المُواطَنَة الأمريكية اللاتينية: أتكون رابع الحلول الدائمة؟

فاليريا ياماس

تقدم اقتراحات اتحاد دول أميركا الجنوبية (أوناسور) بشأن المواطنة الإقليمية لأميركا الجنوبية إمكانية إيجاد حلول بديلة لحماية النازحين داخلياً واللاجئين في المنطقة.

يتمثل أحد أهم أهداف اتحاد دول أميركا الجنوبية (أوناسور) الذي أُسِّسَ عام 2008 في توحيد المواطنة بين كافة مواطني دول أميركا الجنوبية. وتعكس هذه الخطوة الضخمة والمبتكرة وجود الإرادة السياسة والروح الكامنة وراء عدد من المبادرات المهمة التي استُحْدِثَت في المنطقة على مدى العقود السابقة.

إذ وضع إعلان قرطاجنة المعني باللاجئين الذي اعتُمِدَ عام 1984 الأساس القانوني للاجئين في المنطقة استناداً إلى صيغة أرحب من تعريف صفة اللجوء الوارد في اتفاقية عام 1951 وذلك بالنظر إلى اللاجئين على أنهم: "الأشخاص الذين فرّوا من بلادهم بسبب الخطر الذي يهدد أرواحهم أو أمنهم أو حريتهم الناجم عن العنف المعمم أو العدوان الأجنبي أو النِّزاعات الداخلية أو الانتهاك الجسيم لحقوق الإنسان أو أي ظروف أخرى تعكّر صفو النظام العام تعكيراً خطيراً."[i]

ففي عام 2002 وقّعت بلدان السوق المشتركة الجنوبية (ميركوسور) اتفاقية تمنح لكل مواطنيهم حرية التنقل والإقامة. [ii]ثم في عام 2012، وقعت كتلة بلدان السوق المشتركة الجنوبية (ميركوسور) المُوَسّعة آنذاك إعلان المبادئ بشأن تقديم الحماية الدولية للاجئين متعهدين بذلك تحديد احتياجات اللجوء في تدفقات الهجرة المختلطة مع إيلاء الاهتمام الخاص للجندر والعمر وتجنب عدم الإعادة القسرية. [iii]كما سعى الإعلان لضمان تمكّن اللاجئين من ممارسة نفس الحقوق التي يمتلكها غيرهم من الأجانب وشجّع لم شمل أسر اللاجئين ووضَع آليات للتعاون بين مختلف مؤسسات اللجوء في بلدان أميركا الجنوبية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، وضع الإعلان برنامجاً إقليمياً لإعادة التوطين لإبراز أهمية مواءمة التشريعات الوطنية وأهمية العمل الجماعي لحماية اللاجئين الذين يصلون إلى المنطقة.

وفي عام 2004، وضعت بلدان أميركا اللاتينية ومنطقة البحر الكاريبي العشرون بالتعاون مع المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين خطة عمل المكسيك التي تعكس المخاوف من التهديدات التي تواجه استقرار المنطقة بسبب النِّزاع الكولومبي والأعداد الكبيرة من اللاجئين والأشخاص النازحين داخلياً. وشدّدت خطة عمل المكسيك على أهمية التعاون والتضامن الدولي والمسؤولية المشتركة هادفةً لتعزيز إطار عمل الحماية الدولية من أجل التوصل لحلول دائمة للاجئين في المنطقة. كما اعتبرت الخطة نوعية اللجوء أمراً أساسياً لإيجاد حلول دائمة لمشكلات اللاجئين، بمعنى أنه إذا كانت الحماية فعّالة فلن يضطر اللاجئ للذهاب إلى بلد ثالث من خلال التحركات الثانوية أو غير القانونية.

وفي عام 2014، تبنت المنظمات الدولية وممثلون عن منظمات المجتمع المدني في جميع أنحاء المنطقة إعلان البرازيل وخطة عملها. وتركز هذه الأداة الإقليمية لتعزيز الحماية الدولية في أمريكا اللاتينية على الحلول الدائمة، كما تُبرِز الممارسات الجيدة وتشجع كلاً من التعاون ما بين دول الجنوب والدعم المُقَدَم من المجتمع الدولي لحالتين محددتين من حالات التَّهجير المستمرة وهما أعداد اللاجئين المتزايدة الذين استوطنوا في المراكز الحضرية الكبيرة لأمريكا اللاتينية والعدد الكبير من المواطنين الكولومبيين المستضعفين في المنطقة الحدودية للبلاد مع كل من الإكوادور وبنما وفنزويلا.

الإرادة السياسية لأمريكا اللاتينية

يعد استحداث الهيئات والصكوك الإقليمية المُبَيَّنة أعلاه مثالاً على وجود الإرادة السياسية في المنطقة وتوضيحاً وجه الاختلاف بين المقاربة المُتّبعة في أمريكا اللاتينية وكثير مما يحدث في أطراف أخرى في العالم إذ إنَّ هذه المقاربة تتجنب السياسات التقييدية وتسمح بتنظيم الهجرة وتنفيذ التدابير اللازمة من أجل تحديد الأشخاص المحتاجين للحماية الدولية.

وقد جاء تأسيس اتحاد دول أميركا الجنوبية (أوناسور) ليشكل حيزاً للتوافق والتقارب مع المبادرات الأخرى ولكن بهدف التقدم للأمام خطوة أخرى:"بناء هُوِيَّة ومواطنة لأمريكا الجنوبية". [iv]وفي هذا السياق، تشكل مواطنة أمريكا الجنوبية أكثر الحلول شمولية وابتكاراً وربما الأكثر ديمومةً للأزمة الإنسانية في المنطقة. كما أنها تمثل إعادة تعريف للعلاقة بين بلدان أميركا الجنوبية اعتماداً على الرؤية المشتركة والهوية الإقليمية.

مفهومات المواطنة

يسعى اتحاد دول أميركا الجنوبية (أوناسور) من بين أهدافه المحددة إلى ترسيخ وتوطيد هوية أمريكا الجنوبية من خلال الاعتراف التدريجي بحقوق مواطني أي من الدول الأعضاء بالإقامة في الدول الأعضاء الأخرى من أجل تمكين المواطنة في أميركا الجنوبية والوصول إلى الضمان الاجتماعي والخدمات الصحية في كافة أنحاء المنطقة، كما يهدف اتحاد دول أمريكا الجنوبية (أوناسور) إلى تشجيع الاعتراف الإقليمي بالإنسان وحقوق العمل من أجل تنظيم سياسات الهجرة وتوحيدها وذلك من خلال التعاون في مجال الهجرة. كما كان الاتفاق المتعلق بالإعفاء من تأشيرات الدخول وجوازات السفر الذي وقعه وزراء الخارجية في مجموعة أمم أمريكا الجنوبية (الذي كان سلف اتحاد دول أمريكا الجنوبية (أوناسور) في نوفمبر/تشرين الثاني عام 2006 أول خطوة باتجاه حرية التنقل وأسهمت هذه الخطوة بإرساء الأسس لمواطنة أمريكا الجنوبية.

كما كان اتحاد دول أميركا الجنوبية (أوناسور) خلّاقاً في تقديمه لمفهوم المواطنة استناداً إلى مفهوم المبدأ القانوني الذي ينص على حق المواطنة بحكم الإقامة. ويأتي ذلك نتيجة للنظر إلى المواطنة على أنها عضوية على مستويات سياسية مختلفة من المستوى المحلي إلى المستوى الإقليمي. وعلى المستوى الإقليمي العابر للحكومات، يقر اتحاد دول أميركا الجنوبية بالحاجة إلى مد رقعة تطبيق حقوق المواطنة عبر القوميات لكل المواطنين والمواطنين غير القوميين المقيمين في بلادهم، أي الاعتراف بشكل من أشكال الانتماء بحكم مكان الإقامة.

وفي حين يمكن اعتبار المواطنة في أميركا الجنوبية حلاً دائماً بديلاً فهي أيضاَ حلاً مكملاً لاحتياجات الحماية الدولية للاجئين والحماية الوطنية للأشخاص النازحين داخلياً. كما عزز اتحاد دول أميركا الجنوبية (أوناسور) التعاون ما بين دول الجنوب وطور خطة إقليمية لمواجهة المشكلات المشتركة التي ازداد تخطيها للحدود الوطنية.

ومن المهم الانتباه إلى أن القرار رقم 14/2014 لمجلس المستشارين التابع لاتحاد دول أميركا الجنوبية (أوناسور) لعام 2014 وافق على التقرير المفهومي المتعلق بمفهوم مواطنة أمريكا الجنوبية. وبالمثل، واصلت الهيئات دون الإقليمية (مثل جماعة دول الأنديز والسوق المشتركة الجنوبية) بالإضافة إلى مؤتمر أمريكا الجنوبية المعني بالهجرة وفريق العمل المعني بمواطنة أمريكا الجنوبية العمل اعتماداً على مقاربة حيوية ومتكاملة وقائمة على الحقوق، وعُرِضَ التقدم الذي أُحرِزَ في هذه القضية في اجتماع اتحاد دول أميركا الجنوبية (أوناسور) في نوفمبر/تشرين الثاني عام 2015 في مونتيفيديو. ومنذ ذلك الوقت، يواصل فريق العمل المعني بمواطنة أمريكا الجنوبية عمله على هذه القضية. وبالنسبة للأمين العام لاتحاد دول أمريكا الجنوبية (أوناسور)، يُجسِّدُ الهدف الذي تسعى إليه مواطنة أمريكا الجنوبية طموحات المنظمة المؤسسية وعبر الإقليمية.

 

فاليريا يوماس llamasva@gmail.com

سكرتيرة تنفيذية، شبكة حقوق الإنسان في أمريكا اللاتينية متعددة التخصصات (REDLAIDH) www.redlaidh.org



[i] إعلان قرطاجنة بشأن اللاجئين وحماية الأشخاص الفَّارين من النِّزاع المسلَّح وغيره من أوضاع العنف في أمريكا اللاتينية www.refworld.org/docid/51c801934.html

[iv] يضم اتحاد دول أمريكا الجنوبية (أوناسور) اثني عشر بلداً من بلدان منطقة أمريكا الجنوبية وهي: الأرجنتين وكولومبيا والبرازيل وكولومبيا وتشيلي والإكوادور وغينيا وباراغواي وبيرو وسورينام وأورغواي وفنزويلا

 www.unasursg.org

 

FMR 56
October 2017

المحتويات

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

Could Latin American citizenship be a fourth durable solution?

Valeria Llamas

Proposals for a regional South American citizenship put forward by the Union of South American Nations (UNASUR) offer the possibility of alternative solutions for the protection of internally displaced persons and refugees in the region.

One of the goals of the Union of South American Nations (UNASUR), established in 2008, is to establish a single South American citizenship. This would be a huge and innovative step, reflecting the political will and spirit underlying a number of significant initiatives which have been introduced in the region over previous decades.

The Cartagena Declaration on Refugees, adopted in 1984, established the legal foundation for refugees in the region, based on a broader version of the 1951 Convention refugee definition, considering refugees to be “persons who have fled their country because their lives, security or freedom have been threatened by generalized violence, foreign aggression, internal conflicts, massive violation of human rights or other circumstances which have seriously disturbed public order.”[1]

In 2002 countries of the Common Market of the South – MERCOSUR – signed an agreement granting freedom of circulation and residence for all their citizens.[2] Then in 2012 the countries of the (by then enlarged) MERCOSUR bloc signed the MERCOSUR Declaration of Principles on the International Protection of Refugees, pledging to identify asylum needs in mixed migratory flows (with special attention paid to gender and age) and avoid non-refoulement.[3] The Declaration also sought to guarantee that refugees could exercise the same rights as other foreigners, promoted family reunification of refugees and established mechanisms for cooperation between the different countries’ asylum institutions. In addition, it created a regional resettlement programme to highlight the importance of harmonising national legislations and of working collectively to protect refugees arriving in the region.

In 2004, the 20 countries of the Latin American and Caribbean region and UNHCR, the UN Refugee Agency, developed the Mexico Plan of Action, reflecting concerns about the threat posed to the region’s stability by the Colombian conflict and the large number of refugees and internally displaced persons (IDPs). The Plan of Action emphasised the importance of cooperation, international solidarity and shared responsibility, aiming to strengthen the framework of international protection in order to achieve durable solutions for refugees in the region. The Plan considered that the quality of asylum was fundamental to finding durable solutions to refugee problems – that is, if protection is effective, a refugee will not need to go to a third country by means of secondary or irregular movements.

In 2014, international organisations and representatives of civil society organisations throughout the region adopted the Declaration and Plan of Action of Brazil. This regional tool to strengthen international protection in Latin America focuses on durable solutions and highlights good practices, promoting South-South cooperation and support from the international community for two specific ongoing displacement situations – growing numbers of refugees who have settled in the large urban centres of Latin America and the large number of vulnerable Colombian citizens in the country’s border areas with Ecuador, Panama and Venezuela.

Latin American political will

The establishment of the regional bodies and instruments outlined above exemplify the political will existing in the region and illustrate why the Latin American approach – avoiding restrictive policies, allowing the regularisation of migration, and implementing measures to identify those in need of international protection – has differed from much of what happens in other parts of the world.

UNASUR was established as a space of convergence with other initiatives but with the aim of going a step further: “to build a South American identity and citizenship.”[4] In this context, the South American citizenship that it proposes constitutes the most comprehensive, innovative and potentially durable solution to the humanitarian crisis in the region. It also represents a redefinition of the relationship between the South American countries, based on a common vision and a regional identity.

Concepts of citizenship

Among its specific objectives, UNASUR seeks to consolidate a South American identity through the progressive recognition of rights for nationals of a Member State residing in any of the other Member States, in order to allow South American citizenship and access to social security and health services throughout the region; through cooperation in the field of migration, it aims to promote region-wide recognition of human and labour rights in order to regularise and harmonise migration policies. The agreement on the exemption of visas and passports signed by the Foreign Ministers of the South American Community of Nations (predecessor to UNASUR) in November 2006 was the first step toward freedom of movement and contributed to laying the groundwork for a South American citizenship.

UNASUR was innovative in presenting the concept of citizenship based on the notion of the legal principle of jus domicile – right of residence. This comes from understanding citizenship as membership on different political levels, from local to regional. And it is at the intergovernmental regional level that UNASUR acknowledges the need to ‘transnationalise’ citizenship rights for all citizens and non-national citizens residing in their countries – that is, to recognise a form of belonging by virtue of the place of residence.

While South American citizenship could be considered as an alternative durable solution, it is also complementary to the needs of international protection for refugees and national protection for IDPs. UNASUR has strengthened South-South cooperation, developing a regional agenda in the face of shared problems which increasingly transcend national boundaries.

It is important to note that Resolution No 14/2014 of the Council of Chancellors  of UNASUR in 2014 approved the conceptual report on South American citizenship. Similarly, sub-regional bodies (CAN – Comunidad Andina/Andean Community – and MERCOSUR), the South American Conference on Migration and the Working Group on South American Citizenship (GTCS) continue to work on a rights-based, dynamic and integrated approach; progress made on this issue was presented at UNASUR’s meeting in November 2015 in Montevideo. Since that time, the GTCS has continued to work on the issue. For UNASUR’s Secretary General, the goal of a South American citizenship embodies the organisation’s institutional and integrationist aspirations.

 

Valeria Llamas llamasva@gmail.com
Executive Secretary, REDLAIDH (Red Latinoamericana e Interdisciplinaria de Derechos Humanos) www.redlaidh.org



[1] The Cartagena Declaration on Refugees and the Protection of People Fleeing Armed Conflict and Other Situations of Violence in Latin America www.refworld.org/docid/51c801934.html

[4] UNASUR comprises 12 countries of the South American region: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Chile, Ecuador, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay and Venezuela. www.unasursg.org

 

FMR 56
October 2017

Contents

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. All articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.