العراق: أزمة النزوح والتهجير والبحث عن حلول

June 2007

من المقدر أن سدس العراقيين مشرد أو مهجّر نتيجة للحرب في العراق، حيث تقدر أعدادهم في هذا النزاع الذي دام لفترة تساوي تلك التي دامتها الحرب العالمية الأولى بحوالي مليوني شخص إضافة إلى مليوني شخص مهجرين ونازحين داخل العراق. وكان معظمهم قد لجأ إلى سوريا والأردن اللتان تستضيفان حالياً أكبر عدد من اللاجئين في العالم نسبة إلى عدد السكان فيهما. ولا يتوفر لمعظم هؤلاء إلا الحد الأدنى من المساعدة والدعم من المجتمع الدولي، هذا إذا توفرت المساعدة والدعم في المقام الأول.

ويمنع انعدام الأمن أية استجابة فعالة للاحتياجات الإنسانية، إضافة إلى نظرة العراقيين إلى الأمم المتحدة على أنها تفتقر إلى الحيادية نتيجة اعتمادها على قوات التحالف في أداء مهامها. كما تفتقر الحكومة العراقية إلى القدرة على الاستجابة لهذه الأزمة، إضافة إلى انعدام المرونة في آليات التمويل والدعم والتي تحرم الكثير من الوكالات من الدعم اللازم لأداء واجباتها رغم أنها على توفير هذه المساعدة.

وينظر هذا العدد الخاص من نشرة الهجرة القسرية إلى تقييم حجم النزوح والتهجير في العراق ولفت الإنتباه إلى عدم كفاية المصادر المتوفرة حاليا للاستجابة لاحتياجات النازحين والمهجرين. وتوفر المقالات الواردة والبالغ عددها ستة وعشرون مقالة - من الأمم المتحدة والهلال الأحمر العراقي وهيومان رايتس وتش والعديد من الوكلات اللاحكومية - اقتراحات وآراء حول كيفية منع تدهور أكبر في هذه الأزمة الإنسانية وكيفية وضع إطار عمل محتمل لتأسيس حلول مستدامة لعودة اللاجئين والنازحين إلى أراضيهم وديارهم.

وقد صدر العدد يوم ١٩يونيو (النسخة الإنجليزية) في اجتماع خاص تم عقده لهذا الغرض في مبنى البرلمان البريطاني وبإشراف المجموعة البرلمانية البريطانية لكل الأحزاب بشأن العراق.

ومن الأشخاص والمؤسسات المساهمة في العدد، على سبيل المثال لا الحصر (يمكن تنزيل المقلات عن طريق النقر على المقالة التي ترغب في الاطلاع عليها:

أنطونيو غوتيريس، مفوض الأمم المتحدة السامي لشؤون اللاجئين
معالي الوزير عبد الصمد سلطان وزير المهجّرين والمهاجرين في الحكومة العراقية
السفير أشرف جهانجير قاضي، الممثل الخاص للأمين العام للأمم المتحدة لشؤون العراق
مخيمر أبو جاموس الأمين العام لوزارة الداخلية، المملكة الأردنية الهاشمية
الدكتور فيصل المقداد نائب وزير الخارجية، الجمهورية العربية السورية
السيدة غونيلا كارلسون وزيرة التعاون الدولي للتنمية والسيد توبياس بيلستروم وزير الهجرة، مملكة السويد
فالتر كيلين، ممثل الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة لحقوق الإنسان للنازحين
أندرو هاربر رئيس وحدة مفوضية الأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين في العراق
المنظمة الدولية للهجرة
جمعية الهلال الأحمر العراقي
اللجنة الدولية للصليب الأحمر
صندوق الأمم المتحدة للسكان
جميعة رواد في لبنان
مركز رصد النازحين الداخليين، ومجلس اللاجئين النرويجي في جنيف
الإغاثة الإسلامية
الهيئة الطبية الدولية
هيومان رايتس ووتش
الاتحاد الدولي لإنقاذ الطفولة - المملكة المتحدة

وتم نشر هذا الملحق الخاص باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية، ونود أن نشكر كل من مشروع بروكينغز-بيرن لقضايا النزوح الداخلي ، ووزارة الخارجية النرويجية والوكالة السويسرية للتنمية والتعاون ومؤسسة الإغاثة الإسلامية على كرمهم السخي في التبرع بقسم كبير من تكلفة هذا الملحق الخاص الأمر الذي سيمكننا من زيادة الوعي الدولي والمحلي بالوضع المأساوي الذي يعيشه النازحون واللاجئون العراقييون
الرجاء الكتابة للمحررين بملخص عن المقالة أو الأفكار الرئيسية. ويمكن العثور على معلومات حول كتابة المقالات بالنقر هنا.

Iraq's displacement crisis

the search for solutions
June 2007

One in six Iraqis is displaced. After a conflict which has now lasted as long as the First World War over two million Iraqis are in exile and a further two million are internally displaced. Most refugees are in Syria and Jordan - which hosts the largest number of refugees per capita of any country on earth. The vast majority survive with little or no assistance from the international community. Eight million Iraqis are in need of humanitarian assistance.

Insecurity prevents a robust response to humanitarian needs. The UN’s dependence on Coalition military forces means it is no longer perceived by the Iraqi people as neutral. The Government of Iraq lacks capacity to respond to the crisis and inflexible funding mechanisms deny adequate support for agencies which are better able to assist vulnerable communities.

 

Contents and links to all articles

 

A special issue of FMR – published in English and in Arabic - assesses the scale of the displacement and highlights the inadequacy of current responses. Twenty-six articles – from the UN, the governments of Iraq, Jordan, Syria and Sweden, the Red Cross, the Iraqi Red Crescent, Human Rights Watch and non-governmental agencies – offer suggestions to prevent a further escalation of the humanitarian crisis and to establish an eventual framework for the durable return of displaced Iraqis.

The issue was launched in the House of Commons, London on 19th June at an event hosted by the British-Iraq All-Party Parliamentary Group. Among those making presentations was Erika Feller, Assistant UNHCR High Commissioner for Protection.

The FMR Editors are grateful for financial support provided by the Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation, the International Organization for Migration (IOM), Islamic Relief and the Brookings-Bern Project on Internal Displacement.

FMR would appreciate help to maximise impact.

If you would like to receive a hard copy for your organisation, or multiple copies for distribution to partners and policy- and decision-makers, please contact the Editors. We will need your full postal address and indication of how many copies in English and/or Arabic you require.

We encourage you to circulate or reproduce any articles in its entirety but please cite www.fmreview.org/iraq

Forced Migration Online has a browse page with a selection of web-based resources focusing on Iraq.

 

You may also be interested in the Refugee Studies Centre brief Iraq’s refugees – beyond 'tolerance' (النسخة العر). This policy brief considers the situation of displaced populations within Iraq's national borders and of communities of Iraqis living under difficult circumstances in a number of Middle Eastern states.

For the Forced Migration Online research guide on Iraq, please go to: http://www.forcedmigration.org/guides/fmo015/

 

Iraq's displacement crisis: the search for solutions
Special Issue
June 2007

Contents

Foreword
Antonio Guterres

UN’s role in Iraq
Ashraf Jehangir Qazi

Iraq bleeds: the remorseless rise of violence and displacement
Ashraf al-Khalidi and Victor Tanner

Iraq: the search for solutions
José Riera and Andrew Harper

A tragedy of increasing proportions: internal displacement in Iraq
Walter Kälin

An unenviable task
Abed Al-Samad Rahman Sultan

The world must shoulder Iraq refugee burden
Mukhaimer Abu Jamous

Iraqi refugees in Syria
Faisal al-Miqdad

Resettlement
Vincent Cochetel

The EU should help Iraqi refugees
Gunilla Carlsson and Tobias Billström

Iraqis denied right to asylum
Bill Frelick

Delivering is never remote: NGOs’ vital role
FMR authors

Responding to Iraq’s ever-deepening violence
Robert Zimmerman

Iraqis defend humanitarianism
Greg Hansen

Iraqi refugees in Lebanon: continuous lack of protection
Samira Trad and Ghida Frangieh

Military-induced displacement
Dina Abou Samra

Tackling sexual violence, abuse and exploitation
Henia Dakkak

Iraq’s women under pressure
Nadje Al-Ali

Iraq’s children pay the price of war
Leila Billing

The plight of the Iraqi Christians
Nineb Lamassu

Education crisis for Iraqi children
J R A Williams

Insufficient world focus on Iraqi IDPs
Peter Medway

The Iraqi Red Crescent
Jamal Al-Karboli

Vital role of legal assistance for displaced Iraqis
Olivier Beucher

IOM – building Iraqi capacity and assisting IDPs
Dana Graber Ladek

Humanitarian situation in Iraq
Rianne ten Veen