الهوية والاندماج في إسرائيل وكينيا

يعتمد التعبير عن الميل الجنسي والهوية الجندرية المخالفين للتوحهات العامة على الفرص الاجتماعية والقانونية والثقافية والسياسية التي تعطي المساحة لاستكشاف وظهور الهويات الجديدة. وعليها أيضاً تستند حماية الأشخاص.

لقد فر اللاجئون وطالبو اللجوء من الأقليات الجنسية، ممن تمت مقابلتهم في إسرائيل وكينيا، دولاً أخرى مثل أرمينيا وجمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية وإثيوبيا والمغرب والصومال وسريلانكا والسودان، حيث يكاد الحديث عن المثليات والمثليين ومزدوجي الميل الجنسي ومغيري الجندر ومزدوجي الجنس (إل جي بي تي آي) أمراً منعدماً.

"لا يُذكر أي شيء من هذا القبيل في المغرب كالهوية الجنسية. إنس الأمر. الهوية الجنسية "اختراع" غربي. وهي أنك إما رجل أو امرأة. وإذا كنت بينهما، فأنت مومس ذكري". (أحد طالبي اللجوء المثليين المغربيين)

عند وصولهم إلى بلدهم الجديد، تعرّض أغلبهم إلى الحديث لأول مرة عن حقوق الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) من خلال اللقاءات مع السكان المحليين والأقليات الجنسية المحلية ومناصري الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) ووكلاء مساعدة اللاجئين ومقدمي الخدمات الطبية والنفسية ومن خلال التغطية الإعلامية. وبعد فترة أوليّة من التواصل مع اللاجئين الآخرين وطالبي اللجوء والمهاجرين من دولهم الأصلية، تميل الأغلبية إلى الانفصال عن هذه المجتمعات وتحاول بدلاً من ذلك الاندماج مع السكان المحليين، مع تبنيهم تدريجياً للتمثيلات الذاتية لل (إل جي بي تي آي). وتعد هذه العملية مطوَّلة وتتسم بالاستضعاف الكبير نظراً لانعدام الثقة في الوصول إلى شبكات الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) أو مناصريهم ممن يقدمون المساعدات للاجئين.

إسرائيل

تعد إسرائيل متساهلة مع الميل الجنسي والهويات الجندرية غير الموافقة للقيم السائدة. وفي هذه البيئة، يكون طالبو اللجوء من الأقليات الجنسية أكثر قدرة على إعادة التشكُّل والانفتاح حول هوياتهم الجنسية و/ أو هوياتهم الجندرية. لكن هذه الفرص تعتمد على المهارات اللغوية للأشخاص والمواجهات مع الوكلاء الاجتماعيين الموثوق بهم (خاصة الموظفون الودودون مع المثليين). ولا يزال الوصول إلى الحماية محدوداً، وكثير من طالبي اللجوء من الأقليات الجنسية في إسرائيل لا يتوجهون إلى وكلاء حماية اللاجئين أو مناصري الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) إلا بعد أشهر إن لم يكن بعد سنوات بعد وصولهم إلى إسرائيل، وبذلك يفوتهم الموعد النهائي الذي تكون مدته عاماً واحداً لتقديم طلبات اللجوء إلى هيئة السكان والهجرة والحدود. علاوة على ذلك، تعني التصنيفات الثابتة والضيقة للـ (إل جي بي تي آي) المستخدمة من قِبل هيئة السكان والهجرة والحدود أن طالبي اللجوء والمسؤولين يجدون أنفسهم ضائعين بكل معنى الكلمة بشأن الكلمات التي يجب استخدامها لمناقشة طلبات اللجوء المتعلقة بالميل الجنسي والهوية الجندرية. واعتباراً من نوفمبر/تشرين الثاني 2012، لم توصِ هيئة السكان والهجرة والحدود أي حالة لمنح وضع اللجوء على أساس الاضطهاد القائم على الميل الجنسي والهوية الجندرية. وتؤدي العزلة وفقدان الشبكات الاجتماعية وضغط عملية اللجوء، بالإضافة إلى آثار الأحداث الصدمية في دولهم الأصلية إلى ارتفاع معدلات اضطراب توتر ما بعد الصدمة (71%) بين المشاركين الذين أُجريت معهم المقابلة الشخصية[i].

كينيا

حصل ناشطو الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) الأوغنديون ممن تمت مقابلتهم في نيروبي على وضع اللجوء بعد الفرار من خطر تعرضهم للاعتقال والسجن من قِبل السلطات الأوغندية. وبوصفهم ناشطون، فقد عبَّروا بوضوح عن الهويات المثلية وكانوا أعضاء في شبكات حقوق الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) التي زودتهم بالمعلومات حول الحصول على اللجوء في كينيا. وفي المقابل، لم يتواصل المشاركون من الأقليات الجنسية الأوغندية غير الناشطين، ممن تمت مقابلتهم في نيروبي وكيزيمو (الذين فرّوا من أوغندا بالأساس بعد اكتشاف هويتهم من قِبل الأسرة أو الأصدقاء أو الجيران)، بشبكات الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) ولم تكن لديهم المعرفة بنظام اللجوء ولا بالعلاقة الوثيقة بين السبب وراء فرارهم وطلب اللجوء. وكان ثلاثتهم في أوائل العشرينيات، وكان مصدر إعالتهم هو المشاركة في أعمال الجنس.

قد فرّ الأشخاص الذين تمت مقابلتهم من جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية وإثيوبيا والصومال ونيروبي بالأساس من دولهم نظراً لأعمال العنف أو لمشاركاتهم السياسية. وسعت الغالبية أولاً إلى الحصول على المساعدة من مواطني بلادهم لغاية الوصول إلى عملية اللجوء وتأمين العمل والسكن؛ وبعد بعض الوقت، قللوا هذه الاتصالات وبدأوا في البحث عن الأماكن التي قد يفصحون فيها عن ميولهم الجنسية و/ أو هوياتهم الجندرية. لكن نظراً للجو العام الذي يسود فيه رهاب المثلية الجنسية في نيروبي وتعرضهم لمخاطر الابتزاز والعنف عند الكشف عن هوياتهم الجنسية، يجد العديد من اللاجئين من الأقليات الجنسية الملاذ مع اللاجئين الكينين والأجانب وغيرهم من اللاجئين، لضمان السكن والطعام لقاء الجنس. واتسم البعض من هذه العلاقات بالانقياد نظراً للابتزاز، حيث أبُلغ عن ما لا يقل عن حالتين من الحالات التي ترقى إلى الاستعباد الجنسي.

ونظراً للخوف من أن يكتشف الجيران أصحاب البيوت التي يقيمون فيها في نيروبي، يضطر اللاجئون من الأقليات الجنسية إلى الانتقال المتكرر من مسكن إلى أخر. وقد تفسر العزلة والضغط المستمر نتيجة لغياب الحماية وصعوبة الاندماج المحلي ارتفاع معدلات اضطراب توتر ما بعد الصدمة بين المشاركين في كينيا تصل إلى 69%، ولا تختلف عن المعدلات في إسرائيل.

الاستنتاجات

في نيروبي، وإدراكاً بوجود رهاب المثلية العام والتهديدات الممارسة بحق الـ (إل جي بي تي آي)، ينفّذ صندوق اللاجئين في كينيا التابع لجمعية مساعدة المهاجرين العبرانيين واتحاد لاجئي كينيا برامج محددة للتعامل مع الاحتياجات القانونية والنفسية الاجتماعية والحمائية للاجئين من الأقليات الجنسية. وفي إسرائيل، حيث هناك تصور عام للتسامح تجاه الأقليات الجنسية، لا يتبع مقدمو الحماية أكثر من الحد الأدنى من التدابير الاستباقية بغرض تعزيز حماية هذه المجموعة المستضعفة بصورة خاصة. وتتطلب البيئة في كلا البلدين المزيد من تطوير الدعم الخاص وإستراتيجيات التحديد وتدابير الحماية الاستباقية.

ويتعين على الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) ووكالات مساعدة اللاجئين ما يلي:

  • تدريب مناصري الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) المحليين على أسس شرعية الاضطهاد الممارس على أساس الميل الجنسي والهوية الجندرية في طلب الحماية الدولية وتضمينهم في شبكة الإحالة الأوسع.
  • نشر المعلومات المتعلقة بالاضطهاد الممارس على أساس الميل الجنسي والهوية الجندرية والحماية الدولية على المواقع الإلكترونية ذات الصلة.
  • توسيع نطاق أنظمة الدعم والتحديد والإحالة بصورة خاصة لتصل إلى المراكز الحضرية ما وراء نيروبي وتل أبيب.
  • تسهيل مجموعات الدعم الاجتماعي للاجئين من الأقليات الجنسية ، بما في ذلك الدمج في الأنشطة الاجتماعية والتدريب المهني الذي تقيمه فعاليات المجتمع المدني من الـ (إل جي بي تي آي).
  • تحسين الحصول على المساعدات النفسية الاجتماعية من خلال توسيع نطاق تدريب المهنيين حول الميل الجنسي والهوية الجندرية.
  • توفير المأوى الآمن للاجئين من الأقليات الجنسية في كينيا لتقليل الحاجة لتكوين العلاقات الانقيادية مع المضيفين المعتدين.

 

يفتاخ ميلو yiftach.hias@gmail.com استشاري بحثي لدى HIAS www.hias.org.

نتائج البحث متاحة كاملة على شبكة الإنترنت: جمعية مساعدة المهاجرين العبرانيين الاختفاء في المدينة: ثغرات الحماية المواجهة للاجئين من الأقليات الجنسية في المدن الحضرية بالإكوادور وغانا وإسرائيل وكينيا

 (Invisible in the City: Protection Gaps Facing Sexual Minority Refugees in Urban Ecuador, Ghana, Israel and Kenya)

  http://tinyurl.com/HIAS-invisible-in-city



[i] مجتمع الدراسة أصغر من أن يمثل الفئة المستهدفة، لكنه قد يشير إلى الاتجاه المحتمل الذي يلزم إجراء المزيد من البحث عنه.

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Identity and integration in Israel and Kenya

Yiftach Millo

Expression of non-conforming sexual orientation and gender identity depends on social, legal, cultural and political opportunities which provide space for exploration and the emergence of new identities. People’s protection will also depend on these.

Sexual minority refugees and asylum seekers interviewed in Israel and Kenya had fled countries such as Armenia, the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Ethiopia, Morocco, Somalia, Sri Lanka and Sudan where the LGBTI discourse is almost non-existent:

There is no such thing in Morocco as sexual identity, forget it. Sexual identity is a Western ‘invention’. It’s either you’re a man or a woman. If you’re in the margin, then you’re a male whore.” (Gay Moroccan asylum seeker)

On arrival in their new country, most were exposed for the first time to LGBTI rights discourse through encounters with the local population, local sexual minorities, LGBTI advocates, refugee assistance agents, medical and psychosocial service providers, and media coverage. After an initial period of establishing contacts with other refugees, asylum seekers and migrants from their countries of origin, the majority tend to start to disengage from these communities and attempt instead to integrate with the local population, gradually adopting LGBTI self-representations. This process is lengthy and characterised by greater vulnerability due to lack of confidence in approaching refugee assistance and LGBTI networks or advocates.

Israel

Israel is considered tolerant of non-conforming sexual orientations and gender identities, and in this environment sexual minority asylum seekers are more able to reconfigure and be open about their sexual orientation and/or gender identity. Such opportunities, however, are dependent on a person’s language skills and encounters with trusted social agents (mainly gay-friendly employers). Access to protection is still limited and many sexual minority asylum seekers in Israel only approach refugee assistance agents or LGBTI advocates months if not years after arrival in Israel, thereby often missing the one-year deadline for submission of asylum claims to the Population, Immigration and Border Authority (PIBA). In addition, fixed and narrow LGBTI categorisations used by PIBA mean that both asylum seekers and officials are quite literally lost for words to discuss SOGI asylum claims. As of November 2012 PIBA had not yet recommended a single instance of granting refugee status on the basis of SOGI-related persecution. Isolation, loss of social networks and the stress of the asylum process, compounded by the effects of traumatic events in their home countries, lead to high rates (71%) of post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) among participants interviewed.[1]

Kenya

Ugandan male LGBTI activists interviewed in Nairobi had gained refugee status after fleeing arrest and imprisonment by Ugandan authorities. As activists they possessed clearly articulated gay identities and were members of LGBTI rights networks which provided them with information about obtaining asylum in Kenya. In contrast, non-activist Ugandan sexual minority participants interviewed in Nairobi and Kisumu (who had fled Uganda primarily after being exposed by family, friends or neighbours) were not connected to LGBTI networks and had no knowledge of the asylum system and the relevance of the reason for their flight to an asylum claim. All three were in their early twenties, surviving financially by engaging in sex work.

Interviewees from DRC, Ethiopia and Somalia in Nairobi had primarily fled their countries due to violence or their political engagement. The majority first sought the assistance of fellow countrymen in accessing the asylum process and securing employment and accommodation; after some time they reduced these contacts and started searching for spaces where they could be open about their sexual orientation and/or gender identity. However, due to the general homophobic climate in Nairobi and the threat of extortion and violence upon exposure, many of the sexual minority refugees found refuge with Kenyan, foreign and other refugee men, securing accommodation and food in exchange for sex. Some of these relations were characterised by dependency due to extortion; at least two cases amounted to sexual enslavement.

Fear of exposure by neighbours and landlords in Nairobi forces sexual minority refugees to move frequently from one lodging to another. Isolation and constant stress due to lack of protection and the impossibility of local integration may explain the high rates of PTSD among participants in Kenya. At 69% this rate is similar to rates in Israel.

Conclusions

In Nairobi, in recognition of generalised homophobia and threats towards LGBTI individuals, both HIAS Refugee Trust of Kenya and the Refugee Consortium of Kenya are operating specific programmes addressing the legal, psychosocial and shelter needs of sexual minority refugees. In Israel, where there is a general perception of tolerance towards sexual minorities, there are only minimal proactive measures being taken by assistance providers to enhance protection of this particular vulnerable group. Both settings demand further development of specific outreach and identification strategies and proactive protection measures.

LGBTI and refugee assistance agencies should:

  • train local LGBTI advocates on the legitimacy of SOGI-based persecution in claiming international protection and incorporate them into a wider referral network
  • post information about SOGI-based persecution and international protection on relevant websites
  • extend outreach, identification and referral systems specifically to urban centres beyond Nairobi and Tel Aviv
  • facilitate social support groups for sexual minority refugees including integration into social activities and vocational training run by LGBTI civil society
  • improve access to psychosocial assistance by extending training on SOGI to professionals in Kenya
  • provide safe shelters for sexual minority refugees in Kenya to reduce the need to form dependent relations with abusive hosts.

 

Yiftach Millo yiftach.hias@gmail.com is a research consultant for Hebrew Immigrant Aid Society www.hias.org

Full research results online: HIAS Invisible in the City: Protection Gaps Facing Sexual Minority Refugees in Urban Ecuador, Ghana, Israel and Kenya http://tinyurl.com/HIAS-invisible-in-city



[1]  The sample size is too small to represent the targeted population but may be indicative of a possible trend that needs to be further researched.

 

FMR 42
April 2013

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.