من سوريا إلى البرازيل

ماريليا كاليغاري وروزانا بينينغر

المصاعب التي تواجه السوريين في دخول الاتحاد الأوروبي هي بالضبط ما جعل البرازيل تفتح أبوابها لهم.

أقل من نصف السوريين من طالبي اللجوء في الاتحاد الأوروبي يحصلون على صفة اللاجئ. يقابل ذلك اعتراف البرازيل عام 2014 بجميع السوريين بالبالغ عددهم 1405 ممن تقدموا بطلبات اللجوء في البرازيل. وفي أغسطس/آب 2015، استقبلت البرازيل 2077 لاجئاً سورياً في بلادها. ويعود الفضل في تسريع عملية الاعتراف بصفة اللجوء لهؤلاء اللاجئين ووصول نسبة الأهلية لذلك إلى 100% وتخفيض الإجراءات البيروقراطية أمام السوريين للحصول على تأشيرة الدخول لتقديم طلب اللجوء في البرازيل إلى القرار التشريعي رقم 17 الذي أصدرته الحكومة البرازيلية في 20 سبتمبر/أيلول 2013 وينص على ما يلي:

المادة 1: يجوز إصدار تأشيرة الدخول المناسبة على أسس إنسانية....للأفراد المتأثرين بالنِّزاع المسلَّح في الجمهورية العربية السورية ممن يرغبون باللجوء إلى البرازيل...ولأغراض هذا القرار، تُعدُّ أسباباً إنسانية تلك الأسباب الناتجة عن تدهور الوضع المعيشي للناس على الأراضي السورية أو في المناطق الحدودية معها نتيجة النِّزاع المسلَّح الدائر في الجمهورية العربية السورية.[1]

وقد تنامت مشاركة البرازيل في قضايا اللاجئين في السنوات الأخيرة الماضية[2] والبرازيل طرف في الصكوك الدولية الرئيسية المعنية باللاجئين ولديها قانون خاص يضمن توفير الحماية الدولية.[3] وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، تتمتع البرازيل بمنظومة عابرة للوزارات لمعالجة مسألة اللجوء تتمثل في مؤسسة المجلس الوطني للاجئين.[4]

قال اللاجئون السوريون الذين يعيشون في سان باولو إنَّ البرازيل هي الدولة الوحيدة التي تمنح تأشيرات الدخول حالياً للسوريين:

"لم أختر البرازيل بل البرازيل اختارتني." (لاجئ سوري، 27 عاماً)

"لقد كانت البرازيل الدولة الوحيدة التي قالت للاجئين "أهلاً وسهلاً بكم" في وقت قال فيه الآخرون "أخرجوا من هنا!" (لاجئة سورية، 33 عاماً).

وقال أحد اللاجئين السوريين أيضاً (28 عاماً):

"الذهاب إلى دول العالم المتقدم كأوروبا وأمريكا صعب للغاية ومكلف جداً وفي وضعي، لم يكن لدي كثير من المال. وفي هذا الوقت، فتحت البرازيل أبوابها للسوريين وسمحت لهم التوجه إليها جواً."

وأضاف قائلاً:

"في السفارة البرازيلية في الأردن، أخبروني إنَّ كل ما سأحصل عليه من الحكومة البرازيلية إذا اخترت السفر إلى هناك الوثائق فقط فلن تمنحني العمل ولا السكن ولا المال كما تفعل أوروبا. كل ما سيعطونني إياه هو الصفة القانونية. فإذا أردت الذهاب اذهب. وهكذا جئت إلى هنا....الناس لا يطمحون بأكثر من مكان آمن بعيداً عن الحرب، إنهم لا يريدون أكثر من الشعور بالسلامة والأمن."

وفي سبتمبر/أيلول 2015، وافقت البرازيل على تمديد مدة القرار التشريعي رقم 17 لسنتين أخريتين.

 

ماريليا كاليغاريcalegari@nepo.unicamp.br

حاصلة على درجة الماجستير في علم السكان وتحضر لنيل درجة الدكتوراه، جامعة كامبيناس، البرازيل.

روزانا بينينغر baeninger@nepo.unicamp.br

بروفيسورة في علم السكان وعلم الاجتماع، جامعة كامبيناس، البرازيل.

www.unicamp.br/unicamp/?language=en



[1] القرار التشريعي رقم 17 بتاريخ 20 سبتمبر/أيلول 2013

www.jusbrasil.com.br/diarios/59458269/dou-secao-1-24-09-2013-pg-29 (ترجمة غير رسمية)

[2] انظر الموضوع المصغَّر حول البرازيل في العدد 35 من نشرة الهجرة القسرية

www.fmreview.org/ar/disability

[3]  القانون رقم 9474/1997

 

FMR 51
January 2016

المحتويات

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

From Syria to Brazil

Marília Calegari and Rosana Baeninger

Precisely because of the difficulties Syrians face in entering the EU, Brazil has opened up to them.

Fewer than half of Syrians seeking asylum in the European Union (EU) manage to get refugee status. In contrast, in 2014 Brazil recognised all of the 1,405 Syrians who applied to Brazil for refugee status. In August 2015, Brazil had 2,077 Syrians refugees in the country. The speedy recognition of refugee status, the eligibility rate of 100% and the minimal bureaucracy for Syrians to obtain a visa to apply for refuge in Brazil are made possible by Normative Resolution No 17 passed on 20th September 2013 by the Brazilian government:

Article 1: the appropriate visa may be granted, on humanitarian grounds ... to the individuals affected by the armed conflict in the Syrian Arab Republic who wish to seek refuge in Brazil. … For the purposes of this Resolution, humanitarian reasons are considered to be those resulting from the deterioration of people's living conditions on Syrian territory or in the border regions as a result of the armed conflict in the Syrian Arab Republic.[1]

Brazil’s involvement in refugee issues has grown in recent years.[2] The country is party to the main international instruments in relation to refugees and it has a specific law which guarantees international protection.[3] In addition, Brazil has an inter-ministerial body to address the issue, the National Council for Refugees (CONARE).[4]

Syrian refugees living in the city of São Paulo said that Brazil is the only country granting visas to Syrians currently:

I did not choose Brazil, Brazil chose me.” (male Syrian refugee, aged 27)

Brazil was the only one which said ‘welcome’; everyone else said ‘out, out, out’!” (female Syrian refugee, 33)

One Syrian refugee, aged 28, said:

“Going to Europe or to America, the First World, is very hard and very expensive. In my situation, I don’t have that much money. And at this time Brazil is open for Syrians to fly to Brazil.”

And he added that:

“In the Brazilian embassy in Jordan they said to me, ‘If you go to Brazil, the Brazilian government will just give you the documents, they will not give you work, they will not give you a house, or money like Europe, they will just give you legal status. If you want to go, go’. So I came here. … People just want a place to be safe, away from the war, they just want a feeling of safety.”

In September 2015, Brazil agreed to extend the duration of Normative Resolution No 17 for two more years.

 

Marília Calegari calegari@nepo.unicamp.br

Master in Demography and PhD student, University of Campinas, Brazil

 

Rosana Baeninger baeninger@nepo.unicamp.br

Professor of Demography and Sociology, University of Campinas, Brazil



[1] Resolução Normativa No17 de 20 de Setembro de 2013. www.jusbrasil.com.br/diarios/59458269/dou-secao-1-24-09-2013-pg-29 (unofficial translation)

[2] See mini-feature on Brazil in Forced Migration Review 35 www.fmreview.org/disability

[3] Law No 9474/1997

 

FMR 51
January 2016

Contents

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. All articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.