قصور الحماية: خطة الهجرة البيروفية الجديدة للفنزويليين

نيكولاوس بارينت

صحيحٌ أنّ ما استحدثتهُ البيرو بمنحها تصريحات للعمل والدراسة للفنزويليين الفارّين من العنف المشتعل في بلادهم أمرٌ مُحَبّذ ومُسْتَحسَن، ولكن ذلك لا يمنعنا من التذكير بأن الحماية التي تقدّمها تلك التصريحات محدودة ومؤقتة.

لم تدفع أعمال القمع والنهب والعنف المدني التي شهدتها فنزويلا مواطنيها إلا لمزيدٍ من القلق والخوف، لتتفاقم الأمور وتتجه نحو الأسوأ بتآكل الاستقرار الاجتماعي السياسي والنقص الحاد في قطاعَي الغداء والدواء وشلل التضخم المالي والانخفاض الكبير في قيمة العملة الفنزويليّة. ومع كل يومٍ يمر، تزداد الأوضاع تدهوراً وفساداً لِيُصبِح شَمل الفنزويليين وقابلية ضمّهم للتعريف الدولي لصفة لاجئ أمراً مسوغاً له.

فبالإضافة إلى اتفاقية اللاجئين عام 1951 وبروتوكولها عام 1967 اللذين وقّعت عليهما الغالبية العظمى من بلدان أميركا اللاتينية، أظهرت القارة جهوداً تعاونية لتعزيز أطُر العمل الإقليمية بين بلدانها من أجل المُهَجّرين قسرياً، إذ يُعَدُّ إعلان قرطاجنة لعام 1984 وإعلان سان خوسيه لعام 1994 وإعلان المكسيك لعام 2004 وإعلان البرازيل لعام 2014 بمنزلة شواهد تثبت التزام تلك الدول بحماية أولئك الذين لديهم خوف مسوغ له من الاضطهاد. غير إنّ استجابة الدول لأولئك الفارّين من فنزويلا تثبت أنّه ما زال هنالك الكثير للقيام به لا سيما فيما يتعلق بتنفيذ صكوك تلك الاتفاقيات. فمثلاً، بلغ مجموع طلبات اللجوء التي قيّمتها وزارة العدل البرازيلية 89 طلباً من أصل 4,670 طلب لجوء من فنزويلا في الفترة الممتدة بين عامَي 2012 و2016.[1]أمّا الذين يريدون الفرار إلى كولومبيا فيواجهون تحدياتٍ مختلفة كتسَبُب إغلاق الحدود المنتظم والعنف الناشب في المنطقة الشرقية بإعاقة الفنزويليين من تقديم طلبات اللجوء.

خيارات الحماية

من بين كل بلدان أميركا اللاتينية التي تستضيف الفنزويليين الفارّين من بلادهم، تستحق البيرو التقدير والاعتراف وذلك لنظام التصريحات المؤقتة الجديد الذي يوفر إقامة مؤقتة للعمل والدراسة. فنظام التصريحات المؤقّتة يوفر للمواطنين الفنزويليين حصراً [2] تصريحات للعمل والدراسة لمدة عام واحد مع إمكانية التجديد. وقد أشاد المجتمع الدولي بهذا النظام الجديد بما فيها لجنة الدول الأميركية لحقوق الإنسان التي عّدت النظام: "مثالاً يبين لدول المنطقة كيفية حماية المهاجرين الذين يعانون من أوضاع صعبة عن طريق ضبط الهجرة وتقنينها."[3]ووفقاً لمدير الهجرة إدواردو سيفيلا ايشفاريا، بلغ عدد الفنزويليين الذين قُبِلَت طلباتهم لنظام التصريحات المؤقتة ما يزيد عن عشرة آلاف فنزويلي في أواخر يوليو/ تموز 2017.[4]

ومع ذلك، يبدو أنّ مسئولي الهجرة يروّجون لنظام التصريحات المؤقتة بدلاً من توفير المعلومات الكافية عن مسارات حماية أخرى أكثر ديمومة وأوسع نطاقاً. فقد مرّ صاحب الأعمال الفنزويلي السابق خوسيه بحالة كهذه. ففي أثناء مروره بمراقبة الحدود في المطار في ليما أبلغ خوسيه ضابط الهجرة عن رغبته في تقديم طلب لجوء ولكنه قال: "أخبروني أنني مؤهل لنظام التصريحات المؤقتة فقط." ومع الأخذ بعين الاعتبار أن البيرو تمتلك قانوناً وطنياً للجوء يعود تاريخه لعام 2003،[5] فإنّه لأمر مفاجئ أن مكتب الهجرة في ليما امتنع عن توفير المعلومات الكافية المتعلقة بإجراءات تقديم طلب اللجوء.

تشير الشهادات التي أدلى بها المتقدمون والمنتفعون في عاصمة البيرو ليما أنّ خوسيه ليس الشخص الوحيد الذي تعرّض للتضليل فيما يتعلق بحقه في تقديم طلب اللجوء. فعندما قدّمت ماريا طلباً لنظام التصريحات المؤقتة لاحظت أنّ النظام لا يقدم بصريح العبارة أي ضمان على إمكانية الوصول إلى بعض الحقوق التي عادة ما تُمْنَح للاجئين. "هربت من منطقة يعصف بها العنف الشديد في فنزويلا وكُنْتُ على علم بالتعريف الواسع لصفة اللاجئ المذكور في إعلان قرطاجنة، وظننت أنني ربما أكون مؤهلة للحصول على صفة لاجئ استناداً إليه" ووضّحَت ماريا مضيفة لما سبق أنها لا تريد بالضرورة أن تحصل رسمياً على صفة لاجئ ولكن ما يهمها هو الحصول على ضمان قانوني يُمَكِّنُها وأطفالها من الوصول إلى المرافق الصحية والمساعدات الأساسية.  غير إنّها اضطرت، شأنها في ذلك شأن خوسيه، أن ترضخ للواقع وتقبل بما يقدمه نظام التصريحات المؤقتة من امتيازات محدودة خصوصاً بعدما فشل كل ما فعلته من زيارات لمكتب الهجرة ومكالمات هاتفية مع موظفي المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين الذين لم يدركوا التداخل بين نظام التصريحات وقانون البيرو الوطني للجوء.

تنفيذ لا يرقى للمعايير الدولية

من المعروف أنّ أميركا اللاتينية طوّرت بعضاً من أكثر آليات الحماية ابتكاراً للاجئين. وجاء إعلان قرطاجنة لعام 1984 في الصدارة، مُمَهّداً السبيل لكثيرٍ من الحوارات الإقليمية التي تركز على الحماية الدولية. بَيد أنه من المهم أيضاً الاعتراف بأنّ هذه الإعلانات وخطط الأعمال والتوصيات والاستنتاجات غير ملزمة إلى حد كبير، وأنّه في أميركا اللاتينية "معظم هيئات تحديد وضع اللاجئين تعاني من ضعف في التدريب والكفاءة والاستقلال والخبرة اللازمة لتكون موجودة في أجزاء أخرى من العالم." [6]وعلاوة على ذلك، منذ نهاية التسعينيات وضعت حكومات أمريكا اللاتينية تشريعات لجوء على المستوى الدولي ولكن هذه الصكوك تميل لأن تكون "متأخّرة عن المعايير الدولية من ناحية مدّة الحماية ونطاقها [و] تفتقر لبعض حقوق اللاجئين المهمة كالحق في الوصول العادل والفعّال إلى إجراءات تحديد وضع اللاجئين." [7]

كما أنّ البيرو ليست مستثناة من هذه الحقائق، ورغم أنّ نظام التصريحات المؤقتة الذي توفّره يمنح الكثير من الفنزويليين السلامة، ثمّة حاجة مُلحّة لخوض النقاشات حول ما إذ كانت البيرو تفي بالتزاماتها أم لا تجاه الفنزويليين الذين ينبغي البَت في قضاياهم من خلال عمليات ملائمة لتحديد أوضاع اللاجئين.  ولو وضعنا في الاعتبار أنّ إعلان قرطاجنة لعام 1984 يوسّع تعريف صفة اللجوء لتضُم الهاربين من بلدانهم بسبب "اللاجئين الذين فروا من بلادهم بسبب تعرض حياتهم أو سلامتهم أو حريتهم للتهديد بسبب العنف المعمم أو العدوان الأجنبي أو النِّزاعات الداخلية أو الانتهاكات الجسيمة لحقوق الإنسان أو أي ظروف أخرى تحدث اضطرابًا في النظام العام"،[8] سيكون من حق الفارين من فنزويلا أن يكونوا مؤهلين لتقديم طلبات الحماية الدولية خصوصاً مع وجود أدلة وفيرة على النِّزاعات التي تشهدها تلك المنطقة. وتتحمل البيرو المسؤولية رسمياً لتسهيل عملية تقديم طلب الحماية خصوصاً بعدما دمجت التعريف المُوَسّع لصفة اللجوء في تشريعاتها الوطنية. لكنَّ الواقع العملي يشير إلى قدرة نظام التصريحات المؤقتة على تمكين البيرو من إبطال تلك المسؤولية والتحايل عليها لا سيما وأنّ المهاجرين الفنزويليين عادة ما يُقَيّمون شكلاً لِيُترَكوا جاهلين بأنظمة الحماية الأخرى المتاحة بموجب القانون البيروفي.

وبينما يُثنى على جهود البيرو في استضافة الفنزويليين، من المهم توضيح أنّ نظام التصريحات المؤقتة لا يُعَدّ أداة حماية تضمن توسيع نطاق الحقوق. فعلى الورق، لا يعدو هذا النظام أن يكون تصريح إقامة يسمح للفنزويليين بالعمل والدراسة لمدة عام واحد، ورغم أن هذه الامتيازات قد تكون مناسبة لبعض المتقدمين فهي غير ملائمة للذين هربوا من بلادهم للحفاظ على حياتهم وسلامتهم وحريتهم من التهديد. ومن هذا المنطلق، ينبغي أن لا يُنظَر لنظام التصريحات المؤقتة في البيرو كمعيار جديد لحماية الفارّين من الأزمات والنِّزاعات والعنف داخل أميركا اللاتينية لما لذلك من خطر في ترويج الخطاب والممارسات على أساس الكرم وحسن النية بدلاً من أن تكون قائمة على أساس الحقوق.

 

نيكولاوس بارينت nik.parent@gmail.com

باحث في مرصد حقوق الإنسان والمُهجَّرين قسراً في تركيا https://ohrfmt.org يعمل حالياً في تدريس الجغرافيا في ليما، البيرو.



[1] Human Rights Watch (2017) ‘Venezuela: Humanitarian crisis spilling into Brazil’

منظمة مراقبة حقوق الإنسان (هيومان رايتس ووتش) (2017) ’فنزويلا: الأزمة الإنسانية وآثارها على البرازيل‘)

www.hrw.org/news/2017/04/18/venezuela-humanitarian-crisis-spilling-brazil

[2] Decreto Supremo Nº 002-2017-IN

(المرسوم الأعلى رقم 002-2017-IN)

www.refworld.org/docid/58da500c4.html

[4] Gobierno evalúa ampliar plazo para entrega de PTP a venezolanos’, El Comercio, 25th July 2017

(الحكومة تدرس تجديد أمد تصريح الإقامة للفنزويليين، التجارة)

http://elcomercio.pe/lima/sucesos/gobierno-evalua-ampliar-plazo-entrega-ptp-venezolanos-noticia-445099

[5] Ley del Refugiado Nº 27891

(قانون اللاجئين رقم 27891)

www.migraciones.gob.pe/documentos/normalegal_8.pdf

[6] Fischel De Andrade J (2014) ‘Forced migration in South America’ in Fiddian-Qasmiyeh E, Loescher G, Long K and Sigona N (Eds) The Oxford Handbook of Refugee & Forced Migration Studies, Oxford University Press, pp651-663

(فيشيل دي أندرادي ج (2014) ’الهجرة القسرية في أمريكا الجنوبية‘ في فيديان-قاسمية إي ولوشر ج ولونغ ك وسيونا ن (محررون) دليل أكسفورد لدراسات اللاجئين والهجرة القسرية)

[7] Gottwald M (2003) ‘Protecting Colombian refugees in the Andean region: the fight against invisibility’ UNHCR Working Paper No 81

(غوتوالد م (2003) ’حماية اللاجئين الكولومبيين في منطقة الأنديز: صراع لمقاومة إخفاء الظهور‘)

 www.unhcr.org/3e71f2014.pdf

 

FMR 56
October 2017

المحتويات

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

Falling short of protection: Peru’s new migration scheme for Venezuelans

Nicolas Parent

Peru’s introduction of a new work and study permit for Venezuelans fleeing violence in their country is to be applauded – but it provides only a limited, temporary form of protection.

State repression, looting and civil violence have left Venezuelans in a state of uneasiness and fear, with the erosion of the country’s socio-political stability further exacerbated by shortages of food and medicine, crippling inflation and a dramatic devaluation of the Venezuelan currency. With each passing day, as the situation deteriorates, the applicability to Venezuelans of the international definition of refugee becomes increasingly justifiable.

In addition to both the 1951 Refugee Convention and its 1967 Protocol, to which the vast majority of Latin American countries are signatories, the continent has demonstrated a coordinated effort to strengthen its regional framework for the forcibly displaced. The Cartagena Declaration in 1984, the 1994 San José Declaration, the 2004 Mexico Declaration and the 2014 Brazil Declaration all serve as testaments to a commitment to protecting those with well-founded fear of persecution. The response to those fleeing Venezuela, however, exemplifies how much there remains to achieve, particularly in terms of the implementation of these instruments. For instance, despite receiving 4,670 requests for asylum from Venezuelans between 2012 and 2016, Brazil’s Ministry of Justice has only assessed a total of 89 applications.[1] For those wanting to flee to Colombia, a different challenge arises, where regular border closures and violence in its eastern region have impeded Venezuelans from seeking asylum.

Protection options

Of all Latin American countries hosting Venezuelans, Peru merits recognition for its new temporary work/study permit scheme. The Permiso Temporal de Permanencia (PTP)[2] is a work and study permit provided exclusively to Venezuelan citizens for a period of one year, with the possibility of renewal. The new programme has been praised by the international community, including by the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights which has called it “an example for the region of how States can protect migrants who are in a vulnerable situation by regularizing migration.”[3] According to Eduardo Sevilla Echevarría, Superintendent of Migration, over 10,000 Venezuelans have been approved for the PTP as of late July 2017.[4]

However, it appears that migration officials may be promoting the PTP in place of providing information about other more durable and wider-ranging protection pathways. This was the case for José, a former business owner in Venezuela. When passing through border control at the airport in Lima, José notified the migration officer that he wished to apply for asylum but “they said I was only eligible for the PTP.” Considering that Peru has national asylum legislation dating back to 2003,[5] it is surprising that Lima’s migration office failed to provide adequate information about asylum procedures.

Testimonials from applicants and beneficiaries around Lima suggest that José is not the only Venezuelan being misinformed on their right to seek asylum. When María applied for the PTP, she noticed that it did not explicitly guarantee access to certain rights that would normally be accorded to refugees. “I fled from an area with heavy violence in Venezuela and I was aware that, with the expanded refugee definition found in the Cartagena Declaration, I would probably be eligible for refugee status,” María explained, adding that she did not necessarily want to receive formal refugee status but rather wanted to have a legal guarantee that she and her children would have access to health facilities and basic assistance. However, after multiple visits to the migration office and numerous telephone conversations with UNHCR staff members (who were unclear about the overlap between the PTP and Peru’s asylum legislation), she – like José – had to accept the PTP as her only option.

Implementation falling behind international standards

Latin America is widely recognised for having developed some of the most innovative protection mechanisms for forced migrants. At the forefront has been the 1984 Cartagena Declaration, setting the stage for a multitude of regional dialogues focused on international protection. However, it is also critical to acknowledge that these declarations, plans of action, recommendations and conclusions are largely non-binding, and that in Latin America “most of the existing refugee status determination bodies still lack the training, efficiency, independence, and expertise that are to be found in other parts of the world.”[6] Furthermore, since the end of the 1990s Latin American governments have devised asylum legislation at the national level but these instruments tend to “fall short of international standards in terms of duration and scope of protection [and] lack important refugee rights such as the right to access fair and efficient refugee status determination procedures.”[7]

Peru is not exempt from these realities and although the PTP has allowed many Venezuelans to gain safety, there needs to be a debate about whether or not it is meeting its responsibilities towards those Venezuelans whose cases should rather be decided through a proper refugee status determination process. Considering that the 1984 Cartagena Declaration expands the definition of what constitutes a refugee, extending this status to those fleeing their country due to “generalized violence, foreign aggression, internal conflicts, massive violation of human rights or other circumstances which have seriously disturbed public order”,[8] the abundant evidence on Venezuela’s conflict shows that those fleeing have a legitimate claim to apply for international protection. Having incorporated the expanded refugee definition within its national legislation, Peru has a formal responsibility towards facilitating this process. In practice, the PTP can contribute to Peru potentially circumventing this responsibility as Venezuelan migrants are likely to be assessed on a prima facie basis, leaving them misinformed about other protection schemes available under Peruvian law.

While Peru receives praise for hosting Venezuelans, it must be understood that the PTP is not a protection instrument guaranteeing a breadth of rights. On paper, it is simply a residence permit allowing Venezuelans to work and study for a period of one year and, although this may be suitable for some applicants, it is not appropriate for those who have fled their country because their lives, safety and freedom are threatened. Peru’s PTP should therefore not be viewed as the new standard for protecting those fleeing crisis, conflict and violence within Latin America as this would risk propagating a discourse and practice based on generosity and goodwill rather than one based on rights.

 

Nicolas Parent nik.parent@gmail.com
Researcher, Observatory for Human Rights and Forced Migrants in Turkey https://ohrfmt.org;  currently teaching Geography in Lima, Peru



[1] Human Rights Watch (2017) ‘Venezuela: Humanitarian crisis spilling into Brazil’ www.hrw.org/news/2017/04/18/venezuela-humanitarian-crisis-spilling-brazil

[2] Decreto Supremo Nº 002-2017-IN www.refworld.org/docid/58da500c4.html

[4] ‘Gobierno evalúa ampliar plazo para entrega de PTP a venezolanos’, El Comercio, 25th July 2017 http://elcomercio.pe/lima/sucesos/gobierno-evalua-ampliar-plazo-entrega-ptp-venezolanos-noticia-445099

[6] Fischel De Andrade J (2014) ‘Forced migration in South America’ in Fiddian-Qasmiyeh E, Loescher G, Long K and Sigona N (Eds) The Oxford Handbook of Refugee & Forced Migration Studies, Oxford University Press, pp651-663

[7] Gottwald M (2003) ‘Protecting Colombian refugees in the Andean region: the fight against invisibility’ UNHCR Working Paper No 81 www.unhcr.org/3e71f2014.pdf

 

FMR 56
October 2017

Contents

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. All articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.