الأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين العابرون لفجوة داريان

مارغريت هانتر

رغم ما يوليه المجتمع الدولي من اهتمام لرحلات اللاجئين والمهاجرين الشاقة عبر البحر الأبيض المتوسط، أغفلت وسائل الإعلام ومجتمع المساعدات الدولية واحداً من أخطر طرق الهجرة في العالم ألا وهو داريان جاب.

كان أول مرة عَلِمْتُ فيها عن وجود فجوة داريان (Darién Gap) عندما عملت في عام 2015 معالجاً نفسياً للأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين الذين يصلون إلى الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. وقد فرَّت الغالبية العظمى من هؤلاء الأطفال من الاضطهاد في بلدانهم الأصلية وجاؤوا من أمريكا الوسطى إلى الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. وخلال التقييم الأولي والجلسات الاستشارية اللاحقة، ركزت المحادثات مع الأطفال المراهقين على عبور ’الغابة‘ التي تقع بين كولومبيا وبنما. وكان الأطفال الذين عملت معهم يصفون هذه الرحلة بأنَّها أسوء جزء من رحلتهم في طريق الهجرة، وتشاركوا جميعاً بمشاعر اليأس والخوف إزاء تلك الغابة.

فعند وصولهم إلى الحدود الشمالية لكولومبيا، سرعان ما يكتشفون السبب وراء وجود فجوة يبلغ طولها 100 كيلومتر في أطول طريق في العالم إذ يبلغ طوله 48 ألف كيلو متر، وتُعرَف هذه الفجوة باسم: فجوة داريان، إذ تغطي الغابة ذات الأشجار الكثيفة في فجوة داريان جزءاً من إقليم داريان في بنما والجزء الشمالي من مقاطعة تشوكو في كولومبيا، وتفصل كولومبيا عن بنما ما يعيق السفر براً بين أمريكا الجنوبية والوسطى. ورغم تشييد المعالم الحضرية على أطراف غابة داريان المطيرة، باءت كثير من المحاولات لبناء طريق سهل العبور بالفشل.

واستخدم مقاتلو القوى الثورية المسلحة في كولومبيا[i] هذا الشريط الممتد كثيف الأشجار من الغابة المطيرة الذي يبلغ طوله 100 كيلومتر، والذي يتميز بوعورة قمم جباله، ومستنقعاته، وانتشار أنواع سامة ومميتة من الحيوانات، موطناً لهم والآن يستخدمه تجار المخدَّرات وكراً لهم. كما نزلت أيضاً أعدادٌ متزايدة من المهاجرين واللاجئين في هذا الشريط في أثناء محاولاتهم عبور أكثر المناطق خطراً في العالم. وقد ازداد عدد الأشخاص المارين عبر فجوة داريان من 3078 شخصاً في عام 2013 إلى 7278 شخصاً في عام 2014 وأغلبيتهم من الكوبيين والهاييتيين، الذين يصلون إلى كولومبيا بالقارب ويكملون باقي الرحلة عبر فجوة داريان سيراً على الأقدام.[ii]

صدمة البقاء على قيد الحياة

تتمثل مهمتي كمختص في علاج هذه الحالات في مساعدتهم للتعبير عن تجربة الصدمة التي مروا بها ومساعدتهم للشعور بالأمان مرة أخرى عقب رحلتهم هذه. وقد تحدث الأطفال عن منظر الأرض الممتلئة بمتعلقات طالبي اللجوء الآخرين الذين خارت قواهم أو الذين أنهكهم المرض لدرجة لم يعودوا قادرين فيها على حمل متاعهم، وتحدث آخرون كُثُر أيضاً عن رؤيتهم للجثث على امتداد الطريق. وتحدث بعض الأطفال عن مشاهدتهم الموت بأعينهم فور وصولهم الغابة فتحدثوا عمن غرقوا في النهر من زملائهم أو ماتوا جراء لدغة ثعبان سام، أو بسبب الجفاف، أو بسبب هجوم أحد الحيوانات الضخمة. وتحدث كثيرٌ منهم عن تجربته الشخصية في تعرضه للسرقة والابتزاز على أيدي المهربين. فقد وعدهم بعض المهربين بأن يقودوهم خلال الغابة، زاعمين أنَّ الأمر لن يستغرق سوى يومٍ واحد، ولكنَّ الحقيقة أنَّهم كانوا يتركونهم أياماً يسيرون على أقدامهم دون طعام أو شراب. ومن جهتي كمعالج لهذه الحالات من الأطفال، لم يكن من السهل أبداً سماع هذه القصص من هؤلاء الأطفال حول الصدمة التي لم تغادر أحداً منهم إلا مسّته بألمها ولا رؤية الأدلة البسيطة على توافر شيء من العون لهم في المنطقة.

وكثيرٌ من الذين عبروا فجوة داريان مؤهلون للحصول على صفة اللاجئ بموجب القانون الدولي وبذلك فهم يستحقون الحصول على الحماية والمساعدة. لَكنَّ غياب الاتصال بين الحكومات والجهات الفاعلة من غير الحكومات بالإضافة إلى غياب الإرادة السياسية لمساعدة هذه الفئة المحجوبة قد يؤدي إلى إغفالهم خاصة منهم الأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين وتعرضهم إلى خسائر وأضرار لا يُستهَان بها.

ويمثل الأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين فئة مستضعفة جداً على وجه الخصوص، أما الأشخاص الذين يأتون إلى الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية من أمريكا الوسطى ، فتعد تجربتهم في فجوة داريان الجزء الرئيسي من قصتهم. وتبين لي أنَّ أعراض الصحة العقلية التي وجدتها في الحالات التي أعالجها تنبع أساساً من التجربة الصادمة التي تعرضوا لها في الغابة وهو ما يعد مظهراً من مظاهر الهجرة في عصرنا هذا ولا يمكن غض الطرف عنه.

 

مارغريت هانتر mjhunter0@gmail.com

معالجة نفسية، تحالف هارتلاند www.heartlandalliance.org



[i] Fuerzas Armadas Revolucionarias de Colombia

[ii] Miraglia P (2016) ‘The Invisible Migrants of the Darién Gap: Evolving Immigration Routes in the Americas’, Council on Hemispheric Affairs

(ميراغليا ب (2016) ’المهاجرون المحجوبون في فجوة داريان: مسارات ناشئة للهجرة في الأمريكيتين‘، مجلس شؤون نصف الكرة الأرضية الغربي)

www.coha.org/the-invisible-migrants-of-the-darien-gap-evolving-immigration-routes-in-the-americas/

 

FMR 56
October 2017

المحتويات

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

Unaccompanied children crossing the Darién Gap

Margaret Hunter

While there is much international attention paid to the treacherous journeys of refugees and migrants crossing the Mediterranean Sea, both the media and international aid community have overlooked one of the deadliest migratory routes in the world: the Darién Gap.

I first became aware of the existence of the Darién Gap when I began working in 2015 as a psychotherapist for unaccompanied children arriving in the United States (US). The vast majority of these children were fleeing persecution in their countries of origin and many had crossed into the US from Central America. During the initial assessment and subsequent counselling sessions, the conversations with my adolescent clients inevitably focused on crossing ‘the jungle’ between Colombia and Panama. My clients consistently described this stretch of the voyage as the worst part of their migration journey; the desperation and fear that they felt in the jungle was common to all their narratives.

At the northern border of Colombia they discover why the world’s longest road – the 48,000-km Pan-American Highway – has a 100-km break in it: the Darién Gap. The dense jungle of the Darién Gap, which covers part of Panama’s Darién Province and the northern portion of Colombia’s Chocó Department, separates Colombia from Panama and prevents overland travel between South and Central America. While development has sprung up on the edges of the rainforest of the Darién, the many attempts over the years to build a traversable road have failed.

The dense 100-km stretch of rainforest, with its rugged mountain peaks, swamplands and many deadly species of animals, has served as host to FARC combatants[1] and now hosts drug traffickers. It has also hosted increasing numbers of migrants and refugees attempting to walk across one of the world’s most dangerous stretches of land. The total number of people setting out to cross the Darién Gap increased from 3,078 in 2013 to 7,278 in 2014; Cubans and Haitians make up a large percentage, entering Colombia by boat and continuing the rest of the journey through the Darién Gap on foot.[2]

The trauma of surviving

As a therapist, I had the job of helping my clients to express their experiences of trauma and help them to regain a sense of safety following their journey. Children spoke of seeing the jungle floor strewn with the possessions of other asylum seekers who had grown too weak or sick to carry them; many spoke of encountering dead bodies along the route. Some children spoke of witnessing death at first hand in the jungle; they described fellow travellers who had drowned in the river or died of poisonous snake bites, dehydration and even an attack by a large animal. Many described their personal experience of robbery or extortion by smugglers. Some smugglers promised to lead them through the jungle, claiming that it would only take a day, only to abandon them with days still to walk without food or water. As a therapist, it was profoundly difficult to hear how ubiquitous this trauma was among these children and to see little evidence of aid to the area.

Many of those crossing the Darién Gap qualify as refugees under international law, and are entitled to protection and assistance. The lack of communication between governments and non-governmental actors and the lack of political will to assist this invisible population can result in such people – some of whom are unaccompanied children – being overlooked, with highly damaging results.

Unaccompanied children are a particularly vulnerable population, and for those travelling to the US from Central America, the experience of the Darién Gap is a formative and crucial piece of their story. Many of the mental health symptoms that I encountered in my client population appeared to stem from traumatic experiences in the jungle. It is an aspect of the contemporary migration landscape that cannot be ignored.

 

Margaret Hunter mjhunter0@gmail.com
Psychotherapist, Heartland Alliance www.heartlandalliance.org



[1] Revolutionary Armed Forces of Colombia (Fuerzas Armadas Revolucionarias de Colombia)

[2] Miraglia P (2016) ‘The Invisible Migrants of the Darién Gap: Evolving Immigration Routes in the Americas’, Council on Hemispheric Affairs
www.coha.org/the-invisible-migrants-of-the-darien-gap-evolving-immigration-routes-in-the-americas/

 

FMR 56
October 2017

Contents

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. All articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.