أهمية رصد النُّزوح الداخلي للتنمية المستدامة

تقر أجندة التنمية المستدامة 2030 بوجود ارتباط بين النُّزوح الداخلي، والتنمية ما يفرض على الدول مراعاة النُّزوح الداخلي عند رصدها للتقدم المحرز نحو تحقيق أهدافها التنموية. لكنَّ الواقع محبط ويقول غير ذلك.

تقر أجندة التنمية المستدامة 2030 بأن التَّهجير القسري واحد من أهم التهديدات الماثل أمام التنمية إذ تقول إنه على الحكومات تمكين الأشخاص النَّازحين داخلياً ومراعاة حاجاتهم الخاصة، كما تلزم الأجندة الحكومات كافة على ضمان توفير السلامة والنظام في الهجرة، واحترام حقوق الإنسان، وتقديم المعاملة الإنسانية للمهجرين. [1]وكثير من الأهداف التنموية المستدامة المدرجة في أجندة 2030 تتضمن أهدافاً ومؤشرات ترتبط بالنُّزوح الداخلي ومنها الهدف الرامي إلى تشجيع توليد البيانات المفصَّلة حسب وضع الهجرة بما في ذلك النُّزوح الداخلي، ومنها أيضاً مؤشر النُّزوح الناتج عن الكوارث الطبيعية.[2]

ويمكن القول على العموم إنَّ كل واحد من أهداف التنمية المستدامة له صلة بالنُّزوح الداخلي، والعكس بالعكس. وبالفعل لا تخطئ العين أهمية المبدأ العام في الأجندة 2030 الذي يقول ’لا ينبغي أن نترك وراءنا أي أحد‘ فهذه العبارة لا شك بأنها تشتمل أيضاً على كل شخص تأثر بالنُّزوح الداخلي. واعتماداً على السياق الوطني وأولويات الحكومات يمكن إدراج هذه القضية في الأهداف المرتبطة بالحد من الفقر، وتعزيز الصحة والرفاه، والتجمعات البشرية، والتغيرات المناخية وغيرها. فالنُّزوح الداخلي له تأثيرات مباشرة وغير مباشرة في كل مؤشر من المؤشرات الاجتماعية الاقتصادية بدءاً من الأمني إلى التعليمي، ومن العمل إلى البيئة. واعتماداً على مستوى التقدم المحرز في كل واحد من هذه المؤشرات قد يرتفع خطر التَّهجير وأثاره، أو تنخفض تبعاً لذلك.

الرصد: متجاهل ومتباين

رغم كل ذلك، ما زال النُّزوح الداخلي مهملاً لدرجة كبيرة في الاستراتيجيات الوطنية. وبهذا الصدد تتضمن أجندة 2030نصاً حول رصد التقدم من خلال تقديم تقارير المراجعة الوطنية الطوعية التي تصدرها الحكومات مبينة الجهود التي بذلتها لتحقيق الأهداف التنمية المستدامة مع حلول عام 2030. [3]وبين عامين 2016 و2018 سلمت 100 دولة تقاريرها الوطنية الطوعية. لكنَّ قليلاً من الدول الأكثر تأثرا بالنُّزوح الداخلي سلمت تقاريرها ومراجعاتها، بل لم تذكر إلا دولة واحدة منها موضوع النُّزوح الداخلي في حين أدرجت واحدة من عشر دول اهتمامها المحدود بعواقب النُّزوح الداخلي وأثاره في التنمية وسبل معالجته.

وحتى المراجعات التي تذكر النُّزوح الداخلي فعادة ما تذكرها نسبة إلى عدد متنوع من الأهداف إذ تركز أفغانستان في مراجعتها على النُّزوح الداخلي على أنه عائق يحول دون إحراز التقدم النمو الاقتصادي، وخفض الفقر، وتربط النُّزوح الداخلي مع الهدف التنموي الأول (خفض الفقر). أمَّا مراجعة أذربيجان، فتطالب بتفصيل البيانات حسب وضع التَّهجير والنُّزوح. وتبين أنها ترصد النُّزوح الداخلي ضمن الهدف التنموي الأول وضمن الهدف التنموي الخامس أيضاً (المساواة بين الجنسين) وتشير هذه المراجعة إلى أنها تبذل جهوداً لخفض الفقر. وضمن هذه الجهود تنوي الحكومة التركيز على الفئات الأكثر استضعافاً ومنهم النَّازحون داخلياً. وتقر نيجيريا بالتَّهجير الناتج عن النزاع على أنه عقبة أساسية تقف حائلا أمام إنجاز الأهداف التنموية المستدامة. وتناقش ذلك ضمن الهدف التنموي 16 (السلام والعدالة وقوة المؤسسات) والهدف التنموي المستدام رقم 4 (التعليم ذو الجودة) والهدف التنموي 17 (شركات تجاه تحقيق الأهداف). وفي غضون ذلك تركز قبرص على النُّزوح الداخلي ضمن الهدف التنموي 11 (مدن ومجتمعات محلية مستدامة) ويعكس ذلك حقيقة أنَّ المناطق الحضرية تستضيف كثيراً من النَّازحين الداخليين منذ السبعينيات. ويأتي ذكر النُّزوح الداخلي في مراجعة مصر ضمن الهدف التنموي المستدام 13 (الإجراء الخاص بالمناخ) وتشير إلى توقع تهجير الملايين مع ارتفاع منسوب سطح البحر، والفيضانات، والحت والتعرية. وأخيراً تبنت أوغندا مؤشراً خاصاً للتهجير ضمن الهدف التنموي المستدام 6 (مياه نظيفة، وإصحاح).

خيارات عملية لرصد التقدم

تُبَيِّن هذه المراجعات المتنوعة أنَّ الاحتمالات مفتوحة أمام كل البلدان المتأثرة بالنُّزوح الداخلي من ناحية إدخالها للجهود المحددة في إستراتيجياتها التنموية الوطنية والأطر العامة الراصدة للأهداف التنموية المستدامة. فإذا لم تكن قد فعلت ذلك بعد، فربما لأنَّها افترضت أنَّ النُّزوح الداخلي ما هو إلاَّ قضية إنسانية لا تنموية، أو ربما لم تكن ترغب أصلاً بالاعتراف بظاهرة النُّزوح الداخلي، أو ربما كانت تريد التملص من تخصيص الموارد لحل تلك الظاهرة.

وربما يعود السبب أيضاً إلى تعقيد الإطار العام الخاص برصد الأهداف التنموية المستدامة العالمية. لا شك في أن هذا العدد الكبير جداً من مؤشرات الأهداف التنموية المستدامة العالمية (بلغ عددها 232) يمثل عبئاً لا يستهان به على عاتق المؤسسات الإحصائية في الأقطار المشاركة. وقد أشارت معظم البلدان بالفعل بما فيها بلدان الدخل المادي العالي عن عجزها الحالي لتوفير البيانات المتعلقة بكل واحد من هذه المؤشرات. وإذا استمر هذا العبء على المكاتب الإحصائية الوطنية، فقد يدفعها ذلك إلى تكريس كل مواردها لرصد الأهداف التنموية المستدامة، وذلك يعني الحد من قدرتها على جمع البيانات حول القضايا الأخرى خلال السنوات الاثني عشر القادمة. وإذا لم تدرج قضية النُّزوح الداخلي في هذه العمليات، فقد تصبح محجوبة عن الأنظار إحصائياً لغاية عام 2030. ومع ذلك هناك ارتفاع في الوعي بضرورة جمع مثل هذه البيانات، فإذا ما تضافر مع هذا الوعي تخصيص بعض المصادر الإضافية قد يمكن بذلك ضمان ظهور هذه القضية على الدوام.

فمعظم البيانات الخاصة بالتنمية تأتي من المسوحات والاستقصاءات المنزلية المعيارية والدولية التي تستخدم السجلات الإدارية لتحديد أرباب الأسر الذين سوف يخضعون للمقابلات في تلك المسوحات. وهذه الطريقة تستثني مباشرة كثيراً من النَّازحين داخلياً لأنهم غير مسجلين لدى السلطات المعنية في مجتمعاتهم المضيفة، أو ربما يعيشون مع أقارب أو أصدقاء لهم، وبذلك لا يمكن في المقابلة اعتبار أي منهم على أنه رب أسرة، أو ربما يتمثل العائق الأساسي في تحديدهم بأنهم مستمرون في تنقلهم من مكان إلى آخر. وقد سعت بعض الدول إلى مواجهة تلك المشكلة بإجراء استقصاءات خاصة مع المجموعات ’المحجوبة‘ مثل رعاة الماشية أو المقيمين في العشوائيات، ولا شك في أنَّ مثل هذه المقاربات قد تخدم في تحسين تمثيل النَّازحين داخلياً. ويمكن كخيار إدراج سؤال إضافي في استقصاءات الأسر الموجودة (مثل استقصاءات المجموعة العنقودية للمؤشرات المتعددة لليونيسف) وذلك لتحديد وضع التَّهجير للشخص الخاضع لمقابلة. ويعني ذلك إمكانية توفير معلومات أخرى بما فيها ما يتعلق بالدخل، ومستوى التعليم والوضع الصحي، ثم تُحلَّل تلك المعلومات كلٌّ على حدة للأشخاص الذين نزحوا أو لم ينزحوا لمعرفة إذا ما كان وضع النَّازحين الداخلين أسوء من غيرهم أم لا.

وقد يصعب جمع مثل هذه المعلومات من خلال إجراء استقصاء تقوده الحكومة في البلدان التي يعتقد فيها النَّازحون سواء كان اعتقادهم مُسَوَّغ له أم لا أن بأن السلطات سوف تمارس التمييز ضدهم. ويجب الانتباه إلى هذه المشكلة على أنها سبب محتمل في أن تكون التقارير والتقديرات أقل بكثير من أن ترسم الصورة الحقيقية الكاملة للوضع. وبالمقابل، قد تكون هناك مبالغات ف الأرقام نتيجة افتراض أنَّ رب الأسرة إذا ما كان نازحاً فذلك يعني إعطاء صفة النُّزوح للأسرة بكامل أفرادها. ومن هنا، توصي مجموعة الخبراء حول إحصاءات اللاجئين والنَّازحين داخلياً تجميع البيانات لتفادي المبالغة في التقديرات ذلك أنَّه ليس من الضروري أن يكون زوج النَّازح وأطفاله قد هُجِّروا معه. بل توصي المجموعة استخدام فئتين هما فئة النَّازحين داخلياً وفئة ’مُعاَلِي النَّازحين داخلياً‘ أو طرح الأسئلة على كل فرد من الأسر على حدة.[4]

يتمتع رصد النُّزوح الداخلي بأهمية كبرى. فهو أولاً يجذب الانتباه نحو الظاهرة بتسليط الضوء على مستواها وشدتها. ولا غنى عنه، ثانياً، لإعلام الفاعلين الإنمائيين والإنسانيين بما يلزم لكي يصمموا جهودهم وبرامجهم بطريقة أكثر كفاءة. أمَّا الأمر الثالث فهو أنَّه لرصد النُّزوح الداخلي دور مهم في التأكد من مساءلة الحكومات وذلك بأن تُعرَضَ عليها وعلى سكانها وعلى المجتمع الدولي نتائج تصرفاتها أو تعبات امتناعها عن التصرف. وفي حالة الامتناع أو عدم القدرة على إدراج النُّزوح الداخلي في رصد التقدم المحرز نحو تحقيق الأهداف التنموية المستدامة، فقد يكون ذلك مشكلة كبيرة، أو قد يكون كما تحذر أجندة 2030 عائقاً أساسياً أمام تحقيق التنمية.

كريستيل كازابا christelle.cazabat@idmc.ch

باحثة، مركز رصد النُّزوح الداخلي www.internal-displacement.org

 

[1] انظر مقالة زيندير في هذا العدد.

[2] الأمم المتحدة (2018) ’إطار المؤشــــــرات العالمية لأهداف وغايات خطة التنمية المســــــتدامة لعام 2030‘ https://unstats.un.org/sdgs/indicators/Global%20Indicator%20Framework_A.RES.71.313%20Annex.Arabic.pdf

[3] تجمع قاعدة بيانات المراجعات الوطنية الطوعية المعلومات من البلدان المشاركة. وهذه المراجعات المشار إليها في هذه المقالة كلها من عام 2017 باستثناء مراجعات مصر، وأوغندا التي تعود إلى عام 2016. المراجعات متاحة على الرابط التالي: https://sustainabledevelopment.un.org/vnrs

[4] Technical Report on Statistics of Internally Displaced Persons: Current Practice and Recommendations for Improvement Prepared by the Expert Group on Refugee and Internally Displaced Persons Statistics UN Statistical Commission background document to the Forty-ninth session 6–9 March 2018

(التقرير الفنِّي حول إحصاءات النازحين داخلياً: الممارسة الحالية وتوصيات للتحسين. من إعداد مجموعة الخبراء حول إحصاءات اللاجئين والنَّازحين داخلياً)

https://unstats.un.org/unsd/statcom/49th-session/documents/BG-Item3m-IDPStat-E.pdf

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

The importance of monitoring internal displacement

The 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development acknowledges the link between internal displacement and development, and States should therefore be including internal displacement when monitoring progress towards their development goals. The reality is disappointing.

The 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development recognises that forced displacement is one of the main threats to development. It states that internally displaced persons (IDPs) must be empowered and their needs taken into account by governments, and it commits all governments to ensuring safe, orderly and regular migration, respecting human rights and providing humane treatment to displaced persons.[1] Several of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) included in the 2030 Agenda have targets and indicators that relate to internal displacement. Among these is a target to encourage the production of data disaggregated by migratory status, including internal displacement, and an indicator which refers to disaster-induced displacement.[2]

Nearly every SDG is relevant to internal displacement, and vice versa. Indeed, the 2030 Agenda’s overarching principle of ‘leaving no one behind’ is clearly relevant to everyone affected by internal displacement. Depending on national context and government priorities, the issue can be included in goals on poverty reduction, health and well-being, human settlements, climate change and many more. Internal displacement affects, directly or indirectly, every socio-economic indicator, from security to education, and from work to the environment, and the level of advancement in each of these indicators can multiply or reduce the risk and the impacts of displacement.

Monitoring: overlooked and varying

Despite all this, internal displacement remains largely overlooked in national strategies. The 2030 Agenda includes provision for progress monitoring through Voluntary National Reviews, reports published by governments on their efforts to achieve the SDGs by 2030.[3] Between 2016 and 2018, 100 countries submitted Voluntary National Reviews. However, few of the countries most affected by internal displacement submitted a review, and only one in four mentioned internal displacement; just one in 10 includes even limited consideration of its consequences for development and how this could be addressed.

Those reviews that do mention internal displacement do so in relation to a variety of goals. Afghanistan’s review highlights internal displacement as an impediment to economic growth and poverty reduction, linking it to SDG 1 (poverty reduction). Azerbaijan’s review calls for data disaggregation by displacement status and shows that it monitors internal displacement under SDG 1 but also under SDG 5 (gender equality), and indicates that, in its efforts to reduce poverty, the government intends to focus on the most vulnerable, which include IDPs. El Salvador’s review mentions disaster-induced displacement and its cost to the economy. Nigeria’s recognises conflict-induced displacement as a major obstacle to the achievement of the SDGs and discusses it under SDG 16 (peace, justice and strong institutions), SDG 4 (quality education) and SDG 17 (partnerships for the goals). Cyprus, meanwhile, anchors internal displacement under SDG 11 (sustainable cities and communities), reflecting the fact that its urban areas have hosted many IDPs since the 1970s. Egypt mentions it under SDG 13 (climate action) and refers to the anticipated displacement of millions by sea-level rise, flooding and erosion. And Uganda has adopted a displacement-specific indicator under SDG 6 (clean water and sanitation).

Practical options for progress monitoring

This variety shows that possibilities exist for all countries affected by internal displacement to incorporate specific efforts in their national development strategies and SDG monitoring frameworks. Where they have not, it may be due to the assumption that internal displacement is a humanitarian rather than development issue, or it may be due to an unwillingness to recognise the phenomenon or dedicate resources to solving it.

Another reason may be the complexity of the global SDG monitoring framework. The very large number of global SDG indicators (232) places a considerable burden on countries’ statistical institutions. Most countries, including high-income ones, have reported their current inability to provide data on each of these indicators. This burden on national statistical offices may well push them to dedicate all their resources to SDG monitoring, thereby reducing their ability to collect data on anything else over the next 12 years. If internal displacement is not included in these processes, it may well become statistically invisible until 2030. However, with increased awareness of the need to collect such data and with some additional resources, it should be possible to ensure that the issue remains visible.

Most data on development comes from internationally standardised household surveys which make use of administrative registers to identify heads of household to be interviewed. This automatically excludes many IDPs, because they are not registered with the authorities of their host community, or they live with relatives or friends and are therefore not the head of household, or because they are often on the move. Some countries have attempted to address this issue by conducting specific surveys with ‘invisible’ groups such as pastoralists or slum dwellers, and a similar approach could serve to better represent IDPs. Another option would be to include an additional question in existing household surveys (such as UNICEF’s Multiple Indicator Cluster Surveys) to identify the interviewee’s displacement status. This would mean other information – including about income, education level and health status – could be analysed separately for people who have and have not been displaced, in order to see whether IDPs fare worse.

Collecting such information through a government-led survey may be difficult in countries where IDPs consider, with good reason or not, that the authorities will discriminate against them. This should be recognised as a potential cause of under-reporting and under-estimates. Another issue is in the common assumption made that the displacement status of a head of household reflects the status of the whole household. The Expert Group on Refugee and IDP Statistics recommends data be collected to avoid overestimates as the spouse and children of an IDP may not have been displaced themselves; it recommends instead using two categories – ‘IDPs’ and ‘dependents of IDPs’ – or to ask each member of the household separately.[4]

Monitoring internal displacement is essential for several reasons. One is to draw attention to the phenomenon by highlighting its scale and severity. Another is to inform development and humanitarian actors so that they can tailor their efforts and programmes more efficiently. Lastly, monitoring internal displacement should help ensure national governments’ accountability by presenting them, their population and the international community with the results of their actions – or lack thereof. Failing to include internal displacement in SDG progress monitoring could be a major oversight and, as the 2030 Agenda warned, a significant impediment to development.

 

Christelle Cazabat christelle.cazabat@idmc.ch
Researcher, Internal Displacement Monitoring Centre www.internal-displacement.org

 

[1] See article by Zeender in this issue.

[2] United Nations (2018) ‘Global indicator framework for the Sustainable Development Goals and targets of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development’ https://unstats.un.org/sdgs/indicators/Global%20Indicator%20Framework%20after%20refinement_Eng.pdf

[3] The Voluntary National Reviews Database compiles information from participating countries. The reviews referenced in this article are all from 2017, with the exception of Egypt and Uganda, which are from 2016. Reviews available at: https://sustainabledevelopment.un.org/vnrs/

[4] Technical Report on Statistics of Internally Displaced Persons: Current Practice and Recommendations for Improvement Prepared by the Expert Group on Refugee and Internally Displaced Persons Statistics, UN Statistical Commission background document to the Forty-ninth session 6–9 March 2018

https://unstats.un.org/unsd/statcom/49th-session/documents/BG-Item3m-IDPStat-E.pdf

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview