تكميم الأفواه الناقدة في المكسيك

زيمينا سواريز و دانيال زابيكو

يواجه الصحفيون والمدافعون عن حقوق الإنسان في المكسيك اعتداءات ترمي إلى إسكات أصواتهم الناقدة. وكثير منهم يجد نفسه مجبراً على الفرار خوفاً من الاغتيال. ولتبعات ذلك الواقع أهمية كبيرة على المستويين الشخصي والاجتماعي.

في سياق العنف واسع النطاق المرتبط بالجريمة المنظمة في المكسيك، غالباً ما يصبح المدافعون عن حقوق الإنسان والصحفيون أهدافاً محددة للعنف. فمنذ عام 2000، قُتِلَ على الأقل 125 صحفياً في المكسيك وفُقِدَ 21 آخرون. وفي أثناء ذلك، في الفترة ما بين ديسمبر/كانون الأول 2012 حتى يوليو/تموز 2017، قُتِلَ 106 فرداً من المدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان واختفى 81 آخرون.[1]ورغم صعوبة الحصول على البيانات، تفيد التقارير إلى تعرض الصحافة إلى 276 حالة اعتداء في عام 2017، أي بزيادة نسبتها 23% عما كان عليه الحال في عالم 2016.[2]

وإذا نشط الفرد في إدانة انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان أو نشر بيانات حول فساد السلطات المحلية أو قدَّم معلومات عما يحدث في بعض المناطق في البلاد، فذلك أساس كاف لتعريضه لخطر التهديد أو الاعتداء أو الاغتيال أو الإخفاء القسري. ويزداد أثر ذلك كله بغياب إرادة السلطات أو عجزها عن محاربة العصابات الإجرامية بل تعمد في بعض الأحيان إلى غض الطرف عن الاعتداءات التي يرتكبها المسؤولون الحكوميون، ومن هنا يقع العبء على الصحفيين والمدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان لفضح جرائم القتل أو الإخفاء القسري أو غيرها من الأفعال الإجرامية. ولكي تمنع العصابات الإجرامية الصحفيين والمدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان من فعل ما يفعلونه تجبرهم على التعاون معهم تحت تهديد استهدافهم. وبلغتهم الدارجة المعروفة في عالم العصابات يعرضون عليهم عرضاً ’فضة أو رصاص’ بمعنى ’إما أن تقبل المال أو نطلق عليك الرصاص‘.

وما يزيد الطين بلَّة في هذا السياق زيادة العداء والأفعال القتالية المكشوفة لمختلف السلطات إزاء الصحفيين والمدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان ما أدى إلى انخفاض احتمالية طلب هؤلاء للمساعدة أو الدعم بل إحجامهم عنها بالمرة. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، الإفلات من العقاب يكاد يكون حقيقة مطلقة. وفي الفترة ما بين عامي 2010 و2016، لم تصدر سوى ثلاثة أحكام بالإدانة بشأن الاعتداءات على الصحفيين أي ما يمثل نسبة 0.15% من جميع الحالات التي حقق فيها مكتب المدعي العام الخاص بالجرائم ضد حرية التعبير.

تهجير المدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان والصحفيين

لاذ كثيرٌ من الصحفيين والمدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان بالصمت تاركين العمل في حقوق الإنسان في حين اُضْطُّرَ آخرون عندما أصبح تعرضهم للخطر أمراً لا يمكن احتماله إلى الانتقال إلى أماكن أخرى داخل البلاد أو الفرار إلى بلدانٍ أخرى. ومع ذلك، فبالنسبة للصحفيين الذين طلبوا اللجوء في بلدان أخرى، توجد عوائق لحصولهم على الحماية لم تكن في الحسبان. فعلى سبيل المثال، سافر الصحفي مارتين مينديز بينيدا إلى إلباسو وهي مدينة تقع غرب ولاية تكساس ليتقدم بطلب لجوء في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية بعد أن قضى أربعة أشهر في مركز الاحتجاز الذي وصفه "بالجحيم" وبعد أن رُفِضَ إطلاق سراحه المشروط ثم قرر مارتين العودة إلى المكسيك على الرغم من إدراكه للخطر الذي سوف يعود إليه.

وأحياناً تستخدم السلطات أنفسها إعادة النقل كوسيلة لحماية الأشخاص المستخطرين، فهناك آلية حماية المدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان والصحفيين التي وضعتها الحكومة المكسيكية في عام 2012 إذ تحمي في الوقت الحالي 538 فرداً (342 من مدافعي حقوق الإنسان و196 صحفياً) على الانتقال المؤقت كتدبير من تدابير حماية الأشخاص المهددين أو المُعتدَى عليهم.[3]ورغم أنَّ الانتقال يعد في بعض الحالات تدبيراً عاجلاً لتوفير الحماية والأمن، لا ينبغي أن نَنْسَ أنَّه حل مؤقت لأنَّ الحكومة لم تقدمه إلا لأنها عاجزة عن توفير حق الإقامة حيث يريد الأشخاص أو ضمان حرية التعبير بالإضافة إلى ضمان حق (أو حاجة) المجتمع إلى أن يبقى على علمٍ بما بحدث فضلاً عن الحق في الدفاع عن حقوق الإنسان.

تبعات التَّهجير

تتعدد آثار التَّهجير الواقعة على الصحفيين والمدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان. فعلى سبيل المثال، يواجه الصحفيون والمدافعون عن حقوق الإنسان واقع الاستئصال من جذورهم وفقدانهم للعلاقات الاجتماعية، ذلك الواقع الذي أصبح ظاهرة عامة يتسم بها التَّهجير القسري، لكنَّها تؤثر على هذه الفئة من الناشطين على وجه الخصوص لأنَّهم يفرون وحيدين بمفردهم تاركين عائلاتهم خلفهم. ثم يحيق المجهول باحتمالية عودتهم ما يُصعِّبُ عليهم الاندماج في موقعهم الجديد. وغالباً ما يشعرون بالذنب من أنهم تسببوا في تعريض أسرهم للخطر أو إيقاعها في صعوبات اقتصادية.

وهناك أيضاً آثار اجتماعية واسعة النطاق لتكميم أفواه الصحفيين والمدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان أو تهجيرهم إذ تواجه عدة ولايات في المكسيك حيث وقعت الانتهاكات والاعتداءات مشكلات خطيرة جراء العنف ووجود الجماعات الإجرامية المنظمة (بما في ذلك حالات التواطؤ بين الجماعات الإجرامية والسلطات) والإخفاءات القسرية والنَّزوح الداخلي وانتزاع ملكية الأراضي وانتهاكات أخرى لحقوق الإنسان. وقد تحدث كثيرٌ من الصحفيين والمدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان الذين تعرضوا للاعتداءات في الأشهر الأخيرة عن الكثير من هذه القضايا وأبلغوا عنها. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، تمتلك تلك الولايات سجلاً حافلاً بأحداث العنف ضد الصحفيين والمدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان (لم يُحقَق فيها بعد ولم تُقرُّ بشأنها لأي عقوبات). وحتى في هذه السياقات العدائية والخطيرة، يبذل الصحفيون والمدافعون عن حقوق الإنسان جهوداً لا يُستهَان بها لتوثيق الأخبار ذات الصلة بحماية الفئات السكانية المكسيكية وإدانتها، وتسليط الضوء عليها، ومنع حدوث انتهاكات أخرى لحقوق الإنسان بما في ذلك التَّهجير وحماية الحقوق.[4]

 

زيمينا سواريز xsuarez@wola.org

زميلة للمكسيك، مكتب واشنطن لأمريكا اللاتينية (WOLA) www.wola.org
 

دانيال زابيكو dzapico@ohchr.org

محامي متخصص في حقوق الإنسان، يعمل حالياً لدى مكتب المفوض السامي للأمم المتحدة لحقوق الإنسان في المكسيك www.hchr.org.mx

 



[1] Red Nacional de Organismos Civiles de Derechos Humanos “Todos los Derechos para Todas y Todos” (Red TDT) (2017) La Esperanza no se agota

(الشبكة الوطنية للمنظمات المدنية لحقوق الإنسان "جميع الحقوق للجميع" في ريد تي دي تي (2017) لا نهاية للأمل)

http://redtdt.org.mx/acciondefensores/index.php/2017/09/05/personas-defensoras-en-el-periodo-de-epn/#

[2] Article 19 (2017) Primer semestre de 2017:1.5 agresiones diarias contra periodistas en México.

(المادة 19 (2017) النصف الأول من عام 2017: 1.5 اعتداءات يومية على الصحفيين في المكسيك)

https://articulo19.org/informesemestral2017/

[3] Espacio OSC (2015) Segundo diagnóstico sobre la implementación del Mecanismo de Protección para Personas Defensoras de Derechos Humanos y Periodistas

(غسباشيو أو إس سي (2015) التشخيص الثاني لتنفيذ آلية الحماية للمدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان والصحفيين)

http://imumi.org/attachments/2015/Segundo-Diagnostico-sobre-la-implementacion-del-Mecanismo-de-Proteccion-para-Personas-Defensoras-de-DH-y-Periodistas.pdf

[4] See WOLA ‘Statement on Violence against Journalists and Human Rights Defenders in Mexico’, 7th September 2017

(انظر مكتب واشنطن لأمريكا اللاتينية ’بيان حول العنف الممارس ضد الصحفيين والمدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان في المكسيك)

www.wola.org/2017/09/wolas-statement-violence-journalists-human-rights-defenders-mexico/

 

FMR 56
October 2017

المحتويات

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

Silencing criticism in Mexico

Ximena Suárez and Daniel Zapico

Journalists and human rights defenders in Mexico are being attacked in an attempt to silence their criticism. Many are forced to flee or risk being assassinated. The consequences are both personal and of wider social significance.

In the context of the widespread violence associated with organised crime in Mexico, human rights defenders and journalists often become specific targets. Since the year 2000, at least 125 journalists have been killed in Mexico and another 21 have gone missing. Meanwhile, from December 2012 to July 2017 at least 106 human rights defenders have been killed and 81 disappeared.[1] And, although data is hard to obtain, 276 attacks against the press have been reported in 2017, 23% more than in 2016.[2]

Denouncing human rights violations, publicising the corruption of local authorities or simply providing information on what is happening in certain areas of the country are sufficient grounds for individuals to be threatened, assaulted, assassinated or disappeared. With the authorities unwilling or unable to crack down on criminal gangs and turning a blind eye to agressions committed by government officials, it falls to journalists and human rights defenders to expose murders, disappearances or other criminal acts. To prevent them from doing this, criminal groups force some journalists to collaborate with them or face being victims of aggression themselves. In popular parlance, the offer is ‘silver or lead’.

This context is often aggravated by the open hostility of different authorities towards journalists and human rights defenders, which reduces or eliminates the possibility of seeking protection or support. In addition, impunity is almost absolute. There were only three convictions for attacks on journalists between 2010 and 2016 – just 0.15% of all cases investigated by the Office of the Special Prosecutor for Crimes against Freedom of Expression.

The displacement of defenders and journalists

Many journalists and human rights defenders opt for silence, abandoning their human rights work, while others – when the risk becomes unbearable – are forced to move to other parts of the country or to other countries. For those who decide to seek refuge in other countries, however, there are additional barriers to protection. Journalist Martín Méndez Pineda, for example, travelled to El Paso, Texas, and applied for asylum in the United States but after spending four months in a detention centre – which he described as “hell” – during which he was twice denied release on parole, he decided to return to Mexico even though he was aware of the danger to which he was returning.

Sometimes the authorities themselves use relocation as a way to offer protection to an individual at risk. The Mechanism for the Protection of Human Rights Defenders and Journalists, created in 2012 by the Mexican government and which is currently protecting 538 people (342 human rights defenders and 196 journalists), includes among the protection measures available to it the temporary relocation of the person who has been threatened or attacked.[3] Although relocation may in certain cases be an urgent measure in order to provide security, it should not be forgotten, however, that this is only being offered because of the government’s inability to ensure not only the right to reside where one wants but the right to freedom of expression – and the right of (and need for) society to be kept informed, as well as the right to defend human rights.

Consequences of displacement

The impacts of displacement on journalists and human rights defenders are multiple. For example, the experience of being uprooted and the loss of social relations – a common phenomenon in cases of forced displacement – is particularly pronounced for journalists and defenders as they often flee alone, leaving their family behind. Uncertainty about their possible return makes integration in their new location particularly difficult. And they often feel guilt about putting their families at risk or creating economic difficulties for them.

There are also wider social implications of the silencing or displacement of journalists and human rights defenders. Many of the states in Mexico where recent attacks have occurred experience serious problems with violence, the presence of organised criminal groups (including cases of collusion between criminal groups and authorities), forced disappearances, internal displacement, land dispossession and other human rights violations. Journalists and human rights defenders attacked in recent months had spoken out and reported on many of these issues. Moreover, these states have a history of violence against journalists and human rights defenders (which has not been investigated or punished). Even in such hostile and dangerous contexts, journalists and defenders carry out important work to document, denounce and bring to light news and events of relevance to the safeguarding of Mexico’s population, the prevention of other human rights violations, including displacement, and the protection of rights.[4]

 

Ximena Suárez xsuarez@wola.org
Associate for Mexico, Washington Office on Latin America (WOLA) www.wola.org

Daniel Zapico dzapico@ohchr.org
Human rights lawyer, currently with the Office of the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR) Mexico www.hchr.org.mx



[1] Red Nacional de Organismos Civiles de Derechos Humanos “Todos los Derechos para Todas y Todos” (Red TDT) (2017) La Esperanza no se agota  http://redtdt.org.mx/acciondefensores/index.php/2017/09/05/personas-defensoras-en-el-periodo-de-epn/#

[2] Article 19 (2017) Primer semestre de 2017: 1.5 agresiones diarias contra periodistas en México. https://articulo19.org/informesemestral2017/

[3] Espacio OSC (2015) Segundo diagnóstico sobre la implementación del Mecanismo de Protección para Personas Defensoras de Derechos Humanos y Periodistas http://imumi.org/attachments/2015/Segundo-Diagnostico-sobre-la-implementacion-del-Mecanismo-de-Proteccion-para-Personas-Defensoras-de-DH-y-Periodistas.pdf

[4] See WOLA ‘Statement on Violence against Journalists and Human Rights Defenders in Mexico’, 7th September 2017 www.wola.org/2017/09/wolas-statement-violence-journalists-human-rights-defenders-mexico/

 

FMR 56
October 2017

Contents

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. All articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.