الكوريون الشماليون في الصين بحاجة إلى الحماية الدولية

في وجه استمرار الاضطهاد الذي يعاني منه الكوريون الشماليون ممن أُجبرتهم الصين على العودة قسراً إلى بلدهم الأصلي، على المجتمع الدولي أن يعيد النظر في كيفية تحسين عمله تجاه تأمين الحماية للكوريين الشماليين. بعضهم لاجئون سياسيون وبعضهم الآخر من "اللاجئين في عين المكان" ومع ذلك فإنهم لم يكونوا لاجئين عندما غادروا بلادهم بل أصبحوا كذلك بعد أن أصبح لديهم خوف مشروع من التعرض للاضطهاد بعد عودتهم.

 

في فبراير/شباط 2012، ذكرت الصحف الكورية الجنوبية أنَّ الشرطة الصينية كانت تحتجز 30 كورياً شمالياً ممن عبروا الحدود بطريقة غير مشروعة وأن الشرطة على وشك أن تعيدهم إلى بلدهم. ومع أن هذه الممارسة مستمرة منذ بضع سنين فقد أبدت حكومة كوريا الجنوبية اعتراضاً علنياً  للمرة الأولى كما أثار عدد من الحكومات الغربية والآسيوية الموضوع مع الصين. وحث المفوض السامي للاجئين علناً الحكومة الصينية على عدم إعادة الكوريين الشماليين.

ووراء حملة المناصرة كان هناك علم أنَّ الكوريين الشماليين إن أعيدوا إلى وطنهم سيلقون عقاباً شديداً حيث إنَّ حكومة كوريا الشمالية تجرِّم من يغادر البلاد دون الحصول على إذن مسبَّق وتعاقب مرتكبي "تلك الجناية" ممن يعودون إليها. وبالنسبة لمن اعتبرتهم على أنهم سعوا للجوء السياسي في الصين أو حاولوا الوصول إلى كوريا الجنوبية فإنهم يتلقون معاملة أكثر قسوة فيلقون في السجن لمدة طويلة بل قد يُعدمون. والمجموعة قيد البحث التي تتكون من ثلاثين فرداً ينتمون إلى تلك الفئات.

أسس الحماية

خلال السنوات الماضية، ازداد عدد الكوريين الشماليين المتهافتين على كوريا الجنوبية[1] وأفادوا بتعرضهم للضرب والتعذيب والاعتقال والعمالة القسرية بل في بعض الأحيان حملت بعض النساء من رجال صينيين ثم تعرضن إلى الإجهاض القسري أو قتل الأجنة بعد ترحيلهن من الصين. [2] وبعد تحريرهم من الاحتجاز، عمد كثير منهم إلى الهروب عائدين إلى الصين في رحلة محفوفة بالمخاطر إلى كوريا الجنوبية.

 

وفي حين أنَّ الحكومة الصينية تسمح لآلاف أو لعشرات الألوف من الكوريين الشماليين بالاختباء في بلادها فإنَّها لا تمنحهم أي حق كان بل بمقدورها تسفيرهم في أي وقت كان. وخلال العقدين السابقين، أعادت الصين قسراً عشرات الألوف من الكوريين الشماليين. فمن وجهة نظر الحكومة الصينية يمثل هؤلاء جميعاً مهاجرين غير شرعيين ممن عبروا الحدود لأسباب اقتصادية، لكن صفتهم مع ذلك غير واضحة أبداً لأن الصين لا تتبنى أي عملية لمقاضاة اللاجئين ناهيك عن أنها منعت مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين من الوصول إلى الكوريين الشماليين على حدود الصين.

 

هناك احتمال في أن يكون هناك عدد محدد للأشخاص الساعين وراء اللجوء بسبب خوفهم الكبير من الاضطهاد في بلادهم. وهناك ما بين 150,000 إلى 200,000 شخص من المسجونين في كوريا الشمالية في مخيمات العمل وغيرها من المؤسسات العِقابِية على خلفيات سياسية. [3]  ويتعرض الكوريون الشماليون بانتظام إلى الاعتقال إذا ما عبَّروا عن آرائهم السياسية أو إذا كان يُشك بإيمانهم بعقائد سياسية لا تقبل بها السلطات كما يعاقبون إذا ما استمعوا إلى محطات الإذاعة الأجنبية أو شاهدوا الأقراص المدمجة التي تنتجها كوريا الجنوبية أو إذا مارسوا عقائدهم الدينية أو حاولوا مغادرة البلاد دون إذن. وعلاوة على ذلك، فإنَّ الأشخاص الذين ينهون مدة محكوميتهم بسبب ذهابهم إلى الصين يعرفون أنَّهم سيخضعون إلى الرقابة وأنهم سيواجهون التمييز ضدهم في كوريا الشمالية ولذلك فإنَّ كثيراً منهم يحاولون مجدداً مغادرة البلاد لكن بسبب آخر لا يتعلق بالطعام والعمل بل بحثاً عن اللجوء السياسي وصولاً إلى كوريا الجنوبية.

هناك اعتبار آخر وهو أنَّ عدداً معيناً من الأشخاص الذين دخلوا الصين بطريقة غير مشروعة لأسباب اقتصادية يمكن أن تنطبق عليهم شروط صفة اللاجئين إذا أُجبروا على مغادرة كوريا الشمالية على خلفية السياسات الاقتصادية التي تميز ضدهم أو نتيجة تعرضهم للاضطهاد لأسباب سياسية. فكوريا الشمالية تتبع نظاماً اسمه نظام السونغبان يصنف العائلات الكورية الشمالية وفقاً لطبقات اجتماعية فيه يُوزّع المواطنون على طبقة اجتماعية معينة اعتماداً على مدى ولاء عائلاتهم للنظام السياسي وهذه الفئات هي: الأساسية والمترددة والمعادية. [4] فالمواطن المصنف ضمن الفئات الأدنى يحصل على المؤن الغذائية والمادية نفسها التي تحصل عليها الصفوة السياسية وجزء كبير من الجيش. ولذلك فإن سعيهم للهجرة غير الشرعية قد يكون مبنياً على السعي للعيش نتيجة للتمييز السياسي أو الاضطهاد ومن هنا قد يكون الطريق الصحيح لمعالجة تلك القضايا دراستها ضمن عملية تسعى إلى تقرير صفة لجوئهم.

ولكن إلى حد بعيد فإنَّ نقطة الجدل المفسرة لسبب عدم جواز قسر الكوريين الشماليين على العودة مبنية على أنَّ معظم هؤلاء الكوريين مؤهلون لتصنيفهم على أنهم "لاجئون في عين المكان" وهذه الصفة تعرفها مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين على أنها تتضمن الأشخاص الذين ربما لم تنطبق عليهم الشروط التي تجعلهم لاجئين لدى مغادرتهم لبلادهم بل يصبحون لاجئين في وقت لاحق عندما ينتابهم خوف مشروع إزاء التعرض للاضطهاد فور عودتهم. كما أنَّ الكوريين الشماليين ممن يغادرون بلادهم لأسباب اقتصادية (قد يكون غالبيتهم كذلك) لديهم أسباب مشروعة للخوف من الاضطهاد والعقاب فور العودة.

مقاومة الضغوط

في عام 2006، وأثناء زيارته للصين، أثار المفوض السامي للاجئين مفهوم اللاجئين في عين المكان مع المسؤولين الصينيين. وأخبرهم أنَّ إعادة الكوريين الشماليين قسراً دون خوضهم في عملية لتحديد صفة اللجوء وإلى بلدهم الأصلي حيث ينتظرهم الاضطهاد يشكل انتهاكاً لاتفاقية اللاجئين. ومنذ عام 2004، اعتبرت مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين الكوريين الشماليين في الصين الذين لا يحملون أذوناً في الإقامة فيها "أشخاصاً يثيرون القلق حولهم" ما يستدعي تقديم الحماية الإنسانية لهم، واقترحت على الصين تقديم وضع إنساني خاص للكوريين الشماليين لتمكينهم من الحصول على وثائق مؤقتة والوصول إلى الخدمات والحصول على الحماية إزاء العودة القسرية.

كما ناشدت منظمات أخرى تابعة للأمم المتحدة الصين بتعليق العمل بالإعادة القسرية للكوريين الشماليين فقد دعت لجنة مناهضة التعذيب -وهي الجهة الخبيرة المسؤولة عن رصد تطبيق معاهدة مناهضة التعذيب- الصين إلى تأسيس عملية للفرز والسماح بدخول مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين. [5] كما دعت لجنة حقوق الطفل الصين لضمان عدم إعادة أي طفل كوري شمالي من غير المصحوبين ببالغين نظراً لإمكانية تعرضهم إلى "خطر الأذى غير القابل للعلاج"[6] وكذلك تقارير الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة وتقارير المقرر الخاص لحقوق الإنسان في كوريا الشمالية بالإضافة إلى قرارات الجمعية العمومية التي تبنتها أكثر من 100 دولة دعت الدول المجاورة لكوريا الشمالية إلى التوقف عن تسفير الكوريين الشماليين. [7]

وإلى هذا التاريخ، ما زالت الصين تقاوم تلك النداءات، باستثناء الحالات التي وصل بها الكوريون الشماليون إلى السفارات أو القنصليات الأجنبية أو مجمع مكاتب مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين في بكين حيث شعرت الصين بضرورة التعاون رغماً عنها مع الحكومات الأخرى أو المفوضية في تسهيل رحيل الكوريين الشماليين إلى كوريا الجنوبية أو إلى بلدان أخرى. وفي مارس/آذار 2012 رغم جميع المناشدات والنداءات الدولية أعادت الصين إلى كوريا الشمالية مجموعة الكوريين الشماليين الثلاثين إلا أنها سمحت لأحد عشر كورياً شمالياً ممن اختبأوا في البعثات الدبلوماسية لكوريا الجنوبية في الصين الرحيل إلى كوريا الجنوبية. [8]

يثير قلق الصين التدفقات كبيرة المدى المحتملة من كوريا الشمالية وأثر تلك التدفقات على استقرار كوريا الشمالية كما يقال إنها قلقة إزاء نشوء قومية كورية على حدودها في أراض تطالب بها كوريا تاريخياً. لكنها تتعاون مع كوريا الشمالية في حرمان الكوريين الشماليين من حق مغادرة بلدهم وطلب اللجوء في الخارج وبذلك فإنَّ الصين تنتهك التزاماتها بموجب قانون حقوق الإنسان واللاجئين ومسؤولياتها بصفتها عضو في اللجنة التنفيذية لمفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين.

ما وراء المأزق

هل سيكون من المفيد في حل المأزق إذا ما تمكنت الحكومات من إنشاء مكاتب تمثيلية خاصة لها في الصين وهل سيكون من المفيد إصدارها للبيانات العامة التي تحاول من خلالها إقناع الصين بالتحفظ على سياسة إعادة اللاجئين قسراً إلى بلادهم؟ لقد جاءت موافقة الرئيس الصيني "هو جينتاو " للسماح بالكوريين الشماليين الموجودين في البعثات الدبلوماسية لكوريا الجنوبية بالمغادرة لكوريا الجنوبية بعد محادثات مع رئيس كوريا الجنوبية في نهاية مارس/آذار. مثل هذا التقدم يمكن أن تحرزه الحكومات الأخرى لو صرَّحت بآرائها وبمقدور مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية للاجئين أن ترفع من مستوى حضورها. وفي حين أنَّ بعض كوادر المفوضية تخشى أن تخاطر الوكالة الدولية بوصولها للفئات الأخرى من اللاجئين في الصين فيما لو انتحت منهجاً أكثر وضوحاً بشأن الكوريين الشماليين، فإنَّ ممارسات الصين نحو الكوريين الشماليين تهدد بتقويض مبادئ منظومة اللاجئين الدولية، لذلك قد يكون بإمكان المفوضية أن تحث الصين على إعلان تعليقها للتسفيرات وتبني تشريع يحترم التزاماتها بموجب اتفاقية اللاجئين. ومع ذلك يمكن القول إنَّ السياسة الحالية للصين كما ذكرنا آنفاً لن توقف الكوريين الشماليين من السعي لعبور الحدود بل إن تلك السياسات لن تتسبب إلا بمزيد من المعاناة الإنسانية وستجعل الصين عرضة إلى قدر كبير من الاستياء الدولي.

ونتيجة لأن تأثير خروج الكوريين الشماليين سيتجاوز البلدان ما وراء الصين فيجب توفير استجابة متعددة الأطراف. يقدم دستور كوريا الجنوبية المواطنة المباشرة لجميع الأشخاص القادمين من كوريا الشمالية كما أنَّ هناك بلدان أخرى راغبة في استقبال الكوريين الشماليين أيضاً. وبالنسبة للصين، يحب على الأقل أن تقدم أذون الإقامة للنساء الكوريات الشماليات اللواتي يتزوجن في النهاية من الرجال الصينيين وكذلك لأطفالهن. والحمل الملقى على عاتق المجتمع الدولي (كذلك الملقى على فئات اللاجئين الآخرين) يجب في هذه الحالة بناؤه على أنه الطريق الأمثل لإنهاء سوء معاملة الكوريين الشماليين وإيجاد الحلول لهم. مثل هذا المنهج متعدد الأطراف أصبح ضرورياً اليوم أكثر من أي وقت مضى حيث ما زال الجوع متفشياً في كوريا الشمالية أما قائدها الجديد كيم يونغ إيون فيبدو أنه ينتهج السياسات التي وضعها أسلافه.

روبيرتا كوهين rcidp@msn.com زميل رئيسي غير مقيم في مؤسسة بروكنغز ورئيس مشارك للجنة حقوق الإنسان في كوريا الشمالية.



[1] هناك حوالي 25000 "منشق" في كوريا الجنوبية.

[2] انظر لجنة حقوق الإنسان في كوريا الشمالية، Hidden Gulag (معسكرات العمل المخفية)، الإصدار الثاني،  www.hrnk.org ومخيمات السجون الكورية الشمالية: كبيرة ومتنامية  (North Korean Prison Camps Massive and Growing’)، صحيفة نيويورك تايمز، 4/5/2011، و وزارة الخارجية، تقارير حقوق الإنسان 2011:  جمهورية كوريا الديمقراطية الشعبية، www.state.gov/j/drl/rls/hrrpt/2010/eap/154388.htm

[3] المرجع السابق، انظر أيضاً كتاب قضايا انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان في كوريا الشمالية (Casebook of North Korea’s Infringement of Human Rights) المفوضية الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان في كوريا، أبريل/نيسان 2012

www.humanrightskorea.org/tag/case-book-of-north-koreas-infringement-of-human-right /

[4] انظر روبيرت كولنز، مُعلَّم للحياة: نظام سونغبان في تنصيف الطبقات الاجتماعية في كوريا الشمالية (Marked for Life: Songbun, North Korea’s Social Classification System) اللجنة الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان في كوريا، 2012

[5] لجنة مناهضة تعذيب الطفل. الملحوظات الختامية: الصين CAT/C/CHN/CO/4, 12 ديسمبر/كانون الأول 2008.

[6].لجنة مناهضة تعذيب الطفل. الملحوظات الختامية: الصين CAT/C/CHN/CO/2, 24 نوفمبر/تشرين الثاني 2008 الفقرات 80-82

[7] انظر قرار الجمعية العمومية للأمم المتحدة A/66/462/Add.3, 2011 وتقرير المقرر الخاص حول الوضع الإنساني في جمهورية كوريا الديمقراطية الشعبية. A/66/322, 24 August 2011 الفقرة 70.

[8] الصين تسمح لأحد عشر لاجئاً في القنصليات بالانشقاق"  China to let 11 refugees in consulates to defect’) صحيفة جونغانغ اليومية، 28/3/2012.

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

North Koreans in China in need of international protection

Roberta Cohen

In the face of continuing persecution of North Koreans who are forcibly returned to their country of origin by China, the international community needs to reconsider how it might better work towards securing protection for North Koreans. Some may be political refugees, others ‘refugees sur place’; they may not have been refugees when they left their country but become refugees because they have a valid fear of persecution upon return.

In February 2012, the South Korean press reported that China’s police were holding some 30 North Koreans who had crossed the border illegally, and were about to return them. Although this practice had been going on for many years, the South Korean government publicly protested for the first time and a number of Western and Asian governments raised the issue with China. The UN High Commissioner for Refugees publicly urged the Chinese government not to send the North Koreans back.            

Behind the advocacy was the knowledge that, if returned, the North Koreans would face severe punishment. The North Korean government considers it a criminal offence to leave the country without permission and punishes persons who are returned. Those deemed to have sought political asylum in China or to have tried to reach South Korea receive the harshest treatment. They are subject to lengthy imprisonment or even execution. The group of 30 threatened with return fit these categories.

Grounds for protection

In recent years, an increasing number of North Koreans arriving in the South[i] have been giving testimonies about the beatings, torture, detention, forced labour and – in the case of women impregnated by Chinese men – forced abortions or infanticide to which they have been subject following deportation.[ii] When released from detention, many escape back to China and make the harrowing journey to South Korea.

While the Chinese government allows thousands or tens of thousands of North Koreans to hide in their country, the North Koreans have no rights and can be deported at any time. Over the past two decades, China has forcibly returned tens of thousands of North Koreans. In China’s view, they are illegal migrants who cross the border for economic reasons. Their status, however, is far from clear because China has no refugee adjudication process and UNHCR has been denied access by China to North Koreans at the border.

That a definite number are seeking asylum because of a well-founded fear of persecution is probable. Some 150,000 to 200,000 people are incarcerated in North Korea in labour camps and other penal facilities on political grounds.[iii] North Koreans are regularly arrested if they express or appear to hold political views unacceptable to the authorities, listen to foreign broadcasts, watch South Korean DVDs, practise their own religious beliefs or try to leave the country without permission. Moreover, those who serve time in detention for having gone to China know that they will be under surveillance – and face discrimination – in North Korea and therefore many leave again, this time not for food or work but to seek political refuge, ultimately in South Korea.

A second consideration is that a certain number of those who cross illegally into China for economic reasons could be found to qualify as refugees if they were compelled to leave North Korea because of economic policies that discriminated against or persecuted them on political grounds. In North Korea, under the songbun social stratification system, citizens are assigned to a particular class based on the political loyalty of their families (core, wavering or hostile).[iv] Those in the lower categories do not have the same access to food and material supplies as do the political elite and much of the army. Their quest for economic survival could therefore be the result of political discrimination or persecution, and the right way to handle these cases would be to examine them in a refugee status determination process.

But by far the most compelling argument why North Koreans should not be forcibly returned is that most fit the category of ‘refugee sur place’. As defined by UNHCR, refugees sur place are persons who might not have been refugees when they left their country but who become refugees at a later date because they have a valid fear of persecution upon return. North Koreans who leave their country for economic reasons – probably the majority – have valid reasons for fearing persecution and punishment upon return.

Resisting pressure 

In 2006, while on a visit to China, the High Commissioner for Refugees raised the concept of refugees sur place with Chinese officials. He told them that forcibly repatriating North Koreans without any determination process and where they could be persecuted on return stands in violation of the Refugee Convention. Since 2004, UNHCR has deemed North Koreans in China without permission to be ‘persons of concern’, meriting humanitarian protection. It has proposed to China a special humanitarian status for North Koreans, which would enable them to obtain temporary documentation, access to services, and protection from forced return.

Other UN bodies have also called upon China to halt the forced repatriation of North Koreans. The Committee against Torture, the expert body monitoring implementation of the torture convention, has called on China to establish a screening process and allow UNHCR access.[v] The Committee on the Rights of the Child has called on China to ensure that no unaccompanied child from North Korea is returned to conditions where there is “risk of irreparable harm”.[vi] The reports of the UN Secretary-General and of the Special Rapporteur on human rights in North Korea as well as the resolutions of the General Assembly, adopted by more than 100 states, have called upon North Korea’s neighbouring states to cease the deportation of North Koreans.[vii]

To date, China has resisted these requests. Only in cases where North Koreans have made their way to foreign embassies or consulates or the UNHCR compound in Beijing has China felt impelled to cooperate with governments or UNHCR in facilitating their departure to South Korea or other countries. In March 2012, despite all the international appeals, China sent back to North Korea the group of 30 North Koreans – although it allowed eleven North Koreans who had been hiding in South Korean diplomatic missions in China to leave for the South.[viii]

China is concerned about potential large-scale outflows from North Korea and the impact of such flows on North Korea’s stability. It is also said to be concerned about potential Korean nationalism in its border areas where there are historic Korean claims. But by collaborating with North Korea in denying North Koreans the right to leave their country and seek asylum abroad, China is violating its obligations under refugee and human rights law and its responsibilities as a member of UNHCR’s Executive Committee.

Beyond the impasse

Would it help if governments were to step up their private representations to China and also issue public statements to try to persuade China to reverse its repatriation policy? Chinese President Hu Jintao’s agreement to allow North Koreans in South Korean diplomatic missions to depart for South Korea came after talks with South Korea’s President at the end of March. If other governments were likewise to make their views known, progress might be made. And UNHCR could raise its profile. While some UNHCR staff fear that the agency could jeopardise its access to other refugee populations in China were it to become outspoken about the North Koreans, China’s practices toward the North Koreans threaten to undermine the principles of the international refugee regime. UNHCR could urge China to call a moratorium on deportations and adopt legislation incorporating China’s obligations under the Refugee Convention. China’s current policy, it could be pointed out, will not stop North Koreans from trying to cross the border; it will only cause more human misery and subject China to greater international opprobrium.

Because the exodus of North Koreans affects far more countries than China, a multilateral response should be developed. South Korea’s constitution offers immediate citizenship to persons from the North, and other countries have been willing to take in North Koreans as well. For its part, China at a minimum should provide residence permits for North Korean women consensually married to Chinese men and for their children. International burden sharing – as introduced for other refugee populations – should be developed in this case as the best way to end the ill-treatment of North Koreans and to find solutions for them. A multilateral approach could not be more timely as hunger continues to stalk North Korea and new leader Kim Jong Eun appears to be pursuing the policies of his predecessors. 

 

Roberta Cohen is a Non-Resident Senior Fellow at the Brookings Institution and Co-Chair of the Committee for Human Rights in North Korea.



[i] There are currently some 25,000 ‘defectors’ in South Korea. 

[ii] See David Hawk, Hidden Gulag Second Edition, Committee for Human Rights in North Korea, 2012 at www.hrnk.org; ‘North Korean Prison Camps Massive and Growing’, New York Times, May 4, 2011; and Department of State, 2011 Human Rights Reports: Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, at www.state.gov/j/drl/rls/hrrpt/2010/eap/154388.htm

[iii] Ibid. See also Casebook of North Korea’s Infringement of Human Rights, National Commission of Human Rights of Korea, April 2012, at www.humanrightskorea.org/tag/case-book-of-north-koreas-infringement-of-human-right/

[iv] See Robert Collins, Marked for Life: Songbun, North Korea’s Social Classification System, Committee for Human Rights in North Korea, 2012.

[v] Committee against Torture, Concluding Observations: China, CAT/C/CHN/CO/4, 12 December 2008.

[vi] Committee on the Rights of the Child, Concluding Observations: China, CRC/C/CHN/CO/2, 24 November 2005, paras 80-82.

[vii] See UN General Assembly Resolution A/66/462/Add.3, 2011; and Report of the Special Rapporteur on the situation of human rights in the DPRK, A/66/322, 24 August 2011, para 70.

[viii] ‘China to let 11 refugees in consulates to defect’, Joongang Daily, March 28, 2012.

 

FMR 41
December 2012

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.