والتر كالين وتطلعاته حول النازحين

قضى والتر كالين ست سنوات ممثلاً للأمين العام للأمم المتحدة المعني بحقوق الإنسان للنازحين . وبمناسبة تقاعده من وظيفته، قمنا بنشر تأملاته حول تلك السنوات الست ومستقبل النازحين .

هناك أمثلة جديدة للنزوح، بشكل مستمر، وتدل هذه الملاحظة على عجز الحكومات والمجتمع الدولي عن منع النزوح.

عندما عينني الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة، كوفي عنان، كممثله المعنيّ بحقوق الإنسان للنازحين  عام 2004، قٌدّر عدد الأشخاص النازحين داخل دولهم بـ 25 مليوناً[1]. وفي أواخر عام 2010، عندما سلّمت تفويضي إلى تشالوكا بياني، المقرر الخاص الجديد المعني بحقوق الإنسان للمشردين ، تخطى العدد 27 مليون شخص. وخلال هذه السنوات الست، صار من الواضح أنَّ عدد النازحين خلال الكوارث الطبيعية قد فاق ذلك، إذ بلغ 36 مليوناً عام 2008 وحده[2].

ويبقى العديد من النازحين  الذين قابلتهم أثناء قيامي بمهام عملي تحت وطأة النزوح ، في حين استطاع آخرون العودة، مع أنَّهم ما زالوا في كفاحهم لإعادة بناء حياتهم من جديد. كما وقع غيرهم ضحايا للنزوح التعسفي منذ أن توليت منصبي. ولا أعرف أي حالة للنزوح التعسفي التي تم ملاحقة ومعاقبة المسؤولين عنها. ويبقى الكثيرون من النساء والفتيات عرضة للعنف الجنسي وللعنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي أو غير ذلك من صور الاستغلال المحض، ولم يحصل عدد كبير من الأطفال النازحين على فرص الحصول على التعليم الأساسي، بل قد يتم تجنيدهم في القوات والجماعات المسلحة. وقد فقد العديد من الرجال أي أمل في استعادة قدرتهم على رعاية من يحبونهم.

وللوهلة الأولى، يبدو ذلك الوضع كما لو لم يكن هناك أي تقدّم خلال هذه السنوات، بالإضافة إلى إخفاق المجتمع الدولي، على الرغم من كل جهوده المبذولة. إلا أنَّه يتبين لنا إن نظرنا للأمر من كثب أنه لم يتم فقط إنقاذ عدد كبير من الأرواح بفضل أنشطة المساعدات والحماية الإنسانية، لكن تمكن أيضاً حوالي 24.4 مليون نازح  ما بين 2004 و2009 من العودة إلى مناطقهم الأصلية. ومن بين الدول التي زرتها، ساعدت التحسينات في الوضع الأمني أو اتفاقيات السلام عدداً كبيراً من الأشخاص على العودة إلى منازلهم في جنوب السودان ونيبال وتيمور الشرقية وأوغندا وسريلانكا، وإلى درجة أقل في ساحل العاج وجمهورية أفريقيا الوسطى وكينيا. ورغم أنَّ العودة لا تعني بالضرورة أن يجد الأفراد الحلول المستدامة، فإن هذا رقم مبهر.

وفي نفس الوقت، يبقى الكثيرون نازحين لعدة سنوات طِوال قد تمتد إلى عقود من الزمن، مما يشير إلى عدم القدرة أو الرغبة للتعامل مع الأسباب الخفية الكامنة وراء حالات النزوح  في أنحاء العالم. وإن ما نحتاجه في هذا الشأن هو المزيد من التزام المجتمع الدولي والرغبة السياسية من جانب الدول المتأثرة، وهذا هو الشيئ المفقود غالباً.

التقدم والإنجازات

يمكن رؤية التقدم الواضح فيما يتعلق بإطار العمل المعياري الضامن لحقوق النازحين . وعندما توليت منصبي، عارضَت مجموعة من الدول صلاحية المبادئ الإرشادية حول النزوح  والتي لم تناقشها وتتفاوض عليها الدول. وقد حدث التقدّم الحقيقي مع انعقاد القمة العالمية عام 2005 في نيويورك، عندما أجمع قادة الدول والحكومات على الاعتراف بالمبادئ الإرشادية كإطار عمل دولي مهم لحماية النازحين ، وتلك هي اللغة التي ترددت منذ ذلك الحين في العديد من الجمعيات العمومية للأمم المتحدة وقرارات مجلس حقوق الإنسان.

ويلزم بروتوكول البحيرات العظمى حول حماية ومساعدة النازحين ، الذي تُبُنِّي عام 2006، دوله الأعضاء وعددها عشرة بتضمين المبادئ الإرشادية في القوانين الوطنية لتلك الدول. وقد شهد عام 2009 تبني اتفاقية الاتحاد الأفريقي حول حماية ومساعدة النازحين  في أفريقيا، وهي أول صكّ من نوعه ملزماً قانونياً، وذلك على الصعيد الإقليمي[3]. والعديد من الدول إمّا تبنت أطر العمل التشريعية الوطنية والبرامج والسياسات أو بدأت عملية تطويرها بحيث تُدمج فيها المبادئ الإرشادية أو تشير إليها حيث إنَّ هذه المبادئ قد ازداد تفصيلها والعمل بها.

كذلك، كانت هناك تحسينات في المعايير والمفهومات فيما يتعلق بمناحي وأنواع النزوح ، منها على سبيل المثال، ما يتعلق بالنزوح نتيجة الكوارث الطبيعية والتغيرات المناخية وعملية تحقيق الحلول المستدامة وكيفية تضمين حقوق النازحين  في عمليات واتفاقيات السلام.

وتلك هي الإنجازات التي لا يمكن إغفالها، حيث أنها ساعدت في تحسين فهمنا للنزوح  وترسيخ السياسات والبرامج في مجموعة من المعايير الشائعة والقائمة على إطار عمل حقوق الإنسان. وإنني لأعلم الأمثلة المتعددة حيث تعني هذه التحسينات حياة أفضل للأفراد الواقعيين.

ومن أحد تأثيرات هذا التطوّر هو زيادة استعداد الدول لمناقشة أوضاع نزوحهم. ولا تزال هناك دول مثل ميانمار أو باكستان التي تنكر أن النازحين جراء العمليات العسكرية هم نازحون . لكنني، على العموم، شعرت بوجود رغبة متزايدة من جانب الحكومات ليس فقط لمناقشة قضايا النازحين  وإنما أيضاً لاتخاذ بعض الخطوات على الأقل لتحسين مساعدتهم وحمايتهم. وبعض الدول، خاصة جورجيا وأذربيجان والبوسنة، إلى حد ما، والصرب وكولومبيا قد بدأت بالتعامل مع مواقف النزوح المطوّل وفقاً للمعايير الخاصة لتحسين الأحوال المعيشية لنازحيهم. ومع انتظار العودة أو غير ذلك من الحلول المستدامة، تبقى المشكلات قائمةً، خاصة في منطقة موارد كسب الرزق والنازحين  من ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة.

بالنسبة للمستقبل

على الرغم من التقدم المُحرز، ما زالت الضرورة قائمة لبذل مزيد من الجهود في ظل بيئة تزداد تعقيداً. وأرى أنه علينا مواجهة ثمانِ تحديات[4]:

  1. التحرّك ما وراء "المخيمات والنِّزاعات": النزوح  في كافة أشكاله: يُنظّر للنَّازح  على أنه شخص معدم يعيش في أحد المخيمات بعد فراره من العنف والنزاع المسلح. إلا أن الحقيقة أكثر تعقيداً من ذلك، فأغلب النازحين  يعيشون خارج المخيمات مع العائلات المضيفة أو ينتشرون في المناطق الحضرية. وإننا لنحتاج إلى بذل مزيد من الجهود وابتكار ما يلزم من أساليب لمساعدتهم وحمايتهم. وهذه الجهود يجب أن تصل إلى جميع المجتمعات المتأثرة بالنزوح، أي ليس فقط النازحون  لكن أيضاً المجتمعات المضيفة أو المجتمعات التي يتعين عليها إعادة دمج اللاجئين. وفيما يتعلق بالأسباب، فإن المزيد من الأفراد ينزحون كل عام جراء الكوارث الطبيعية أكثر من النزاعات، ناهيك عن دور التغيرات المناخية في هذه الظاهرة أيضاً. وعلاوة على ذلك، يتزايد النزوح الناتج عن الإخلاء القسري المرتبط بالمشروعات التنموية. ويتنامى لدي الشعور أن الاستجابات لصور النزوح هذه ما زالت غير كافية.
  2. التعامل مع الطبقات المختلفة للاستضعاف والتمييز: يعد كافة النازحين مستضعفون، في حين ليس الأشخاص غير النازحين كذلك. لكن، تستلزم بعض جماعات النازحين الاهتمام والرعاية الخاصة. وتتضمن تلك الجماعات النساء (خاصة النساء المعيلات) والأطفال وكبار السن والأشخاص من ذوي الإعاقة أو الأمراض المزمنة، وتنتمي تلك الفئات إلى الأقليات العرقية والدينية والسكان الأصليين. وفي حين أن ذلك مقبول من الناحية النظرية، فلا تزال الاهتمامات والاحتياجات الخاصة لتلك الجماعات مهملة من الناحية العملية.
  3. دعم الدول ذات الإمكانيات المحدودة: تستلزم السيادة المسؤولية، لذلك يكون التعامل مع النزوح  هو المسؤولية الأولى والأخيرة للحكومات. بيد أن جانباً كبيراً من النزوح  اليوم يحدث في الدول ذات الإمكانيات المحدودة لمنع النزوح أو الاستجابة له. ويبقى التحدي في دعم جهود هذه الدول لتبني وتنفيذ السياسات والقوانين الشاملة حول النزوح ، مع ضمان مساعدة المانحين والوكالات الإنسانية والتنمية من خلال رفدهم بالخبرات والموارد اللازمة.
  4. تعزيز الاستجابة الإنسانية: أدى إدخال نظام المجموعات العنقودية إلى إحراز التقدم في تنسيق العمل الإنساني. لكن لا يزال هناك الكثير أمام الوكالات الإنسانية للقيام به للاضطلاع بمسؤولياتها المشتركة فيما يخص حماية النازحين ، خاصة في منطقة النزوح الناجم عن الكوارث. كذلك، فإنه يمكن للوكالات الإنسانية أن تطوّر قدرتها على جعل مفهوم الحماية على قدر عملي أكبر.
  5. راب الصدع بين المساعدات الطارئة وإعادة الهيكلة والتنمية على المدى البعيد: من غير المقبول، بل من الشائن، أن يخضع النازحون  في الغالب للظروف الأسوأ على مدى السنوات الطوال بعد الأزمة أكثر من معاناتهم في مرحلة الطوارئ. وسيكون من الضروري ضمان وجود آليات أكثر مرونة للتمويل بالإضافة إلى استعداد الفاعلين الإنسانيين والإنمائيين للعمل معاً بصورة مبكرة أثناء الأزمات.
  6. الدفاع عن الفضاء الإنساني: سيبقى النازحون وغيرهم من السكان الآخرين المتأثرين بالأزمات تحت وطأة المعاناة من تبعات تدخل الجهات الإنسانية المحدود أو غير المُعتد به ما لم نطوّر مناهج جديدة ومبتكرة مثل المساعدة من خلال "التحكم عن بُعد" أو من خلال التدخلات التنموية في منتصف الأزمة التي تدعم مرونة المجتمعات المعرّضة لمخاطر النزوح أو الإمكانات الاستيعابية للمجتمعات المُضيفة.
  7. ضمان المسائلة عن النزوح التعسفي: يعد النزوح التعسفي انتهاكاً للمعايير الإرشادية وللقواعد الدولية الملزمة التي تعكسها تلك المبادئ. وفي أغلب صوره البشعة، قد يرقى النزوح التعسفي إلى الجرائم ضد الإنسانية أو جرائم الحرب. وإذا كنا جادين حول منع النزوح التعسفي، فعلينا وضع حد للإفلات من العقاب السائد في عدد من حالات النزوح وتقديم مقترفي هذه الجرائم إلى يد العدالة وضمان حصول الضحايا على التعويضات المناسبة، بما فيها التعويضات المالية.
  8. إنهاء سياسات النزوح المطوّل: في العديد من الدول، يعاني الأفراد في مواقف النزوح  نتيجة غياب الرغبة السياسية لإيجاد الحلول المستدامة لهم. وتُعد الحلول المستدامة القائمة على القرارات الطوعية والمستنيرة للمعنيين هي أفضل الطرق لحماية حقوق النازحين  الإنسانية ولتقديم معيار التعويض لانتهاك هذه الحقوق.

عمل والتر كالين (walter.kaelin@oefre.unibe.ch) هو ممثل الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة المعنى بحقوق الإنسان للنازحين  ما بين عامي 2004 و2010. واستمر في تدريس القانون الدولي والدستوري في جامعة بيرن بسويسرا.

 



[1]  لمعرفة المزيد عن هذا الرقم وباقي الأرقام الأخرى، يُرجى مطالعة المنشور السنوي لمركز رصد النزوح

  “Internal Displacement, Global Overview of Trends and Developments” "النزوح ، النظرة العالمية العامة للتيارات والتنمية"  http://www.internal-displacement.org/global-overview.

[2]  مكتب تنسيق الشؤون الإنسانية ومركز رصد النزوح  والمجلس النرويجي للاجئين،

 Monitoring Disaster Displacement in the Context of Climate Change: Findings of a Study by the United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs and the Internal Displacement Monitoring Centre

 رصد النزوح  في سياق التغييرات المناخية: نتائج دراسة مكتب الأمم المتحدة لتنسيق الشؤون الإنسانية ومركز رصد النزوح  (جنيف، سبتمبر 2009).

[3]  انظر أيضاً مقال كاتينكا ريدربوس

[4]  للمزيد من التفاصيل، يُرجى مطالعة تقريري لعام 2010 لمجلس حقوق الإنسان،

FMR 37
March 2011

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

Walter Kälin on the outlook for IDPs

Walter Kälin served for six years as the UN Secretary-General’s Representative on the Human Rights of Internally Displaced Persons. On the occasion of his retirement from this post, we publish his reflections on those six years and the future for IDPs.

There are – on a regular basis – new instances of displacement.This observation suggests that it is in preventing internal displacement that governments and the international community are failing.

When I was appointed by UN Secretary-General Kofi Annan as his Representative on the Human Rights of Internally Displaced Persons in 2004, the number of persons displaced within their countries stood at an estimated 25 million. 1 In late 2010, when I handed over my mandate to Chaloka Beyani, the new Special Rapporteur on the Human Rights of Internally Displaced Persons, the number had grown to more than 27 million. During these six years, it had also become clear that the number of those displaced in the context of natural disasters was even greater, reaching an estimated 36 million in 2008 alone. 2

Many of the internally displaced persons I met on my missions early in my mandate still remain in protracted displacement; others were able to return but continue to struggle to rebuild their lives; and still others have become victims of arbitrary displacement since I came into office. I know of hardly any case where those responsible for arbitrary displacement were prosecuted and punished. Too many internally displaced women and girls remain exposed to sexual and gender-based violence or other forms of abject exploitation, too many displaced children have no chance to access even basic education or are recruited into armed forces and armed groups, and too many men have lost any hope of regaining their ability to care for their loved ones.

On first sight this looks as if there had not been any progress during these years and the international community, despite its many efforts, had failed. A closer look, however, reveals that not only have countless lives been saved thanks to humanitarian assistance and protection activities but also that between 2004 and 2009 an estimated 24.4 million IDPs have been able to return to their areas of origin. Among the countries I visited, improvements in the security situation or peace agreements have allowed large numbers of people to return to their homes in southern Sudan, Nepal, Timor-Leste, Uganda and Sri Lanka, and to a lesser extent in Ivory Coast, Central African Republic and Kenya. Although return does not automatically mean that people find a durable solution, this is an impressive figure.

At the same time, many people remain in displacement over many years or even decades, pointing to an inability or unwillingness to address the underlying causes behind so many internal displacement situations around the world. What we need in this regard is more commitment of the international community and political will on the part of affected states, something that is often lacking.

Progress and achievements

Clear progress can be seen regarding the normative framework guaranteeing the rights of IDPs. When I came into office, a group of states still contested the validity of the Guiding Principles on Internal Displacement because they had not been negotiated by states. The breakthrough came with the 2005 World Summit in New York, when Heads of State and Governments unanimously recognised the Guiding Principles as an important international framework for the protection of internally displaced persons, language which has since then been repeated in several UN General Assembly and Human Rights Council resolutions.

The Great Lakes Protocol on Protection and Assistance to Internally Displaced Persons, adopted in 2006, obliges its ten member states to incorporate the Guiding Principles into their domestic law. 2009 saw the adoption of the AU Convention on the Protection and Assistance of Internally Displaced Persons in Africa, the first legally binding regional instrument of its kind. 3 Several countries have either adopted or are in the process of developing national legislative frameworks, programmes and policies which incorporate or refer to the Guiding Principles, and these are increasingly becoming more detailed and operational.

There have also been normative and conceptual advances with regard to specific aspects and types of internal displacement – for example, on displacement due to natural disasters and climate change, on the process for achieving durable solutions, and on how to include the rights of internally displaced persons in peace processes and agreements.

These are achievements that cannot be underestimated. They have helped to improve our understanding of internal displacement, and to ground policies and programmes in a set of common standards which are based on a human rights framework. I know of many instances where such improvements have meant a better life for real people.

One effect of these developments is a greater readiness of states to discuss their displacement situations. There are still countries like Myanmar or Pakistan which deny that people displaced by military operations are IDPs, but overall I felt a growing willingness of governments not only to discuss IDP issues but also to take at least some steps to better assist and protect them. Some countries, in particular Georgia and Azerbaijan and to some extent also Bosnia, Serbia and Colombia, have started to address their protracted displacement situations with measures to improve the living conditions of their IDPs while awaiting return or other durable solutions; however, problems remain, particularly in the area of livelihoods and for IDPs with special needs.

For the future

Despite the progress made, much work remains to be done in an increasingly difficult environment. I believe we must face up to eight major challenges: 4

  1. Moving beyond ‘camps and conflicts’ – internal displacement in all its forms: An IDP is typically perceived as somebody living in destitution in a camp after fleeing violence and armed conflict. The reality, however, is far more complex. The majority of IDPs live outside camps with host families or are dispersed in urban areas. We need to be more creative in our efforts to assist and protect them. Such efforts should reach all displacement-affected communities, i.e. not only the IDPs but also host communities or communities that have to re-integrate returnees. As regards the causes, every year more people are displaced by natural disasters than by conflicts. Climate change is contributing to this phenomenon as well. In addition, displacement resulting from forced evictions linked to development projects is also on the rise. I feel strongly that responses to such types of displacement remain inadequate.

  2. Addressing multiple layers of vulnerability and discrimination: All IDPs are vulnerable in ways that non-displaced persons are not. However, certain groups of IDPs require particular attention. These include women (especially women heading households), children, the elderly, persons with disabilities or chronic illnesses, and those belonging to ethnic and religious minorities and indigenous peoples. While this is accepted in theory, the specific concerns and needs of these groups are still often overlooked in practice.

  3. Supporting states with limited capacity: Sovereignty entails responsibility. Addressing internal displacement is therefore first and foremost a responsibility of governments. However, much internal displacement today occurs in states with limited capacity to prevent or respond to displacement. The challenge lies in supporting these states’ efforts to adopt and implement comprehensive policies and laws on internal displacement, while ensuring that donors and humanitarian and development agencies assist them with the necessary expertise and resources.

  4. Strengthening the international response: The introduction of the cluster system has led to progress in the coordination of humanitarian action. Yet, humanitarian agencies can still do more to assume their joint responsibilities in respect to the protection of IDPs, especially in the area of disaster-related displacement. Humanitarian agencies can also improve their capacity to make the concept of protection more operational.

  5. Bridging the gap between emergency assistance and long-term reconstruction and development: It is unacceptable and shameful that IDPs are often in a worse situation many years after a crisis than they were during the emergency phase. More flexible funding mechanisms as well as a readiness by humanitarian and development actors to work hand in hand early on in crises are a necessity.

  6. Defending humanitarian space: IDPs and other crisis-affected populations will continue to suffer the consequences of diminished or compromised humanitarian access unless we develop new, innovative approaches such as assistance by ‘remote control’ or development interventions in the midst of a crisis that strengthen the resilience of communities at risk of displacement or the absorptive capacities of host communities.

  7. Ensuring accountability for arbitrary displacement: Arbitrary displacement is a violation of the Guiding Principles and the binding international norms they reflect. In its most egregious forms, arbitrary displacement may amount to crimes against humanity or war crimes. If we are serious about preventing arbitrary displacement, we have to end the impunity prevailing in many displacement situations and bring perpetrators of such crimes to justice and ensure that victims receive appropriate reparations, including compensation.

  8. Ending the politics of protracted displacement: In many countries, people languish in situations of protracted displacement due to a lack of political will to find durable solutions for them. Durable solutions, based on voluntary and informed decisions of those concerned, are the best way to protect the human rights of internally displaced persons and to provide a measure of reparation for the violation of these rights.

 

Walter Kälin was the UN Secretary-General’s Representative on the Human Rights of Internally Displaced Persons from 2004 to 2010. He continues to teach international and constitutional law at the University of Bern, Switzerland.

1 For this and other figures, see IDMC’s annual publication “Internal Displacement, Global Overview of Trends and Developments”

2 Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs, Internal Displacement Monitoring Centre and the Norwegian Refugee Council, Monitoring Disaster Displacement in the Context of Climate Change: Findings of a Study by the United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs and the Internal Displacement Monitoring Centre (Geneva, September 2009).

3 See also article by Katinka Ridderbos.

4 For more details see my 2010 report to the Human Rights Council, UN Doc A/HRC/13/21, paras. 39 ff.

 

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. All articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.