القضاء على ظاهرة انعدام الجنسية في الأمريكيتي

خوان إنياسو مونديلي

أحرزت منطقة أمريكا اللاتينية والبحر الكاريبي تقدماً كبيراً نحو القضاء على انعدام الجنسية منذ عام 2014، لكنَّ الطريق ما زال طويلاً أمامها إذا ما أُريدَ لها أن تصبح أول منطقة عالمية للقضاء على انعدام الجنسية.

باعتماد إعلان وخطة عمل البرازيل في عام 2014،[i] التزمت 28 بلداً وثلاثة أقاليم في منطقة أمريكا اللاتينية والبحر الكاريبي بالقضاء على حالات انعدام الجنسية في المنطقة وفقاً للمبادئ التوجيهية لخطة العمل العالمية التي وضعتها المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين لإنهاء ظاهرة انعدام الجنسية.[ii] لهذه الغاية، وافقت الدول على منع وقوع أي حالة جديدة من انعدام الجنسية في المنطقة وعلى وجوب حصول جميع الأشخاص عديمي الجنسية أو استعادتهم للجنسية. واتفقت أيضاً على ضرورة تمكين الأشخاص الواقعين تحت خطر انعدام الجنسية من تذليل العثرات والعوائق القانونية أو العملية ليثبتوا أنَّهم مواطنون في بلد معين. واتفقت تلك الدول أيضاً على وجوب حماية الأشخاص عديمي الجنسية إلى أن يتمكنوا من الحصول على جنسية. ومن هنا، تدرك خطة عمل البرازيل بأن النهج الأساسي لإنهاء انعدام الجنسية هو أحد الحلول، إلا أنها تقترح أن تعتمد الدول تدابير في المجالات الثلاثة التالية: الوقاية والحماية وحل المشكلة إذا وقعت.

التقدم المُحرَز في المنطقة منذ عام 2014

الوقاية: فيما يتعلق بمنع انعدام الجنسية، تقترح خطة عمل البرازيل انضمام الدول إلى اتفاقية عام 1961 بشأن خفض حالات انعدام الجنسية،[iii] ومواءمة قوانينها الوطنية المتعلقة بالجنسية مع المعايير الدولية، وتيسير تسجيل المواليد.
وفي الوقت الحاضر، لا يوجد سوى 16 دولة من الدول الأطراف في اتفاقية عام 1961 من بين الدول الأعضاء في منظمة الدول الأمريكية البالغ عددها 35 دولة، وأصبحت ثلاثة من هذه البلدان وهي الأرجنتين وبليز وبيرو أطرافاً في الاتفاقية منذ عام 2014، في حين قررت هايتي مؤخراً الانضمام إلى الاتفاقية (وستصبح الدولة العضو السابعة عشر). وفي الوقت نفسه، أدخلت كولومبيا وتشيلي إصلاحات للحد من نطاق الاستثناءات الدستورية للمبدأ القانوني جوس سوليس (حق الأرض)،[iv] ما يحد من إمكانية حدوث حالات انعدام الجنسية على أراضيها، وغيرت بنما سياستها المتعلقة بالتسجيل لتسهيل تسجيل ولادة الأطفال المولودين في كوستاريكا للوالدين البنميين.

الحماية: من أجل حماية الأشخاص عديمي الجنسية، تطلب خطة عمل البرازيل من الدول الانضمام إلى اتفاقية عام 1954، المتعلقة بوضع الأشخاص عديمي الجنسية، واعتماد أطر الحماية المحلية، ووضع إجراءات لتحديد حالات انعدام الجنسية. وحتى الآن، 19 دولة من بين 35 دولة عضو في منظمة الدول الأمريكية هي دول أطراف في اتفاقية عام 1954. ومن بين هؤلاء، انضمت السلفادور إلى الاتفاقية بعد عام 2014، وألغت المكسيك تحفظها على المادة 31 المتعلقة بطرد الأشخاص عديمي الجنسية. كما وافق البرلمان في هاييتي على الانضمام للاتفاقية، ووعد الرئيس باشليت في تشيلي بالتحرك نحو الانضمام إلى كلا اتفاقيتي انعدام الجنسية. وفيما يتعلق بإجراءات تحديد حالات انعدام الجنسية، أصدرت محكمة البلدان الأمريكية فتوى تشير إلى أنه يتعين على الدول، في سياق الهجرة، أن تحدد وضع الجنسية أو انعدام الجنسية لأي طفل على أراضيها؛ وتحقيقاً لهذه الغاية، ينبغي لها أن تضع أو تعزز الإجراءات المناسبة، مع التسليم بالاحتياجات المتباينة للأطفال والمراهقين.

وفي عام 2016، اعتمدت كوستاريكا لوائح تسمح بالحماية الشاملة للأشخاص عديمي الجنسية. وفي مكان آخر، ينظم قانون إكوادور الأساسي للحراك البشري وقانون الهجرة في البرازيل اللذين اعتُمِدَا في عام 2017 حقوق الأشخاص عديمي الجنسية، ويتطلبان وضع إجراءات لتحديد حالات انعدام الجنسية. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، تعمل الأرجنتين وأوروغواي وباراغواي وبنما والسلفادور حالياً على وضع لوائح لمعالجة هذه المسألة، في حين أعربت كل من كولومبيا وغواتيمالا وبيرو عن اهتمامها بذلك.

حل المشكلة عند حدوثها: فيما يتعلق بتأكيد الجنسية، نفذت تشيلي (من خلال مشروعها تشيلي تُقرُّ‘[v]) وكوستاريكا وبنما (من خلال مشروع شيريتيكوس[vi]) مشاريع للتحقق من تسجيل المواليد أو مراجعته، وضمان التسجيل المناسب، والحصول على الوثائق التي تثبت الجنسية، وعلاوة على ذلك، وضعت بوليفيا والبرازيل والإكوادور لوائح لتسهيل تجنس الأشخاص عديمي الجنسية، في حين تنظم الأرجنتين والسلفادور وباراغواي قوانين مماثلة.

الدروس المستفادة

أتاحت عملية قرطاجنة +30 التي أدت إلى إعلان البرازيل وخطة عملها للدول الاعتراف بأن انعدام الجنسية مسألة من مسائل حقوق الإنسان لا في العالم بأسره فحسب، بل أيضاً في الأمريكيتين، وأن استئصاله يتطلب عموماً استثمار عدد قليل من الموارد. وتحبذ هذه العملية تولي الدول المُلكِيَّة نحو هدف إنهاء حالات انعدام الجنسية، وتشجيع تحديد الإجراءات المناسبة لتحقيق هذا الهدف.

ويمكن للأشخاص عديمي الجنسية أن يكون لهم دور رئيسي في توعية المسؤولين الحكوميين وزيادة الوعي بالمشكلة داخل المجتمع ككل. فعقب اعتماد خطة عمل البرازيل، كان للدورات التدريبية والاجتماعات الإقليمية التي نظمتها المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين أثر أكبر عندما شملت أشخاصاً عديمي الجنسية مثل مها مامو، وهي لاجئة عديمة الجنسية في البرازيل[vii]، التي يمكن أن تفسر الأثر الإنساني لانعدام الجنسية، ومسوغات الحاجة إلى حلول للمشكلة كالتجنس. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، وبالنظر إلى أن انعدام الجنسية مسألة جديدة نسبياً بالنسبة للعديد من المسؤولين الذين كانوا يركزون تقليدياً على قضايا اللجوء وحماية اللاجئين، أثبتت ’الطريقة الإبداعية‘ في التصدي لانعدام الجنسية أنها نقطة دخول مفيدة للتحدث عن الموضوع وزيادة الوعي.

ولا تؤدي المشاريع الثنائية القومية إلى الحد من انعدام الجنسية فحسب، بل أيضاً إلى تعزيز التعاون بين البلدان. وفضلت العلاقات الودية التقليدية بين كوستاريكا وبنما تنفيذ مشروع شيريتيكوس المشترك الذي يسعى إلى تحديد جنسية المهاجرين المقيمين مؤقتاً في المناطق الحدودية، وأي من أبنائهم مولودين في كوستاريكا.  وفي تنفيذ المشروع، ارتفع مستوى التعاون بين الدولتين من خلال تبادل المعلومات والعمل الميداني والتعاون الثنائي.

وساهم تحسين إمكانية وصول الأشخاص عديمي الجنسية إلى التجنس في تحقيق تحسن مماثل في الوصول إلى هذا الحل للاجئين غير عديمي الجنسية. وتنص المادة 32 من اتفاقية عام 1954 والمادة 34 من اتفاقية عام 1951 على معاملة عديمي الجنسية من غير اللاجئين وكذلك اللاجئين من غير عديمي الجنسية على قدم المساواة من ناحية التجنيس. وينبغي للدول أن تسعى إلى تيسير التجنس في الحالتين. وبالرغم من أنه كان من الأسهل على الدول أن تفهم وتعزز فكرة تيسير التجنيس للأشخاص عديمي الجنسية، تعمل بلدان مثل الأرجنتين وباراغواي على وضع أطر حماية مخصصة للأشخاص عديمي الجنسية، تشمل أيضاً تسهيلات تجنيس اللاجئين من غير عديمي الجنسية. وسبقتها في ذلك بوليفيا التي وضعت بالفعل لوائح تنظيمية لتلك الظاهرة. ومن هنا، كان للهدف المنشود في حل ظاهرة انعدام الجنسية أثر غير مباشر يمكن أن يفيد اللاجئين.

التحديات المتبقية

بعد مرور ثلاث سنوات على اعتماد خطة عمل البرازيل، أُحرِزَ تقدم كبير تجاه القضاء على ظاهرة انعدام الجنسية. وبالمثل، ظهرت دروس مهمة ستكون مفيدة في مواصلة تنفيذ خطة عمل البرازيل على الصعيد الوطني.

لكن من حيث التحديات، تجدر الإشارة إلى أنه بالرغم من انضمام بليز إلى اتفاقية عام 1961 والموافقة الأخيرة على انضمام هاييتي إلى كلتا الاتفاقيتين بشأن انعدام الجنسية، فعدد بلدان منطقة البحر الكاريبي التي هي أطراف في الاتفاقيات لا يزال منخفضاً. وبالمثل، ففي الأمريكيتين، لا يزال هناك قوانين للجنسية التي تميز على أساس الجندر في منطقة البحر الكاريبي، حيث يتعرض أكبر عدد من الناس لخطر انعدام الجنسية، ويوجد آلاف الأشخاص الذين حُرِموا تعسفاً من حقهم في الجنسية. وفي عام 2020، ستجري المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين تقييماً آخر لتنفيذ خطة عمل البرازيل. وإذا أُريد للأمريكيتين أن تصبح أول منطقة عالمية رئيسية للقضاء على ظاهرة انعدام الجنسية، كما تأمل المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين[viii]، سيكون من الضروري مضاعفة الجهود في هذه البلدان الكاريبية على مدى السنوات الثلاث المقبلة.

 

خوان إنياسو مونديلي mondelli@unhcr.org

مسؤول أول في الحماية الإقليمية (انعدام الجنسية)، مكتب المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين للأمريكيتين، الوحدة القانونية الإقليمية، كوستاريكا.www.acnur.org/costa-rica



[ii] UNHCR (2014) Global Action Plan to End Statelessness 2014-2024

(المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين (2014) خطة العمل العالمية للقضاء على ظاهرة انعدام الجنسية 2014-2024)

www.unhcr.org/statelesscampaign2014/Global-Action-Plan-eng.pdf

[iv] ’حق الأرض‘ مبدأ قانوني يمنح الشخص حق الجنسية لبلد ما إذا وُلِدَ على أراضيها.

[v]Chile recognises’

http://chilereconoce.cl

[viii] 'Out of the Shadows: Ending Statelessness in the Americas’, November 2014

(أنطونيو غوتيرس، المفوض السامي للاجئين (سابقاً) يتحدث في منتدى ’الخروج من الظلال: إنهاء ظاهرة انعدام الجنسية في الأمريكيتين‘)

www.youtube.com/watch?v=VAf3MV8Hxf8

 

 

FMR 56
October 2017

المحتويات

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

Eradicating statelessness in the Americas

Juan Ignacio Mondelli

Considerable progress has been made towards eradicating statelessness in Latin America and the Caribbean since 2014 but there is still work to be done if it is to become the first world region to eradicate statelessness.

With the adoption of the Brazil Declaration and Plan of Action in 2014,[1] 28 countries and three Latin American and Caribbean territories committed themselves to eradicate statelessness in the region following the guidelines of the UN Refugee Agency (UNHCR) Global Action Plan to End Statelessness.[2] To this end, countries agreed that no new cases of statelessness must originate in the region, all stateless persons must acquire or regain their nationality, and people at risk of statelessness need to be enabled to surmount any legal or practical barriers to prove that they are nationals of a specific country. They also agreed that until stateless persons are able to obtain a nationality, they must be protected. Hence, while the Brazil Plan of Action recognises that the primary approach to ending statelessness is one of solutions, it proposes that States adopt measures in all three areas: prevention, protection and resolution.

Progress in the region since 2014

Prevention: With regard to preventing statelessness, the Brazil Plan of Action proposes that States accede to the 1961 Convention on the Reduction of Statelessness,[3] harmonise their domestic nationality regulations with international standards, and facilitate birth registration.
At present, out of the 35 Member States of the Organization of American States, only 16 are States Parties to the 1961 Convention. Three of these – Argentina, Belize and Peru – have become parties to the Convention since 2014, while Haiti has recently decided to accede to the Convention (and will become the 17th Member State). Meanwhile, Colombia and Chile have introduced reforms to limit the scope of constitutional exceptions to the principle of jus solis,[4] thus reducing the possibility of cases of statelessness occurring on their territories, and Panama has changed its registration policy to facilitate registration of births of children born in Costa Rica to Panamanian parents.

Protection: To protect stateless persons, the Brazil Plan of Action asks States to accede to the 1954 Convention relating to the Status of Stateless Persons, adopt domestic protection frameworks, and establish procedures for determining statelessness. To date, 19 of the 35 member countries of the OAS are States Parties to the 1954 Convention. Of these, after 2014, El Salvador acceded to the Convention, and Mexico removed its reservation to Article 31 on the expulsion of stateless persons. Also, the parliament in Haiti approved accession, and President Bachelet in Chile promised to move towards accession to both statelessness conventions. Regarding the procedures for determining statelessness, the Inter-American Court issued an advisory opinion stating that, in a migration context, States must determine the nationality status or statelessness of any child on their territory; to this end, they should establish or strengthen appropriate procedures, recognising the varying needs of children and adolescents.

In 2016, Costa Rica adopted regulations that allow for the comprehensive protection of stateless persons. Elsewhere, Ecuador’s Organic Law of Human Mobility and Brazil’s migration law – both adopted in 2017 – regulate the rights of stateless persons and require statelessness determination procedures to be established. In addition, Argentina, El Salvador, Panama, Paraguay and Uruguay are currently drawing up regulations to address the issue, while Colombia, Guatemala and Peru have all expressed interest in doing so.

Resolution: In relation to confirmation of nationality, Chile (through its ‘Chile reconoce’ project[5]), Costa Rica and Panama (through the Chiriticos project[6]) have implemented projects to verify or review people’s birth registration and ensure appropriate registration and access to documentation proving nationality. Moreover, Bolivia, Brazil and Ecuador have introduced regulations to facilitate the naturalisation of stateless persons, while Argentina, El Salvador and Paraguay are drafting similar laws.

Lessons learned

The Cartagena +30 process – that led to the Brazil Declaration and Plan of Action – allowed States to recognise that statelessness is a human rights issue not just in the world at large but also in the Americas, and that its eradication generally requires the investment of few resources. Cartagena+30 favoured States’ assumption of ownership towards the goal of ending statelessness and promoted the identification of appropriate actions to achieve this goal.

Stateless persons can play a key role in sensitising state officials and raising awareness of the problem within society at large. Following the adoption of the Brazil Plan of Action, training courses and regional meetings organised by UNHCR had a greater impact when they included stateless persons – such as Maha Mamo, a stateless refugee in Brazil[7] – who could explain the humanitarian impact of statelessness and why solutions such as naturalisation are needed. In addition, given that statelessness is a relatively new issue for many officials who had traditionally focused only on asylum and refugee protection issues, the ‘novelty’ of statelessness proved to be a useful point of entry for talking about the subject and raising awareness.

Bi-national projects can bring about not only a reduction in statelessness but also a strengthening of cooperation between countries. The traditionally cordial relations between Costa Rica and Panama favoured the implementation of the joint Chiriticos project which sought to determine the nationality of migrants temporarily residing in border areas and of any of their descendants born in Costa Rica. In implementing the project, cooperation between the two States increased, through exchange of information, fieldwork and bilateral cooperation.

Improving access for stateless persons to naturalisation contributed to a similar improvement in access to this solution for non-stateless refugees. Article 32 of the 1954 Convention and Article 34 of the 1951 Convention establish the same standard of treatment for non-refugee stateless persons as for non-stateless refugees as regards naturalisation. States should endeavour to facilitate naturalisation in both cases. Although it has been easier for States to understand and empathise with the idea of ​​facilitating naturalisation for stateless persons, countries such as Argentina and Paraguay are developing dedicated protection frameworks for stateless persons that also include facilities for naturalisation of non-stateless refugees, while Bolivia has already passed a regulation to that end. In this sense, the goal of solving statelessness has had a spillover effect that may benefit refugees.

Remaining challenges

Three years after the adoption of the Brazil Plan of Action, significant progress has been made towards the eradication of statelessness. Likewise, important lessons have emerged that will be useful in the continuing implementation of the Brazil Plan of Action at the national level.

In terms of challenges, however, it should be noted that, despite Belize’s accession to the 1961 Convention and the recent approval of accession to both statelessness conventions by Haiti, the number of Caribbean countries that are States Parties to the conventions remains low. Similarly, in the Americas, it is in the Caribbean that there are still nationality laws that discriminate on the basis of gender, where the largest number of people are at risk of statelessness, and where there are thousands of people who have been arbitrarily deprived of their nationality. In 2020 UNHCR will undertake another evaluation of the implementation of the Brazil Plan of Action. If the Americas is to become the first world region to eradicate statelessness – as UNHCR hopes[8] – it will be necessary to redouble efforts in these Caribbean countries over the next three years.

 

Juan Ignacio Mondelli mondelli@unhcr.org
Senior Regional Protection Officer (Statelessness), UNHCR Americas Bureau, Regional Legal Unit, Costa Rica www.acnur.org/costa-rica


[2] UNHCR (2014) Global Action Plan to End Statelessness: 2014-2024 www.unhcr.org/statelesscampaign2014/Global-Action-Plan-eng.pdf

[4] ‘Right of the soil’, commonly referred to as birthright citizenship, meaning the right of anyone born in the territory of a state to nationality or citizenship of that state.

[5] ‘Chile recognises’ http://chilereconoce.cl

[8] António Guterres, former High Commissioner for Refugees, speaking at ‘Out of the Shadows: Ending Statelessness in the Americas’, November 2014 www.youtube.com/watch?v=VAf3MV8Hxf8

 

FMR 56
October 2017

Contents

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. All articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.