المهاجرون واللاجئون والتاريخ وسابقات الأحداث

كولن بندي

يسرد التاريخ قصص أزمات كثيرة للهجرة يمكن أن يستفيد منها اليوم واضعو السياسات.

في القرن التاسع عشر، بدأ ظهور الهجرة الجماعية بالشكل الحديث الذي نعرفه الآن، وقد ساعد على ذلك ظهور وسائل جديدة من المواصلات، والاستيطان الاستعماري، وتوسع الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، إذ غادر ما يزيد على 30 مليون مهاجر أوروبا متجهين نحو أمريكا وذلك في الفترة ما بين 1846- 1914. وظل هذا النوع من الهجرة دون أي عراقيل أو عقبات لعشرات السنين، ولم تكن أهم ورقة يحتاج إليها المهاجر هي جواز سفر أو وثيقة أو إثبات هوية بل كان كل ما يحتاج إليه ليهاجر تذكرة السفينة البخارية.

لكنَّ الأمور بدأت تختلف أواخر القرن التاسع عشر وبدايات القرن العشرين عندما سعت الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية وبعض البلدان الأخرى لمراقبة هذه الهجرة، وانتحاء منهج انتقائي إزاء من يُسمَحُ له بالدخول ووفق أي شروط وحقوق. ثم تسارعت إجراءات مراقبة الحدود ووضع نظام الحصص، واختبارات الأمِّيَّة، وغيرها مع اندلاع الحرب العالمية الأولى عام 1914 والثورة الروسية عام 1917، اللتين سببتا أول أزمة للاجئين في أوروبا. وفي الفترة من 1914 إلى 1922 ظهر ما يقارب 5 ملايين لاجئ. وفي عام 1923، كان عدم الوفاق والوئام بين الشعوب في اليونان وتركيا سبباً في جعل 1.7 مليون شخص يهاجرون من البلدين. كما شهدت سنوات الحرب بين البلدين تأسيس أولى المعايير والمؤسسات لإدارة ظاهرة معدومي الجنسية وهي تحديداً: المفوض السامي للاجئين وإصدار جوازات سفر نانسن.

لكنَّ هذا التدفق البشري من المهاجرين لم يستمر بنفس قوته إذ سرعان ما تقلصت أعداد المهاجرين جرَّاء حالة البؤس والفقر التي أعقبت الحرب العالمية الثانية، إذ بلغ عدد الأشخاص الذين تسببت ألمانيا والاتحاد السوفييتي باجتثاثهم من جذورهم، وتهجيرهم وطردهم ونفيهم ونقلهم حولي 30 مليون شخص[1] في السنوات الأربع الأولى من الحرب. وبحلول عام 1945، كان هناك ما يزيد على 40 مليون لاجئ ومشرَّد ومهجَّر في أوروبا.

وفي عام 1918، اختُرِعَت الحدود وتُرك الناس في أماكنهم التي يعيشون فيها ( باستثناء التبادل السكاني الذي حدث بين تركيا واليونان). وقد حدث العكس في نهاية الحرب العالمية الثانية إذ ظلت الحدود كما هي يهابها الجميع ولا يجرؤ أحد على الاقتراب منها- وباستثناء بولندا- أُجبِر الأشخاص على الانتقال والتحرك نحو كل من أوروبا الوسطى والشرقية. ولم تكن عبارة "التطهير العرقي" ظاهرةً أو مُعلنٌ عنها صراحة، لكنَّ وجودها كان يُفهم ضمنياً إذ حدث ما خطط له واضعو السياسات من تأسيس دول متجانسة عرقياً.

وهناك جانبان لهذه الأزمة لا يمكن إغفالهما وهما، أولاً: الجهد الاستثنائي الذي بذلته قيادات التحالف ومنظمة الأمم المتحدة للإغاثة والتأهيل. فبحلول عام 1947، كانت منظمة الأمم المتحدة للإغاثة والتأهيل تدير وتُشرف على ما يقرب من 800 معسكر لإعادة توطين اللاجئين مع توفيرها المأوى لسبعة ملايين شخص. وبحلول عام 1951 وبفضل تلك الجهود الجبارة لم يكن هناك سوى 177 ألف مهجَّر يعيشون في المخيمات إذ أعيد توطين الملايين منهم، وأعيد أكثر من ذلك إلى أوطانهم، وهاجرت أعداد كبيرة جداً إلى بلدان أخرى. وفي الجانب الثاني: ظهر بحلول عام 1951 إطار مؤسسي وقانوني جديد للتصدي لظاهرة اللاجئين، ألا وهي مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين بالإضافة إلى وجود منظمة الأمم المتحدة للإغاثة والتأهيل وإقرار الاتفاقية المتعلقة بوضع اللاجئين.

وفي ذلك الوقت، كانت هناك إرادة سياسية جماعية لمواجهة الطوارئ، وشعور بالمسؤوليات الإنسانية في أعقاب ويلات الحرب ومحرقة يهود أوروبا. وكانت هذه الأسباب هي الدافع لإيجاد الحلول. والمحزن أنَّ الإرادة السياسية والدافع الإنساني هما ما نفتقد اليوم.

وفي الفترة بين 1950- 1973، شهدت الدول القومية الأوروبية ازدهاراً كبيراً لم تشهده الرأسمالية العالمية من قبل. وحتى ذلك الوقت ولمدة 300 سنة، كانت الدول الأوروبية مصدراً للهجرة الجماعية من خلال الاحتلال والاستعمار وإقامة مقاطعات المستوطنين في الدول الأقل نماءً. أما الآن، فنجد أن الدول القومية الأوروبية الغربية والشمالية متعطشة بشدة للعمالة الأجنبية وترحب بهم، إذ أصبحت هذه البلدان مقصداً  للهجرة والتوطين، تتزايد فيها أعداد المهاجرين الذين يصلون إليها بنفس زيادة معدل الهجرة في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية خلال السنوات التي كانت تُصنَّف فيها على أنها من دولة يقصدها المهاجرون منذ القدم.

ومع أنه بحلول الثمانينيات من القرن الماضي كان طالبو اللجوء من أفريقيا، وآسيا، وأمريكا اللاتينية يدخلون أوروبا، ظلت الدول الأوروبية- إلى حد ما- معزولة وبعيدة تماماً عما يحدث في هذه القارات. ولكنَّ أوروبا سرعان ما وجدت نفسها في التسعينيات قد دخلت فجأة إلى أزمة ثالثة للاجئين. ولهذه الأزمة عدة مكونات، أولها انهيار الاتحاد السوفيتي وتفككه واندلاع الحروب في يوغوسلافيا السابقة، وثانيها حروب القوى الغربية في العراق وأفغانستان التي جعلت من هذين البلدين أكبر مصدر للاجئين، وثالثها أحداث 11 سبتمبر/أيلول و"الحرب على الإرهاب" التي أثارت موجة جديدة من محاولات لتقييد ومراقبة ومنع الدخول. وكما يتبع الليل النهار، تبع جهاز المراقبة الجديد أن أوجد المهاجرون واللاجئون طرقاً أخرى للدخول. فأصبح هناك ترابط وثيق بين تشديد الرقابة على الحدود، والمهاجرين اليائسين، والمُهربين الانتهازيين.

وأخيراً، يمكننا تحديد أزمة رابعة للاجئين في أوروبا بدأت في عام 2011 وبلغت ذروتها في عامي 2014-2015. وأهم أسباب ومكونات هذه الأزمة هي: الحرب في سوريا، الدويلات الفاشلة أو الهشَّة في ليبيا، وأفغانستان، والعراق، والصومال، والسودان، وجمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية، وعجز دول الجنوب الواضح عن التصدي لمشكلات اللاجئين وحلها، وسرعة إنشاء طرق جديدة للهجرة الجماعية خلال دول البلقان وأوروبا الشرقية للتوجه نحو وجهاتهم المفضلة من البلدان مثل: ألمانيا، والسويد، والدنمارك، والمملكة المتحدة.

إنَّها أزمة أوروبية دون شك. ومع ذلك، ما زال هناك 18 مليون لاجئ، و27 مليون نازح في العالم، حوالي 80% منهم لا يقيمون في أوروبا بل يقيمون في بلدان فقيرة في أفريقيا، وآسيا، والشرق الأوسط، وأمريكا اللاتينية.

 

كولن بندي colin.bundy@gtc.ox.ac.uk

زميل فخري، كلية غرين تمبلتون، جامعة أكسفورد www.gtc.ox.ac.uk



[1] Tony Judt (2005) Postwar: A History of Europe Since 1945. Heinemann

 (تاريخ أوروبا منذ عام 1945)

 

 

FMR 51
January 2016

المحتويات

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

Migrants, refugees, history and precedents

Colin Bundy

There is much about earlier migration crises that today’s European policymakers might profitably recall.

It was in the nineteenth century that a recognisably modern form of mass migration was made possible by new forms of transport, colonial settlement and the expansion of the United States (US). Between 1846 and 1914, over 30 million migrants left Europe for America. For decades, this migration was largely unimpeded, and the most important paper carried by the immigrant was not a passport or identity document but a steamship ticket.

However, by the late 19th and early 20th century, the US and other countries sought to control immigration, to be more selective as to who might enter, on what terms and with what rights. This shift to border controls, quotas, literacy tests and the like was accelerated by the First World War and the 1917 Russian Revolution, which created Europe’s first refugee crisis. Between 1914 and 1922, perhaps five million refugees were created; and in 1923 the ‘unmixing’ of peoples between Greece and Turkey saw 1.7 million people moved in both directions. The inter-war years also saw the first norms and institutions developed to manage the phenomenon of stateless migrants: a High Commissioner for Refugees and the issue of Nansen passports.

But that earlier human tide was dwarfed by the flood of misery created during and immediately after the Second World War. In the first four years of the war Germany and the USSR “uprooted, transplanted, expelled, deported and dispersed”[1] some 30 million people. By May 1945 there were well over 40 million refugees in Europe, homeless, uprooted and in flight.

In 1918, borders were invented while people on the whole were left where they lived (with the major exception of the Greek/Turkish population exchanges). At the end of the second war, the reverse took place. With the exception of Poland, boundaries remained largely intact, and people were moved instead – all across central and eastern Europe. The term ‘ethnic cleansing’ did not yet exist but this is what took place as politicians engineered more ethnically homogeneous nation states.

Two aspects of this crisis are noteworthy. First, an extraordinary exercise was carried out by the Allied Command and the United Nations Relief and Rehabilitation Administration (UNRRA). By 1947, UNRRA was running nearly 800 resettlement camps, housing seven million people. Through herculean efforts, by 1951 only 177,000 displaced persons remained in the camps. Millions had been resettled; even more were repatriated; and significant numbers emigrated. Secondly, by 1951, a new legal and institutional framework existed in order to respond to the phenomenon of refugees, with the creation of the UN High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) to succeeded UNRRA and the passage of the Convention relating to the Status of Refugees.

At that time there was a collective political will in the face of emergency, and a sense of humanitarian responsibilities in the wake of the horrors of war and the Holocaust. These delivered solutions. Sadly, political will and humanitarian impulses are in short supply today.

From about 1950 to 1973, European nation states prospered during the longest sustained boom that global capitalism has ever experienced. Up to this point, for about 300 years, European states were sources of mass emigration – conquering, colonising and settling swathes of the less developed world. But now West and Northern European nations hungrily welcomed foreign workers; they became countries of immigration and settlement, their immigrant populations growing at the same rate as in the US during its years as a classic immigrant nation.

Although by the 1980s asylum seekers from Africa, Asia and Latin America were entering Europe, European states remained – comparatively speaking – largely insulated from events in those continents. But in the 1990s, Europe was suddenly precipitated into its third refugee crisis. It had a number of components. Firstly, the break-up of the Soviet bloc and the wars in what had been Yugoslavia. Secondly, wars by Western powers in Iraq and Afghanistan which made those two countries the largest sources of refugees. Thirdly, 9/11 and the ‘war on terror’ which triggered a wave of new attempts to restrict, control and deny entry. As night follows day, the new apparatus of control led to efforts by migrants and refugees to find other ways to enter; harsher border controls, desperate migrants and opportunistic smugglers are intimately linked.

Finally, we can identify a fourth refugee crisis in Europe, dating from about 2011, with a spike in 2014-15. Its components include war in Syria; failed or fragile states in Libya, Afghanistan, Iraq, Somalia, Sudan and the Democratic Republic of Congo; a growing inability of states in the Global South to handle their refugee populations; and the rapid establishment of new routes for mass migration through the Balkans and Eastern Europe towards favoured destinations like Germany, Sweden, Denmark and the UK.

A European crisis, indeed: but still, of the 18 million refugees and the 27 million IDPs in the world, 80% are located not in Europe but in poor countries in Africa, Asia, the Middle East and Latin America.

 

Colin Bundy colin.bundy@gtc.ox.ac.uk

Honorary Fellow, Green Templeton College, University of Oxford www.gtc.ox.ac.uk/



[1] Judt T (2005) Postwar: A History of Europe Since 1945. Heinemann.

 

FMR 51
January 2016

Contents

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. All articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.