دور الإسكان الاجتماعي في حل مشكلة التَّهجير المطوَّل

مارك دي سيلفا وسانيلا إيماموفيتش

توضِّح إحدى منهجيات الإسكان الاجتماعي التي طُبَقت مؤخراً في البوسنة والهرسك ضرورة إدماج بعض المكوِّنات الرئيسية في استراتيجية تهدف للمساهمة في سد حاجات المواطنين المستضعفين في المأوى وسبل كسب الرزق.

مع حلول عام 2011، بعد مضي 16 عاماً على توقيع اتفاقية دايتون للسلام، حققت عملية العودة إلى البوسنة والهرسك نجاحاً وفقاً لكثير من المعايير. فمن بين 2.2 مليون ممن هجَّرتهم الحرب، عاد 91% منهم إلى مجتمعاتهم الأصلية أو اندمجوا في مجتمعات جديدة. وأعيد بناء وصيانة أكثر من 320 ألف وحدة سكنية ومع ذلك، ما زالت الحاجة قائمة لحل مشكلة الإسكان لـ 193 ألف مهجَّر بين نازح ولاجئ. وعلى وجه الخصوص، ما زال 8734 مهجَّراً يعيشون في ظروف معيشية سيئة وغير صحية في المراكز الجماعية المنتشرة في البلاد والتي يبلغ عددها 160 مركزاً علماً أنَّ معظمها لم يصمم للاستخدامات السكنية.[1]

لكنَّ أسباباً عدة منعت هؤلاء المهجّرين (193 ألفاً) من الاستفادة من برامج إعادة بناء الوحدات السكنية أو جعلتهم غير راغبين بها أصلاً. ومن بين تلك الأسباب، على سبيل المثال:

  • عدم التأكد من إزالة الألغام الأرضية من ممتلكاتهم أو من الأماكن المجاورة لهم
  • انعدام البنية التحتية المجتمعية الأساسية والمرافق العامة
  • عدم كفاية فرص العمل
  • عدم أهلية المستأجرين ممن لم يمتلكوا عقاراً قط
  • عدم قدرة المالكين على إثبات ملكيتهم للعقار
  • عدم الرغبة أصلاً بالعودة إلى المكان الذي تعرضوا فيه للصدمة النفسية.

وعلى ضوء ذلك الواقع، قررت منظمة خدمات الإغاثة الكاثوليكية عام 2007 إعادة النظر في استراتيجيتها وذلك بنقل التركيز الواقع على مشروعات إعادة بناء المساكن الفردية إلى إدخال منهجية إسكان اجتماعي جديدة. وسوف يكون ذلك مفيداً في بناء قدرات السلطات الحكومية المحلية على توفير حلول السكن الدائمة للمقيمين في المراكز الجماعية وغيرهم من المجموعات المهجَّرة المستضعفة مثل أقلية الروما وطالبي اللجوء المقبولين مجدداً [2]والأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة والمسنين.[3]

مبادئ الإسكان الاجتماعي

يستطيع المجتمع بانتهاج الإسكان الاجتماعي أن يساهم في توفير الإسكان المقدور عليه مالياً للمواطنين غير القادرين بمفردهم على تلبية حاجاتهم في السكن. وقد يكون ذلك الإسكان على شكل بنى جديدة متعددة الوحدات أو ببناء وحدات فردية فوق الإسكانات القائمة أو ترميمها وإعادة تأهيلها. ويقوم الإسكان الاجتماعي بشتى أنواعه على ثلاثة محاور رئيسية: فأولاً، لا بد من توضيح ملكية العقارات وتسجيلها لدى الحكومة المحلية. وثانياً، لا بد من تحديد مسؤوليات الإدارة والصيانة وتنظيمها. أما المبدأ الثالث فيخص معايير الأهلية وإجراءات توزيع حصص الشقق السكنية إذ لا بد من توضيحها جميعاً وذكرها للجميع منذ البداية.

وتتضمن استراتيجية الإسكان الاجتماعي في منظمات خدمات الإغاثة الكاثوليكية المكوِّنات التالية:

مجموعة العمل الرسمية: يجب تأسيس هذه المجموعة منذ البدء لتسهيل الشركات التعاونية مع المسؤولين الحكوميين ولبناء القدرات البلدية في الوقت نفسه بهدف تولي البلديات لمسؤوليات الإدارة والصيانة بعد انتقال المستأجرين إليها.

"مدوَّنة القواعد" تضع هذه المدوَّنة المبادئ الرئيسية للإسكان الاجتماعي وتعرّف الأدوار والمسؤوليات الملقاة على عاتق كل صاحب مصلحة. وبتسجيل هذه المدوَّنة رسمياً في المحاكم المحلية، يتحقق الضمان في أنَّ أرباب السياسيين في المستقبل لن يتمكنوا من إساءة استخدام الوحدات السكنية أو بيعها لمدة لا تقل عن 25 عاماً.

إيجارات ميسَّرة: يجب أن يكون بدل الإيجار أدنى من المعدلات السوقية. ومع أنَّ الإيجار الميسّر قد يفرض تحدياً لبعض الأشخاص الذين يعانون من إعاقة مزمنة ممن اعتادوا على السكن المجاني، فهو في الوقت نفسه يروّج للكرامة ويخفف من العِوَل على الغير ويولّد المصادر اللازمة لإدارة المباني وصيانتها.

بطاقة الأسر الاجتماعية والاقتصادية توثِّق هذه البطاقة معايير الأهلية لكل أسرة، وهي أيضاً تمثل المعيار الرئيسي يُقارَن به التحسينات المستقبلية على دخل الأسر ومستوى المعيشة. وبذلك، سوف يعاد ضبط الإيجارات بالنسبة للعائلات التي يزيد دخلها عن خط الفقر الرسمي ليصبح قريباً للمعدلات السوقية.

مكوَّن سبل كسب الرزق المستدامة تتلقى كل عائلة نوعاً من أنواع المساعدة لكي تتمكن من تغطية مصاريف الإيجارات/المنافع الشهرية وبناء أصولها الأسرية التي فقدتها خلال الحرب. وتُحدَّد سبل كسب الرزق لكل أسرة ويمكن أن تتضمن تلك السبل المعدات الزراعية والتدريب/الدعم لبيع المنتجات الزراعية أو الدعم المالي للشركات المحلية لتشجيعها على توظيف عائدي مجتمعات الأقليات.

الروابط والشبكات الاجتماعية: لا بد من إشراك هيئات الحكومة المحلية والمنظمات غير الحكومية وغيرها من أصحاب المصلحة في مجتمعات العودة لأنَّ مشاركتهم مهمة في توفير الدعم اللازم للأسر العائدة.

أعمال تطوير الأبنية للاستخدامات المختلطة: سوف يسمح الترويج للاستخدامات المختلطة للمباني لعائدي الأقليات والروما والأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة وغيرهم من الجماعات المهمَّشة بالاندماج مادياً واقتصادياً واجتماعياً مع أبناء مجتمع الأغلبية. وفي بعض الظروف، يمكن تقديم الأماكن الخاصة لاستقطاب الكوادر المهنية والفنية الذين عليهم طلب في المجتمع المحلي. وفي بعض الأوضاع الأخرى، يمكن توفير الطابق الأرضي كاملاً أو جزءاً منه في المبنى السكني لغايات تجارية بغية توفير فرص العمل والتسويق.

نظام للإدارة: توفر منظمة خدمات الإغاثة الكاثوليكية برنامجاً حاسوبياً مصمماً خصيصاً لمعلومات الإدارة (والتدريب) لتمكين الجهات البلدية من جمع المعلومات والبيانات الرئيسية المتعلقة بكل المباني السكنية الاجتماعية وتعقب الإيجارات المدفوعة والمدفوعات المستحقة وتنظيم مواعيد الصيانة وإنتاج التقارير لأغراض متنوعة على مستويات البلديات والكيانات والدولة.

الوفاء بالمعايير الدولية: يهدف التعديل لغايات الوفاء بالمعايير الدولية إلى مساعدة البوسنة والهرسك على الامتثال لأي مستجدات تطرأ على المتطلبات المتعلقة بانضمامها المستقبلي للاتحاد الأوروبي.

وقد تعلّمت حكومة البوسنة والهرسك مخاطر إزالة مكّون أو أكثر من المكوِّنات الرئيسية لمشروعاتها الخاص بالإسكان الاجتماعي وكذلك مخاطر حصر التركيز على جانب تشييد المباني فقط إذ تبين في تقييم المساكن الاجتماعية التي أقامتها الحكومة بين عامي 2009 و2012 أنَّ عدم توضيح قضايا الملكية والإدارة والصيانة والإيجارات منذ البداية كان له دور في عدم وفاء أي شخص كان بتلك المسؤوليات، بل كان غياب أطر التشريعات والسياسات الناظمة للإسكان الاجتماعية يمنع كلاً من الحكومة والمستأجرين من تحقيق المنافع الكاملة المرجوة من ذلك الإسكان.

أهم النتائج ليومنا هذا

مع نهاية عام 2014، تمكن 762 نازحاً وعائداً في ثماني بلديات في البلاد من تأمين ظروف معيشية آمنة وكريمة في 273 وحدة سكنية اجتماعية أسستها منظمة خدمات الإغاثة الكاثوليكية. وبعد ست سنوات من توقيع عقود الإيجار، كانت 93% من العائلات تعيش في الوحدات السكنية الاجتماعية.[4]أما بالنسبة للمتبقين (7%) ممن لم يعودوا يقيمون هناك، فكان لدى نصفهم سبب إيجابي للمغادرة مثل الزواج أو الهجرة الطوعية أو الحصول على وظيفة في بلدة أخرى. ولم يكن هناك أكثر من 3% من الوحدات السكنية الاجتماعية الشاغرة. ويعد هذا الاستقرار عاملاً مهماً يسهم في النُّمو الاقتصادي والاجتماعي لمجتمعاتهم. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، كانت أعمار 22% من أفراد الأسر التي تعيش في وحدات الإسكان الاجتماعي دون 18 عاماً ما يبيّن فعالية المنهجية في استقطاب الشباب والأسر في سن العمل المطلوبين لإعادة تنشيط المجتمعات المتأثرة بالحرب.

وبما أنَّ النتائج المبكرة كانت واعدة، تشجعت حكومة البوسنة والهرسك عام 2010 على إدماج الإسكان الاجتماعي ليكون عنصراً مفضلاً في استراتيجيتها المنقحة لتنفيذ الملحق السابع. وفي السنوات التالية، أدخلت وزارة حقوق الإنسان واللاجئين الإسكان الاجتماعي ليكون استراتيجية أساسية في برنامجين وطنيين معنيين بتأسيس أكثر من 2900 وحدة للإسكان الاجتماعي.[5] وفي عام 2015، تبنت وزارة حقوق الإنسان واللاجئين دليل الإسكان الاجتماعي الصادر عن منظمة خدمات الإغاثة الكاثوليكية[6] ليكون دليلاً رسمياً لجميع البلديات المشاركة في هذين البرنامجين.

لكنَّ العوائق التي شهدتها الجهود الأولية لتأسيس التشريعات اللازمة على مستوى الدولة نتيجة المأزق السياسي حول الحدود جعلت منظمة خدمات الإغاثة الكاثوليكية تقرر إشراك كبار المسؤولين على مستويات البلديات والكانتونات والكيانات حيث تكمن الإرادة السياسية لرسم استراتيجيات الإسكان الاجتماعي ووضع تشريعاتها وإقرارها. وفي عام 2013، نجحت منظمة خدمات الإغاثة الكاثوليكية في مساعدة كانتونين (BPK Goražde و Zeničko-dobojski) في وضع أول تشريع للإسكان الاجتماعي في البلاد وإقراره. ووضعت خمس بلديات أخرى أيضاً (سيربيرينتشا وبريجيدور وغورازدي وموستار وبانجا لوكا) استراتيجيات الإسكان الاجتماعي التي وفّرت الإطار العام لجميع المبادرات الحالية والجديدة. وفي عام 2013، أدخلت وزارة حقوق الإنسان واللاجئين الإسكان الاجتماعي في المرحلة الثانية من مبادرتها لدعم عودة واندماج طالبي اللجوء في البلديات العشر المستهدفة ومقاطعة براكو، ما يمثل فهم حكومة البوسنة والهرسك لقيمة الإسكان الاجتماعي في مساعدة البلديات على التجاوب مع حاجات المأوى وسبل كسب الرزق لمعظم مواطنيها المستضعفين.

 

مارك دي سيلفاmarc.dsilva@crs.org

وسانيلا إيماموفيش sanela.imamovic@crs.org

منظمة خدمات الإغاثة الكاثوليكية في البوسنة والهرسك.

www.crs.org/countries/bosnia-herzegovina

 


[1]أُخِذَت البيانات من وزارة حقوق الإنسان واللاجئين في البوسنة والهرسك (2011) البرنامج الإقليمي المشترك حول الحلول الدائمة للاجئين والنَّازحين، برنامج إطاري

 Joint Regional Programme on Durable Solutions for Refugees and Displaced Persons, Framework Programme. http://tinyurl.com/MHRR-framework-prog-2011

[2] أشخاص من البوسنة والهرسك ممن طلبوا اللجوء في بلدان أخرى (معظمها في الاتحاد الأوروبي) في أوروبا وأعيدوا بموجب اتفاقية رسمية وقعت عليها الحكومات. يمثل الروما 70% من طالبي اللجوء المعاد قبولهم ممن يفتقرون إلى شهادات الولادة أو وثائق التسجيل ما يصعّب عليهم إثبات أنهم كانوا يعيشون سابقاً على أراضي البوسنة والهرسك.

 [3] نُظِر إلى مبادرة منظمات خدمات الإغاثة الكاثوليكية للإسكان الاجتماعي على أنَّها واحدة من أفضل اثنتين من الممارسات المثلى لدمج الروما في البلقان الغربية. انظر منظمة الأمن والتعاون في أوربا (2004) الممارسات المثلى لدمج الروما: التقرير الإقليمي حول تشريع الإسكان والتوطين والتحديث والإسكان الاجتماعي للروما في البلقان الغربية

www.osce.org/odihr/115737 Best Practices for Roma Integration:Regional Report on Housing Legalization, Settlement Upgrading and Social Housing for Roma in the Western Balkans.

[4] بيانات الرصد من كوادر منظمة خدمات الإغاثة الكاثوليكية/ البوسنة والهرسك، مايو/أيار 2015

[5] انظر مايني أ. "البوسنة والهرسك بعد عشرين عاماً من توقيع اتفاقية دايتون" صص. 8-11.

 

FMR 50
September 2015

المحتويات

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

Resolving protracted displacement through social housing

Marc D’Silva and Sanela Imamović

A social housing methodology recently introduced in Bosnia and Herzegovina illustrates the need for certain key components in any strategy to address the shelter and livelihoods needs of vulnerable citizens.

By 2011 – 16 years after the signing of the Dayton Peace Agreement – the return process in Bosnia and Herzegovina (BiH) was considered successful by many standards. Of the 2.2 million citizens displaced during the war, over 91% had returned to their communities of origin or integrated into new communities. Over 320,000 housing units had been reconstructed and repaired. And yet there were still 193,000 displaced persons and refugees in need of durable housing solutions. In particular, 8,734 displaced persons were still living in poor, unhealthy conditions in the country’s 160 collective centres, which for the most part were never designed for residential use.[i]

These 193,000 people were unable or chose not to take advantage of earlier housing reconstruction programmes for a variety of reasons, including:

  • lack of certification of land mine clearance at or near their property
  • lack of utilities and basic community infrastructure
  • insufficient employment opportunities
  • ineligibility of tenants who had never owned property
  • inability to prove legal title to property
  • unwillingness to return to a place of trauma.

 

Given this, Catholic Relief Services (CRS) decided in 2007 to refocus its strategy away from individual house reconstruction and towards the introduction of a new social housing methodology. This would help build the capacity of local government authorities to provide durable housing solutions for collective centre residents and other vulnerable displaced groups including Roma, readmitted asylum seekers,[ii] persons with disabilities, and the elderly.[iii]

Social housing principles

Through social housing, a community can help provide affordable housing for those of its citizens who are unable to meet their housing needs independently. It can take the form of new multi-unit, multi-storey structures or of individual units constructed on top of or rehabilitated within existing housing stock. Whatever the type of social housing, three principles are essential. Firstly, ownership needs to be clearly defined and registered with local government. Secondly, management and maintenance responsibilities must be clearly articulated and organised. And, thirdly, eligibility criteria and apartment allocation procedures need to be clearly defined and communicated from the outset.

CRS’ social housing strategy includes the following components:

Formal working group: This needs to be established from the outset to facilitate collaborative partnerships with local government officials, while also building municipal capacity to assume management and maintenance responsibilities after tenants move in.

‘Book of Rules’: This articulates the key principles of social housing and defines the roles and responsibilities of each stakeholder. Official registration of this document in the local courts guarantees that future politicians will be unable to misuse or sell the units for at least 25 years.

Affordable rents: Rents need to be below market rates. Although this can be a challenge for some chronically displaced persons used to receiving free housing, it can promote dignity and reduce dependency, and generates the resources needed to manage and maintain the buildings.

Family ‘socio-economic card’: This card documents the eligibility criteria of each family and then serves as a baseline against which future improvements in household income and standard of living can be compared. Those families whose incomes subsequently rise above the official poverty line will have their rents readjusted closer to the market rate.

Sustainable livelihood component: Each family receives a form of assistance to help cover monthly rent/utility payments and to rebuild household assets lost during the war. Livelihood options are tailored for each family and may include agricultural equipment, training/support for selling produce, or subsidies to local companies to encourage the hiring of minority returnees.

Social linkages and networks: The involvement of local government authorities, NGOs and other stakeholders in the communities of return is important for providing appropriate support to returning families.

Mixed-use developments: Promoting mixed use of buildings allows minority returnees, Roma, persons with disabilities and other marginalised groups to integrate physically, economically and socially with members of the majority community. In some circumstances, special provision can be made to attract professional and technical cadres for which there is a demand in the community; in other situations, part or all of the ground floor of a housing development can be made available for commercial purposes to provide employment and marketing opportunities.

A management system: CRS provides a specially designed management information computer software programme (and training in its use) for the relevant municipal departments to enable them to: compile key information and data on all social housing buildings; track rent payment and arrears; organise maintenance schedules; and generate reports for municipal, entity and state-level purposes.

Alignment with international standards: This is in order to help BiH comply with any new requirements associated with possible future accession to the European Union.

The BiH government has learned the risks of omitting one or more of these key components from its own social housing projects, and of focusing only on the building construction aspect. An assessment of the social housing constructed by the government between 2009 and 2012 concluded that failure to clearly define from the outset issues of ownership, management, maintenance and tenancies had resulted in no-one fulfilling those responsibilities; furthermore, the lack of legislation and policy framework governing social housing was preventing both government and tenants from fully realising its benefits.

Key results to date

By the end of 2014, 762 displaced persons and returnees in nine municipalities around the country had secured safe, dignified living conditions in 273 social housing units constructed by CRS. Six years after signing tenancy contracts, 93% of families were still living in the social housing units.[iv] Of the 7% no longer present, over half of them had had a positive reason for leaving, e.g. marriage, voluntary emigration or securing employment in another town. Only 3% of social housing units were vacant. This stability is an important factor contributing to the social and economic growth of their communities. Furthermore, 22% of family members living in the social housing units were under 18 years of age, demonstrating the methodology’s effectiveness in attracting the type of young, working-age families needed to revitalise war-affected communities.

Promising early results led the BiH government in 2010 to include social housing as a preferred element in its Revised Strategy for the Implementation of Annex 7. In the years that followed, the Ministry of Human Rights and Refugees (MHRR) incorporated social housing as a key strategy in two nationwide programmes through which more than 2,900 social housing units will be constructed.[v] In 2015, the MHRR adopted CRS’ Social Housing Manual[vi] as the official guidance for all municipalities participating in these two programmes.

After initial efforts to establish legislation at the state level stalled as a result of a broader political stalemate, CRS decided to engage key officials at the municipal, canton and entity level, where there is the political will to develop and pass social housing strategies and legislation. In 2013, CRS succeeded in helping two cantons (BPK Goražde and Zeničko-dobojski) develop and pass the country’s first ever social housing legislation. Another five municipalities (Srebrenica, Prijedor, Goražde, Mostar and Banja Luka) have developed social housing strategies that provide a common framework for all current and new initiatives. And in 2013, the MHRR incorporated social housing into the second phase of its initiative to support the return and integration of asylum seekers in ten targeted municipalities and Brčko District, demonstrating that the Government of BiH now understands the value of social housing in helping municipalities to address the shelter and livelihoods needs of their most vulnerable citizens.

 

Marc D’Silva marc.dsilva@crs.org
Sanela Imamović sanela.imamovic@crs.org
Catholic Relief Services in Bosnia and Herzegovina
www.crs.org/countries/bosnia-herzegovina



[ii] Persons from BiH who had sought asylum in other (mostly EU) countries in Europe and have been returned via one of the formal agreements signed between the governments. About 70% of these readmitted asylum seekers are Roma whose lack of birth or registration documents makes it difficult to prove that they previously lived in BiH.

[iii] CRS’ social housing initiative was cited as one of two best practices for integration of Roma in the Western Balkans. See Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (2014) Best Practices for Roma Integration: Regional Report on Housing Legalization, Settlement Upgrading and Social Housing for Roma in the Western Balkans. www.osce.org/odihr/115737

[iv] Monitoring data from CRS/BiH staff, May 2015.

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. All articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.