تصدير: التضامن الإقليمي والالتزام بالحماية في منطقة أمريكا اللاتينية والبحر الكاريبي

فيليبو غراندي

في الوقت الذي يُجبَر فيه أكثر من 65 مليون شخص على الهجرة في العالم، تُقدِّم لنا منطقة أمريكا اللاتينية والبحر الكاريبي أمثلة عن الممارسات الجيدة من المنطقة التي ما زالت تتمسك بالتزامها الراسخ بحماية من يحتاج للحماية.

في وقت تخيم فيه على العالم صورة أوضاع التَّهجير المطوَّلة والناشئة حديثاً، قد تظهر منطقة أمريكا اللاتينية والبحر الكاريبي كملاذ للسلامة النسبية ينأى بنفسه عن التَّهجيرات الهائلة التي وقعت مؤخراً بسبب الاضطهاد والنِّزَاع والعنف. لكنَّ المؤسف في الأمر، كما لحظت بنفسي خلال زياراتي الأخيرة، ليس هذا هو الوضع في تلك المنطقة.

ففي شمال أمريكا الوسطى[1]، تنتشر عصابات إجرامية منظمة عابرة للقوميات وتمارس درجات مخيفة من العنف، إذ يعاني السكان في فنزويلا من آثار الاضطرابات الاجتماعية والسياسية والمحدودية الكبيرة في الوصول إلى الخدمات الأساسية. وفي بعض مناطق كولومبيا، ما زالت بعض الجماعات المسلحة مستمرة في العمل مفلتة من العقاب رغم اتفاقية السلام التي أُبرِمَت مؤخراً. كل تلك الظروف تقود الناس إلى الانتقال إلى أماكن أخرى ضمن دولهم أو الانطلاق برحلات خطرة نحو البلدان المجاورة وما وراءها وغالباً ما يعتمدون لتلك الغاية على خدمات المهربين عديمي الشفقة سعياً إلى الوصول لبر الأمان. وتكتمل الصورة بطالبي اللجوء من هاييتي وكوبا والأعداد المتصاعدة من اللاجئين الواصلين من خارج المنطقة بما فيها بلدان في آسيا وأفريقيا.

وتشهد أعداد طلبات اللجوء من منطقة أمريكا اللاتينية والبحر الكاريبي تسارعاً كبيراً إذ ينتظر قرابة مائة ألف شخص حالياً البت في قرار النظر في طلبات لجوئهم. وبقي ذلك الواقع منحى ثابتاً في السنوات الأخيرة لدرجة أنَّه يفرض ضغوطاً كبيرة على منظومات اللجوء ما يزيد من الحاجة المُلحَّة للبحث عن الحماية المناسبة والاستجابات للحلول.

وبعيداً عن المآسي الشخصية التي واجهها كثير من الناس، يواجه الأشخاص المتنقلون في رحلة تهجيرهم عدداً من التحديات أهمهما ما يتعلق بالتحديد المناسب لحاجاتهم للحماية ووصولهم للمعلومات اللازمة لضمان بدائل الانتقال وإجراءات اللجوء والوصول إلى الحماية المادية الكافية في المآوي وغيرها من الفضاءات الآمنة والوصول الفعال للجوء وغيره من أشكال الحماية التكميلية والوصول إلى التسجيل والتمتع بحرية الحركة وببدائل الاحتجاز والقضايا التي تتعلق بمنحهم وثائق التعريف الشخصية.

استمرار تقاليد توفير الحماية

هناك التزام عميق لتوفير الحماية للفارين بحثاً عن السلامة نجده راسخاً في قِيَم منطقة أمريكا اللاتينية والبحر الكاريبي، تلك المنطقة التي تحافظ على تقاليد قوية للانفتاح والتضامن والعمل الإنساني. ويشهد التاريخ لها في كثير من الأمثلة بما فيها استجابة المنطقة للاجئين الفارين من الحرب الأهلية الإسبانية والدكتاتوريات البرتغالية في ثلاثينيات القرن الماضي إضافة إلى جاليات اليهود الفارين من الحرب والتطهير العرقي في أوروبا قبل الحرب العالمية الثانية وإبّانها واللاجئين الفلسطينيين، والفارين من نير السلطات القمعية في أمريكا الجنوبية في السبعينيات والمتأثرين بالحروب الأهلية في أمريكا الوسطى في الثمانينيات.

وما زالت هذه التقاليد مستمرة إلى يومنا هذا. فهناك جهود مُنسَّقة تُبذَل لتعزيز استجابة الحماية من خلال استحداث التحسينات على منظومات اللجوء في جميع أرجاء المنطقة بتعزيز آليات حماية الأطفال وترسيخ الحماية المراعية للجندر وتدخلاتها وإيلاء التركيز الكبير على التَّنَوُّع. كما أبدت دول منطقة أمريكا اللاتينية والبحر الكاريبي التزاماً نحو القضاء على ظاهرة انعدام الجنسية بحلول عام 2024 من خلال تأسيس إجراءات عادلة وفعالة لتحديد وضع انعدام الجنسية وتبني القواعد الداخلية لضمان حقوق الأشخاص عديمي الجنسية وتوفير الحلول الكافية لمن لا يتمتع بجنسية. وقد بذلت المنطقة جهوداً كبيرة في سبيل إيجاد الحلول الخلاَّقة مثل منح التأشيرات الإنسانية للاجئين السوريين وتبني خطط الحماية البديلة من خلال اتفاقات التعاون الإقليمي (مثل تأشيرات السوق المشتركة الجنوبية (ميركوسور) واتحاد دول أمريكا الجنوبية (أوناسور)) واستكشاف إمكانية إعادة نقل اللاجئين باستخدام أطر الهجرة المراعية للحماية.

وسجلت المنطقة خطى متقدمة لم يسبق لها مثيل في التشارك بالمسؤولية وآليات الحماية المستندة إلى تقاليدها الثابتة في التضامن. وأبدت كل دول المنطقة تقريباً التزامها بانتهاج مقاربة شاملة للهجرات المختلطة والتَّهجير القسري بتبني إعلان البرازيل وخطة عملها في عام 2014. وتهدف هذه الخطة الطموحة تعزيز الوصول إلى العدالة وحق اللجوء وتقوية الحماية واستنباط الحلول لمأساة المحتاجين وسوف تُراجَع في أواخر عام 2017. وهي واحدة من أهم النماذج التي يجب أن يحتذي بها العالم في التعاون النزيه والشفاف والمتفاني.

وقد شاركت دول منطقة أمريكا اللاتينية والبحر الكاريبي أيضاً في جهد جماعي لها بالاستجابة للوضع المقلق الناتج في شمال أمريكا الوسطى من خلال اتباع سلسلة من التدابير التي تتماشى مع بيان خطة عمل سان خوسيه لعام 2016. وتعمل تلك الدول الآن على تأسيس إطار عام إقليمي شامل للحماية والحلول (CRPSF) الذي سوف يُعمِّق تدخلاتها ويجعلها أكثر استدامة بمعالجتها للأسباب الجذرية للتَّهجير في شمال أمريكا الوسطى ويعزز من حماية المتأثرين بالتَّهجير ويقدم الحلول لهم. وإلى هذه اللحظة، انضمت إلى مبادرة الإطار العام تلك هندوراس وغواتيمالا والمكسيك والسلفادور. وسوف يساهم الإطار العام في إعداد العقد العالمي لعام 2018 حول اللاجئين إذ سيعمل مع المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين للاستجابة إلى الدعوة التي أطلقها إعلان نيويورك لعام 2016 حول اللاجئين والمهاجرين لتعزيز الاستجابات الشاملة التي يمكن التنبؤ بها إزاء التَّهجير واسع النطاق.

لكنَّ التصدي للتهجير القسري في منطقة أمريكا اللاتينية والبحر الكاريبي واحد من أكثر التحديات تعقيداً، واستجابت دول المنطقة لذلك التحدي بانتهاج مقاربات مضبوطة وإبداعية يمكن أن تساعد في إلهام الاستجابات الأوسع نطاقاً على مستوى العالم ككل. وفي هذا الصدد، لا شك في أنَّ مقالات هذا العدد سوف تقدم رؤى نيّرة حول الوضع الناشئ في تلك المنطقة وستسلط الضوء على الممارسات الجيدة التي يمكن أن تساعد في تعزيز الحماية وتكثيف خطى التقدم نحو الحلول ضمن المنطقة وإلى ما وراءها.

 

فيليبو غراندي

مفوض الأمم المتحدة السامي للاجئين

www.unhcr.org

لمزيد من المعلومات، يرجى الاتصال بفيكي تينانت، المساعدة الخاصة للمفوض السامي على البريد الإلكتروني. tennant@unhcr.org



[1] تتكون دول شمال أمريكا الوسطى من السلفادور وغواتيمالا وهندوراس.

 

FMR 56
October 2017

المحتويات

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

Foreword: Regional solidarity and commitment to protection in Latin America and the Caribbean

Filippo Grandi

At a time when over 65 million people are forcibly displaced worldwide, Latin America and the Caribbean offer examples of good practices from a region which continues to uphold a long-standing commitment to protect those in need.

As we observe the global picture of both protracted and newly developing displacement situations, Latin America and the Caribbean may look like a haven of relative safety, spared from recent massive displacements caused by persecution, conflict and violence. Regrettably, and as I personally witnessed in recent visits to the region, this is not the case.

In Northern Central America (NCA)[1], transnational organised criminal gangs are perpetrating appalling levels of violence; in Venezuela, its population is affected by social and political unrest and severe limitations in access to basic services; and in some areas of Colombia, certain armed groups continue to operate with impunity, despite the recent peace agreement. These circumstances are driving people to relocate within their country or to undertake perilous journeys towards neighbouring countries and beyond, often resorting to the services of unscrupulous smugglers as they move in search of safety. Asylum seekers from Haiti and Cuba, and an increasing number of refugees arriving from outside the region, including from countries in Asia and Africa, complete this picture.

The number of asylum applications made in the Latin American and Caribbean region is accelerating, and almost 100,000 people are currently awaiting a decision on their asylum claim. This has been a consistent trend in recent years, placing a strain on asylum systems and adding urgency to the search for appropriate protection and solutions responses.

Aside from the personal tragedies that many have experienced, people on the move face a number of challenges. These relate primarily to: the adequate identification of their protection needs; access to information on secure relocation alternatives and asylum procedures; access to adequate physical protection in shelters and other safe spaces; effective access to asylum or other forms of complementary protection; access to registration; enjoyment of freedom of movement and of alternatives to detention; and issues related to documentation.

Continuing a tradition of protection

A profound commitment to providing protection to those fleeing in search of safety is embedded in the values of Latin America and the Caribbean. There is a strong and great tradition of openness, solidarity and humanitarianism. History pays witness to many examples in this regard, including towards refugees fleeing the Spanish Civil War and Portuguese dictatorships of the 1930s, the Jewish community escaping war and genocide in Europe before and during World War II, Palestinian refugees, those fleeing persecution under repressive governments in South America in the 1970s, and those affected by civil wars in Central America in the 1980s.

This tradition continues to this day. Concerted efforts are being made to strengthen protection response through improvements to asylum systems throughout the region by reinforcing child protection mechanisms, by fostering gender-sensitive protection interventions and by a strong focus on diversity. The States of Latin America and the Caribbean have also committed to eradicating statelessness by 2024 by establishing fair and efficient procedures for statelessness status determination, adopting internal rules to guarantee the rights of stateless persons and providing adequate solutions to those who do not have a nationality. The region has also been a laboratory for innovative solutions, such as the humanitarian visas granted to Syrian refugees, the adoption of alternative protection schemes through regional cooperation agreements (such as MERCOSUR and UNASUR visas) and the exploration of the possibility to relocate refugees using protection-sensitive migratory frameworks.

The region has also made unprecedented strides on responsibility sharing and cooperation mechanisms, drawing on its strong tradition of solidarity. Almost all States in the region have committed to a comprehensive approach to mixed migratory movements and forced displacement through the adoption of the Brazil Declaration and Plan of Action in 2014. This ambitious plan aims to foster access to justice and asylum, strengthen protection, and devise solutions to the plight of all those in need, and will be reviewed in late 2017. This is an important model of honest, transparent and dedicated regional cooperation for the world.

The States of Latin America and the Caribbean are also collectively engaged in responding to the worrying situation in NCA, through a series of coordinated measures in line with the 2016 San José Action Statement. They are also currently establishing a Comprehensive Regional Protection and Solutions Framework (CRPSF) that will deepen their interventions and make them more sustainable, addressing the root causes of displacement in NCA and strengthening protection and solutions for those affected. So far, Honduras, Guatemala, Costa Rica, Mexico, Panama and El Salvador have joined the CRPSF initiative. The CRPSF will contribute to the preparation of the 2018 Global Compact on Refugees, working with UNHCR to respond to the call made in the 2016 New York Declaration for Refugees and Migrants for enhanced, comprehensive and predictable responses to large-scale displacement.

Addressing forced displacement in the Latin America and Caribbean region is a highly complex challenge, to which States have responded with principled and innovative approaches that can help inform broader responses globally. The articles in this issue will help provide insights into the evolving situation there, and offer insights into good practices that can help strengthen protection and intensify progress towards solutions within the region and beyond.

 

Filippo Grandi
United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees www.unhcr.org

For more information please contact Vicky Tennant, Special Assistant to the High Commissioner at tennant@unhcr.org.


[1] Northern Central American countries comprise El Salvador, Guatemala and Honduras.

 

FMR 56
October 2017

Contents

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. All articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.