معوِّقات العدالة في المملكة المتحدة

خلال السنوات الأخيرة، أُحرِزت تقدمات قانونية مهمة في معاملة قضايا طالبي اللجوء من المثليات والمثليين في المملكة المتحدة. لكن لا تزال العوائق الجسيمة قائمة.

تشير المقابلات الشخصية مع العاملين على القضايا والمحامين المتخصصين في قضايا اللجوء الخاصة بالمثليات والمثليين ومزدوجي الميل الجنسي ومغيري الجندر (إل جي بي تي) وإحدى الجمعيات الخيرية لهجرة المثليين في المملكة المتحدة إلى أن موظفي وكالة الحدود البريطانية يلجؤون إلى صور نمطية عفى عليها الزمن في التوصل إلى قراراتهم. كما أنَّ طالبي اللجوء حُرموا من الحماية لأنهم كانوا من منظور الصورة النمطية مستقيمين بصورة مبالغ بها، وغالباً ما يُتوقع من مقدمي الطلبات أن يتصرّفوا ويرتدوا ملابسهم ويتحدثوا وفقاً لصور نمطية محددة تتماشى مع المفاهيم الغربية الصارمة للهوية الجنسية. فطلبات المثليات بعضها يُرفَض لأنهن لا يبدو عليهن الاسترجال الكافي، في حين يُسئل المثليون عما إذا كانوا يترددون على المتنزهات لممارسة الجنس. هذه الافتراضات المتبعة بقوة حول الكيفية التي يتعين بها إظهار هوية المثليات والمثليين تقوض أي نظام فاعل وحمائي للجوء.

ما وجد أيضاً العديد من طالبي اللجوء أن وجود المترجمين في بعض الأحيان قد يضر بطلباتهم. ويُسمح لأصحاب الطلبات في عملية اللجوء أن يختاروا جنس المترجم، ومع أنَّ  المترجم يُطلب منه أن يكون على علم كافٍ بالحساسيات الثقافية أو الدينية، لا يتلقون في المملكة المتحدة أي تدريب على قضايا الـ (إل جي بي تي)، ولا توجد أي خطط عاجلة للتعامل مع ذلك. ويخشى طالبو اللجوء الـ (إل جي بي تي) أن تجري الترجمة على يد شخص ما من مجتمعهم الأصلي. وفي العديد من مجتمعات اللاجئين في المملكة المتحدةـ، يعد رهاب المثلية الجنسية أمراً شائعاً كما لو كان في البلد الأصل، وفي معظم الحالات لا يكون المترجمون استئناءً لذلك. وهناك حالات استخدم فيها المترجمون لغة متعسفة ضد مقدمي الطلبات أو أساءوا ترجمة إفاداتهم. وللترجمة الدقيقة أهميتها لأن القرار غالباً ما يرتكز على دقة وترابط إفادة الشاهد. فإذا كانت هناك أي تناقضات أو ترجمات خاطئة، فقد يهدد ذلك المطالب كلياً.

كما أثر تخفيض الحكومة للمساعدة القانونية بشكل غير متناسب على طالبي اللجوء من المثليات والمثليين. ولا تملك الشركات القانونية المقدمة للمساعدة القانونية الآن الكثير من الوقت لإقامة دعوى مترابطة وتقديمها لوزارة الداخلية، بمعنى أن بعض طالبي اللجوء يخضعون لمقابلات وكالة الحدود البريطانية دون الاستعداد الكافي لذلك. وقد تستغرق طلبات اللجوء الخاصة بالمثليات والمثليين وقتاً أطول نظراً لضرورة "مجاهرة" مقدمي الطلبات بهوياتهم الجندرية للمحامي وأن يستعدوا للحديث بانفتاح عن هوياتهم الجنسية أمام موظف وكالة الحدود البريطانية.

ومع أنَّ هناك إرشادات واضحة حول كيفية التعامل مع مطالب الهويات الجنسية، فهي مهملة. وبدلاً من ذلك، يميل صانعو القرارات إلى التجاهل والتحيُّزات لصالح العلاقات الجنسية غير المثلية في إصدار أحكامهم على القضايا. ونتيجة ذلك أن حلت هوية متخذ القرار محل هوية صاحب الطلب لتكون العامل الحاسم في الحكم على الطلب المقدم له.

 

أنهت تشارلوت ماتيس  c.mathysse@gmail.com مؤخراً دراسة  الماجستير في دراسات الهجرة بجامعة ساسكس، وتعمل الآن في جمعية الصليب الأحمر الكيني في ناكورو، إلى جانب برنامج التدريب الخاص بالمساواة في الجندر.

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Barriers to justice in the UK

Charlotte Mathysse

In recent years, there have been significant legal advances in the treatment of the cases of lesbian and gay asylum seekers in the UK. However, significant barriers still remain.

Interviews with case workers, solicitors specialising in LGBT asylum cases and a gay immigration charity in the UK indicate that UKBA officials resort to obsolete stereotypes in order to ‘inform’ their decision making. Asylum seekers have been denied protection because they have appeared too typically straight and often applicants are expected to act, dress and speak in certain ways which conform to rigid Western notions of sexuality. Lesbians have been rejected for not seeming butch enough, and gay men have been asked if they frequented parks for sex. These deeply held assumptions about how lesbian and gay identity ought to be manifested undermine any effective and protective asylum system.  

Many asylum seekers have also found that the presence of interpreters can sometimes be detrimental to their application. Claimants in the asylum process are allowed to choose the gender of their interpreter, and that interpreter should be aware of cultural or religious sensitivities. However, interpreters in the UK receive no training on LGBT issues and there are no imminent plans to address this. Many LGBT asylum seekers fear being interpreted by someone from their home community. In many refugee communities in the UK, homophobia is as common as it is back in the home country, and often interpreters are a representation of this. There have been instances where interpreters have used abusive language against applicants, or mistranslated their statements. Accurate interpreting is essential because often a decision is based upon the precision and coherence of the witness statement. If there are inconsistencies or mistranslations, then a whole claim may be jeopardised.

Government cuts to legal aid have also disproportionately affected lesbian and gay asylum seekers. Legal aid law firms now have less time to construct a coherent case to present to the Home Office, meaning that some asylum seekers face their UKBA interviews without sufficient preparation. Lesbian and gay asylum applications often take longer because the applicant must have ‘come out’ to the solicitor, and be prepared to talk openly about their sexuality in front of a UKBA official.

Clear guidance exists on how to approach sexuality claims but is being ignored. Decision makers are instead resorting to ignorance and heterosexist biases in judging cases. This has resulted in the identity of the decision-maker, rather than that of the applicant, becoming the decisive factor in a claim.

 

Charlotte Mathysse c.mathysse@gmail.com has recently completed a Masters in Migration Studies at the University of Sussex and is now working for the Kenya Red Cross in Nakuru and for a gender equality training programme.

FMR 42
April 2013

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.