اللاجئون الكولومبيون: أحان وقت الاحتجاج ببند وقف الحماية؟

بياتريز يوجينا سانشيز موجيكا

بعد أكثر من خمسة عقود من النِّزاع المسلح الداخلي، وقعت الحكومة الكولومبية في نوفمبر/تشرين الثاني 2016 اتفاق سلام مع القوات المسلحة الثورية لكولومبيا ( الجيش الشعبي)، فهل يعني ذلك أن هؤلاء الكولومبيين الذين أُجبِروا على مغادرة البلد يجب أن يعودوا الآن؟

صُمِّمَت الحماية الدولية للاجئين وغيرها من أشكال الحماية الدولية لتكون مؤقتة وينص ’بند وقف الحماية‘ الوارد في اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة الخاصة بوضع اللاجئين لعام 1951 وبروتوكولها والصكوك الدولية الأخرى في هذا المجال على أربعة سيناريوهات قد تنتهي فيها الحماية الدولية.[i]وتحدث إحدى هذه الحالات عندما يواجه بلد المنشأ تغيراً عميقاً في الظروف لدرجة كبيرة تكفي لإزالة الأسباب التي دفعت شعبه إلى الفرار. وبمجرد تلاشي هذه الأسباب، يمكن للبلدان المضيفة والمفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين إعلان انتهاء توفير الحماية الدولية، وتقتضي عودة اللاجئين إلى بلدانهم الأصلية، في حين أنَّ بلد المنشأ ملزمٌ باستئناف مسؤوليته عن حمايتهم. والسؤال المطروح الآن هو ما إذا كان توقيع اتفاق السلام في كولومبيا، سيترتب عليه بند وقف الحماية الذي تتذرع به البلدان التي تستضيف الكولومبيين، إما كلاجئين أو كمستفيدين من نوع آخر من الحماية الدولية.

ووفقاً لتفسير المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين، يتطلب تغيير الظروف اقتران ثلاثة عناصر. أولاً، يجب أن يكون التغيير عميقاً بما فيه الكفاية لحل الأسباب التي تسببت في التهجير، وثانياً، يجب أن يكون التغيير مستداماً على مر الزمن، مما يضمن عدم إجبار العائدين على الفرار مرةً أخرى، وأخيراً، يجب أن يتمتع العائدون بالوصول الفعال إلى الحماية في بلد المنشأ.[ii]

وهذه الظروف لم تُستوفَ بعد في الحالة الكولومبية، فالهجرة القسرية في هذا البلد له أسباب متعددة، واتفاق السلام الحكومي مع إحدى القوات المتمردة ألا وهي الثورية لكولومبيا (الجيش الشعبي)[iii] لا يحل بالضرورة جميع العوامل التي تسببت في الهجرة، كما أنه لا ينطوي على تهيئة كاملة لظروف الأمن لعودة المنفيين، لأن مناطق واسعة من كولومبيا تخضع حالياً لسيطرة العصابات الإجرامية العنيفة.[iv]وعلاوةً على ذلك، لا تزال هناك مجموعة مسلحة واحدة نشطة، وهي جيش التحرير الوطني.[v]

الأسباب الداعية للاحتجاج بوقف الحماية

لكنَّ تفسير المفوضية غير ملزم قانوناً إذ قد تختار البلدان المضيفة تجاهلها وأن تطلب وقف الحماية، وفي حالة البلدان التي تستضيف أكبر عدد من اللاجئين الكولومبيين (فنزويلا والإكوادور وبنما)، هناك أسباب وجيهة تجعل ذلك احتمالاً قوياً،.

ففنزويلا التي استضافت بحلول كانون الأول 2016 ما يقرب من 173000 كولومبي، تعاني من أزمة اقتصادية وسياسية عميقة، وبناءً على ذلك، قد تميل السلطات الفنزويلية إلى التخلص من السكان الذين يستهلكون الموارد العامة، ممن يُنظَر إليهم على أنهم مسؤولون عن زيادة الانفلات الأمني. ويعكس الطرد الجماعي للكولومبيين غير النظاميين، الذي حدث في آب 2015، هذا الميل. وتواجه الإكوادور التي تستضيف أكثر من 101 ألف كولومبي صعوبات اقتصادية أيضاً، فقد طلبت المساعدة والعون من الحكومة الكولومبية لكي تواصل توفير الحماية للاجئين، واتخذت خطوات لمنع زيادة حجم هؤلاء السكان، ففي عام 2012، على سبيل المثال، عُدِّلَت قوانين الإكوادور من أجل تقييد مفهوم اللاجئين،[vi]وأخيراً، تشهد بنما التي تستضيف أكثر من 17 ألف لاجئ، تباطؤاً اقتصادياً وفقاً للبنك الدولي، وقد أشارت في الماضي إلى حجم العبء الذي تتحمله في رعاية وحماية اللاجئين الكولومبيين.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تجدر الإشارة إلى أن الإكوادور وفنزويلا كانتا في الماضي مفتوحتين بصفة خاصة لوصول اللاجئين الكولومبيين بسبب التوتر المتزايد بينهما وبين جارتهم كولومبيا. وفي الوقت الحاضر، تغيرت ديناميات هذه العلاقات والعوامل المحركة لها، مما يقلل من القيمة السياسية والاستراتيجية لاستقبال اللاجئين الكولومبيين.

ضمان الحماية

وتتيح اللجان الوطنية الكولومبية ثنائية القومية مع إكوادور وكوستاريكا وفنزويلا، ولجنة الجوار مع بنما، فرصاً للحكومة للتفاوض على الاتفاقيات، بغية تجنب الاحتجاج الوشيك ببند وقف الحماية. ومن خلال اللجنة الثنائية مع الإكوادور، عُقِدَت اتفاقات بشأن رعاية هؤلاء السكان وتنفيذ خطة العودة الطوعية. ومع ذلك، من الضروري توسيع نطاق المفاوضات والإسراع بعملية صنع القرار، ليس لتفادي الاحتجاج ببند وقف الحماية فحسب، بل أيضاً للتوصل إلى اتفاقات بشأن كيفية ضمان رفاه الذين لم يكن لهم في ذلك الوقت أي خيار سوى مغادرة بلدهم أو فقدان حياتهم. وستكون هناك حاجة متزايدة إلى خطط مشتركة للعودة الطوعية، عند استقرار الحالة في كولومبيا، وعندما تصبح أكثر ملاءمةً لتوفير عودة آمنة لمن يرغب في ذلك.

وللمفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين دور مهم تؤديه في كل هذا. أولاً، تتمثل مهمة المفوضية في رصد الامتثال للمبادئ التوجيهية المتعلقة بوقف الحماية. وثانياً، يمكن للمفوضية أن تيسر المفاوضات بين الدول. وأخيراً، يمكن للمفوضية أن تدعم خطط العودة الطوعية وأن تذكر السلطات الوطنية أن السكان الذين يختارون العودة، يجب أن يكونوا على علم تام بالظروف التي سيواجهونها في كولومبيا، وأن أمنهم وحقوقهم يجب أن تكون مضمونةً تماماً.

 

بياتريز يوجينا سانشيز موجيكاbeasanchezmojica@gmail.com

باحثة مشاركة، مركز التحقيقات الاجتماعية القانونية-جامعة لوس أنديز، وبروفيسورة في الجامعة الدولية وجامعة كوميلاس البابوية (إسبانيا)

https://humanities-center.ie.edu/dt_team/851/



[ii] UNHCR (2003) Guidelines on International Protection No. 3: Cessation of Refugee Status under Article 1C(5) and (6) of the 1951 Convention relating to the Status of Refugees (the ‘Ceased Circumstances’ Clauses), HCR/GIP/03/03

(المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين (2003) الإرشادات التوجيهية حول الحماية الدولية رقم 3: الاحتجاج بصفة اللاجئ بموجب المادة 1ج(5) و(6) في اتفاقية عام 1951 حول صفة اللاجئين (’الظروف الداعية لوقف صفة اللاجئ)

 www.refworld.org/docid/3e50de6b4.html

 [غير متاح بالعربية]

[iii] Fuerzas Armadas Revolucionarias de Colombia – Ejército del Pueblo

[iv] Sánchez B E (2016) ‘A silenced exodus: intra-urban displacement in Medellín’ and Rojas Andrade G ‘Post-demobilisation groups and forced displacement in Colombia : a quantitative approach’ in Cantor D & Rodríguez Serna (Eds) The New Refugees: Crime and Displacement in Latin America, London: Institute of Latin American Studies

(سانشيز ب إ (2016) ’خروج مُكمَّم الأفواه: التهجير بين المناطق الحضرية في ميديلين‘ وروجاس أندرادي ج (جماعات ما بعد التسريح العسكري والتهجير في كولومبيا: مقاربة كمية‘ في كانتور د ورودريغوز سيرنا (محرران) اللاجئون الجدد: الجريمة والتَّهجير القسري في أمريكا اللاتينية)

(نشرت النسخة الإسبانية في عام 2015

[v] Ejército de Liberación Nacional

[vi]استبدل المرسوم التشريعي 1812 لعام 2012 بالمفهوم الواسع للاجئين الذي تضمن الأشخاص الفارين من أوضاع النِّزاع المسلح والعنف المنتشر دون طلب إثبات بتعرض الفرد للاضطهاد تعريفاً مبنياً على التعريف الأصلي الضيق كما ورد في اتفاقية اللاجئين لعام 1951.

 

FMR 56
October 2017

المحتويات

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

Colombia: time to invoke the cessation clause?

Beatriz Eugenia Sánchez Mojica

After more than five decades of internal armed conflict, in November 2016 the Colombian government signed a peace agreement with the FARC-EP. Does this mean that those Colombians who had been forced to leave the country must now begin to return?

International refugee protection – as well as other forms of international protection – is designed to be temporary. The ‘cessation clause’ included in the 1951 Convention Relating to the Status of Refugees, its Protocol and other international instruments in this area provides for four scenarios in which international protection may come to an end.[1] One of these occurs when the country of origin experiences a profound change of circumstances which is significant enough to remove the causes that prompted its people to flee. Once those causes vanish, host countries (and UNHCR, the UN Refugee Agency) can declare the end of the provision of international protection and require the refugees to return, while the country of origin is obliged to resume its responsibility for their protection. The question now arises as to whether the signing of the peace agreement in Colombia will entail the cessation clause being invoked by countries that host Colombians either as refugees or as beneficiaries of some other type of international protection.

According to UNHCR’s interpretation, the change of circumstances requires the conjunction of three elements. Firstly, it must be sufficiently profound to resolve the causes that caused the displacement. Secondly, it must be sustainable over time, guaranteeing that those who return will not be forced again to flee. And, lastly, those who return must have effective access to protection in the country of origin.[2]

These conditions are not currently present in the Colombian case. Forced displacement in this country has multiple causes, and the government’s peace agreement with one of the guerrilla forces – the FARC-EP[3] – does not necessarily resolve all the factors that caused the displacement, nor does it imply the full establishment of conditions of security for the return of exiles, as vast territories of Colombia are now controlled by violent criminal gangs.[4] Moreover, there is still one guerrilla group active, the ELN.[5]

Reasons to invoke cessation

UNHCR’s interpretation, however, is not binding in law. Host countries may choose to ignore it and invoke cessation. In the case of those countries hosting the largest numbers of Colombian refugees (Venezuela, Ecuador and Panama), there are good reasons why this might be a strong possibility.  

Venezuela, which by December 2016 was hosting nearly 173,000 Colombians, has been experiencing a profound economic and political crisis. The Venezuelan authorities may therefore be tempted to get rid of a population that consumes public resources and is perceived as responsible for increased insecurity. The mass expulsion of Colombians in an irregular situation that took place in August 2015 reflected these sentiments. Ecuador, hosting over 101,000 Colombians, is facing economic difficulties too; it has asked for help from the Colombian government in order to be able to continue offering protection to the refugees, and has taken steps to prevent the increase in size of this population. In 2012, for example, Ecuador’s laws were modified in order to restrict the concept of refugee.[6] Finally, Panama, which hosts just over 17,000 refugees, is experiencing an economic slowdown, according to the World Bank, and in the past has cited the size of the burden it carries in caring for and protecting Colombian refugees.

Additionally, it should be noted that in the past, Ecuador and Venezuela were particularly open to the arrival of Colombian refugees because of the heightened tension between them and their neighbour Colombia. Nowadays the dynamics of these relationships have changed, diminishing the political and strategic value of taking in Colombian refugees.

Guaranteeing protection

Colombia’s Binational Commissions with Ecuador, Costa Rica and Venezuela and its Neighbourhood Commission with Panama offer opportunities for the government to negotiate agreements in order to avoid the imminent invocation of cessation. Through the Binational Commission with Ecuador, agreements have already been reached regarding the care of this population and the implementation of a voluntary return plan. It is essential, however, to expand negotiations and to speed up the decision-making process, not only to avoid the cessation clause being invoked but also to reach agreements on how to ensure the well-being of those who, at the time, had no choice but to leave their country or lose their lives. Joint voluntary return plans will increasingly be needed as Colombia’s situation stabilises and becomes more conducive to offering a safe return for those who wish it.

UNHCR has an important role to play in all this. Firstly, it is UNHCR’s job to monitor compliance with the guidelines relating to cessation. Secondly, UNHCR can facilitate negotiations between the States. And, finally, UNHCR can support voluntary return schemes, reminding national authorities that the population choosing to return must be fully informed of the conditions they will encounter in Colombia, and that their security and rights must be fully guaranteed.

 

Beatriz Eugenia Sánchez Mojica beasanchezmojica@gmail.com
Associate researcher, CIJUS-Universidad de los Andes; professor, IE University and Pontifical University of Comillas (Spain) https://humanities-center.ie.edu/dt_team/851/

 


[2] UNHCR (2003) Guidelines on International Protection No. 3: Cessation of Refugee Status under Article 1C(5) and (6) of the 1951 Convention relating to the Status of Refugees (the ‘Ceased Circumstances’ Clauses), HCR/GIP/03/03 www.refworld.org/docid/3e50de6b4.html

[3] Revolutionary Armed Forces of Colombia – People’s Army (Fuerzas Armadas Revolucionarias de Colombia – Ejército del Pueblo)

[4] Sánchez B E (2016) ‘A silenced exodus: intra-urban displacement in Medellín’ and Rojas Andrade G ‘Post-demobilisation groups and forced displacement in Colombia : a quantitative approach’ in Cantor D & Rodríguez Serna (Eds) The New Refugees: Crime and Displacement in Latin America, London: Institute of Latin American Studies. (Spanish edition published 2015)

[5] National Liberation Army (Ejército de Liberación Nacional)

[6] Decree 1,182 of 2012 replaced the broader notion of refugee, which included persons fleeing situations of armed conflict and widespread violence without demanding proof of individual persecution, by a definition based on the original, more narrow 1951 Convention definition.

 

FMR 56
October 2017

Contents

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. All articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.