الوافدون إلى جزيرة ليسبوس، صيف 2015

فوتيني رانتسوا

استقبلت جزيرة ليسبوس التي تبلغ كثافتها السكانية 85 ألف نسمة أكثر من 85 ألف لاجئ ومهاجر في 2015 حتى نهاية أغسطس/آب.

بحلول نهاية أغسطس/آب 2015، أقيمت مخيمات عشوائية في جميع أرجاء ميتيليني عاصمة جزيرة ليسبوس وخارج المنطقتين المخصصتين. وفرض ذلك ضغوطًا كبيرة على السكان المحليين والسلطات الذين يعانون بالفعل من شح الموارد بسبب الأزمة الاقتصادية. لكنّ المتطوعين توافدوا من القرى وساعدهم السائحون الأجانب في تقديم يد العون للوافدين إلى أرض الجزيرة المشوشين من الرحلة والمصابين بصدمات نفسية بسبب التجارب التي خاضوها. 

ويأتي الناس إلى هنا من المدينة التركية الساحلية أيفاليك والشواطئ البعيدة المحيطة بها. ويمثل السوريون الغالبية العظمى من اللاجئين الوافدين. ومعهم كثير من الأكراد والفلسطينيين وكذلك العراقيين الذين جاءوا عبر الأردن ووصلوا مع الوقت إلى جزيرة ليسبوس وسجل بعضهم أنفسهم على أنهم سوريون أملاً منهم في الحصول على معاملة "تمييزية". ومن أفغانستان عبر العراق، تارة رِجالًا وتارة بالحافلات وقليل من أفارقة إريتريا والصومال عبر طرق المهربين المعقدة بالإضافة إلى الباكستانيين وبعض السوريين الذين سبق لهم أن دخلوا اليونان عن طريق المهربين غالباً وعملوا هنا منذ عدة سنوات وتركوا ليعودوا الآن إلى الجزيرة ويتحدثون لغة البلاد.

ونادراً ما يرد إلى سمعك هنا كلمات مثل "تنظيم القاعدة" أو "الدولة الإسلامية في العراق والشام" الشائعة في التحليلات الأوروبية والأمريكية للوضع الراهن عندما يتحدث السوريون والعراقيون عن الأسباب التي دفعتهم لخوض هذه الرحلة المحفوفة بالمخاطر. وثمة من حاولوا سلك القنوات الشرعية للوصول إلى بلدان أغنى في أوروبا وأمريكا الشمالية لكنَّ محاولاتهم باءت بالفشل. وهناك فلسطينيون من الضفة الغربية لا يستطيعون الحصول على تأشيرات الدخول إلى أي دولة. ويوجد القادرون على حجز الفنادق من خلال الإنترنت للبقاء بعد حصولهم على أوراقهم الثبوتية وأثناء انتظارهم العبارة للمغادرة وهناك من لا يملكون من المال إلا ما يكفيهم للوصول إلى أثينا.

وهم يحطون على الشواطئ الشمالية والشرقية لجزيرة ليسبوس، وهي أقرب النقاط إلى تركيا. ويتعين عليهم حينها السير مسافة 45-60 كم إلى المدينة حيث تتم إجراءات التَّسجيل. وفي بادئ الأمر، كان محظوراً على المركبات الخاصة أن تقلهم قبل استلامهم أوراق تسجيلهم ومع ذلك كان كثير من السكان المحليين يقلون كبار السن والمصابين والأسر التي تحمل أطفالاً والنساء الحوامل، رغم أنَّ مساعدتهم تلك تعرضهم للاعتقال لانتهاكهم قوانين مكافحة الإتجار. وهناك سائقو سيارات الأجرة أيضاً الذين يتقاضون المئات من اليورو لإيصال اللاجئين والمهاجرين إلى المدينة.

وعلى الطريق يُشاهَد خط من البشر المرتحلين من أسر وكبار في السن ومرضى وأصحاب الإعاقة وشباب وأقوياء البنية. ويصلون إلى المخيمات بأقدام متقرحة وجافة بعد أن خطوا فوق قنافذ البحر أثناء نزولهم على الشاطئ وبينهم المصابون بأمراض مزمنة والنساء الحوامل والأطفال الصغار.

وفي قرية سيكامنيا الصغيرة التي تعد إحدى نقاط الدخول الرئيسية، وصل زورق أمامنا. ونزل الركاب وكانوا جميعهم سوريين. وقضى معظمهم بعض الوقت على الشاطئ يلتمسون السبل. وتبادلوا الابتسامات والعناق والتقاط الصور الذاتية بخلفية الساحل التركي. فقد كان عبورهم سلساً ولم يستغرق أكثر من ساعتين.وكثير من اللاجئين لا يعرفون بالتحديد مكان نزولهم في اليونان ولا يثقون في كلام المهربين لهم.وتوجه ثلاثة رجال يافعون نحونا بابتسامات عريضة.فقد كانوا سعداء لوصولهم إلى هذه البلاد حتى في ظل أصعب الظروف. وكانوا مغامرين على الطريق ووصلوا إلى بر السلامة.

والتقينا بأسرة من حلب: الأب مدرس موسيقى يحنُّ إلى آلاته الموسيقية التي تركها وراءه، وابنته 12 عاماً قصفت مدرستها ولكنها ما زالت تتوق للعودة إلى وطنها، وابنه 16 عاماً يحاول أن يبدو كالرجال، وأخيراً الأم التي أخبرتنا بعيون دامعة كيف كانوا يقاومون الظروف الصعبة لكنهم في النهاية لم يعد لديهم أي شيء في بلادهم ليعيشوا من أجله. ولم يكونوا قد قرروا وجهتهم وكانوا يرجحون السويد فقد سمعوا بأنها تمنح وضع اللجوء إلا أن ابنتهم كانت ترغب في البقاء باليونان لقربها نسبياً من سوريا.

ألقى اللاجئون والمهاجرون عبئاً كبيراً على جزيرة ليسبوس في 2015. وظلت اليونان تحت هذا الضغط قرابة الخمسة أعوام حتى جاء عام 2015 وارتفعت أعداد اللاجئين والمهاجرين أضعافاً مضاعفة ثم امتد هذا العبء ووصل إلى المجر والنمسا وألمانيا حتى صارت المسألة مثيرة للنقاش.

 

فوتيني رانتسوا  fotinirantsiou@yahoo.com

في إجازة من مكتب الأمم المتحدة لتنسيق المساعدة الإنسانية، ومتطوع منذ أغسطس/آب 2015، وحالياً مستشارة لمنظمة "التضامن الآن" على الجزيرة.

FMR 51
January 2016

المحتويات

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

Arrivals on the island of Lesbos, summer 2015

Fotini Rantsiou

Lesbos, population 85,000, received more than 85,000 refugees and migrants in 2015 up to the end of August.

By the end of August 2015, improvised camps had been set up all over Mytiline, the capital of Lesbos, and outside the two designated areas. This created a huge pressure for the local population and authorities, already low on resources due to the economic crisis. But there was an outpouring of volunteers from the villages together with foreign tourists who helped people when they disembarked, disoriented from the trip and traumatised from their experiences.

The people arrive here from the Turkish seaside town of Ayvalik and surrounding remote beaches. Syrians in the great majority, recent refugees most of them. Among them, many Kurds and Palestinians but also Iraqis who have passed through Jordan, and by the time they get to Lesbos some of them register as Syrians hoping for ‘priority’ treatment. From Afghanistan, through Iran, walking and taking buses. A few Africans, from Eritrea and Somalia, through complicated smuggler routes. Pakistanis – and some Syrians – who often were originally smuggled into Greece, worked here for several years, left and are now returning, speaking the language.

You will hardly hear the words Al-Qaeda or ISIS, so popular in European and American analyses of the situation, when Syrians and Iraqis speak about what has driven them to undertake the perilous journey. There are people who have tried legal channels to reach the wealthier countries of Europe and North America, and failed. There are Palestinians from the West Bank, who cannot get visas to anywhere. There are people who can afford to book hotels through the internet to stay after they get their papers and while they wait for the ferry to leave, and there are those who barely have enough money to get to Athens.

They land at the north and east coasts of Lesbos, the closest point to Turkey. They then have to walk the 45-60 kilometres to town where registration takes place. It was initially prohibited for private vehicles to give them a lift before they receive their registration papers but even then many locals were giving lifts to the old, the injured, families with babies and pregnant women, at the risk of arrest for violation of anti-trafficking laws. And there are taxi drivers that charge hundreds of Euros to bring the refugees and migrants into town.

The road is lined with people – families, elderly, sick and disabled, young and strong. They arrive in the camps with blisters on their feet, dehydrated, having stepped on sea urchins while landing on the shore, some with chronic diseases, pregnant women, small babies.

At the small village of Sikamnia, one of the main entry points, a dinghy arrived in front of us. People disembarked, all Syrians. Most spent some time on the beach to get their bearings. Smiling, hugging, taking selfies with the Turkish coast in the background. They had had a smooth crossing, less than two hours. Many refugees are not sure where they are landing in Greece and do not trust what the smugglers tell them. Three young men came up to us with huge smiles. They were grateful to reach this country, even under the most stressful of circumstances. They were adventurers on the road, they had found their safety.

We met a family from Aleppo: the father a teacher of music, missing all the instruments he had left behind; his daughter of 12, whose school was bombed but who was still longing for home; the son of 16, trying to behave like a grown man; and the mother, with tears telling us that they had tried for four years to fight it out but in the end there was no life left in the city. They didn’t know where they were heading, maybe Sweden, they had heard asylum is given there, but the girl wanted to stay in Greece, relatively close to Syria.

The refugee and migrant arrivals have placed a huge strain on Lesbos in 2015. Greece has been under this pressure for at least five years but it is only in the summer of 2015, when the numbers of refugees and migrants increased exponentially and they moved on to reach Hungary, Austria and Germany, that the issue became a significant debate.

 

Fotini Rantsiou fotinirantsiou@yahoo.com

On leave of absence from UNOCHA, a volunteer in Lesbos since August 2015, currently adviser for Solidarity Now on the island.

FMR 51
January 2016

Contents

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. All articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.