كولومبيا:حلول مستدامة للمُهَجَّرين قسراً

أمايا فالكارسيل وفيرا ساموديو

رغم ما تملكه كولومبيا من مجموعة ضخمة ومعقدة من القوانين ورصيد وافر من الخبرة فيما يخص تطوير سياسات المهجَّرين قسراً ما زالت هناك عقبات كثيرة أمام الحصول على حلول مستدامة للتَّهجير.

في أواخر عام 2016، وُقِّعَتْ أخيراً اتفاقية سلام بين الحكومة وبين القوى الثورية المسلحة في كولومبيا-الجيش الشعبي.[1] ووفقاً للأرقام الرسمية، خلَّفت الحرب ثمانية ملايين و405 ألفاً و256 من الضحايا منهم 80% من النَّازحين داخلياً، و20% ضحية لأنواع أخرى من الانتهاكات مثل: الاعتداءات، والقتل، والتهديدات، والإخفاءات القسرية.[2]وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، ووفقاً للمفوضية المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين، سعى حوالي 340 ألف كولومبي لطلب اللجوء في الخارج.

حقوق الضحايا

تقدم السياسات المختلفة المتعلقة بالتهجير التي أدخلتها كولومبيا على مدى العشرين سنة الماضية أمثلة للممارسات الجيدة التي قد تكون مناسبة لبلدان أخرى في المنطقة.

أولها القانون رقم 387 لسنة 1997 الذي نص للمرة الأولى على المبادئ الأساسية لمعاملة الدولة للمهجَّرين. وفي الحقيقة، يعترف هذا القانون بالمهجرين على أنَّهم مشكلة لا يُستَهانُ بها وحرجة تستحق من الدولة أن توليها الاهتمام والأولوية.

وثانيا، هناك الحكم القضائي رقم (T-025) الصادر عن المحكمة الدستورية الكولومبية لعام 2004 والذي يأمر الهيئات والكيانات الوطنية والإقليمية بتلبية حاجات المهجَّرين الأساسية وعدم انتهاك أيٍّ من حقوقهم الأساسية مثل الخدمات الصحية والعمل والإسكان. وينظر هذا الحكم إلى التَّهجير القسري على أنَّه مشكلة هيكلية تتطلب حلاً متكاملاً. ولهذا السبب، يُطلَبُ إلى السلطات في جميع المواقع المضيفة للمهجَّرين أي على المستويات دون الوطنية أيضاً للترويج لاستراتيجيات التعامل مع آثار التَّهجير. ووضعت سياسات المتابعة إرشادات ومبادئ توجيهية لكلٍ من السلطات الوطنية والمحلية في محاولة لتخصيص موارد كافية للمُهَّجرين والتعرف على وجه الخصوص على أوجه الاستضعاف لدى النِّساء، والأطفال، والمراهقين، والشباب في أوضاع التَّهجير مع ضرورة الأخذ بعين الاعتبار لآثار التَّهجير على السكان الأصليين والمنحدرين من أصول إفريقية والأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة.

وثالثاً، هناك القانون رقم 1448 لسنة 2011 (قانون الضحايا وإعادة الأراضي إلى أصحابها) الذي مكَّنَ ضحايا النِّزاع المسلَّح من تلقي المساعدة وجبر أضرارهم. ويعترف هذا القانون بحق الضحايا في الوصول إلى الحقيقة والعدالة كما رسَّخ تدابير ملموسة لجبر الضرر مثل برنامج إعادة الحق إلى نصابه حتى يتمكن ضحايا التَّهجير القسري وانتزاع الملكية من المطالبة بأراضيهم التي اُنتُزِعَتْ منهم.

أوجه قصور السياسات

رغم كل هذه التطورات المهمة، ما زال التنفيذ ضعيفاً للغاية، إذ لم تتحسن الظروف المعيشية للضحايا كما كان متوقعاً؛ فقد كانت ثمة اضطرابات وقلاقل كثيرة تعيق من توفير المساعدات وإعادة البناء وجبر الضرر بالإضافة إلى قلة التمويلات وهو أمر واضح جداً.

فقد ركَّزت السياسات على توفير الرفاه بدلاً من التركيز على تمكين الأشخاص من تطوير الاستراتيجيات للتصدي للاستضعاف ومعالجته والمضي قدماً نحو الاكتفاء الذاتي. ووفقاً للجنة الرصد الكولومبية[3]، ففي عام 2016، كانت مستويات دخل 97.6% من الضحايا تحت خط الفقر، وما زال الألاف منهم لا يحصلون على الخدمات الطبية الأساسية، أو الرعاية النفسية الجيدة، أو فرص التعليم، أو منزل لائق. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، بحلول عام 2015، انخفضت التمويلات في صندوق جبر الضرر ومن ثم انخفضت قدرة الصندوق على دعم جبر الضرر.

ووفقاً للكولومبيين في الخارج، لم يَتَسَجَّل لدى وحدة الضحايا أكثر من عشرة ألاف و652 ضحية من 42 بلداً. ولم يحصل كثيرٌ من المواطنين الكولومبيين في الخارج على حقوقهم كمواطنين كولومبيين مثل المساعدات أو جبر الضرر. فكثيرٌ منهم غير معترف بهم رسمياً كلاجئين وهم بذلك في أوضاع غير نظامية في البلدان المستضيفة.

التحديات المستقبلية

"ما زلتُ مُهجَّرة وما زلت أعاني ... ما زلتُ أكافح وأناضل مع عائلتي."[4]

هناك حاجة ماسة إلى خطوات وتدابير ملموسة إذا كانت هناك نية لوضع حلول مستدامة وأكثر فاعلية للمُهجَّرين من كولومبيا.

وينبغي الاستمرار في بذل الجهود لتحديد من لم يُسجَّلوا بعد في سجل الضحايا الكولومبي وحمايتهم خاصةً في المناطق الريفية التي يصعب الوصول إليها. وينبغي على السلطات كذلك العمل على زيادة رفع مستوى الوعي لدى الأشخاص بكيفية إدراجهم وتسجيلهم في السجل وكيفية المشاركة في مجالس الضحايا (سواء أكانوا في كولومبيا أم خارجها). أما المؤسسات المحلية، فلا بد من تعزيز بناء قدراتها ومصادرها التمويلية لتتمكن من التصدي لحاجات الضحايا. وعلى الرغم من وجود إطار عمل معياري[5] يحدد مشاركة الضحايا، لا توجد ضمانات كافية لإشراكهم في العمليات التشاورية واتخاذ القرارات.

كما ينبغي للحكومة تبني تدابير معينة لتفكيك عناصر القوات شبه العسكرية والجماعات المحلية المسلحة وإبرام اتفاقية سلام مع جيش التحرير الوطني.[6] فاستمرار وجود هذه الجهات الفاعلة المسلحة سبب في ارتفاع أعداد الضحايا يوماً بعد يوم بل يفرض مشكلات خاصة للسكان في ميناء بوينافينتورا، وإدارة تشوكو في ممر المحيط الهادئ الكولومبي. وفي الوقت نفسه، ينبغي للحكومة إدخال مخططات حماية وضمانات أمنية للقادة الاجتماعيين والمدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان الذين ما زالوا مستهدفين.

كما ينبغي للحكومة أيضاَ الاعتراف بوجود مشكلة التَّهجير القسري المرتبط بالمشروعات الإنمائية واسعة النطاق، والاقتصادات غير المشروعة (مثل التعدين غير القانوني) والآثار البيئية ووضع التشريعات اللازمة لذلك.

وأخيراً، لن تُؤتِ هذه التغييرات أكلها إلا بالتزامن مع التغيير في الثقافة السياسية التي تضرب بجذورها حالياً في نظام تتلقى فيه العواصم الحضرية الإقليمية اهتماماً أكبر على حساب المناطق النائية جداً التي تعتمد حالياً على الفساد والمحاباة والمحسوبية. ولا بد أيضاً من إحداث تغيير جذري على فهم الأدوار والمسؤوليات المناطة بالهيئات الوطنية والإقليمية إذا ما أرادت كولومبيا أن تكون بلداً خالياً من النِّزاع.

 

أمايا فالكارسيل amaya.valcarcel@jrs.net

مسؤولة المناصرة الدولية، الجمعية اليسوعية لخدمة اللاجئينwww.jrs.net

 

فيرا ساموديوverasamudio@gmail.com

مسؤولة المناصرة الدولية، الجمعية اليسوعية لخدمة اللاجئينwww.sjrlac.org



[1] Fuerzas Armadas Revolucionarias de Colombia – Ejército del Pueblo

[3] Comisión de Seguimiento y Monitoreo a la implementación de la Ley 1448 de 2011 Ley de Víctimas y Restitución de Tierras

(لجنة رصد ومراقبة تنفيذ القانون رقم 1448 لعام 2011 حول الضحايا واستعادة ملكية الأراضي)

[4] شهادة مهجَّرة أدلتها لدى الجمعية اليسوعية لخدمة اللاجئين - كولومبيا.

[5] المادة 28 والمادة 192 من القانون رقم 1448 لعام 2011، والمادة 17 من المرسوم التشريعي رقم 4802 لعام 2011، والمرسوم التشريعي رقم 790 لعام 2012، والقرار رقم 0388 للعاشر من مايو/أيار لعام 2013، والقرار رقم 1281 لعام 2016.

[6] Ejército de Liberación Nacional

 

FMR 56
October 2017

المحتويات

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

Colombia: durable solutions for the forcibly displaced

Amaya Valcárcel and Vera Samudio

Colombia has a sophisticated body of law and a wealth of experience in the development of policies for the forcibly displaced. However, numerous obstacles stand in the way of attaining permanent solutions to displacement.

In late 2016 the peace agreement between the government and FARC-EP[1] was finally signed. According to official figures, the war has left 8,405,265 victims, 80% of whom have been internally displaced, while 20% have been victims of other types of abuses such as attacks, homicides, threats or forced disappearances.[2] In addition, according to UNHCR, the UN Refugee Agency, about 340,000 Colombians have sought asylum abroad.

The rights of victims

Various policies introduced in Colombia over the last 20 years, relating to displacement, offer examples of good practice that could be relevant to other countries in the region.

Firstly, Law 387 of 1997 laid down for the first time the basic principles underpinning the State’s treatment of displaced people. In essence, this law recognises forced displacement as a significant and critical problem deserving priority attention by the State.

Secondly, Constitutional Court Judgment T-025 of 2004 orders national and regional entities to address the basic needs of displaced persons and any violations of their fundamental rights such as access to health, work or housing. This judgment sees forced displacement as a structural problem which needs to be addressed in an integrated way. For this reason, the authorities in all places hosting displaced people – that is, not only national-level authorities – are required to promote strategies for addressing the impacts of displacement. Follow-up policies have set guidelines for both national and local authorities relating to, for example, the need to allocate adequate resources for displaced populations, to recognise the particular vulnerabilities of women, children, adolescents and young adults in situations of displacement, and to take into account the impact of displacement on indigenous peoples, people of African descent and persons with disabilities.

Thirdly, Law 1448 of 2011 (the Victims and Land Restitution Law) enables victims of the armed conflict to receive assistance and reparation. This recognises victims’ right to access truth and justice, and establishes concrete reparation measures including a programme of restitution so that victims of forced displacement and dispossession can reclaim the lands they have lost.

Policy shortcomings

In spite of these important developments, implementation has been fragile. The living conditions of victims have not improved as expected; further unrest in certain locations is hindering provision of assistance, rebuilding and reparation; and the lack of funding is only too evident.

Policies have focused more on provision of welfare, rather than on enabling people to develop strategies for addressing vulnerability and moving towards self-sufficiency. According to Colombia’s Monitoring Commission[3], in 2016 the income levels of 97.6% of victims were still below the poverty line, and thousands of victims still do not have access to essential medical services, good psychosocial care, educational opportunities or a decent home. Furthermore, by 2015, the funds available under the reparation fund were reduced, thereby diminishing the fund’s capacity for supporting reparation.

With regard to Colombians abroad, the Victims Unit has registered only 10,652 people from 42 countries. Many more nationals abroad are not getting access to assistance and reparation – their right as Colombian citizens. Many of them are not officially recognised as refugees and are in an irregular situation in their host countries.

The challenges ahead

“I am still displaced and suffering… My family and I are still struggling.”[4]

There are a number of concrete actions needed if there are to be more effective durable solutions for Colombia’s displaced people. 

Efforts must continue to identify and protect those who have not yet been registered in the Colombian Registry of Victims, especially in rural areas that are difficult to access. The authorities need to raise people’s awareness of how to be included in the registry and how to participate in Victims’ Panels (whether in Colombia or abroad). Local institutions need greater capacity building and finances in order to be able to address the needs of victims. Although there is a normative framework[5] that provides for the participation of victims, their participation in the consultative and decision-making processes has not been fully guaranteed and promoted.

The government needs to introduce measures to dismantle paramilitaries and local armed groups and to finalise a peace agreement with the ELN[6]. The ongoing presence of these armed actors continues to generate hundreds of victims daily, and poses a particular problem for the inhabitants of the port of Buenaventura and the Department of Chocó in the Colombian Pacific corridor. At the same time, the government needs to introduce protection schemes and security guarantees for social leaders and human rights defenders, who continue to be targeted.

The government also needs to recognise – and legislate for – the scale of forced displacement associated with large-scale development projects, illicit economies (including illegal mining) and environmental impacts.

Finally, these changes will only be effective if they go hand-in-hand with a change in the political culture which is currently rooted in a system whereby regional capitals receive greater attention at the expense of more remote areas and which currently is too reliant on corruption and patronage. A substantial change in the understanding of the roles and responsibilities of national and regional entities is essential if Colombia is to become a country free of conflict.

 

Amaya Valcárcel amaya.valcarcel@jrs.net
International Advocacy Officer, Jesuit Refugee Service www.jrs.net       

Vera Samudio verasamudio@gmail.com
Advocacy Officer, Jesuit Refugee Service Colombia www.sjrlac.org



[1] Revolutionary Armed Forces of Colombia – People’s Army (Fuerzas Armadas Revolucionarias de Colombia – Ejército del Pueblo)

[3] Comisión de Seguimiento y Monitoreo a la implementación de la Ley 1448 de 2011 Ley de Víctimas y Restitución de Tierras

[4] Testimony provided by JRS Colombia.

[5] Article 28 and 192 of Law 1448 of 2011, Article 17, Decree 4802 of 2011, Decree 790 of 2012, Resolution 0388 of 10th May 2013, and Resolution 1281 of 2016.

[6] National Liberation Army (Ejército de Liberación Nacional)

 

FMR 56
October 2017

Contents

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. All articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.