قياس الدمج المحلي في الإكوادور

سانتياغو كوردوفا و بيتر جانسين

ما بين عامي 2014-2015، وضعت المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين في الإكوادور مؤشراً لقياس مدى دمج اللاجئين في البلد المضيف باستخدام ثلاثة أبعاد رئيسية للدمج المحلي: البعد القانوني، والاقتصادي، والاجتماعي-الثقافي.

حظيت الإكوادور بأكبر نسبة من أعداد اللاجئين المعترف بهم في أمريكا اللاتينية. فمن بين أكثر من 230 ألف لاجئ وطالب لجوء في البلاد، حصل 60500 على التسجيل الرسمي، 90% منهم من كولومبياً[i] إذ يتمتع اللاجئون وطالبو اللجوء بالحرية في التنقل داخل البلاد والوصول إلى الخدمات والحقوق الأساسية وفقاً لقانون الإكوادور. وأظهرت دراسات عدة سَعيَ غالبية اللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء الكولومبيين للدمج المحلي، حثهم على ذلك السعي لمشاركتهم ثقافة البلد المضيف ولغته. ومع ذلك، فهم يواجهون عوائق مثل التمييز، وعدم الاعتراف بالوثائق بالإضافة إلى تردي الظروف الاجتماعية-الاقتصادية، وكل هذه العوامل تحول دون الدمج الكامل.

وفي عام 2013، تمشياً مع الخطة الوطنية لحكومة الإكوادور من أجل تحقيق مستوى معيشة كريم، وضعت المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين في الإكوادور مبادرة الحلول الشاملة استكملتها في عام 2016 باستراتيجية حلول متعددة السنوات ومتعددة الشركاء (2016-2018). وتُنفَّذُ الاستراتيجية متعددة السنوات بالتنسيق مع المؤسسات العامة، والمجتمع المدني والقطاع الخاص وتتميز هذه الاستراتيجية بأبعاد قانونية، واجتماعية، واقتصادية واضحة. ومن أجل تقييم أثر مبادرة الحلول الشاملة والاستراتيجية متعددة السنوات الخاصة بالدمج المحلي ونجاحها، وضعت المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين في الإكوادور مؤشر الدمج المحلي لغرض تحديد اللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء الأكثر استضعافاً ومساعدتهم.

تعريف الدم

أطلقت المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين في الإكوادور دراسة مستفيضة واسعة النطاق بهدف الحصول على معلومات إحصائية بشأن الأوضاع الاجتماعية-الثقافية، والاقتصادية، والقانونية للاجئين وطالبي اللجوء الكولومبيين. وتكوَّنت الدراسة الاستقصائية من 130 سؤالاً حول قضايا محددة كالوضع القانوني للمهاجرين، والوثائق، والعمل، والتعليم، والرعاية الصحية، والظروف الاقتصادية. وأظهرت البيانات الأساسية التي نتجت عن الدراسة الاستقصائية تمتع اللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء في الإكوادور بالحقوق والوصول للخدمات في حين ما زالت العوامل الاقتصادية تمثل تحديات أمام اللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء. وفي حين يعتمد نجاح الدمج المحلي إلى درجة كبيرة على معايير موضوعية (مثل: الوضع القانوني، وحرية التنقل، وكفاية فرص العمل، والوصول إلى الخدمات الأساسية) ثمة معيار ذاتي آخر وهو تصور الأفراد حول مفهوم الدمج المحلي. ويسعى مؤشر الدمج المحلي إلى الجمع والتوفيق بين المعايير والعناصر الموضوعية والذاتية وبذلك يمكن حساب مستوى الدمج المحلي من خلال الأبعاد القانونية، والاقتصادية، والاجتماعية-الثقافية.

وقد قرأ جميع المستجيبين لأسئلة الدراسة الاستقصائية تعريفاً للدمج المحلي يتضمن عناصر تعريفات مختلفة للدمج المحلي:

يعني الدمج المحلي: أن يمثل الفرد جزءاً من المجتمع الذي يعيش فيه ويحصل على التعليم، والرعاية الصحية، والإسكان، والعمل، وخدماتٍ أخرى وأن يتمتع الفرد بالقدرة على إقامة علاقات طيبة مع الأشخاص من حوله؛ في الحي ومنظمات المجتمع المدني.

ولتحديد تصورات الأشخاص الذاتية حول مفهوم الدمج، وُجِّهَتْ أسئلة للمستجيبين حول ما إذا كانوا يشعرون بالدمج أم لا. واُسْتُخْدِمَتْ الإجابات في تحديد مدى تأثير المتغيرات المختلفة (مثل: الوضع القانوني، والوصول إلى التعليم، والرعاية الصحية، ومستوى الدخل) على تصورات الأفراد الذاتية لمفهوم الدمج ومدى شعورهم به. وحمل كل متغير وزناً معيناً حسب درجة تأثيره على تصور الاندماج المحلي.

فتحديد أوزان المتغيرات عنصر أساسي في مؤشر الدمج المحلي لأن تلك الأوزان تتعلق بسياق خاص من العملية المطروحة في السؤال المعني بها. فعلى سبيل المثال، في بعض البلدان يولي المستجيبون للدراسة أهمية (وزناً) أكبر للوضع القانوني في حين يضع غيرهم الأولوية على فرص العمل. وتبين لنا أنَّ دمج اللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء الكولومبيين في الإكوادور الاجتماعي-الثقافي أكبر من دمجهم الاقتصادي ما يعني بالضرورة أنَّه أكبر من دمجهم القانوني. ومن النتائج المهمة التي خلصنا بها من الدراسة الاستقصائية وجود ترابط بين عدم تمتع اللاجئين بوضعٍ قانوني سليم ووجودهم تحت خط الفقر. وعندما طُبِّقَتْ هذه الأوزان على البيانات الأساسية للدراسة الاستقصائية، كانت نتيجة مؤشر الدمج المحلي 61% للاجئين وطالبي اللجوء الكولومبيين في الإكوادور، ومتوسط مستوى الدمج المحلي 50.6%، والدمج الاجتماعي-الثقافي 62.3%، والدمج الاقتصادي 59.5%.[ii]

ويتيح تنوع نتائج مؤشر الدمج المحلي الفرصة في إجراء تحليلات على مستوى المجموعة والفرد ما يُمَكِّنُ بدوره من إجراء تدخلات أكثر دقة تستهدف الأشخاص الأكثر استضعافاً الموجودين عند الطرف الأدنى من مؤشر الدمج. ويمكن تحقيق ذلك الهدف، على سبيل المثال، من خلال تضمين هذه الفئات المستضعفة في نموذج التخريج[iii] الذي يعمل به مكتب المفوضية في الإكوادور منذ عام 2016 والذي حقق نتائج واعدة ومبشرة إذ يستند اختيار المشاركين إلى عدم أمور أهمها مستوى ظروفهم المعيشية والأسرية على مؤشر الدمج المحلي. وجاءت فكرة نموذج التخريج (أو مقاربة التخريج) من عالم المساعدات الإنمائية ويهدف إلى ’تخريج‘ الأشخاص من الفقر. ويتكون النموذج من مجموعة من التدخلات المتسلسلة التي تتضمن دعم الاستهلاك، والتدريب على المهارات، والإرشاد، والتدريب المالي، وإدراج اللاجئين في شبكات عمل آمنة ضمن المجتمع. والإكوادور واحد من البلدان القليلة التي تطبق هذا النموذج على وضع اللاجئين. ويمكن وصف عائلة ما بأنَّها ’تخرجت‘ من تحت خط الفقر في الإكوادور إذا حققت أربعة معايير هي حصول هذه العائلة على الأقل على ثلاث وجبات ذات قيمة غذائية وأن يكون لها دخل أعلى من خط الفقر وأن تستطيع ادخار 5% من الدخل في البنك وأن تنتمي إلى شبكة عمل مجتمعية أو اجتماعية مثل المنظمة الكنسية. ومن أصل 1810 أسرة تدعمهم المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين في الإكوادور، ويمكن القول إنَّ 59% من هذه الأسر حققت معايير التخرج الأربعة. وبالإضافة إلى استخدام مؤشر الدمج المحلي كأداة اختيار، يمكن استخدامه أيضًا لقياس مستوى تقدم الأسر المشاركة في نموذج التخرج نحو تحقيق الدمج المحلي.

الخلاصة

في الإكوادور، أظهر مؤشر الدمج المحلي، المستند إلى البيانات المُجَمَّعة في 2014، أنَّ اللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء الكولومبيين حققوا مستوياتٍ عالية جداً نسبياً من الدمج.[iv]وفي الوقت نفسه، لا بد من تحقيق التقدم لنسبة كبيرة جداً من السكان. وفي الوقت الحالي، تُجرَى دراسة انتصافية سوف تستخدم مؤشر الدمج المحلي لقياس مستوى التقدم الذي أحرزته المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين من خلال استخدامها لاستراتيجية الحلول متعددة السنوات ومتعددة الأشخاص. وبالنظر إلى تعدد استخدامات مؤشر الدمج المحلي، سيُستخدَم أيضًا للمساعدة في تقديم برامج تهدف إلى تحسين دمج فئة معينة من السكان، بما يتعلق بنوع معين من الدمج لقطاع معين من السكان. وسوف تُظهِرُ الحسابات المنتظمة لتحديث مؤشر الدمج المحلي اتجاه تطور الدمج المحلي مع مرور الوقت ضمن عملية محددة.

 

سانتياغو كوردوفا cordova.santiago@gmail.com

مسؤول إدارة البيانات (سابقاً)

 

بيتر جانسين janssen@unhcr.org

نائب الممثل

مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين، الإكوادور www.acnur.org



[i] حسب بيانات وزارة الشؤون الخارجية والتنقل البشري الإكوادورية.

[ii] للانتقال من مستوى الدمج في كل محور إلى المستوى العالمي LII، لا بد من تطبيق أوزان محددة تُحتَسَب لكل محور على المستوى الفردي وبعدها يُحسَب المعدل على أساس الفئة السكانية كاملة. لمزيد من المعلومات عن المنهجية وكامل النتائج، يرجى الاتصال بسانتياغو كوردوفا.

[iv] تشير كلمة ’نسبياً‘ إلى مقياس LII بحيث تمثل 0% عدم وجود الدمج كما الحال على سبيل المثال في مخيم اللاجئين المغلق الذي يعتمد بنسبة 100% على المساعدات الإنسانية في جميع القطاعات، بينما تشير 100% إلى الدمج الكامل مثل التجنيس.

 

FMR 56
October 2017

المحتويات

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

Measuring local integration in Ecuador

Santiago Cordova and Peter Janssen

In 2014-15 UNHCR Ecuador developed an index to measure the degree to which refugees are integrated in their host country, using three main dimensions of local integration: legal, economic and socio-cultural.

Ecuador has the largest recognised refugee population in Latin America. Of the more than 230,000 refugees and asylum seekers in the country, 60,500 are registered refugees, 90% of whom are from Colombia.[1] Refugees and asylum seekers have freedom of movement within the country and access to basic rights and services, according to Ecuadorian law. Several studies have shown that most Colombian refugees and asylum seekers in Ecuador seek to become locally integrated due to sharing a culture and language with the host country. However, they face obstacles such as discrimination, lack of recognition of documentation, and poor socio-economic conditions – all factors that stand in the way of full integration.

In 2013, in line with the Ecuadorian government’s National Plan for Good Living, UNHCR Ecuador developed a Comprehensive Solutions Initiative (CSI), complemented in 2016 by a multi-year, multi-partner solutions strategy (2016-18). The multi-year strategy is implemented in coordination with public institutions, civil society and the private sector, and has distinct legal, social and economic dimensions. In order to assess the impact of the CSI and the multi-year strategy on local integration, UNHCR Ecuador designed a Local Integration Index (LII), which would also serve as a tool to best identify and assist the most vulnerable refugees and asylum seekers.

Defining integration

UNHCR Ecuador commissioned an extensive study of statistical information on the socio-cultural, economic and legal situation of Colombian refugees and asylum seekers. The survey consisted of 130 questions on specific issues such as migratory status, documentation, work, education, health care and economic conditions. The resulting baseline data show that enjoyment of rights and access to services are, in general, available to refugees and asylum seekers in Ecuador, while economic factors still present challenges. While success of local integration depends to a large extent on objective criteria (such as legal status, freedom of movement, adequate employment and access to basic services), there is also a subjective element, namely the perception of individuals. The LII seeks to combine the objective and subjective elements and thus calculate the level of local integration across legal, economic and socio-cultural dimensions.

Each respondent was read a definition of local integration that incorporated elements of various definitions of local integration:

Local integration means forming part of a society where you have access to education, health, housing and employment, among others, and where you are able to maintain good relations with the people around you, in your neighbourhood and civil society organisations.

In order to determine people’s subjective perception of integration, respondents were asked whether they felt integrated or not. The responses were used to determine the extent to which the different variables (such as legal status, access to education, health and income level) influenced an individual’s perception of being integrated. Depending on the degree of its influence on the perception of local integration, each variable was given a certain weight.

The weighting of the variables is an essential element of the LII and relates to the specific context of the operation in question. For example, in some countries persons of concern may attach more importance (weight) to legal status, while in others priority is given to employment. We found that the socio-cultural integration of Colombian refugees and asylum seekers in Ecuador was greater than their economic integration, which was in turn greater than their legal integration. One significant finding of the survey in Ecuador was a correlation between a lack of legal status and being below the poverty line. When these weights were applied to the baseline data the result was an LII of 61.1% for  Colombian refugees and asylum seekers in Ecuador, the average level of legal integration being 50.6%, socio-cultural integration 62.3%, and economic integration 59.5%.[2]

The versatility of the LII allows for analysis at group and individual levels, which in turn enables more precise interventions, targeting persons at the lower end of the integration index. This, for example, can be through their inclusion in the Graduation Model,[3] which the Office in Ecuador has been implementing since 2016 with promising results, where participants are selected based on, among other things, their household’s score on the LII. The Graduation Model (or approach) comes from the world of development assistance and is aimed at ‘graduating’ people out of poverty. The model consists of a sequenced set of interventions that include consumption support, skills training, mentoring, financial training and inclusion in safety networks within the community. Ecuador is one of few countries applying the model in a refugee situation. Families ‘graduate’ according to their performance against four criteria, which in Ecuador are: eating at least three nutritious meals a day; having a family income above the poverty line; having 5% of income in savings in a bank; and belonging to a community or social network such as a church organisation. Of the 1,810 families currently supported by UNHCR Ecuador, 59% have achieved all four graduation criteria. In addition to use as a selection tool, the LII can also be used to measure the progress of those families participating in the Graduation Model towards local integration.

Conclusions

In Ecuador, the LII shows that, based on data collected in 2014, Colombian refugees and asylum seekers achieved relatively high levels of integration.[4] At the same time, there is progress to be made for a significant proportion of the population. A mid-line study is currently under way, which will use the LII to measure the progress made by UNHCR’s multi-year, multi-partner solutions strategy. Given its versatility, the LII is a tool to help design programmes aimed at improving the integration of a given population, with respect to a certain type of integration or for a specific sector of the population. Regular calculations to update the LII will show how local integration evolves over time within a specific operation.

 

Santiago Cordova cordova.santiago@gmail.com
Former data management officer

Peter Janssen janssen@unhcr.org
Deputy Representative
UNHCR Ecuador www.acnur.org


[1] Data from Ecuador’s Ministry for Foreign Affairs and Human Mobility.

[2] To go from the level of integration in each dimension to the global LII, it is necessary to apply the specific weights calculated for each dimension at an individual level and then calculate the average for the whole population. For details of the methodology and full results contact Santiago Cordova.

[4] ‘Relatively’ refers to the scale of the LII, with 0% representing no integration, such as a closed refugee camp with 100% dependency on humanitarian assistance in all sectors; and 100% representing full integration, such as naturalization.

 

FMR 56
October 2017

Contents

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. All articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.