تعزيز قدرات الدول المتأثرة في تنفيذ المبادئ التوجيهية

يُمكِّنُ التعاون مع الدول المتأثرة بالنُّزوح الداخلي من خلال تيسير التبادل بين النظراء للتحديات المشتركة ومن خلال الاستفادة من إمكانات التعبئة التي تبادر بها المنتديات الإقليمية ودون الإقليمية من دفع العمل الوطني وتعزيز عملية تنفيذ المبادئ التوجيهية.

تقوم المبادئ التوجيهية للنُّزوح الداخلي على ركيزة أساسية وهي فكرة ’السيادة بوصفها مسؤولية‘.[1] فالنُّزوح الداخلي، بحكم تعريفه كظاهرة تحدث ضمن حدود الدولة ولا تؤثر في الغالب إلاَّ في مواطنيها، مسؤولية تقع أولاً وآخراً على السلطات الوطنية في ذلك القُطر المعني. وينبغي للدول إدخال تشريعات وسياسات وطنية ووضع تدابير ملموسة للامتثال للالتزامات المنوطة بها من حماية النّازحين داخلياً ومساعدتهم. فتعزيز تنفيذ المبادئ التوجيهية من خلال دمجها في القانون الوطني والإعمال التام له أمرٌ أساسي لضمان فعالية الاستجابة.[2] إلاَّ أنَّ الدول المتأثرة بالنُّزوح الداخلي غالباً ما تفتقر إلى الإمكانات (البشرية والفنية والمالية) للاستجابة لهذه الظاهرة. وذلك ما يدفع الجهات الفاعلة في المجالين الإنساني والإنمائي وغيرها من الجهات الفاعلة الدولية والمحلية إلى التدخل للمساهمة في الاستجابة.

وتسعى اللجنة الدولية للصليب الأحمر إلى دعم السلطات الحكومية للوفاء بالتزاماتها نحو النَّازحين داخلياً من خلال إشراكهم في حوار ثنائي: لجذب مزيد من الاهتمام لحاجات النَّازحين داخلياً ومخاوفهم المتعلقة بالحماية ولتشجيع السلطات للاضطلاع بمسؤولياتها كاملة، ولتقديم توصيات ملموسة للسلطات حول كيفية تحسين الاستجابة، ولتقديم الإرشادات القانونية والفنية بشأن تنفيذ الأطر القانونية المعمول بها، بما في ذلك المبادئ التوجيهية. ومع ذلك، قد يكتنف هذا التعاون الثنائي المصاعب والتحديات.

وقد تفتقر الدول إلى الإرادة السياسية للاستجابة لظاهرة النُّزوح الداخلي لأنها قد تكون أصلاً سبباً رئيسياً للنُّزوح أو قد تنظر إليه على أنه غير ذي أولوية. أو قد لا يكون لديها رغبة في الاعتراف بوجود النَّازحين داخلياً في البلاد على أساس أنَّ ذلك يعد اعترافاً منها بعجزها عن حماية مواطنيها، أو أنَّ ذلك يُقوِّض من التقارير الرسمية التي تورد فيها أنَّ الأوضاع آمنة في البلاد، ’والأمر تحت السيطرة‘ أو ’أنَّ الأمور عادت إلى نصابها‘. وبصفة عامة، تميل الدول المتأثرة إلى تناول ظاهرة النُّزوح الداخلي من وجهة نظر السيادة الوطنية وعدم التدخل في شؤونها الداخلية، الأمر الذي أدى إلى رفض هذه الدول مناقشة هذه القضية علانيةً مع الجهات الفاعلة الدولية.

الدروس المستفادة من وضع مقاربات موحدة للتحديات المشتركة

يمكن للتعاون الإقليمي ودون الإقليمي المساعدة في تغيير هذه الآليات السلبية وتهيئة السبل لإجراء حوار بنَّاء بدرجة أكبر مع الدول المتأثرة بالنُّزوح على الصعيد القُطري. ويُمَكِّن تيسير التبادل بين النظراء للتحديات المشتركة على مستوى البلاد المتأثرة والاستفادة من إمكانات التعبئة التي قد تبادر بها المنتديات الإقليمية ودون الإقليمية من التعجيل بتنفيذ العمل الوطني ومن ثم تعزيز تنفيذ المبادئ التوجيهية. وأفريقيا هي المنطقة الوحيدة حتى الآن التي تُرجِمَتْ فيها المبادئ التوجيهية إلى صكٍ إقليمي ملزم قانوناً وهو اتفاقية الاتحاد الأفريقي لحماية ومساعدة النَّازحين داخلياً في أفريقيا (المعروفة أيضاً باتفاقية كامپالا) ما يقدم مثالاً جيداً لهذه المقاربة.[3]

وفي 2016، نشرت اللجنة الدولية للصليب الأحمر، كجزء من دعمها المتواصل لاتفاقية كامپالا، تقريراً يستعرض تقدم الدول وخبراتها في ترجمة الالتزامات المنصوص عليها في الاتفاقية إلى تحسينات حقيقية على أرض الواقع تفيد النَّازحين داخلياً.[4] واستعرض التقرير ممارسة حوالي 25 دولة أفريقية لا تشتمل على الدول الأطراف في اتفاقية كامپالا فحسب، بل تضم أيضاً دولاً شرَّعت تدابير معيارية، وسياسية ملموسة تستند كلياً أو جزئياً إلى المبادئ التوجيهية للاستجابة للنُّزوح الداخلي.

ومن خلال هذا التقرير، تتعاون اللجنة الدولية للصليب الأحمر مع المنتديات دون الإقليمية ومع الاتحاد الإفريقي لجمع الدول لمناقشة الممارسات الجيدة، والدروس المستفادة والتَّحديات المشتركة لتلبية حاجات الحماية ومساعدة النَّازحين داخلياً. وقد أتت هذه الجهود أكلها في تحفيز التفاعلات الإيجابية على مستوى الدول الأفريقية إذ كانت مصدر تشجيع لها وحملها على اتخاذ هذه الخطوة الإضافية والتصديق على اتفاقية كامپالا أو اتخاذ تدابير ملموسة على المستوى المحلي لتعزيز التنفيذ.

فعلى سبيل المثال، نظمت اللجنة الدولية للصليب الأحمر في أكتوبر/تشرين الأول 2016 بالتعاون مع الهيئة الحكومية الدولية المعنية بالتنمية مؤتمراً حول اتفاقية كامپالا، إذ ضم المؤتمر الدول الأعضاء في الهيئة الحكومية الدولية المعنية بالتنمية وممثلي الاتحاد الإفريقي والمنظمات الدولية. وعقب المشاركة في هذا المؤتمر، طلبت وزارة الشؤون الإنسانية وإدارة الكوارث في جنوب السودان من اللجنة الدولية للصليب الأحمر دعمها في مساعدة أعضاء حكومتها الرئيسيين لرفع الوعي حول اتفاقية كامپالا. وأدى ذلك إلى التعاون إلى تنظيم مؤتمر لمدة يوم واحد في جوبا في يونيو/حزيران 2017 خَلُصَ إلى اعتماد مجموعة من نقاط العمل للمضي قدماً في تصديق جنوب السودان اتفاقية كامپالا وتنفيذها. وأثمر هذا التعاون عن إيلاء مزيد من الاهتمام من جانب سلطات جنوب السودان للانضمام إلى الاتفاقية والتخفيف من مخاوفها بشأن الآثار المترتبة على ذلك الانضمام. وتجري حالياً في جنوب السودان مناقشات حول وضع إطار قانوني لحماية النَّازحين داخلياً ومساعدتهم بما يتماشى مع الالتزامات المنصوص عليها في الاتفاقية.

وأدى نجاح المؤتمر الأول الذي عقدته الهيئة الحكومية الدولية المعنية بالتنمية بالتعاون مع اللجنة الدولية للصليب الأحمر إلى تحفيزهما على التخطيط في عام 2017 ليس لعقد مؤتمر متابعة للدول الأعضاء في الهيئة الحكومية الدولية المعنية بالتنمية فحسب بل أيضاً على تنظيم فعاليات دون إقليمية أخرى بالتعاون مع مجموعة الجماعة الإنمائية للجنوب الأفريقي والمجموعة الاقتصادية لدول غرب أفريقيا. وقدمت هذه المؤتمرات والندوات منبراً للدول الأخرى لتستكشف طرقاً لتطبيق الأحكام الواردة في اتفاقية كامپالا في بلدانهم المعنية.

أهمية الحوار الإقليمي

بالطبع، لوجود اتفاقية كمبالا في أفريقيا أهمية كبيرة في إحداث تعاون بنَّاء مع الحكومات على المستوى الإقليمي ودون الإقليمي حيث لا يوجد إطار إقليمي ملزم قائم على المبادئ التوجيهية المعمول بها. وما تمس إليه الحاجة هو تحديد أنماط النُّزوح المشتركة وقضايا النَّازحين داخلياً المتداخلة في المنطقة التي يمكن من خلالها تشجيع الدول المعنية على تبادل خبراتهم وتجاربهم وللتفكير معاً حول الاستفادة من المبادئ التوجيهية في معالجة فجوات الحماية والمساعدة.

ويمكن أن يساهم هذا النوع من الحوار الإقليمي في إحداث تعاون وطني أقوى بشأن النُّزوح الداخلي، ما يؤدي في نهاية المطاف إلى تحسين أوضاع النَّازحين داخلياً والمجتمعات المضيفة لهم في البلدان المعنية. كما يمكن أن يدفع هذا التعاون الدول المتأثرة إلى استكشاف إمكانية وضع إطارٍ إقليمي مشابه لاتفاقية كامپالا. ويمكن أيضاً للهيئات الإقليمية مثل لجنة البلدان الأمريكية لحقوق الإنسان التابعة لمنظمة الدول الأمريكية أو الجمعية البرلمانية لمجلس أوروبا أن يكون لها دور مهم في حشد وتعبئة الدول الأعضاء بشأن التحديات المحددة المرتبطة بالنُّزوح الداخلي في مناطق كلٍّ منها ومواجهة الحاجة الملحة إلى المضي قدماً في تنفيذ المبادئ التوجيهية لخدمة النَّازحين داخلياً.

 

أنجيلا كوترونيو acotroneo@icrc.org مستشارة عالمية حول النُّزوح الداخلي

اللجنة الدولية للصليب الأحمر

https://www.icrc.org/ar/war-and-law/protected-persons/refugees-displaced-persons

الآراء الواردة في هذا المقال آراء الكاتبة ولا تعكس بالضرورة آراء اللجنة الدولية للصليب الأحمر.

 

[1] Kälin W (2008) Guiding Principles on Internal Displacement: Annotations, The American Society of International Law and the Brookings Institution, Studies in Transnational Legal Policy Number 38, Washington, pp18-19.

(المبادئ التوجيهية حول النُّزوح الداخلي: التعليقات التوضيحية)

www.brookings.edu/wp-content/uploads/2016/06/spring_guiding_principles.pdf

[2] حول الأسس القانونية للمبادئ التوجيهية وقيمتها كمعيار وغير ذلك من قضايا، راجع دروغي ك. (2008) ’تطورات قضية الحماية القانونية للنازحين داخلياً‘، نشرة الهجرة القسرية، العدد الخاص بالذكرى السنوية العاشرة على إطلاق المبادئ التوجيهية GP10 http://bit.ly/NHQ-GP10 وراجع أيضاً الخدمات الاستشارية للجنة الدولية للصليب الأحمر ، المنشور القانوني بعنوان ’النَّازحون داخلياً والقانون الإنساني الدولي‘

https://www.icrc.org/ar/document/internally-displaced-persons-and-international-humanitarian-law-factsheet

[3] تُبُنِّيَت في أكتوبر/تشرين الأول ٢٠٠٩

 https://au.int/sites/default/files/treaties/7796-treaty-0039_-_kampala_convention_african_union_convention_for_the_protection_and_assistance_of_internally_displaced_persons_in_africa_a.pdf

[4] ICRC (2016) Translating the Kampala Convention into Practice: A Stocktaking Exercise

(ترجمة اتفاقية كامپالا إلى الواقع العملي: تمرين التقييم)

 https://shop.icrc.org/translating-the-kampala-convention-into-practice-2642.html

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Strengthening implementation of the Guiding Principles by affected States

Engaging with States affected by internal displacement by facilitating peer-to-peer exchanges on shared challenges and through tapping into the potential for mobilisation by sub-regional and regional forums can prompt national action and strengthen implementation of the Guiding Principles.

The bedrock of the Guiding Principles on Internal Displacement is the notion of ‘sovereignty as responsibility’.[1] Internal displacement – being by definition a phenomenon that occurs within a State’s borders and that most often affects its nationals – must be dealt with first and foremost by the responsible authorities within the country concerned. States must introduce national legislation and policies and put in place concrete measures to comply with their obligations to protect and assist IDPs. Strengthening implementation of the Guiding Principles, through their incorporation into domestic law and full operationalisation, is key to ensuring an effective response.[2] However, because affected States often lack the capacity (human, technical and financial) to respond to internal displacement, humanitarian, development and other international and local actors frequently step in to contribute to the response.

The International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) seeks to support State authorities to meet their IDP-related obligations by engaging them in a bilateral dialogue: drawing attention to IDPs’ specific needs and protection concerns, encouraging the authorities to fully assume their obligations, making concrete recommendations on how the authorities’ response could be improved, and providing legal and technical guidance on the implementation of applicable legal frameworks, including the Guiding Principles. Such bilateral engagement can, however, prove challenging.

States may lack the political will to respond as they themselves may be at the root of the displacement problem, or may not identify it as a priority issue. Or they may be reluctant to recognise the existence of IDPs in the country as this might mean admitting their failure to protect their own citizens, or might undermine an official narrative that the situation in the country is peaceful, ‘under control’ or ‘back to normal’. More generally, affected States tend to approach internal displacement from a standpoint of national sovereignty and non-interference in their domestic affairs – which may result in a degree of resistance to discussing the issue openly with international actors. 

Learning from approaches to shared challenges

Sub-regional and regional engagement can help to reverse those negative dynamics and open up avenues for a more constructive dialogue with displacement-affected States at the country level. Facilitating peer-to-peer exchanges between affected States on the shared challenges they face, and tapping into the potential for mobilisation that sub-regional and regional forums may offer, can serve to prompt national action and ultimately strengthen the implementation of the Guiding Principles. Africa is so far the only region where the Guiding Principles have been translated into a legally binding regional instrument – the African Union (AU) Convention for the Protection and Assistance of Internally Displaced Persons in Africa (also known as the Kampala Convention)[3] – and thus offers a good example of this approach.

In 2016, as part of its continuing support to the Kampala Convention, the ICRC published a report that takes stock of States’ progress and experiences in translating the obligations contained in the Convention into real improvements for IDPs.[4] The report takes into account the practice of 25 African countries – these include not only States Parties to the Kampala Convention but also other States that have enacted normative, policy or concrete measures to respond to internal displacement which are based fully or in part on the Guiding Principles.

Using this report, the ICRC has been working with sub-regional forums, as well as the AU, to bring together States to discuss good practices, lessons learned and shared challenges in addressing the protection and assistance needs of IDPs. Such efforts have proved valuable in triggering positive interactions among groups of African States, challenging and inspiring them to go that extra step and ratify the Kampala Convention or to take concrete action at the domestic level to strengthen its implementation.

For example, in October 2016 the ICRC jointly organised with the Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD) a seminar on the Kampala Convention, gathering together IGAD Member States, representatives of the AU and international organisations. After participating in this seminar, the Ministry of Humanitarian Affairs and Disaster Management of South Sudan asked the ICRC for support in raising awareness on the Kampala Convention with key members of their government. This led to the joint organisation of a one-day seminar in Juba in June 2017, which concluded with the adoption of a set of action points to move forward on ratification and implementation of the Kampala Convention by South Sudan. It served to revitalise the interest of the South Sudanese authorities in acceding to the Convention and to alleviate some concerns about the implications of doing so. Discussions in the country are currently ongoing concerning the development of a legal framework on the protection and assistance of IDPs in line with the Convention’s obligations.

The success of the first IGAD–ICRC seminar inspired the planning in 2017 not only of a follow-up seminar with IGAD Member States but also of other sub-regional events with the involvement of the Southern Africa Development Community (SADC) and the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS). These provided a platform for other States to explore together ways to put into practice the provisions of the Kampala Convention in their respective countries.

The role of regional dialogue

The existence in Africa of the Kampala Convention is, of course, of great advantage but constructive engagement with States at the sub-regional and regional levels can also be sought where no regional binding framework inspired by the Guiding Principles exists. What is needed is to identify common displacement patterns and cross-cutting IDP issues in the region around which concerned States can be encouraged to share their expertise and experiences and reflect together on how the Guiding Principles can help address protection and assistance gaps.

This type of regional dialogue can contribute to building stronger national engagement on internal displacement, and ultimately to improving the conditions of IDPs and their host communities in the countries in question. It could also lead affected States to explore the possibility of developing a regional framework similar to the Kampala Convention. Regional bodies such as, for example, the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights of the Organization of American States or the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe could play a useful role in mobilising member States around the specific challenges associated with internal displacement in their respective regions and the urgency of advancing the implementation of the Guiding Principles for the benefit of IDPs.

 

Angela Cotroneo acotroneo@icrc.org Global Adviser on Internal Displacement, International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC)

www.icrc.org/en/war-and-law/protected-persons/internally-displaced-persons

The views expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of the ICRC.

[1] Kälin W (2008) Guiding Principles on Internal Displacement: Annotations, The American Society of International Law and the Brookings Institution, Studies in Transnational Legal Policy Number 38, Washington, pp18-19. www.brookings.edu/wp-content/uploads/2016/06/spring_guiding_principles.pdf

[2] On the legal foundations of the Guiding Principles and their value as a standard see, among others, Droege C (2008) ‘Developments in the Legal Protection of IDPs’, Forced Migration Review GP10 issue: www.fmreview.org/GuidingPrinciples10/droege, and ICRC Advisory Service ‘Internally Displaced Persons and International Humanitarian Law’ Factsheet www.icrc.org/en/document/internally-displaced-persons-and-international-humanitarian-law-factsheet

[3] Adopted October 2009 https://au.int/en/treaties/african-union-convention-protection-and-assistance-internally-displaced-persons-africa 

[4] ICRC (2016) Translating the Kampala Convention into Practice: A Stocktaking Exercise  https://shop.icrc.org/translating-the-kampala-convention-into-practice-2642.html

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview