مساعدة النَّازحين: مسؤولية يتشارك بها الجميع

إينيمبا كوينو يداً بيد نرتقي بإنجازاتنا

اسمي إيووها تشيما إيووها، وأعيش في أبا، في ولاية أبيا في نيجيريا.

خلال الحرب الأهلية التي عمت نيجيريا بين عامي 1967-1970، انتشر سوء التغذية في شرقي نيجيريا (في الإقليم الذي كان يُعرَف باسم بيافرا) وأودى بحياة كثير من الأطفال نتيجة عِوَز البروتين (الكوارشيوركور) وهو من أشد أنواع سوء التغذية. وفي عام 1969، أصبت أنا وأربعة من إخوتيبالكوارشيوركور لكننا نجونا وبقينا على قيد الحياة بفضل الإغاثة الغذائية التي تلقيناها من المنظمات الدولية. كنت وقتها في الثالثة عشر من عمري، وعندما كنت أسمع والدتي وهي تحمد الله وتشكره للطعام الذي أتانا من منظمات الإغاثة أخبرتها أنني عندما أكبر سوف أقدم الإغاثة للناس عند الحاجة.

وفي عام 1994، أسست المنظمة الدولية لعمال إغاثة اللاجئين وهي منظمة غير حكومية لكي أساعد اللاجئين والنَّازحين داخلياً في نيجيريا. وكانت أولى المساعدات تلك التي قدمناها للأشخاص المحليين الذين هَجَّرَهُم العنف المجتمعي. فقد أتى النزاع على البيوت والكنائس والمدارس ودمرها تدميراً كما أودى بحياة كثير من الأشخاص، أمَّا من نجى بحياته فقد لاذ بالفرار ليلاً. وخاطبنا رئيس الحكومة المحلية حول المأساة التي عاشها النَّازحون. وبدعمه، نفذنا تقييماً لحاجات قرابة ألفي نازحٍ وساعدناهم في تعيين قادتهم. وكانت أولى الحاجات الأساسية التي وقفنا عليها بالتشاور مع هؤلاء النَّازحين إعادة بناء المنازل. وهكذا، كتبنا الرسائل لكسب التأييد والدعم لبرنامج إعادة البناء هذا ولكسب الرأي العام وتمكنا من خلال ذلك الحصول على عروضٍ بالمساعدات من الكنائس وأقارب النَّازحين وغيرهم من منظمات المجتمع المدني.

ثم مضت 24 عاماً، وها نحن الآن نعمل مع مجتمع أمونيتو أوبوزا الذي يضم النَّازحين الذين هَجَّرَهُم النزاع بين المجتمعات المحلية ممن يمكثون الآن في مآو مؤقتة (وليس في المخيمات) وهم بأمس الحاجة للطعام والمأوى والتعليم لأولادهم والتوظيف والعمل. وأبرمنا شراكة مع هيئة ولاية آبيا للتنمية الاجتماعية وتنمية المجتمعات المحلية التي حصلت على منحة من البنك الدولي لمساعدتنا في توفير مأوى مُحَسَّن للنَّازحين داخلياً ومساعدتهم في تنظيم أنفسهم ضمن جمعية مجتمعٍ محلي للنَّازحين داخلياً.

وتشارك المنظمة الدولية لعمال إغاثة اللاجئين في تحالف المنظمات غير الحكومية في ولاية أبيا إذ تعمل هذه المنظمات معاً لدعم حكومة الولاية في تنفيذ الأهداف التنموية المستدامة.[1] لكننا مع ذلك ما زلنا نواجه عقبات ومصاعب في تأمين المنح المالية[2] كما أننا نعاني من ضعف التدريب (والمشاركة في مجتمع المساعدات المحلي الأكبر نطاقاً) الذي يتاح في العادة إلى المنظمات المحلية التي تشبه منظمتنا.

ولدينا في هذه المنظمة ستة موظفين، وأنا منهم إضافة إلى مستشار مستقل. ويعمل معنا 68 متطوعاً مسجلاً ممن يستخدمون مهاراتهم التدريبية المهنية المتنوعة لخدمة الإنسانية. وكذلك زوجتي وأطفالي انضموا أيضاً إلى العمل معنا. وقد تخرج بعض المتطوعين الشباب الآن من المنظمة الدولية لإغاثة اللاجئين وأصبحوا موظفين لدى هيئات خارج البلاد إذ يعمل أحدهم على سبيل المثال في مخيم للاجئين في ألمانيا، وهناك شخص آخر غيره حصل على وظيفة لدى إحدى الهيئات في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية.

وإنني إذ تعلمت شيئاً خلال هذه السنوات فقد عرفت أنَّ المساعدة الإنسانية مسؤولية يتشارك بها الجميع فلا يمكن أن يعهد بها شخص واحد أو هيئة واحدة بمفردهم مهما بلغت مصادرهم المالية ومهما كان نفوذهم. فعلينا أن نتشابك ونتعاون ونتشارك. وعندما أكبر في السن، لا شك بأنَّ جيل الشباب سيتقدم ليأخذ مكاني ويحل محلي ويستمر بالروح نفسها، روح التعاون والعمل نحو مساعدة الآخرين.

إيووها تشيما إيووها refugeevolunteer@yahoo.com

المؤسس والرئيس، منظمة عمال إغاثة اللاجئين الدولية (هاتف 8035622086 234+)

[1] www.thenigerianvoice.com/news/252158/abia-state-coalition-of-ngos-sets-to-implement-sdgs.html

[2] نسعى حالياً إلى الحصول على الدعم لمشروع إعادة تأهيل مجتمع أمونيتو كما نسعى للحصول على دعمٍ لعملية التخطيط الوطني للنَّازحين داخلياً المقيمين خارج المخيمات.

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Assisting displaced people: a shared responsibility

Enyimba kwe nu. When we work together, we achieve more.

My name is Iwuoha Chima Iwuoha, and I live in Aba, in Abia State, Nigeria.

During the Nigerian civil war of 1967–70, malnutrition was widespread in eastern Nigeria (then known as Biafra) and many children died of kwashiorkor, a severe form of malnutrition. In 1969, I and four of my brothers had kwashiorkor but we survived, thanks to the food relief provided by international organisations. I was 13 at the time, and when I heard my mother praising God for the food provided by the relief organisations, I told her that when I grew up, I too would supply relief to people in need.

In 1994 I set up Refugee Relief Workers International (ReRWI), a non-governmental organisation to help refugees and internally displaced persons (IDPs) in Nigeria. The first assistance we provided was to local people who had been displaced by communal violence. Houses, churches and schools had been destroyed, many had been killed, and many more people had fled in the night. We wrote to the local government chairman about the plight of the displaced. With his support, we undertook a needs assessment of some 2,000 displaced people and helped them to appoint their own leaders. The primary need that we identified, in consultation with them, was rebuilding homes. We wrote letters to advocate for support for this rebuilding programme, and the publicity we generated triggered offers of assistance from churches, displaced people’s relatives and other civil society organisations.

Twenty-four years later, we are currently working with the Umunneato Obuzo community which comprises people displaced by communal conflict, who are now in temporary shelters (not in camps) and in need of food and better shelter, schooling and employment. We entered into partnership with Abia State Agency for Community and Social Development which obtained a World Bank grant to help us provide improved shelter for the IDPs and to help them organise themselves into an IDP community association.

ReRWI participates in the Coalition of Non-Governmental Organisations in Abia State, working together to support the State government in implementing the Sustainable Development Goals.[1] We face difficulties in securing grants, however,[2] and also suffer from the lack of training (and participation in the wider assistance community) available to local organisations like ours.

At ReRWI we have six employees, including myself, and an independent consultant. We also have 68 registered volunteers who use their various professional training and skills to serve humanity. My children and my wife also are involved in our work. Some of our youth volunteers have now ‘graduated’ from ReRWI and are employed by agencies overseas. One works in a refugee camp in Germany, for example, and another is employed by an agency in the United States.

I have learned over the years that humanitarian assistance is a shared responsibility, never to be carried by one person or one agency, no matter how rich or powerful. We need networking, collaboration, partnership. And when I am too old, younger people will take my place and continue in the same spirit of working together to help others.

 

Iwuoha Chima Iwuoha refugeevolunteer@yahoo.com
Founder and President, Refugee Relief Workers International (Tel +234 803 562 2086)

 

[1] www.thenigerianvoice.com/news/252158/abia-state-coalition-of-ngos-sets-to-implement-sdgs.html

[2] We are currently seeking support for the Umunneato community rehabilitation project and for a nationwide mapping exercise of out-of-camp IDPs.

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview