هل تُعزز معايير الاحتجاز العليا رفاه المحتجزين؟

تطبق السويد عموماً معايير عليا عند احتجاز المهاجرين. ومع ذلك، تشير دراسة حديثة أجريت في مراكز الاحتجاز السويدية إلى أنه مازال تجاهل معايير الحياة العليا في الاحتجاز يُمثل تهديداً كبيراً على صحة المهاجرين غير النظاميين المحتجزين ورفاههم.

تطبق السويد عموماً معايير عليا عند احتجاز المهاجرين. ومع ذلك، تشير دراسة حديثة أجريت في مراكز الاحتجاز السويدية إلى أنه مازال تجاهل معايير الحياة العليا في الاحتجاز يُمثل تهديداً كبيراً على صحة المهاجرين غير النظاميين المحتجزين ورفاههم.[1]

قدرة السويد على الاحتجاز منخفضة نسبياً (235 فرداً) ويُحتجز المهاجرون فيها في مراكز متخصصة وآمنة بدلاً من السجون. وتبلغ أقصى مدة للاحتجاز 12 شهراً. وتُدار مراكز الاحتجاز على يد الموظفين المدنيين التابعين لمصلحة الهجرة السويدية.  ولا يرتدي المحتجزون زياً موحداً ويُتاح لهم استخدام الهواتف المحمولة واستخدام الإنترنت. ويُسمح للمتطوعين من مختلف المنظمات غير الحكومية بزيارة تلك المراكز وتقديم الدعم النفسي والاجتماعي للمحتجزين.

ومع ذلك، تشير النتائج الأولية للدراسة إلى أن المحتجزين ما زالوا يشعرون بالعجز على الرغم من جودة مراكز الاحتجاز نسبياً. وحتى اليوم، اشتملت الدراسة على مقابلات مع المحتجزين والموظفين والممرضين العاملين في مراكز الاحتجاز ومع المتطوعين الذين يزورون المحتجزين. وقد أعرب المحتجزون عن أن جهودهم في طلب المساعدة لتلبية احتياجاتهم اليومية العملية ولإيجاد الحل لقضاياهم القانونية تذهب هباءً منثوراً، وعَزوا ذلك في الأساس إلى عدم استجابة الموظفين والمحامين والشرطة أو عدم جدوى المساعدات التي يقدمونها. وأعربوا عن تقديرهم أيضاً للسماح لهم بالخروج في الفناء واستخدام صالة الألعاب الرياضية وتوفر الطعام أربعة مرات يومياً واستخدام الانترنت ولكنهم يشعرون بالقلق إزاء القيود المفروضة على استخدام بعض تلك التسهيلات. ووفقاً للمحتجزين، ما زالت الخدمات خاضعة للسلطة التقديرية للموظفين الذين يمثلون بذلك دوراً رئيسياً في تيسير ظروف الاحتجاز للمحتجزين أو تصعيبها عليهم. ومع ذلك، ففي المبادئ التوجيهية الصادرة عن مختلف المنظمات الدولية، مثل: المنظمة الدولية للهجرة ومفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين والاتحاد الأوروبي، عادة ما يحتل تدريب الموظفين العاملين مع المحتجزين منزلة ضئيلة الشأن.

وما زالت احتياجات الرعاية الصحية للمحتجزين غير ملباةعلى نحو مناسب. وتزور جميع مراكز الاحتجاز، باستثناء مركزاً واحداً فقط، ممرضة مرتين أسبوعياً ولا يشتمل أي مركز منهم إطلاقاً على خدمات رعاية الصحة العقلية. ويفتقد المحتجزون وجود من يتفاعلون معه بحرية، وقد بدت جلياً لهفتهم على التحدث والاستماع لهم أثناء المقابلات. وقد ساعدت زيارات المتطوعين من المنظمات غير الحكومية في تخفيف وطأة الضغوط لدى بعض المحتجزين ولكن كان يخالجهم في الوقت نفسه الشعور بالإحباط لعدم قدرة هؤلاء المتطوعين على تقديم المساعدة القانونية.  ورُصدت السمات المادية لمراكز الاحتجاز، مثل: قرب عنابر النوم من المناطق المشتركة الصاخبة والجدران العارية العالية، بوصفها أسباباً مولدة للضغوط.

وبغض الطرف عن التسهيلات المقدمة شعر المحتجزين بأنه لا فرق بين مراكز الاحتجاز والسجن، وصار مركز الاحتجاز "سجناً بنكهات إضافية"، على حد تعبيرهم. فالقلق بشأن مدة الاحتجاز ونتائجه أحد العوامل الرئيسية المولدة للضغوط، حتى إن بعضهم قال إنَّ الاحتجاز أسوأ من السجن لأنهم في السجن يعرفون على الأقل إلى متى سيطول احتجازهم ونتائج ذلك الاحتجاز.

 

سوريه خوسيه بوثوببارامبيل Soorej.jose@kbh.uu.seis طالب الدكتوراه في قسم صحة المرأة والطفل في جامعة أوبسالا، السويد. أما بيث ماينا-ألبريه Beth.ahlberg@vgregion.se، وماغدالينا بينيلد Magdalena.Bjerneld@kbh.uu.se  باحثان في القسم نفسه.

 


[1] 2012-15 مشروع بحث بتمويل من الصندوق الأوروبي للاجئين. ويركز هذا المقال على نتائج المقابلات التي عُقدت مع المحتجزين.

                                     

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Do higher standards of detention promote well-being?

Soorej Jose Puthoopparambil, Beth Maina-Ahlberg and Magdalena Bjerneld

Sweden is generally considered to have high standards of immigrant detention. However, a recent study conducted in Swedish detention centres suggests that irrespective of the high standards life in detention still poses a huge threat to the health and wellbeing of detained irregular migrants.

Sweden is generally considered to have high standards of immigrant detention. However, a recent study conducted in Swedish detention centres suggests that irrespective of the high standards life in detention still poses a huge threat to the health and wellbeing of detained irregular migrants.[1]

Sweden has a comparatively low detention capacity (235) and immigration detention occurs in specialised secure facilities rather than prisons. The maximum limit for detention is 12 months. Detention facilities are run by civil servants employed by the Swedish Migration Board. Detainees do not wear any uniform, can use mobile telephones and have access to the internet. Volunteers from different NGOs can visit to provide psychosocial support for detainees.

Initial results of the study indicate, however, that detainees still feel helpless, despite the comparatively better facilities. To date, the study has involved interviews with detainees, staff and nurses working at the detention centres and with volunteers visiting the detainees. Detainees expressed the futility of seeking help to meet their daily practical needs and resolve their legal cases, mainly because of the lack of or unhelpfulness of response from staff, lawyers and the police. They appreciated being able to go to the courtyard, use the gym, have food served four times a day and having access to the internet but were concerned about the restrictions imposed on the use of some of these facilities. According to the detainees, the services are still at the discretion of staff, who therefore play a major role in making the detention conditions bearable or unbearable. However, in the guidelines issued by various international organisations such as IOM, UNHCR and the EU, training for staff in working with detainees often takes a back seat.

The health-care needs of the detainees are still not properly met. All except one detention centre has a nurse visiting just twice a week and no detention centre has mental health-care services available at the centre. Detainees sorely missed having someone to interact freely with, and their urge to talk and be listened to was evident during the interviews. Visits by NGO volunteers seemed to ease the stress for some but at the same time detainees were disappointed that the volunteers could not provide legal help. Physical features of the detention centres such as sleeping quarters situated close to noisy common areas and the high bare walls were cited as causes of stress.

Irrespective of the facilities provided, detainees considered detention centres to be similar to prison: “a prison with extra flavours”, they say. Uncertainty about the duration of detention and its outcome is a major contributing factor to their stress; some said that detention is worse than prison because in prison at least the outcome and the time period are known.

 

Soorej Jose Puthoopparambil Soorej.jose@kbh.uu.se is a Doctoral student in the Department of Women’s and Children’s Health at Uppsala University, Sweden. Beth Maina Ahlberg Beth.ahlberg@vgregion.se and Magdalena Bjerneld Magdalena.Bjerneld@kbh.uu.se are researchers in the same department.



[1] 2012-15 research project funded by the European Refugee Fund. This article focuses on the results of interviews conducted with the detainees.

 

FMR 44
September 2013

Contents

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.