المسببات المباشرة للنُّزوح الداخلي في غواتيمالا

سيندي هيرنانديز بونيلا

بعد أكثر من 20 سنة منذ نهاية الحرب الأهلية، تشهد غواتيمالا مرة أخرى تصاعداً في النزوح تتعدد أسبابه ويتطلب إبداء الاهتمام به.

أنهى توقيع اتفاقيات السلام في عام 1996 ستة وثلاثين عاماً من الحرب الأهلية بين حكومة غواتيمالا والوحدة الثورية الوطنية الغواتيمالية،[1]وتشير التقديرات إلى مقتل قرابة مائتي ألف شخص خلال الحرب، بينما هُجِّر قرابة مليون شخص غيرهم ما بين نازح داخلي وطالب لجوء في الخارج. وبعد انقضاء أكثر من 20 عاماً على نهاية الحرب، ها هي غواتيمالا، الواقعة في أمريكا الوسطى، تعيش مستويات مرتفعة من القتل والعنف المعمم، وما يصحب ذلك من ارتفاع كبير في معدلات التهجير الجديد.[2]

وفي وقت التفاوض والموافقة على اتفاقيات السلام، بما في ذلك اتفاق إعادة توطين السكان المهجرين بسبب النِّزاع المسلح،[3] أدخلت الحكومة تدابير للتكيف الهيكلي الاقتصادي. وبالرغم من إحراز بعض التقدم، لم يكن هناك تأثير يُذكَر على أوجه التفاوت الاقتصادي. فعلى سبيل المثال، لم يكن هناك إصلاح شامل في مجال المالية العامة، خاصةً أنَّ الدولة لا تمتلك كثيراً من الموارد اللازمة للاستثمار في مجالات التعليم والصحة والحماية الاجتماعية والسكن وإيجاد فرص العمل. وما زال السكان الأصليون محرومين من حقوقهم ومن الوصول إلى نظام العدالة. وفيما يتعلق بالتعويض، لم يكن متاحاً إلا لعدد قليل جداً من العائلات المتأثرة بالحرب بسبب محدودية الموارد.

وأدى كل هذا، مقترناً بالتفاوت في تنفيذ أحكام اتفاق السلام، إلى تعميق عدم المساواة والفقر في البلد، وإلى زيادة هشاشة الدولة، ما يوفر أرضاً خصبةً للجماعات المسلحة والعصابات الإجرامية والجريمة المنظمة والاتجار بالمخدرات. وتشهد غواتيمالا حالياً ارتفاعاً في معدلات الجريمة، ويؤدي ذلك إلى شيوع الخوف لدى السكان عامَّةً وجهلهم بما تخبئ لهم الأيام في المستقبل.

وحددت بحوث أَجرِيَت في عام 2016 مجموعة واسعة من العوامل التي تشجع النزوح الداخلي في غواتيمالا منها العنف والابتزاز والتهديدات والجريمة المنظمة والاتجار بالمخدرات وانتشار الأنشطة التجارية الواسعة النطاق (مثل زراعة قصب السكر وزيت النخيل وتربية الماشية والتعدين وإنتاج الطاقة الكهرمائية) والأحداث الطبيعية والمناخية، ويُضافُ إلى ذلك عوامل الخطر الأخرى التي تؤدي إلى الهجرة القسرية مثل تدهور حالة الظلم الاجتماعي في الحصول على الخدمات الصحية والتعليم والإسكان وسبل كسب الرزق وحيازة الأراضي ( والأكثر تأثراً هم الذين يعيشون في المناطق الريفية والمهمشة)، وهيمنة النظام الذكوري.

وأدى التوسع في الأعمال التجارية على نطاق كبير إلى خفض المساحات المخصصة للمحاصيل الغذائية، ما أدى إلى تهجير أسر وأحياناً مجتمعات بأكملها في شمال غرب البلد. وأدى هذا الوضع بدوره إلى تعريض هؤلاء الأشخاص لخطر الإصابة بالأمراض وسوء التغذية، وضعف إمكانية الوصول إلى سبل كسب الرزق أو انعدامها. وما يزيد من تفاقم ضعفها أعمال العنف والتخويف واستيلاء الشركات الكبرى على الأراضي، والأضرار البيئية التي لحقت بالأرض، وخاصة مصادر المياه، بسبب التلوث والإفراط في استخدام الأنهار وتحويلها.

فمثل هذه الشركات تستفيد من ضعف الدولة ومن الفساد وعدم الكفاءة، ولكنها تستفيد أيضاً من الروابط الوثيقة التي تربط بعض الشركات بعصابات المافيا ومؤسسات الدولة. وترك هذا الوضع المجتمعات المحلية دون حماية، فبعضها يقاوم (مثل الذين يحتجون على التعدين ومشروعات الطاقة الكهرومائية)، في حين يفضِّل البعض الآخر أن يبيعوا ممتلكاتهم ويبحثوا عن مكان آخر ليعيشوا فيه، وغالباً ما يرحلون من أجل البقاء على قيد الحياة.

ومن جهة أخرى، تؤدي الطبيعة الجغرافية لوغواتيمالا وموقعها إلى تعريض البلاد للأحداث المناخية والطبيعية (كالعواصف والانفجارات البركانية والزلازل) التي أدت بدورها إلى التهجير القسري. ومما يزيد من تفاقم هذه الحالة الافتقار إلى تخطيط استخدام الأراضي، وإزالة الغابات الحرجية، وسوء الرقابة على المساكن، ونقص المساكن، وضعف تدابير الوقاية والتأهب. وأكثر الناس تضرراً هم الذين يعيشون بالفعل في الفقر. وعندما تقع مثل هذه الأحداث، يحصل السكان المتضررون على رعاية طارئة، ولكنهم لا يحصلون على مساعدة أطول أجلاً.

من اللامبالاة إلى الاستثمار؟

باختصار، هناك أسباب كثيرة تشجع النزوح القسري الداخلي في غواتيمالا، ومع ذلك لا يوجد سوى قدر ضئيل من اعتراف الدولة بالمشكلات الكامنة وراءها، ويعيش النازحون بسبب العنف في خوف دائم من أن يعثر عليهم مرتكبو أعمال العنف، وبالتالي لا يثقون في الأشخاص الآخرين ولا بالموظفين العموميين. هذا السيناريو يجعل من الصعب للغاية تأمين البيانات حول النزوح، في حين أن الخوف الخفي يمنع الناس من تقديم الشكاوى، الأمر الذي يعيق التحقيق والمعاقبة على الأفعال الإجرامية ويفشل في منع تكرارها،

ويتعين على الحكومة برهنة استعدادها لمعالجة الجوانب الهيكلية التي تسبب النزوح حالياً، وهي بحاجة ماسة إلى إجراء تقييم على نطاق المنظومات (بمشاركة المجتمع المدني) للسياسات العامة وبرامج الوقاية والرعاية التي تستهدف النازحين. وهناك حاجة إلى زيادة الاستثمار في تحسين الظروف المعيشية للسكان الأشد فقراً والأكثر استبعاداً، أولئك الذين يقطنون المناطق الريفية والمستوطنات الحضرية غير المستقرة، مع وضع مناهج محددة للأطفال والمراهقين والنساء والشعوب الأصلية. وهناك حاجة إلى خطة إنمائية وطنية تستفيد منها الفئات السكانية الأكثر ضعفاً، بحيث تسعى إلى القضاء على الفقر وسوء التغذية، وتضمن الوصول إلى النظام المدرسي والعمل، وتعزز الإدارة المستدامة للأراضي. وهذا لا يتطلب البدء من الصفر لأنه توجد بالفعل مبادرات يمكن إعادة النظر فيها.[4]

ويتعين على الدولة أيضاً أن تضع إجراءات لتنظيم الأنشطة التجارية التوسعية والاستخراجية، والتركيز في ذلك على مسائل الشرعية، والنِّزاع الاجتماعي، والآثار البيئية، والآثار المترتبة على إنتاج الأغذية، ودور الموظفين العموميين وعلاقتهم بالأعمال التجارية، وإجراءات السلطات المحلية التي تنتهك حق المجتمعات المحلية في استشارتها. وقبل كل شيء، يجب على الحكومة تحليل ما إذا كانت هذه الأنشطة التجارية مناسبة للبلد من الناحيتين الاجتماعية والبيئية والاقتصادية، على المدى القصير والطويل.

 

سيندي هيرنانديز بونيلا smhernandezb@url.edu.gt

باحثة، معهد البحوث وإسقاطات العوامل الحركية العالمية والإقليمية، جامعة رافائيل لانديفار، غواتيمالا.

http://principal.url.edu.gt/index.php/investigacion/institutos-investigacion-proyeccion/idgt

 



[1] Conciliation Resources (1997) Negotiating rights: The Guatemala peace process

(موارد المصالحة (1997) التفاوض على الحقوق: عملية السلام الغواتيمالية)

www.c-r.org/accord/guatemala

[2] أشارت تقارير مركز رصد النُّزوح الداخلي إلى 6200 حالية جديدة من النُّزوح الداخلي في عام 2016:

 www.internal-displacement.org/countries/guatemala

[4] مثال ذلك اتفاقا السلام ’خطة لتنشيط وتكييف السياسة الوطنية للتنمية الريفية المتكاملة’ ودعونا نحسن غواتيمالا‘

 

FMR 56
October 2017

المحتويات

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

Triggers of internal displacement in Guatemala

Sindy Hernández Bonilla

More than 20 years since the end of the civil war, Guatemala is once again experiencing an upsurge in internal displacement. The causes are multiple, and demand attention.

The signing of peace agreements in 1996 ended 36 years of civil war between the Guatemalan government and the Guatemalan National Revolutionary Unit.[1] An estimated 200,000 people were killed during the war, while about one million people were internally displaced or fled the country. More than 20 years have passed since the end of the war but today this Central American country is again experiencing high levels of homicide and generalised violence, with significant levels of new displacement.[2]

At the time of negotiating and approving the Peace Accords, including the Agreement for the Resettlement of Uprooted Populations by Armed Conflict[3], the government introduced economic structural adjustment measures. Although some progress has been made, there has been little impact on economic inequalities. For example, there has been no comprehensive fiscal reform, so the State has few resources to invest in education, health, social protection, housing and job creation. The indigenous population continues to be denied their rights and access to the justice system. And in terms of compensation, lack of state resources means that few families who were victims of war have received comprehensive compensation.

All this, combined with the uneven implementation of the peace agreement’s provisions, has led to a deepening of inequality and poverty in the country and to greater State fragility, providing fertile ground for armed groups, criminal gangs, organised crime and drug trafficking. Guatemala currently has high rates of crime, creating fear and uncertainty in the general population.

Research undertaken in 2016 identified a wide range of factors driving internal displacement in Guatemala: violence, extortion and threats; organised crime and narco trafficking; the expansion of large-scale business activities (such as the cultivation of sugarcane and oil palm, cattle raising, mining and hydroelectricity production); and natural and climate-related events. Added to these are other risk factors that trigger forced migration, such as the deterioration and exacerbation of social inequality in access to health, education, housing, livelihoods and land (with the most affected being those living in rural and marginalised areas), and the predominance of the patriarchal system.

The expansion of large-scale business has reduced areas for food crops, which has led to the displacement of families and sometimes entire communities in the northwest of the country. This situation has in turn placed these people at risk of disease and malnutrition, with little or no access to livelihoods. Their vulnerability is further exacerbated by violence, intimidation and land grabbing by big business, and by the environmental damage done to the land, particularly to water sources by contamination, overuse and diversion of rivers.

Such businesses benefit from a weak State, from corruption and inefficiency, but also from the close ties that some companies have with mafias and State institutions. This situation has left communities unprotected. Some resist (such as those who protest against mining and hydroelectric projects), while others choose to sell up and look for somewhere else to live – often leaving for their own survival.

Guatemala’s geography and location make it vulnerable to climatic and natural events (storms, volcanic eruptions and earthquakes) that have led to forced displacement. This situation is aggravated by the lack of land use planning, deforestation, poor oversight of housing, housing shortages and poor prevention and preparedness measures. The people most affected are those already living in poverty. When such events occur, affected populations receive emergency care but no longer-term assistance.

From indifference to investment?

In sum, there are many reasons that promote internal forced displacement in Guatemala, yet there is little State recognition of the underlying problems. Those displaced by violence live in constant fear of being found by the perpetrators of violence, and consequently mistrust other people and public officials. This scenario makes it extremely difficult to secure data about displacement, while the undercurrent of fear discourages people from lodging complaints, which in turn hinders the investigation and punishment of criminal acts and fails to stop them being repeated.

The government needs to demonstrate its willingness to address the structural aspects that are currently causing displacement. It urgently needs to undertake a system-wide evaluation (with the participation of civil society) of public policies and of prevention and care programmes targeting displaced people; there needs to be greater investment in improving the living conditions of the poorest and most excluded populations – those located in rural areas and precarious urban settlements – with specific approaches for children and adolescents, women and indigenous peoples. A national development plan is needed, one that benefits the more vulnerable populations, seeking to eradicate poverty and malnutrition, ensure access to the school system and employment, and promote the sustainable management of the land. This does not require starting from scratch since there already exist initiatives that can be revisited.[4]

The State also needs to develop procedures to regulate expansionist and extractive business activities, and in doing so should focus on questions of legality, social conflict, environmental impacts, repercussions on food production, the role of public officials and their relationship with business, and the actions of local authorities that violate communities’ right to be  consulted. Above all, the government should analyse whether these business activities are appropriate for the country in social, environmental and economic terms, both in the short and the long term.
 

Sindy Hernández Bonilla smhernandezb@url.edu.gt
Researcher, Institute of Research and Projection on Global and Territorial Dynamics, Rafael Landívar University, Guatemala http://principal.url.edu.gt/index.php/investigacion/institutos-investigacion-proyeccion/idgt


[1] Conciliation Resources (1997) Negotiating rights: The Guatemala peace process www.c-r.org/accord/guatemala

[2] The Internal Displacement Monitoring Centre reported 6,200 new cases of internal displacement in 2016: www.internal-displacement.org/countries/guatemala

[4] For example, the Peace Agreements, the ‘Plan para Activar y Adecuar la Política Nacional de Desarrollo Rural Integral’ and ‘Mejoremos Guate’.

 

FMR 56
October 2017

Contents

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. All articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.