التَّهجير الفنزويلي: تَحدٍّ يواجه البرازيل

هيليسان ماهلكي وليليان ياماموتو

ينبغي للبرازيل تعزيز سبل استقبال الفارين من فنزويلا ودمجهم.

أثارت الأزمات السياسية والاجتماعية والاقتصادية بالإضافة إلى ارتفاع معدلات الجريمة في فنزويلا حركة واسعة النطاق من تنقلات مواطنيها إلى ولاية رورايما في شمال البرازيل وفي أماكن أخرى. وعلى الرغم من تمتع المواطنين الفنزويليين (بموجب قرار صدر مؤخراً عن أعضاء السوق المشتركة الجنوبية (ميركوسور) بحق الإقامة المؤقتة في البرازيل لمدة لا تزيد عن عامين، لا يعرف معظمهم شيئاً عن هذا الحق أو ربما أحجموا عن الاستفادة منه لارتباطه بتكلفة مالية. وكخيارٍ بديل لهذا الحق، يتقدم المواطنون الفنزويليون بطلب اللجوء، سواء أكانوا مؤهلين لذلك أم لا، إذ لا يُسمَحُ لهم بالوصول إلى الخدمات العامة والحصول على تصريح العمل بمجرد التقدم بطلب اللجوء.

واستقبلت ولاية رورايما، في الفترة ما بين يناير/كانون الثاني ويونيو/حزيران 2017، ما جملته 5787 طلباً للجوء (بما فيها طلبات الفنزويليين)، وهو ما يزيد بنسبة 3500 طلب عن عام 2016 بأكمله، وقدمت السلطات في ولاية رورايما تقريراً يفيد بعبور أكثر من 30 ألف شخص للحدود في الأشهر الثلاثة التالية. ومع ازدياد الأزمة عمقاً، لن يؤدي ذلك سوى إلى ازدياد عدد الأشخاص الفارين من فنزويلا.

ويتبع قانون الهجرة الجديد في البرازيل (قانون رقم 13445) لسنة 2017 مقاربة ترتكز إلى الحقوق، والأمل كبير على هذا القانون في توفير قنوات هجرة شرعية أفضل للأشخاص الذين ليس لهم الحق في التقدم بطلب اللجوء في البرازيل ما يخفف الضغط على نظام اللجوء في البرازيل. ومع ذلك، تعتزم البرازيل الاستجابة لموجات الهجرة بدلاً من استباقها ولكنَّها تفتقر إلى سياسة هجرة للاستجابة على نحو وافٍ للمهاجرين واللاجئين الذين وصلوا بالفعل. ومما يُؤخّذُ على الحكومة البرازيلية بطؤها في سن التشريعات والقرارات المعيارية اللازمة لتوفير تأشيرات الدخول الإنسانية للهاييتيين في أعقاب زلزال 2010 (القرار رقم 97 لسنة 2012)، وهي بطيئة أيضاً في توفير إقامة مؤقتة للفنزويليين (بموجب القرار رقم 126 لسنة 2017)، ولم يصدر القرار الأخير إلا بعد ضغطٍ من المجتمع المدني والهيئات العامة. ورغم ما قدمته الحكومة الفيدرالية من أموال لولايتي رورايما وأمازوناس من أجل توفير الدعم الاجتماعي والرعاية الصحية للفنزويليين، ما زالت هذه التدابير غير كافية بالمرة، وما زالت هناك أوجه قصور في هذين المجالين بشأن توفير الخدمات العامة في البرازيل إذ يعاني كلٌ من المهاجرين والمجتمعات المضيفة من قلة الدعم وعدم كفايته.

أما عن البرازيل، فبوصفها دولة طرف في اتفاقية اللاجئين لعام 1951 وبروتوكولها الصادر في 1967 نجدها مُطالبَةٌ بتوفير هيكل فعال لاستقبال اللاجئين ودمجهم ولكنَّ ذلك لم يتحقق بعد على أرض الواقع. ويعد عدم امتلاك البرازيل لسياسة هجرة وهيكل فعال خياراً سياسياً؛ إذ تختار الحكومة بدلاً من ذلك تطبيق الحلول المؤقتة على أساس كل حالة على حدة. وهذا ما يتناقض مع قانون اتفاقية 1951 وروحها، ولا مفر من تعزيز البرازيل لسبل استقبال اللاجئين والمهاجرين الفنزويليين ودمجهم على حدٍ سواء. وسيؤدي اتباع مقاربة استباقية وطويلة الأجل إلى توفير حماية أكثر سرعة وفعالية للمُهجَّرين قسراً، وتكتسي هذه المقاربة أهمية خاصة عندما لا يُبدي التَّهجير في فنزويلا أي مؤشر للتراجع.

 

هيليسان ماهلكي mahlke.helisane@gmail.com

باحثة مستقلة

ليليان ياماموتو  liukami2014@gmail.com

باحثة، شبكة أمريكا الجنوبية للمهاجرين البيئيين (RESAMA)

www.resama.net

FMR 56
October 2017

المحتويات

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

Venezuelan displacement: a challenge to Brazil

Helisane Mahlke and Lilian Yamamoto

Brazil must strengthen its reception and integration of fleeing Venezuelans

Venezuela’s political, social and economic crisis, accompanied by increasing crime rates, has triggered widespread movement of Venezuelans to the state of Roraima in northern Brazil and elsewhere. Despite Venezuelan citizens being entitled (under a recent Resolution made for associate MERCOSUR members) to temporary residence in Brazil of up to two years, most do not know about this possibility or have been deterred by the financial cost associated with it. They apply instead for asylum, whether they are eligible for it or not, since after making the application they are permitted to access public services and to receive a work permit.

Between January and June 2017, the state of Roraima received a total of 5,787 asylum claims (including Venezuelans), 3,500 more than it received in the whole of 2016, and Roraima authorities report more than 30,000 people crossed the border in the following three months. As the crisis deepens, the number of people fleeing Venezuela will only increase.

Brazil’s new Migration Law (Law No 13445) of 2017 takes a rights-based approach, and there is hope that it will provide better legal migration channels for those who do not have the grounds to seek asylum in Brazil, thus easing pressure on the country’s asylum system. However, the country tends to react to, rather than anticipate, waves of migration and lacks a migration policy to respond adequately to those migrants and refugees who have already arrived. The Brazilian government was slow to enact the normative resolutions that were needed to provide humanitarian visas to Haitians following the 2010 earthquake (Resolution No 97, 2012), and has been similarly slow in providing temporary residence for Venezuelans (under Resolution No 126, 2017), the latter resolution only being issued after pressure from civil society and public bodies. Although the federal government has provided funds to the states of Roraima and Amazonas to provide social support and health care to Venezuelans, these measures are far from sufficient and, as these areas were already suffering from shortcomings in Brazil’s provision of public services, both migrant and host populations are insufficiently supported.  

As a State Party to the 1951 Refugee Convention and its 1967 Protocol, Brazil is required to provide an effective structure for refugees’ reception and integration – but this is still absent. Brazil’s lack of an effective migration policy and structure is a political choice; the government opts instead to adopt provisory solutions on a case-by-case basis. This is contrary to the law and spirit of the 1951 Convention, and Brazil must strengthen reception and integration for both Venezuelan migrants and refugees. A more proactive long-term approach will enable faster and more effective protection of forced migrants, particularly important at a time when displacement from Venezuela shows no sign of abating.

 

Helisane Mahlke mahlke.helisane@gmail.com
Independent researcher

Lilian Yamamoto liukami2014@gmail.com
Researcher, South American Network for Environmental Migrations (RESAMA) www.resama.net

FMR 56
October 2017

Contents

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. All articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.