المبدأ التوجيهي الكندي 9: تحسين تقييم المطالبات القائمة على الميل الجنسي والهوية الجندرية؟

مويرا داستن ونونا فيرايرا

عادة ما يواجه طالبو اللجوء الذين يتقدمون بطلباتهم بناءً على ميلهم الجنسي وهويتهم الجندرية رفضاً غير عادل. ونظراً لذلك، أصدر مجلس الهجرة واللاجئين في كندا مبدأً توجيهياً جديداً يتخذ خطواتٍ تستحق الثناء من أجل تحسين تقييم المطالبات ويقدّم نموذجاً يمكن أن يتَّبعه المزاولون في أماكن أخرى.

دخل المبدأ التوجيهي 9 الصادر عن مجلس الهجرة و اللاجئين في كندا حول الإجراءات القانونية أمام مجلس الهجرة واللاجئين بما فيها الادعاءات القائمة على الميل الجنسي والهوية الجندرية والتعبير الجندري حيز التنفيذ منذ مايو/ أيار عام 2017. ويتناول ذلك التوجيه عدداً من المخاوف المتكررة المتعلقة بمطالبات اللجوء القائمة على الميل الجنسي والهوية الجندرية والتعبير[1] الناشئة عن القانون العرفي والإرشادات والصكوك القانونية المعمول بها حول العالم.[2]كما تتعلق هذه المخاوف التي تعدّ أسباباً عامة لرفض مطالبات اللجوء القائمة على الميل الجنسي والهوية الجندرية والتعبير الجندري في أوروبا بأهلية الفرد في أن يكون عضواً ضمن فئة اجتماعية معينة بموجب اتفاقية اللاجئين لعام 1951؛ وإمكانية عودة المتقدمين للعيش "بتحفّظ" ودون خطر، وما إذ كانت القوانين التي تُجَرّم المثلية الجنسية في بلد المنشأ للمتقدمين تُمثِّلُ اضطهاداً بحدّ ذاتها، واستخدام القوالب النمطية الجنسية والجندرية في إبلاغ صانعي قرار اللجوء وما إذ تقديم دليل جنسي صريح مطلوب أو متوقع طلبه في قضايا اللجوء، واعتبار التأخر في الإفصاح أساساً لرفض تقديم الحماية الدولية. كل تلك الجوانب كانت موضوع قرارات محكمة العدل التابعة للاتحاد الأوروبي في عامَي 2013 و 2014.[3]

ويضع هذا المبدأ التوجيهي عدداً من الأحكام الجيدة. فبالإشارة إلى قرار عام 1993[4] يبين المبدأ التوجيهي بوضوح أنّ الأفراد الذين يقدمون طلبات اللجوء والهجرة على أساس الميل الجنسي والهوية الجندرية والتعبير الجندري "يوصفون بأنّهم فئة اجتماعية خاصة". كما يقر بأنّ مخاوف أفراد أُسَر الذين يقدّمون طلبات اللجوء القائمة على الميل الجنسي والهوية الجندرية والتعبير الجندري تسوغ النظر في نفس إطار اتفاقية اللاجئين مما يُعَدُّ أمراً مرحباً به على الأقل إن لم يكن جديداً بخاصة للجمهور الأوروبي.

وفيما يتعلق بقضية التَّحَفُظ، يؤكد المبدأ التوجيهي على أنّه ينبغي أن لا يُتَوَقَّع من أصحاب الطلبات أن يكونوا "متحفظين" بخصوص ميلهم الجنسي وهويتهم الجندرية وتعبيرهم الجندري لإبعاد الاضطهاد عنهم. وبالتالي، فإنه يبعد خط الاستجواب المتعلق بإمكانية أن يعيش أولئك الأفراد بتحفّظ في بلد المنشأ كما هو الحال في المبدأ التوجيهي للملكة المتحدة على سبيل المثال.[5]

ويعد المبدأ التوجيهي متيناً فيما يتعلق بضرورة تجنب اتخاذ القرارات استناداً إلى القوالب النمطية، كما يقدّم مجموعة جيدة من الأمثلة على العثرات المحتملة مثل الافتراض بأن المتقدمين بناءً على ميلهم الجنسي وهوياتهم الجندرية و التعبير الجندري سوف يشاركون بثقافة إل جي بي تي كيو+[6] في كندا. ويبدو أن افتراضاً كهذا يتجاوز القرار الصادر عن محكمة العدل التابعة للاتحاد الأوروبي لعام 2014 الذي يحول دون اتخاذ القرارات استناداً إلى القوالب النمطية، لكنَّه مع ذلك يسمح بإثارة الأسئلة المبنية على تلك القوالب شريطة أن تكون ضمن خط متوازن من الأسئلة.

كما يقرّ المبدأ التوجيهي بإيجابية بقبول حالات التأخر عن الإفصاح وإمكانية تسويغها في ظروف معينة. فالعبارة القائلة إنّ الفرد "يجوز له أن يؤخر لأسباب معقولة المطالبة بحمايته كلاجئ على أساس الميل الجنسي والهوية الجندرية والتعبير الجندري" في عدد من الحالات تذهب إلى أبعد من أي إرشادات توجيهية أخرى. وعلاوة على ذلك، ينبّه المبدأ التوجيهي بحق صانعي القرار لضرورة النظر إلى أي ثقل سلبي مرتبط بالمتناقضات بما يشمل تلك التي تنشأ عن تأخر الإفصاح التي يمكن أن تكون "بسبب حواجز ثقافية أو نفسية أو غيرها." بيد أنّ المبدأ التوجيهي كان يمكن أن يذهب إلى أبعد من ذلك من خلال الاشتراط على صانعي القرار توفير الفرصة لطالبي اللجوء حتى يتمكنوا من توضيح أي متناقضات مُتَصَوَّرَّة أو أي قضايا تؤثر على مصداقيتهم قبل إصدار القرار.

كما يُقِرُّ المبدأ التوجيهي بأنّه من غير المعقول أن نتوقع من طالبي اللجوء القائم على ميولهم الجنسية وهوياتهم الجندرية و التعبير الجندري التوجه إلى السلطات العامة في بلدانهم المنشأ من أجل توفير الحماية لهم، خصوصاً عندما تُجرِّم قوانينها الميول الجنسية والهويات الجندرية والتعبير الجندري غير المطابقة للأعراف المرعية. ويركز المبدأ التوجيهي بحق على ’المستوى العملياتي‘ بدلاً من تركيزه على ما كرّسه إطار العمل القانوني في البلد المنشأ. وعلاوة على ذلك، يولي المبدأ التوجيهي اهتماماً لا مثيل له لأهمية صانعي القرار الذين يقبلون الادعاءات على عين المكان (sur place) ويتميزون بحساسيتهم تجاه بطء عمليات قبول الذات التي يعاني منها كثير من طالبي اللجوء القائم على الميل الجنسي والهويات الجندرية والتعبير الجندري.

كما أصبحت جودة وملائمة معلومات بلد المنشأ موضوعاً متكرراً في دراسات اللجوء خصوصاً تلك المتعلقة بالأفراد من ذوي الميول الجنسية والهوية الجندرية والتعبير الجندري.[7]ويقرّ المبدأ التوجيهي بإشكالية استخدام معلومات بلد المنشأ في مثل هذه الحالات من خلال التذكير بأنّ عدم الإبلاغ عن الممارسات التمييزية والقمعية في بلدان المنشأ قد تعكس الموقف المحلي تجاه تلك الممارسات وليس غيابه.

ومع ذلك، فيما يتعلق بمفهوم الاضطهاد فإنّ منطق المبدأ التوجيهي متحفظ لدرجة غير مناسبة إذ يرفض النظر إلى تجريم السلوكيات المثلية والمعايير القمعية المتعلقة بالميول الجنسية والهويات الجندرية والتعبير الجندري على أنه نوع من أنواع الاضطهاد. وبدلاً من ذلك، ينصُّ ببساطة على أنّ "إجبار الشخص على إخفاء ميله الجنسي وهويته الجندرية يشكّل تحدياً جدياً في وجه حقوق الإنسان الأساسية والذي يمكن أن يصل إلى حدود الاضطهاد". وفي هذا المجال وغيره، يترك التوجيه مساجة كبيرة لإنكار طلبات اللجوء التي يقدمها الأشخاص الذين يعيشون ضمن إطار قانوني قمعي وتمييزيّ. وهذا ما يتعارض مع اعترافه بأثر أعمال التمييز التراكمية في أماكن أخرى.

إضافات غير متوقعة

بالإضافة إلى عناصر التقدم التي تحظى بالترحيب، يتخذ المبدأ التوجيهي خطوات أخرى أقل توقعاً. إذ إنّ المقاربة المتبعة إزاء المصطلحات المستخدمة يعد نهجاً غير اعتيادي وذلك لاشتماله على مصطلح "أشكال التعبير": الميل الجنسي والهوية الجندرية والتعبير الجندري. وهذا ما يعدّ تطوراً إيجابياً لأن التركيز يكون منصباً على خصائص الأفراد بدلاً من شملهم في مصطلحات كالمثلية والمثلي وثنائي الجنس والمتحول جنسياً والمتحير (إل جي بي تي كيو+) (القسم الثاني). وبالتالي يجب تشجيع صانعي القرار على توخي مزيد من الدقة والمراعاة تجاه مختلف الخصائص الفردية وتجاه كيفية تداخلها. وينسجم ذلك مع التشديد الذي يضعه المبدأ التوجيهي إذ يستثني الأفراد من أصحاب الهويات الخاصة الذين لا يتحدثون عن أنفسهم على أنهم أقل ارتباطاً بمفهوم إل جي بي تي كيو+. وستكون هنالك خطوة أخرى لشمل الخصائص الجنسية بما يشكل الاختصار المأخوذ من الحروف الأولى من الميل الجنسي والهوية الجندرية والتعبير الجندري (SOGIESC).

هذا الخيار الإيجابي للمصطلحات يتحالف مع اعتراف إيجابي أيضاً بأنّ النوع الاجتماعي ليس أبيض أو أسود فحسب، بل يقع في طيف متنوعة ألوانه. ومما يثير الاهتمام أنَّ الأشخاص المتباينون جنسياً يقعون ضمن نطاق المبدأ التوجيهي حيث لا يبدو ظاهراً عليهم التوافق مع معايير الميل الجنسي والهوية الجندرية والتعبير الجندري المقبولة اجتماعياً. وعلاوة على ذلك، يقرّ المبدأ التوجيهي بنقص "المصطلحات الموحدة" اللازمة لمواجهة تعقيدات فهم الميول الجنسية والهويات الجندرية والتعبير الجندري عبر مختلف الثقافات والمجتمعات بهدف تجنب المعايير والتوقعات الثقافية والاجتماعية غير الملائمة فيما يتعلق بالهجرة وإجراءات البت القضائي بطلبات اللجوء. وأخيراً، يوجه المبدأ التوجيهي السلطات والمترجمين الفوريين لمخاطبة الأفراد باحترام باستخدام ما يختاره هؤلاء الأفراد من اسم ومصطلح وضمائر. كما يجب الإشادة بالمبدأ التوجيهي للغته الإيجابية ونهجه السلس في تقديم التعريفات والمُعَرِّفات.

ومما يستحق الثناء أيضاً الإشارة المتسقة إلى كيفية تداخل الميل الجنسي والهوية الجندرية والتعبير الجندري مع الخصائص الأخرى كالعرق والإثنية والدين والعقيدة أو منظومة المعتقدات والعمر والإعاقة والحالة الصحية والطبقة الاجتماعية والتعليم. وعلاوة على ذلك، يوظف المبدأ التوجيهي استخداماً ممتازاً للتداخل مع التركيز على أنّ مجموعة الخصائص هذه قد تؤثر على كل جوانب إجراءات الهجرة وطلبات اللجوء بما يشمل شهادات الأفراد والعلاقات مع السلطات ومعايير أصحاب المصلحة المعنيين للاضطهاد.

والأهم من ذلك أنّ المبدأ التوجيهي يشير إلى التطبيق التقييدي والتقليدي لأسس اتفاقية اللاجئين لعام 1951. وبينما يتوقع صانعو القرار عموماً من طالبي اللجوء أن يقدموا طلباتهم على واحد من الأسس المنصوص عليها في اتفاقية اللاجئين، يركز المبدأ التوجيهي على أنّ الأفراد أصحاب ميول الجنسية والهويات الجندرية والتعبير الجندري يمكنهم تقديم طلب اللجوء على أساس مزيج من أي من أسس الاتفاقية الخمسة. وبهذه الطريقة، يبتعد المبدأ التوجيهي عن تعريف الأفراد على أساس ميولهم الجنسية وهوياتهم الجندرية والتعبير الجندري وحدها. وكما نلاحظ في الأسفل، على أي حال، يتعارض ذلك بطريقة ما مع مصطلح " مختلف الميول الجنسية والهويات الجندرية والتعبير الجندري" الوارد في المبدأ التوجيهي.

كما تجدر الإشادة بالمبدأ التوجيهي لإقراره بأن الأفراد أصحاب الميول الجنسية والهويات الجندرية والتعبير الجندري يجب تصنيفهم على أنهم "مستضعفون" لحمايتهم بموجب أي أحكام مرعية، كما ينبه المبدأ التوجيهي المسئولين تنبيهاً صحيحاً بضرورة اعتماد ضمانات إضافية لحماية المعلومات الحساسة. وفي خطوة مفاجئة وغير متوقعة، أشار المبدأ التوجيهي بصراحة للأطفال من ذوي الميول الجنسية والهويات الجندرية والتعبير الجندري ونبّه صانعي القرار إلى نقاط ضعفهم الخاصة. كما أن إشارته إلى مبدأ مصالح الطفل الفضلى تعكس مرة أخرى مبدأ التداخل مما يؤدي إلى إقامة روابط تتجاوز مجال قانون اللاجئين.

وأخيراً، يعتمد المبدأ التوجيهي نهجاً يحترم الحقوق الأسرية للأفراد من ذوي الميول الجنسية والهوية الجندرية والتعبير الجندري ويقرّ بالصعوبات التي يمكن أن يواجهوها في أثناء إثباتهم لعلاقاتهم الزوجيّة أو القرانيّة. وفي معرض التركيز على أهمية تجنب المعايير المُتَصَوَّرة مسبقاً عن تلك العلاقات، يدعو المبدأ التوجيهي صانعي القرار للنظر في "الظروف الفريدة" التي يواجهها الأشخاص من ذوي الميول الجنسية والهوية الجندرية والتعبير الجندري. كما يقترح المبدأ التوجيهي ضرورة أن تؤخذ هذه الظروف في عين الاعتبار في تقييم الأسباب الإنسانية والوجدانية في الطعون المقدمة من أجل تقديم الرعاية.

مواطن القُصُور والضعف

تتعلق واحدة من أوجه القصور المثيرة للدهشة بمعايير الإثبات إذ ينصّ المبدأ التوجيهي ببساطة على أنّه "ليس من المتوقع من الأفراد (....) [أن] يثبتوا ميلهم الجنسي وهويتهم الجندرية وتعبيرهم الجندري عن طريق استخدام الصور والفيديوهات أو المواد البصرية الجنسية الصريحة". فهذه الصياغة اللغوية ضعيفة وتترك مجالاً مفرطاً للأفراد ليكونوا تحت الضغط مما يدفعهم ليقدموا هذا النوع من الأدلة من أجل تعزيز قضاياهم. أمّا محكمة العدل التابعة للاتحاد الأوروبي فذهبت إلى أبعد من ذلك، إذ تحول بشكل تام دون استخدام الأدلة الجنسية في حالات طلبات اللجوء القائمة على الميل الجنسي والهوية الجندرية والتعبير الجندري وبالتالي تحمي كرامة مقدمي طلبات اللجوء بفاعلية أكبر ومن المؤسف عدم وجود نهج مماثل في المبدأ التوجيهي. فوحده إلغاء النص عن أي نطاق من استخدام الأدلة الجنسية في طلبات اللجوء ما سوف يزيل الضغط على طالب اللجوء وممثليه القانونيين إزاء استخدام هذه الإمكانية كملاذ أخير له في إثبات توجهاته الجنسية.

وعلى الرغم من جدارة المبدأ التوجيهي في استخدام الخصائص في (الميل الجنسي والهوية الجندرية والتعبير الجندري SOGIE) بدلاً من استخدام هوية إل جي بي تي آي كيو+ في مصطلحاته ما زال استخدام اختصار SOGIE مقلقاً. فالنص لا يكتفي بالإشارة إلى "طالبي اللجوء القائم على الميل الجنسي والهوية الجندرية والتعبير الجندري" فحسب بل يشير بتكرار إلى الأفراد "ذوي الميول الجنسية والهويات الجندرية والتعبيرات الجندرية المتنوعة". والسؤال هنا "متنوع" وفقاً إلى ماذا؟ يبدوا أن الإجابة ستكون وفقاً للأغلبية المتباينة جنسياً. فباستخدام المبدأ التوجيهي لعبارة "الميول الجنسية والهويات الجندرية والتعبيرات الجندرية المتنوعة" يعزز المبدأ بدون قصد الفجوة المتصورة بين الغيرية الجنسية ’المعيارية‘ واللاغيرية الجنسية ’المنحرفة‘ بينما الاختلاف بينهما بلا شك يكون في مصدر الاضطهاد ووصمة العار والتمييز الذي يعاني منه الأفراد الذين يقدمون طلبات اللجوء على أساس ميلهم الجنسي وهويتهم الجندرية وتعبيرهم الجندري. لذا سيكون من الأفضل الإشارة للأفراد إما بقول "الأشخاص الذين يقدمون طلبات اللجوء على أساس من ميلهم الجنسي وهويتهم الجندرية وتعبيرهم الجندري" أو استخدام الاختصار من أجل التبسيط اللغوي " طالبي اللجوء القائم على SOGIE ". كما هنالك صياغات لغوية مؤسفة تُستَخدَمُ في أماكن أخرى. إذ يشير المبدأ التوجيهي إلى العلاجات الطبية القسرية، وينص على أنّ " الأفراد من ذوي الميول الجنسية والهويات الجندرية والتعبيرات الجندرية المتنوعة قد يُجبَرون على الخضوع لمعالجات طبية تشمل على ’العنف الجنسي التصحيحي‘ وإجراءات غير رضائية أخرى". وتوحي هذه الصياغة بأن هذه الممارسات "علاجات طبية" بينما هي أقرب ما تكون في الحقيقة إلى التعذيب أو المعاملة أو العقوبة القاسية غير الإنسانية خلافاً لأحكام المادة 7 من العهد الدولي الخاص بالحقوق المدنية والسياسية لعام 1966.

الخلاصة

نحن نرحب ونؤيد بشدّة هذا المبدأ التوجيهي لأنّه يستجيب إلى احتياجات طالبي اللجوء وخبراتهم بعد طرق لا تسلكها معظم صكوك توجيهات اللجوء المعتمدة رسمياً وذلك بتغطيته لسيناريوهات كثيرة منها الدعاوى المشتركة والاضطهادات الموجهة لأشخاص بناء على ارتباطاتهم وانتماءاتهم لفئة الأقليات ذوات الميل الجنسي والهوية الجندرية والتعبير الجندري وينص على ضرورة توفير ضمانات إضافية للحد من النشر العلني للمواد الحساسة. فالمبدأ التوجيهي الكندي، إذ يضع في الحسبان الفجوة التي غالباً ما تفصل الواقع عن النظرية، فإنَّه يؤسس لمبادئ تقدمية ويوفر للسلطات والاختصاصات القضائية الأخرى في كثير من المجالات نموذجاً للممارسة الجيدة.

 

مويرا داستن M.Dustin@sussex.ac.uk

زميلة باحثة

 

نونا فيرايرا N.Ferreira@sussex.ac.uk

بروفيسورة القانون

 

ادعاءات اللجوء القائمة على أساس التوجه الجنسي والهوية الجندرية، جامعة ساسكس

www.sogica.org

 



[1] بينما يبدو أنَّ مصطلح SOGI (التوجه الجنسي والهوية الجندرية) أكثر شيوعاً واستخداماً، يتضمن الدليل أيضاً كلمة ’التعبير، (ومن هنا تأتي الكلمة الأوائلية SOGIE) للتأكيد على أهمية التعبير عن توجه المرء الجنسي وهويته الجندرية.

[3] قضايا مشتركة C-199 إلى C-201/12 س و ص وع ضد وزير الهجرة واللجوء، 7 نوفمبر/شباط 2013، ECLI:EU:C:2013:720

http://curia.europa.eu/juris/document/document.jsf?docid=144215&doclang=en

وقضايا مشتركة C-148/13 إلى C-150/13، أ و ب و ج ضد وزير الدولة لشؤون الأمن والعدل

http://curia.europa.eu/juris/document/document.jsf?docid=160244&doclang=EN

[4] كندا (المحامي العام) ضد وارد [1993] 2 S.C.R 689

https://scc-csc.lexum.com/scc-csc/scc-csc/en/item/1023/index.do

[5] Home Office (2016) Asylum Policy instruction Sexual orientation in asylum claims Version 6.0

(وزارة الداخلية (2016)  تعليمات سياسات اللجوء حول التوجه الجنسي في ادعاءات طلب اللجوء، الإصدار 6.0)

https://www.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/543882/Sexual-orientation-in-asylum-claims-v6.pdf

[6] المثلية والمثلي ومزدوج الميل الجنسي والمتحول جنسياً وثنائي الجنس والمتحير.

[7] European Asylum Support Office (2015) Researching the situation of lesbian, gay, and bisexual persons (LGB) in countries of origin, EASO Practical Guides Series

(مكتب دعم اللجوء الأوروبي (2015) بحث وضع المثليات والمثليين ومزدوجي الميل الجنسي (إل جي بي) في بلدان المنشأ)

https://www.easo.europa.eu/sites/default/files/public/Researching-the-situation-of-LGB-in-countries-of-origin-FINAL-080515.pdf

 

FMR 56
October 2017

المحتويات

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

Canada’s Guideline 9: improving SOGIE claims assessment?

Moira Dustin and Nuno Ferreira

Asylum seekers making claims relating to their sexual orientation and gender identity often face unfair refusal. New guidance from the Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada takes admirable steps towards improving claims assessment, and offers a model for practitioners elsewhere.

The Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada’s ‘Guideline 9: Proceedings before the IRB Involving Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity and Expression’ (SOGIE Guideline) has been in effect since May 2017. It addresses a number of the recurring concerns about asylum claims based on sexual orientation and gender identity and expression[1] (SOGIE) that have arisen in case law, statutory instruments and guidance around the world.[2] These concerns, which have been common reasons for refusing SOGIE-based asylum claims in Europe, relate to: qualification as a member of a particular social group for the purposes of the 1951 Refugee Convention; whether applicants can return to live ‘discreetly’ without risk; whether laws criminalising homosexuality in the applicant’s country of origin constitute persecution in themselves; the use of gender and sexual stereotypes to inform asylum decision making; whether sexually explicit evidence is asked for or expected in asylum cases; and late disclosure as the basis for refusal of international protection. These were the subject of Court of Justice of the European Union (CJEU) rulings in 2013 and 2014.[3]

The Guideline makes many good provisions. Citing a 1993 decision[4] the Guideline is clear that individuals presenting asylum and migration SOGIE-based claims are “characterized as a particular social group”. It also recognises that the fears of SOGIE asylum seekers’ family members may also warrant consideration under the same Refugee Convention ground, which is welcome, if not particularly new to European audiences.

On the issue of discretion, the Guideline asserts that claimants should not be expected to be “discreet” about their SOGIE in order to avoid persecution. It thereby avoids the line of questioning – as in, for example, UK guidance – about the possibility of living discreetly in the country of origin.[5]

The Guideline is robust on the need to avoid decision making based on stereotypes, offering a good range of examples of potential pitfalls, such as making assumptions that SOGIE applicants will participate in LGBTIQ+[6] culture in Canada. This seems to go beyond the 2014 CJEU decision, which precludes decision making that is based on stereotypes but still leaves room for questions based on them, provided these questions are part of an overall balanced line of questioning.

The Guideline positively acknowledges that instances of late disclosure are acceptable and can be justified under certain circumstances. The statement that an individual “may reasonably delay making a claim for refugee protection based on SOGIE” in a number of situations goes further than any other guidance we have seen. Moreover, the Guideline rightly alerts decision makers to the need to consider very carefully any negative weight attached to inconsistencies, including those arising from late disclosure, which may be due to “cultural, psychological or other barriers”. The Guideline could have gone further, however, by requiring decision makers to offer asylum claimants the opportunity to clarify any (perceived) inconsistencies or issues affecting their credibility before a decision is issued.

The Guideline furthermore acknowledges that it is unreasonable to expect SOGIE asylum claimants to approach public authorities – in their countries of origin – for protection, especially when laws criminalising non-conforming SOGIE are in place and enforced. The Guideline rightly focuses on the ‘operational level’, rather than what is enshrined in the statutory framework of the country of origin). Moreover, it gives unprecedented attention to the importance of decision makers accepting sur place claims and being sensitive towards the slow processes of self-acceptance many SOGIE asylum seekers experience.

The quality and relevance of country of origin information (COI) has been a recurrent theme in asylum studies, particularly in relation to SOGIE individuals.[7] The Guideline acknowledges the problematic use of COI in these cases by recalling that under-reporting of discriminatory or persecutory practices in countries of origin may reflect local attitudes towards, rather than the absence of, such practices.

However, on the notion of persecution the Guideline’s reasoning is disappointingly conservative. It refuses to equate criminalisation of same-sex conduct and other SOGIE-related repressive norms with persecution. Instead, it simply states that “being compelled to conceal one’s SOGIE constitutes a serious interference with fundamental human rights that may therefore amount to persecution”. In this and elsewhere it leaves too much leeway for denial of asylum to people living under repressive and discriminatory legal frameworks. This is at odds with its recognition of the impact of cumulative discrimination elsewhere.

Unexpected additions

In addition to these elements of welcome progress, the Guideline takes other, less expected, steps. Its approach to terminology is unusual, with its inclusion of the term “expressions”: sexual orientations and gender identities and expressions. This is a positive development, as the focus is on individuals’ characteristics rather than their overall LGBTIQ+ identities (section 2). Decision makers should thereby be encouraged to show more sensitivity to individuals’ range of characteristics and how these intersect. This is in line with the emphasis on intersectionality throughout the Guideline and makes the exclusion of individuals with particular identities who do not identify as LGBTIQ+ less likely. A further step would be to include sexual characteristics, making the acronym ‘SOGIESC’.

This positive choice of terminology is allied with an equally positive acknowledgment that gender is not binary but instead sits on a spectrum. Interestingly, heterosexual individuals also fall within the scope of these Guidelines where they do not – or do not appear to – conform to socially accepted SOGIE norms. Moreover, the Guideline acknowledges the lack of “standard terminology” to capture the complexity of understandings of SOGIE across different cultures and societies, with the aim of averting culturally and socially inappropriate notions and expectations in migration and asylum adjudication procedures. Finally, it directs authorities and interpreters to address individuals respectfully using their chosen name, terminology and pronouns. The Guideline should be praised for its positive language and fluid approach to definitions and identifiers.

Also to be applauded is its consistent reference to how SOGIE intersects with other characteristics, such as race, ethnicity, religion, faith or belief system, age, disability, health status, social class and education. Moreover, it makes excellent use of intersectionality to highlight that this range of characteristics may affect all aspects of migration and asylum procedures, including individuals’ testimonies, relationships with authorities, and different stakeholders’ notions of persecution.

Crucially, the Guideline hints at the restrictive traditional application of the 1951 Refugee Convention grounds. While decision makers generally expect asylum seekers to lodge their claims on the basis of one particular Refugee Convention ground, the Guideline highlights that SOGIE individuals may reasonably lodge a claim on the basis of a combination of any of the five Convention grounds. In this way, the Guideline moves away from defining individuals on the basis of their SOGIE alone. As we note below, however, this is somewhat at odds with the Guideline’s own term “diverse SOGIE”.

The Guideline is to be applauded for recognising that many SOGIE individuals should be classed as vulnerable” to be protected under any provisions that might be applicable; it also rightly alerts officials to the need to adopt additional safeguards for the protection of sensitive information. In an unexpected and groundbreaking move, the Guideline refers explicitly to SOGIE children and alerts decision makers to their particular vulnerability. Its reference to the principle of the best interests of the child again reflects the principle of intersectionality – making connections beyond the field of refugee law. 

Finally, the Guideline adopts a respectful approach towards SOGIE individuals’ family rights and acknowledges the difficulties they may face in proving their spousal or conjugal relationships. In highlighting the importance of avoiding preconceived notions about such relationships the Guideline also calls on decision makers to consider the “unique circumstances” that SOGIE individuals face. These circumstances ought to be taken into consideration, it suggests, in the assessment of humanitarian and compassionate grounds in sponsorship appeals.

Shortcomings

In a rather surprising shortfall in relation to evidentiary standards, the Guideline simply states that individuals are not “expected (…) [to] establish their SOGIE through the use of sexually explicit photographs, videos or other visual material”. This feeble phrasing leaves excessive room for individuals to feel under pressure to submit this sort of evidence to strengthen their cases. The CJEU has gone beyond this, by completely precluding the use of sexualised evidence in SOGIE asylum cases, thus more effectively protecting the dignity of asylum claimants, and it is regrettable the Guideline did not adopt a similar approach. Only the elimination of any scope for using sexualised evidence in asylum and migration procedures will remove the pressure on applicants and their legal representatives to make use of this possibility as a last, desperate resort to prove their sexual orientation.  

Despite the merit in using characteristics (SOGIE) rather than identities (LGBTIQ+) as its terminology, the Guideline’s use of the SOGIE acronym is troubling. The text not only refers to “claims based on SOGIE”, but also repeatedly refers to individuals “with diverse SOGIE”. “Diverse” in relation to what? The answer would appear to be, in relation to the heterosexual majority. While that difference is undoubtedly the source of the persecution, stigma and discrimination suffered by individuals who claim asylum on the basis of their SOGIE, in using “diverse SOGIE” the Guideline inadvertently reinforces a perceived divide between ‘standard’ heterosexuality and ‘deviant’ non-heterosexuality. Referring either to “individuals who claim asylum on the basis of their SOGIE” or, for the sake of linguistic simplicity, “SOGIE asylum seekers” would be greatly preferable. Unfortunate phrasing is also used elsewhere. The Guideline refers to forced medical treatments, stating that “[i]ndividuals with diverse SOGIE may be forced to undergo medical treatment including ‘corrective sexual violence’” and other non-consensual procedures. This wording implies that these practices are “medical treatments”, when in fact they are closer to torture or cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment, under Article 7 of the 1966 International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights.

Conclusion

We welcome and largely endorse this Guideline. The Guideline responds to asylum seekers’ needs and experiences in a number of ways that are absent from most officially approved asylum guidance instruments, covering scenarios such as joint claims, persecution by association, SOGIE minors and the need for additional safeguards to limit public dissemination of sensitive material. While bearing in mind the gap that often exists between guidance and practice, the Canadian Guideline breaks new ground and in many areas provides a model of good practice for other authorities and jurisdictions.

 

Moira Dustin M.Dustin@sussex.ac.uk
Research Fellow

Nuno Ferreira N.Ferreira@sussex.ac.uk
Professor of Law

SOGICA, University of Sussex www.sogica.org



[1] While ‘sexual orientation and gender identity (SOGI)’ seems to be more commonly used, the Guideline also includes ‘expression’ (thus leading to the acronym ‘SOGIE’) to highlight the relevance of the expression of one's sexual orientation and gender identity.

[3] Joined Cases C-199/12 to C-201/12, X, Y and Z v Minister voor Immigratie en Asiel, 7 November 2013, ECLI:EU:C:2013:720 http://curia.europa.eu/juris/document/document.jsf?docid=144215&doclang=en

and Joined Cases C-148/13 to C-150/13, A, B and C v Staatssecretaris van Veiligheid en Justitie, 2 December 2014, ECLI:EU:C:2014:2406 http://curia.europa.eu/juris/document/document.jsf?docid=160244&doclang=EN

[4] Canada (Attorney General) v Ward [1993] 2 S.C.R. 689 https://scc-csc.lexum.com/scc-csc/scc-csc/en/item/1023/index.do

[5] Home Office (2016) Asylum Policy instruction Sexual orientation in asylum claims Version 6.0 https://www.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/543882/Sexual-orientation-in-asylum-claims-v6.pdf

[6] Lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans, intersex and queer/questioning.

[7] European Asylum Support Office (2015) Researching the situation of lesbian, gay, and bisexual persons (LGB) in countries of origin, EASO Practical Guides Series https://www.easo.europa.eu/sites/default/files/public/Researching-the-situation-of-LGB-in-countries-of-origin-FINAL-080515.pdf

 

FMR 56
October 2017

Contents

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. All articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.