كوسوفو: ما الذي يخبئه المستقبل للـ (إل جي بي تي آي)؟

هناك تزايد في أعداد الأشخاص من كوسوفو ممن يسعون للجوء في دول أوروبية أخرى على أساس الاضطهاد بسبب ميولهم الجنسية. وعلى الدول التي تنظر في هذه الطلبات أن تنظر إلى أبعد من الدستور المتقدم ظاهراً لكوسوفو وأن تلاحظ الحقيقة المخالفة لذلك تماماً على أرض الواقع.

ُتُعدُّ كوسوفو واحدة من عشر دول أوروبية حرَّمت في دستورها التمييز على أساس الميول الجنسية، لكن مع ذلك، ما زال مجتمع كوسوفو يتّسم بتقاليد ضاربة في جذورها ومعادياً للأقليات من ذوي الميول الجنسية. ويشكل هذا التعارض بين الحماية القانونية التقدمية والمواقف الاجتماعية المحافظة مصدراً للاستغراب الشديد. فدستور كوسوفو من وجهة حقوق الإنسان يقوم لدرجة كبيرة على دساتير الأمم الأوروبية مثل فرنسا وألمانيا.

وكان كثير من الفاعلين الدوليين بمن فيهم الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية قد شاركوا مشاركة كبيرة في تقديم المشورة لكوسوفو حول جوهر إطارها الدستوري وناصرت امتثالها لمعايير حقوق الإنسان الأوروبية والدولية بما فيها إدخال مصطلح "الميول الجنسية" في مادة مناهضة التمييز من الدستور (المادة 24). وأدى ذلك إلى ظهور كثير من الانتقادات أثناء عملية صياغة الدستور إلى درجة أنَّ بعض المندوبين قد خرجوا محتجين على المادة المذكورة. [1] وهناك بند آخر أساسي يتعلق بتعريف الزواج، وقد صيغ هذا البند بتحرر لا يضع إشارة خاصة لجندر الزوجين. لكن هذه الأحكام لا تنبثق من الرأي المحلي ولا الممارسة العامة بل كانت من الإملاءات الخارجية بناء على المشورة الدولية.

عندما يمشي المرء ويتجول في الشوارع النشطة في بريشتينا (عاصمة كوسوفو) يكاد من الصعب أن يتخيل أنَّ هناك مجموعة المثليات والمثليين ومزدوجي الميل الجنسي ومغيري الجندر (إل جي بي تي آي) هناك. فلا توجد أي إشارة مرئية تدل على وجودهم، ومن المفروغ منه أنه لا يوجد أي حانات أو نوادٍ للمثليين. وقد رسخت التقاليد الاجتماعية هناك في معظم الحالات بقاء الشباب والشابات يعيشون في بيوتهم إلى أن يتزوجوا، أما من "يخرج للعلن" ويجاهر بأنه (إل جي بي تي آي) فيتعرض لخطر الطرد من بيت العائلة والنبذ والتهميش المجتمعي. ويُجبر بعضهم على الزواج سعياً من أسرهم في كبح ميولهم الجنسية أو "لعلاجهم". وبالفعل، يعتقد كثير من الناس في كوسوفو أنَّ الأفراد من المثليات والمثليين (إل جي بي تي آي) شاذِّين أو أنهم يعانون من أمراض عقلية. ورغم كل ذلك، هناك مجموعة نابضة من المثليات الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) في كوسوفو، وقد أقدم عدد قليل منهم بالتجرؤ على كسر حاجز الصمت والمجاهرة بأمرهم.

في كوسوفو، يعد التمييز ضد الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) ظاهرة اجتماعية لا اضطهاداً رسمياً ويمارسه فاعلون من غير الدول من أمثال أفراد عائلة طالبي اللجوء أو مجتمعهم القريب منهم. ولما كان القانون في كوسوفو يمنح نظرياً الضمانات لمنع التمييز، يتوقع الموظفون الذين يعالجون قضايا طالبي اللجوء من كوسوفو على أساس الميول الجنسية أو الهوية الجندرية أن أولئك اللاجئين قادرون على النفاذ إلى سبل الانتصاف القانونية لإحقاق حقوقهم. ومن هنا، يصنفون كوسوفو في العادة على أنها من البلاد التي لا تكتنف أي خطر اضطهاد المثليات للـ (إل جي بي تي آي). [2] لكن الواقع وفقاً لإحدى المصادر يشير إلى غير ذلك حيث هناك فجوة لا يستهان بها بين الحماية القانونية الممنوحة على الورق وتطبيق ذلك على أرض الواقع فتقارير التمييز ضد الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) غالباً ما تفتقر إلى الاهتمام الجاد من جانب الشرطة المحلية، وإلى تاريخ هذه المقالة لم تُرفع أي قضية أمام القضاء بشأن التمييز على أساس الميول الجنسية.

يضاف إلى ذلك أنَّ الخطر الذي يواجهه طالب اللجوء لا بد من تقييمه على أساس ما يسمى "المعلومات المؤمَّنة". لكن تلك المعلومات غير متاحة مباشرةً في كوسوفو نظراً لغياب البيانات المحدثة أولاً بأول والمفصلة والمنشورة حول استضعاف مجتمع الـ (إل جي بي تي آي). والمثير للاهتمام أنه عندما يكون غياب "المعلومات المؤمَّنة" أمراً إشكالياً، يُلاحَظُ أنَّ الدول التي تتعامل مع طلبات اللجوء الناشئة من كوسوفو تعتمد على المعلومات التي توفرها لها المجموعات المحلية ذات العلاقة والمنظمات غير الحكومة التي لها بعض الأفكار حول حقوق الـ (إل جي بي تي آي)، ومع أنَّ المعلومات القادمة من تلك المصادر غير رسمية ولا ينبغي النظر إليها بعناية كبيرة، فهي تتميز بأنها مقتبسة من الواقع والتجربة الحقيقية وهي مبنية على بيانات الأشخاص المحتكِّين مباشرة وبكثرة مع مجتمع (إل جي بي تي آي) على أرض الواقع. ومن هنا يقول أحد النشطاء "كوسوفو مكان صغير يشكل فيه الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) مجتمعاً مُحكماً". وبمقدور تلك المجموعات إذن أن توفّر تقييماً لوضع فرد معين من الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) الذي من المرجح جداً أن يكون معروفاً ضمن مجتمع الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) المحلي.

الأسس التي يقوم عليها حق اللجوء

هناك توجه يزداد شيوعاً بين طالبي اللجوء من كوسوفو على أساس التعرض للاضطهاد بسبب ميولهم الجنسية. وبالفعل ليس ذلك حكراً على كوسوفو بل جزء من توجه إقليمي ملحوظ[3]. فالإنترنت شكّل منبراً مهماً لمجتمع الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) المخفي والمكبوت في كوسوفو ومن خلال الإنترنت تمكن أفراد هذه الفئة من إدراك حقوقهم الإنسانية فلم يعودوا يشعرون بالحاجة لإخفاء الأسباب الحقيقية (أي ميولهم الجنسية وهويتهم الجندرية) عندما يتقدمون بطلبات الجوء هرباً من العنف في بلدان اللجوء.

لكن أحد نشطاء حقوق الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) الموجودين في كوسوفو يقدّر أنَّ أقل من ثلث عدد طالبي اللجوء على أساس الميول الجنسية أو الهوية الجندرية هم فعلاً من الـ (إل جي بي تي آي). ووفقاً للناشط، هناك كثير من اليائسين والراغبين في مغادرة بلدانهم بحثاً عن حياة أفضل في بلدان أكثر غناً بوسيلة أو بأخرى وليس من الضروري أن يكون ذلك بسبب خوفهم الحقيقي والمُسوَّغ من الاضطهاد بسبب ميولهم الجنسية أو هويتهم الجندرية في كوسوفو.

وتشير التقارير إلى أنَّ كوسوفو تعاني من أدنى معدلات التشغيل في دول البلقان الغربية وأن هناك كثير من الشباب من الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) وغير الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) على حد سواء ممن يعانون لتحقيق مستقبل أفضل لهم ولعائلاتهم. وفي حين أنَّ الأشخاص من كوسوفو طلبوا اللجوء خلال نزاع العقد الأخير من القرن العشرين وما بعده على أساس الاضطهاد العرقي والسياسي، تشير المصادر إلى أنَّ هذه الأسس لم تعقد مقبولة لدى عدة دول نظراً للاستقرار الكلي تقريباً في الوضع السياسي والأمني بين المجتمعات العرقية في كوسوفو.

ومن هنا، يعتقد كثير من الأشخاص في كوسوفو أنَّ الأقلية الجنسية لها حظ أوفر في اللجوء ولذلك (وفقاً لأحد المصادر) يعمد كثير من الكوسوفيين الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) بالمبالغة في مستوى الخطر والتهديد الذين يتعرضون لهما في حين يعمد آخرون إلى تقديم طلبات مبنية على أسس كاذبة من أنهم من الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) وهم ليسوا كذلك. وقد ذكر أحد الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) الذين قابلتهم مؤلفة هذه المقالة "إنَّ ادعاء المرء أنه يتعرض للاضطهاد لأنه (إل جي بي تي آي) أصبح السبيل الوحيد الناجح للخروج من كوسوفو". وقال ناشط أخر في مجال حقوق الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) إنَّ البلدان التي تنظر في جدارة مطالب اللجوء المقدمة من كوسوفو تمارس درجة مناسبة من الحذر وإنه من حقها ذلك. لكنَّ هذا الواقع لسوء الحظ يقوِّض من مصداقية الأشخاص الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) الذين يسعون بالفعل إلى الحماية من الانتهاكات الجسيمة لحقوقهم الإنسانية.

تغيير الجندر: حالة تُدرس على حدة

على النقيض من حالة المثليين والمثليات، لا يعترف الدستور بمغيري الجندر، ومع أنَّه لا توجد أي قوانين تجرّم السلوك الذي يُنظر إليه على أنه تغيير للجندر فلا يمكن أن يُفهم من ذلك على أنَّ هناك حماية لحقوق مغيري الجندر. وفي حين أنَّ المثليين والمثليات يعملون ببطء على تحقيق بعض الاعتراف المنظور والاجتماعي، فإنَّ ذلك الوضع أبعد ما يكون منالاً بالنسبة للمجموعة الفرعية للـ (إل جي بي تي آي) التي تضمن مغيري الجندر. فالناس في كوسوفو لا يفهمون الجوانب الأكثر تعقيداً للهوية الجندرية. بل حتى ضمن مجتمع الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) نفسه هناك ضعف في الوعي والتعليم بشأن قضايا تغيير الجندر. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، قلة من الناس في كوسوفو يُعرِّفون أنفسهم على أنهم مغيرون للجندر فهم بذلك معزولون وغالباً ما لا يكونوا قادرين على التعبير عن هويتهم الجندرية أو تشكيل مجتمع محكم لهم. وفي هذه الظروف، ينبغي للمسؤولين عن معالجة مطالب اللجوء أن يطرحوا الأسئلة الصحيحة وأن يضعوا في الحسبان الاستضعاف الخاص لهذه الفئة الفرعية. أما في الوقت الحالي، فلا يوجد أي إشارة إلى أن هذا ما يحدث.

بعد خمس سنوات تقريباً من تبني دستور كوسوفو، تبقى حماية الأفراد الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) في كوسوفو في المجهول، أما الفجوة القائمة بين الأحكام القانونية الحمائية والممارسات على أرض الواقع فما زالت الدول المستقبلة لا تعترف بها عند تقييمها لطلبات اللجوء. ولربما أنَّ كوسوفو أبدت اقتراباً في طرق أبواب الانضمام إلى الاتحاد الأوروبي لكن الطريق أمامها ما زال طويلاً لتفعيل حماية حقوق الإنسان الخاصة بالـ (إل جي بي تي آي) وفقاً للمعايير الأوروبية.

 

أغاثا فوشيرagathefauchier@gmail.com محامية عملت سابقاً مع الأمم المتحدة ومنظمة الأمن والتعاون في أوروبا. هذه المقالة مبنية على الخبرات والتجارب والآراء التي حصلت عليها المؤلفة من مقابلاتها لنشطاء حقوقيين من كوسوفو مع كتمان هوياتهم. 

 



[1] "حول كتابة الدساتير: دستور كوسوفو نموذجاً" (On Constitution Writing: The Case of Kosovo’) مقابلة مع البروفيسور لويس أكوان 2008.pdf http://tinyurl.com/Tufts-Aucoin2008

دخلت الحماية من التمييز على أساس الميول الجنسية أيضاً قانون كوسوفو الخاص بمناهضة التمييز.

[2]  أناس لا يعرف عنهم أحد: استضاف أقليات الميول الجنسية والهوية الجندرية ونظام معلومات البلد الأصلي الذي يتبعه مجلس الهجرة السويدي (Unknown people: The vulnerability of sexual and gender identity minorities and the Swedish Migration Board’s Country of Origin Information System) يناير/ كانون الثاني 2010، صندوق اللاجئين الأوروبي http://tinyurl.com/Unknown-People-2010

[3]  المفوضية السامية للاجئين. حماية طالبي اللجوء واللاجئين الذين ينتمون إلى فئة المثليات والمثليين ومزدوجي الميل الجنسي ومغيري الجندر ومزدوجي الجنس (The Protection of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Intersex Asylum-Seekers and Refugees)www.unhcr.org/refworld/pdfid/4cff9a8f2.pdf الفقرة (1).

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Kosovo: what does the future hold for LGBT people?

Agathe Fauchier

Rising numbers of people from Kosovo are seeking asylum in other European countries on grounds of persecution for their sexual orientation. States considering such claims need to look beyond Kosovo’s apparently progressive constitution to the rather different reality on the ground.

Despite Kosovo being one of only ten European states to have constitutionally banned discrimination on the ground of sexual orientation,  its society remains deeply traditional and even hostile towards sexual minorities. This contrast between progressive legal protection and conservative social attitudes is hardly surprising. Kosovo’s constitution is, from a human rights point of view, largely based on the constitutions of western European countries such as France and Germany.

Many international actors, including the United States, were heavily involved in advising Kosovo on the substance of its constitutional framework and advocated for its compliance with international and European human rights standards – hence the inclusion of the term ‘sexual orientation’ in the anti-discrimination article of the Constitution (Article 24). This gave rise to much criticism during the drafting process, with some delegates walking out in protest.[1] Another key provision – the definition of marriage – was also liberally drafted so as not to not make any specific reference to gender. These provisions do not stem from local opinion or practice but rather have been parachuted in on the basis of international advice.

Walking around the busy streets of Kosovo’s capital, Pristina, it is hard to imagine that there is an LGBT community here. There are no visible signs of them and certainly no gay bars or clubs. Social conventions dictate that most young people in Kosovo live with their families until they marry; those who ‘come out’ as LGBT risk being kicked out of the family home, ostracised by their families and marginalised by their community. Some are married off as their family attempts to control their sexuality or ‘cure’ them. Indeed, many in Kosovo believe that LGBT individuals are deviant or suffer from a mental illness. Despite this, the LGBT community in Kosovo is very much alive and recently a small number of LGBT individuals have dared to break the silence and speak out.

In Kosovo, discrimination against LGBT people is social rather than official –perpetrated by non-state actors such as the asylum seeker’s family or close community. As in theory there are legal guarantees in place in Kosovo to prevent discrimination, officials considering asylum claims by people from Kosovo on the basis of sexual orientation or gender identity expect them to have access to legal remedies to enforce their rights; Kosovo is therefore usually classified as a country where LGBT people are not in danger of persecution.[2] In reality, says a source, there is a significant gap between legal protection on paper and implementation on the ground. Reports of discrimination against LGBT people are apparently seldom taken seriously by the police and to date no discrimination case on the ground of sexual orientation has been brought before the courts.

Added to this is the fact that the risk faced by an asylum seeker has to be assessed on the basis of so-called ‘secure information’. However, in Kosovo this kind of information is not readily available, as there is a lack of up-to-date, detailed, published data pertaining to the vulnerability of the LGBT community. Interestingly, when the lack of ‘secure information’ is problematic, states handling asylum claims originating from Kosovo have relied on information provided by local interest groups and NGOs with specific insights into LGBT rights. This information is of course informal, and should certainly be considered with care, but it has the advantage of being first-hand and relying on the statements of people in direct and extensive contacts with the LGBT community on the ground. “Kosovo is a small place and LGBT people are a tight community”, an activist says. These groups provide an appraisal of the situation of a specific LGBT individual, who is in all likelihood known within the local LGBT community.  

Grounds for asylum

It is increasingly common for asylum seekers from Kosovo to claim sexual orientation as a ground of persecution; indeed, this is not unique to Kosovo but rather part of a regional trend.[3] Helped by the internet, which serves an as important platform for Kosovo’s repressed and underground LGBT community, LGBT people are becoming increasingly aware of their human rights. They no longer feel the need to conceal the real reasons – their sexual orientation and gender identity – when seeking refuge from violence in countries of asylum.

However, an LGBT rights activist based in Kosovo estimates that less than a third of asylum seekers invoking sexual orientation or gender identity in their claims are genuine. According to this activist, many are desperate to leave to find a better life in richer countries and not necessarily because they have a well-founded fear of persecution owing to their sexual orientation or gender identity in Kosovo.

Kosovo is reported to have the lowest employment rate in the Western Balkans and many young people – LGBT and non-LGBT alike – struggle to see any viable future for themselves and their families there. While people from Kosovo claimed asylum during and in the aftermath of the 1990s’ conflict on the basis of ethnic and political persecution, sources indicate that these grounds are no longer accepted by many states as the political and security situation between the ethnic communities in Kosovo has now mostly stabilised.

Belonging to a sexual minority is believed by many in Kosovo to enhance an asylum claim’s chances of success and therefore, according to a source, many LGBT people exaggerate the level of threat they face and others falsely claim to belong to a sexual minority. A member of the LGBT community interviewed by the author goes as far as to say that “claiming to be persecuted as an LGBT person has become the only potentially successful way to get out of Kosovo”. Another LGBT rights activist says that states looking into the merit of asylum claims originating from Kosovo are rightly exercising an appropriate degree of caution. Unfortunately, this undermines the credibility of actual LGBT people rightfully seeking protection against grave human rights abuses.

Transgender: a case apart

Contrary to gays and lesbians, transgender people are not acknowledged by the Constitution and although there are no laws actively criminalising transgender behaviour, this cannot be taken to mean that transgender people’s rights are protected. While gays and lesbians are slowly working towards gaining more visibility and social acknowledgement, this is far from being the case for the sub-group of trans-genders. People in Kosovo do not grasp the more complicated aspects of gender identity and even within the LGBT community itself there is a lack of education and awareness about transgender issues. Futhermore, few transgender people in Kosovo identify as such; they are isolated, often unable to articulate their gender identity and do not form a tight community. In these circumstances, those in positions of handling asylum claims need to ask the right questions and to consider the particular vulnerability of this sub-group. At the moment there is no indication that this happens.

Nearly five years after the adoption of Kosovo’s Constitution, protection for LGBTI individuals in Kosovo remains uncertain, and the gap between the legal provisions for protection and the facts on the ground is not generally recognised when asylum cases are evaluated by potential receiving countries. Kosovo may be knocking at the door of the European Union but it still has a long way to go in implementing human rights protection for LGBT people to a European standard.

 

Agathe Fauchier agathefauchier@gmail.com is a lawyer who has previously worked with the UN and OSCE. This article is based on the opinions and experiences of an anonymous LGBT rights activist from Kosovo interviewed by the author.



[1]‘On Constitution Writing: The Case of Kosovo’,  Interview with Professor Louis Aucoin, 2008 http://tinyurl.com/Tufts-Aucoin2008 Protection against discrimination on the ground of sexual orientation was also incorporated into Kosovo’s anti-discrimination law.

[2] Unknown people: The vulnerability of sexual and gender identity minorities and the Swedish Migration Board’s Country of Origin Information System, January 2010, EU European Refugee Fund p7. http://tinyurl.com/Unknown-People-2010

[3] UNHCR 2010 The Protection of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Intersex Asylum-Seekers and Refugees www.unhcr.org/refworld/pdfid/4cff9a8f2.pdf  para 1.

 

FMR 42
April 2013

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.