أكانت فكرة جيدة إنشاء مؤسسات جديدة في العراق للتعامل مع التَّهجير؟

بيتر فان دير أوفيرايرت

التبعات الإنسانية والإنمائية والسياسية لعقود من الهجرة القسرية الجماعية إنما هي جزء من الإرث الذي على القادة السياسيين الحاليين للعراق التصدي له. ولهذه الغاية، لا بد لهم من توفير مؤسسات صحيحة لإنجاح عملهم في إرشاد بلادهم نحو مستقبل أكثر سلاماً واستقراراً.

للعراق تاريخ طويل ومؤلم في مجال الهجرة القسرية، ففي العقد المنصرم وحده، كان العراق مشهداً لما لا يقل عن أربع موجات مختلفة من التهجير والعودة. وأول موجة حدثت بعد مدة قصيرة من سقوط حزب البعث من السلطة حيث تبع ذلك عودة ما يقدر بنصف مليون عراقي ما بين مارس/آذار 2003 وديسمبر/كانون الأول 2005. وفي حين أنَّ حركة العودة هذه كانت من حيث المبدأ ظاهرة إيجابية كبيرة "لمزايا تغيير نظام الحكم" فقد جاءت أيضاً بجملة من التحديات التي ما زال العراق يعاني منها إلى يومنا هذا. أما الموجة الثانية من التحركات السكانية بعد نظام صدام حسين فقد شكل غالبيتها كلاً من الأشخاص الذين كانوا يخشون التعرض للأذى على خلفية ارتباطاتهم الفعلية أو المتصوَّرة بالنظام السابق، والأشخاص الذين أُجبروا على الهرب بضغوط العائدين والأشخاص المسلحين (في بعض الحالات) الذين كانوا يدعمون هؤلاء العائدين.

لكنَّ أزمة التَّهجير الكبرى وقعت بين شهر فبراير/شباط 2006 وأواخر عام 2007 نتيجة العنف الطائفي الذي خرج عن السيطرة مسبباً نزوح 1.6 مليون عراقي داخل العراق وتهجير عدد مقارب لذلك إلى خارج البلاد خاصة إلى البلدان المجاورة. ومع أنَّ هذه الموجة الثالثة انحسرت مع انخفاض تهديد اندلاع حرب أهلية شاملة في العراق فهناك تقارير تشير إلى أنَّ الأقليات الصغيرة في العراق ما زال لديها شعور بأنه لا مناص من مغادرتها بلد يتضاءل إحساس الطمأنينة فيها يوماً بعد يوم. وعلى ضوء النِّزاع في سوريا، يجد اللاجئون العراقيون أنفسهم مجبرين على العودة إلى العراق حيث ليس لديهم سوى قليل من الممتلكات (إن كان لهم ذلك أصلاً) وبذلك يصبحون فعلياً مهجَّرين في بلدهم.

لقد تسببت هذه التحركات  السكانية واسعة النطاق وما زالت تتسبب في نشوء ضغوط كبيرة على مؤسسات الدولة العراقية المسؤولة عن توفير الخدمات الرئيسية كالصحة والتعليم والماء والإصحاح والكهرباء. كما أنَّها أثارت جملة من القضايا الخاصة في وقت لم تكن فيها المؤسسات القائمة ولا أطر السياسات القانونية مجهزة بما يكفي للتعامل معها. ومن هذه القضايا على سبيل المثال انتشار الفساد في المباني الإدارية والأراضي علماً أنَّ قدراً كبيراً من ذلك الفساد يرتكبه الأشخاص الذين لا يجدون مكاناً آخر يذهبون إليه. ومن القضايا الأخرى ظهور عدد كبير من نزاعات الأراضي والعقارات المرتبطة بالتَّهجير والعودة، وضرورة إدماج السكان الجدد في الخطط والسياسات الإنمائية المحلية والوطنية لرفع وتوسعة القدرة المحدودة للعراق على توفير الإسكان. لقد جاءت هذه المطالب كلها في وقت حرج في تاريخ العراق وتحديداً بعد عقود من الإهمال وسوء الإدارة والعقوبات والنِّزاعات التي جعلت مؤسسات الدولة التي كان يفترض أن تقدم المثل والقدوة في الجودة والكفاءة في الشرق الأوسط مليئة بأوجه القصور والعجز الهيكلي. وهذا الانحطاط بدأ في ثمانينيات القرن العشرين كنتيجة مباشرة للحرب الإيرانية العراقية وأصبحت أكثر وضوحاً في التسعينيات بعد غزو العراق للكويت وما تبع ذلك من فرض للعقوبات الدولية واستمرار صدام حسين بتحويل أموال الدولة عن مسارات إنفاقها المطلوبة.

وفي الفترة الأولى بعد غزو القوات متعددة الجنسيات بقيادة أمريكا للعراق عالم 2003، ساء الوضع أكثر مع انتشار موجات السلب والنهب غير المسيطر عليها والتي أتت على كثير من البنى التحتية المادية للإدارة العامة التي كانت مضمحلة أصلاً. وبهرب كوادر حزب البعث، نشأ فراغ في قيادة كثير من المؤسسات وزاد الأمر سوءاً بهجرة كثير من المهنيين خلال العامين 2005 و2007. أما التدخلات الكاسحة لسلطة الائتلاف المؤقت التي غالباً ما كانت غير مدروسة فقد كانت على حساب تقويض سلطة الدولة العراقية الاحتكارية لاستخدام العنف وساهمت أيضاً في تكوين سياق يضم تحديات جمَّة حتى أمام الحكم الاعتيادي ناهيك عن التعامل مع تداعيات الموجات المتعددة والمستمرة للهجرة والعودة.

مؤسسات الدولة الجديدة

إزاء ما سلف ذكره بشأن الهشاشة السائدة للدولة، قررت سلطة الائتلاف المؤقت إقامة مؤسستين جديدتين للتعامل مع التهجير الجماعي وتبعاته. وأُقرت المؤسستان كلتاهما ثم شهدتا تطوراً من قبل الحكومات المتعاقبة. المؤسسة الأولى هي وزارة الهجرة والمهجَّرين وتتمثل مهمتها الرئيسية في التعامل مع جميع الشؤون المتعلقة باللاجئين العراقيين والنَّازحين وبناء السياسات المناسبة وتنفيذها لمساعدة الأشخاص المتأثرين.

أما المؤسسة الثانية فهي هيئة دعاوى الملكية التي أنيط بها مهمة تسوية مطالب المهجَّرين العراقيين الذين صودرت عقاراتهم أو حُجز عليها أثناء حكم حزب البعث. ثم تطورت كلا المؤسستين ليصبح لهما وجوداً ملحوظاً عبر البلاد وهما الآن جزءاً مؤسساً من المشهد المؤسسي في العراق. وبالنسبة لوزارة الهجرة والمهجَّرين، فتتضمن أدوارها الرئيسية التسجيل الوطني للنَّازحين وتوفير المساعدات والمنح المالية للنَّازحين والعائلات العائدة. وفي الآونة الأخيرة غطت المساعدات اللاجئين العراقيين الذين أجبروا على العودة إلى بلادهم جرَّاء العنف في سوريا. وإلى هذا التاريخ، تمكنت هيئة دعاوى الأملاك من تسوية ما يزيد على نصف الدعاوى التي استلمتها والتي بلغ عددها 160000 رغم وجود اختلاف كبير جداً في معدلات تسوية النِّزاعات تلك من منطقة إلى أخرى على المستوى الوطني.

لكنَّ المؤسستين منذ تأسيسهما لم يكونا بمنأى عن الانتقادات الكبيرة داخل العراق وخارجها، وعادة ما كانت تدور حول أوجه القصور في الكفاءة والفعالية والحساسية والقدرة على الاستجابة لحاجات المهجَّرين والعائدين على حد سواء. ومن الواضح، بعد فوات الأوان، أنَّ بعض شكاوى المستفيدون وصانعي القرارات على الأقل كانت مرتبطة بحداثة هاتين المؤسستين.

أما الإخفاقات المبدئية الفعلية والمتصورة فقد كانت إلى حد كبير ناتجة عن الوقت والجهد الذي كان على المؤسستين بذله لكي تصبحا عاملتين بالكامل. لكنَّ نهاية المطاف بأي مؤسسة تسعى إلى ترسيخ أقدامها في خضّم الأزمات وانعدام الاستقرار السياسي أن تصرف الموارد على القضايا الإدارية الداخلي كتأمين مساحات للمكاتب وتعيين الكوادر وبناء قواعد العمل المعيارية وإجراءاته وتحديد الطريقة المثلى للوفاء بالمهمة التي تأسست تلك المؤسسات لأجلها. لكنِّ الناظر إلى المؤسسات في الخارج غالباً ما لا يرى أياً من تلك الجهود وسرعان ما يؤدي ذلك إلى عدم فهمه لما يحدث ثم شعوره بالإحباط نتيجة غياب أي تقدم بالنسبة للمستفيدين والسياسيين على حد سواء. ونظراً لأنَّ الهيئة تواجه توقعات غير واقعية، فقد عانت على سبيل المثال من أزمة حرجة حول شرعيتها بعد بضع سنوات قليلة من تأسيسها، ما أدى في نهاية المطاف إلى تعديل قانونيهما. ومع أنّ التعديل كان بسيطاً فقد تسبب في خسارة المؤسسة لمزيد من الوقت والجهد اللازمين في تكييف الممارسات الداخلية بحيث تتواءم مع الإطار القانوني الجديد.

وهناك عنصر إضافي تسبب في إعاقة كبيرة لكلا المؤسستين في السنوات الأولى من تاريخهما وهو ردة الفعل من غيرهما من المؤسسات والسلطات الحكومية الأقدم التي كان على وزارة الهجرة والمهجرين (وعلى الأخص منها هيئة دعاوى الأملاك) الاعتماد عليها في عملها. ونظراً للمخاوف التي اعترت المؤسسات الأخرى حول الموارد الوطنية والدولية وحول مقدار الاهتمام الذي سوف يُبذل للمؤسستين الناشئتين، فقد أصبحت المؤسسات أكثر اقتناعاً أنَّه من الأفضل صرف تلك الموارد على تعزيز المؤسسات القائمة لأداء العمل ذلك، وكانت ردة فعلهم في أفضل الأحيان منحصرة على عدم الرغبة في التعاون بينما كانت في أسوء الأحيان انتهاجاً لسلوك معيق صريح. ومع غياب الفهم حول ما ينبغي لوزارة الهجرة والمهجرين وهيئة دعاوى الاملاك أن تحققه وغياب التفويض بشأن القواعد الخاصة والبروتوكولات أو ضباط الارتباط للتعاون بين المؤسسات القديمة والقائمة، زاد تعقيد اندماج كل من وزارة الهجرة والمهجَّرين وهيئة دعاوى الأملاك في أجهزة الدولة العراقية الاعتيادية. واخيراً، هناك حقيقة أنَّ صانعي القرار قد قللوا من شأن الدرجة التي يمكن بها لمؤسسات الدولة القائمة سابقاً أن تتعامل مع التهجير وتبعاته، ومن هنا فقد أخفق صانعوا القرار، على الأقل في المرحلة المبدئية في رفد تلك المؤسستين بالموارد الإضافية لتحقيق تلك الغاية وهذا كله ساعد في زيادة عدم رغبة صانعي القرار في التفاعل مع موضوع التَّهجير ومن ثمّ مع وزارة الهجرة والمهجرين وهيئة دعاوى الأملاك.

وبطبيعة الحال، لا يمكن أن نحدد بالضبط الدرجة التي كان من الممكن تحقيقها في الاستجابة العراقية للتهجير والعودة فيما لو لم تختر سلطة الائتلاف المؤقتة والحومات العراقية التي تلتها إنشاء تلك المؤسستين الجديدتين. لكنَّ تجربة وزارة الهجرة والمهجَّرين وهيئة دعاوى الأملاك تعد من التجارب المفيدة التي يمكن تطبيقها في دول أخرى أيضاً لأنها قد توفر لصانعي القرارات دروساً قيِّمة حول المزايا والمساوئ التي تأتي عند التصدي لهجرة قسرية واسعة النطاق وما يتبعها من خلال مؤسسات جديدة بدلاً من المؤسسات القائمة. وهي تذكّر بقضية أنَّ محاولة تجاوز الهشاشة وقضايا الحكم في مؤسسات الدولة القائمة من خلال تأسيس مؤسسات جديدة تتضمن دون شك تكاليف مادية وجوانب سلبية أخرى. وبقدر الإمكان لا بد من الموازنة بين كل من المزايا والتكاليف المتأتية من الاستثمار في المؤسسات الحديدة قبل تنفيذها ولا بد أيضاَ من إدماجها في صناعة القرارات لتحدي الطريق الأمثل للتقدم نحو الأمام.

هناك أيضاً قضية معقدة معروفة وهي الاستدامة ومدى احتمالية قدرة المؤسسة الجديدة المنشأة لمعالجة التهجير على البقاء إلى أن تنهي عملها إنهاءً فعالاً تجاه الأشخاص الذين تأثروا بالتَّهجير. في العراق، ما زال هذا السؤال ينتظر الإجابة.

 

بيتر فان دير أوفيرايرت PVANDERAUWERAERT@iom.int رئيس قسم الأراضي والممتلكات والتعويضات في المنظمة الدولية للهجرة. www.iom.int

FMR 43
July 2013

المحتويات

g7+

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

Was establishing new institutions in Iraq to deal with displacement a good idea?

Peter Van der Auweraert

The humanitarian, developmental and political consequences of decades of mass forced migration are part of the legacy that the current political leaders of Iraq need to address. For this they need the right institutions if they are to be successful in guiding their country towards a more peaceful and stable future.

Iraq has had a long and painful history of forced migration. In the past decade alone, it has been the scene of at least four distinct waves of displacement and return. The first wave occurred shortly after the Ba’ath party’s fall from power with the return of an estimated 500,000 Iraqis in the period between March 2003 and December 2005. While this return movement was, in essence, a largely positive ‘regime-change dividend’, it did create a set of challenges that Iraq continues to struggle with today. The second wave of the post-Saddam Hussein population movement was mostly made up of those who feared that their real or perceived association with his regime would cause them harm and those who were forced to flee by the returnees and, in some cases, their armed backers.

The largest displacement crisis, however, occurred between February 2006 and late 2007 when out-of-control sectarian violence caused 1.6 million Iraqis to become internally displaced and a similar number to flee the country, mostly to neighbouring states. This third wave subsided alongside the diminishing threat of an all-out civil war in Iraq but even today members of Iraq’s small minorities reportedly continue to feel the urge to leave a country where they feel less and less at home. Currently the Syrian conflict is pushing Iraqi refugees to return to Iraq where they often have few or no assets left and thus, in essence, become displaced in their own country.

Taken together, these large-scale population movements posed, and continue to pose, considerable strains on Iraqi state institutions responsible for the provision of basic services such as health, education, water, sanitation and electricity. They also raised a set of particular issues that, at the time, existing institutions and legal and policy frameworks were not well equipped to deal with. These included, for example, the widespread occupation of public buildings and land, largely by those with nowhere else to go; the emergence of a large number of land and property conflicts related to displacement and return; and the need to integrate new populations in both national and local development plans and policies to upgrade and to expand Iraq’s insufficient housing stock. Critically, these new demands came at a moment in Iraq’s history when decades of neglect, mis-management, sanctions and conflict had turned its state institutions from being a model for quality and effectiveness in the Middle East to being deeply flawed and structurally deficient. This decline commenced in the 1980s as a direct consequence of the Iran-Iraq war and became further pronounced in the 1990s following Iraq’s invasion of Kuwait, the ensuing imposition of international sanctions and Saddam Hussein’s continued diversion of state funds.

The initial period following the US-led invasion of the country in 2003 further accelerated the decline, with waves of unchecked looting that gutted much of the already decaying physical infrastructure of public administration, the flight of the Ba’ath Party cadres that created a leadership vacuum in many institutions and the departure from Iraq of many professionals in the period between 2005 and 2007. The sweeping and often ill-thought-out interventions of the Coalition Provisional Authority (CPA) that cost the Iraqi state its monopoly on the use of violence further contributed to a context where even ordinary governance was becoming a massive challenge, let alone dealing with the fall-out of multiple, ongoing waves of displacement and return.

New state institutions

It is against this background of prevailing state fragility that the CPA decided to establish two new institutions to deal with mass displacement and its consequences. Both institutions were endorsed and further developed by subsequent Iraqi governments. In Iraq there is now a dedicated Ministry of Displacement and Migration (MoDM) with a broad mandate to deal with all matters pertaining to Iraqi refugees and IDPs and to develop and implement appropriate policies to assist the affected persons.

The second new institution was the national Property Claims Commission (PCC) to resolve claims from displaced Iraqis whose properties had been seized or confiscated under the Ba’ath party regime. Both institutions have developed a sizeable presence across the country and are now an established part of the institutional landscape in Iraq. The MoDM’s principal roles include the national registration of IDPs and the provision of assistance and cash grants to displaced and returning families, most recently to Iraqi refugees forced to return to Iraq by the violence in Syria. To date, the PCC has resolved well over half of the 160,000 claims it has received, although with resolution rates strongly differing around the country.

Throughout their existence, both of these institutions have been subject to considerable criticism inside and outside Iraq, usually focusing on shortcomings in effectiveness, efficiency and, ultimately, sensitivity and responsiveness towards the needs of the displaced and returnee populations alike. It is clear with hindsight that some at least of the complaints of beneficiaries and decision-makers were directly connected to the newness of both institutions.

The initial real and perceived failures to deliver were largely due to the time and energy that both institutions needed to spend on becoming fully operational. Inevitably for institutions that try to establish themselves in the midst of political instability and turmoil, significant staff resources were initially allocated to internal administrative issues, like securing office space, hiring and training staff, developing standard operating rules and procedures and, indeed, simply figuring out how best to operationalise the mandates they had received. From the outside these efforts often remained invisible, and soon incomprehension and frustration about the lack of progress started to mount amongst beneficiaries and politicians alike. Already struggling under unrealistic expectations, the PCC, for example, suffered a serious legitimacy crisis a few years into its existence. Eventually, this led to an amendment to the law which in reality changed little but caused the institution to lose further time and energy adapting internal practices to the new legal framework.

Another element that very much hindered both institutions in their first years of existence was the reaction from other much longer-established governmental agencies and authorities that the MoDM and especially the PCC needed to rely on for their work. Concerned about the national and international resources and attention these new institutions were getting, and convinced that those resources would have been better spent on reinforcing existing institutions to do the same work, they tended at best to be reluctant to cooperate and at worst to behave in a downright obstructionist manner. A lack of understanding about what the MoDM and the PCC were supposed to achieve and the mundane absence of specific rules, protocols or focal points for collaboration between new and existing institutions further complicated the integration of the MoDM and the PCC into the ordinary Iraqi state apparatus. Finally, the fact that decision-makers had under-estimated the extent to which pre-existing state institutions would also have to deal with displacement and its consequences, and hence at least initially failed to provide those institutions with additional resources for this purpose, further contributed to their reluctance to engage with the issue of displacement and, by extension, the MoMD and the PCC.  

To what extent the Iraqi response to displacement and return would have been different if the CPA and the subsequent Iraqi governments had not chosen to create new institutions is of course speculation. The experience of the MoDM and the PCC is, however, useful also beyond Iraq in that it can provide policymakers with valuable lessons about the advantages and disadvantages that come with addressing large-scale forced migration and its aftermath through new rather than existing institutions. It brings home the point that attempting to bypass fragility and governance issues in existing state agencies through the establishment of new ones invariably also entails costs and downsides. As much as possible, both the benefits and the costs that can come from investing in new institutions need to be weighed up before implementation and integrated in decision-making about the best way forward.

An additional notoriously complex issue is sustainability and whether a new institution dedicated to displacement is likely to remain alive until it has effectively completed its work for all those affected by displacement. In Iraq the jury is still out.

 

Peter Van der Auweraert PVANDERAUWERAERT@iom.int is Head of the Land, Property and Reparations Division in the International Organization for Migration www.iom.int

FMR 43
May 2013

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. All articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.