العمل مع الباحثين النظراء في مجتمعات اللاجئين

هناك فرصة في أن يكون الباحثون النظراء اللاجئون مصدراً حيوياً للوصول إلى مجتمعات اللاجئين وتكوين معرفة حولهم ومساعدتهم، ولا بد للباحثين الدوليين من أن يفكروا بأفضل السبل للعمل بالتعاون مع هؤلاء الباحثين من اللاجئين.

ناكيڨالي واحدة من أقدم تجمعات اللاجئين وأكبرها في أوغندا وقد جذبت اهتمام الباحثين الدوليين عاماً بعد عام. وأنا لاجئ كونغولي أعيش في ناكيڨالي منذ عام 2006 وامتهنت العمل الإحصائي من خلال دراستها وشاركت بصفتي باحثاً نظيراً في عدة مشروعات بحثية نفذت في ناكيڨالي.

وهناك تحديات كثيرة لاحظتها في الأبحاث السابقة التي كان من المقدور الحيلولة دونها من خلال النقاشات المسبقة. فعلى سبيل المثال، في المشروعات التي تعتمد على وضع خرائط للفئات السكانية المستهدفة، قد تحدث أخطاء في الحسابات إذا ما اقتصر اعتماد الباحثين الخارجيين على البيانات الآتية من المصادر الرسمية. ومثال ذلك أن فريقي أوكلت إليه مهمة مقابلة مجموعة من العائلات الكونغولية التي قدرت قاعدة بيانات إحدى الهيئات الدولية عددها بثلاثمائة أسرة، لكننا عندما وصلنا إلى القرية فوجئنا أن عدد الأسر لم يتجاوز خمسين أسرة.

ويمكن للظروف المناخية أيضاً أن تكون ذات أثر كبير في كفاءة الأبحاث. فعندما يستهدف الباحثون فئة سكانية كبيرة في وقت محدود قد يفاجئهم موسم المطر ويعيق عملهم. أمَّا من الناحية الأخرى، لو أنَّ هؤلاء الباحثين الدوليين وضَّحوا تطلعاتهم وتوقعاتهم وأهدافهم فعندها سيكون بمقدورهم الاطلاع على الظروف المؤثرة في مخرجات المشروع ونواتجه ومن ثمَّ سيتمكنون من اتخاذ الاحتياطات الضرورية للحد من أي عوامل قد تشوِّش على البحث.

وبضمان حصول الباحثين النظراء على المعلومات الكافية حول أهداف الأبحاث، سيكونون قادرين على شرح هذه الأهداف عندما يستقطبون المشاركين وعندما يديرون التوقعات بعد استكمال البحث. ومن الأمور التي قد تكتسب أهمية حيوية كبيرة أن يتمكن الباحثون النظراء من ترجمة الأسئلة إلى اللغة المحلية ومناقشة موضوعات البحث وتوضيحها والتعليق عليها وإعداد أسئلة المقابلات. فقد اتضح لنا في إحدى الحالات، على سبيل المثال، أنَّ مجرد طرح الأسئلة على اللاجئين حول العودة إلى بلدانهم الأصلية كان مصدراً لشعور غير مريح ينتاب الأشخاص المُقابَلين بل تخلف بعضهم عن مواعيد المقابلات ليتضح لنا أن ذلك الشعور يرتبط بوجود إشاعات مختلفة تذهب إلى أنَّ كثيراً من اللاجئين أجبروا على العودة غصباً عنهم. وقد شهدنا أيضاً حالات وافق فيها اللاجئون على المشاركة في المقابلات ظناً منهم أنها كانت حول فرص إعادة التوطين، ويرجع ذلك جزئياً إلى أنَّ الباحث كان أبيض البشرة.

والتحدي الآخر يتمثل بالتغذية الراجعة، فالمشاركون في مختلف المشروعات البحثية يتوقعون -ولهم الحق بذلك- أن يَطَّلِعوا على النتائج ويعرفوا مدى إسهامهم في حل المشكلات والتحسينات التي يجب إجراؤها نتيجة لهذه التعليقات. ولذلك، عندما يُستَثنَى المشاركون في المشاريع البحثية من تلك المعلومات، يشعرون بخيبة أمل ويعبرون عن انزعاجهم للباحثين الجدد بالقول "لقد قابلنا أشخاصاً مثلكم عدة مرات سابقاً ولكننا لم نر أي تغيير، ربما أنتم مثلهم؟وعندما يغادر الباحثون الدوليون، يبقى اللاجئ النظير في دور ضابط الارتباط ويعني ذلك أن عليه البقاء في المجتمع ليرد على تلك التساؤلات. فعلى سبيل المثال، تجري بعض الأبحاث سنوياً (كما الحال في بحث حول تغذية اللاجئين في ناكيڨالي). ولك أن تتخيل انزعاج الناس عندما لا يتلقون تعليقات أبدا على أبحاث العام الماضي، إذ يُفتَرَض إعلام المشاركين بمدى النجاح الذي تحقق في البحث الذي شاركوا به وما إذا كان قد حقق أهدافه من ناحية تغيير الآراء أو البرامج. ويعني ذلك بالضرورة أن يكون الباحثون الدوليون منفتحين على الباحثين اللاجئين وتزويدهم بالمعرفة اللازمة لإيصال النتائج لأولئك المشاركين.

وأخيرا، يجب إتاحة سبل الاطلاع على نتائج البحوث والشريحة السكانية التي استهدفها البحث. فلا ينبغي الاكتفاء بنشر النتائج والأبحاث على الإنترنت حيث لا يستطيع كثير من اللاجئين الوصول إليها، بل ينبغي أن تصل المعلومات حتى للأشخاص الذين ليس لهم القدرة على الوصول إلى الإنترنت خاصة ممن كانوا ضمن عينة البحث. ولذلك الغرض، هناك صيغ بديلة للمخرجات التي قد تكون ملائمة أكثر وإن كانت أكثر صعوبة، من قبيل المحتوى المرئي والبث الإذاعي وتقديم العروض التوضيحية في المؤتمرات والاجتماعات.

وكذلك ينبغي للباحثين الدوليين أن يعملوا مع الباحثين النظراء داخل مجتمعات اللاجئين إذا أرادوا إجراء البحوث بفعالية وحساسية. ويجب عليهم، على أي حال، أن يتعلموا كيفية تحسين ممارساتهم للعمل مع الباحثين النظراء كما يجب أن يتعلموا التخطيط لمرحلة ما بعد مغادرتهم وبقاء الباحثين النظراء.

ويليام باكونزيbakunziw@gmail.com

باحث نظير في تجمع ناكيڨالي ورئيس سابق للجنة رفاه اللاجئين 3.

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Working with peer researchers in refugee communities

Refugee peer researchers can be a vital source of access, knowledge and assistance to refugee communities, and international researchers must consider how best to work collaboratively with them.

As one of the oldest and biggest refugee settlements in Uganda, Nakivale has attracted the interest of international researchers year after year. I am a Congolese refugee and have lived in Nakivale since 2006. A statistician by training, I have been involved as a peer researcher in several research projects carried out in Nakivale.

There are numerous difficulties which I have observed in past research which could have been prevented through prior discussion. For example, in projects which rely on mapping the target population, miscalculations may occur if external researchers rely only on official data. For instance, my team was once assigned to interview a group of Congolese families estimated – according to an international agency’s database – to number 300 households; when we reached the village, however, we were surprised to find only around 50 households.

Climatic conditions can have a dramatic impact on research efficiency. When researchers target a large population in a limited time, a rainy period will inevitably cause problems. However, by simply communicating their expectations and aims, international researchers can be informed about conditions which may affect the outcomes of the project, and will be able to take the necessary precautions to limit disturbance to the research.

Ensuring peer researchers are fully informed of the objectives of the research means they will be able to explain these objectives when recruiting participants, as well as when managing expectations after the research has been completed. Peer researchers’ ability to translate questions into the local language and to discuss, clarify and comment on research topics and interview questions can be vital. For instance, on one occasion it became clear to us that asking refugees questions related to returning to their country of origin was making some interviewees uncomfortable and some were missing interview appointments; it became apparent that this coincided with various rumours which were circulating about some refugees being forced to repatriate. We have also witnessed situations where refugees agreed to participate in interviews thinking that these were about resettlement opportunities in part because the researcher was a white person.

A further challenge is regarding feedback. People who have been involved in different research projects expect, quite understandably, to be informed about the results, how much they have contributed to solving problems, and what improvements will be made as a result. When they are excluded from such information, participants are disappointed and express their annoyance to new researchers, saying, “We have met people like you several times but have seen no changes. Perhaps you are like them?” When the international researchers leave, the point of contact remains the refugee peer researcher, who must stay in the community and answer these questions. For instance, some research is undertaken annually (for example, in Nakivale, research on refugee nutrition); can you imagine how annoyed people get when they never receive feedback on the previous year’s research? Participants need to be informed about how far research in which they were involved has reached its goals or how successful it has been in terms of changing opinions or programmes. This requires international researchers to be open with refugee researchers, equipping them with the knowledge to communicate outcomes.

Finally, research findings need to be made accessible. Publications should not be only online, where many refugees cannot access them. Information should reach even those people who do not have access to the internet, especially those who were part of the target population of the research. While potentially more difficult to realise, alternative formats for outputs may be more appropriate, such as visual content, radio dissemination, and presentation at meetings and conferences.

Researchers must engage with peer researchers within refugee communities if they are to undertake research effectively and sensitively. International researchers need to learn, however, how to improve their practices for working with peer researchers and to plan for what might happen after they have left and the peer researchers remain.

 

William Bakunzi bakunziw@gmail.com 
Peer researcher in Nakivale settlement and former Chairman, Refugee Welfare Committee 3

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview