إعادة توطين اللاجئين من خارج المنطقة في أمريكا الجنوبية: التجربة الفلسطينية نموذجاً

مارسيا فيرا إيسبينوزا

فتحت بلدان أمريكا الجنوبية أبوابها أكثر من ذي قبل لإعادة توطين اللاجئين من خارج المنطقة، ومن أبرز المبادرات وأكثرها ظهوراً إعادة توطين اللاجئين الفلسطينيين في تشيلي والبرازيل خلال عامي 2007 و 2008.

بُنِيَ برنامج إعادة التوطين الإنساني للاجئين من خارج المنطقة على برنامج إعادة التوطين التضامني الذي انبثق عن إعلان المكسيك وخطة عملها لعام 2004، وقد صُمِّمَ برنامج إعادة التوطين التضامني من أجل اللاجئين الذين هم بحاجةٍ إلى الحماية داخل المنطقة، ويعكس برنامج إعادة التوطين الإنساني الذي جاء لاحقاً رغبة في توسيع نطاق هذا التعاون فيما بين بلدان الجنوب، وتعزيز دور المنطقة في الاستجابة الدولية للاجئين وحمايتهم.

واستقبلت كلُّ من تشيلي والبرازيل أكثر من 100 لاجئ فلسطيني، كانوا من ضمن الحالات التي طال أمدها في مخيمات اللاجئين على الحدود بين العراق وسوريا وفي الصحراء الأردنية، وبالرغم من أن العدد كان صغيراً مقارنةً مع عدد اللاجئين الذي تستوعبه بلدان إعادة التوطين التقليدية، أثار البرنامج اهتماماً وجمع تمويلاً كبيراً، وأدى أيضاً إلى إنشاء شبكة من منظمات المجتمع المدني، والبلديات المحلية، والجهات الفاعلة الخاصة التي دعمت المبادرة. وتحرى البحث الذي أجري بين عامي 2012 و 2014 تجارب اللاجئين في الاندماج في كلا البلدين،[i] وهنا أركز على تجربة اللاجئين الفلسطينيين، من أجل التأمل في جوانب النجاح والتحسين في إعادة التوطين خارج المنطقة.

إدارة التوقعات

أحد الأبعاد الرئيسية التي تؤثر على تجربة إعادة توطين الفلسطينيين في كلا البلدين هو التوتر الذي نشأ بين اللاجئين والمنظمات المشاركة في إعادة التوطين، نتيجة لما وصفوه بأنه ’توقعات لم تتحقق‘،[ii]فقد وضع اللاجئون ومنظمات إعادة التوطين هذه التوقعات على حد سواء، وتتعلق هذه التوقعات المشتركة بين اللاجئين الفلسطينيين في كلا البلدين بتغطية احتياجاتهم الفورية، والاستقرار الاجتماعي والاقتصادي، وتعلم واستخدام لغة جديدة، وتحسين فرص الحصول على الجنسية، وفرص لم شمل الأسر. وبُنِيَت هذه التوقعات منذ لحظة تلقيهم معلومات عن إعادة التوطين، سواء أكانوا في بلد اللجوء الأول أم في مخيم اللاجئين في ذلك الوقت. وفي البرازيل، ذكر أكثر من 70٪ من اللاجئين الفلسطينيين الذين شملهم الاستطلاع أن البلد لم يلبِّ توقعاتهم، بينما كان لدى أكثر من 50٪ من اللاجئين في تشيلي تصورات مماثلة.

"قالوا لي: ’انظر، سوف تدرس اللغة البرتغالية هناك في البرازيل، وسوف تجد منزلاً، وسيكون لديك وظيفة، وكل شيء.‘ ولم يُنجَز أي شيء!‘ (محفوظ، البرازيل)[iii]

"’الوضع هنا مختلف عما كنت أعتقد أنه سيكون. اعتقدت أن وضعي سيكون جيداً في هذا البلد، وأنني يمكن أن أعيش على ما يرام ... وأن نتمكن من العمل والحصول على جميع مطالبنا، ولكن عندما وصلنا، كان العثور على العمل صعباً، وعملنا كثيرا من أجل مبلغ زهيد من المال ‘. (رحَّال، تشيلي)

وأكدت ناصرة، وهي لاجئة فلسطينية في البرازيل، أنَّ منظمات إعادة التوطين لو أنها قدمت معلومات دقيقة منذ البداية، لكان اللاجئون أكثر وعياً عند اتخاذ قرارهم. وفي هذا السياق، يقع دور كبير على ’بعثات‘ المقابلات (وهي الزيارات التي يقوم بها مسؤولون من البلد الذي يقدم إعادة التوطين) والمعلومات المقدمة في مخيم اللاجئين، أو في بلد اللجوء الأول. لكننا نجد أنَّه في حالة اللاجئين الفلسطينيين الذين قدموا إلى البرازيل، لم تكن هناك أي بعثات، بل تُرِكَت مهمة توفير المعلومات للاجئين لموظفي المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين في الأردن. أما في حالة اللاجئين المتوجهين إلى تشيلي، فقد زارت بعثة مكونة من مسؤولين حكوميين، والمفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين، وممثلي المنظمات غير الحكومية التنفيذيين مخيم التنف، ولم يكن لديهم مترجمون يعرفون اللغة والسياق التشيلي، لذلك تبين أن التفسيرات والأوصاف الدقيقة لم تكن سهلة.

منذ ذلك الحين، عمل البلدان على تحسين اتصالاتهما مع اللاجئين الذين يفكرون في إعادة التوطين، من خلال ترجمة بعض الوثائق الرئيسية إلى لغات مختلفة، وتقديم معلومات مكتوبة عن البرنامج لاستخدامها في أثناء البعثات. وفي عام 2014، نشرت المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين وشركاؤها المنفذون في البرازيل كتيباً للاجئين المتوجهين إلى البرازيل،[iv] ويشمل ذلك الكتيب أقساماً باللغات البرتغالية والإنجليزية والفرنسية والإسبانية والعربية، ويوفر المعلومات الأساسية عن حقوق اللاجئين والتزاماتهم، وكيفية الحصول على الوثائق أو تجديدها، وكيفية التقدم بطلب للحصول على الإقامة الدائمة، ومصادر الحصول على إجابات لأسئلة محددة، وقائمة من الاتصالات المفيدة، بما فيها تفاصيل الاتصال لجميع المنظمات المشاركة في استقبال اللاجئين. وأنشأت تشيلي كتيباً مماثلاً يتضمن معلومات عملية عن البلد للاجئين الكولومبيين. كما عقد البلدان اجتماعات جماعية مع اللاجئين من أجل تقييم البرنامج.

ومن خلال المقابلات، أصبح واضحاً أنَّ الذين يديرون برامج إعادة التوطين في كلا البلدين وضعوا مجموعة من التوقعات على أساس فهم ’الاكتفاء الذاتي‘ على أنه يعني قدرات اللاجئين على الوصول إلى الاستقرار الاقتصادي والاستقلال، في حين ينظر اللاجئون إلى الاكتفاء الذاتي على أنه مزيج من الاستقلال الاقتصادي والقدرة على السيطرة على عملية إعادة التوطين الخاصة بهم. وعندما اشتكى اللاجئون وأثاروا مسألة ’الوعود التي لم تتحقق‘، أشار بعض أعضاء المنظمات المعنية إليهم على أن اللاجئين يبدون ’عدم الامتنان‘[v] وأنهم ما زالوا يفكرون ’بعقلية اللاجئين’ التي أنشأتها سنوات من المساعدة.

الانتماء إلى هنا وهناك

ظهر موضوع آخر اشتركت فيه المقابلات التي أجريت مع اللاجئين الفلسطينيين وهو أن شعورهم بالانتماء مقسم بين موقعين اثنين أو أكثر. فعلى سبيل المثال، شدد المشاركون على أن اللغة بعد رئيسي يؤثر على تجربة اندماجهم. وكان اكتساب اللغة الإسبانية أو البرتغالية في البلد المضيف، أول شكل من أشكال ’الانتماء‘ التي يسعى إليها معظم اللاجئين الذين أٌعيدَ توطينهم. وفي الوقت نفسه، أكد اللاجئون الفلسطينيون أن استخدام لغتهم الأصلية أمر مهم من أجل الحفاظ على هويتهم، وهو عنصر من عناصر الألفة داخل المنزل أو في مكان التقاء المجتمعات. كما أنه مهم أيضاً في الحفاظ على العلاقات مع أفراد الأسرة والأصدقاء المهجرين في أماكن أخرى.

’من المهم جداً التحدث باللغة العربية داخل المنزل، حتى لا ينساها الأطفال، فنحن نتحدث مع أطفالنا عن القرآن وما يقوله. ونحن نعلمهم عن لغتنا فيتعلمون شيئاً فشيئاً‘ (زهير، تشيلي).

في بلد إعادة التوطين، يخدم تعلم اللغة المحلية أغراضاً مختلفة، فتعلم اللغة بالنسبة لبعض اللاجئين سمح لهم بتكوين صداقات وبناء علاقات، أما بالنسبة لغيرهم فهي ضرورية لإيجاد فرص عمل والحصول على الخدمات وتجنب التهميش. وانتقد اللاجئون الطريقة التي أديرت بها صفوف تعليم اللغة، وسوء نوعية المواد التعليمية، وعدم وجود منهجية خاصة لاحتياجات اللاجئين.

التجنس والحصول على الحقوق

في كلا البلدين، تحددت تجارب دمج اللاجئين بالوضع القانوني الذي يتلقاه اللاجئون الذين أُعيدَ توطينهم لدى وصولهم، ووفقاً لمعظمهم، يسمح التنظيم الفوري لوضعهم لهم ولأطفالهم بالوصول إلى خدمات الرعاية الصحية والتعليم (الأساسي والثانوي) على قدم المساواة مع أي مواطن آخر في تشيلي والبرازيل. ومع ذلك، تحدث اللاجئون أيضاً عن تلك الحقوق التي لم يتمكنوا من الوصول إليها، بسبب وضعهم المؤقت، أو لأن حالتهم لم تكن معروفة لدى مقدمي الخدمات المحليين. وتشمل بعض هذه القيود الحصول على المعاشات والإعانات السكنية وإعانات التعليم العالي. وكان انعدام الوصول حاداً بصفة خاصة في البرازيل. أما في تشيلي، فوضع اللاجئ الممنوح للأفراد الذين أعيد توطينهم وأسرهم يضمن الإقامة الدائمة. غير إنَّه في البرازيل، يُمنَحُ اللاجئون تأشيرة مؤقتة مدتها سنتان، ويمكن بعد ذلك تجديدها لمدة سنتين أخرتين قبل أن يتأهلوا للحصول على الإقامة الدائمة. وبالرغم من الصعوبات الأولية، فقد أدخل البلدان منذ ذلك الحين تحسينات في هذه المجالات. فعلى سبيل المثال، مكنت تشيلي جميع اللاجئين الفلسطينيين من الحصول على إعانات الإسكان دون اشتراط الإقامة الدائمة لمدة خمس سنوات. وفي البرازيل، يقضي قرار صدر مؤخراً عن المحكمة الاتحادية العليا بأهلية الأجانب للحصول على معاش الدولة حتى دون تجنس.

وتؤثر مسألة التجنس كشكل من أشكال الهوية والسماح بالتنقل على اللاجئين الفلسطينيين بشكل خاص. ووفقاً للاجئين الفلسطينيين في كلا البلدين، كان التجنس واحداً من الوعود التي قُطِعَت لهم عندما تلقوا عرض إعادة التوطين.

"الحصول على الجنسية حلم بالنسبة لي، فأنا أبلغ من العمر 50 عاماً الآن، وكنت لاجئاً طوال حياتي، ليس لدي جنسية معترف بها، ولا جواز سفر، وهذا صعب جداً". (حفيظ، تشيلي).

وفي تشيلي، طالب اللاجئون الفلسطينيون بدعم من بعض السياسيين والمجتمع المدني بأن تدعم الحكومة طلبهم بالتجنس، وبحلول يونيو/حزيران عام 2015، حصل 65 فلسطينياً بالغاً على جوازات سفر تشيلية، وبعد ذلك بعام، تلقى 45 طفلاً ومراهقاً الجنسية. كما تعترف تشيلي تلقائياً بالأطفال المولودين فيها كمواطنين. وفي الوقت نفسه، كانت البرازيل أقل تأييداً لتقديم التجنس، باستثناء أسرة واحدة فقط في طور الحصول على الجنسية عندما قوبِلت مرة أخرى في عام 2014. وحتى الآن، يمكن للاجئين التقدم بطلب التجنس بعد أربع سنوات من الإقامة الدائمة في البرازيل (أي بعد ما مجموعه ثماني سنوات بعد أخذ الإقامة المؤقتة في الاعتبار).

الخلاصة

من الواضح أن هناك توصيات تُستَخلَصُ مما ورد أعلاه، منها توفير معلومات أفضل بلغة اللاجئين الأصلية الذين يفكرون في إعادة التوطين، وتحسين توفير التعليم اللغوي في البلدان التي تقدم إعادة التوطين، وتقدير أكبر لأهمية الحقوق القانونية مثل الحصول على الجنسية. ويسمح استكشاف تجارب اللاجئين الفلسطينيين ورغبتهم بالحصول على أهلية أكبر، أن يحسن من فهم وإدراك قيود البرنامج بغية زيادة تطوير السياسات.

وتلتزم أمريكا الجنوبية وعلى الأخص منها منطقة أمريكا اللاتينية والبحر الكاريبي برمتها بإظهار التضامن مع الأزمات الإنسانية الدولية، من خلال تطبيق إعادة التوطين كما جاء في إعلان وخطة عمل البرازيل.[vi]فإدراك تجارب إعادة التوطين من خارج المنطقة هو مفتاح النجاح في هذا المسعى، وبينما تستعد تشيلي لاستقبال 60 لاجئاً سورياً من لبنان في نهاية عام 2017، تناقش البرازيل كيفية المضي قدماً في برنامج إعادة التوطين الخاص بهم لدعم الأطفال غير المصحوبين بذويهم المتأثرين بالنِّزاع السوري. وسيتمم هذا البرنامج التأشيرات الإنسانية التي منحتها البرازيل للاجئين السوريين منذ عام 2013. كما نفذت الأرجنتين تأشيرات إنسانية للاجئين السوريين منذ عام 2014، وهي الآن بصدد وضع برنامج إعادة التوطين بالكفالة الأهلية. وكانت الأوروغواي أول بلد يعيد توطين اللاجئين السوريين، رغم مواجهتها عدة تحديات أثناء تطبيقه.[vii]وبُذِلَت جهود برنامج التوطين من خارج المنطقة لتضع تركيزها على دعم اللاجئين السوريين، ومن شأن التعلم من تجارب إعادة التوطين السابقة، مثل تجربة اللاجئين الفلسطينيين في تشيلي والبرازيل، أن يسهم في تحسين تخطيط عمليات إعادة التوطين وتنفيذها.

 

مارسيا فيرا إيسبينوزا marcia.vera@sheffield.ac.uk

زميلة باحثة في دراسات ما بعد الدكتوراه، مشروع آفاق حوكمة الهجرة الدولية، قسم الدراسات السياسية، جامعة شفيلد

http://migrationgovernance.org



[i]ضم البحث 80 مقابلة (مع جهات مختلفة بما فيها اللاجئون والمسؤولون الحكوميون والمفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين والهيئات المنفذة) و80 دراسة استقصائية مسحية ومراقبة للمشاركين. وجاء البحث بدعم من اللجنة الوطنية للبحوث العلمية والتكنولوجية (CONICYT) ومنح العمل الميداني من جائزة سلاوسون التي تمنحها الجمعية الجغرافية الملكية-معهد الجغرافيين البريطانيين (RGS-IBG)

[ii] Vera Espinoza M (forthcoming 2018) ‘The Politics of Resettlement: Expectations and unfulfilled promises in Chile and Brazil’ in Garnier A, Lyra Jubilut L and Bergtora Sandvik K (Eds) Refugee Resettlement: Power, Politics and Humanitarian Governance. New York

(فيرا إسبينوزا م (متوقع نشره في 2018) ’سياسة إعادة التوطين: توقعات ووعود غير محققة في تشيلي والبرازيل‘ في غارنير أ وليرا جوبيولوت ل وبيرغوتا ساندفيك ك (محررون) إعادة توطين اللاجئين: القوة والسياسة والحوكمة الإنسانية)

[iii]وضعت أسماء مستعارة لجميع اللاجئين الذين خضعوا للمقابلات.

[iv] UNHCR (2014) Booklet for Asylum Seekers in Brazil

(المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين (2014) دليل لطالبي اللجوء في البرازيل)

www.acnur.org/t3/fileadmin/Documentos/portugues/Publicacoes/2015/Cartilha_para_solicitantes_de_refugio_no_Brasil_2015.pdf

[v] See Moulin C (2012) ‘Ungrateful subjects? Refugee protest and the logic of gratitude’ in Nyers P and Rygiel K (Eds) Citizenship, Migrant Activism and the Politics of Movement, pp54-72.

(انظر مولين ك (2012) ’رعايا غير ممتنين؟ احتجاج اللاجئين ومنطق الامتنان‘ في نايرس ب وريجيل ك (محرران) المواطنة ونشاط المهاجرين وسياسات التحرك البشري)

[vii] انظر مقالة في هذا العدد للكاتب راكويل رودريغوز كاميجو

 

FMR 56
October 2017

المحتويات

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

Extra-regional refugee resettlement in South America: the Palestinian experience

Marcia Vera Espinoza

South American countries have been increasingly opening their doors to resettle extra-regional refugees. One of the most visible initiatives was the resettlement of Palestinian refugees in Chile and Brazil during 2007 and 2008.

The Humanitarian Resettlement Programme for extra-regional refugees built on the Solidarity Resettlement Programme that emerged from the 2004 Mexico Declaration and Plan of Action. The Solidarity Resettlement Programme was designed for refugees in need of protection within the region, and the later Humanitarian Resettlement Programme reflected a desire to extend the scope of this South-South cooperation and to enhance the role of the region in international refugee response and protection.

Chile and Brazil each received more than 100 Palestinian refugees, who had been living in protracted situations in refugee camps on the border between Iraq and Syria and in the Jordanian desert. Although the number was small in comparison with the intake of traditional resettlement countries, the programme raised great interest and significant funding, and triggered the establishment of a network of civil society organisations, local municipalities and private actors that supported the initiative. Research undertaken between 2012 and 2014 explored the refugees’ experiences of integration in both countries.[1]

Managing expectations

One of the main dimensions affecting the Palestinians’ resettlement experience in both countries was the tension that developed between refugees and the organisations involved in resettlement, as a result of what they identified as ‘unfulfilled expectations’.[2] Expectations were created by refugees and by the resettlement organisations alike. Common expectations among Palestinian refugees in both countries related to having their immediate needs covered, socio-economic stability, the learning and use of a new language, better access to naturalisation, and opportunities for family reunification. Expectations were created from the moment they received resettlement information, whether they were in their first country of asylum or in their refugee camp at the time. In Brazil more than 70% of Palestinian refugees surveyed stated that the country did not meet their expectations, while in Chile over 50% of refugees had similar perceptions.

“They told me, ‘Look, there in Brazil you are going to study Portuguese, you will find a house, you will have a job, everything.’ And nothing [was accomplished].” (Mahfoud, Brazil)[3]

“Here it is different from what I thought it would be. I thought that in this country I would have a good situation and that I could live well… that you could work and have everything. But when we arrived, finding a job was difficult and we worked so much for very little money.” (Rahal, Chile)

Nacira, a Palestinian refugee in Brazil, stressed that if the resettlement organisations had provided accurate information from the beginning the refugees could have made a more informed decision. The interview ‘missions’ (visits by officials from the country offering resettlement) and the information provided at the refugee camp or at the first country of asylum are clearly pivotal in this. In the case of Palestinians who came to Brazil, there was no mission and it was left to staff of UNHCR, the UN Refugee Agency, in Jordan to provide the information. In the case of Chile, a mission with government officials, UNHCR and the implementing NGO’s representatives went to the Al-Tanf camp but they did not have translators who knew both the language and the Chilean context, so accurate explanations and descriptions proved difficult.

Both countries have since improved their communication with refugees who are considering resettlement, by translating some key documents into different languages and by providing written information about the programme for use during the missions. In 2014, UNHCR and its implementing partners in Brazil published a booklet for refugees in Brazil.[4] This includes sections in Portuguese, English, French, Spanish and Arabic, providing basic information about the rights and obligations of refugees, how to obtain or renew documentation, how to apply for permanent residence, where to find answers to specific questions and a list of useful contacts, including the contact details of all organisations involved in refugee reception. Chile had created a similar booklet with practical information about the country for Colombian refugees. Both countries also held group events with refugees in order to evaluate the programme.

Through interviews it became clear that those administering the resettlement programmes in both countries also developed a set of expectations based on the understanding of ‘self-sufficiency’ as refugees’ capacity to reach economic stability and independence, whereas the refugees viewed self-sufficiency as a combination of economic autonomy and agency over their own resettlement process. When refugees complained or raised the issue of ‘unfulfilled promises’, some members of the organisations involved referred to them as ‘ungrateful’[5] and as having a ‘refugee mentality’ from years of having been assisted.

Belonging here and there

Another cross-cutting theme emerging from interviews with Palestinian refugees was that their sense of belonging was divided between two or more locations. For instance, participants emphasised how language was a key dimension affecting their integration experience. The acquisition of Spanish or Portuguese in the host country represented the first form of ‘membership’ sought by most of the resettled refugees. At the same time, Palestinian refugees highlighted that use of their language of origin was important in order to preserve their identity and as an element of intimacy within the home or where communities got together. It was also important in maintaining relationships with family members and friends displaced elsewhere.

“It is very important to speak Arabic inside the house, so the children don’t lose it. We talk to our children about the Qur’an and what it says. We also teach them about our language and they learn little by little.” (Zoheir, Chile)

In the country of resettlement, learning the local language served different purposes. For some refugees, learning the language allowed them to make friends and build relationships, while for others language was necessary for finding jobs, accessing services and avoiding marginalisation. Refugees criticised how the language classes were delivered, the poor quality of the material and the lack of a methodology specific to the refugees’ needs.

Naturalisation and access to rights

In both countries, refugees’ experiences of integration were framed by the legal status that resettled refugees received upon arrival. According to most of them, the immediate regularisation of their status allowed them and their children to access health and education (primary and secondary) like any other citizen in Chile and Brazil. However, refugees also spoke of those rights which they could not access because of their temporary status or because their situation was not known to local service providers. Some of these restrictions included access to pensions, housing and higher education subsidies. Lack of access was particularly acute in Brazil. In Chile, refugee status granted to resettled individuals and their families guarantees permanent residence; in Brazil, however, refugees are granted a two-year temporary visa, which can then be renewed for another two years, before they are eligible to apply for permanent residence. Despite the initial difficulties, both countries have since made improvements in these areas. For instance, Chile has enabled all Palestinian refugees to obtain housing subsidies without requiring five years of permanent residence. In Brazil, meanwhile, a recent decision of the Federal Supreme Court states that foreigners are eligible to receive the state pension even without naturalisation.

The question of naturalisation – as a form of identity and to allow mobility – affects Palestinian refugees in particular. According to Palestinian refugees in both countries, naturalisation was one of the promises made when they received the offer of resettlement.

“For me it is a dream to have a nationality, because now I am 50 years old and I have been a refugee all my life. I don’t have a recognised nationality, no passport. It is very difficult.” (Hafid, Chile)

In Chile, Palestinian refugees – with the support of some politicians and civil society – demanded that the government support their request for naturalisation. By June 2015, 65 adult Palestinians had obtained Chilean passports, and by a year later 45 children and adolescents had received naturalisation. Children born in Chile are automatically recognised as nationals. Brazil, meanwhile, has been less supportive of providing naturalisation, with only one family in the process of obtaining naturalisation when interviewed back in 2014. Until recently, refugees could apply for naturalisation after four years of permanent residency in Brazil (that is, after a total of eight years, when temporary residence is taken into account).

Conclusion

There are clearly recommendations to draw from the above: better information provided in their own language of origin for refugees considering resettlement, improved language teaching provision in the countries offering resettlement, and a greater appreciation of the importance of legal rights such as access to naturalisation. Exploring refugees’ experiences enables the limitations of the programme – and the refugees’ desire for greater agency – to be better understood and recognised, in order to enable further policy development.

South America – and indeed the whole of the Latin America and Caribbean region – is committed to demonstrating solidarity with international humanitarian crises through the implementation of resettlement, as stated in the Brazil Declaration and Plan of Action.[6] The understanding of the experiences of extra-regional resettlement is key to success in this endeavour. While Chile is getting ready to receive 60 Syrian refugees from Lebanon at the end of 2017, Brazil is discussing how to move forward with their own resettlement programme to support unaccompanied children affected by the Syrian conflict. This programme will complement the humanitarian visas that Brazil has been granting to Syrian refugees since 2013. Argentina has also implemented humanitarian visas for Syrian refugees since 2014 and is now developing a private sponsorship resettlement programme. Uruguay was the first country to resettle Syrian refugees, facing several challenges during its implementation.[7] The extra-regional efforts of the sub-region are now mainly focused on supporting Syrian refugees. Learning from previous resettlement experiences, like the one of Palestinian refugees in Chile and Brazil, can contribute to the better planning and implementation of resettlement.

 

Marcia Vera Espinoza marcia.vera@sheffield.ac.uk
Postdoctoral Research Associate, Prospects for International Migration Governance project, Department of Politics, University of Sheffield http://migrationgovernance.org



[1] This comprised 80 interviews (including with refugees, government officers, UNHCR and implementing agencies), 86 surveys and participant observation. The research, which included Palestinian and Colombian refugees, was supported by CONICYT and fieldwork grants from RGS-IBG Slawson Award, SLAS and SIID.

[2] See also Vera Espinoza M (forthcoming 2018) ‘The Politics of Resettlement: Expectations and unfulfilled promises in Chile and Brazil’ in Garnier A, Lyra Jubilut L and Bergtora Sandvik K (Eds) Refugee Resettlement: Power, Politics and Humanitarian Governance. New York: Berghahn Books.

[3] The names of all refugees interviewed have been changed.

[5] See Moulin C (2012) ‘Ungrateful subjects? Refugee protest and the logic of gratitude’ in Nyers P and Rygiel K (Eds) Citizenship, Migrant Activism and the Politics of Movement, pp54-72.

[7] See article in this issue by Raquel Rodríguez Camejo 'Syrian refugees in Uruguay: an uncomfortable topic'

 

FMR 56
October 2017

Contents

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. All articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.