مرفق احتجاز نموذجي للهجرة من أجل الـ (إل جي بي تي آي)؟

اتخذت الولايات المتحدة بعض الخطوات الإيجابية في تحسين معاملة طالبي اللجوء من المثليين ومغيري الجندر من خلال احتجاز الهجرة لكن ينبغي للحكومة أن تجري التحسينات في أربع مجالات رئيسية.

في عام 2011، رُفعت أول دعوى رسمية من قبل عدد من المدعين لدى مكتب الحقوق والحريات المدنية في وزارة الأمن الوطني في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية نيابةً عن 17 شخصاً من طالبي اللجوء من الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) وغيرهم من المهاجرين الذين خضعوا إلى ظروف تعسفية أثناء الاحتجاز المدني للهجرة في أمريكا. وكان من بين التظلمات الشكوى من انتشار ظاهرة حرمانهم من الرعاية الطبية إزاء الأمراض المزمنة وتعرضهم للاعتداء الجنسي والبدني على يد الحراس والأشخاص الآخرين في مرفق الاحتجاز وتطبيق المرفق المبالغ به لعقوبة الحجز الانفرادي.

ورداً على تلك التظلمات، أنشأ مكتب الحقوق والحريات المدنية وسلطة إنفاذ قوانين الهجرة والجمارك أول وحدة رعاية مخصصة لحماية الأفراد المثليين ومغيري الجندر في مرفق احتجاز الهجرة في سجن مدينة سانتا آنا في ولاية كاليفورنيا[i] بطاقة استيعابية تصل إلى 64 من المثليين ومغيري الجندر. ومع أنَّه نادراً ما تصل نسبة إشغال الأسرة طاقتها الاستيعابية، تدفع إدارة الهجرة والجمارك أجور إشغال الأسرة الـ64 يومياً وذلك لضمان عزل ذلك السجن للأفراد المعنيين عن بقية النزلاء.

وفي نوفمبر/ تشرين الثاني 2012، عملتُ مع متطوعين زائرين من مؤسسة مبادرات المجتمع لزيارة المهاجرين المحتجزين على مقابلة الأفراد المحتجزين في وحدة الاحتجاز الوقائية، وفي حين كشف الرجال والنساء في سجن مدينة سانتا آنا عن عدد من المشكلات، انتاب طالبي اللجوء الخاضعين للمقابلات على وجه العموم شعورٌ أنَّ تخصيص تلك الوحدة لهم كان تحسُّناً ملموساً وأنَّ نوعية حياتهم أصبحت أفضل مما كانت عليه في مرافق إدارة الهجرة والجمارك.

وتنقسم وحدة الاحتجاز الوقائي نفسها إلى زنازين كل واحدة منها تتسع لشخصين يضاف إليها غرفة داخلية للمعيشة وإضاءة طبيعية ومساحة خارجية للترفيه. وبمقدور المثليين ومغيري الجندر من طالبي اللجوء استخدام غرفة المعيشة من الساعة السابعة صباحاً إلى الساعة الثانية عشر ظهراً ومن الساعة الثانية عصراً إلى الساعة الخامسة والنصف مساءً ومن ثمّ من الساعة السابعة مساءً إلى الساعة الحادية عشرة ليلاً. أما في بقية الأوقات فيبقون في زنازينهم المقفلة. ويقدم السجن عدداً من البرامج منها اللغة الإنجليزية كلغة ثانية ودروساً في الحاسوب. وجميع البرامج باستثناء دروس الحاسوب تُقدم إلى المثليين ومغيري الجندر في وحدة الاحتجاز الوقائي لمنع الاختلاط مع بقية النزلاء في السجن.

وفي كثير من الحالات، تحقق إدارة الهجرة والجمارك هدفها المتمثل في جعل وحدة الاحتجاز الوقائية في سجن مدينة سانتا آنا نموذجاً يحتذى به في البلاد. فعلى سبيل المثال، يُسمح بالزيارة سبعة أيام في الأسبوع حتى بالنسبة للأفراد الموضوعين ضمن "الفصل الإداري" (أي ما يعرف بالحجز الانفرادي) الذي يوقع على النزيل لأهداف انضباطية، وهذه الوحدة من ضمن قليل من مرافق الاحتجاز في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية التي لا تجرّد النزيل المهاجر من مزايا الزيارة عند إحالته إلى الحجز الانفرادي. ومع كل ذلك، نرى أنه يوجد أربع مجالات للتحسين في هذه الوحدة:

تدريب الـ (إل جي بي تي آي): يشترط العقد بين إدارة الهجرة والجمارك مع سجن مدينة سانتا آنا توفير تدريب "متخصص في مجال الـ (إل جي بي تي)" مدة ثمان ساعات للكوادر العاملين في المرفق بحيث يغطي التدريب المحاور التالية: التعريف بقضايا الـ (إل جي بي تي) (هويات الجندر والميول الجنسية) والعلاقات بين الأشخاص ومهارات الاتصال (نبرة الصوت واستخدام الكلمات المحددة بالجندر وتجنب التعليقات المعبرة عن كراهية المثلية أو التعليقات الازدرائية) والاستضعاف والتعرض للإساءة الجنسية أو الاعتداء الجنسي ومناهج التدخل والحساسية في مناهج البحث واستخدام الضمائر المفضلة. لكن رغم ذلك، من غير الواضح ما إذا كان هذا التدريب قد أُجري أم لا وليس من المعروف بعد ما إذا كان الحراس يمتثلون لسياسات التدريب أم لا. فعلى سبيل المثال، ذكر طالبو اللجوء من مغيري الجندر ممن يعدون أنفسهم إناثاً أنَّ الحراس طلبوا منهم "استخدام صوتهم الذكوري" و"التصرف على أنهم ذكور" وكان ذلك الطلب على أساس يومي تقريباً وأنَّ كثيراً من الحراس يستخدمون الضمائر المذكرة للإشارة إلى النساء المغيرات للجندر. ولذلك، يجب على إدارة الهجرة والجمارك أن تضمن تلقي جميع المسؤولين العاملين في وحدة الاحتجاز الوقائية لتدريب الساعات الثمان حول القضايا الخاصة بالـ (إل جي بي تي).

الرعاية الصحية: ينبغي لإدارة الهجرة والجمارك أن تحسن من مستوى الرعاية الصحية البدنية والعقلية خاصة لضمان النقل السلس للمراسلات والسجلات الطبية عند نقل الشخص من أحد مرافق الاحتجاز إلى سجن مدينة سانتا آنا أو عند إيداعه في البداية في الحجز لدى إدارة الهجرة والجمارك. ووفقاً لسجن مدينة سانتا آنا، فلن تقبل أي شخص من تلك الدائرة ما لم يتوافر من الدواء ما يكفي لتغطية خمسة أيام له. ومع ذلك، قال طالبو اللجوء الذين خضعوا للمقابلة إنَّهم عند نقلهم من مرفق آخر، لم تصل سجلاتهم الطبية قبل 35 إلى 45 يوماً ما أخّر علاجهم مدة تصل إلى ما بين شهر وأربعة أشهر. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، ذكرت واحدة من طالبات اللجوء المغيرات للجندر اللواتي تعرضن إلى وحشية الشرطة في بلادهن الأصلية أنها لم تتمكن من لقاء مزوّد لخدمات الرعاية الطبية العقلية منذ احتجازها في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية قبل ستة أشهر من وقت المقابلة.

الزيارة: مع أنَّ الزيارة متاحة سبعة أيام في الأسبوع فإنَّ الزيارات في سجن مدينة سانتا آنا تضع حواجز بلاستيكية بين النزيل والزائر ويكون الحديث بينهما من خلال الهاتف. أما الزيارات الأسرية والمجتمعية فلا يمسح بها إلا في غرفة على شكل قاعة صفية حيث يُسمح للزائرين والنزلاء بالتواصل الجسدي فيما بينهم. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، قد يساعد تقديم برنامج للزيارات المجتمعية في تخفيض المصاعب العاطفية التي يعاني منها المثليون ومغيرو الجندر من طالبي اللجوء الذين يعيشون في عزلة وغيرهم من المهاجرين المحتجزين ممن نادراً ما يزورهم أحد إما لأنهم لا يعرفون أحداً في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية أو لبعد مكان إقامة أفراد أسرتهم أو أصدقائهم.

النقل: بما أنَّ سجن سانتا آنا يبقى المرفق الوحيد للاحتجاز المتعلق بالهجرة في البلاد والذي يحتوي على وحدة احتجاز خاصة بالمثليات والمثليين  ومغيري ، فغالباً ما يُنقل المهاجرون الأخرون من المثليين ومغيري الجندر من الولايات الأخرى إلى ذلك المرفق. ولعمليات النقل هذه تبعات سلبية كبيرة على حق الأفراد في خضوعهم لمعاملات عادلة للهجرة ناهيك عن تأثر علاقاتهم الأسرية ورعايتهم الاجتماعية. فعلى سبيل المثال، قد يتسبب النقل العابر للولايات بانفصام العلاقة بين الموكل والمحامي (الوكيل) وقد يفصل المهاجرين عن الأدلة والإثباتات التي يحتاجون تقديمها للمحكمة لإثبات حسن سلوكهم الأخلاقي والفوز باللجوء. وإضافة إلى ذلك، قد يجعل النقل زيارة العائلات لأبنائها في مرافق الاحتجاز الجديدة أمراً مكلفاً مادياً ما قد يدفعهم إلى الإحجام عن مثل تلك الزيارات إلا ما ندر. ومن هنا، ينبغي للمستشارين المستقلين التابعين إلى المنظمات غير الحكومية أن يحققوا في نجاح أو فشل وحدة الاحتجاز الوقائي والنظر في إمكانية نقل تلك التجربة إلى مرافق احتجاز الهجرة الأخرى لضمان قرب المهاجرين المثليين ومغيري الجندر من عائلاتهم ومنظومات دعمهم.

تمثّل الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية لآلاف من المثليات والمثليين ومزودجي الميل الجنسي ومغيري الجندر ومزدوجي الجنس حول العالم على أنها الملاذ الذي يمكنهم فيه العيش بحرية وانفتاح دون خوف من الاضطهاد. ومع ذلك، هناك عدد كثير من  طالبي اللجوء من الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) الذين يواجهون شهوراً بل سنوات من المعاناة المطوَّلة والعزلة في مرافق الاحتجاز قبل منحهم حق اللجوء. ومن الممكن أن تكون وحدة الاحتجاز في سجن مدينة سانتا آنا الوقائية نموذجاً يُحتذى به للبلاد في حالة طبقت ما يفوق التوصيات. ومع ذلك، بمقدور الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية أن تمثل أنموذجاً للعالم أجمع إذا ما أنهت احتجاز طالبي اللجوء عموماً و الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) على وجه الخصوص.

 

كريستينا فيآلو CFialho@endisolation.org مؤسسة مشاركة/ مديرة تنفيذية لمبادرات المجتمع لزيارة المهاجرين المحتجزين www.endisolation.org ومحامية مرخَّصة في ولاية كاليفورنيا.

 



[i] تبعد 100 ميل شمال الحدود الأمريكية مع المكسيك.

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

A model immigration detention facility for LGBTI?

Christina Fialho

The US has taken some positive steps to improve the treatment of gay and transgender asylum seekers in immigration detention but could make improvements in four key areas.

In 2011, the first official multi-plaintiff complaint was lodged with the US Department of Homeland Security’s Office of Civil Rights and Civil Liberties (CRCL) on behalf of 17 lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and/or intersex (LGBTI) asylum seekers and other migrants who were subject to abusive conditions in US civil immigration detention. Among the complaints were a pervasive denial of medical care for chronic conditions, sexual assault and physical abuse by both guards and other people in detention, and an over-reliance on solitary confinement.

In response, CRCL and US Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) created the first dedicated protective custody unit for gay and transgender individuals in immigration detention at the Santa Ana City Jail in California.[1] The unit has the capacity to hold 64 gay and transgender individuals; although the beds are rarely filled to capacity, ICE pays the city for all 64 beds each day in order to ensure that these individuals can be kept segregated from the rest of the jail population.

In November 2012, visitor volunteers from Community Initiatives for Visiting Immigrants in Confinement (CIVIC) and I interviewed individuals being held in the protective custody unit. While the men and women at Santa Ana described a number of problems, overall the asylum seekers whom we interviewed felt that the dedicated unit was a significant improvement and that the quality of life was better than at other ICE-contracted facilities.

The protective custody unit itself has two-person cells, an indoor dayroom with natural lighting, and a small outdoor recreation space. The gay and transgender asylum seekers have use of the dayroom from approximately 7am to 12pm, 2pm to 5.30pm, and 7pm to 11pm. The rest of the time, they are locked in their cells. The jail offers a number of programmes, such as English as a Second Language and computer classes. All the programmes, except the computer classes, are offered to the gay and transgender population in the protective custody unit to prevent mingling with the general jail population.

In many ways, ICE is living up to its goal of making the Santa Ana City Jail’s protective custody unit a model for the nation. For example, visitation is offered seven days a week, even for individuals who are placed in ‘administrative segregation’ (commonly known as solitary confinement) for disciplinary purposes. This is one of the few detention facilities in the US that does not eliminate visitation privileges for migrants placed in solitary confinement. However, there is room for improvement in four key areas:

LGBTI training: ICE’s contract with the Santa Ana City Jail requires an eight-hour ‘specialised LGBT training’ for staff in the facility to cover the following: ‘familiarisation’ with LGBT issues (gender identities and sexual orientations but not currently including intersex), interpersonal relations and communications skills (tone of voice, use of gender-specific words, avoiding homophobic and derogatory comments), vulnerability to sexual abuse/assault and intervention approaches, sensitivity in search methods, and use of preferred pronouns. However, it is not clear that this training has taken place or that guards are complying with the training policies. For instance, transgender asylum seekers who self-identify as females reported being told by guards to “use their male voice” and “act male” on an almost daily basis, and many guards use male pronouns to refer to transgender women. ICE should ensure that each officer working in the protective custody unit receives all eight hours of specialised training and that the training incorporates familiarisation with intersex issues.

Health care: ICE should improve its medical and mental health care, particularly to ensure seamless transfer of communications and medical records when a person is transferred from another detention facility to the Santa Ana City Jail or when initially taken into ICE custody.  According to the Santa Ana City Jail, they will not accept a person from ICE unless that person has five days of medicine available. However, asylum seekers interviewed said that when they were transferred from another facility, their medical records followed 35 to 45 days later, thereby delaying medication by anywhere between one and four months. Additionally, one transgender asylum seeker who had been subjected to police brutality in her home country had not been able to meet with a mental health-care provider since she was detained in the US six months previously.

Visitation: Gay and transgender asylum seekers and other migrants rarely receive visitors because either they do not know anyone in the US or their family and friends live hundreds of miles away. Although visitation is available seven days a week, visits at the Santa Ana City Jail take place behind plastic screens, speaking through telephone handsets. All family and community visits should be permitted in a classroom-style setting where visitors and those in detention can make physical contact with one another. While I commend ICE and the Santa Ana City Jail for welcoming a CIVIC-affiliated community visitation programme, a classroom-style visitation setting would help decrease the emotional hardship for isolated gay and transgender asylum seekers and other migrants in detention.

Transfers: As the Santa Ana City Jail remains the only immigration detention facility in the country with a dedicated protective custody unit, gay and transgender migrants are often transferred from other states to this facility. These transfers have far-reaching negative consequences on the individuals’ right to fair immigration proceedings as well as on their family ties and general well-being. For example, transfers across state lines can render attorney-client relationships unworkable and separate migrants from the evidence they need to present to a judge in order to win asylum and prove good moral character. Moreover, transfers make family visits so prohibitively costly that they rarely – if ever – occur. Independent non-governmental advisers should investigate the successes and failures of the protective custody unit and consider whether this model can be exported to other immigration detention facilities to ensure that gay and transgender migrants remain close to their families and support systems.

Thousands of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and intersex people around the world see the US as a place where they can live freely and openly, without fear of persecution. Yet, many LGBTI asylum seekers face months or even years of prolonged suffering and isolation in immigration detention before they are granted asylum. The Santa Ana City Jail’s protective custody unit could be a model for the nation if it implemented the above recommendations.  However, the US could be a model for the world if it completely ended the detention of asylum seekers, particularly those who are LGBTI.  

 

Christina Fialho CFialho@endisolation.org is the Co-Founder/Executive Director of Community Initiatives for Visiting Immigrants in Confinement (CIVIC) www.endisolation.org and a licensed attorney in California.



[1] Located 100 miles north of the US-Mexican border.

 

FMR 42
April 2013

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.