الحماية في غياب التشريع في ترينيداد وتوباغو

روشيل ناكيد وأندرو فلش

تكابد الكثير من الدول الجزرية الصغيرة في منطقة البحر الكاريبي مشقة التصدي لتدفقات الهجرة المختلطة التي يزداد تعقيدها يوماً بعد يوم، بيد أنَّ فئة قليلة من هذه الدويلات أدخلت تشريعات تتعلق باللاجئين. ترينيداد وتوباغو على رأس الدول التي فعلت ذلك.

شهدت الدولة الجزرية ترينيداد وتوباغو تزايداً في أعداد المهاجرين في العقد الماضي وتعد كلاهما نقطة عبور ووجهة نهائية. واتفاقاً مع الاتجاهات الكاريبية، تزداد أعداد اللاجئين من مختلف الجنسيات نحو شواطئ ترينيداد وتوباغو. ففي عام 2014، تسجَّل نحو 184 شخصاً كطالبي لجوء في ترينيداد وتوباغو في حين ارتفعت النسبة لتصل إلى 209 في عام 2015، و314 في عام 2016.[1]ووفقاً للمفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين، شهدت الأشهر الأولى من عام 2017 زيادة تصل إلى ضعفي أرقام 2016 من طالبي اللجوء المسجلين واللاجئين وغيرهم من الفئات المعنية إذ وصل عددهم إلى 640 شخصاً. ومن المتوقع أن تستمر هذه الزيادة السريعة نظراً لتزايد أعداد الأشخاص المفترض تسجيلهم ومن المتوقع أيضاً أن يصل إجمالي العدد عام 2017 إلى 1800.

ويأتي طالبو اللجوء واللاجئون في ترينيداد وتوباغو من ستة بلدان رئيسية هي كوبا، وفنزويلا، وسوريا، وبنغلاديش، وجمايكا، وكولومبيا، ونيجيريا وتمثل هذه البلدان خليطاً من اللاجئين من داخل الإقليم ومن خارجه. في السابق، كانت أغلبية طالبي اللجوء واللاجئين يأتون من كوبا ومن سوريا ولكنَّ فنزويلا في 2017 أصبحت ثاني أكبر بلد في تصدير طالبي اللجوء. ومع ذلك، يمثل اللاجئون وطالبو اللجوء كثيراً من بلدان المنشأ الأخرى مثل باكستان والكونغو ومالي والسودان وأوغندا. وعلى نطاق أوسع، ووفقاً لإحصاءات المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين في مارس/آذار 2017، ارتفعت أعداد اللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء في منطقة البحر الكاريبي[2] إلى 50% في الفترة ما بين عامي 2015 و2016. وها هو ترتيب دول المنشأ العشر ترتيباً تنازلياً: السلفادور، هايتي، هندوراس، غواتيمالا، كوبا، فنزويلا، كولومبيا، سوريا، جمايكا، بنغلاديش.

تحديات الحماية وأوجه قصورها

ومن دول الكومنولث المستقلة في منطقة البحر الكاريبي،[3] وحدها بيليز تملك تشريعات تخص اللاجئين في حين أنَّ جمايكا وترينيداد وتوباغو لديهما سياسة خاصة باللاجئين وليس تشريعاً. وانضمت ترينيداد وتوباغو في نوفمبر/تشرين الثاني عام 2000 إلى اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة الخاصة بوضع اللاجئين لعام 1951 وبروتوكولها الصادر في عام 1967. وحتى الآن، لم تُدخَل أحكام الاتفاقية ضمن التشريعات الوطنية لكنِّ عملية الصياغة اللازمة لذلك على قدمٍ وساق الآن. وتُنفَّذ هذه العملية الآن بطريقة تشاركية يُثنَى عليها بإشراك أصحاب العلاقة المعنيين الرئيسيين بما فيهم وحدة الشؤون الدولية، وشعبة الهجرة بوزارة الأمن الوطني، والمفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين، ومنظمة غير حكومية اسمها مجتمع الماء للحياة.[4]

وكان من ثمار العلاقات الطيبة بين جميع أصحاب المصلحة المعنيين حماية مئات اللاجئين خلال العقود الثلاثة الماضية. وقد رسمت سياسة اللاجئين التي أُقرَّت في يونيو/حزيران 2014[5] الحقوق التي يحق للاجئين الحصول عليها وهي إذن بالإقامة في البلد، وحق العمل، والحصول على بطاقة الهُويَّة الشخصية وأوراق السفر، والحصول على المساعدات العامة (في حالة عدم القدرة على العمل وفي حالة الحاجة)، والرعاية الطبية، وحرية التنقل، ولم شمل الأسرة، وفرص التعليم والأنشطة الترفيهية، والحصول على الاستشارات الخاصة بالصدمات أو أي مشكلات نفسية أخرى تعرضوا لها، والحق في ألا يُطرَدوا من البلد (إلا إذا كان اللاجئ يمثل تهديداً للأمن الوطني أو النظام العام). وتنتهج هذه السياسة مقاربة من ثلاث مراحل لتمكين الحكومة من تولي مسؤولية حماية اللاجئين والاضطلاع بمهمة تحديد صفة اللاجئ. ورغم وضع إطار زمني محدد مفرط الطموح، مكَّنت هذه السياسة الجهات الفاعلة الحكومية من بناء قدراتها لتتمكن من تولي هذه المسؤولية والاضطلاع بها.

ومع ذلك، لم يحصل اللاجئون على جميع الحقوق المدرجة في السياسة. فبخلاف حرية التنقل، والرعاية الطبية، وعدم الطرد من البلاد، لم يحصل اللاجئون في الواقع العملي على حقوقٍ غيرها. فلم يحصلوا على حق العمل، ولم تصدر وثائق هوياتهم عند تسليم جوازات السفر حتى يتمكنوا من الحصول على أمر للإشراف، ولا المساعدات العامة ولا العلاج النفسي الملائم للحساسية الثقافية بالإضافة إلى محدودية فرص التعليم المتاحة للأطفال ولا سبل ميسرة أمامهم للم شمل أسرهم.

كما يلتزم جميع اللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء ممن يرغبون في طلب الحماية في ترينيداد وتوباغو بقانون الهجرة ولوائحه التنظيمية، وهذا ما يجعل تنفيذ ضمانات فعالة للحماية أمراً صعباً. ويُعامَلُ الأشخاص الذين يدخلون ترينيداد وتوباغو ويقيمون فيهما دون وثائق رسمية صحيحة على أنَّهم مجرمون (يُسجَنون و/أو يُغَرَّمون) ومن المحتمل احتجازهم في مركز الاعتقال الإداري ريثما يُرَحَّلون إلى بلدانهم الأصلية. وتنطبق أحكام القانون على طالبي اللجوء واللاجئين على حدٍ سواء خاصة إذا كان في حوزتهم وثائق مزورة أو غير مصطحبين لوثائق رسمية.

وعندما يسجل طالبو اللجوء لدى المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين من خلال منظمة مجتمع الماء للحياة وتمشياً مع الإجراءات المتفق عليها في عام 2014، يُحالُون بعد ذلك إلى إدارة الهجرة التي تمنحهم أمر الإشراف. ويفرض ذلك شرطاً من شروط الإبلاغ ويحمي طالبي اللجوء من الإعادة القسرية أو الاحتجاز ما داموا ملتزمين بقوانين البلد. أما بديل الاحتجاز فكانت هناك مفاوضات حوله قبل سنين مع شعبة الهجرة وكذلك حول الشرط الاعتيادي الذي يطلب إلى طالب اللجوء أن يقدم كفالة. ومع ذلك، أثارت دعوى من المحكمة العليا في ترينيداد وتوباغو مؤخراً شكوكاً شرعية الاستخدام الحالي لأوامر الإشراف على طالبي اللجوء واللاجئين. ومن المقرر أن يجتمع أصحاب المصلحة المعنيون لمناقشة الآثار المترتبة على هذا القرار وللبحث عن حلول بديلة.

وتقر السياسة الخاصة باللاجئين بالحلول المستدامة الثلاثة التي وضعتها المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين لمساعدة اللاجئين لإعادة بناء حياتهم في كرامة وسلام. ومع ذلك، لا يستطيع اللاجئون في ترينيداد وتوباغو الاندماج في البلد أو العمل فيه، لذلك تلجأ المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين إلى إعادة التوطين بل تعتمد عليه اعتماداً كبيراً كحلٍ رئيسي ممكن لجميع اللاجئين (عادةً في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية). وربما يطول هذا الأمر وفي الوقت نفسه ليس ثمة أي ضمانات باحتمالية قبول اللاجئين في بلدٍ آخر. ومع انخفاض فضاء إعادة توطين اللاجئين على مستوى العالم، يظل الدمج المحلي الحل الأمثل.

يضاف إلى ذلك مشكلات الحماية الخاصة بـ (إل جي بي تي آي)[6] وكذلك ما يتعلق بحماية الأطفال والنِّساء على وجه الخصوص. فكثيرٌ من (إل بي جي تي آي) يلوذون بالفرار من منازلهم لطلب اللجوء في ترينيداد وتوباغو. ومع ذلك، وبسبب طبيعة المعايير الثقافية للبلد وقانون الجرائم الجنسية لسنة 1986، يواجه أفراد هذه الفئة في ترينيداد وتوباغو كثيراً من شواغل الحماية نفسها التي كانوا يواجهونها في بلدهم الأصلي. وبسبب القيود التي فرضتها شعبة الهجرة وقلة عدم الأماكن المتاحة في المدارس وتفضيل تسجيل اللاجئين على طالبي اللجوء، ما زالت أعدادٌ متزايدة من الأطفال لا يجدون لأنفسهم مكاناً في المدرسة. وتقصر القدرات على استضافة الأطفال غير المصحوبين ببالغين أو الذين انفصلوا عن ذويهم ويرجع ذلك لعدة أسباب منها عدم وجود موظفين يتحدثون لغتين وقلة عدد الأماكن التي يمكن إيواء هؤلاء الأطفال فيها. وفي أثناء ذلك، ومع التمييز القائم منذ أمدٍ بعيد إزاء النِّساء اللاتينيات في مجتمع ترينيداد وتوباغو وكراهية النِّساء المترسخة، تتعرض كثيرٌ من النِّساء اللاجئات إلى المضايقات اليومية ويظللن معرضات للاستغلال والإساءة. ويزداد هذا الاستضعاف يوماً بعد يوم في المكان الذي تعمل فيه النِّساء اللاجئات (وكذلك الأمر بالنسبة لجميع اللاجئين لهذا الأمر على وجه الخصوص) وهو الاضطرار إلى العمل في الاقتصاد غير الرسمي.

خيارات في مواجهة محدودية الموارد والقدرات

منظمة مجتمع الماء للعيش هي المنظمة المدنية الوحيدة في الجزيرة المخصصة للاجئين. لكنَّ ثمة شراكة أُبرِمَت مؤخراً مع جامعة جزر الإنديز أعطت بصيص أمل لتوسيع نطاق الخدمات من خلال توفير دروس في اللغة الإنجليزية (وربما يتطور الأمر مستقبلاً وتقدم دروات تدريبية حول دراسات اللاجئين). وثمة شراكة أخرى يُتوَقَّعُ منها تقديم المساعدة القانونية بالتعاون مع كلية القانون المحلية.

وما يمكن قوله إنَّ ترينيداد وتوباغو مثلهما مثل أي دولة أخرى، ينبغي لهما أن تكفلان الوفاء بالالتزامات وتسهيل الحصول على اللجوء ما دامت لا تملك حتى الآن أي تشريعات وطنية بخصوص هذا الأمر. وينبغي لهما تقديم المساعدة الإنسانية لمن يحتاجون إليها بطريقة تكفل الكرامة والأمن لجميع الأشخاص. ورغم أنَّ ترينيداد وتوباغو يجندان جميع مواردهما وقدراتهما لضمان فعالية حماية اللاجئين وجميع الأشخاص على أراضيها، ينبغي الاعتراف بمحدوديتها كدولة جزرية نامية صغيرة بالإضافة إلى ما تعانيه من ركود مستمر. ونظراً لأنَّ ترينيداد وتوباغو تقصر بهما جهودهما عن توفير الحماية للأعداد المتزايدة من طالبي اللجوء، ينبغي للمجتمع الدولي أن ينظر في كيفية توفير دعمٍ كافٍ لضمان توفير حاجات الحماية لمن هم بحاجة إليها. ومن المؤكد أنَّ منطقة البحر الكاريبي بأكملها ستستفيد من هذا الدعم الدولي الإضافي.

 

روشيل ناكيد lwcunhcr@gmail.com

منسقة إقليمية

 

أندرو فلش andrew.welch@live.com

مسؤول قانوني (سابقاً)

منظمة مجتمع الماء للحياة www.lwctt.org



[1] لا يتضمن ذلك الأشخاص الذين يغادرون من تلقاء أنفسهم أو اللاجئين المعاد توطينهم في دول ثالثة.

[2]بما فيها بيليز

[3] يُقصَد بها الإشارة إلى الدول التي تتحدث اللغة الإنجليزية في منطقة البحر الكاريبي والتي حصلت على استقلالها من المملكة المتحدة

[4] تشارك منظمة مجتمع الماء للحياة العمل مع المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين منذ عام 1989، وكانت المفوضية قد أرست دعائم حضورها في الجزيرة في يناير/كانون الثاني 2016.

[5] السياسة الوطنية للتصدي للشؤون الخاصة باللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء في جمهورية ترينيداد وتوباغو، أقرَّها مجلس الوزراء في يونيو/حزيران 2014www.refworld.org/docid/571109654.html

[6] المثليات والمثليون ومزدوجو الميل الجنسي ومغيرو الجندر وثنائيو الجنس.

 

FMR 56
October 2017

المحتويات

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

Protection in the absence of legislation in Trinidad and Tobago

Rochelle Nakhid and Andrew Welch

The Caribbean’s many small island States are grappling with increasingly complex mixed migration flows, yet few have introduced refugee legislation. Trinidad and Tobago is in the process of doing so.

The island state of Trinidad and Tobago has seen increasing numbers of migrants in the past decade and is both a transit and destination point. Consistent with Caribbean trends, refugees of various nationalities are increasingly making it to Trinidad and Tobago’s shores. 184 persons were registered as asylum seekers in Trinidad and Tobago in 2014, 209 in 2015 and 314 in 2016.[1] According to UNHCR, the UN Refugee Agency, the first few months of 2017 showed a doubling of 2016’s figures, with 640 registered asylum seekers, refugees and other persons of concern as of May 2017. This rapid increase is expected to continue as there r​emains a backlog of p​ersons to b​e r​egist​er​ed; the total for 2017 is projected to be about 1,800.

Asylum seekers and refugees in Trinidad and Tobago come from six main countries – Cuba, Venezuela, Syria, Bangladesh, Jamaica, Colombia and Nigeria – representing a mix of both regional and extra-regional refugees. Previously, the majority hailed from Cuba and Syria but as of 2017 Venezuelans became the second largest group of asylum seekers. However, refugees and asylum seekers also represent many other countries of origin such as Pakistan, Congo, Mali, Sudan and Uganda. More wid​ely, according to UNHCR statistics dated March 2017, the number of refugees and asylum seekers in the Caribbean region[2] rose by 50% between 2015 and 2016. The top ten countries of origin in descending order are El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Guatemala, Cuba, Venezuela, Colombia, Syria, Jamaica and Bangladesh.

Protection challenges and shortcomings

In the Independent Commonwealth Caribbean,[3] only Belize has legislation for refugees, while Jamaica and Trinidad and Tobago have a refugee policy but no legislation. Trinidad and Tobago acceded to the 1951 Convention Relating to the Status of Refugees and its 1967 Protocol in November 2000. To date, these have not been incorporated into domestic legislation but the drafting process to do so is now underway. This process is being undertaken in a commendably participatory way with the main stakeholders including the International Affairs Unit and the Immigration Division of the Ministry of National Security, UNHCR and the NGO Living Water Community (LWC).[4]

The good relationship among stakeholders has resulted in the protection of hundreds of refugees over the past three decades. A refugee policy, approved in June 2014,[5] outlines rights that refugees are entitled to: a permit authorising their stay in the country, the right to work, identity papers, travel documents, public assistance (if unable to work and in need), medical care, freedom of movement, family reunification, educational opportunities and recreational activities, counselling for trauma or other psychological issues, and the right not to be expelled from the country (unless the refugee poses a threat to national security or to public order). It envisages a three-phased approach to enabling the government to assume responsibility for refugee protection and take over refugee status determination. Despite an overly ambitious timeline, capacity building of government actors has been taking place to enable them to assume this responsibility.

However, not all of the rights listed in the policy are actually accorded to the refugees. Other than freedom of movement, medical care and the right not to be expelled, in practice there is no right to work, no issuance of identity documents on handing over of passports to receive an order of supervision, no public assistance nor access to culturally sensitive psychological treatment, limited access to education for children, and no easy route to family reunification.

Any refugee or asylum seeker who wishes to claim protection in Trinidad and Tobago is bound by the Immigration Act and its regulations, and this makes it difficult to implement effective protection safeguards. Persons who enter or remain in Trinidad and Tobago without correct documentation may be treated as criminals (imprisoned and/or fined) and are likely to be detained in an administrative detention centre pending deportation to their countries of origin. The Act’s rulings apply to asylum seekers and refugees as well, especially if they are in possession of false documents or are undocumented.

When asylum seekers register with UNHCR through LWC, and in line with procedures agreed in 2014, they are referred to the Immigration Division which grants them an order of supervision. This imposes a reporting requirement and protects the asylum seeker from refoulement or detention so long as they comply with the laws of the country. This alternative to detention was negotiated years ago with the Immigration Division along with the removal of the usual requirement of paying a bond. However, a recent case from the High Court of Trinidad and Tobago has indirectly called into question the legality of the current use of orders of supervision for asylum seekers and refugees. The stakeholders are due to meet to discuss the implications of this decision and to look at alternative solutions.

The refugee policy also recognises the three durable solutions promoted by UNHCR to help refugees rebuild their lives in dignity and peace. In Trinidad and Tobago, however, as refugees cannot legally integrate into the country or work, UNHCR depends heavily on resettlement as the main possible solution for most refugees (traditionally in the United States). This can be lengthy and there is no guarantee that the refugees will be accepted by another country. With declining numbers of available r​esettlement spaces worldwide, local integration remains the de facto solution.

Additional protection concerns relate to LGBTI[6] persons, children and women, in particular. Many LGBTI persons flee their home countries seeking refuge in Trinidad and Tobago. However, due to the country’s cultural norms and Sexual Offences Act of 1986, they face many of the same protection concerns in Trinidad and Tobago that they had in their country of origin. Due to restrictions imposed by the Immigration Division, concerns over a lack of school places and a preference for enrolling refugees over asylum seekers, growing numbers of children remain out of school. There is little capacity for accommodating unaccompanied or separated children; this is due in part to a lack of bilingual personnel and in part to a shortage of spaces in children’s homes. Meanwhile, with longstanding discrimination towards Latina women in Trinbagonian society, and entrenched misogyny, many refugee women face harassment daily and remain particularly vulnerable to exploitation and abuse. This vulnerability is exacerbated in the workplace where refugee women (and all refugees, for that matter) are forced to work in the informal economy.

Options in the face of limited resources and capacity 

LWC is the only civil society organisation on the island that is dedicated to refugees. A recent partnership with the University of the West Indies, however, offers some hope for expansion of services through the provision of English language classes (and in the future perhaps offer courses on refugee studies). Another partnership envisions the provision of legal aid in collaboration with the local law school.

Arguably, like any other State, Trinidad and Tobago should ensure that basic legal obligations are met and access to asylum facilitated, despite not yet having domestic legislation in place. It should provide humanitarian assistance to those in need in a way that respects the dignity and security of all persons. While putting its existing capacities and resources to use to effectively and efficiently guarantee the protection of refugees and all persons on its territory, its own limitations as a Small Island Developing State should be acknowledged, including its ongoing recession. Where Trinidad and Tobago falls short of being able to provide protection for the growing number of asylum seekers, the international community should consider how to provide appropriate, adequate support to ensure that those protection needs are met. The entire Caribbean could certainly benefit from additional international support.

 

Rochelle Nakhid lwcunhcr@gmail.com
Regional Coordinator

Andrew Welch andrew.welch@live.com
Former Legal Officer

Living Water Community www.lwctt.org



[1] This does not include persons who spontaneously depart or refugees who are resettled to third countries.

[2] This includes Belize.

[3] This refers to English-speaking countries in the Caribbean which gained full independence from the United Kingdom.

[4] LWC has partnered with UNHCR since 1989; UNHCR established a presence on the island in January 2016.

[5] National Policy to Address Refugee and Asylum Matters in the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago, adopted by Cabinet in June 2014 www.refworld.org/docid/571109654.html

[6] Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Intersex

 

FMR 56
October 2017

Contents

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. All articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.