الدور المحتمل لقانون يحد من أشكال التمييز العنصري في ميانمار

كثيراً ما غذى التمييز العرقي ممارسات العنف والنزوح في ميانمار، ولاسيما  شعب الروهينجا الذين كانوا يفرون في مجموعات مكونة من "عشرات الآلاف" في عام 2013 وحده.

في ظل الإطار الدستوري الجديد في ميانمار والإصلاح التشريعي السائر قدماً في البلاد، يبدو الوقت مناسباً للنظر في ما إذا كان وضع قانوناً خاصاً للتمييز العنصري سيساعد في معاجلة مسألة التمييز العرقي الراسخة في البلاد والحد من التوترات العرقية وممارسات العنف ورحلات النزوح التي يعاني منها كثير من الناس.[i]

وينص دستور ميانمار (المادة 348) على أنه: "يتعين على الاتحاد عدم تمييز [مكتوبة هكذا] أي مواطن في جمهورية اتحاد ميانمار على أساس العرق أو المولد أو الدين أو الموقف الرسمي أو الحالة أو الثقافة أو الجنس أو الثروة".[ii]ولا تمنح الجنسية إلا بموجب القانون؛ ويعد قانون الجنسية لعام 1982 القانون المُستخدم حالياً الذي يعترف بوجود نحو 135 مجموعة عرقية ويسميهم "الأعراق الوطنية" إلا أنه لا يشتمل على شعب الروهينجا وينكر عليهم أحقيتهم في الجنسية لأنهم أفراد في هذه المجموعة العرقية. وبعدم اعتراف البلاد بجنسيتهم، في ظل المادة 348، يحرمون أيضاً من حق الحماية من ممارسات التمييز بموجب دستور البلاد.

وتنص الاتفاقية الدولية للقضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز العنصري[iii] على ضرورة تعزيز "الاحترام العالمي لحقوق الإنسان والحريات الأساسية للجميع ومراعاتها دون تمييز بسبب العرق أو الجنس أو اللغة أو الدين" فضلاً عن أنه "لا يوجد أي مبرر للتمييز العنصري، من الناحية النظرية أو من الناحية العملية، في أي مكان". وتلزم الاتفاقية الدول الموقعة عليها "باتخاذ إجراءات فعالة لمراجعة السياسات الحكومية والوطنية والمحلية وتعديل أي قوانين أو تشريعات أو إبطالها أو إلغائها إذا كانت مسؤولة عن توليد التمييز العنصري أو عن استدامته أينما كان موجوداً".

وإدراكاً لحقيقة عدم وجود دولة معصومة من العنصرية، على المشرعين أخذ الحاجة لوجود استجابة تشريعية على محمل الجد. فبالرغم من أن التوترات العنصرية تجاه السكان الأصليين في أستراليا لا تأتي بمستوى ما يحدث في ميانمار تجاه شعب الروهينجا، فالسياسات التي تتبعها أستراليا تجاه سكانها الأصليين جرّت أستراليا أيضاً من وقت لآخر إلى هاوية سوء السمعة. وقد صدقت أستراليا على الاتفاقية الدولية للقضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز العنصري في عام 1975 بفقرتها التي تحوي مادة تناهض التمييز العنصري. ومع أن مثل هذه التشريعات لا تُعد ترياق جميع مشاكل التمييز العنصري، فهذه التشريعات تمثل على الأقل اعتراف الدولة بوجود مشكلة تحتاج لحل وقد أثبتت هذه التشريعات فاعليتها بوصفها آلية قانونية مُصلحة عندما تنشأ مسائل العنصرية.

وفي ميانمار، طالب بعضهم لجنة سيادة القانون والسكينة، التي يرأسها داو أونغ سان سو كيي، بالنظر في قضية قانون الجنسية. واشتمل تقرير اللجنة في 31 يوليو/تموز 2013 على توصية تنص على أنه "يتعين على الدول أن تهدف [مكتوبة هكذا] لتحقيق السلام الذي يتيح للشعب وللجنسيات العرقية العيش والعمل تحت حماية القانون الذي يكفل تأمين حياتهم والشعور براحة البال".[iv]ويُحتمل إجراء بعض التعديلات على قانون الجنسية أو حتى تعديل الدستور نفسه. وليس غريباً اقتراح أن تنظر لجنة سيادة القانون والسكينة أيضاً في إمكانية التوصية، كنوع من التطوير الموازي، بأهمية التصديق على الاتفاقية الدولية للقضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز العنصري من خلال وضع قانون يحد من أشكال التمييز العنصري. وقد تكون التعديلات على دستور ميانمار مهمة أيضاً لتخويل السلطات المعنية بالتصديق على الاتفاقيات الدولية.

ناثان ويليس nathan.willis@scu.edu.au مرشحة لنيل درجة الدكتوراه في جامعة ساثرن كروس، أستراليا، وعملت سابقاً في ميانمار. 



[i] www.trust.org/item/20130912101837-el6ym

انظر أيضاً العدد 30 من نشرة الهجرة القسرية عن "نازحي بورما"

www.fmreview.org/ar/burma

[iv] لجنة سيادة القانون والسكينة، ميانمار، "تقرير لجنة سيادة القانون والسكينة" (31 يوليو/تموز 2013).

(Report of the Rule of Law and Tranquility Committee)

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

The potential role of a racial discrimination law in Myanmar

Nathan Willis

Ethnic discrimination has long fuelled violence and displacement within Myanmar, especially in relation to people of Rohingya ethnicity who have been fleeing in their ‘tens of thousands’ in 2013 alone.

Under Myanmar’s new Constitutional framework, and with legislative reform in process, it seems timely to consider whether a specific racial discrimination law could help address the entrenched issue of ethnic discrimination – and thereby reduce ethnic tensions, violence and the displacement of so many people.[1]

Myanmar’s Constitution (Article 348) states that: “The Union shall not discriminate [sic] any citizen of the Republic of the Union of Myanmar, based on race, birth, religion, official position, status, culture, sex, and wealth.”[2] The determination of citizenship is prescribed by law, currently by the Citizenship Law 1982 which recognises 135 ethnic groups as ‘national races’ but does not include Rohingya ethnicity within these, thus denying citizenship to members of this ethnic group. Non-recognition of citizenship, in light of Article 348, also denies protection against discrimination under the Constitution.

The International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination (ICERD)[3] provides for the promotion of “universal respect for and observance of human rights, and fundamental freedoms for all, without distinction as to race, sex, language or religion’ and, further, that “there is no justification for racial discrimination, in theory or in practice, anywhere.” The Convention requires States Parties to “take effective measures to review governmental, national and local policies and to amend, rescind or nullify any laws and regulations which have the effect of creating or perpetuating racial discrimination wherever it exists.”

In recognition that no state is immune from racism, legislators need to take seriously the need to enshrine a legislative response. While in Australia racial tensions in relation to Austalia’s indigenous people are not at the same level as those in Myanmar in relation to the Rohingya ethnic group, Australia’s policies in relation to its indigenous people have from time to time brought Australia, too, into disrepute. Australia ratified the ICERD in 1975 with the passage of its Racial Discrimination Act. While such legislation does not represent a panacea for racial discrimination, the legislation at least represents state recognition of a problem that demands a solution and the legislation has proven useful as a legal mechanism for redress where issues of racism arise.

In Myanmar, some have called for the Rule of Law and Tranquillity Committee (RLTC), chaired by Daw Aung San Suu Kyi, to consider the Citizenship Law issue. The Committee’s report of 31 July 2013 includes a recommendation that states “should aim to [sic] a kind of peace that allows people and ethnic nationalities live and work under protection of the law for security of their lives with peace of mind.”[4] It is possible that the Citizenship Law could be reformed, or indeed that the Constitution could be amended. It seems reasonable to suggest that the RLTC could also consider recommending, as a parallel development, the ratification of the ICERD through a Racial Discrimination Law. Further, amendments to the Myanmar Constitution may be required to provide the relevant authorities with the power to ratify international conventions.

 

Nathan Willis nathan.willis@scu.edu.au is a PhD candidate at Southern Cross University, Australia, and has previously worked in Myanmar.  



[1] www.trust.org/item/20130912101837-el6ym  See also FMR issue 30 on ‘Burma’s displaced people’ www.fmreview.org/burma 2008

[4] Rule of Law and Tranquility Committee, Myanmar, ‘Report of the Rule of Law and Tranquility Committee’ (31 July 2013).

 

FMR 45
February 2014

Contents

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.