النُّزوح الداخلي ما بعد عام ٢٠١٨: الطريق قُدَماً

مخيفة هي الأرقام التي تشير إليها الإحصاءات والتحديات المتعلقة بالنُّزوح الداخلي. لكنَّ كثيراً من الأشياء تعلمناها منذ إطلاق المبادئ التوجيهية حول النُّزوح الداخلي في عام 1998. وما نحتاج إليه اليوم هو بذل الجهود المنسقة والزخم المستدام للتأسيس على الوعي المتحقق ومواجهة التحديات الطارئة.

قبل عشرين عاماً، أُطلقت المبادئ التوجيهية حول النُّزوح الداخلي لتمثل نقطة فارقة في الاعتراف الدولي لضرورة منع النُّزوح الداخلي وتوفير الحماية والمساعدة للنَّازحين داخلياً. وأسست المبادئ التوجيهية الإطار العام التقنيني الذي أفاد الجهود الرامية إلى تطوير السياسات الإقليمية والوطنية حول النُّزوح الداخلي. فهذه المبادئ دون أي شك إنجاز مهم بحد ذاته.

لكنَّ انعدام الاستقرار السياسي واندلاع النزاعات وأعمال العنف، ومشاكل الطقس القاسية، والكوارث الطبيعية ما زالت تدفع بعض أعلى معدلات النُّزوح الداخلي في العالم أكثر من أي وقت مضى. ففي عام 2017 سجل 30.6 مليون نازح جديد بسبب النزاعات والكوارث الطبيعية، وفي نهاية ذلك العام قًدر أن هناك أربعين مليون شخصٍ يعيشون في وضع النُّزوح الداخلي نتيجة النزاع (يضاف إلى ذلك عدد غير معروف من الأشخاص الذين ما زالوا في وضع النُّزوح نتيجة الكوارث الطبيعية).[1]

وهذه أرقام صادمة ومهولة. ونظراً للتحديات التي تواجه البيانات فهي أيضاً على ما يبدو أقل بكثير من الأرقام الحقيقية، إذ يُقدَّر أنَّ قرابة 8.5 مليون نازح داخلي ممن تشير التقارير عام 2017 إلى أنَّهم عادوا إلى ديارهم أو أعيد توطينهم أو نقلهم عبر 23 بلداً لم يعثروا بالضرورة على الحلول الدائمة الحقيقية ذلك يعني أنَّهم ما زالوا يعيشون في وضع النُّزوح. فإذا ما أدرجنا في الحساب هذه الأعداد أيضاً فذلك يجعل من الأشخاص الذين يعيشون في حالة النُّزوح الداخلي يصل أعدادهم إلى 45.5 مليون شخص.

ما الذي يمكن فعله؟

مع استمرار النزاعات وتدهور الوضع المناخي، واشتداد الكوارث الطبيعية المفاجئة وبطيئة الحدوث، وارتفاع معدلات تطوير الحظر العالمي. ما من سبب يدعونا بالاعتقاد أن أرقام وأعداد النَّازحين سوف تبدأ بالتقهقر والتراجع في مرحلة ما. إلاَّ أن هناك عدداً من الخطوات التي يمكن اتخاذها من أجل نقل السياسات والإجراءات حول النُّزوح الداخلي والاستفادة من المقاربات المنفذة حالياً.

فأولاً وقبل أي شيء آخر يجب علينا أن نعترف أنه رغم ارتفاع الأعداد والمساهمة التي قدمتها المبادئ التوجيهية عبر السنوات العشرين الماضية ما زال النُّزوح الداخلي في طي الإهمال في السنوات الماضية، ولا بد من إعادة اعتبار هذا الموضوع على أجندة صنع السياسات الدولية. وبهذا الصدد ظهرت نداءات تحت شعار عدم ترك أي مخلف والبحث عن الحلول النُّزوح الداخلي بما في ذلك ما اقترح في القمة الإنسانية العالمية لعام 2016. ويبدو أن تلك التطورات إنما هي إعادة مشاركة واعدة للموضوع واعتراف بالحاجة إلى الإجراءات الموحدة. إلاَّ أنه بينما يستمر الفاعلون المكرسون لجهودهم لهذا الموضوع في العمل دون كلل أو ملل للعثور على الحلول على المستويين الوطني والإقليمي ما زلنا نلاحظ غياباً كبيراُ للإرادة الدولية الجماعية الضرورية للتصدي لمشكلة النُّزوح الداخلي. فمنذ أواخر عام 2016 كان جل التركيز والاهتمام الدولي منصباً على العقدين العالميين حول اللاجئين وحول الهجرة، ولم يكن أي منهما يعالج معالجة حقيقية النُّزوح ضمن حدودها الوطنية.[2]

ولا شك بأن الذكرى ال 20 للمبادئ التوجيهية قد ولَّدَت زخماً جديداً حول هذا الموضوع في عام 2018، لكنَّ ما نحتاج إليه هو المشاركة المستدامة رفيعة المستوى إذا ما أريد ضمان عدم ضعف هذا الزخم وزواله في النهاية. وأهم ما في الأمر أن على أي عملياتِ رفيعة المستوى أو مفاوضات أن تؤمن المشاركة الجوهرية والمستمرة للدول الأكثر تأثراً بالنُّزوح الداخلي والتي لديها الخبرة في التعامل معها على أنها واقع معاش. فدون تلك المشاركة لن نصل إلى القبول السياسي والتنفيذ الملموس. كي تكون هذه المشاركة دامجة وشاملة بحق لا بد من السعي وراء منظورات النَّازحين داخلياً وتصوراتهم ولا بد من فهمها بدلاً من التعامل معها بعد فوات الأوان.

ويجب علينا أن نعزز فهماً بأن أزمات النُّزوح الداخلي غالباً ما تتضمن مساراتِ تنموية إشكاليةِ وينجم عنها عواقب وتبعات تتجاوز العواقب الإنسانية المباشرة. وللتصدي الكامل لمحركات النُّزوح وآثاره ولتوفير ذلك النوع من الإجراءات السياسية والعملية لمنع النُّزوح وخفضه لا بد لنا من الحصول على فهم أفضل وتطوير طرق الاستجابة إلى الآثار الاقتصادية والإنمائية بعيدة الأمد للنزوح على النَّازحين داخلياً ، وعلى المجتمعات التي يعيشون بها ، وعلى الدول على العموم، ولا بد من الاستجابة أيضاً إلى الروابط القائمة بين النُّزوح الداخلي والتَّهجير العابر للحدود ولا بد من الانتباه إلى خصوصيات النُّزوح الحضري وآثار التغير المناخي والقواسم المشتركة بين الكوارث بطيئة الحدوث والنزاع ودور المشروعات التنموية والعنف الجنائي في التسبب بالنُّزوح.

وسيتطلب ذلك من الدول والمنظمات الإنسانية وهيئات الصناعة وهيئات بناء السلام والجهات الفاعلة الإنمائية التفكير بإبداع حول الطريقة التي تجمع فيها البيانات وتحلل، لكي يتمكنوا من تعقب حاجات النَّازحين داخلياً ومواطن ضعفهم والوقوف على الطريقة التي تتطور بها تلك الحاجات ونقاط الاستضعاف مع مرور الوقت، ومعرفة الأمور التي تنجح وغيرها التي لا تنجح في التصدي للنزوح الداخلي في مختلف السياقات. وليس القصد أن نقول إن هناك حلولاً ثابتة تصلح لكل المشكلات الخاصة بأزمات النُّزوح الداخلي، بل إننا نقول إن هناك افتراضات مشتركة يمكن أن تقوم عليها عملية بناء السياسات.

أمَّا عندما تكون الحكومات هي نفسها سبب النُّزوح فوقتها يجب على المجتمع الدولي أن يحسن من عملية التنسيق في الاستجابات على مستوى العمليات، والعمل في الوقت نفسه على المستوى السياسي لدعم المبادرات المختلفة مثل بناء السلام وفض النزاعات والوصول إلى العدالة والمساءلة إزاء انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان. ومع ذلك يجب إعطاء الحكومات ما أمكن دور القيادة والريادة في هذا الموضوع بدعم من المجتمع الدولي والهيئات الإقليمية وبتنسيق وثيق مع السلطات المحلية. وفي سبيل ذلك سيكون عليهم إدماج مسألة النُّزوح الداخلي في الإنماء بعيد الأمد، والتخطيط للتكيف مع التغيرات المناخية والاستثمار في جهود خفض مخاطر الكوارث الطبيعية. وينبغي للاستجابات الإنسانية أن تستجيب لحاجات النَّازحين داخلياً دون إهمال المجتمعات التي يعيشون فيها. أما بخصوص اللاجئين العائدين خاصة في السياقات التي ينتشر فيها الانفلات الأمني فيجب دعمهم للتأكد من ألا يصبح العائد نازحاً في غياب الحلول الدائمة.

ولا شك أن هناك عوائق كثيرة يجب التغلب عليها. منها المخاوف المتعلقة بالسيادة والجمود المؤسسي وجاذبية استخدام مقاربات الأعمال بالطريقة المعتادة وانخفاض القدرات وغياب الموارد التي تواجهها البلدان التي تعاني من أزمات كبيرة مطولة وصعوبة القياس والفهم الكاملين للظواهر. لكِنَّ هذا التحدي لا يمكن أن يكون مستحيلاً بل هو تحد ينبغي لنا أن نحاول مواجهته.

ألكساندرا بيلاك alexandra.bilak@idmc.ch المديرة

أڨيغايل شاي avigail.shai@idmc.ch مستشارة سياسية

 مركز رصد النُّزوح الداخلي www.internal-displacement.org

حلقات النُّزوح

أجرى مركز رصد النُّزوح الداخلي بحثاً مؤخراً ضم فئة من اللاجئين العراقيين في الأردن وفي السويد (وسوف يستكمل هذا البحث قريبا ببحث آخر مع اللاجئين العائدين والنَّازحين الداخليين في العراق) ويؤكد هذا البحث على العلاقة بين النُّزوح الداخلي والتحركات العابرة للحدود. ومن أهم النتائج المبدئية التي توصل إليها البحث وجود ارتفاع كبير في أعداد اللاجئين الذين واجهوا من قبل حالة النُّزوح الداخلي نتيجة اضطرارهم للتحرك عدة مرات ما أدَّى إلى تدهور مواطن الضعف عندهم واستنزافهم للاستراتيجيات المحدودة التي كانوا يستخدمونها لمسايرة الظروف.

فقد هربت سارة[3] وعائلتها على سبيل المثال من بيتها في بغداد عندما حاولت إحدى الميليشيات المحلية تجنيد ابنها اليافع قسراً. فهربت العائلة إلى بابل وعاشوا هناك مختفيين لأشهر عدة قبل اكتشاف الميليشيات لأمرهم مرة. ونتيجة لتخوفات العائلة حول ابنها هربت إلى أربيل ولم تكن العائلة قادرة على البقاء في كردستان بسبب وجود متطلبات خاصة بالكفيل فاضطرت العائلة إلى عبور الحدود إلى تركيا ومن ثم وجدت طريقها إلى السويد.

وأكرم أيضاً من بغداد غادر بيته بعد أن هددته مجموعة مسلحة بالقتل إذا رفض أن يبيعها بيته. فهرب إلى بيت أخته في قراقوش. ثم بعد أن سيطر تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية على قراقوش عاد أكرم إلى بغداد للبحث عن ملاذ آمن له في مكانه السابق الذي كان يعمل به، وبعد عودته بقليل إلى المدينة تلقى أيضاً اتصالاً هاتفياً تهديداً من الجماعة المسلحة نفسها ففر بجلده إلى الأردن بحثاً عن السلامة والملاذ الآمن.

لكنَّ السلامة لا تكفي دائماً. لأنَّ اللاجئين إن لم يتمكنوا من إعالة أنفسهم في البلدان المضيفة فسوف يفضي الأمر بكثير منهم إلى العودة الدائمة إلى بلدانهم الأصلية التي قد ينتهي الأمر فيها أيضاُ بهم بأن يصبحوا نازحين داخلياً. وتتضاعف المخاطر على وجه الخصوص في حالة العودات السابقة لأوانها أو العودات غير الطوعية. وبينما عاد 560 ألف لاجئ ومهاجر غير موثق إلى أفغانستان من باكستان وإيران في عام 2017 عجز كثير من العائدين عن إعادة التوطين في مكانه الأصلي بل واجهوا كثيراً من التحديات في إعادة الاندماج في أماكن أخرى بسبب الانفلات الأمني وغياب الخدمات أو فرص سبل كسب الرزق.[4]وكما أنَّ النَّازحين داخلياً يصبحون لاجئين في غياب أي تقدم نحو الحلول الدائمة، يقع لاجئو اليوم تحت خطر التحول إلى نازحين داخلياً غداً.

كلووي سيدني chloe.sydney@idmc.ch شريكة بحث، مركز رصد النُّزوح الداخلي

[1] Internal Displacement Monitoring Centre (2018) Global Report on Internal Displacement

(التقرير العالمي حول النُّزوح الداخلي)

www.internal-displacement.org/global-report/grid2018

[2] لعل ذلك لا يدعو للدهشة نظراً لأنَّ النُّزوح الداخلي يَمَسُّ قضايا تتعلق بالسيادة. ولدرجة ما، تعكس أيضاً غياب تفويض قيادة واضح حول القضية ضمن منظومة الأمم المتحدة.

[3] جميع الأسماء الواردة في هذه المقالة مستعارة

[4] انظر الحاشية 1، ص. 36 وانظر أيضاً مقالة مجيدي وتايلر في هذا العدد.  

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Internal displacement beyond 2018: the road ahead

The statistics and the challenges around internal displacement are daunting. However, much has been learned since the Guiding Principles on Internal Displacement were launched in 1998. What is needed now is a concerted effort and sustained momentum to build on that awareness and meet the evolving challenges.

Twenty years ago, the launch of the Guiding Principles on Internal Displacement marked a high point in international recognition of the need to prevent internal displacement and to provide protection and assistance to internally displaced persons (IDPs). The Guiding Principles laid out a normative framework that has subsequently informed efforts to develop regional and national policies on internal displacement, and as such they represent an important achievement.

However, political instability, conflict and violence, extreme weather and disasters are driving some of the highest rates of internal displacement the world has ever seen. 30.6 million new displacements by conflict and disasters were recorded in 2017; at the end of that year, 40 million people were estimated to be living in internal displacement as a result of conflict (with an additional, unknown number of people still displaced as a result of disasters).[1]

These are shocking and disheartening numbers. Given data challenges, they are also, sadly, likely to be an underestimate. It is estimated that around 8.5 million IDPs who were reported in 2017 as having returned, been resettled or relocated across 23 countries may not have found truly durable solutions and can therefore be considered still to be living in displacement. Including them would bring the total number of people currently living in internal displacement to 48.5 million.

What can be done?

As conflicts drag on, as climate change exacerbates the intensity of sudden- and slow-onset disasters and as the rate of global urbanisation increases, there is no reason to believe that the rising trend of internal displacement will be reversed. However, there are a number of steps which can be taken in order to shift policy and action on internal displacement, building on current approaches.

Primarily, we need to acknowledge that, despite the rising numbers and the contribution the Guiding Principles have made over the past 20 years, internal displacement has been neglected in recent years, and must therefore be pushed up the international policy-making agenda. Calls to ‘leave no one behind’ and to find solutions for internal displacement, including those made at the 2016 World Humanitarian Summit, appeared to be a promising re-engagement on the issue and a recognition of the need for concerted action. But while dedicated actors continue to work tirelessly to find solutions at the national and regional levels, the collective international will required to address internal displacement has been largely absent. Since late 2016, international attention has been focused on the two global compacts, on refugees and on migration, neither of which substantively addresses displacement within national borders.[2]  

The 20th anniversary of the Guiding Principles has undoubtedly generated new momentum on this issue in 2018 but it is sustained high-level engagement that will be required to ensure that this momentum does not fade away. Most importantly, any high-level processes or negotiations must secure the substantive and continued engagement of those States which are most affected by internal displacement and which have experience in addressing it as a reality on the ground. Without their engagement, the political buy-in and concrete implementation that are required simply will not happen. To be genuinely inclusive, the perspectives of internally displaced people themselves also have to be sought, understood and accounted for, rather than treated as an afterthought.

We must also reinforce the understanding that internal displacement crises are often underpinned by problematic development trajectories, and have consequences beyond immediate humanitarian ones. To fully address the drivers and impacts of displacement, and deliver the kind of policy making and operational actions needed to prevent and reduce displacement, we need to better understand and improve ways to respond to: the long-term economic and developmental impacts of displacement on IDPs and the communities they live in, and on States; the links between internal displacement and cross-border flight; the specific characteristics of urban displacement; the effects of climate change; the interplay of slow-onset disasters and conflict; and the role of development projects and criminal violence in driving displacement.

This will require States, humanitarian organisations, peace-building agencies and development actors to think creatively about the way data are collected and analysed, in order to track and assess how IDPs’ needs and vulnerabilities evolve over time, and what works and what does not work in addressing internal displacement in different contexts. There are no one-size-fits-all solutions to internal displacement crises but there are common assumptions which can underpin policy making and action.

Where governments are themselves the cause of displacement, the international community needs to better coordinate operational responses while at the same time working at the political level to support initiatives such as peace building, conflict resolution, access to justice, and accountability for human rights violations. However, whenever possible, governments must take the lead, with the support of the international community and regional bodies and in close coordination with local authorities. In doing so, they will need to integrate internal displacement into long-term development and climate change adaptation planning, and invest in disaster risk reduction efforts. Humanitarian responses should account for the needs of IDPs without neglecting the communities they live in. And returning refugees, particularly in insecure contexts, should be supported to ensure they do not find themselves internally displaced in the absence of durable solutions.

There are significant hurdles to overcome. These include concerns over sovereignty, institutional inertia and the allure of familiar business-as-usual approaches, low capacity and lack of resourcing faced by countries with large protracted crises, and the difficulty of fully measuring and understanding the phenomena. But this is not an impossible challenge, and it is one that we must try to meet.

 

Alexandra Bilak alexandra.bilak@idmc.ch Director

Avigail Shai avigail.shai@idmc.ch Political Adviser

Internal Displacement Monitoring Centre www.internal-displacement.org

 

Cycles of displacement

Recent research by the Internal Displacement Monitoring Centre (IDMC) among Iraqi refugees in Jordan and Sweden (which will be complemented shortly by further research among returned refugees and IDPs in Iraq) highlights the relationship between internal displacement and cross-border movements. One core preliminary finding is that high numbers of refugees have previously experienced internal displacement, with multiple movements exacerbating vulnerabilities and exhausting limited coping strategies.

Sara[3] and her family, for example, fled their home in Baghdad when a local militia attempted to forcibly recruit Sara’s teenage son. They escaped to Babylon, where they lived undercover for a few months before being discovered once more by the militia. Afraid for their son, they fled to Erbil; unable to remain in Kurdistan due to reported sponsorship requirements, the family crossed into Turkey and then made their way to Sweden.

Akram, also from Baghdad, left his home after an armed group threatened to kill him if he refused to sell them his house. He fled to his sister’s home in Qaraqosh. When Qaraqosh was captured by ISIS, Akram returned to Baghdad to seek refuge at his former place of employment; shortly after returning to the city, he received a threatening phone call from the same armed group, and fled to Jordan in search of safety.

However, safety is not always sufficient. If refugees are unable to sustain themselves in their host countries, many will return prematurely to their countries of origin, where they may end up internally displaced. The risk is particularly great in the case of involuntary or premature returns. While more than 560,000 refugees and undocumented migrants returned to Afghanistan from Pakistan and Iran in 2017, many of the returnees are unable to resettle in their place of origin and face challenges reintegrating elsewhere due to insecurity and lack of services or livelihood opportunities.[4] Just as – in the absence of progress towards durable solutions – IDPs risk becoming refugees, today’s returning refugees run the risk of becoming tomorrow’s IDPs.

Chloe Sydney chloe.sydney@idmc.ch Research Associate, IDMC

 

[1] Internal Displacement Monitoring Centre (2018) Global Report on Internal Displacement www.internal-displacement.org/global-report/grid2018

[2] This is perhaps not surprising, given how internal displacement directly touches on sovereignty issues. To some extent, it also reflects the lack of a clear leadership mandate on the issue within the UN system.

[3] Names have been changed.

[4] See endnote 1, p36; see also article by Majidi and Tyler in this issue.    

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview