حماية اللاجئين من المثليات والمثليين ومزدوجي الميل الجنسي في المملكة المتحدة: من التكتم إلى التصديق؟

اعتادت حكومة المملكة المتحدة ألا يكون لديها أي توجيه أو تدريب خاص لصانعي القرار بالنسبة للمطالب المقدمة على أساس الميل الجنسي. وليس قبل عام 2010 وبعد عدد من الضغوط التي مارستها السلطات القضائية والمجتمع المدني والجهات السياسية أن تم إصدار توجيه السياسة الخاصة وظهرت علامات التقدم الكبير.

حتى يوليو/تموز 2010، لم يكن يتم اعتبار الأشخاص الذي طلبوا اللجوء في المملكة المتحدة على أساس هوياتهم الجنسية أو الجندرية على أنهم بحاجة للحماية الدولية إذا كان من "المعقول" لهم أن "يكتموا" هويتهم الجنسية عند عودتهم إلى دولهم الأصلية. وتم الإسهاب في اختبار "الكتمان المعقول" هذا في أول الدعاوى القضائية وتم اتباعه في 2009 من قِبل محكمة الاستئناف البريطانية في قضية هـ. ج. (إيران) وهـ. ت. (الكاميرون)[1]. وتبعاً لذلك، ركزت سلطات صناعة قرارات اللجوء في المملكة المتحدة على ما إذا كان ممكناً للشخص الساعي للحصول على اللجوء أن يخفي نشاطه الجنسي في حال عودته أم لا. واستلزم هذا الاختبار شهادة من مقدم الطلب، إلى جانب دليل من دولته الأصلية على ما إذا كان يمكن التوقُّع منه أن يعيش حياته في السر إذا عاد هناك.

إلا أن الاختبار خالف المذكرة التوجيهية للمفوضية العليا للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين لعام 2008 حول مطالب اللاجئين المتعلقة بالميل الجنسي وهوية الجندر التي تقرّ بأن " لا يمكن التوقع من الشخص أو مطالبته  بتغيير أو إخفاء هويته/ هويتها [الجنسية] من أجل تفادي الاضطهاد. ولا يوجد واجب "للتكتُّم" أو اتخاذ بعض الخطوات الخاصة لتفادي الاضطهاد مثل العيش في عزلة أو الإحجام عن إقامة العلاقة الحميمة"[2]. وتوضح المذكرة التوجيهية أن وجوب بقاء المثليات والمثليين "غير مفصحين عن هوياتهم الجنسية" بهذه الصورة يندرج ضمن التمييزويمكن أن يرقى إلى الاضطهاد في حد ذاته.

وفي حين أنه مشكلة كبيرة، لم يكن اختبار التكتم المعقول وحده متعلقاً بنوعية صنع القرار في مطالب الميل الجنسي. وقد حدد بحث منشور في أبريل/نيسان 2010 أجرته منظمتان غير حكوميتين[3] في المملكة المتحدة قضايا منهجية أخرى فيما يخص نوعية صنع القرارات. وكان للتقرير الصادر من إحدى المنظمات الأهلية، وهي ستون وول (Stonewall)، أهميته الكبرى، إذ وجد أن السلطات الإدارية والقضائية في المملكة المتحدة أوردت أدلة على "التمييز الممنهج" الممارس ضد طالبي اللجوء على أساس الاضطهاد الجنسي. كما وجد هذا البحث أنَّ 98% من مطالب المثليين أو المثليات لقيت الرفض استناداً إلى مزاعم مثل:

  • إمكانية إعادة نقل مقدم الطلب إلى أي مكان أخر في دبلدانهم الأصلية لتفادي الاضطهاد.
  • عدم إعمال القوانين المجرّمة للعلاقات المثلية الجنسية، مما أدى إلى نتيجة مفادها أن مقدم الطلب ليس لديه خوف مبرر له من الاضطهاد. ولا يؤدي ذلك إلى إثبات حقيقة أن الخوف المبرر من الاضطهاد يمكن أن يوجد حتى في حال عدم تطبيق القوانين المجرّمة للممارسات الرضائية المثلية، أي عندما يكون "لوجود هذا القانون أثر في إيجاد مأزق متشابك للشخص" أو عندما تكون هذه القوانين "نافذة بشكل غير رسمي"[4].
  • تقييمات المصداقية المنطوية على المشاكل المعقّدة والتي نتج عنها في بعض الأحيان إلى الإنكار الخالص لكون طالب اللجوء مثلية أو مثلياً. وتضمن ذلك رفض الطلبات نتيجة استحواذ ذهن المقيّم على مجموعة من الأفكار المسبَّقة حول  الكيفية النمطية التي يتصرُّف بها المثليات والمثليون مع أن كلا الفئتين مضطرون إلى إخفاء هوايتهم الجنسية في بلدانهم الأصلية (كأن يكون ذلك على سبيل المثال من خلال الدخول في علاقة مع الجنس الأخر) وكيفية تعبيرهم عن هوياتهم الجنسية عندما يكونوا في المملكة المتحدة (على سبيل المثال عدم الذهاب إلى نوادي المثليين أو إقامة علاقة مثلية). وينقل تقرير ستون وول قول أحد دارسي الحالات: "إنني أنظر إلى الكيفية التي يستكشفون بها النشاط الجنسي في سياق ثقاي ما، مثل قراءة الأعمال الأدبية لأوسكار وايلد [الكاتب الإنجليزي المشهور بمثليته]، وربما مشاهدة الأفلام والاستماع إلى الموسيقى".
  • في غضون ذلك، وفي مايو/أيار 2010، التزمت الحكومة البريطانية علناً بضمان عدم إعادة طالبي اللجوء من المثليين أو المثليات للاضطهاد: "سنتوقف عن تسفير طالبي اللجوء الذين أُجبروا على مغادرة بلاد محددة نظراً لأن ميولهم الجنسية أو هوياتهم الجندرية قد عرّضتهم لما ثبت بأنه خطر محقق بالسجن أو التعذيب أو الإعدام"[5]. ومع ذلك، أدى قرار المحكمة العليا في يوليو/تموز 2010 في قضية هـ. ج. (إيران) وهـ. ت. (الكاميرون) والتي قدمت السياسة المطلوبة بشكل كبير إلى تغيير الإلحاح والاتجاه الحقيقيين، بما يضمن الإصلاح الجذري في كيفية تعامل صانعي القرارات الخاصة بوضع اللاجئين مع هذه القرارات في المقام الأول (أي في القرار القانوني). وتتعلق هذه القضية بمدى إخفاء أو التوقّع بإخفاء اثنين من اللاجئين المثليين من إيران والكاميرون للسلوكات أو السمات التي ينتج عنها خشية ذلك الشخص من التعرض للاضطهاد نتيجة ميوله الجنسية في حالتنا هذه. كما نظرت المحكمة العليا فيما إذا كان يجب اعتبارهم لاجئين رغم أنهم كانوا يخفون ميولهم الجنسية، بمعنى أخر أنهم يعيشون كذبة لتفادي الاضطهاد. ووجدوا أن هذا الشخص سيكون لاجئاً، وبذلك نقضت المحكمة قرار محكمة الاستئناف لعام 2009 الذي أجاب على نفس التساؤل أنه "فقط إذا لم يتم إجازة إخفاء الهوية بشكل مناسب". وتم وضع النقاط الآتية:
  • يستند مسوِّغ اتفاقية اللاجئين إلى أنه يتعين السماح للأشخاص بعيش حياتهم دون الخوف من التعرض للأذى الجسيم اللاحق بهم نتيجة لأحد أسباب الحماية (التي يكون الميل الجنسي واحداً منها). وإذا تعيّن على أي شخص إخفاء هويته/ هويتها الجنسية بسبب الخوف المبرر له من الاضطهاد، فلن يتوقف هذا الخوف المبرر له، حتى إن نجح الإخفاء.
  • لن يعتبر أحد أنه من المقبول بالنسبة لرجل أو امرأة ممن يتمتعون بالاستقامة أن يخفوا هوايتهم الجنسية إلى ما لا نهاية.
  • كان اختبار "الاحتمال المقبول" صعباً من حيث تطبيقه بصورة عملية.

لقد كان الحكم إجماعياً، إذ وُجد أنه يتعين أن يُمنح طالبو اللجوء من المثليين والمثليات وضع اللجوء إذا كان الذهاب إلى موطنهم سينتج عنه الاضطرار إلى إخفاء هوياتهم الجنسي. وتجاوبت السلطات البريطانية بشكل سريع للحكم. فبادرت وكالة الحدود البريطانية بتنفيذ التوجيه والتدريب الخاص لصانعي القرارات حول كيفية التعامل مع طلبات اللجوء وفقاً للميول الجنسية والهوية الجندرية في نهاية 2010.

السياسة والتدريب

مع انتهاء عام 2010، تم تدريب كافة صانعي القرارات في وكالة الحدود البريطانية، إلى جانب المديرين وكبار المديرين، هذا إلى جانب تنفيذ وإعلان التوجيه الخاص بسياسة اللجوء. وقدمت النتائج من بحث المنظمة غير الحكومية المشار إليها أعلاه وحكم المحكمة العليا إطار عمل للمجالات الأساسية التي يجب أن تولي فيها السلطات البريطانية تركيزها. وفيما يلي بعض التغييرات الأساسية في السياسات والتوجيه.

يلقي التركيز القوي والمرحب به على مهارات المقابلة الشخصية الضوء على الحاجة لطرح الأسئلة المفتوحة والحساسة حول الهوية الجنسية، خلافاً للممارسة السابقة التي تطرح الأسئلة حول السلوك نفسه. فالتدريب يستعرض أسلوب إجراء المقابلات وتبيّن السبب الذي يجعل من طرح الأسئلة حول السلوك الجنسي أمراً غير لائق.

وتكشف الأبحاث التي أجرتها المنظمات غير الحكومية كيف استُخدم عجز مقدمي الطلبات عن الإفصاح عن ميولهم الجنسية في المراحل الأولى من عملية اللجوء في عدم تصديق قصصهم دون أي اعتبارات للظروف المخففة. أما السياسة والتدريب الجديدين مع قضية الإفصاح المتأخر. ومن هنا يُرحب كثيراً باعتراف السلطات البريطانية بإمكانية أن تؤدي عملية اللجوء إلى إسكات القصص السردية حول الميل الجنسي نتيجة للعوامل البيئية وانعدام الخصوصية وطرح الأسئلة القاسية غير المراعية لحساسية الموضوع.

وفيما يتعلق بقضية تحديد الهوية ذاتياً، يتقارب توجيه السياسة من اتباع توجيه المفوضية العليا للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين عندما يقرّ ذلك التوجيه أن تحديد الهوية ذاتياً [على العموم] من حيث كون الشخص مثلية أو مثلي أو مزدوج الميل الجنسي سيكون نقطة إنطلاقة طبيعية للإشارة "للميل الجنسي" للشخص. ويتم تقديم التوجيه لصانعي القرارات فيما يتعلق بتقييم المصداقية في عدد الحالات هذا. ويتضمن ذلك ضرورة تطبيق مبدأ "الاستفادة من الشك" لدرجة أكبر بسبب حقيقة أنه في حالات المثليات والمثليين ومزدوجي الميل الجنسي ومغيري الجندر، فالأكثر احتمالاً أن الأدلة الخارجية والوثائقية وأدلة الدولة الأصل قد لا تكون متاحة. ويتدرب صانعو القرارات على أنه من الأفضل والأكثر حسمية أن يتم في المقابلة الشخصية التحقيق من الرحلة الشخصية لمقدم الطلب ("قصة الاختلاف") – أي كيف عرفوا أنهم مثليون أو مثليات أو مزدوجو الميل الجنسي.

يعد رصد نوعية القرارات ضماناً حيوياً في هذا المجال المعقد. ومنذ عام 2004، تعمل المفوضية العليا للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين مع وكالة الحدود البريطانية لوضع نظام لمراجعة الجودة ولتحقيق التحسُّن في نوعية صنع القرارات الأولية. وبعد تقديم هذه السياسة والتدريب الجديدين في عام 2011، أجرى فريق مراجعة الجودة التابع لوكالة الحدود البريطانية مراجعة نظرية موضوعية في المطالب المتعلقة بالميل الجنسي وهوية الجندر من أجل تحديد نقاط القوة والضعف في التنفيذ.

كما تحرّكت السلطات بسرعة لجمع بيانات أفضل. وستتضمن هذه البيانات الإحصاءات حول عدد حالات الميل الجنسي التي صدر فيها قرارات نقضتها محاكم الاستئناف  والتي يمكنها المساعدة في تحديد المجالات الخاصة التي تستلزم المزيد من الانتباه من خلال التدريب أو التوجيه بخصوص بعض العوامل التي لها أثر على القرارات. ويمكن لهذه الإحصاءات أيضاً أن تساعد في تبديد الأساطير بخصوص أعداد الأفراد طالبين اللجوء على أساس محدد، مع التعامل مع الفكرة المغلوطة التي انتشرت في الصحافة ومفادها أن أبواب الخير ستنفتح إذا تحررت أسس المطالبة باللجوء بالنسبة لمقدمي الطلبات من المثليين.

التحديات المستمرة

من أهم النواحي التي تشكل همَّاً مستمراً في صنع القرارات الخاصة بالمثليات والمثليين ومزدودي الميل الجنسي ومغيري الجندر هي نوعية تقييم المصداقية. فقد أدى التأكيد على "تحديد الهوية ذاتياً" كدليل للميل الجنسي إلى الاتهامات بأن هذه المطالب كان من السهل القيام بها ومن الصعب رفضها. ويشير البحث إلى أن صانعي القرارات في استراليا والمملكة المتحدة "كانوا متباطئين في الاستيعاب والتطبيق الكاملين لرؤية أن المثليين متكتمون حول هوياتهم وعلاقاتهم الجنسية نتيجة للقوى الاجتماعية المتعسفة وليس نتيجة لاختيارهم"[6]. وحتى لو كشف الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) عن هويته ذاتياً فقد لا تُصدَّق مزاعمه.

وترجع هذه الصعوبات المتأصلة جزئياً إلى حقيقة أن القائمين على تقييم المصداقية هم من البشر، ممن يأتون بعنصر الآراء الشخصية في عملية صنع القرار. وفي حين يسمح التدريب الذي تم وضعه في المملكة المتحدة بإعطاء الوقت الكافي في جلسة التدريب لبحث توجّهات الأشخاص تجاه مقدمي الطلبات من المثليين والمثليات، فمن المهم أن يكون لدى السلطات وعي راقٍ بالضغوط الملتبسة الأخرى التي تواجه صانعي القرار. فعلى سبيل المثال، يمكن للاضطراب المجهد ما بعد الصدمة أن ينتقل إلى صانع القرار مع مرور الوقت، وذلك نتيجة لسماع هذه الشهادات الشخصية الصعبة والمصدمة، وقد يؤثر هذا، بالإضافة إلى آليات المسايرة الدفاعية، سلباً على منطلق الاعتقاد أو التكذيب أو الحياد.

ويعد التقدُّم المُحرز في المملكة المتحدة حول حماية اللاجئين بالنسبة للـ (إل جي بي تي آي) مهماً وتقدمياً ومنقذاً للحياة. ولهذا السبب يجب بذل أقصى درجة من الاهتمام لضمان عدم استبدال إحدى المشكلات بمشكلة أخرى، من خلال الانتقال من التكتُّم إلى التكذيب.

أماندا غراي graya@unhcr.org كبير زملاء الحماية، وألكسندرا ماكدوول mcdowall@unhcr.org المسؤول القانوني لدى المفوضية العليا للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين في المملكة المتحدة. والآراء الواردة في هذه المقالة لا تعبر إلا عن آراء كاتبيها، ولا تمثل موقف المفوضية العليا للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين أو الأمم المتحدة.

 



[1] محكمة الاستئناف بالمملكة المتحدة في قضية ه،ج (إيران) وهـ.ت. (الكاميرون) ووزارة الدولة للشؤون الداخلية، (2009) محكمة استئناف إنجلترا وويلز/ حقوق. 172،، 10/ 03/ 09 الفقرة 96

[2] المذكرة التوجيهية للمفوضية العليا للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين حول مطالب اللاجئين المتعلقة بالميول الجنسية والهوية الجندرية، 21 نوفمبر/تشرين الثاني 2008 فقرة 26. المذكرة التوجيهية في 2012 المستعاض عنها بالمعايير التوجيهية الجديدة: انظر مقال فولكر تورك صفحات 5-8.

[3] مجموعة المهاجرين من المثليات والمثليين في المملكة المتحدة،الرسوب في الصف: القرارات الأوليّة لوزارة الداخلية حول مطالب المثليات والمثليين الخاصة باللجوء، أبريل/نيسان 2010http://tinyurl.com/UKLGIG-Failing-the-Grade-2010

ستون وول، الهجرة واللجوء، (Immigration and Asylum) www.stonewall.org.uk/what_we_do/research_and_policy/2874.asp

[4] المذكرة التوجيهية للمفوضية العليا للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين 2008

[6] ميل بنك ج. "من التقدير إلى الإنكار: الاتجاهات الجديدة في قرارات اللاجئين على أساس التوجُّه الجنسي في استراليا والمملكة المتحدة"، الجريدة الدولية لحقوق الإنسان، 2009، العدد 13، 391-414. انظر التذييل 1، صفحة 392 http://papers.ssrn.com/sol3/papers.cfm?abstract_id=1330175

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

LGBT refugee protection in the UK: from discretion to belief?

Amanda Gray and Alexandra McDowall

The UK government used to have no specific guidance or training for decision-makers for claims brought on the grounds of sexual orientation. It was only in 2010 following a combination of judicial, civil society and political pressures that specific policy guidance was speedily issued and significant progress was seen.

Until July 2010, individuals who claimed asylum in the UK on account of their sexual orientation or gender identity (SOGI) were considered not to be in need of international protection if it would be “reasonable” for them to be “discreet” on return to their home country. This ‘reasonable discretion’ test had been elaborated in earlier case law and adopted in 2009 by the UK Court of Appeal in the case of HJ (Iran) and HT (Cameroon).[i] Consequently, UK asylum decision-making authorities focused on whether an individual seeking asylum could be discreet about their sexuality if returned. This test required testimony by the applicant as well as country-of-origin evidence as to whether they could reasonably be expected to tolerate a life lived in secret if returned there.

The test ran contrary, however, to UNHCR’s 2008 Guidance Note on Refugee Claims Relating to Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity which states that “a person cannot be expected or required by the state to change or conceal his or her [sexual] identity in order to avoid persecution. Nor is there a duty to be ‘discreet’ or take certain steps to avoid persecution, such as living a life of isolation, or refraining from having intimate relationships.”[ii] The Guidance Note makes it clear that requiring lesbians and gay men to remain ‘in the closet’ in this way is discriminatory and can amount to persecution in itself.

While a significant problem, the reasonable discretion test was not the only one relating to the quality of decision-making in sexual orientation claims. Research published in April 2010 by two UK NGOs[iii] identified other systematic issues with the quality of decision-making. The report by one of the NGOs, Stonewall, was deeply critical, finding that UK authorities and the judiciary displayed evidence of “systematic discrimination” against those claiming asylum on the basis of sexual persecution. Their research found that 98% of gay or lesbian claims were refused, based on arguments such as:

  • the potential for the applicant to relocate to another part of their country of origin to avoid persecution.
  • non-enforcement of laws criminalising same-sex relationships leading to the finding that an applicant did not have a well-founded fear of persecution. This fails to adequately reflect the reality that a well-founded fear of persecution can exist even if laws criminalising same-sex consensual acts are not enforced, that is, when “the existence of that law has the effect of creating an intolerable predicament for him or her” or when such laws are “enforced in an unofficial manner”.[iv]
  • problematic credibility assessments, which resulted at times in outright disbelief that the asylum claimant was lesbian or gay. This included rejection of claims due to pre-conceived notions about how lesbians and gay men behave, both when forced to conceal their sexual identity in their country of origin (for example, by being in a heterosexual relationship) and how they express their sexual identity when they are in the UK (for example, not having been to gay clubs or formed gay relationships). Stonewall’s report quoted a caseworker saying: “I would look at how they’ve explored their sexuality in a cultural context, reading [famously homosexual British author] Oscar Wilde perhaps, films and music.”

 

Meanwhile, in May 2010 the UK’s government committed publicly to ensure that no gay or lesbian asylum seeker would be returned to persecution: “We will stop the deportation of asylum seekers who have had to leave particular countries because their sexual orientation or gender identification puts them at proven risk of imprisonment, torture or execution”.[v] It was nonetheless, the Supreme Court’s decision in July 2010 in the case of HJ (Iran) and HT (Cameroon) which gave the much needed policy change real urgency and direction, ensuring a radical overhaul in how such decisions were approached by refugee status decision-makers at the first instance (i.e. at the first legal decision). This case concerned the extent to which two gay refugees from Iran and Cameroon might conceal, or be expected to conceal, the behaviour or characteristic giving rise to his or her fear of persecution, in this case their sexual orientation. The Supreme Court considered whether they would be considered a refugee when they were hiding their own sexual orientation – in other words, living a lie – in order to avoid persecution. They found that such a person would be a refugee, and so overturned the Court of Appeal’s 2009 decision which had answered the same question with “only if the concealment cannot reasonably be tolerated”. Several points were made:

  • The rationale of the Refugee Convention is that people should be allowed to live their lives free from the fear of serious harm coming to them as a result of one of the protected grounds (of which sexual orientation is one). If an individual would have to conceal his/her sexual identity because of a well-founded fear of persecution, that person does not cease to have that well-founded fear, even if such concealment is successful.
  • No-one would consider it acceptable for a straight man or woman to have to conceal his or her sexual identity indefinitely.
  • The ‘reasonable tolerability’ test was difficult to apply in practice.

 

The judgment was unanimous, finding that gay and lesbian asylum seekers should be granted refugee status if going home would result in them being forced to conceal their sexuality. The UK authorities reacted quickly to the judgment. Specific guidance and training for decision-makers on how to approach asylum claims based on sexual orientation and sexual identity were rolled out by the UK Border Agency by the end of 2010.

Policy and training

By the end of 2010 all decision-makers at the UK Border Agency, along with their managers and senior managers, had been trained and a specific Asylum Policy Instruction was in place and public. Findings from the NGO research referred to above and the Supreme Court judgment provided a framework of the key areas where the UK authorities should focus. Some of the key policy changes and guidance that were introduced are outlined below. 

A strong and welcome focus on interviewing skills highlighted the need to ask open and sensitive questions around sexual identity as opposed to the former practice of asking questions on conduct. The training explores interviewing technique and describes why asking about sexual conduct is inappropriate.

Research by NGOs had revealed how a failure by applicants to disclose their sexual orientation early in the asylum process was used to discredit their story without any consideration of mitigating circumstances. The new policy and training both deal with the issue of late disclosure. Recognition by the UK authorities that the asylum process can silence narratives of sexual orientation due to environmental factors and lack of privacy as well as harsh and insensitive questioning is particularly welcome.

On the issue of self-identification, the Policy Instruction comes close to adopting the UNHCR Guidance, when it states that “generally speaking self-identification as a lesbian, gay or bisexual will be the normal starting point as an indication of a person’s sexual orientation”. Guidance is provided for decision-makers in terms of credibility assessment in this caseload. This includes the need to apply the ‘benefit of the doubt’ more often due to the fact that in lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) cases it is more likely that external, documentary evidence and country of origin evidence may not be available. Decision-makers are trained that it is far better and more determinative to investigate at interview the applicant’s personal journey (‘narrative of difference’) – that is, how they know they are gay, lesbian or bisexual.

Monitoring the quality of decisions is a vital safeguard in this complex arena. Since 2004 UNHCR has been working with the UKBA to develop a Quality Audit System and to achieve an improvement in the quality of first instance decision-making. Following the introduction of this new policy and training, in 2011 the UK Border Agency’s Quality Audit Team conducted a thematic audit of decision-making in SOGI claims, in order to identify strengths and weaknesses of implementation.

The authorities also moved quickly to collect better data. Such data will include statistics on the number of sexual orientation cases overturned at appeal and can help identify the particular areas that require further attention, through training or guidance on particular factors that have an impact on decisions. Statistics can also help dispel myths about the numbers of individuals claiming asylum on a certain ground, addressing the misconceived notion expressed in the press that floodgates will open if grounds for claiming asylum are liberalised for gay claimants.

Continuing challenges

A major area of continuing concern in LGBT decision-making is the quality of credibility assessment. The emphasis on ‘self-identification’ as evidence of sexual orientation has led to accusations that these claims are easy to make and hard to disprove, and research indicates that decision-makers in Australia and the UK “have been slow to fully absorb and apply the insight that gay people are secretive about their sexuality and relationships as a result of oppressive social forces rather than by choice”.[vi] Even if there is self-identification by the applicant as an LGBT person, he or she may still not be believed.

Such inherent difficulties are in part due to the fact that credibility assessment is conducted by human beings who bring an element of subjectivity into the decision-making process. While the training developed in the UK allowed considerable time in the training session to look at individual attitudes to gay and lesbian applicants, it is important that authorities have a heightened awareness of the other subtle pressures that face decision-makers. For example, post-traumatic stress disorder can transfer to the decision-maker over time as a result of hearing such difficult and traumatic personal testimonies; this, combined with defensive coping mechanisms, can negatively affect the starting point of belief, disbelief or neutrality.

The progress made in the UK on refugee protection for LGBT people is vital, progressive and life-saving. It is for this reason that there must be utmost concern to ensure that one problem is not replaced with another – by moving from discretion to disbelief.

 

Amanda Gray graya@unhcr.org is Senior Protection Associate and Alexandra McDowall mcdowall@unhcr.org is Legal Officer with UNHCR in the UK. The views expressed in this article are those of the authors and do not represent the position of UNHCR or of the UN.



[i] UK Court of Appeal in HJ (Iran) and HT (Cameroon) and SSHD, (2009) EWCA Civ. 172, 10/03/09 para 96

[ii] UNHCR Guidance Note on Refugee Claims Relating to Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity, 21 November 2008 para 26. Guidance Note superseded in 2012 by new Guidelines: see article by Volker Turk.

[iii] UK Lesbian and Gay Immigration Group, Failing the Grade: Home Office initial decisions on lesbian and gay claims for asylum, April 2010
http://tinyurl.com/UKLGIG-Failing-the-Grade-2010
Stonewall, Immigration and Asylum, www.stonewall.org.uk/what_we_do/research_and_policy/2874.asp

[iv] UNHCR Guidance Note 2008

[vi] Millbank JFrom discretion to disbelief: recent trends in refugee determinations on the basis of sexual orientation in Australia and the United Kingdom’, International Journal of Human Rights, 2009, Vol. 13, 391–414 See footnote 1, at p. 392 http://papers.ssrn.com/sol3/papers.cfm?abstract_id=1330175

 

FMR 42
April 2013

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.