الحوكمة المشبَّكة في مناطق الإكوادور الحدودية

لانا باليك وجيف بيو

لتحسين أمن المهجَّرين الكولومبيين والإكوادوريين في المجتمعات التي يعيشون فيها، بمقدور المنهج الذي يستفيد من شبكات الحوكمة أن يتيح للمقيمين التفاوض على الوصول إلى الموارد والحقوق التي ما كانوا ليتمتعوا بها بغير ذلك المنهج الذي من شأنه أيضاً أن يحسن العلاقات بين المجموعتين.

يعيش في الإكوادور قرابة 135000 مهجّر كولومبي ممن فروا من ديارهم منذ عام 2000 وبذلك تعد الإكوادور أكبر مستقبل للاجئين وطالبي اللجوء في أمريكا اللاتينية. وعلى النّقيض من المدن التي تبسط فيها الدولة نفوذها القوي، يعتري الضّعف الشديد حضور الدّولة في المناطق الحدوديّة.

للإكوادور دستور تقدّمي يكفل للأجانب الحقوق الأساسيّة نفسها الممنوحة للإكوادورييّن، ومع ذلك يواجه كثير من الكولومبيّين مصاعب جمّة على أرض الواقع في الحصول على الحقوق التي يكمِّلها لهم الدستور وقانون اللّجوء الدولي. فكثير منهم واجهوا استقبالاً عدائياً لهم في بلدهم الجديد بل حتى المسؤولين المحليين المعنيين بحماية القانون والنّظام وحقوق الإنسان صدرت عنهم  في بعض الأحيان مواقف وسلوكات تمييزية ضد الكولومبيين.

وبهذا الإطار، قال أحد موظفي الأمم المتحدة في إقليم إيسميرالداز الواقع في المنطقة الساحلية قرب الحدود مع كولومبيا موضحاً الحسابات السياسية التي غالبأً ما يجب على الموظفين المحلّلين إجراءها: "عندما لا تتمكن واردات الحكومة المحلية من تلبية المستويات المستهدفة فمن الطبيعي أنهم لن يكونوا قادرين على تقديم الخدمات الكافية لجميع السكان ما يدفعهم إلى إيلاء أولوياتهم للاشخاص الذين يمنحونهم أصواتهم ودعمهم السياسي أو بمعنى آخر الإكوادوريين".

والأسوأ من ذلك أنَّ المهاجرين الذين ليس لديهم وثائق رسمية تقل فرصهم للحصول على المساعدات من الدولة أو غيرها من الحلفاء المحتملين. وفي الواقع، في حين أنَّ أكبر مخاوف الكولومبيين الحاملين للوثائق الرسمية تدور حول تعرضهم للأذى من الجماعات المسلحة الخارجة على القانون وعدم حصولهم على الموارد الاقتصادية الكافية، فإنَّ المهاجرين الذين لا يمتلكون تلك الوثائق يخافون أكثر من الدولة ومن تعرضهم للاحتجاز والترحيل.

دور الشّبكات

تمثّل الحكومة دورين اثنين: فهي المنفّذ لقوانين الهجرة والتّرحيل والحامية للحقوق وهي مصدر فض النزاعات، وهذا ما يجعل المهاجرين في كثير من الأحيان يخشون طلب المساعدة من الدولة. ورداً على هذه الفجوات العملية في الحماية الأمنية التي يكفلها الدستور والتشريعات الإكوادورية، لجأ كثير من المهجَّرين الكولومبيين في الإكوادور إلى الاتصال بجهات غير رسمية والفاعلين من غير الدول للمساعدة في نفاذهم للحماية وتفاوضهم على الموارد وفض النزاعات فيما بينهم وكذلك بينهم وبين الإكوادوريين. وقد تكون شبكات العلاقات الشخصية التي يلجأ إليها المهجّرون عاملاً أساسياً لبقائهم ونجاحهم عندما تجتاحهم المخاوف أو عندما يجهلون كيفيّة حصولهم على الحقوق والموارد من الدّولة.

يكتسب وسطاء القوى المحليين والمنظّمات غير الحكوميّة نفوذهم من خلال تنظيم المهاجرين وتمثيل مصالحهم أمام الدّولة مع توفيرهم في الوقت نفسه للموارد والحماية للمهاجرين. ومن هنا فإنهم يشكّلون همزة الوصل مع الحكومة والفاعلين الدوليين وهذا ما أدى إلى بناء شبكة الحوكمة غالباً ما تكون أكثر قدرة على الاستجابة والنفاذ لغير المواطنين مما لو عُهد الأمر إلى الوكالات الحكومية وحدها. فهي قادرة على رفع فاعلية جميع أطياف الموارد الحكومية وغير الحكومية وغير الرسمية والتي تتاح من خلال شبكات حوكمة خاصة بالمهاجرين في الإكوادور. وهذا الأمر يعد عاملاً رئيسياً في نجاح الكولومبيين في الإكوداور كما تبيّنه التجربتان المتناقضتان التاليتان.

وصل إدواردو إلى كويتو عام 2009 ومعه ابنتان بعد أن توفيت زوجته إبَّان النزاع في كولومبيا. وكانت أخته قد سبقته إلى كويتو قبل ذلك بتسع سنوات. وفور وصوله، قدّمت له أخته المساعدة المبدئية من مأوى وطعام لكنها قدمت له شيئاً أهم من ذلك بكثير وهو النّصح الصحيح. وبناء على نصيحة أخته، توجه مباشرة إلى مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين طالباً للجوء وحصل إثر ذلك على وضع اللّجوء هو وأسرته. وعلى مدار الأشهر التالية أقام علاقات مع شبكة جديدة من الأصدقاء واللاجئين الآخرين ثم سمع عن منظمات عدة تساعد اللاجئين فتوجه إليها وحصل منها على الطعام والمساعدات بشأن المصروفات المعيشية. التحق إدواردو بعدة وظائف مختلفة عثر عليها من خلال شبكاته وفي أوائل عام 2011 اختير هو وعائلته لإعادة التوطين في كندا.

وفي المقابل، وصلت ماريا إلى كويتو مع زوجها وأطفالها الثلاثة عام 2011 لكنها لم تكن تعرف شيئاً ولم تتعرف على أي شبكة مفيدة. بل كانت وأسرتها تخاف من الاتصال بأي شخص، وكانوا يتجنبون مغادرة البيت بسبب استمرار التهديدات التي تلقوها من أعضاء حركة القوات العسكرية الثورية الكولومبية الذين اعتدوا عليهم بعد مدّة وجيزة من وصولهم وما زالوا يتابعونهم. ومن الواضح أنَّ ماريا تعيش في صدمة نفسيّة بسبب تلك التجربة ولا تثق بأي أحد في مجتمعها المضيف خاصة الكولومبيين منهم لأنها لا تستطيع أن تضمن ما إذا كان هؤلاء الناس أصدقاء أم أعداء. وماريّا تخاف على أسرتها وبقائهم أمّا بحثهم عن السّلام والاستقرار فهو أمر بعيد المنال.

وعليه، إذا مثّلت المنظّمات التي تعمل بالتعاون مع الدولة (أو عوضاً عنها في بعض الأحيان) دوراً أساسياً في إطار شبكة الحوكمة في توفير الأمن البشري وبناء السّلام في مجتمعات المستقبلة للمهاجرين أفلا يكون ذلك من أفضل أنواع التدخلات وأنجحها؟ وكيف يمكن للدولة ومنظّمة الأمم المتحدة وقطاع المنظمة غير الحكومية أن تُدمج هذه الدروس في استراتيجيات برامجها؟  فتجربة الإكوادور تظهر أنَّ علاقات العمل التعاونية بين المنظّمات غير الحكوميّة ووكالات الأمم المتحدة ومؤسّسات الدّولة التي تتعامل مع القضايا المرتبطة بالمهجَّرين يمكن أن تتيح قنوات غير رسمية أو غير حكومية لنفاذ المهاجرين إلى الحقوق الأساسية والمصادر الاقتصادية التي قد لا يكونون قادرين مباشرة على الوصول إليها من خلال الدولة. إضافة إلى ذلك، تتمتع شبكات الحوكمة تلك أيضاً بالقدرة على فتح الفضاءات المؤسسية بهدف تعزيز التسامح بين الإكوادوريين والكولومبيين.

التفاوض على الحقوق والاعتراف

أطلقت وزارة الشّؤون الخارجيّة الإكوادوريّة ومفوضيّة الأمم المتحدة السّامية للاجئين برنامجاً مشتركاً تحت اسم مبادرة التسجيل المعزّز التي تمثلت في حملة متنقلة لتسجيل اللاجئين عبر الأقاليم الحدوديّة في عامي 2009 و2010 لتبسيط العملية الطويلة لتمديد وضع اللاجئين ولتقريب مكانها من الأماكن التي يعيش فيها كثير من المهجّرين. ونتيجة لهذه المبادرة، تضاعفت أعداد اللاجئين المسجلين الحاملين للوثائق القانونية في سنة واحدة. وقد حظيت مبادرة التسجيل المعزّز بإشادة دولية على اعتبار أنه نموذج يحتذى به من شبكات الحوكمة التي ينتج عنها عوائد ملموسة للمهجّرين مع تعزيز قدرات الدولة في الوقت نفسه. وبالإضافة إلى تزايد أعداد مكاتب التسجيل الحكوميّة الدائمة للاجئين في الأقاليم الحدودية، أنشأت المبادرة أيضاً علاقات وثيقة ومثمرة للعمل بين مسؤولي كل من وزارة الخارجيّة ومفوضيّة الأمم المتحدة السّامية للاجئين والمنظّمات غير الحكومية التي ساهمت في ضان المساءلة في تلك العملية. وما زالت هذه المنظّمات غير الحكومية مستمرة في حملات المناصرة لكسب التأييد بشأن رفع مستوى الحماية للاجئين وتوفير المساعدات القانونيّة للمهاجرين الذين يخضعون لجلسات المقابلة الخاصة بتحديد صفة اللجوء.

بمقدور المنظمات غير الحكومية والفاعلين الدوليين أن يُكمِّلوا جهد الدّولة عن طريق توفير الفضاءات اللازمة للعمل المشترك عبر حدود القوميات والحد من حالات عدم التكافؤ في القوى والخوف. وبناء الشبكات من خلال العلاقات الشخصية لا يقل أهميّة عن ذلك في سياق أمريكا اللاتينية. ومن بين الكولومبيين الذين ذكروا عدم تفاعلهم أبداً مع الإكوادوريين في دراسة مسحيّة أعدّها  المركز الدولي للوساطة والسلام وفض النزاعات (منظّمة غير حكومية إكوادوريّة أشار أكثر من الثلثين إلى وجود انطباع سلبي لديهم حول الإكوادورييّن، ولم يذكر أي من عناصر الدراسة وجود تصوّر إيجابي حولهم. وبالمقابل، أشار أكثر من نصف الكولومبييّن الذين كان لهم تعامل جيد مع الإكوادورييّن (من خلال العائلات وفي مكان العمل والمدرسة) إلى وجود تصوّرات إيجابيّة في أذهانهم حول نظرائهم المواطنين.

فإذا ما سعت الحكومات ووكالات الأمم المتحدة والمنظّمات غير الحكوميّة جدّياً لتعزيز شبكات الحوكمة وإطلاق حملات التّوعية العامّة الكافية فقد تقود إلى دعم التجارب التي تشبه تجربة إدوارد والتقليل من التجارب كتلك التي مرت بها ماريّا ما يقود بدوره إلى رفع درجة الأمن لكل شخص في المناطق الهشّة المستقبلة للمهاجرين.

لانا باليك balyk.lana@gmail.com  مساعدة بحثيّة سابقة في المركز الدولي للوساطة والسّلام وفض النّزاعات. جيف بيوjpugh@providence.edu  أستاذ مساعد للعلوم السياسيّة في جامعة بروفيدنس في جزيرة رود والمدير التنفيذي  للمركز الدولي للوساطة والسّلام وفض النّزاعات

 www.cemproc.org

بُني هذا المقال  على دراسة مسحيّة حول الكولومبييّن الذين يعيشون في كويتو ونفّذَ المسحَ في عامي 2009 و2010 المركزُ الدولي للوساطة والسّلام وفض النزاعات وهو منظّمة غير حكوميّة مقرّها الإكوادور، بمساعدة من إيملي غينسبرغ وماريبيل ميلو. غُيّرت الأسماء عمداً لحماية أصحابها. الدراسة المسحية كاملةً موجودة على الرابط التالي: www.cemproc.org/CWPSPughBalyk.pdf

FMR 43
July 2013

المحتويات

g7+

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

Networked governance in Ecuador’s border regions

Lana Balyk and Jeff Pugh

In order to improve security for both Colombian forced migrants and Ecuadorians in the communities where they live, an approach that takes advantage of governance networks can allow residents to negotiate access to resources and rights that they otherwise would not be able to enjoy. It can also improve relations between the two groups.

Ecuador’s population of some 135,000 Colombian forced migrants who have fled their country of origin since 2000 makes it the largest recipient of refugees and asylum seekers in Latin America. In the cities, the state is strong and has the resources to protect these people. In the border areas, however, the state presence is very weak.  

Despite Ecuador’s progressive Constitution, which guarantees foreigners the same basic rights as Ecuadorians, many Colombians face difficulties in practice in accessing the rights guaranteed them by the Constitution and by international refugee law. Many have encountered a hostile reception in their new country; even local officials charged with the protection of law, order and human rights sometimes mirror discriminatory attitudes and behaviour toward Colombians.

A UN official in Esmeraldas province, in Ecuador’s coastal region near the Colombian border, explained the political calculation that local officials in the provinces often have to make: “When the revenue for a local government does not add up to the projected levels, naturally they are not going to be able to adequately serve the needs of the entire population, so they prioritise those who are going to give votes and political support – meaning Ecuadorians.”

Undocumented migrants’ lack of legal documentation reduces their ability to get assistance either from the state or from other potential allies. In fact, while the greatest fears of Colombians with documentation is being harmed by illegal armed groups and not having sufficient economic resources, undocumented migrants’ fears were directed more toward the state, with deportation and incarceration being their biggest worries.

The role of networks

Since the government acts both as enforcer of immigration and deportation laws and as the protector of rights and source of dispute resolution, migrants frequently feel afraid to seek help from the state. In response to such practical gaps in the security protection guaranteed by the Constitution and Ecuadorian legislation, many Colombian forced migrants in Ecuador have turned to informal contacts and non-state actors for help in accessing protection, negotiating resources and resolving conflicts with each other and with Ecuadorians. The networks of personal contacts that forced migrants tap into can be key to their survival and success when they are fearful or do not know how to access rights and resources from the state.

Since local power brokers and NGOs gain authority by organising and representing migrants’ interests to the state while providing resources and protection for migrants, their connections to government and international actors form a governance network that is often more responsive and accessible to non-citizens than government agencies alone. The ability to leverage the full spectrum of non-state, informal and state resources available through the migrant-related governance networks in Ecuador often represents a key factor in Colombians’ success in Ecuador, as illustrated by two contrasting experiences.

Eduardo arrived in Quito in 2009 with his two daughters after his wife was a casualty of the conflict in Colombia. His sister had already been in Quito for nine years, and upon his arrival she initially assisted him and his family with food, shelter and, even more importantly, good advice. He immediately met with UNHCR to request asylum, and he and his family were granted refugee status. Over the coming months he networked with new friends and other refugees, and heard about various organisations that assist refugees. From these he received food and assistance with living costs. Eduardo worked in various odd jobs that he discovered through his networks. In early 2011 he and his family were selected for resettlement to Canada.

By contrast Maria arrived in Quito with her husband and three children in 2011 not knowing anyone there, and they have not encountered any helpful networks. They are fearful to make any contacts, and they avoid leaving home because of continued threats from Colombian FARC members who attacked them shortly after their arrival in Quito and continue to pursue them. Maria is clearly traumatised by the encounter and does not trust anyone in their host community, especially not other Colombians, as she cannot be sure if they are friendly or not. Maria is concerned for her family’s survival; their search for peace and stability is an even more distant aspiration.

If organisations that work in cooperation with (or sometimes in place of) the state as part of a governance network play a key role in providing human security and building peace in migrant-receiving communities, what types of interventions have been most successful? And how can the state, the UN system and the NGO sector incorporate these lessons into their programme strategies? The experience of Ecuador shows that cooperative working relationships among NGOs, UN agencies and state institutions that deal with migrant-related issues can provide informal or unofficial channels to access basic rights and economic resources for migrants who may not directly be able to access them from the state. These governance networks also have the potential to open up institutional spaces to foster tolerance between Ecuadorians and Colombians.

Negotiating rights and recognition

The Enhanced Registration initiative, a joint programme of the Ecuadorian Ministry of Foreign Relations and UNHCR, carried out mobile registration throughout the border provinces in 2009 and 2010, streamlining the lengthy refugee status determination process and bringing it closer to where many forced migrants actually live. This resulted in a doubling of the number of registered refugees with legal documentation in one year. The Enhanced Registration has been praised internationally as an example of governance networks producing concrete benefits for forced migrants while also strengthening the capacity of the state. In addition to increasing the number of permanent government refugee registration offices in the border provinces, the initiative also forged close and productive working relationships between Ministry officials, UNHCR officers and NGOs that accompanied and ensured the accountability of the process. These NGOs continue to advocate for greater refugee protection and to provide legal assistance to forced migrants going into status determination hearings.

NGO and international actors can complement the state by providing spaces for common action across nationality lines, reducing power inequalities and fear. Network building through personal relationships is important in the Latin American context. Of those Colombians who reported having no interaction at all with Ecuadorians in a survey by CEMPROC, an Ecuadorian NGO, more than two thirds reported having a negative perception of Ecuadorians, and none reported a positive perception. In contrast, more than half of those Colombians who had meaningful interaction with Ecuadorians (through family, in the workplace or at school) reported having positive perceptions of their citizen counterparts.

If governments, UN agencies and NGOs actively seek to strengthen governance networks and carry out adequate public campaigns of diffusion and awareness raising, it could lead to more experiences like Eduardo’s and fewer like Maria’s, which would increase human security for everyone in fragile migrant-receiving regions.

 

Lana Balyk balyk.lana@gmail.com was a research associate at the Center for Mediation, Peace, and Resolution of Conflict International (CEMPROC). Jeff Pugh jpugh@providence.edu is Assistant Professor of Political Science at Providence College in Rhode Island and Executive Director of CEMPROC www.cemproc.org

This article is based on a survey of Colombians living in Quito that was carried out in 2009 and 2010 by CEMPROC, an NGO based in Ecuador, with the assistance of Emily Ginsberg and Maribel Melo. Names have been changed for protection purposes. A longer version is online at www.cemproc.org/CWPSPughBalyk.pdf

FMR 43
May 2013

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. All articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.