مطالب لجوء المثليات والمثليين ومزدوجي الميل الجنسي ومغيري الجندر ومزدوجي الجنس – منظور أوروبا الوسطى والشرقية

تشير الأبحاث التي أُجريت مؤخراً إلى أن دول أوروبا الوسطى والشرقية لا تزال متخلفة عن باقي دول أوروبا من حيث ممارسات اللجوء المتعلقة بمطالب لجوء  المثليات والمثليين ومزدوجي الميل الجنسي ومغيري الجندر ومزدوجي الجنس (إل جي بي تي).  ويهدد انخفاض المستويات المنخفضة من الوعي وانعدام التوجيه والعداوة الثقافية تطلعات طالبي اللجوء نحو حصولهم على المعاملة العادلة.

لقد وجد البحث المنشور عام 2011 أنه يتعين على السلطات في منطقة أوروبا الوسطى والشرقية التعامل من وقت لأخر مع مطالب اللجوء الخاصة بالـ (إل جي بي تي). ويرى مشروع "الهروب من رهاب المثلية" لمركز الثقافة والترفيه بهولندا وجامعة أمستردام[1] أنه منذ عام 1997، كان متوسط عدد المطالب على هذا الأساس سنوياً اثنين في بلغاريا وثلاثة أو أربعة في جمهورية التشيك وخمسة أو ستة في المجر واثنين أو ثلاثة في بولندا وثلاثة في ليتوانيا. وبالمقارنة، تمت دراسة 1,100 طلب للجوء الـ (إل جي بي تي) ما بين عامي 2008 و2010 في بلجيكا. إلا أنه لا توجد أي بيانات رسمية ذلك أنَّ دول أوروبا الوسطى والشرقية لا تحتفظ بالإحصاءات المنفصلة حول مطالب الـ (إل جي بي تي)، ناهيك عن فصل الإحصاءات فيما يتعلق بوضع الـ (إل جي بي تي).

وقد وقّعت جميع دول أوروبا الوسطى والشرقية على اتفاقية اللاجئين لعام 1951 وبروتوكولها لعام 1967 وجميعها، باستثناء روسيا البيضاء، أعضاء في المجلس الأوروبي ودول أعضاء في الاتفاقية الأوروبية لحقوق الإنسان. علاوة على ذلك، فإنَّ بلغاريا وجمهورية التشيك وإستونيا والمجر ولاتفيا وليتوانيا وبولندا ورومانيا وسلوفاكيا وسلوفينيا (وكرواتيا في المستقبل القريب) هي أعضاء في الاتحاد الأوروبي. وتوفر اتفاقية اللاجئين لعام 1951 وقانون الاتحاد الأوروبي والسوابق القضائية الخاصة بالاتفاقية الأوروبية لحقوق الإنسان الحماية لطالبي اللجوء واللاجئين. لكن إجراءات منح وضع اللجوء لطالبي اللجوء الـ (إل جي بي تي) تبدو أبعد مما عليه الحال في منطقة أوروبا الوسطى والشرقية.

الأكثر من ذلك، لا يوجد في أي دولة من دول أوروبا الوسطى والشرقية أي إرشادات رسمية حول كيفية التعامل مع مطالب الـ (إل جي بي تي)، وليست هناك أي منظمة أهلية وطنية متخصصة لتقديم الدعم القانوني والاجتماعي لطالبي اللجوء من الـ (إل جي بي تي) في منطقة أوروبا الوسطى والشرقية. ويظهر مسؤولو اللجوء قلة وعي بالطبيعة الخاصة للاضطهاد ضد الـ (إل جي بي تي)، وغالباً ما يتحيزون ضد هذه المجموعة الاجتماعية. لذلك، يمكن عزو انخفاض عدد مطالب لجوء الـ (إل جي بي تي) في المنطقة إلى شيوع جو رهاب المثلية وتغيير الجندر الذي يجعل المنطقة غير مرغوب بها كملاذ للهاربين من الاضطهاد القائم على الميل الجنسي أو الهوية الجندربة.

التجريم

الاتجاه الملحوظ في دول أوروبا الوسطى والشرقية أنَّ اللجوء لا يُمنح لمقدمي الطلبات من الـ (إل جي بي تي على العموم إلا في حالة كانت الممارسات المثلية و/ أو تحديد الشخص لهويته على أنه من الت (إل جي بي تي)  مجرّمة في دولهم الأصلية. وللأسف، في أغلب دول أوروبا الوسطى والشرقية، يستلزم إصدار القرار الإيجابي باللجوء الحصول على دليل بالتطبيق الفعلي لهذه القوانين، وهذا ما يتعارض مع توجيه المفوضية العليا للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين بأن القوانين التي تحظر العلاقات المثلية، حتى وإن كانت غير منتظمة في تطبيقها أو غير مطبقة، قد تؤدي إلى مأزق خطير للشخص الـ (إل جي بي تي) والتي قد تصل إلى حد الاضطهاد. ومن هنا تعدُّ السلطات الليتوانية والبولندية أن وجود هذه القوانين في حد ذاته يشكل اضطهاداً، لكنَّ بولندا تعلِّق اعترافها بمطالب الأشخاص الـ (إل جي بي تي) بتطبيق القانون في بلادهم الأصلية.

تقييم المصداقية

تشترط أغلب دول أوروبا الوسطى والشرقية تقديم الأدلة حول إفادة مقدم الطلب بخصوص ميله/ميلها الجنسي أو هويته/هويتها الجندرية. وكشف التقرير النهائي لمشروع الهروب من رهاب المثلية أن العديد من سلطات اللجوء في أوروبا الوسطى والشرقية تطلب الشهادات الطبية وغير ذلك من الشهادات الطبية الأخرى، التي يصدرها عادةً علماء الجنس أو علماء النفس أو أطباء النفس والأعصاب.

وقد أجريت الممارسة الغريبة المتمثلة في "الفحص التشخيصي الجنسي" في جمهورية التشيك ما بين عامي 2008 و2010 وتضمنت مقابلة شخصية مع عالم جنس والخضوع لما ما يُطلق عليه اسم "اختبار تخطيط التحجُّم القضيبي"[2]. ولم تكن هذه الممارسة غير لازمة فحسب، بل إنها شكلت أيضاً مخالفة لمبدأ حظر التعامل غير الإنساني والمهين ومخالفة الحق في الخصوصية. لكنَّ الانتقادات الدولية خاصة تلك التي أبدتها وكالة الحقوق الأساسية للاتحاد الأوروبي والمفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين ومنظمات ومؤسسات حقوق الإنسان الأخرى[3] منعت ممارسة تخطيط التحجُّم القضيبي من قِبل السلطات التشيكية. لكن في سلوفاكيا، لا يزال رأي الخبير مطلوباً من أجل التأكُّد من الميل الجنسي و/ أو الهوية الجندرية لأي شخص يطلب اللجوء وفق هذه الأسس. وبصورة خاصة، يتحدد الميل الجنسي أثناء إجراء المقابلة مع عالِم الجنس. ومرة أخرى، تتعارض هذه الممارسة مع إرشادات الأمم المتحدة التي تقول إنَّه يتعين على المسؤولين الاعتماد على إفادات مقدم الطلب فقط في الحالات التي لا تتوافر فيها معلومات البلد الأصلي.

وفي بلغاريا، تكفي حالة الأم أو الحالة الأبوية لمقدمي الطلبات من الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) لرفض منح حماية اللاجئين. كما تطرح سلطات اللجوء البلغارية أيضاً أسئلة فضولية فيما يتعلق بعدد الشركاء الجنسيين أو أفضل الأوضاع الجنسية أو الاتصالات الجنسية مع الجنس الأخر. وفي المجر، يعد التأخُّر في الكشف عن الميل الجنسي في المرحلة الأولى من إجراء اللجوء عاملاً سلبياً في تقييم المصداقية. وعلاوة على ذلك، تعد العلاقات مع الجنس الأخر والأطفال المولدين نتيجة تلك لعلاقاتا أسساً للتشكيك في مصداقية طالبي اللجوء من المثليات والمثليين.

شرط التكتُّم

غالباً ما تستخدم سلطات اللجوء المحلية في أوروبا الوسطى والشرقية حجة القدرة على إخفاء الميل الجنسي أو الهوية الجندرية في البلد الأصل من أجل الحكم على المطالب بأنها غير حقيقية. فقد لاحظ المكتب المجري للهجرة والجنسية، فيما يتعلق بإحدى حالات لجوء الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) أنه "حتى في حالة فرض العقوبات الجنائية ضد المثليين/ المثليات أو التصرفات المثلية [في الجزائر]، فإنه يمكن ممارسة الميل الجنسي في الخفاء والكتمان بغية منع الاعتداءات المحتملة". وبالمثل، تم رفض حالة للاجئ باكستاني من قِبل المكتب البولندي للأجانب لأن مقدم الطلب، وفقاً للسلطات، كان بمقدرته "الهرب" إلى مناطق أخرى في بلده. ولتبرير القرار، أشار مكتب الأجانب إلى تقرير وزارة الداخلية البريطانية حول وضع الـ (إل جي بي تي آي)  في باكستان، ذاكراً أنه "في حالة عيشه مثلياً في الكتمان، فلن يكون هناك سبب لمعاناته من الضرر من باقي أفراد المجتمع". وفي المقابل، تؤكد إرشادات المفوضية العليا للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين أن الأشخاص الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) يجب ان يمنحوا الحق في التمتع بحقهم بالتعبير عن هويتهم والارتباط بالأخرين وأنه لا يجب اشتراط إخفاء الميل الجنسي و/ أو الهوية الجندرية لمنع مخاطر الاضطهاد.

أحكام متعارضة

صدر عن السلطات البولندية مؤخراً قرارات بقضيتين لطالبي اللجوء الأوغنديين المثليينبل. كان مقدم الطلب الأول قد ادعى أنه تم ضربه وتعذيبه وإهانته في أوغندا بسبب ميله الجنسي. وعلى الرغم من ميله الجنسي، تزوّج وكان له أطفال بيولوجيين. أما مقدم الطلب الثاني، فقد أُلقي القبض عليه وهو يمارس الاتصال الجنسي المثلي في أحد المتنزهات، وادعى أنه تعرض أثناء الاعتقال إلى العنف الجنسي والنفسي. وأُطلق سراحه بعد عشرة أيام، لكنه توقّع حكماً جنائياً بالحبس مدة سبعة سنوات أو حتى الإعدام. ورُفضت مطالب مقدمي الطلبين في المرحلة الأولى من إجراءات اللجوء. وفي كلتا الحالتين، قرر رئيس مكتب الأجانب أن الوضع في أوغندا لا يمثل مخاطرة حقيقية للاضطهاد على أساس الميل الجنسي. وفي حالة مقدم الطلب الأول، نقض مجلس اللاجئين القرار بعد أن خلص إلى أن مجرد وجود وتنفيذ الأحكام الخاصة بتجريم الأفعال المثلية كاف لمنح وضع اللجوء. وفي الحالة الثانية، قرر مجلس اللجوء أن الميل المثلي لمقدم الطلب لم يتأكد بصورة فاعلة، على الرغم من الشهادة الطبية لعالم الجنس والمادة التي قدمها مقدم الطلب. ( نقضت المحكمة الإدارية هذا القرار فيما بعد).

الخلاصة

دول أوروبا الوسطى والشرقية ملزمة بالمعايير الدولية المتعلقة باللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء. غير أن ممارسة سلطات اللجوء الوطنية فيما يتعلق بمطالب الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) لا تلبي تلك المعايير أبداً. وبالنظر إلى العدد المنخفض لطالبي اللجوء من الـ (إل جي بي تي آي) في منطقة أوروبا الوسطى والشرقية، يبدو أن سلطات اللجوء الوطنية تعوزها الخبرة في التعامل مع هذه المطالب ومن السهل أن تقع في الخطأ في تقييم الظروف الفردية لمقدمي الطلبات والأوضاع الموضوعية في بلادهم الأصلية. وهذه الحقيقة ينبغي أن تشجع جميع الجهات المعنية من المسؤولين الحكوميين والمنظمات الحقوقية للتعاون بشكل أوثق بغية تبادل المعلومات والممارسات الجيدة.

آنا شليدزينسكا - سيمون anna.sledzinska@gmail.com أستاذ مساعد بكلية الحقوق، جامعة فروكلاف، بولندا. وكشيشتوف شميشك ksmiszek@gmail.com عضو الجمعية البولندية للقانون الإداري ورئيس قسم حقوق الإنسان في كلية الحقوق والإدارة، جامعة وارسو، بولندا. وعمل خبيراً بولندياً في مشروع "الهروب من رهاب المثلية".

يعتمد المقال على نتائج مشروع "الهروب من رهاب المثلية". ويُتاح التقرير النهائي على:

http://tinyurl.com/Fleeing-Homophobia-report



[1] أُجري المشروع بالتعاون مع لجنة هلسنكي المجرية، الدفاع عن حقوق الت (إل جي بي تي آي)/ شبكة لينفورد والمجلس الأوروبي للاجئين والمنفيين.

[2] يقيس "تخطيط التحجُّم القضيبي" التغييرات في تدفق الدم إلى الأعضاء الجنسية استجابة للتعرُّض لمثير جنسي واضح مرئي ومسموع، وذلك باستخدام الأقطاب الكهربائية المتصلة بالأعضاء التناسلية. www.unhcr.org/4daed0389.pdf

[3] تعليقات المفوضية العليا للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين حول ممارسة تخطيط التحجُّم القضيبي في جمهورية التشيك لتحديد مصداقية مطالب اللجوء استناداً إلى الاضطهاد القائم على الميل الجنسي. أبريل/نيسان 2011 www.unhcr.org/refworld/docid/4daeb07b2.html - تقرير منظمة طالبي اللجوء والهجرة (أورام) http://tinyurl.com/ORAM-phallometry-report

 

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

LGBTI asylum claims – the Central and Eastern European perspective

Anna Śledzińska-Simon and Krzysztof Śmiszek

Recent research indicates that CEE countries still lag far behind the rest of Europe in their asylum practices in relation to LGBTI asylum claims. Low levels of awareness, lack of guidance and cultural hostility are jeopardising asylum seekers’ prospects for fair treatment.

Research published in 2011 found that authorities in the Central and Eastern Europe (CEE) region only occasionally have to deal with LGBTI asylum claims. The Fleeing |Homophobia project of COC Netherlands and VU University Amsterdam[i] found that since 1997 the average number of claims on this grounds per year is two in Bulgaria, three or four in the Czech Republic, five or six in Hungary, two or three in Poland and three in Lithuania. In comparison, there were 1,100 LGBTI asylum claims considered between 2008 and 2010 in Belgium. However, there are no official data since the CEE countries do not keep separate statistics on LGBTI claims, let alone disaggregating the statistics with respect to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender or intersex status.

All of the CEE countries are signatories of the 1951 Refugee Convention and its 1967 Protocol, and all – except Belarus – are members of the Council of Europe and States Parties to the European Convention of Human Rights (ECHR). Moreover, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia (and in the near future Croatia) are members of the European Union. The 1951 Refugee Convention, EU law and ECHR case-law all offer protection to asylum seekers and refugees. Yet procedures for granting refugee status to LGBTI asylum seekers seem to be far from consistent in this region of the world.

Moreover, none of the CEE countries has any official guidelines on how to handle LGBTI asylum claims – and there are no specialised national NGOs providing legal and social support for LGBTI asylum seekers in the CEE region. Asylum officials demonstrate low awareness of the specific nature of persecution against LGBTI individuals and often demonstrate biases against this social group. The low number of LGBTI asylum claims in the region may therefore be attributed to the general homophobic and transphobic climate, which makes it far from a dream destination for those persecuted on the basis of their sexual orientation or gender identity.     

Criminalisation

A noticeable trend in CEE countries is that LGBTI applicants are, on the whole, only granted asylum if same-sex acts and/or self-identification as lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgender are criminalised in their country of origin. Unfortunately, in most CEE countries, granting a positive asylum decision requires evidence of actual enforcement of such laws, thereby running counter to UNHCR’s guidance that laws  prohibiting  same-sex  relations,  even  if  irregularly,  rarely  or  never  enforced,  could  lead  to  an intolerable  predicament  for  an  LGBT  person  amounting  to persecution. The Lithuanian and Polish authorities state that merely the existence of such laws would be considered as persecution; however, practice in Poland is that enforcement of the law is essential for recognition of LGBTI claims.               

Credibility assessment

Most CEE countries require evidence over and above the applicant’s statement about her or his sexual orientation or gender identity. The Fleeing Homophobia project’s final report revealed that many CEE asylum authorities demand medical certificates and other medical documents, usually issued by sexologists, psychologists or psychiatrists.

The obscure practice of ‘sexodiagnostic examination’ was conducted in the Czech Republic between 2008 and 2010, and included an interview with a sexologist plus so-called ‘phallometric testing’[ii]. This practice was not only unnecessary but also contrary to the prohibition of inhuman and degrading treatment and in contravention of the right to privacy. After international criticism by the Fundamental Rights Agency of the European Union, UNHCR and other human rights organisations and institutions,[iii] the practice of phallometry was abandoned by the Czech authorities. However, in Slovakia an expert opinion is still required in order to establish sexual orientation and/or gender identity of anyone claiming asylum on these grounds. In particular, sexual orientation is determined in the course of a sexological interview. Again, this practice contravenes UNHCR’s guidelines which state that officials should rely on the applicant’s statements alone where there is a lack of Country Of Origin Information.

In Bulgaria the marital or parental status of LGBTI applicants is sufficient to deny granting refugee protection. Bulgarian asylum authorities also ask intrusive questions concerning the number of sex partners, favourite sexual positions or sexual contacts with persons of the opposite sex. In Hungary any delay in revealing sexual orientation in the first phase of the asylum procedure is a negative factor in the credibility assessment. Moreover, heterosexual relationships and children born out of them are also considered grounds for questioning the credibility of lesbian and gay asylum seekers.

Discretion requirement

CEE national asylum authorities often use the argument of being able to conceal one’s sexual orientation or gender identity in the country of origin in order to judge claims to be unfounded. The Hungarian Office of Immigration and Nationality noted with regard to one LGBTI asylum case that “even if criminal sanctions against homosexuals or homosexual behaviour are in force [in Algeria], the sexual orientation can be practised in a hidden, discreet way, in order to prevent possible attacks”. Similarly, a Pakistani asylum seeker’s case before the Polish Office for Foreigners was rejected because, according to the authorities, the applicant was able to “escape” to other parts of his country. In the justification of its decision, the Office for Foreigners referred to the British Home Office report on the situation of LGBT in Pakistan, which states that “if he lives as homosexual discreetly there should be no reason for him to experience harm from the rest of the society”. In contrast, UNHCR’s guidelines emphasise that LGBTI people should be equally entitled to enjoy their right to express their identity and associate with others, and that concealment of sexual orientation and/or gender identity should not be required to prevent the risk of persecution.

Inconsistent rulings

Two cases of homosexual Ugandan asylum seekers were recently decided by the Polish authorities. The first applicant claimed to have been beaten, tortured and humiliated in Uganda because of his orientation. In spite of his sexual orientation, he was married and had biological children. The second applicant had been caught having homosexual intercourse in a park and was arrested, during which time, he claimed, he was subjected to physical and psychological violence; he was released after ten days but expected a criminal sentence of imprisonment for seven years or even the death penalty. Both applicants’ claims for protection were refused in the first instance of the asylum proceedings. In both cases the Head of the Office for Foreigners decided that the situation in Uganda did not pose a real risk of persecution on the basis of sexual orientation. In the case of the first applicant the decision was reversed in the second instance by the Refugee Board which concluded that the mere existence and execution of the provisions penalising homosexual acts may be sufficient to grant a refugee status. In the second case the Refugee Board held that the claimant’s homosexual orientation was not effectively established notwithstanding the sexologist’s medical certificate and the material presented by the applicant. (This decision was later reversed by the administrative court).  

Conclusion

CEE countries are bound by international standards concerning refugees and asylum seekers. Nevertheless, the practice of their national asylum authorities concerning LGBTI claims definitely falls below these standards. Given the low number of LGBTI asylum seekers in the CEE region, national asylum authorities appear to lack expertise in dealing with such claims and might easily err both in assessment of individual circumstances of the applicants and the objective situation in their country of origin. This reality should encourage all stakeholders – government officials and human rights NGOs – to cooperate more closely in order to exchange information and good practices.            

 

Anna Śledzińska-Simon anna.sledzinska@gmail.com is Assistant Professor, Faculty of Law, University of Wrocław, Poland. Krzysztof Śmiszek ksmiszek@gmail.com is a member of the Polish Society of Antidiscrimination Law and Human Rights Chair in the Faculty of Law and Administration at the University of Warsaw, Poland. He served as Polish expert on the Fleeing Homophobia project.

 

The article draws on the results of the Fleeing Homophobia project. Final report at: http://tinyurl.com/Fleeing-Homophobia-report



[i] Carried out in cooperation with the Hungarian Helsinki Committee, Avvocatura per i diritti LGBT/Rete Lenford and the European Council on Refugees and Exiles.

[ii] “Phallometry’ measures changes in genital blood flow in response to sexually explicit visual and audio stimuli using electrodes attached to the genitalia.” www.unhcr.org/4daed0389.pdf

[iii] UNHCR's Comments on the Practice of Phallometry in the Czech Republic to Determine the Credibility of Asylum Claims based on Persecution due to Sexual Orientation, April 2011 www.unhcr.org/refworld/docid/4daeb07b2.html  ORAM report http://tinyurl.com/ORAM-phallometry-report

 

FMR 42
April 2013

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.