العوامل التي تؤثر على قرارات الفارين من أمريكا الوسطى

فيكي نوكس

تكشف المقابلات التي أُجريت مع الفارين من العنف في أمريكا الوسطى العوامل المؤثرة على قرارتهم قبل الفرار وبعده.

في أواخر عام 2015، أجْرَيتُ مقابلات مع أشخاص من أمريكا الوسطى ممن يقيمون في مأوى في سيوداد إكستيبيك، وهي بلدة في جنوب المكسيك ومع أشخاص من السلفادور ممن هُجِّروا من المكسيك ويقيمون الآن في مراكز إقامة مؤقتة للعائدين في سانتا تكلا، السلفادور. وقد فرَّ جميعهم من المثلث الشمالي لأمريكا الوسطى[1] بسبب العنف الإجرامي والانفلات الأمني. وتكشف المقابلات بعضاً من الأسباب الكامنة وراء اتخاذ الأشخاص لقرار الفرار وتوضح أمرين غاية في الأهمية: الأول: لم لا يعد النزوح الداخلي خياراً من الخيارات القابلة للتحقيق، والثاني: مدى تأثير الوعي بحقوق اللجوء على القرارات المتخذة في أثناء الرحلة.[2]

وتعرض هؤلاء الأشخاص الذين أُجريَتْ معهم المقابلات إلى أنماط مختلفة من الخطر، وتختلف فيما بينها اختلافاً طفيفاً وفقاً لأنواع التهديدات التي خضعوا لها وحسب المكان الذي فروا منه ما أدى بدوره إلى اختلاف أنماط التنقل.[3] ومثلت بعض الحوادث التي تعرضوا لها مخاطر مباشرة مثل محاولات القتل، والاعتداءات الجسدية الخطرة، وتهديدات حقيقية بالموت. وتعرض آخرون للتهديد بالمخاطر الوشيكة مثل التهديد بالقتل إذا رفض الشخص فعل أي شيء يُطلَب منه أو إذا عجز حتى عن فعله مثل الانضمام إلى عصابة مثلاً أو دفع الأموال تحت ضغط الابتزاز والتهديد. وقد أدت التهديدات الحقيقة بالقتل ومحاولات القتل المتعمد حالة من الفرار الطارئ للهروب من المخاطر المباشرة كما ترك أشخاص آخرون بلدانهم هرباً من التعرض لمخاطر الانتقام والعنف الوشيكة: "وقد حاولت بعض العصابات إغوائي للانضمام إليهم والعمل معهم. ولكنَّ عائلتي أخبرتني الابتعاد عن ذلك المكان غير الآمن."[4] وكان فرار البعض عبارة عن خطوة استباقية تجنباً لعدم تعرضهم لأي مخاطر مستقبلية.

السبب وراء فشل النزوح الداخلي وعدم وبذل محاولات لإنجاحه

يعني انفلات الوضع الأمني الأكبر نطاقاً ضمن المثلث الشمالي لدول أمريكا الشمالية أنَّ النزوح الداخلي داخل البلد نفسه لا يعد حلاً أو خياراً قابلاً للتحقيق بالنسبة لكثير من الأشخاص المستخطرين. ولذلك، أدى فشل الدول ’ في توفير الحماية أو إعادة التوطين إلى ظهور بعض تحركات النزوح الداخلي غير المستقرة التي غالباً ما يكون الفشل حليفاً لها بالإضافة إلى غياب دور الدولة الفعال الذي مكَّن الجهات الفاعلة من غير الدول السيطرة على الأراضي الإقليمية والتصرف مع الإفلات من العقاب في جميع أنحاء المنطقة. وصرح الأشخاص الذين نزحوا داخلياً أولاً من بلدان المثلث الشمالي لأمريكا الوسطى قبل مغادرتهم البلاد أنهم تعرضوا للمشكلات نفسها من الانفلات الأمني بعد نزوحهم داخلياً ما أدى بهم بعد ذلك إلى هجرتهم الخارجية.

وصرح الأشخاص الذين فرُّوا من المخاطر المباشرة، مثل محاولات القتل المتعمد، بتعرضهم لمخاطر أكثر وحوادث انفلات أمني شخصية أكثر بعد النزوح الداخلي بسبب شبكات الاتصال التي تربط بين العصابات: "الوضع سيان في كل مكان، فهم يعرفون أين تذهب. إذن من الأفضل لنا مغادرة البلاد." وعبَّر الأشخاص المستخطرون أيضاً عن عدم جدوى النزوح الداخلي. فلا يعد النزوح الداخلي حلاً شافياً كافياً لتعرض النازحين داخلياً لخطر الجماعات الإجرامية بسبب شبكات اتصالهم المكثفة واسعة النطاق. وعبَّر الأشخاص صراحةً عن اتخاذهم لقرار مغادرة بلدانهم بسبب الخطر الذي يواجهونه في بلدانهم الأصلية وعجز الدولة عن توفير الحماية لهم.

كما قد يؤدي كل من النزوح الداخلي والفرار إلى بلدٍ آخر من بلدان المثلث الشمالي لأمريكا الشمالية إلى زيادة تعرض الفرد للخطر. فإذا انتقل شخص ما من حي خاضع لسيطرة عصابة ما إلى حي آخر خاضع لسيطرة عصابة أخرى منافسة فيعني هذا تعرض الشخص إلى خطر كلا العصابتين حتى لو لم يكن منضماً إلى هذه العصابة أو تلك. وبالمثل، يزداد تعرض الأشخاص للخطر إذا ما أرادوا الانتقال إلى منطقة محايدة لزيارة أقربائهم أو الذهاب إلى العمل ولكن انتقالهم إليها يتطلب بالضرورة مرورهم بحي العصابة “فتنقلي من حي إلى أخر من أجل الذهاب لزيارة أمي يعني اضطراراي إلى العودة إلى الحي الأول. لم أستطع حتى التحرك لوجود عصابات وتهديدات خاصة لأنني انتقلت من مكاني."

ورغم أن توافر كل ما يؤدي إلى إنجاح النزوح الداخلي من رأس مال اجتماعي تمثل في شبكات الاتصال والعلاقات في مكان المقصد،[5] لم يتطرق أحد من الذين أُجريَتْ معهم المقابلات الشخصية إلى غياب رأس المال الاجتماعي كعائق أمام النزوح الداخلي بل ركزوا بدلاً من ذلك على عائقين غاية في الأهمية هما: عدم سيطرة الدولة ما أدى بدوره إلى ظهور العصابات وتفشي سيطرتهم على الأراضي الإقليمية، وغياب استجابة الدولة الفعالة وعدم حمايتها للأشخاص الذين أُجبروا على النزوح داخلياً.

كما أجرينا أيضاً مقابلات مع بعض الأشخاص الذين لم يتعرضوا إلى أي تهديدات أو عنف ولو يجربوا حتى النزوح الداخلي قبل مغادرتهم لبلدانهم ولكنَّ ما فعلوه يعد إجراءً وقائياً وخطوة استباقية لتجتب ابتزازهم لدفع المال أو بسبب تردي الأوضاع الأمنية المحلية. وقد هاجرت أسرة سلفادورية قبل شروعها في دفع المال تحت ضغط الابتزاز، موضحةً سبب ذلك: “ لم أُرِدْ ’الدفع لأنني إن دفعت مرة فيعني ذلك اضطراراي إلى الدفع في كل مرة - أو يصل بي الحال إلى تمريغ وجهي بالتراب." وعموماً، تعود أسباب تفضيلهم الهجرة الخارجية على النزوح الداخلي إلى عدم توافر حماية الدولة لهم داخل بلدانهم. والمثير للغرابة أنَّ نصف هذه المجموعة تتوافر على علاقات اجتماعية وشبكات اتصال في الأماكن التي سينزحون إليها ولكنَّ توافر هذه الإمكانات على ما يبدو كان أقصى ما يمكن أن يحدثه تحديد وجهتهم بدلاً من التأثير على قراراتهم بمغادرة البلاد.

كيفية تأثير المعلومات الخاصة بحقوق طلبات اللجوء على مسار طالبي اللجوء

لم يكن لدى الأشخاص الذين أُجرِيَتْ معهم المقابلات وعي كافٍ ومسبق بشأن حقوقهم في طلب اللجوء بل لم يكونوا يعرفون أن شروط الحصول على طلب اللجوء تنطبق عليهم. وكل ما يفعله الأشخاص الذين يتنقلون داخل المكسيك أنهم يظلون في مآوي المهاجرين طوال الطريق حيث يتلقون كميات مختلفة من المعلومات بشأن حقوقهم. وجميع الأشخاص الموجودين في المأوى الذي أجرينا المقابلات معهم فيه حصلوا أُبلِغوا في مقابلة التسجيل الأولي لهم بأنّ من حقهم التقدم بطلب اللجوء، وعبّر كثير منهم عن دهشته من وجود هذا النوع من الحماية ومن إمكانية تأهلهم للحصول عليه. أخبرني أحد السلفادوريين: “لم أكن أتخيل أبداً أنَّ لنا حقاً في السلامة."

ولذا، قرر ثلث الأشخاص الذين فرُّوا من التهديد بالقتل أو التجنيد القسري طلب اللجوء في المكسيك إذ غيروا خططهم للهجرة بعد معرفتهم بحقهم في طلب اللجوء في أثناء العبور. وأصبحت عملية اتخاذ القرار بالنسبة للأشخاص الذين لا يملكون رأس مال اجتماعي أو وجهة محددة والفارِّين من الموت المحقق واضحة المعالم ويسيرة إذ ذكروا عاملاً واحداً فقط وراء السبب في تغيير رأيهم: “سمعت عن حق اللجوء." أذكر منهم أحد الذين أُجرِيَتْ معهم المقابلات قلب خططه كلها رأساً على عقب بعد معرفته بحقه في طلب اللجوء. فكانت خطته الأولى التي وضعها في البداية تتمثل في الفرار بابن زوجته البالغ من العمر 15 عاماً إلى الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية ثم العودة إلى هندوراس لرعاية أسرته. وأخبرني قائلاً: “عندما وصلنا هنا إلى إكستيبيك أخبرونا بالحق في التقدم لطلب اللجوء وهو ما لم أسمع عنه من قبل. فمن ثم أخطط للذهاب لإحضار أسرتي لأطالب بحقي في اللجوء معهم جميعاً." ومن الواضح أن عدم المعرفة بالحق في طلب اللجوء يمثل عائقاً أمام حصولهم على الحماية بل كان من الممكن أن يؤثر على قراراتهم بخصوص الهجرة إذا كان هناك وعي كافٍ به في بلدانهم الأصلية

ورغم إقرارهم ويقينهم بأنَّ ظروفهم وأوضاعهم تنطبق عليها شروط التقدم بطلب اللجوء، فضَّل كثير منهم بدلاً من التقدم بطلب للحصول على تأشيرة دخول إنسانية (تُمنَح للمهاجرين من ضحايا الجرائم أو من شهدوها في المكسيك أو تُمنح نظرياً على الأقل لطالبي اللجوء[6]) تنظيم إقامتهم في المكسيك أو العمل على تيسير رحلة آمنة عبر المكسيك إلى الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. وبالنسبة للأشخاص الذين قرروا البقاء في المكسيك، تأثر قرارهم هذا تأثراً بالغاً بالرفض العام للسلطات المكسيكية لقبول طلبات التقدم للحصول على طلب اللجوء وتأشيرة الدخول الإنسانية معاً في آن واحد ما يعني أنَّه على المتقدمين الاختيار بين هذا أو ذاك. وحتى عندما يتلقى هؤلاء الأشخاص معلومات بشأن الحماية الدولية وحقهم فيها، تشير الأبحاث التي أجريتها أنَّ كثيراً منهم يفضلون عدم التقدم بطلبات في المكسيك رغم معرفتهم باستيفائهم للشروط وأهليتهم المحتملة.

أما الأشخاص الذين يصطحبون ذويهم أو أصدقائهم في وجهة محددة في المدينة فأقل احتمالاً من غيرهم في تغيير خططهم في أثناء العبور ما يعني أنَّ رأس المال الاجتماعي عامل مهم جداً من العوامل المؤثرة في عملية اتخاذ القرار.

ملحوظات ختامية

تشير المقابلات إلى أنَّ الحوادث التي كان من نتائجها المخاطر المباشرة أو الوشيكة كانت عاملاً أساسياً ومحفزاً للأشخاص على مغادرة منازلهم لكنّ العوامل الهيكلية وتحديداً عدم الحصول على الحماية في بلدانهم الأصلية كانت سبب الهجرات الخارجية. وبذلك يمكن القول إنَّ الهجرة الخارجية تتأثر بعوامل ثلاث: انتشار الجماعات الإجرامية المنظمة في جميع أنحاء المنطقة، وغياب دور الدولة الفعال وعدم سيطرتها على الأراضي الإقليمية ما أدى سيطرة الجماعات الإجرامية المنظمة عليها، وعدم استجابة الدولة للأشخاص الذين أُجبِروا على النزوح داخلياً. ومن العوامل التي تؤثر على قرار الشخص بشأن النزوح الداخلي رأس المال الاجتماعي ومعرفته بحقوقه ما يساعده في تحديد وجهته النهائية أما إذا تعلق الأمر بضوابط الهجرة الخارجية وسياساتها فلا تأثير يُذكَر لهذه العوامل على اتخاذ القرارات خاصة عندما تكون عوامل الطرد قوية وساحقة والحاجة إلى الهجرة ملحة.

 

فيكي نوكس V.Knox@london.ac.uk

مُدرِّسة مشاركة، مبادرة اللاجئين، ومرشحة لنيل درجة الدكتوراه، كلية الدراسات المتقدمة، جامعة لندنwww.sas.ac.uk

 



[1] يشار إليها أيضاً بشمال أمريكا الوسطى.

[2] بحث على مستوى الدكتوراه بتمويل من مجلس البحوث في الفنون والعلوم الإنسانية.

[3]في حين أثَّرت التهديدات بالقتل على الناس من الفئة العمرية 16-50 عاماً، كانت أغلبية الفارين من التجنيد القسري أو الانخراط في نشاطات العصابات من فئة المراهقين وأوائل العشرينيات إضافة إلى الفارين من الابتزاز الذين كانوا جميعاً في منتصف العشرينيات ومنهم مجموعة أسرية. ويشير ذلك إلى أنّ هناك نشاطات معينة تؤثر على بعض المجموعات السكانية دون غيرها لكنَّ في ذلك إشارة أيضاً إلى أنَّ المجموعات ذاتها أقل حساسية لمستوى الخطر نفسه ونتيجة ذلك اختلاف أنماط التنقل. فعلى سبيل المثال، قد ترتحل مجموعات العائلات كإجراء احترازي حتى لو كانت مستويات مخاطر الابتزاز التي يتعرضون إليها ضعيفة.

[4]جميع الاقتباسات مأخوذة من رجال من السلفادور وغواتيمالا وهندوراس وكانوا في الفئة العمرية 19-46 عاماً وبعضهم كانت عائلاتهم ترافقهم وفيها قاصرون.

[5] Cantor D J and Rodríguez Serna N R (Eds) (2016) The New Refugees: Crime and Displacement in Latin America, Ch 3

(كانتور ج ورودريغوز سيرنا ن ر (محرران) (2016) اللاجئون الجدد: الجريمة والتَّهجير في أمريكا اللاتينية)

[6] Mexico’s Ley de Migración (2011)

(قانون الهجرة المكسيكي (2011))

تنص المادة 52.5.أ على منح التأشيرة الإنسانية للأجنبي الذي كان ضحية لجناية أو شاهداً عليها في أثناء وجوده على الأراضي المكسيكية وكذلك تُمنَح التاشيرة لطالبي اللجوء لكنَّ طالبي اللجوء لا يُسمَح لهم الدخول في الممارسة العملية. انظر منظمة مراقبة حقوق الإنسان (هيومان رايتس ووتش) (2016)

Closed Doors: Mexico’s Failure to Protect Central American Refugee and Migrant Children

(أبواب موصدة: إخفاق المكسيك في حماية أطفال اللاجئين والمهاجرين في أمريكا الوسطى)

www.hrw.org/report/2016/03/31/closed-doors/mexicos-failure-protect-central-american-refugee-and-migrant-children

Crisis Group (2016) Easy Prey: Criminal Violence and Central American Migration, Latin America Report No 57.

(مجموعة الأزمات (2016)  فريسة سهلة: العنف الجنائي والهجرة في أمريكا الوسطى)

www.crisisgroup.org/latin-america-caribbean/central-america/easy-prey-criminal-violence-and-central-american-migration

 

FMR 56
October 2017

المحتويات

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

Factors influencing decision making by people fleeing Central America

Vickie Knox

Interviews with people who have fled violence in Central America reveal the influences behind their decision making prior to and during flight. 

In late 2015, I conducted interviews with Central Americans staying at a shelter in Ciudad Ixtepec, a town in southern Mexico, and with Salvadorans who had been deported from Mexico and were now at a centre for returnees in Santa Tecla, El Salvador. All had fled the Northern Triangle of Central America (NTCA)[1] because of criminal violence and insecurity. The interviews reveal some of the reasoning behind people’s decisions to flee and give a clear picture of, firstly, why internal flight is often not a viable option and, secondly, how learning about the right to asylum affects decisions taken during flight.[2]

Those interviewed had experienced slightly different levels of risk, depending on the types of threat they had experienced and the point at which they had escaped, and this appeared to result in different patterns of mobility.[3] Some of the incidents they had experienced posed immediate risk, including attempted murder, serious physical assault and credible death threats. Others posed an imminent risk, including threats that a person would be killed if they refused to or failed to do something, such as join a gang or pay extortion. Credible death threats or attempted murder drove emergency flight to escape the immediate risk, while people also left their country in an evasive move to avoid the imminent risk of reprisals and violence: “The gangs want me to work with them. My family says that it is not safe for me to be there.”[4] Others made a pre-emptive move to avoid future risk.

Why internal migrations fail or are not attempted

The broader situation of insecurity within the NTCA means that internal relocation within one’s own country is not a viable option for many people who are at risk. States’ failure to provide protection or resettlement results in internal relocations that are precarious and often unsuccessful, and the absence of an effective State presence has enabled non-State actors to usurp territorial control and act with impunity throughout the region. People from all three NTCA countries who moved internally prior to leaving the country said that they had experienced the same problems and insecurity after their internal relocation – and that this had resulted in their subsequent external migration.

Those who had fled immediate risk, such as attempted murder, reported more threats and personal insecurity after internal flight due to the communications networks of the gangs: “It’s the same everywhere, and they know where you go. Better to leave the country.” Those at imminent risk also expressed the futility of their internal flight. Internal displacement is often not sufficient because of the reach of criminal groups and their extensive communications networks. People’s decisions to leave their countries were made expressly because of the danger they ran in their country of origin, their level of risk and the failure of the State to protect them.  

Both internal displacement and flight into another NTCA country can also increase the risk to an individual. If someone relocates from one gang-controlled neighbourhood to one controlled by a rival gang, they will be at serious risk from both groups, even if not affiliated to either gang or to any other. Similarly, if they move to an area that is neutral but requires them to cross either gang’s territory to visit relatives or go to work, their risk is heightened: “I moved from one neighbourhood to another, and going to visit my mother meant I had to return to the first neighbourhood. I couldn’t just move – there were gangs, threats, the same – especially because I moved.”

Although having social capital – networks and relationships – in the destination location can help when relocating internally,[5] none of the interviewees highlighted a lack of social capital as a barrier to successful internal flight, mentioning instead two significant barriers: a lack of State control that has resulted in the pervasive presence and territorial control of gangs, and an absence of effective State response and protection for people who have been forced to relocate internally.

There were also some people who had not experienced actual or threatened violence and did not attempt internal relocation before leaving their country but who made a pre-emptive move abroad to avoid extortion or because of a degrading local security situation. One Salvadoran family had moved before starting to pay extortion, explaining: “I couldn’t pay, because if you pay once, you have to pay forever – or end up face down.” Overall, their reasoning for their external migration was a lack of adequate State protection in their country of origin. Half of this group had social relationships and networks in their intended destination but this appeared to determine their destination rather than influence their decision to leave their countries.

How information about rights affects trajectory

There was scant prior awareness among the interviewees of the right to seek asylum or the fact that it could apply to their circumstances. At the migrant shelters they stay in along the way, people moving through Mexico receive varying amounts of information about their rights. All people staying at the shelter where I conducted interviews were informed during their initial registration interview of the right to apply for asylum. Many expressed surprise that such protection existed and could be applicable to them. One Salvadoran told me: “I never knew we had a right to be safe.”

One third of all interviewees who had fled death threats or forced recruitment decided to claim asylum in Mexico, changing their migration plans after being informed of this right during transit. For some people without social capital and a specific destination who were fleeing certain death, the decision-making process became very straightforward and they cited just one factor: “I heard about the right to asylum.” One interviewee made dramatic changes to his plans after learning of the right to seek asylum. His initial plan was to take his 15-year-old stepson to the United States (US) to avoid forced recruitment and death threats, and then to return to Honduras to look after his family. He told me: “We arrived here in Ixtepec and they told us about the right to asylum, which I had never heard of before. I plan to go back to collect my family so that I can claim asylum with them all.” It is evident that lack of knowledge about asylum is a barrier to protection, and that the right to seek asylum could factor in migration decisions if there were widespread awareness of it in the country of origin.

Despite recognising that they could have a valid claim for asylum, however, some people chose instead to apply for a humanitarian visa (available for migrants who have been victims of or witness to a crime while in Mexico and – in theory at least – for asylum seekers[6]) either to regularise their stay in Mexico or to facilitate a safe journey through Mexico to the US. For those who decided to remain in Mexico, this decision was influenced chiefly by the Mexican authorities’ general refusal to accept applications for asylum and a humanitarian visa concurrently, meaning that applicants had to choose between one or the other. So even when people do receive information about international protection and their rights, my research suggests that many choose not to file claims in Mexico, despite acknowledging their potential eligibility.

Those with family or friends in a specific destination city were less likely to change their plans while in transit, demonstrating that social capital is also an important factor in the decision-making process

Final reflections

The interviews indicate that incidents resulting in immediate or imminent risk were the catalyst for people to leave their homes but that structural factors – namely the lack of State protection in the country of origin – drove external migrations. External flight is being driven by a powerful trio of structural factors: the pervasive presence of organised criminal groups throughout the region, a lack of effective State control leading to the usurping of territorial control by organised criminal groups, and an absence of State response to people who are forced to relocate internally. Social capital and knowledge of one’s rights may influence decisions along the way and so determine one’s ultimate destination but migration controls and policies have little bearing on decision making when push factors are so overwhelming and flight so urgent.

 

Vickie Knox V.Knox@london.ac.uk
Associate Tutor, Refugee Law Initiative, and PhD candidate, School of Advanced Study, University of London www.sas.ac.uk



[1] Also now referred to as Northern Central America.

[2] Doctoral research funded through the Arts and Humanities Research Council.

[3] While death threats affected people of all ages from 16 to 50, the majority of those fleeing forced recruitment or involvement in gang activities were in their teens and early twenties, and those fleeing extortion were all in their mid-twenties and included a family group. This suggests that certain activities adversely affect certain demographic groups but could also indicate that some groups are less tolerant of the same level of risk, resulting in different patterns of mobility. For instance, family groups may move pre-emptively even though faced with lower levels of risk from extortion.

[4] All quotations are from men from El Salvador, Guatemala and Honduras, ranging in age from 19 to 46, some accompanied by their family with minors in the group.

[5] Cantor D J and Rodríguez Serna N R (Eds) (2016) The New Refugees: Crime and Displacement in Latin America, Ch 3

[6] Mexico’s Ley de Migración (2011) Art.52.V.a, makes provision for a humanitarian visa for a foreign national who has been the victim of or witness to a crime while in Mexican territory and for asylum seekers but the latter is not being allowed in practice; see Human Rights Watch (2016) Closed Doors: Mexico’s Failure to Protect Central American Refugee and Migrant Children www.hrw.org/report/2016/03/31/closed-doors/mexicos-failure-protect-central-american-refugee-and-migrant-children and Crisis Group (2016) Easy Prey: Criminal Violence and Central American Migration, Latin America Report No 57. www.crisisgroup.org/latin-america-caribbean/central-america/easy-prey-criminal-violence-and-central-american-migration

 

FMR 56
October 2017

Contents

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. All articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.