اللاجئون في المدن: تجارب الاندماج

كارين جاكوبسين

عدد المدن التي تستوعب اللاجئين في بلدان اللجوء الأولى وبلدان العبور والوجهات النهائية في ازدياد مستمر. وعلينا أن ننظر إلى ما يحدث على المستوى المحلي من أجل فهم أفضل للدمج في المناطق الحضرية، كعملية مشتركة بين اللاجئين والمجتمعات المضيفة على حد سواء.

المدن، وعلى الأخص منها المدن الحدودية في بلدان اللجوء الأول، هي الحدود الأمامية لتهجير اللاجئين، وغالباً ما يستقر فيها اللاجئون أو يقضون فيها فترات طويلة من الزمن. وعندما ينتقل اللاجئون إلى بلدة معينة، يغيرون نسيج العلاقات الاجتماعية والسياسية والثقافية والاقتصادية، الأمر الذي يؤثر بدوره على تجارب اللاجئين الخاصة. إزاء ذلك الواقع، جاء مشروع اللاجئين في المدن في مركز فاينشتاين الدولي، في جامعة تافتس، كمبادرة جديدة تسعى إلى تعميق فهم دمج اللاجئين في المناطق الحضرية من خلال تسليط الضوء على التجربة المزدوجة للاجئين والمدن التي استقروا فيها. وتميل البحوث الأكاديمية والسياسية إلى التركيز على المستوى الوطني أو العالمي، ونادراً ما تجلب عدسة محلية إلى القصة ويستكشف هذا المشروع الاندماج كما يحدث في المدن، وهو بعد مهم مفقود من فهمنا لكل من اندماج اللاجئين والتنمية الحضرية.

كما يستند هذا المشروع إلى مجموعة من الطرق لتطوير دراسة الحالات في المدن التي استقبلت اللاجئين.[1]ويركز المشروع على تجربة ’البدء من الصفر‘ في البلدات المضيفة وأحياء اللاجئين داخل المدن الكبيرة، مستخدماً نهج البحث النوعي. وقد أجرى البحوث الناس الذين يعيشون أو يعملون هناك، وكل دراسة حالة تقدم زاوية مختلفة اعتماداً على وجهة نظر الباحث واهتماماته. وتوثق دراسات الحالات تجارب كل من اللاجئين والمضيفين، وتأثير سكان اللاجئين الحضريين على الخدمات المحلية، وعلى إدارة المدن، وعلى التماسك الاجتماعي. أما من ناحية نطاق المشروع فهو عالمي، وعملية دراسة الحالات جارية بالفعل في مدن أمريكا الشمالية، حيث أُعيد توطين اللاجئين كما أنها قيد التنفيذ في بلدان العبور (المكسيك واليونان)، ودول اللجوء الأول (بما في ذلك جنوب أفريقيا ولبنان وتركيا).

ومن الناحية الأكاديمية، ستعزز النتائج المستمدة من دراسة الحالات بناء النظرية بشأن دمج اللاجئين، من خلال توثيق وتحليل الطرق التي تتطور بها المجتمعات الحضرية والمجتمعات المضيفة جنباً إلى جنب. ومن الناحية العملية، يدعم المشروع السياسة الحضرية على المستوى المحلي، من خلال توفير التوجيه والمعلومات لقادة المجتمعات والمنظمات غير الحكومية ومسؤولي المدن، وهدفنا هو المساعدة في تشكيل المدن كمناطق حضرية صديقة للاجئين والمهاجرين، التي تستفيد استفادة كاملة من الفوائد التي يجلبها اللاجئون، وتحديد الممارسات الناجحة في التصدي لتحديات الاندماج.

لماذا هذا المشروع الآن؟

في يناير/كانون الثاني من عام 2017، بدأت إدارة ترامب الجديدة في محاولة لتحويل سياسة الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية للاجئين، من خلال فرض حظر على السفر وتعليق أجزاء من برنامج اللاجئين. واستجابت المدن في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة بطرق مختلفة؛ فالبعض أعلنت نفسها على أنها ’مدن الملاذ‘، تقدم من خلالها أشكالا أخرى من اللدونة، بينما أيد آخرون جهود ترامب. ومن شأن هذه التطورات السياسية على المستويين الاتحادي والمحلي أن تؤثر على تجربة اندماج اللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء الذين وصلوا حديثاً أو طال أمدهم. وعلى الصعيد العالمي، نجد الديناميات السياسية نفسها. وفي بلدان اللجوء الأول مثل الأردن وليبيا، وفي بلدان العبور مثل اليونان والمكسيك، وفي بلدان الوجهة النهائية مثل ألمانيا والسويد، نجد أنَّ البلدان الصغيرة والمدن هي التي تستوعب اللاجئين والمهاجرين. ومن المهم أن نفهم هذه التجربة وأن نجد السبل لدعم البلدات التي سيمكث فيها اللاجئون في حالات كثيرة لفترات طويلة. وبهذا السياق، ستعكف دراسات الحالة على ما يلي:

إنشاء خريطة لتعداد اللاجئين: من خلال القياس الكمي لتوزيع وحجم فئات اللاجئين المختلفة حسب الجنسية في البلدة الواحدة، ستنشئ كل دراسة حالة خريطة تبين ما إذا كان اللاجئون يتجمعون في مناطق معينة أم لا، وكيف يتغير هذا التوزيع مع مرور الوقت. كما أنها ستظهر، على سبيل المثال، أين انتقل اللاجئون من أجزاء أخرى من البلاد للانضمام إلى ’مجتمع الاندماج‘، كما الحال مع الصوماليين القادمين من أماكن أخرى في الولايات المتحدة، للانضمام إلى المجتمع الراسخ في ليويستون في ماين.

توثيق تجارب اللاجئين: ستوثق دراسة الحالات الجوانب الاقتصادية والمالية لكيفية حصول اللاجئين على سبل كسب الرزق، ومصادر دخلهم ودعمهم (المحلي وعبر الوطني)، والتزاماتهم المالية (مثل الديون المترتبة إزاء المهربين وتسديد قروض السفر التي تقدمها المنظمة الدولية للهجرة). وعلاوة على ذلك، ستبحث الدراسات ما إذا كان اللاجئون قد أصبحوا ناشطين سياسياً، وما إذا كانوا يستكشفون أشكال الحشد والتعبئة الاجتماعية، وأنواع الشبكات الاجتماعية والسياسية المحلية وعبر الوطنية التي قد ظهرت. وستستكشف مدى فهم اللاجئين الذاتي للدمج ومواقف اللاجئين تجاه المستقبل.

استكشاف الأثر الحضري: ستستكشف كل دراسة حالة الآثار الاقتصادية للاجئين على البلدة، بما في ذلك العمالة، وإيجاد الأعمال التجارية، والروابط التجارية ، وسوق الإسكان/الإيجارات، بالإضافة إلى تأثيرها على الخدمات مثل الصحة والتعليم، والبنية التحتية، بما في ذلك النقل والمياه. وستدرس مدى اهتمام المقيمين والسلطات الحضرية بتجربة هذه التأثيرات وتفسيرها، وكيفية استجابة اللاجئين لها اجتماعياً وسياسياً. وسيحدد المشروع أيضاً استجابة السلطات البلدية ورؤساء البلديات للاجئين الوافدين، وسعيها إلى إدارة العلاقات مع الحكومة الوطنية أو حكومة الولاية.

وبالرغم من أن مجالات التحقيق الثلاثة الواسعة هذه تهدف إلى أن تكون بمنزلة توجيه لدراسة الحالات، نشجع موضوعات أو طرق أخرى للتحقيق.

المساهمة في دراسة الحالات:

إذا كنت لاجئاً، أو عامل إغاثةٍ، أو مقيماً في مدينة تستضيف لاجئين، نشجعك على كتابة دراسة حالة. وحيثما كان ذلك مناسباً، يمكننا جمعك مع طالب دراسات عليا من جامعة تافتس، أو من أي جامعة أخرى، لكي يساعدك في مختلف الجوانب. ونرحب أيضاً بتقديم الدراسات التي أجريت بصورة مستقلة. هدفنا سماع آراء مختلفة ووجهات نظر محلية حول كيفية حدوث الاندماج الحضري، كما نشجع دراسة الحالات التي تعكس وجهات النظر والآراء السياسية المختلفة.

وستُراجَع دراسة الحالات وستُضاف إلى قاعدة بيانات المشروع، وستكون متاحة للجمهور من خلال الموقع الإلكتروني للمشروع. وستكون لكل بلدة صفحة خاصة بها ’يملكها‘ في بداية الأمر الباحث الأصلي، الذي يمكنه دعوة الآخرين لإضافة مواد دراسة الحالة، ونحن نسعى إلى استخدام مجموعة متنوعة من الأساليب البحثية، بما في ذلك وسائل الإعلام المرئي مثل الأفلام الوثائقية والمسرح والرقص، كما نشجع الأساليب الإبداعية من الفنانين على اختلاف أنواعهم.

كارين جاكوبسين Karen.jacobsen@tufts.edu

بروفيسورة كرسي هنري جي لير للهجرة العالمية، كلية فليتشر للقانون والدبلوماسية، جامعة تافتس.

http://fic.tufts.edu/research-item/refugees-in-towns

لمزيد من المعلومات، اتصل بالمؤلف، أو بقائد مشروع اللاجئين في المدن أو مديرهCharles.simpson@tufts.edu

 



[1] لمزيد من الشروحات المفصلة حول منهجيات بحثنا، زر الرابط التالي:

 http://fic.tufts.edu/research-item/refugees-in-towns/

 

FMR 56
October 2017

المحتويات

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

Refugees in towns: experiences of integration

Karen Jacobsen

In countries of first asylum, transit and destination it is increasingly towns and cities that are absorbing refugees. We must look at what is happening at a local level to better understand urban integration as a process shared by refugees and host communities alike.

Towns – especially border towns in countries of first asylum – are at the frontline of refugee displacement and are often where refugees settle or spend long periods of time. When refugees move into a town they change the fabric of social, political, cultural and economic relations, which in turn influences the refugees’ own experiences. The Refugees in Towns (RIT) project at the Feinstein International Center, Tufts University, is a new initiative that seeks to deepen understanding of urban refugee integration through highlighting the dual experience of refugees and the towns where they have settled. Academic and policy research tends to focus on the national or global level, seldom bringing a local lens to the story. The RIT project explores integration as it happens in towns, which is an important dimension missing from our understanding both of refugee integration and of urban development.

The RIT project draws on a range of methods to develop case-studies of towns and cities that have received refugees.[1] Using qualitative research approaches it focuses on the ‘ground-up’ experience of host towns and refugee neighbourhoods within large cities. Research is conducted by people who live or work there, and each case-study presents a different angle depending on the perspective and interests of the researcher. The case-studies document the experiences of both refugees and hosts, and the impact an urban refugee population has on local services, on the governance of cities, and on social cohesion. The RIT project’s scope is global and case-studies are already underway in North American towns where refugees have been resettled, in transit countries (Mexico and Greece) and countries of first asylum (including South Africa, Lebanon and Turkey).

Academically, the findings from the case-studies will strengthen theory building about refugee integration through documentation and analysis of the ways in which urban refugee and host communities evolve side by side. Practically, the project supports urban policy at the local level by providing guidance and information to community leaders, NGOs and town officials. Our aim is to help shape towns as immigrant- and refugee-friendly urban spaces that take full advantage of the benefits brought by refugees and to identify what practices work well in addressing the challenges of integration.

Why this project now?

In January 2017, the new Trump administration began to try to shift United States (US) refugee policy through introducing travel bans and suspending parts of the refugee programme. Towns across the US responded in different ways, some declaring themselves ‘sanctuary cities’ and offering other forms of resistance while others supported Trump’s efforts. These political developments at the federal and local levels are bound to affect the integration experience of both newly arrived and long-standing refugees and asylum seekers. Globally, the same political dynamics are at work. In countries of first asylum such as Jordan and Libya, in transit countries such as Greece and Mexico, and in destination countries such as Germany and Sweden, it is towns and cities that are absorbing refugees and migrants. It is crucial that we understand this experience and find ways to support towns where, in many cases, refugees will remain for long periods. The case-studies will:

Map the refugee population: By quantifying the distribution and size of different refugee populations by nationality in the town each case-study will create a map showing whether and where refugees are clustered in particular areas and how this distribution has changed over time. It will show, for example, where refugees have relocated from other parts of the country to join an ‘anchor community’, as with Somalis coming from elsewhere in the US to join a long-standing community in Lewiston, Maine.

Document refugees’ experiences: The case-studies will document economic and financial aspects: how refugees pursue livelihoods, their sources of income and support (both local and transnational) and their financial obligations (such as debts to smugglers and repayment of IOM travel loans). Furthermore, they will examine whether refugees have become politically active, exploring forms of mobilisation and the kinds of local and transnational social and political networks that have emerged. They will also investigate refugees’ own understanding of integration, and explore refugees’ attitudes towards the future.

Explore urban impact: Each case-study will explore the economic impacts of the refugees on the town, including on employment, business creation, trade links and the housing/rental market, as well as their impact on services, such as health and education, and on infrastructure, including transportation and water. Each case-study will examine how residents and urban authorities experience and interpret these impacts, and how they have responded socially and politically. The project will also identify how the municipal authorities and mayors have responded to refugee arrivals, and how they have sought to manage relations with the national or state government.

While these three broad investigative areas are intended as guidance for case-studies, we encourage other themes or avenues of investigation.

Contributing case-studies

If you are a refugee, aid worker or resident in a town hosting refugees, we encourage you to write a case-study. Where appropriate we can pair you with a graduate student from Tufts University or elsewhere, who can help you with the different aspects. We also welcome submissions of independently conducted case-studies. Our goal is to hear different voices and local perspectives on how urban integration happens and we encourage case-studies that reflect diverse political viewpoints and voices.

Case-studies will be reviewed and added to the RIT database and be publicly available through the project’s website. Each profiled town will have its own web page, initially ‘owned’ by the original researcher who can invite others to add to the case-study materials. We seek to use a variety of research approaches, including visual media such as documentary, theatre and dance, and we encourage creative approaches by artists of all kinds.

 

Karen Jacobsen Karen.jacobsen@tufts.edu
Henry J Leir Professor of Global Migration, Fletcher School of Law & Diplomacy, Tufts University
http://fic.tufts.edu/research-item/refugees-in-towns

For more information contact the author, RIT project lead, or the RIT project manager Charles.simpson@tufts.edu



[1] A more detailed explanation of our research methods is available at http://fic.tufts.edu/research-item/refugees-in-towns/

 

FMR 56
October 2017

Contents

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. All articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.