الحماية في المدينة: بعض الممارسات الجيدة في نيروبي

على الرغم من التحديات التي تكتنف بيئة الحماية، قامت إحدى المنظمات غير الحكومية بوضع برنامج لمساعدة اللاجئين من المثليات والمثليين ومزدوجي الميل الجنسي ومغيري الجندر ومزدوجي الجنس (إل جي بي تي آي) يقدم أمثلة للممارسة الجيدة التي يمكن الاستفادة منها بتكرارها في المحيطات الحضرية الأخرى.

هناك أكثر من 50,000 لاجئ مسجل يعيشون في نيروبي[i]. وتواجه وكالات المساعدة العديد من المصاعب في محاولتها للوصول إلى أكثر الأفراد استضعافاً ضمن هذه الفئة الكبيرة من السكان، وقد يعاني اللاجئون من ذوي الحاجات الخاصة من مصاعب جمَّة للوصول إلى المساعدات التي يحتاجونها. ويمثل الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) مجموعة من ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة. وفي حين أن هناك العديد من المنظمات في نيروبي التي تؤدي عملاً يعود بالفائدة على اللاجئين، تظهر الحاجة لبذل المزيد من الجهود لدمج اللاجئين الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) في برامج المساعدات والحماية.

يجرِّم  قانون العقوبات الكيني العلاقات المثلية بين الرجال بموجب المادتين (162) و(165) منه، وعلى الرغم من قلة قرارات الإدانة على أرض الواقع، تشير تقارير المنظمات غير الحكومية إلى أنَّ الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) يتعرضون للمضايقة والابتزاز على يد الشرطة[ii]. كما يواجه اللاجئون الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) مخاطر ذات طبيعة خاصة ضمن مجتمعات اللاجئين وأيضاً من السكان المحليين. ويوثق تقرير منظمة حقوق الإنسان أولاً الطريق إلى السلامة[iii] ارتفاع مستويات العنف داخل مجتمعات اللاجئين تجاه الـ (إل جي بي تي آي)، بما في ذلك الضرب والخطف كما سجَّل محاولة إحراق صبي صومالي مثلي. ويلاحظ تقرير جمعية مساعدة المهاجرين العبرانيين المحجوبون في المدينة الاعتداءات التي يرتكبها المواطنون الكينيون بحق اللاجئين من الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) المشاركين في أعمال الجنس[iv].

وغالباً ما يعاني اللاجئون الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) في سعيهم للحصول على المساعدة من المنظمات غير الحكومية أو مكاتب المفوضية العليا للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين أو مقدمي خدمات الرعاية الصحية نظراً للخوف من أن يكتشف اللاجئون الآخرون أنهم من الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) ما يؤدي إلى تعريضهم للمضايقات و/ أو العنف. أما غيرهم فيخشون من التمييز ضدهم والإخلال بحقوقهم من قِبل مقدمي الخدمات. فعلى سبيل المثال، أخبر أحد اللاجئين منظمة "حقوق الإنسان أولاً" أنه كان يخشى التواصل مع المفوضية العليا للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين أو أي منظمة غير حكومية للحصول على المساعدة نظراً لخشيته من تعرُّف اللاجئين عليه كشخص من جمع الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) أو أن يكشف هويته أحد الموظفين. وقد فقد عمله وطُرد من مسكنه وتخلت عنه الكنيسة بعد علم الكاهن بأنه مثلي. كما أخبرنا أن ثلاثة من أصدقائه الأخرين تعرضوا لنفس الموقف المستضعف، لكنهم مع ذلك كانوا يخشون كثيراً السعي للحصول على المساعدة وأن السبب الوحيد لمجيئه في ذلك اليوم هو موافقة المنظمة غير الحكومية التي التقى بها على رؤيته يوم الجمعة حيث لا يوجد في العادة زائرون.

الدعم وتحديد الهوية

على الرغم من هذه التحديات، هناك بعض الممارسات الجيدة في نيروبي التي يمكن اتباعها في مناطق أخرى. ويرتبط أحد الأمثلة بدعم الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) ذوي نقاط الاستضعاف الخاصة وتحديدهم. ففي عام 2009، وضعت إحدى المنظمات غير الحكومية في نيروبي برنامجاً لمساعدة اللاجئين من الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) عملت فيه كوادر المنظمة على إحالة عدد من الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) المحتاجين للمساعدة من خلال التواصل مع منظمات الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) المحلية ومقدمي خدمات الرعاية الصحية الموثوق بهم والمؤسسات الدينية التقدمية، فضلاً عن المنظمات الأخرى العاملة مع اللاجئين لتعريفهم بالمساعدة التي يوفرها هذا البرنامج. ومؤخراً، أقامت المنظمة غير الحكومية مكاتب فرعية لها في المناطق التي يعيش فيها أعداد كبيرة من اللاجئين، ما مكنهم من تعزيز إمكانية الوصول إلى الخدمات من خلال توفير الوقت وتكاليف النقل.

في هذه المكاتب الفرعية، يقدم استشاريو اللاجئين المدربون الدعم في مجتمعات اللاجئين المحلية، وأدى ذلك إلى زيادة كبيرة في عدد اللاجئين من الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) ممن يسعون إلى الحصول على المساعدة، فخلال الأشهر الستة الأولى من افتتاح المكاتب الفرعية الجديدة وصل عدد الأشخاص الذين تواصلوا مع المنظمة للحصول على المساعدة 120 شخصاً. ومن المهم أيضاً سياسة "الباب المفتوح" للمنظمة، حيث لا يحتاج اللاجئون إلى طلب تحديد المواعيد، بل يمكنهم الذهاب مباشرة إلى المكتب في أي وقت، وهذا يعني أنه لا يتعين على اللاجئين من الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) الانتظار مع اللاجئين الأخرين لمدد طويلة من أجل الحصول على الخدمات، وهذا ما ذكر اللاجئون الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) على أنه عقبة كبرى أمامهم نظراً لخوفهم من اكتشاف باقي اللاجئين لميولهم الجنسية أو هوياتهم الجندرية.

وقبل نهج الدعم الجديد، لم يكن كثير من المثليات يقدمن للحصول على المساعدة، لكن الأـمر اختلف بعد أن تأسست المكاتب الفرعية وأصبحت عاملة، فقد تواصلت أكثر من 40 لاجئة مثلية مع المنظمة غير الحكومية. ومع تعرُّض بعض النساء للعوائق الإضافية كالحصول على المال اللازم للتنقل أو الإذن من الزوج أو من فرد أخر من أفراد الأسرة لمغادرة المنزل، فقد جعل قرب المكاتب الفرعية الحصول على الحماية أكثر سهولة. كما أظهر نجاح هذا الدعم أهمية تقديم الدعم الاستباقي وتحديد الخدمات في المناطق التي يمكن أن يصل إليها اللاجئون والمرونة في تحديد المواعيد.

ونظراً لأنَّ عدداً من اللاجئين الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) في كينيا يشاركون في عمالة الجنس، فلا بد من التوجه إلى المناطق التي يكثر فيها هؤلاء العاملين في الجنس لتقديم الدعم ولتحديد هوياتهم وإحالتهم إلى المراجع المختصة  وحالياً، تقوم منظمات الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) بحملات توعية صحية بين العاملين والعاملات بالجنس من الـ (إل جي بي تي آي)، والتي يمكن توسيع نطاقها لتشتمل على نشر الوعي بخصوص قضايا حماية اللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء من الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) من المنخرطين في أعمال الجنس.

الملاذ الآمن

مثال أخر للممارسة الجيدة من كينيا هو توفير الملاذ الآمن لعدد محدود من اللاجئين من الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) المعرضين للمخاطر. وفي حين يجب اتخاذ الخطوات اللازمة لجعل البيوت الآمنة الحالية (مثل بيوت ضحايا العنف القائم على الجندر) آمنة للجميع، وضعت إحدى المنظمات غير الحكومية برنامجاً للإسكان في مواقع منتشرة للاجئين الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) الذي يواجهون مخاطر كبيرة أثناء انتظارهم لإعادة توطينهم. فبدلاً من تسكين الأفراد في منزل آمن منفرد، يساعد هذا البرنامج اللاجئين في تحديد مكان الإقامة الآمن ويغطي تكاليف التأجير لمدة مؤقتة. ويختار العديد من هؤلاء اللاجئين الإقامة في المناطق بعيداً عن الأماكن التي يعيش بها غيرهم من اللاجئين، لأن ذلك يمكِّنهم من إخفاء أمرهم لدرجة أكبر. ويساعد هذا النهج أيضاً في تبديد المخاوف من أن يصبح المنزل الآمن المنفرد للاجئين الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) هدفاً للمضايقات أو العنف.

الدعم النفسي والاجتماعي

يجد بعض اللاجئين الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) أنفسهم بعيدين عن أي نظام للدعم الاجتماعي نظراً لخشيتهم من المضايقات أو العنف في حال كشفهم عن ميولهم الجنسية أو هوياتهم الجندرية. وتساهم هذه العزلة في تشكيل بعض اللاجئين الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) لعلاقات الإعالة التي قد غالباً ما تتسم بالتعرض للإساءة الجنسية حيث يصبح فيها الفرد الواحد مصدراً للدعم لقاء تقديم الخدمات المهينة أو الجنسية، وقد يساهم ذلك في ارتفاع معدلات اضطراب توتر ما بعد الصدمة المنتشر بين هذه الفئة من اللاجئين.

وفي نيروبي، تعقد إحدى المنظمات غير الحكومية جلسات إرشادية علاجية جماعية منتظمة يديرها اللاجئون بتوجيه من مستشار علاجي قدير. وتخفف هذه المجموعة من مشاعر العزلة وتمثل دور مجموعة الدعم حيث تُطرح المشكلات وتُناقش الحلول. كما تُقدم الاستشارات الفردية أيضاً من قِبل المنظمة غير الحكومية بالتركيز على القبول الذاتي والمساعدة في التمييز بين العداء المجتمعي وبين المفاهيم الشخصية بخصوص الميل الجنسي والهوية الجندرية. ويمكّن ذلك اللاجئين الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) من اتخاذ القرارات المطلعة حول الدرجة التي يمكنهم بها التصدي للضغوط الاجتماعية التي تدفعهم إلى موافقة المعايير الاجتماعي. كما يمكِّنهم أيضاً من بناء قدراتهم على مقاومة الظروف وإحساسهم بقيمتهم الذاتية ويزيد من شعورهم بالتحكم في حياتهم. كما توفر الفعاليات الاجتماعية التي ينظمها مجتمع الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) الفرصة لبناء شبكة اجتماعية محلية.

التدريب

خلال السنوات الثلاث الماضية، أقامت المنظمة غير الحكومية نفسها تدريباً لموظفي المفوضية العليا للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين وشركائها الدوليين في نيروبي حول الطرق المختلفة التي يمكن بها للاجئين الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) تمثيل ميولهم الجنسية وهوياتهم الجندرية، علاوة على التعامل مع رهاب المثلية الجنسية الداخلي والمؤسسي ورهاب تغيير الجندر بين موظفي المفوضية العليا للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين والمنظمة غير الحكومية. وقد ساهم التدريب في رفع مستوىالوعي بالاحتياجات الخاصة للاجئين من الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) وساعد في تحدي ومواجهة الإخلال بحقوقهم من قِبل الموظفين على المستوى الفردي والمؤسسي. ويلزم الدعم المستمر من أجل هذا التدريب، حيث تتطلب العمليات المواجهة للتمييز والإخلال بالحقوق إبداء الالتزامات طويلة الأجل. وتخطط جمعية مساعدة المهاجرين العبرانيين لإصدار دليل لتفصيل أفضل ممارسات العمل مع اللاجئين الـ (إل جي بي تي آي)، والذي سيمثل أساساً للتدريب الإقليمي الإضافي.

الممارسات الجيدة الإضافية

يصعب في أغلب الأحيان على اللاجئين الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) إظهار هوياتهم الجنسية علناً خوفاً من تعرضهم لمخاطر العنف أو المضايقات. ومن هنا وجد بعض اللاجئين الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) أنه من النافع في بعض الأحيان أن يكون هناك موظفين محددين – نقاط الاتصال – للعمل مع المفوضية العليا للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين أو المنظمات غير الحكومية. هذا يعني أنه بإمكان اللاجئين من الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) مطالبة مكتب الاستقبال بالتحدث إلى موظف محدد بدلاً من شرح طبيعة ظروفهم والمساعدة في بناء الثقة.

تشكل حماية السرية مدصر قلق كبير. وفي كينيا، يستشهد اللاجئون من الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) بوجود المترجمين الفوريين من بلدهم الأصلي في مكتب المفوضية العليا للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين أو في المنظمة غير الحكومية على أنه سبب في عدم سعيهم للحصول على المساعدة عبر هذه المنظمة، بغض النظر عما إذا كان المترجم الفوري سيتواجد أو لن يتواجد في الغرفة أثناء زيارتهم. وتشمل أساليب محاولة التعامل مع ذلك عرض المعلومات في مناطق الاستقبال بخصوص سرية جميع المعلومات في المقابلات الشخصية وفي ملفات اللاجئين، علاوة على تضمين المعلومات حول حماية السرية في مواد الدعم. وبالمثل، قدمت بعض المنظمات غير الحكومية اللافتات الإرشادية حول مكاتبهم مثل أعلام قوس قزح أو الملصقات الموضحة أنه لن يتم التمييز ضد اللاجئين على أي أساس، بما في ذلك أساس الميل الجنسي والهوية الجندرية. ويجب أن تسعى المفوضية العليا للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين والمنظمات غير الحكومية إلى المساعدة في توفير السرية، حيث يمكن للاجئين تقديم المعلومات في تكتم السماح لأحد بالاطلاع عليها. وعلى جميع الموظفين، بمن فيهم المترجمين الفوريين والموظفين الإضافيين، مثل حراس الأمن والسائقين، تلقي التدريب حول على نبذ التمييز وأهمية السرية.

وفي كينيا، يمكن تعقب التسجيل وتقرير وضع اللاجئين بشكل سريع بناءً على طلب إحدى المنظمات الشريكة. لكن لا يتم إحالة كافة اللاجئين من الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) المعرضين للمخاطر من قِبل الشركاء. ونتيجة لذلك، فإنه يتعين على المفوضية العليا للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين أن تتخذ الإجراءات اللازمة لتفعيل التعقب السريع لمقدمي الطلبات من الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) المستضعفين الذين يأتون إلى المكتب مباشرة من أجل التسجيل وتقرير وضع اللجوء.

ونظراً لمواجهة اللاجئين من الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) للمخاطر الكبرى للعنف في بعض الدول أو المناطق، يتعين على المفوضية العليا للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين والمنظمات غير الحكومية اتخاذ الخطوات اللازمة لتقديم الحماية، بما في ذلك  توثيق أحداث العنف وزيادة الاهتمام حول الثغرات القائمة في الاستجابة الشُرَطِيَّة للحكومة وتحديد الممارسين الطبيين والقانونيين الذين يمكنهم مساعدة الضحايا وتسهيل الحصول على المأوى الآمن. ويعد تقديم الدعم إلى الشرطة في مهامها الخاصة بحماية كافة الأشخاص، بمن فيهم اللاجئين من الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) ، فضلاً عن التعامل مع العنف بين اللاجئين، بمن فيهم اللاجئين من الـ (إل جي بي تي آي)، هما استراتيجيتان إضافيتان للمساعدة في تحسين الحماية.

ويلزم على دول إعادة التوطين الاستمرار في تعزيز إجراءات الإسراع في التوطين في الحالات التي يواجه فيها الأفراد مخاطر جسيمة. كما يتعين على دول إعادة التوطين دعم توفير تدابير الحماية مثل المأوى الآمن أو النقل إلى أحد مرافق العبور في حالات الطوارئ لمن يتعرضون للمخاطر الجسيمة أثناء انتظارهم إعادة التوطين.

وفي عام 2012، عملت المفوضية العليا للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين في نيروبي مع الشركاء الحضريين لتقييم مساعدة اللاجئين من ذوي الحاجات الخاصة بمن فيهم الـ (إل جي بي تي آي)، وذلك وفق سياسة العمر والجنس والتنوع الخاصة بالمفوضية العليا للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين[v]. ونتيجة لذلك، أنشأت نقاط العمل لتحسين النواحي المختلفة مثل تعيين الهوية والدعم والإحالات وإدارة الحالات والحصول على المعلومات والخدمات. وسيساعد هذا النهج النافع، وذلك في حال تنفيذه بصورة فاعلة في المناطق الحضرية و المخيمات وفي حل التحديث المستمر، في تحسين تعميم حماية الجماعات المستضعفة في برامج الحماية والمساعدة الخاصة بالمفوضية العليا للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين والمنظمات غير الحكومية.

دانكان برين BreenD@humanrightsfirst.org هو مشارك رئيسي في برنامج حماية اللاجئين التابع لمنظمة "حقوق الإنسان أولاً" www.humanrightsfirst.org، و يفتاخ ميلو yiftach.hias@gmail.com استشاري بحثي لدى HIAS  www.hias.org.



[i] أعلنت الحكومة الكينية في ديسمبر/كانون الأول 2012 أن اللاجئين الذين يعيشون في المناطق الحضرية سيُعاد نقلهم في مخيمات داداب وكاكوما، وأن الوكالات الخدمية في المناطق الحضرية عليها التوقف عن مساعدة اللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء على الفور. لمزيد من التحديثات وتقييم الأثر، يُرجى زيارة www.urpn.org.

[ii] مفوضية حقوق الإنسان في كينيا: الخارجون على القانون بيننا (The Outlawed Amongst Us)   http://tinyurl.com/KHRC-Outlawed

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Protection in the city: some good practice in Nairobi

Duncan Breen and Yiftach Millo

Despite a challenging protection environment, an assistance programme for LGBTI refugees in Nairobi offers examples of good practice that could be replicated in other urban settings.

More than 50,000 registered refugees live in Nairobi.[1] Assistance agencies face multiple difficulties in trying to reach the most vulnerable individuals within such a large population, and refugees with particular needs can struggle to access the assistance they need. Lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and intersex (LGBTI) refugees constitute one such group. While there are many organisations in Nairobi doing valuable work with refugees, more effort is needed to integrate LGBTI refugees into assistance and protection programmes.

Same-sex relations between men are prohibited by Section 162 and 165 of Kenya’s Penal Code and, although there are few actual convictions, NGO reports indicate harassment and blackmail of LGBTI people by police.[2] LGBTI refugees also face particular risks within refugee communities as well as from the local population. Human Rights First’s report The Road to Safety[3] documents high levels of violence within refugee communities towards LGBTI refugees, including beatings, abductions and one attempt to set a gay Somali boy alight. HIAS’s report Invisible in the City also notes attacks by Kenyan citizens on LGBTI refugees involved in survival sex work.[4]

LGBTI refugees often struggle to access assistance from NGOs, UNHCR offices or health-care providers due to a fear of being identified as LGBTI by other refugees and consequently subjected to harassment and/or violence. Others fear being subjected to discrimination and prejudice from service providers. For example, one refugee told Human Rights First how he had been too afraid to approach UNHCR or an NGO for assistance because he worried that either other refugees there would identify him as LGBTI or a member of staff would expose him. He had already lost his job and his place of residence and had been thrown out of his church when the pastor learned that he was gay. He told us that he had three other friends who were in an equally vulnerable situation but were too scared to seek help and that the only reason he had come that day was because the NGO where we met him had agreed to see him on a Friday when there were usually no visitors.

Outreach and identification

Despite these challenges, there are some good practices in Nairobi that could be replicated elsewhere. One example relates to outreach and identification of LGBTI refugees with particular vulnerabilities. In 2009 an NGO in Nairobi established an assistance programme for LGBTI refugees; its staff generated referrals of LGBTI refugees in need of assistance by approaching local LGBTI organisations, trusted health-care providers and progressive religious institutions, as well as other organisations working with refugees, to let them know about the assistance it provides. More recently, the NGO has established satellite offices in areas where large numbers of refugees live, thereby making services more accessible by reducing time and transport costs.

Trained refugee counsellors based in these satellite offices conduct outreach in the local refugee communities; this has resulted in a significant increase in the number of LGBTI refugees seeking assistance with 120 LGBTI people approaching the organisation for help in the first six months of the new satellite offices being open. Also important is the NGO’s ‘open door’ policy; refugees do not require appointments but can approach the office at any time, which means that LGBTI refugees do not have to wait with other refugees for extended periods in order to access services – something that LGBTI refugees had identified as a major obstacle due to fear of their sexual orientation or gender identity being discovered by other refugees.

Prior to the new outreach approach, few lesbian women came forward for assistance but since the satellite offices became operational, more than 40 lesbian refugees have approached the NGO. With some women facing additional barriers in accessing transport money or requiring permission from their husband or another male family member to leave their homes, the proximity of the satellite offices has made protection more accessible. The success of this outreach has shown the importance of conducting pro-active outreach, locating services in areas accessible to refugees and being flexible about appointments.

A number of LGBTI refugees in Kenya are engaged in survival sex. Outreach, identification and referral work therefore also needs to take place in areas where sex workers congregate. Kenyan LGBTI organisations currently conduct health awareness sensitisation among LGBTI sex workers which could be expanded to include sensitisation on protection issues for LGBTI refugees and asylum seekers involved in sex work.

Safe shelter

Another example of good practice from Kenya is the provision of safe shelter for a limited number of at-risk LGBTI refugees. While steps should be taken to make existing safe houses (such as those for victims of gender-based violence) safe for all, an NGO has established a specific scattered-site housing programme for LGBTI refugees who face heightened risks while they wait to be resettled. Instead of accommodating individuals in a single safe house, this programme enables individual refugees to identify a safe place to stay and covers the cost of rental for a temporary period. Many such refugees choose to stay in locations away from where most other refugees live as this affords them a greater degree of anonymity. This approach also helps to avert concerns that a single safe house for LGBTI refugees could become a target for harassment or violence.

Psychosocial support

Many LGBTI refugees find themselves without a social support system because they fear harassment or violence if they reveal their sexual orientation or gender identity. This isolation contributes to some LGBTI refugees forming dependent and often abusive relations with a single person as a source of support in exchange for providing menial work or sexual favours, and may contribute to the high rates of post-traumatic stress disorder symptoms found in this population.

In Nairobi, an NGO holds regular group counselling sessions run by the refugees with the guidance of a senior counsellor. The existence of the group mitigates feelings of isolation and serves as a support group where problems and solutions are discussed and shared. Individual counselling is also provided by the NGO, focusing on self-acceptance and help in distinguishing societal hostility from one’s own perceptions of sexual orientation and gender identity. This enables LGBTI refugees to make informed decisions about the degree to which they may resist social pressures to conform, builds their resilience and sense of self-worth, and increases their sense of control over their lives. Social events arranged by the local LGBTI community also offer opportunities for developing a local social network.

Training

For the past three years, the same NGO has been conducting training for UNHCR staff and its international partners in Nairobi on the diverse ways in which LGBTI refugees may represent their sexual orientation and gender identity as well as addressing internalised and institutionalised homophobia and transphobia amongst UNHCR and NGO staff. The training has contributed to an increased awareness of the specific needs of LGBTI refugees and has also helped challenge and combat individual and institutional prejudice among staff. Continuous support for such training is needed as processes addressing prejudice require long-term commitments. As part of its Invisible in the City research, HIAS is planning to issue a guide detailing best practices for working with LGBTI refugees that will serve as a basis for further regional training.

Further good practice

Because it is frequently difficult to self-identify openly due to risks of violence or harassment, LGBTI refugees have sometimes found it useful to have specific staff members – focal points – to work with at UNHCR or NGOs. This means that LGBTI refugees can simply ask at the reception to speak to the specific staff member rather than having to explain the nature of their circumstances and this helps build trust.

Protection of confidentiality is a major concern. In Kenya, LGBTI refugees cited the presence of interpreters from their country of origin at a UNHCR or NGO office as a reason for not seeking assistance through that organisation, regardless of whether or not the interpreter would be in the room during their visit. Ways to try to address this include posting information in reception areas regarding confidentiality of all information in interviews and in refugee files, as well as incorporating information on the protection of confidentiality in outreach materials. Similarly, some NGOs have provided signs around their offices such as rainbow flags or posters stating that refugees will not be discriminated against on any grounds, including on the basis of sexual orientation and gender identity. UNHCR and NGOs should try to provide confidential spaces where refugees can provide information discreetly without being overheard. All staff, including interpreters and additional staff such as security guards and drivers, need to be trained on non-discrimination and the importance of confidentiality.

In Kenya, registration and refugee status determination can be fast-tracked on the request of a partner organisation. However, not all at-risk LGBTI refugees may be referred by partners. As a result, UNHCR must have procedures in place to fast-track vulnerable LGBTI applicants who approach the office directly for registration and refugee status determination.

Because LGBTI refugees face high risks of violence in particular countries or areas, UNHCR and NGOs need to take steps to provide protection including through documenting incidents of violence and raising concerns about any gaps in police response with the government, identifying medical and legal practitioners who can assist victims, and providing access to safe shelter. Outreach to police on their duties to protect all people, including LGBTI refugees, as well as outreach to refugee communities to address violence among refugees, including against LGBTI refugees, are two further strategies that can help improve protection.

Resettlement countries should continue to strengthen measures to expedite resettlement in cases where individuals face high risks. Resettlement countries should also support the provision of protection measures such as safe shelter or transfer to an Emergency Transit Facility for those facing high risks while they wait to be resettled.

In 2012, UNHCR in Nairobi worked with urban partners to assess assistance of groups with specific needs, including LGBTI refugees, as informed by UNHCR’s Age, Gender and Diversity policy of 2011.[5] As a result, it developed action points to improve aspects such as identification and outreach, referrals and case management, and access to information and services. This is a useful approach and, if effectively implemented in urban areas as well as camps and regularly updated, will help to better mainstream the protection of vulnerable groups into UNHCR and NGO protection and assistance programmes.

 

Duncan Breen BreenD@humanrightsfirst.org is a Senior Associate in Human Rights First’s Refugee Protection Program www.humanrightsfirst.org Yiftach Millo yiftach.hias@gmail.com is a research consultant for Hebrew Immigrant Aid Society www.hias.org



[1] The Kenyan government announced in December 2012 that refugees living in urban areas would be relocated to the camps at Dadaab or Kakuma and that agencies with services in urban areas should stop assisting refugees and asylum seekers with immediate effect. For updates and assessment of impact see www.urpn.org  

[2] Kenya Human Rights Commission The Outlawed Amongst Us http://tinyurl.com/KHRC-Outlawed

 

FMR 42
April 2013

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.