المبادئ التوجيهية في محاكم حقوق الإنسان الدولية

للمبادئ التوجيهية القدرة على دعم قانون حقوق الإنسان الدولي المتعلق بالنُّزوح الداخلي ورفده بأداة مكمِّلة له، لكنَّ قليلاً من محاكم حقوق الإنسان الدولية والإقليمية ولجانها تولي الاهتمام المناسب لها.

تمثل المبادئ التوجيهية أداة تعزز من قانون حقوق الإنسان العامة، ذلك أنها تنص على حقوق النَّازحين داخلياً، وتحدد مسؤوليات الدول وغيرها من الجهات الفاعلة إزاء تلك الحقوق. وبهذا المعنى، تؤكد هذه المبادئ مجدداً على مبادئ حقوق الإنسان التي تطبقها في العادة هيئات حقوق الإنسان الدولية. لكنَّ هناك قيمة مضافة تقدمها هذه المبادئ التوجيهية أيضاً لقانون حقوق الإنسان الدولي تتمثل في مجالين اثنين على الأقل هما الاعتراف الصريح بحق الناس في عدم تهجيرهم، وحق التعويض عن الممتلكات.

وقد جاء المبدأ التوجيهي السادس على وجه الخصوص لينص على أنه "لكل إنسان الحق في الحماية من التهجير العشوائي من بيته أو مكان إقامته الاعتيادي"، فكان ذلك تقدماً كبيراً في مجال الاعتراف بحق منع التهجير.  وكانت تلك المرة الأولى التي يعبر بها صك دولي عن هذا الحق الذي لم يكتسب صفة الإلزام القانوني منذ ذلك الوقت إلاَّ في أفريقيا. وفي غياب مثل هذه التوجيهات، ما كان بالإمكان التعامل مع قضية التهجير والنُّزوح إ|لا بطريقة غير مباشرة من خلال قانون حقوق الإنسان، ومن هنا تتبين الأهمية الكبرى لوجود اعتراف صريح لهذا الحق لما لذلك من أثر في تعريف النُّزوح الداخلي على أنه قضية تمس حقوق الإنسان، وتقدم رسالة واضحة لأصحاب المسؤوليات والواجبات، وتوفر أساساً متيناً للادعاءات التي يتقدم بها أصحاب الحقوق المنتهكة.[1]

ويتضح أثر هذا التأطير في حالات هيئات الدول الأمريكية لحقوق الإنسان التي استخدمت المبادئ التوجيهية على الدوام، وعلى وجه الخصوص من أجل التأكيد على أنَّ النُّزوح الداخلي يقع ضمن نطاق الحق بالحرية في الحركة والإقامة ضمن مقاربة تبنتها أيضاً اللجنة الإفريقية لحقوق الإنسان والشعوب. ولذلك، يمكن الافتراض بأنَّ النُّزوح الداخلي يمثل انتهاكاً لحقوق الإنسان وأنَّه على أصحاب الواجبات أن يتحملوا عبء إثبات مدى مشروعية التَّهجير أو تقيم التسويغ القانوني لعدم منعهم له. وما من شك في وجود مساحة لتعزيز الحماية القانونية من النُّزوح الداخلي باتباع مثل هذه المقاربة. ولا تقتصر هذه الحالة على السياقات الإقليمية خارج الأمريكيتين، بل ترتبط أيضاً بأسباب النُّزوح التي عجزت جميع آليات حقوق الإنسان عن معالجتها بطريقة جيدة، ومثال ذلك التَّهجير الناتج عن الكوارث الطبيعية أو تدهور الأحوال البيئية.

وهناك مساهمة جليلة أخرى قدمتها المبادئ الإرشادية، وهي تأكيدها على حق النَّازحين الداخليين باستعادة ممتلكاتهم المفقودة نتيجة النُّزوح، أو تعويضهم إزاء تلك الممتلكات إن لم يكن بمقدورهم استعادتها. فلم يسبق لأي صك قبل هذه المبادئ أن أقر بهذا الحق بذلك الوضوح.[2] يقدم المبدأ التوجيهي 29 وصفاً عملياً للواجبات التي يفرضها حق التعويض في سياقات النُّزوح. ويحدد على وجه الخصوص واجب الدولة في مساعدة النَّازحين على استعادة ممتلكاتهم أو تعويضهم عنها مع التأكيد على أولوية الاستعادة على التعويض. ومع أنَّ لهذه المبادئ القدرة على تحديد المعايير الدنيا لجبر الأضرار على الأقل، فقد أبدت محاكم حقوق الإنسان عدم رغبتها في التصدي لمشكلة استعادة الممتلكات في سياقات النُّزوح بطريقة مباشرة على المستوى الدولي ولم تستخدم هذه المبادئ للمضي قدماً في هذه القضية.

كما أن محكمة الدول الأمريكية لحقوق الإنسان استخدمت المبادئ التوجيهية من أجل تعزيز الحمايات الخاصة المقدمة للسكان الأصليين ضد التهجير، بالإضافة إلى التعامل مع قضايا مثل لم الشمل الأسري والعودة وإعادة الاندماج والمشاركة.[3]

دور أكبر في منابر حقوق الإنسان الدولية

من بين حالات النُّزوح الداخلي الجماعي المراجعة والبالغ عددها 51 حالة، فصلت هيئات حقوق الإنسان الدولية 47 منها منذ إطلاق المبادئ التَّوجيهية بشأن النُّزوح الداخلي في عام 1998. ومن بين هذه القضايا، لم يكن هناك أكثر من 11 قضية أشارت فيها المحاكم إشارة صريحة إلى المبادئ التوجيهية ذاتها.[4]وقدمت هذه الإحالات المرجعية على وجه الخصوص كل من محكمة الدول الأمريكية لحقوق الإنسان (ثماني قضايا) والمحكمة الأوروبية لحقوق الإنسان (قضيتان) واللجنة الأفريقية لحقوق الإنسان والشعوب (قضية واحدة).

ويبدو أن الولايات المناطة بالمحاكم الإفريقية ومحاكم الدول الأمريكية والأوروبية الإقليمية لحقوق الإنسان تسمح باستخدام المبادئ التوجيهية للاستئناس بها كمصدر للتأويل والتفسير. ومن هنا، تقع مبادرة استكشاف الإمكانات الأخرى للمبادئ التوجيهية في المشتكين وممثليهم وفي القضاة. وحتى في السياقات التي لا تنص فيها ولاية آلية ما، أو قانون السوابق القضائية صراحة على الانفتاح للمصادر القانونية الأخرى فغالباً ما تكون مثل هذه النصوص مستخدمة بحكم الأمر الواقع في التفسير والتأويل، ومن هنا قد تبدو هناك فرص حقيقة في مجال استكشاف القوانين الأخرى (غير الملزمة) واستخدامها في مجالات مشابهة. فعلى سبيل المثال، مع أنَّ هيئات معاهدات حقوق الإنسان التابعة للأمم المتحدة لم تستخدم المبادئ التوجيهية في قراراتها للفصل بالقضايا الفردية، فقد قدمت معظمها توصيات بالامتثال للمبادئ التوجيهية وذلك ضمن ملحوظاتها الختامية العامة حول وضع حقوق الإنسان في قطر معين. [5]وقد تؤسس هذه الممارسة لتعزيز استخدام المبادئ التوجيهية في القرارات الفردية.

وتبقى الأسئلة حول مستقبل المبادئ التوجيهية في ميدان حقوق الإنسان. فما السبب الذي يُضعِف استخدام هيئات حقوق الإنسان الدولية والإقليمية لهذه المبادئ، والاحتجاج بها؟ هل من الممكن أن يكون ذلك نتيجة القيود المفروضة على اختصاصات تلك الهيئات، أم انتشار تصور خاطئ بعدم صلة المبادئ التوجيهية للقضايا التي تنظر إليها؟ أم لعل ذلك يعني عدم وجود رغبة أصلاً في النظر في مثل هذه القوانين الناعمة، أم هناك عوامل أخرى لذلك؟ وفي حالة زيادة اعتماد منابر حقوق الإنسان على ذكر الإشارات المرجعية للمبادئ التوجيهية، هل سيلقى ذلك ترحيباً من القضاة والمشتكين، والممثلين القانونيين، والمجتمعات المتأثرة على العموم؟ [6]وإذا كان الأمر كذلك، كيف يمكن تحقيق هذه النتيجة، وإلى أي حد يكون ذلك؟ أياً كانت الإجابة، فلا شك في أنَّ قدرة المبادئ التوجيهية على تعزيز النتائج الملموسة على النَّازحين داخلياً في محاكم حقوق الإنسان الدولية سوف تخضع لاختبار صعب لتقرير ما إذا كانت المبادئ تلك ما زالت تفي بوعدها أم لا.

ديبورا كزلين Deborah.Casalin@uantwerpen.be

باحثة في مستوى الدكتوراه، مجموعة أبحاث القانون والتنمية، كلية الحقوق، جامعة أنتڨيرپ.

www.uantwerpen.be/en/research-groups/law-and-development/

[1] انظر موريل م، وشتافروبولو م، ودوريو ج-ف (2012) ’تاريخ حق عدم التَّهجير ووضعه القانوني‘ نشرة الهجرة القسرية، العدد 41 www.fmreview.org/ar/preventing/morel-et-al

[2] ويليامز ر س (2008) ’المبدأ التوجيهي 29 وحق استرداد الممتلكات‘ نشرة الهجرة القسرية، عدد خاص، عشر سنوات على المبادئ التَّوجيهية بشأن النُّزوح الداخلي bit.ly/NHQ-GP10

[3] انظر مثلاً  محكمة الدول الأمريكية لحقوق الإنسان، قضية ريو نيغرو ماساكرز ضد غواتيمالا (2012) par. 173 and 176 bit.ly/IACHR-RioNegro-2012

[4] بُنِيَت هذه المقالة على مراجعة 51 قضية مقبولة متعلقة بالتَّهجير الداخلي الجماعي، وأجريت المراجعة ضمن بحث الدكتوراه الذي يعكف عليه المؤلف حالياً.

[5] انظر مثلاً لحنة حقوق الطفل، الملاحظات الختامية بشأن التقرير الجامع للتقريرين الدوريين الرابع والخامس لكولومبيا، CRC/C/COL/CO/4-5/ 6 مارس/آذار 1015، الفقرة ز(د) http://www.refworld.org/docid/566e765c4.html

[6] انظر Desmet E (2014) ‘Analysing users’ trajectories in human rights: a conceptual exploration and research agenda’ Human Rights & International Legal Discourse Vol. 8 (2): 121-141).

(’تحليل مسارات المستخدمين في حقوق الإنسان: استكشاف المفهومات وأجندة البحث‘، حقوق الإنسان والخطاب القانوني الدولي)

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

The Guiding Principles in international human rights courts

The Guiding Principles have potential to support and complement international human rights law on internal displacement but they have had little explicit consideration by international and regional human rights courts and commissions.

The Guiding Principles broadly reinforce general human rights law by serving as a kind of bill of rights for internally displaced persons (IDPs) and by outlining the responsibilities of States and other actors. In this sense they mainly reaffirm the human rights principles that are already generally applied by international human rights bodies. However, the Guiding Principles substantially add to international human rights law in at least two areas – explicit recognition of the right not to be displaced and the right to property restitution.

Guiding Principle 6, providing that every human being “shall have the right to be protected against being arbitrarily displaced from his or her home or place of habitual residence”, was a breakthrough in the recognition of the right not to be displaced. It was the first articulation of such a right in any international instrument, which has since only attained binding legal status in Africa. The act of displacement is otherwise only indirectly addressed in human rights law, which is why the explicit recognition of this right has been important in terms of defining internal displacement as a human rights issue, sending a clear message to duty-bearers and providing a solid basis for rights-holders’ claims.[1]

The impact of this framing is visible in the cases of the Inter-American human rights bodies, where the Guiding Principles have been specifically and consistently used to affirm that internal displacement falls within the scope of the right to freedom of movement and residence, an approach that has also been followed by the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights. Internal displacement can therefore be presumed a rights violation, and duty-bearers then bear the onus of demonstrating that the displacement – or their failure to prevent it – is legally justified. There is certainly room to strengthen legal protection from internal displacement through such an approach. This is the case not only in regional contexts outside the Americas but also in relation to causes of displacement which have so far been very sparsely addressed by all human rights mechanisms, for example displacement caused by natural disasters or environmental degradation.

The Guiding Principles have made a further important contribution by affirming the right of IDPs to recover property lost as a result of displacement, or to compensation where this is not possible. Until their adoption, such a right was not clearly recognised.[2] Guiding Principle 29 gives a practical account of the duties required by the right to a remedy in displacement contexts – specifically, by highlighting the State’s duty to assist displaced people to obtain restitution or compensation, and confirming that restitution should be prioritised wherever it is possible. Yet despite the potential the Principles have to at least set minimum standards for reparations, human rights courts have often been reluctant to address restitution in displacement contexts too directly at the international level and have not used the Principles to engage further with this issue.

The Inter-American Court of Human Rights has also used the Guiding Principles to reinforce indigenous peoples’ specific protections against displacement, as well as on issues such as family reunification, return, reintegration and participation.[3]

A greater role in international human rights forums

Of a total of 51 mass internal displacement cases reviewed, 47 were decided by international human rights bodies since the launch of the Guiding Principles on Internal Displacement in 1998. Of these, only eleven make explicit reference to the Principles themselves.[4] These references were made by the Inter-American Court of Human Rights (eight cases), the European Court of Human Rights (two) and the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights (one). 

The mandates of the African, Inter-American and European regional human rights courts appear to allow the Guiding Principles to be used as an interpretive source, and the initiative for exploring the further potential of the Guiding Principles may therefore lie with petitioners and their representatives and with judges. Even in contexts where a mechanism’s mandate or case law does not explicitly indicate openness to other legal sources, such texts are often de facto used in interpretation, and an examination of the use of similar soft law (that is, non-binding) texts in related fields may therefore also reveal opportunities. For example, while the UN human rights treaty bodies have not used the Guiding Principles in decisions on individual cases, most of them have recommended compliance with the Guiding Principles in their broader concluding observations on the human rights situation in a particular country.[5] This practice may serve as a basis for their further use in individual decisions.

Questions remain about the future of the Guiding Principles in the human rights sphere. Why are they so little invoked by international and regional human rights bodies? Is this the result of mandate limitations, a perceived lack of relevance, general reluctance to consider soft law, or other factors? Is greater explicit reference to the Guiding Principles by human rights forums desirable or relevant in the eyes of judges, claimants, legal representatives, and affected communities more broadly?[6] If so, how can this be achieved, and to what end? Ultimately, the ability of the Guiding Principles to advance concrete outcomes for IDPs, including in international human rights courts, will be a major test of whether their potential still matches their promise.

 

Deborah Casalin Deborah.Casalin@uantwerpen.be
PhD researcher, Law and Development Research Group, Faculty of Law, University of Antwerp–

www.uantwerpen.be/en/research-groups/law-and-development/

 

[1] See Morel M, Stavropoulou M and Durieux J-F (2012) ‘The history and status of the right not to be displaced’, Forced Migration Review issue 41 www.fmreview.org/preventing/morel-et-al

[2] Williams R C (2008) ‘Guiding Principle 29 and the right to restitution’, Forced Migration Review special GP10 issue www.fmreview.org/GuidingPrinciples10/williams

[3] See for example Inter-American Court of Human Rights Case of the Rio Negro Massacres v. Guatemala (2012) par. 173 and 176 http://bit.ly/IACHR-RioNegro-2012

[4] This article is based on a review of 51 admissible cases relating to mass internal displacement being undertaken as part of the author’s ongoing doctoral research.

[5] See for example Committee on the Rights of the Child ‘Concluding observations on the combined fourth and fifth periodic reports of Colombia’, CRC/C/COL/CO/4-5, 6 March 2015, par. G(d), http://www.refworld.org/docid/566e765c4.html

[6] See Desmet E (2014) ‘Analysing users’ trajectories in human rights: a conceptual exploration and research agenda’, Human Rights & International Legal Discourse Vol. 8 (2): 121–141.

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview