اللاجئون السوريون في الأوروغواي: موضوع غير مريح

راكويل رودريغوز كاميجو

بعد عام واحد فقط من وضع خطة إعادة التوطين للاجئين السوريين في أوروغواي أعربت العائلات السوريّة المُعاد توطينها عن رغبتها ابالمغادرة لأنَّ الآمال التي كانت مُتوقَعةً من الخطة لم تتحقق.

منذ بداية الحرب السورية كانت الأوروغواي أول دولة في أميركا اللاتينية تعمل على إعادة توطين اللاجئين السوريين القادمين من لبنان، بيدَ أنّ ما صُمِّمَ للتعبير عن بادرة للتضامن من دولة متعاطفة ورائدة في عام 2014 أصبح قضية مربكة وغير مريحة للحكومة الحالية والمؤسسات المعنية.

فقد استحدثت الأوروغواي في عام 2006 قانون اللاجئين ثم انضمت عام 2007 إلى برنامج التضامن الإقليمي لإعادة التوطين في ضوء ما يزيد عن 400 لاجئ وطالب لجوء ممّن استضافتهم بلدان في كل من أميركا اللاتينية وإفريقيا وآسيا وأوروبا. وفي عام 2014، أبلغت حكومة الأوروغواي المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين أنّها على استعداد لاستضافة ما يصل إلى 120 لاجئاً سوريّاً من لبنان استجابةً لأزمة اللاجئين السورية. وكانت مدة البرنامج الذي عُرِفَ باسم برنامج إعادة توطين اللاجئين السوريين سنتين ابتداءً من عام 2014 وانتهاءً بعام 2016 بموزانة قُدِّرَت بنحو 2.5 مليون دولار أمريكي تقريباً. ولقي الاختيار الأولي دعماً من المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين بعدما أعربت حكومة الأوروغواي عن تفضيلها للعائلات ذات الطابع الريفي شريطة وجود شخص بالغ واحد على الأقل من القادرين على العمل في كل عائلة وعلى أن لا تقل نسبة القاصرين عن 60% في كل عائلة. واختيرَت خمس عائلات بعدما قابلهم وفد الأوروغواي في بيروت وبلغ مجموع أفراد تلك العائلات 42 فرداً 33 منهم من فئة القاصرين.

وعلى الرغم من أنّها ليست المرّة الأولى التي توفر بها الأوروغواي برامج إعادة توطين اللاجئين، كانت المرة الأولى التي تتعامل بها مع مجموعة كبيرة كهذه ذات خصائص مختلفةً جداً عمّا يمتلكه اللاجئون في منطقة أميركا اللاتينية. وبسبب ذلك، كان من المهم جداً إبلاغ العائلات قبل اختيارهم عن الواقع الاقتصادي الاجتماعي للبلاد والجوانب الرئيسية كالنظام التعليمي الإلزامي العلماني. وتعاون قسم الأنثروبولوجيا الاجتماعية التابع لجامعة الجمهورية مع برنامج إعادة توطين اللاجئين السوريين في تحضير المواد الإعلامية وتوفير الدعم اللازم في عملية الاختيار كما تعاون مع مدرسي اللغة العربية في توفير تدريب لغوي للمشاركين في تنفيذ برنامج إعادة التوطين.

وتلقّى اللاجئون السوريون منذ وصولهم إلى الأوروغواي في أكتوبر/تشرين الأول عام 2014 خدمات عدّة كالسكن وخدمات الترجمة التحريرية وإمكانية الاستفادة من خدمات النظام الصحي بالإضافة إلى إدماج اللاجئين في النظام التعليمي (بدعم من المترجمين) وتوفير التدريب على الوظائف وتعريفهم بثقافة الأوروغواي وعاداتها. ولمدّة عامَين من البرنامج، خُصِصَ لكل عائلة منزل ودخل شهري يتفاوت اعتماداً على عدد الأطفال في العائلة. كما وفّرت الحكومة وثائق الهوية والسفر وفقاً لاتفاقية اللاجئين لعام 1951. وحصل اللاجئون السوريون الذين أُعيدَ توطينهم في الأوروغواي على إقامة دائمة وحماية قانونية ومادية كما تمتعوا بنفس الحقوق المدنية والاقتصادية والاجتماعية والثقافية التي يمتلكها جميع مواطني الأوروغواي.

التوقعات الخائبة

بحلول سبتمبر/أيلول عام 2015 بدأت الأسر الخمس المُعاد توطينها تشكو من الصعوبات التي تواجهها في العثور على العمل وانعدام الأمن (التعرض لسرقة الشوارع) وارتفاع تكاليف المعيشة في البلد والمشاكل الاقتصادية (رغم ما يوفره البرنامج من إعانات نقدية). فنظموا احتجاجاتٍ عامة قائلين إنّهم لن يتخلوا عن الاحتجاج حتى تلبّي الحكومة كافة مطالبهم.

"مصيرنا الموت سواء هنا أم في سوريا. إذ نموت هنا بسبب الفقر وفي سوريا نموت بسبب الحرب"[1]

وقال ممثل برنامج إعادة توطين اللاجئين السوريين خافيير ميراندا: " نؤمن أنّ خطة إعادة التوطين هذه سَتُمَكّنُ اللاجئين من أن يعيشوا حياة كريمة. إذ إنّ الدولة تدعمهم لمدة سنتين ولكنها لا تستطيع أن تفعل أكثر من ذلك. فالأوروغواي بلدٌ مكلف. هذه الحقيقة. كما أن عروض العمل التي يتلقّاها اللاجئون هي نفسها المتوفّرة لمعظم مواطني الأوروغواي."

وتعكس الشهادات التي أدلت بها العائلات الخمس المعاد توطينها حالة القلق واليأس التي يعيشها اللاجئون: "نهرب من الموت والحرب ثم يواجهنا الفقر." وأشارت الشكاوى الأخرى إلى "الخداع" من جانب سلطات الأوروغواي فيما يتعلق بالمعلومات التي قُدِّمَت لهم في لبنان. "وعدونا بحياة سهلة ولكن كل شيء هنا مُكْلِف.. إنّ حياة الفقر أسوأ من حياة الحرب." ويرى اللاجئون أن الطريقة الوحيدة للخروج من هذا المأزق تكمن بالعودة إلى لبنان أو "أي بلد آخر في أوروبا" حيث يعتبرون أنهم سيحظون بحياة أفضل. وحاولت إحدى العائلات السفر إلى أوروبا ولكنها احتُجِزَت في المطار في تركيا ثم رُحِّلَت إلى الأوروغواي.

وحتى مع مراعاة صعوبات الاندماج في بلد جديد ومختلف تماماً وبلغة وثقافة مختلفة فعادة ما يُنظَرُ إلى التكيّف على أنه مسألة وقت لا أكثر إذ إنَّ اللاجئين السوريين قَدِموا من بلد تعاني من الحرب وبالتالي فإنّ الصعوبات التي قد يواجهونها في البلد المضيف قد تكون ضئيلة كما قيل إذا ما وُضِعَت في سياق القدرة على العيش بسلام. ولكن ما المعنى الحقيقي للسلام؟ وهل من الممكن الحصول على السلام في بيئة لا يمكن للفرد فيها أن يجني من المال ما يكفي ليعيش حياة كريمة؟

"يعد ما هو موجود في الأوروغواي سلاماً. والسلام هو ما يبحث عنه الجميع ولكن إن كان هنالك سلام لكنك لا تملك ما تعيش به فإنّ ذلك ليس سلاماً. ... ليس ثمّة طمأنينة. أنتَ تفكر دائماً، دائماً تفكر بالمستقبل، وهذا صعب جداً، وأصعب من الحرب نفسها." (ابراهيم الشبلي، لاجئ سوري أُعيدَ توطينه في الأوروغواي)

معظم العائلات كانت تعيش في ظروف مختلفة تماماً قبل الحرب في سوريا. إذ كانت لديهم أعمالهم الخاصة وكانوا يحصلون على دخل كافٍ إلى جانب انخفاض تكلفة المعيشة في بلد كان من الممكن فيها أن يعيل دخل شخص واحد عائلة كبيرة بأكملها. أما الواقع في الأوروغواي فمختلف تماماً إذ إنّ تكلفة العيش فيها مرتفعة فضلاً عن انخفاض معدلات الأجور وصعوبات العثور على العمل، كما أنّ الأسباب التي قدّمها اللاجئون لتبرير رغبتهم بالرحيل يعاني منها السكان المحليين أنفسهم يومياً مما يدفعهم إلى الاتفاق مع مطالب اللاجئين والاستياء منها في الوقت نفسه. وفي بيان لها شدّدت الحكومة على : "سواء عليكم أوافقتم على خطة إعادة التوطين أم لم توافقوا، تبقى معاناة العائلات مشروعة ولا ينبغي لهذا الوضع أن يعزز التمييز [..]"

كيف يُقاس نجاح البرنامج أو فشله؟

كان من المخطط أن يُنفَّذَ برنامج إعادة توطين اللاجئين السوريين على مرحلتين: خمس عائلات في المرحلة الأولى، ثم سبع عائلات أخرى في المرحلة الثانية ولكن المرحلة الثانية لم تُنَفَذ، إذ أشارت المصادر الحكومية إلى الصعوبات التي واجهت اللاجئين في التكيّف والعثور على العمل وتحقيق الاكتفاء الاقتصادي الذاتي، كما ذكرت الصعوبات التي واجهت البرنامج في إدارة هذا المشروع الرائد وإلى ضرورة تقييم نتائج البرنامج قبل الإقدام على إعادة توطين المزيد من العائلات.

وأوضح الرئيس السابق خوسيه موخيكا الذي أيّد علناً برنامج إعادة توطين اللاجئين السوريين الفوائد التي كانت ستحصل عليها البلاد من خلال استقبال الأسر الريفية والكثير من الأطفال (لما لذلك من دور في حل مشاكل شيخوخة السكان ونقص العمالة الريفية). وقال "طلبت منهم إحضار الأسر الريفية فأحضروا لي لاجئين من الطبقة الوسطى ومرتاحين نسبياً" ويعكس كلامه ذاك استياء الحكومة من اختيار العائلات والاستعجال السياسي الذي يتحكم باختيار ذوي الخصائص الديموغرافية المعينة.[2]

ويشير هيرام رويز إلى أن ’النجاح أو ’الفشل‘ في برامج إعادة التوطين يجب النظر إليها من عدة جوانب، خاصة من جانب ما يمكن للبلد المضيف أن يقدمه ومن يقع عليه عبء التنفيذ ومن يستفيد من هذه البرامج ومن يتلقى الخدمة النهائية.[3]وقد تأسس البرنامج الأوروغوي بنية دعم المتأثرين بالأزمة الإنسانية السورية، وحتى مع رغبة بعض العائلات بمغادرة الأوروغواي، لا ينبغي الحكم على البرنامج بالفشل لأنَّه قدَّم تعليماً مجانياً ودعماً لا يستهان به بقصد دمج العائلات اللاجئة. لكنَّ فرص العمل ومحدودية الموارد الاقتصادية المتاحة للاجئين السوريين تعكس بعض مواطن الضعف في برنامج التضامن الإقليمي لإعادة التوطين وينبغي دراستها جيداً قبل المضي قدماً في برامج إعادة التوطين المستقبلية.

 

راكويل رودريغوز كاميجو miraro8@hotmail.com

صحفي https://largocaminoaeuropa.blogspot.com.es



[1] اقتباسات شخصية مأخوذة من مصدرها في El Observador ( المراقب) www.elobservador.com.uy والكون (El Universo ) www.eluniverso.com

[2] El Observador TV (2015) ‘Los sirios que se quieren ir y el Uruguay imperfect’

(تلفزيون المراقب (2015) ’السوريون الذين يرغبون بالذهاب وأوروغواي غير المثالية‘)

www.elobservadortv.uy/video/5536343-los-sirios-que-se-quieren-ir-y-el-uruguay-imperfecto

[3] Hiram Ruiz (2015) Evaluación de Programas de Reasentamiento en Argentina, Brasil, Chile, Paraguay y Uruguay, UNHCR

(هيرام رويز (2015) تقييم برامج إعادة التوطين في الأرجنتين والبرازيل وتشيلي والباراغواي والأوروغواي)

 www.acnur.org/t3/fileadmin/Documentos/BDL/2016/10252.pdf

 

FMR 56
October 2017

المحتويات

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

Syrian refugees in Uruguay: an uncomfortable topic

Raquel Rodríguez Camejo

Only a year after Uruguay’s resettlement plan for Syrian refugees was established, the resettled families said they wanted to leave. Expectations have not been met.

Uruguay was the first Latin American country since the start of the Syrian war to resettle Syrian refugees from Lebanon. However, what was designed in 2014 as a gesture of solidarity by a sympathetic, pioneering country has become an uncomfortable issue for the current government and the institutions that were involved.

In 2006, Uruguay established a Refugees Act and in 2007 joined the regional Solidarity Resettlement Programme (PRS), in light of the more than 400 refugees and asylum seekers it was then hosting from different countries in Latin America, Africa, Asia and Europe. In 2014 the government told UNHCR, the UN Refugee Agency, that it would be willing to resettle up to 120 Syrian refugees from Lebanon in response to the Syrian refugee crisis. The duration of the programme – known as the Syrian Refugee Resettlement Programme (Programa de Reasentamiento de Personas Sirias Refugiadas, PRPSR) – was set at two years (2014-16), with a budget of about US$2.5 million. The pre-selection of refugee families on Lebanese territory was supported by UNHCR, following the Uruguayan government’s stated preference for families with a rural profile, with at least one adult in each family able to work and with at least 60% of each family to be minors. After being interviewed by a Uruguayan delegation in Beirut, five families were selected, with a total of 42 members, of whom 33 were minors.

Although it is not the first time Uruguay has offered refugee resettlement, it was the first time with such a large group and with characteristics so different from the refugees of the Latin American region. Because of this, it was considered particularly important to inform the families – before they were definitely selected – of the socio-economic reality of the country and key aspects such as the compulsory, secular education system. The Department of Social Anthropology of the University of the Republic (UDELAR) collaborated with PRPSR in preparing information material and provided support in the selection process and, with the Arab Language faculty, provided language training for those involved in implementing the resettlement programme.

From the time of their arrival in Uruguay in October 2014, Syrian refugees received accommodation, translation services, access to the health system, inclusion in the education system (with the support of translators), job training and introduction to Uruguayan culture and customs. For the two years of the programme, they were assigned a home and a monthly income (depending on the number of children). The government provided identity and travel documents in accordance with the 1951 Refugee Convention. The Syrian refugees resettled in Uruguay have permanent residence as well as legal and physical protection and the same civil, economic, social and cultural rights that all Uruguayan citizens hold.

Missed expectations

By September 2015, the five resettled families were reporting difficulties in finding work, insecurity (street thefts), the high cost of living in the country, and economic problems (despite the monetary subsidy received through the programme). They held public protests, saying they would not abandon the protest until the government found a solution to their claims.

“We are going to die here or in Syria. Here we die because we do not have money and in Syria we die because of the war.”[1]

The PRPSR’s representative, Javier Miranda, stated: “We believe that with this resettlement plan they can lead a dignified life. The State supports them for two years but cannot do more. Uruguay is an expensive country, it is true. And the job offers that they access are the same as those accessed by most Uruguayans.”

Testimonies of the five resettled families reflect their concern and despair: “We escape from death, from war, and we reach poverty.” Another of the complaints referenced “deception” on the part of the Uruguayan authorities in the information provided in Lebanon. “They promised us an easy life but everything is expensive ... living poor is worse than war.” They see the only way out is to return to Lebanon or “to any country in Europe” where they consider they will have a better quality of life. One of the families tried to travel to Europe but was detained at the airport in Turkey and deported to Uruguay.

Even taking into account the difficulties of integrating into a new and very different country, with a different language and culture, adaptation would usually be considered as only a matter of time. The Syrian refugees came from a country at war, so the difficulties they might encounter in the host country would surely be insignificant – it was argued – in a context of being able to live in peace. But what does peace really mean? Is it possible to have peace in an environment where one cannot earn enough to lead a decent life?

“What is in Uruguay is peace. Peace is what everyone wants but if there is peace and yet you do not have something to live for, it is not peace. … There is no tranquility. You are always thinking, thinking about the future, and this is very difficult, more difficult than war.” (Ibrahim Alshebli, a Syrian refugee resettled in Uruguay)

Most of the families had very different living conditions before the war in Syria. They had their own business, sufficient income and a low cost of living – in a country where it was possible to support a large family on only one salary. In Uruguay the reality is different. A high cost of living, low wages and difficulties in getting work – the reasons given by the refugees for wishing to leave – are experienced by local people on a daily basis, who both agree with, and resent, the refugees’ claims. In a statement, the government emphasised that: “whether you agree or disagree with the resettlement plan, the families’ anguish is still legitimate and this situation must not promote discrimination […]”.

How to measure success or failure?

The PRPSR was planned in two stages – five families at first, and then seven more families – but the second stage was not implemented. Government sources cited the difficulties that the refugees had in adapting, getting work and attaining economic self-sufficiency; they also mentioned difficulties experienced by the PRPSR in managing this pilot project and the need to evaluate the results of the programme before resettling more families.

Former President José Mujica, who had publicly backed the PRPSR, pointed out the benefits that would have come from receiving peasant families with many children (which would have helped resolve problems of an aging population and shortage of rural labour). His own words, that “I asked for peasants and they brought me middle-class, relatively comfortable refugees”, reflect the government’s discontent with the choice of families and the political expediency at play in selecting those of a certain demographic profile.[2]

Hiram Ruiz points out that ‘success’ or ‘failure’ of resettlement programmes must be considered from many angles: the country that offers it, those who execute it and those who, as beneficiaries, receive it.[3] The Uruguayan programme was established with the intention of supporting those affected by the Syrian humanitarian crisis. Even though some of the families wanted to leave, the programme should not be considered a failure, as it has provided free education and considerable support for the families’ integration. However, the lack of employment opportunities and the limited economic resources available to the Syrian refugees reflect some of the PRSP’s weaknesses, which should be taken into account for any future resettlement programmes.

 

Raquel Rodríguez Camejo miraro8@hotmail.com
Journalist https://largocaminoaeuropa.blogspot.com.es/



[1] Personal quotations sourced from El Observador www.elobservador.com.uy and El Universo www.eluniverso.com

[2] El Observador TV (2015) ‘Los sirios que se quieren ir y el Uruguay imperfecto’
www.elobservadortv.uy/video/5536343-los-sirios-que-se-quieren-ir-y-el-uruguay-imperfecto

[3] Hiram Ruiz (2015) Evaluación de Programas de Reasentamiento en Argentina, Brasil, Chile, Paraguay y Uruguay, UNHCR www.acnur.org/t3/fileadmin/Documentos/BDL/2016/10252.pdf

 

FMR 56
October 2017

Contents

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. All articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.