعيد. ومع ذلك، في ضوء غياب البيانات الرسمية الكافية، توجد معلومات كثيرة بشأن الاتجار بالأعضاء البشرية من مصادر غير رسمية. ويُزعم أن الاتجار بالأعضاء البشرية بغرض زرع الأعضاء البشرية يُمثل 10% من جميع حالات زرع الأعضاء البشرية في العالم ويُنتج ما يصل إلى 1.2 مليار دولار أمريكي من العائدات غير المشروعة سنويًا.[2]

الآليات الدولية

عامة، يتبع المجتمع الدولي أسلوب حظر أنشطة زرع الأعضاء البشرية. وبمعنى أخر، تحظر الدول شراء الأعضاء البشرية وبيعها. وفي المقابل، تقوم هذه الصناعة على التبرع الطوعي والمُحسن بالأعضاء حيث يصبح زرع الأعضاء البشرية - المبني على اعتبارات أخلاقية وأدبية - مبررًا عندما يكون عملاً تطوعيًا للتبرع بالأعضاء لأنه في معظم الحالات يجمع بين أناس تربطهم علاقة وثيقة فعلية.

وقد خرج منهج الحظر من عباءة مبادئ منظمة الصحة العالمية التوجيهية بشأن زرع الخلايا والنُسج والأعضاء البشرية لعام 1991. إلا أنها ليست مبادئ ملزمة ولا تخضع جميع الدول لها. ويُعد إعلان اسطنبول بشأن الاتجار بالأعضاء وسياحة زرع الأعضاء أداة أخرى غير ملزمة جاءت نتيجة أحد المؤتمرات الدولية في 2008.

وتحظر كذلك "اتفاقية حقوق الإنسان والطب الأحيائي" وبروتوكولها الإضافي لعام 2002 التي توصل إليها مجلس أوروبا شراء الأعضاء البشرية وبيعها. ويعمل كذلك مجلس أوروبا على اعتماد "اتفاقية مناهضة الاتجار بالأعضاء البشرية" التي تؤكد على الحاجة لوجود وثيقة دولية ملزمة قانونيًا تتناول حصريًا جريمة الاتجار بالأعضاء البشرية.

وبتوقع إجراء دراسة عن الاتجار بالأعضاء البشرية من المقرر أن يصدرها مكتب الأمم المتحدة المعني بالمخدرات والجريمة، استهلت روسيا البيضاء مناقشة بشأن قضية وضع أداة عالمية ملزمة قانونيًا لمكافحة الاتجار بالأعضاء البشرية في أواخر 2014 في الدورة السابعة لمؤتمر الدول الأطراف في اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة لمكافحة الجريمة المنظمة عبر القومية الذي عقد في فيينا وفي نيويورك على هامش الدورة السادسة والتسعين للجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة.

والأساس المنطقي لوضع أداة جديدة محتملة مبني على ثلاثة محاور، أولًا: الحاجة لمعالجة السبب الرئيسي وراء الاتجار بالأعضاء البشرية وهو النقص الحاد في سوق الأعضاء البشرية ويتأتى ذلك بالبناء على نماذج اقتناء الأعضاء الوطنية الناجحة، مثل: نظام "الموافقة الافتراضية" الذي يعني أساسًا افتراض أنَّ كل مواطن في الدولة يقبل التبرع بأعضائه ما لم يعلن صراحة رفضه لهذا. ثانيًا، غياب تعريف متفق عليه دوليًا لمصطلح "الاتجار بالأعضاء البشرية". ثالثًا، يجب وضع وثيقة شاملة جديدة تعالج أسباب الاتجار بالأعضاء البشرية وعواقبه. وبمعنى أخر، يجب أن تضع هذه الأداة أحكامًا لتجريم الاتجار بالبشر لهذا الغرض وكذلك الاتجار بالأعضاء البشرية، ففي حين تجرم كثير من الدول فعليًا شراء الأعضاء البشرية تحت مظلة سلطانها القضائي المحلي، لا يجرم سوى عدد قليل جدًا من الدول شراء مواطنيها الأعضاء البشرية من خارج حدودها.

ويجب ابتكار وسيلة جديدة لتعزز التعاون الدولي في هذه القضية تعزيزًا لا يُستهان به وخاصة في مجالات مثل: تسليم المجرمين ومصادرة الأصول والعائدات والمساعدة القانونية المتبادلة. وأخيراً، سيساهم وضع وثيقة جديدة لهدف تعزيز التوعية العامة بشأن أهمية وهب الأعضاء البشرية بالإضافة إلى التهديد الذي تشكله جريمة الاتجار بالأعضاء البشرية.

وفي حين يقع الاتجار بالبشر بغرض نزع الأعضاء تحت مظلة "بروتوكول باليرمو لمكافحة الاتجار بالبشر" الملزم قانونيًا، لا تخضع كل من سياحة زرع الأعضاء والاتجار بالأعضاء البشرية لهذا البروتوكول. وإدراج هذه الجريمة إلى جانب الاتجار بالبشر من شأنه التأكيد على الحاجة لتغطية مجال الاتجار بالأعضاء البشرية تمامًا ويعكس كذلك تعقيداته.

 

فلاديمير ماكيه وزير خارجية روسيا البيضاء. ويمكن التواصل معه على البريد الإلكتروني:iravelichko@gmail.com.


[1]  لا يجب الخلط بين سياحة زرع الأعضاء والسفر بهدف زرع الأعضاء البشرية فالأخير نشاط شرعي.

[2] إميلي كيلي (2013) "أزمة الاتجار بالأعضاء البشرية الدولية: حلول معالجة جذور القضية"، تقرير  صادر عن مجلة كلية الحقوق بجامعة بوسطن

(International Organ Trafficking Crisis: Solutions Addressing the Heart of the Matter).

http://tinyurl.com/Kelly2013-organ-trafficking

 

FMR 49
May 2015

المحتويات

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

Trafficking for human organs

Vladimir Makei

Trafficking of people for their organs is an emerging transnational crime that has failed to receive sufficient international attention.

The 23rd session of the United Nations Commission on Crime Prevention and Criminal Justice held in May 2014 adopted a Belarus-sponsored resolution titled ‘Preventing and Combating Trafficking in Human Organs and Trafficking in Persons for the Purpose of Organ Removal’. The resolution mandated the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC) to conduct an extensive study on the issue and report back to the Commission in 2016, in the expectation of better understanding this crime and consequently helping to devise effective policies against it.

There is neither a universally agreed definition of the crime of organ trafficking, nor a relevant universal legally binding tool. The lack of both, however, does not indicate that the crime is insignificant. Rather, it is a reflection of the emerging nature of the crime, the scope of which the internationally community is only now beginning to grasp.

This crime occurs in three specific forms. First, while trafficking in persons for the purpose of organ removal is a form of human trafficking as set out in the 2000 Palermo Human Trafficking Protocol, there is a growing realisation that it is also a form of organ trafficking. Second is what is known as ‘transplant tourism’.[1] This involves travel by potential recipients mainly (but not exclusively) from developed countries to developing ones, where they undergo transplantation of organs purchased from local donors. Viewed in this light, organ trafficking is not about the movement of organs; rather it is about the movement of people – from developing and emerging economies to affluent countries in the form of human trafficking for the purpose of organ removal, and back from affluent to developing countries in the form of transplant tourism. The third form is organ trafficking in a narrow sense, namely, the illicit movement of human organs themselves between countries.

What has been giving rise to this transnational challenge is the growth of the organ transplantation industry worldwide. However, the crime of trafficking in organs has emerged not because of the industry per se but because of an ever-growing gap between the demand for human organs and the legitimate supply.

As with all clandestine activities, the scope of organ trafficking is not exactly known. There was an attempt to learn more about it in 2004 when the UN General Assembly passed a resolution on ‘Preventing, combating and punishing trafficking in human organs’. However, a subsequent report by the UN Secretary General acknowledged that Member States provide insufficient information and that hence the challenge of trafficking in organs remains largely unexplored. Yet, while there is insufficient official data, there is plenty of information on trafficking in organs from unofficial sources. It is claimed that trafficking in organs for the purpose of transplantation accounts for 10% of all transplantation cases in the world, producing up to US$1.2 billion in illicit revenue each year.[2]

International approaches

Generally, the international community sticks to a prohibitionist approach in organ transplantation. In other words, states prohibit the purchase and sale of human organs. Instead, the industry operates on the basis of altruistic voluntary organ donation where, predicated on moral and ethical considerations, organ transplantation can be justified only when it is a voluntary act of organ donation, because in most cases such an act brings together people who are already close to each other.

The prohibitionist approach stems from the Guiding Principles on Human Cell, Tissue, and Organ Transplantation developed by the World Health Organization in 1991. These are not binding, and not every country upholds the principles. Another non-binding tool is the Declaration of Istanbul on Organ Trafficking and Transplant Tourism, which came out of an international conference in 2008.

The 1997 Council of Europe’s Convention on Human Rights and Biomedicine and its 2002 Additional Protocol do, however, prohibit the purchase and sale of human organs. The Council of Europe is also working towards the adoption of the Convention against Trafficking in Human Organs, which affirms the need for an international legally binding document dealing exclusively with the crime of organ trafficking.

In anticipation of a study on organ trafficking that is to be released by UNODC in 2016, Belarus initiated discussion on the issue of a possible universal legally binding tool against trafficking in human organs in late 2014, at the 7th session of the Conference of the States Parties to the UN Convention against Transnational Organized Crime in Vienna, and in New York on the margins of the 69th session of the UN General Assembly.

The rationale for a possible new tool is, firstly, the need to address the main cause of organ trafficking, which is the acute shortage of human organs; this could be done by building on successful national organ procurement models such as ’presumed consent’ which essentially means that every citizen of a country is an organ donor unless they expressly withdraw consent. Second is the lack of an internationally agreed definition of the term ‘organ trafficking’. Thirdly, a new universal document should tackle not just the causes of organ trafficking but also its consequences. In other words, it should set out provisions for criminalising not only trafficking in persons for that purpose but also trafficking in human organs; while many states have already criminalised purchase of organs in their domestic jurisdictions, very few have criminalised purchase by their citizens of organs abroad.

A new instrument must serve to significantly enhance international cooperation on the issue, above all in such areas as extradition, confiscation of assets and proceeds, and mutual legal assistance. Lastly, a new document should contribute to the objective of enhancing public education about the importance of organ donation, as well as about the threat posed by the crime of organ trafficking.

While human trafficking for the purpose of organ removal is covered by the legally binding Palermo Human Trafficking Protocol, transplant tourism and trafficking of organs are not. The intersection of this crime with the trafficking of persons emphasises the need to fully cover the scope of organ trafficking, while reflecting also its intricacies.

 

Vladimir Makei is the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Belarus. He can be contacted through iravelichko@gmail.com.



[1] Transplant tourism should not be confused with travel for transplantation, as the latter is a legitimate activity.

[2] Emily Kelly (2013) ‘International Organ Trafficking Crisis: Solutions Addressing the Heart of the Matter’, Boston College Law Review. http://tinyurl.com/Kelly2013-organ-trafficking

 

FMR 49
May 2015

Contents

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. All articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.