النساء المهجَّرات من المجتمعات الأصلية في كولومبيا

جينا إيسكوبار سويرو

تعد الشعوب الأصلية في كولومبيا من أكثر المجموعات استضعافاً من بين النازحين داخلياً، ويمثل عدم فهم ثقافتهم وحاجاتهم تحدياً رئيسياً في حمايتهم ومساعدتهم.

تمثل الشعوب الأصلية في كولومبيا نسبة 1.5% من أصل 49 ميلون نسمة تعداد السكان الكلي. وبموجب دستور عام 1991، يحق للشعوب الأصلية امتلاك الأراضي التي يمارسون عليها ثقافاتهم. وغالباً ما تزخر الأراضي الإقليمية للشعوب الأصلية التي عادةً ما تقع في أجزاء معزولة من البلاد بالموارد الطبيعية ومن ثم تصبح هذه الأراضي مصدر جذب لكثيرٍ من الجهات الفاعلة المتورطة في النِّزاع المسلَّح في كولومبيا. وبمرور السنين، ازدادت أعداد الشعوب الأصلية النَّازحين داخلياً جراء العنف أو بسبب التهديد بالعنف.

وفقدان الشعوب الأصلية لأراضيهم يمثل مشكلة رئيسية لهم إذ تنقسم المجتمعات وتنفصل الأسر. ففي كثير من الحالات، تجد النِّساء الكولومبيات أنفسهن بمفردهن و/أو يصبحنَّ معيلات لأسرهن بعد مقتل أزواجهنَّ. وخوفاً من مطاردة المجرمين لهن، اُضْطرَتْ كثيرٌ منهن إلى الفرار إلى المدن حيث يُجبَرن على العيش والاستقرار في ظروف معيشية صعبة ومزرية. وتؤدي كل هذه الأسباب إلى "... تفكك البُنَى التحتية الاجتماعية إضافةً إلى خطر اختفاء السكان الكولومبيين أنفسهم باعتبارهم شعوب متميزة ومختلفة."[1]

النِّساء في قبيلة زينو

يعيش سكان قبيلة زينو الأصليون في شمال كولومبيا. وتعتمد هذه القبيلة في اقتصادها على الحرف اليدوية وتبادل المنتجات الزراعية مع جيرانهم من الشعوب الأصلية أيضاً. وضمن الأسرة، تتولى النِّساء مسؤولية الاعتناء بحديقة تُعرَف باسم إل باتيو el patio (الفناء) حيث يزرعن الخضروات، والفواكه، والنباتات الطبية كما يربين الحيوانات المنزلية والدواجن لاستهلاك الأسرة وتلبية حاجاتها. ومن وجهة نظر المجتمع، تساعد النِّساء بذلك في إنشاء ’مستودع للتنوع البيولوجي‘ إذ أفادت التقارير التي اشتملت عل بعض الفناءات عن وجود "...28 نوعاً من الخضروات، و30 نوعاً من الفواكه وأكثر من 70 نوعاً من النباتات الطبية".[2] كما يتولين أيضاً مسؤولية الطب التقليدي والحياكة. وبذلك، يكون للنِّساء في قبيلة زينو دورٌ بالغ الأهمية في بقاء مجتمعاتهن المحلية ولذلك تمثل الأرض أهمية محورية في دورهن هذا.

لكنّ التهجير والنزوح قلب الموازين، فتبدل دور النِّساء في قبيلة زينو بين عشية وضحاها. ففي كثير من الحالات، تواجه هؤلاء النَّسوة تحديات مثل عدم توافر المساكن، والأمن الغذائي، وفرص التعليم، والعمل. وبما أنَّ كثيراً من النِّساء في قبيلة زينو لا يحظين بقسطٍ وافر من التعليم فوق المستوى الأساسي، فمعظم فرص العمل المتاحة أمامهن منخفضة الأجور ومؤقتة، وتضطر معظمهن إن لم يكن جميع النِّساء النَّازحات والأسر إلى العيش في مساكن بالإيجار. ويمثل عدم توفر الأرض لإنشاء فناء للنِّساء مشكلة كبيرة تؤثر على قدرتهن في توفير الأمن الغذائي لأسرهن كما تؤثر حاجتهن إلى العمل خارج المنزل على قدرتهن في الاعتناء بأولادهن ورعايتهم ما يجعل الأطفال عرضة لخطر الانخراط والتورط مع العصابات. وبهذه الطريقة، يمكن القول إنَّ النُّزوح أثر تأثيراً جذرياً على دور النِّساء في قبيلة زينو ما يؤثر بدوره على بقاء المجتمع بأسره.

استجابة حكومية غير كافية

صدر قانون 387 لسنة 1997 الكولومبي لمنع النُّزوح الداخلي وفي الوقت نفسه لمساعدة الذين نزحوا بالفعل. وكان من المتوقع أن تحدد جميع المقاطعات في كولومبيا التي يبلغ عددها 32 مقاطعة الموازنة السنوية اللازمة لتنفيذ البرامج اللازمة، لكنَّ غياب الإشراف والمراقبة الحكوميتين كان سبباً في تنوع طرائق التنفيذ الذي انعكس على اختلاف المساعدات المقدمة. وفي حالة الشعوب الأصلية، أخفقت الحكومات المحلية في فهم حاجات تلك الشعوب وتلبيتها.

ولكي يحصل النَّازحون داخلياً على المساعدات، ينبغي لهم التسجيل في سجل الضحايا الكولومبي. وإذا أتمَّ النّازحون داخلياً إجراءات التسجيل بنجاح، يحق لهم الحصول على المساعدات الإنسانية في حالات الطوارئ التي تغطي الحاجات الأساسية المباشرة، وهذه هي المرحلة الأولى أمَّا المرحلة الثانية في هذه المساعدات فتتمثل في تحقيق الاستقرار الاقتصادي والاجتماعي من خلال توفير سبل لكسب الدخل وتقديم المساعدة في الإسكان. وتشير نتائج المقابلات التي أُجريت مع النِّساء من قبيلة زينو في مجتمع باساكابالوس في مدينة قرطاجنة أنَّ نظام التسجيل يضع العراقيل أمام النِّساء الكولومبيات للحصول على المساعدات. وتنبع هذه العراقيل من الظروف التي نزحت فيها النِّساء الكولومبيات؛ فالنِّساء اللائي نزحنَّ أكثر من مرة لا يحق لهن الحصول على المساعدات.

وبالنسبة للنَّساء اللواتي حصلن على مساعدات، يمكن القول إنَّها لم تكن كافية، بل كانت رديئة ومتأخرة أيضاً. فعلى سبيل المثال، تلقت بعض النِّساء مساعدة مالية لتغطية نفقات الإيجار بعد عامين من طلبهن للمساعدة. وامرأة أخرى، وُعِدَتْ بتلقي مساعدة مالية لكنَّها حصلت على جزء من المبلغ جاءها علة هيئة طعام (رديء)، وأربعة مقاعد، ومجموعة ملاعق. وبعد مرور عدة سنوات، ما زالت هذه المرأة لم تتلق 40% من المبلغ الذي وُعِدَتْ به. أما الحكومة الكولومبية، فتنظر إلى هذا النوع من المساعدات على أنه إهدار للموارد لأنها ترى أنَّها لا توفر للنِّساء الأدوات التي يحتاجونها.

وأدى سوء تنظيم الحكومة للمساعدات وعدم تفهمها لحاجات النِّساء النَّازحات الكولومبيات الحقيقة إلى الإضرار بكل من البقاء قصير الأجل للنِّساء النَّازحات من قبيلة زينو وأسرهن وبالبقاء طويل الأجل لمجتمعهن وثقافتهن.

 

جينا إيسكوبار سويروginapescobarc@yahoo.com

مرشحة لنيل درجة الدكتوراه، قسم الدراسات الإنمائية، جامعة فيينا www.univie.ac.at



[2] Vélez G A and Valencia M (1995) ‘Comunidad Zenú del Volao: De las cenizas del desplazamiento forzoso resurge la vida’, Biodiversidad, sustento y culturas

www.grain.org/e/803

(فيليز ج أ وفالنسيا م (1995) ’مجتمع زينو ديل فولاو: من رماد التَّهجير القسري تُبعَث الحياة)

 

FMR 56
October 2017

المحتويات

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

Colombia’s displaced indigenous women

Gina Escobar Cuero

Indigenous peoples are one of the most vulnerable groups within Colombia’s internally displaced population, and a lack of understanding of their culture and needs constitutes a major challenge to their protection and assistance.

Of Colombia’s estimated population of more than 49 million, 1.5% are indigenous peoples. Under the Constitution of 1991, indigenous peoples are entitled to own the lands where they practise their culture. These indigenous territories, which are usually located in isolated parts of the country, tend to be rich in natural resources – and therefore attractive to different actors involved in Colombia’s armed conflict. Over the years, increasing numbers of indigenous peoples have been displaced by violence or threat of violence.

Losing their territory is a major problem for indigenous peoples. Communities are divided and families separated. In many cases, indigenous women end up alone and/or as heads of household after their partners are killed. Afraid of being found by the perpetrators, many flee towards the cities where they are forced to settle in slum conditions. All of these reasons contribute to the “…de-structuralization of entire communities and the risk of disappearing as distinct and different peoples.”[1]

The case of Zenu women

Zenu indigenous people are mainly located in the north of Colombia. Their principal economic activities are the production of handicrafts and the exchange of agricultural products with other indigenous groups. Within the family, women are responsible for the creation of a garden known as el patio where vegetables, fruits, medicinal plants and domestic animals are kept for the use of the family. From a community’s perspective, women help create a ‘reservoir of biodiversity’, with some patios reported to include as many as “…28 species of vegetables, 30 species of fruits and more than 70 species of medicinal plants”.[2] Women are also responsible for traditional medicine and knitting. In these ways, Zenu women have a great impact on the survival of their communities – and land is crucial to their role.

In displacement, the role of Zenu women changes abruptly. In many cases they face challenges such as lack of housing, food security, education and employment. Since many Zenu women have little more than primary-level education, most employment opportunities for them are lowly paid and temporary, and nearly all displaced women and families are forced to live in rental accommodation. Lack of land to create a patio compromises the family’s food security, and the need for women to work outside the home affects their ability to take care of their children – which leaves the children more at risk of becoming involved in gangs. In this manner, internal displacement drastically changes the role of Zenu women and compromises the survival of the whole community.

Inadequate government response

Colombia’s Law 387 of 1997 was designed to prevent internal displacement and assist those who had been displaced. Each of the country’s 32 departments was expected to decide its annual budget for implementing relevant programmes but the lack of government oversight has led to wide variations in implementation and hence in the assistance provided. In the case of indigenous people, local governments have failed to understand and address their specific needs. 

In order to access assistance, internally displaced persons (IDPs) need to register with the Colombian Registry of Victims. If successfully registered, IDPs have the right to receive Emergency Humanitarian Aid which aims to cover their immediate basic needs; a second stage concerns economic and social stability for which income generation and housing assistance are available. Findings from interviews with Zenu women from the Pasacaballos community in the city of Cartagena indicate that the registry system makes it difficult for indigenous women to access aid. These difficulties proceed from circumstances including women having been displaced more than once and no longer being eligible for assistance.

For those who have received aid, it has generally been insufficient, of poor quality or delayed. For instance, some women received financial assistance to cover their rental costs two years after requesting help. Another woman was promised financial assistance but received part of the payment in the form of food (of poor quality), four chairs and a set of spoons. Many years later she is still owed 40% of the funds promised. This type of assistance represents a waste of resources for the government considering that it does not provide women with the tools they need.

Poor organisation of assistance by the government and a lack of understanding of the real needs of displaced indigenous women are proving damaging both to the short-term survival of internally displaced Zenu women and their families and to the longer-term survival of their community and culture.

 

Gina Escobar Cuero ginapescobarc@yahoo.com
Doctoral candidate, Department of Development Studies, University of Vienna www.univie.ac.at



[1] Organización Nacional Indígena de Colombia/National Indigenous Organisation of Colombia http://repositorio.uasb.edu.ec/bitstream/10644/631/1/RAA-08-ONIC-El%20desplazamiento%20ind%C3%ADgena%20en%20Colombia.pdf

[2] Vélez G A and Valencia M (1995) ‘Comunidad Zenú del Volao: De las cenizas del desplazamiento forzoso resurge la vida’, Biodiversidad, sustento y culturas www.grain.org/e/803

 

FMR 56
October 2017

Contents

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. All articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.