اللغة والمبادئ التوجيهية

لا بد من إيلاء مزيد من الاهتمام إلى اللغات وحاجات التواصل للأشخاص المعرضين لخطر النُّزوح الداخلي، أو الذين يواجهونه ويتعافون منه. وتسلط دراسة حالة من نيجيريا الضوء على هذه المسائل، وتضع تحديات أمام المجتمع الدولي لبذل جهود أفضل.

هناك دور للغة في المحافظة على حقوق النَّازحين داخلياً لكنَّ هذا الدور غالباً ما يُهمَل مع أنَّ الانتباه إلى اللغة والتواصل عنصر محوري في المبادئ التوجيهية للنزوح الداخلي. [1]وتذكر المبادئ التوجيهية صراحة حق النَّازحين في التواصل باللغة التي يفهمونها وذلك ضمن مكون نبذ التمييز (المبدأ 22). وتقر هذه المبادئ أيضاً بحق الشخص بالتعليم الذي يحترم هويته الثقافية ولغته ودينه (المبدأ 23).

أمَّا حق النَّازحين بالحصول على المعلومات باللغة التي يفهمونها فهي مذكورة ضمنيّاً في عدد آخر كثير من المبادئ. فينبغي أن يكون الناس على إطلاع كاف بالأسباب والإجراءات التي دعت إلى نزوحهم، وأن يقدموا موافقتهم المدروسة للنزوح غير الناتج عن الحالات الطارئة (7ب و ج). وتنص المبادئ أيضاً على حقوق الأشخاص بطلب الحماية والمساعدة الإنسانية وتلقيها (المبدأ 3)، والعودة إلى مناطقهم الأصلية، أو إعادة توطينهم طوعاً ومساهمتهم في التخطيط لهذه العمليات (المبدأ 28). وكل هذه الحقوق لا يمكن تلبيتها إلاَّ بمراعاة الحاجات اللغوية.

فهناك بعض الأفراد ممن يواجهون تحديات لغوية خاصة. منهم، على سبيل المثال، بعض المجموعات التي قد لا تمتلك كثيراً من الفرص لتعلم القراءة، أو الوصول إلى التكنولوجيا الرقمية أو إتقان لغة ثانية أو ثالثة. فلهذه الفئة من الناس، تكتسب اللغة أهمي محورية وكذلك طريقة التعبير عنها (الخطية، والتصويرية، والسمعية) وقنوات الاتصال (الاتصال الشفوي، أو المكتوب، أو الرقمي). فلا بد إذاً من تلبية حاجاتهم لأنَّ ذلك أمر ضروري جدّاً لمشاركة النساء في التخطيط، وإدارة تدابير إعادة النقل (7د) وتوفير المساعدات (المبدأ 18) وتلبية الحاجات الخاصة للأطفال، وبعض المجموعات الخاصة بالنساء وكبار السن وذوي الإعاقة (المبدأ 4).

وتقدم لنا الاستجابة الإنسانية لحاجات النَّازحين في شمال شرقي نيجيريا دراسة حالة تبين لنا جسامة العائق اللغوي فيما لو أغفل المجتمع الإنساني توفير الخطوات العملية المناسبة للتغلب على ذلك العائق.[2]

تحديات التنوع اللغوي في نيجيريا

تخيل لو أنك تدير برنامجاً لدعم النَّازحين داخليّاً في شمال شرق نيجيريا. ستجد عندها أنك تتعامل مع 500 لغة أصلية في البلاد بما فيها 28 لغة في ولاية بورنو وحدها. وستجد أنّ معظم الكوادر المحلية تتكلم لغة الهوسا في حين يتكلم بعضهم لغة الكانوري وهي اللغة الدارجة والشائعة في بورنو والمنطقة المجاورة لها. ويقول كبار المديرين إنَّ المقابلات التي يجرونها مع النَّازحين غالباً ما تتضمن عملية ترجمة معقدة من أربع مراحل بين اللغات الإنجليزية، والهاوسية، والكانورية وغيرها من اللغات المحلية المحكية وعلى ضوء ذلك يقول هؤلاء المديرون إنهم لا يستطيعون الوصول إلى درجة كافية من الثقة بأنهم تمكنوا من توفير تحليل دقيق للحاجات والأولويات. أمَّا نقاشات مجموعات التركيز فتعقد باللغتين الهاوسية والكانورية على أساس أنَّ هاتين هما اللغتان اللتان يتحدث بهما أعضاء فريقك. ولذلك لا يمكن لبعض النَّازحين داخليّاً أن يشاركوا في هذه الجلسات لأنهم لا يتكلمون هاتين اللغتين ولا يستطيع الكوادر من جهة أخرى أن يعرفوا عدد النَّازحين داخليّاً الذين لا يستطيعون التواصل بهاتين اللغتين السائدتين.

وعندها ستقلق إزاء عدم وصول المعلومات التي قد تكون حساسة لأنها تنقذ حياة الإنسان إذا ما كانت تمس بعض القضايا مثل الوقاية من الأمراض، والأهلية للحصول على المساعدات، وعدم وصول هذه الخدمات لمن يستحقها. وحتى مجرد الحصول على المعلومات باللغتين الهاوسية والكانورية لا تخلو من إشكالات لأنك تطلب إلى متحدثي الهاوسية والكانورية في فريقك أن يترجموا الرسائل الرئيسية، ثم تطلب من أشخاص آخرين أن يترجموها مجدداً للغة الإنجليزية لكي تتأكد من دقتها وهذه العمليات بطيئة جدّاً. ثم يتوجه فريقك لتدريب بعض النَّازحين الداخليين ليكونوا من قادة الحشد في مجتمعاتهم بهدف تسهيل التواصل ثنائي الاتجاه باللغات المحلية الأخرى. لكنك مجدداً لن تتمكن ولا بأي طريقة من التحقق من جودة فهمهم للترجمة الكانورية، ولا من ناحية الدقة التي تظهر بها الرسائل المترجمة في اللغات المحكية المحلية، ولا تستطيع أن تتأكد إذا ما كان قادة الحشد مجتمعيين يلبون الحاجات اللغوية لجميع النَّازحين داخلياً في كل موقع.

عندها ستسأل نفسك: ما مدى سهولة قدرة النَّازحين على المطالبة بحقهم في الحماية والمساعدة؟ وهل يمكن للأفراد الأكثر استضعافاً التواصل مع الجهات الأخرى والتعبير عن حاجاتهم أو الإبلاغ عن تعرضهم للتمييز أو الإساءة؟ وإذا لم يكن المجتمع المضيف ومجتمع النَّازحين الداخليين يتكلمون اللغة نفسها، فهل يعني ذلك أننا دون قصد نغذي التوترات بين هذين المجتمعين إذا ما عمدنا إلى التواصل بلغة أحدهما دون الآخر؟

كل هذه الأسئلة تمثل بعضاً من الكابوس الذي يعيشه عامل المساعدات. فأنت لا تملك المعلومات الكافية حول اللغات التي يتكلم بها الناس ويفهمونها. وحتى لو امتلكت هذه المعلومات ستفتقر إلى المصادر اللازمة للتواصل بهذه اللغة. ثم سينتابك الخوف من أنك في النهاية لست متمسكاً بالكامل بالحقوق المنصوص عليها في المبادئ التوجيهية رغم كل حسن النوايا التي لديك.

من منظور النَّازحين داخليّاً

الصورة محبطة لعمال المساعدات لكنها قد تكون مذلة ومحطة للكرامة ومخيفة ومرعبة للنَّازحين داخليّاً أنفسهم. فتخيل الآن أنك امرأة نازحة داخليّاً تعيش في واحدة من هذه المخيمات. وكغيرك من النساء الأخريات في شمال شرقي نيجيريا ليس لديك حظ في التعليم الرسمي وأنت أُمِّيَّة لا تستطيعين القراءة. وأنت ناطقة أساسية أصلية باللغة المارجية وهي واحدة من 30 لغة ولهجة يتحدث بها النَّازحون داخليّاً عبر المنطقة التي تأثرت أكثر من غيرها بالنزاع. وهذه اللغة هي اللغة الأم لمائتي ألف شخص لكنها لا تستخدم للتواصل مع الأشخاص في المخيم الذي تعيشين فيه. ولم تتح لك الفرص أبداً لتعلم اللغة الهاوسية ومع أنَّك تفهمين بعض طرق التعبير الكانورية المحكية فأنت لست بمستوى الثقة الكاملة للتمكن بالحديث بها.

ثم إنك لم تري زوجك ولا أبنائك المراهقين منذ أن هربت من قريتك، وأنت خائفة جدّاً على سلامتهم. ولا تعرفين كيف يمكنك الحصول على المعلومات حول المفقودين من أسرتك. ثم ينتابك الخوف مجدداً حول بيتك وأرضك فلربما استولى أحد ما غيرك عليها خلال السنوات التي غادرت ذلك البيت. وأنت تعرفين أنَّ غيرك من النَّازحين قد حصلوا على المشورة من منظمة غير حكومية بشأن توثيق ملكيتهم للعقارات التي هجروها لكنهم كانوا مضطرين للاعتماد على رجل مثقف من المجتمع المضيف، ويدفعون له المال من أجل أن يترجم لهم شفويّاً ما يحدث مع تلك المنظمة. ويقول لك بعض النَّازحين الآخرين من قريتك إنَّهُم قد يعودون إلى ديارهم حتى لو وضعهم غير آمن هنا. أمَّا أنت فتشعرين بحيرة لعدم توافر المعلومات الموثوق بها حول الوضع في الديار، ولا تستطيعين اتخاذ قرار مدروس إذا ما كان عليك الانضمام إلى العائدين أم لا.

أمَّا طفلك الأصغر فقد أصابته نوبة سيئة من الإسهال. وكانت الأملاح الفموية الخاصة بعلاج الإسهال قد أُعطيت إليك لمعالجته لكنَّ التعليمات التي جاءت مع هذه الأملاح كانت باللغة الهاوسية فكان عليك إذاً أن تسألي أحد الشباب في المخيم أن يقرأها لك ويخبركِ ما المطلوب فيها. أمَّا عن مصدر دخلك فأنت تكسبين المال للحصول على الطعام من خلال إعادة بيعك للسلع الرخيصة التي يمكنك شراؤها من السوق القريب إليك باستخدام بعض الكلمات البسيطة في الكانورية التي تعرفينها. وتخافين على أطفالك من أنهم غير قادرين على تناول ما يكفي من طعام ولذلك تريدين أن تسألي المعنيين إذا ما كان بمقدورهم تقديم مزيد من المساعدة. لكنَّ المشكلة أنَّ عمال المساعدات لا يتحدثون لغتك المارجية، ولا يستطيعون قراءة البوسترات التي يضعونها أصلاً.

فهذا إذاً لا يقل عن كابوس حقيقي لك. أنت تفعلين كل ما بوسعك لكنَّك لست أكيدة إزاء المساعدة التي تستحقينها وحتى لو كنت عارفةً لذلك لا تستطيعين الوصول إلى تلك المساعدة بطريق مباشر. وأنت لم تسمعين من قبل عن المبادئ الإرشادية، وفي مثل هذه الظروف لا شك بأنك لا تستطيعين المطالبة بالحقوق المنصوص عليها في تلك المبادئ التوجيهية.

الثغرات اللغوية

تشير مصفوفة تعقب النُّزوح في منظمة الهجرة الدولية التابعة للأمم المتحدة إلى أنَّ 38 بالمائة من النَّازحين داخليّاً في شمال شرق نيجيريا لا يتلقون المعلومات بلغتهم الأم. ويتأثر بذلك على وجه الخصوص المتحدثون بلغات الأقليات. إذ لا يتلقى أكثر من 8.3 بالمائة من النَّازحين داخليّاً المتحدثين بالمارجية المعلومات بلغتهم الأصلية، وتقول التقارير إنَّ غياب المعلومات مشكلة خطيرة لحوالي 53 بالمائة من متحدثي المارجية.

وفي يوليو/تموز 2017، بدأت منظمة مترجمون بلا حدود عقد الشراكات مع منظمة أوكسفام غير الحكومية، ومنظمة غيرل إيفيكت من أجل استقصاء عينة من المقيمين في المخيمات والمجتمعات المضيفة للوقوف على فهم أفضل لتفضيلاتهم اللغوية.[3]وتبين لنا أنَّ النَّازحين داخليّاً يتحدثون عدة لغات أكثر من اللغات الأولية والثانوية التي أُبلِغَ عنها لباحثي المصفوفة المذكورة، إذ يشير استقصاؤنا إلى وجود ما لا يقل عن عشرة بل أحياناً عشرين لغة أم في كل واحد من المواقع الخمسة.

وفَضَّل أربعة من أصل خمسة مستجيبين لدراستنا أن يتلقوا المعلومات بلغتهم الأصلية مع أنَّ كثيراً منهم كانوا أميين في تلك اللغة. وبما أن معظم المعلومات إن لم يكن كلها تقريباً تقدم باللغة الهاوسية أو الكانورية أجرت منظمة مترجمون بلا حدود اختباراً على فهم الرسائل الإنسانية في تلك اللغات. وتبين لنا أن ما لا يزيد على 23 بالمائة من المقيمين كانوا قادرين على الإجابة على سؤال استيعاب قراءة بسيطة حول نص مكتوب قصير بواحدة أو أكثر من هذه اللغات. وارتفع ذلك الرقم إلى 37 بالمائة عندما صاحب النص رسم بسيط. وبالنسبة للغتي الهاوسا والكانوري لم تكن الرسائل فعالة باستثناء الرسائل الصوتية، وذلك عبر كل مجموعات العينة الخاصة بالاستقصاء وينطبق ذلك على الأقل على العناصر البسيطة من المعلومات. وتبين أن 91 بالمائة من النساء غير المتعلمات ممن كانت لغتهن الأم مختلفة عن الهاوسية أو الكانورية كن غير قادرات على فهم النص المكتوب. أمَّا المشاركة وإبداء الموافقة المدروسة والوصول إلى الخدمات فبدا أنه أمل مفقود لمثل هذا السياق.

وكانت الطريقة الأكثر تفضيلاً وفاعلية وهي الاتصال الشخصي المباشر أو المسموع هو ما يمكن توفيره بدعم من المترجمين الشفويين المدربين، أو الكوادر الميدانية العاملة أو المدربة من مختلف فئات النَّازحين. وبما أنَّ تمرير الرسالة عبر ترجمتها من لغة إلى أخرى لا يترك قيداً أو سجلّاً دائماً للمستمع فأفضل ما يمكن استخدامه النص البسيط المصحوب بالصور. وبالنسبة للاتصال الجماهيري لا شك بأن المذياع هو الخيار الواضح، لكنَّ بيانات المصفوفة لسوء الحظ تشير إلى أن أقل من 40 بالمائة من الأسر لديها القدرة على الوصول إلى المذياع.

الحل: البيانات والقدرات والتقانة

تمثل البيانات عنصراً محوريّاً في التغلب على تحديات الاتصال. وعلى المنظمات التي تدعم النَّازحين داخليّاً أن تعرف اللغات التي تتحدثها تلك الفئات لكي تتمكن من التواصل معهم بفاعلية. وفي الوقت الحالي، لا تتوافر هذه المعلومات كثيراً على مستوى التفصيلات المطلوبة لغايات التخطيط، وليس من السهل أبداً جمع تلك المعلومات على ذلك المستوى ولا التشارك بها.

وبفضل قدرة جمع البيانات لدى القطاع الإنساني يمكن القول إن تلك المشكلة يسهل حلها نسبيّاً. فقد كانت مصفوفة تتبع النُّزوح لدى منظمة الأمم المتحدة للهجرة (المنظمة الدولية للهجرة) تجمع بيانات اللغات في مستوى المواقع في نيجيريا منذ منتصف عام 2017 لتوفر بذلك مؤشراً عامّاً لغايات التخطيط.[4]ويمكن لاختيار استيعاب القراءة من هذا النوع الذي نفذته منظمة مترجمون بلا حدود في عام 2017 أن تغطي كثيراً من التفاصيل وأن تدخل في أعماق حالات الاستضعاف المحددة. وإذا ما كان على المنظمات الإنسانية أن تضيف أسئلة معيارية حول اللغة إلى استقصاءات تقييم حاجات الأسر، فسوف يكون من شأن ذلك تزويد معلومات أساسية للتواصل مع النَّازحين داخلياً على طول الشمال الشرقي للبلاد.

وبتلك المعلومات، يمكن للمنظمات أن تستنبط المهارات اللغوية التي تحتاج إليها لكي تقرر اللغات التي ستستخدمها وأساليب توفير المعلومات بها. ويمكن تخصيص آليات التغذية الراجعة المجتمعية حسب التفضيلات اللغوية والاتصالية لدى الأكثر استضعافاً من النَّازحين داخلياً وغيرهم ممن يصعب الوصول إليهم بمن فيهم النساء الأميات وكبار السن وذوي الإعاقة.

وفي بيئة تنخفض فيها مستويات التعليم وترتفع فيها التنوعات اللغوية كما الحال في شمال شرق نيجيريا، سوف يعتمد تقديم الخدمات اعتماداً كبيراً على توافر القدرات على الترجمة التحريرية والشفوية إلى اللغات التي لا تتوافر على مترجمين أكفياء. وسوف يحتاج كثير من المتخصصين اللغويين في اللغات الأقوى من ناحية الأرقام والتجارة أي لغتي الهاوسية والكانورية إرشاداً توجيهياً حول المصطلحات المستخدمة في الاستجابة الإنسانية وترجمتها لجمهور تكاد الأمية تطغى عليه بل غالباً ما تكون اللغة التي يتحدثون بها لغة ثانوية. وينبغي للعمال الإنسانيين أن يتعلموا السبل الأفضل للعمل مع المترجمين الشفويين وكيفية كتابة محتوى واضح بسيط لضمان أكبر حد ممكن من الاستيعاب.[5] ويمكن بناء مكتبة من المصادر وموداها باللغات الصحيحة لاستخدام مقدمي الخدمات. وفي نهاية المطاف، يمكن لتلك المكتبة أن تساهم في بناء تقانة الترجمة الآلية التي تمكن النَّازحين داخلياً من إقامة الحوارات والحصول على المعلومات التي يريدونها مباشرة. وفي غضون ذلك، سوف يكونوا قدرين على الوصول إلى الترجمات المباشرة والحصول على ترجمة آلية لكلماتهم باللغات التي يفهمها المستجيب.

وهذا النوع من جمع البيانات والتشارك بها وبناء القدرات وتطوير الموارد والتقانة يجري العمل به في نيجيريا بفضل الشراكة بين منظمة مترجمون بلا حدود ومنظمة الهجرة الدولية بتمويل من عمليات الحماية المدنية والإنسانية الأوروبية. [6]

نيجيريا دولة تعيش تنوعاً لغوياً استثنائياً وفي حالات التَّهجير القسري، نعلم أنَّ اللغة سوف تكون مشكلة وأنَّ المنظمات المستجيبة ستكون مسؤولة عن تحديد العوائق التي يواجهها النَّازحون داخلياً بسبب اللغة أو الاتصال. وعندما يظهر القلق المشروع إزاء الحماية حول تشارك المعلومات حول اللغة، مثل خطر مواجهة بعض متحدثي اللغات الأقلية للتمييز أو العنف إذا ما استخدموا لغتهم الأم في العلن، علينا أن نعثر على الطرق الكفيلة بمواجهة تلك المخاطر. ونحن إذ نحتفل بالذكرى العشرين للمبادئ التوجيهية، فقد آن الأوان للقطاع الإنساني بأن يُفعِّل البيانات القدرات والموارد والتقانة لضمان تمكين النَّازحين الداخليين من المطالبة بحقهم في المعلومات التي يمكنهم فهمها.

 

إيلي كيمپ ellie@translatorswithoutborders.org

رئيسة الاستجابة للأزمات، مترجمون بلا حدود https://translatorswithoutborders.org

 

[1] المبادئ التوجيهية متاحة الآن بـ 54 لغة: www.ohchr.org/en/issues/idpersons/pages/standards.aspx

[2] Translators without Borders (2017) Language barriers in the humanitarian response in north-eastern Nigeria

(الحواجز اللغوية في الاستجابة الإنسانية في شمال شرقي نيجيرياس)

 https://translatorswithoutborders.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/04/Language-barriers-in-the-humanitarian-response-in-north-eastern-Nigeria.pdf

[3] Translators without Borders (2017) Language profile of five IDP sites in Maiduguri, north-east Nigeria

(سمات النميط اللغوي لخمسة مواقع للنازحين الداخليين في مايدوغوري شمال شرقي نيجيريا)

https://translatorswithoutborders.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/04/Language-profile-of-five-IDP-sites-in-Maiduguri.pdf

[4] https://translatorswithoutborders.org/communications-dashboard-internally-displaced-people-in-north-east-nigeria/  

[5] انظرعلى سبيل المثال  TWB Field guide to humanitarian interpreting and cultural mediation

http://bit.ly/TWB-field-guide

[6] من خلال هذه الشراكة للعامين 2018-2019، نأمل أن نوسع دعمنا اللغوي عبر الاستجابة الإنسانية في شمال شرق نيجريا بالتعاون مع الشركاء المهتمين. يرجى التواصل مع المؤلف لمزيد من المعلومات.

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Language and the Guiding Principles

There needs to be more attention paid to the languages and communication needs of those at risk of, experiencing and recovering from internal displacement. A case-study from Nigeria brings the issues to life and challenges the international community to do better.

The role of language in upholding the rights of internally displaced people (IDPs) is very often overlooked, yet attention to language and communication is central to the Guiding Principles on Internal Displacement.[1] The Guiding Principles explicitly mention IDPs’ right to communicate in a language they understand as a component of non-discrimination (Principle 22). They also recognise the right to an education that respects the cultural identity, language and religion of the people concerned (23).

IDPs’ right to receive information in a language they understand is implied in several other principles. People should be fully informed on the reasons and procedures for their displacement and give their free and informed consent to displacement not triggered by an emergency (7b and c). And the rights to request and receive protection and humanitarian assistance (3), to return or resettle voluntarily and to participate in planning those processes (28) also cannot be met without considering language needs.

Some individuals face particular language challenges. For example, certain groups may have had fewer opportunities to learn to read, access digital technology or master a second or third language. For them, the language, format (written, graphic or audio) and channel of communication (word of mouth, paper or digital) are critical. Addressing their requirements is essential for the participation of women in planning and managing relocation measures (7d), aid delivery (18) and meeting the special needs of children, certain groups of women, and elderly and disabled people (4).

The humanitarian response to the needs of IDPs in north-east Nigeria provides a case-study on how great a barrier language can be without proper provision, and what practical steps the humanitarian community can take to overcome that barrier.[2]

Language diversity challenges in Nigeria

Imagine you are managing a programme of support to IDPs in north-east Nigeria. There are more than 500 mother tongues in the country, including 28 in Borno State alone. Most national staff are native Hausa speakers; some speak Kanuri, the dominant language of Borno and the surrounding area. Senior managers report that interviews with IDPs often entail a four-stage translation between English, Hausa, Kanuri and another local language and that they are not confident of having an accurate analysis of needs and priorities. Focus group discussions are held in Hausa and Kanuri because those are the languages your team members speak. Some IDPs cannot participate because they do not speak those languages, and staff have no way of knowing how many IDPs cannot communicate in those dominant languages.

You worry that potentially life-saving information on issues like disease prevention and eligibility for assistance is not getting through to all those who need it. Even getting information out in Hausa and Kanuri is problematic. You ask Hausa and Kanuri speakers on your team to translate key messages, and others to translate them back into English so you can check for accuracy – but that is slow. Your team trains some IDPs as community mobilisers to facilitate two-way communication in other local languages. But you have no way of checking how good their understanding of the Kanuri translation is, how accurately they render it in their own language, or whether the community mobilisers are meeting the language needs of all IDPs in each location.

You ask yourself: How easily are displaced people able to claim their right to protection and assistance? Are the most vulnerable individuals able to communicate their needs or report discrimination or abuse? If the host community and the IDPs do not speak the same language, are we unintentionally fuelling tensions between them by communicating in one rather than the other?

It is an aid worker’s nightmare. You don’t have sufficient information about the languages people speak and understand. And even if you did, you would lack the resources to communicate in those languages. You fear that you might not be fully upholding the rights set out in the Guiding Principles, despite your best intentions.

From an IDP’s perspective

The situation is frustrating for aid workers but it can be humiliating and terrifying for the IDPs themselves. Now imagine you’re an internally displaced woman in one of the camps. Like many women in north-eastern Nigeria, you have no formal education and you can’t read. You are a native speaker of Marghi, one of more than 30 languages and dialects spoken by IDPs across the area hardest hit by the conflict. This language is the mother tongue of 200,000 people but it is not used to communicate with people in the camp where you are living. You never had the chance to learn Hausa and although you understand some spoken Kanuri, you’re not confident speaking it.

You haven’t seen your husband or teenage sons since you fled your village, and you fear for their safety. You don’t know how to access information about missing persons. You worry that your house and land will have been taken over by someone else in the years since you left. You know other IDPs have received advice from a non-governmental organisation (NGO) about documenting their property ownership but they had to rely on – and pay – an educated man from the host community to interpret for them with the NGO. Other IDPs from your village are saying they might go home, even if it’s not safe. You don’t have enough reliable information about the situation back home to decide whether you should join them.

Your youngest child has a bad bout of diarrhoea. The oral rehydration salts you were given to treat him came with instructions in Hausa; you had to ask one of the young men in the camp to tell you what it said. You earn money for food by re-selling cheap goods that you buy at the nearest market, using the few words of Kanuri you know. You are afraid your children still aren’t getting enough to eat, and you’d like to ask if more help is available. But the aid workers don’t speak Marghi and you can’t read the posters they put up. 

This is the real nightmare. You’re doing what you can but you’re unsure what help you’re entitled to, and even if you knew, you can’t access it directly. You’ve never heard of the Guiding Principles; in these circumstances, you certainly can’t claim the rights they enshrine.

Language gaps

The Displacement Tracking Matrix (DTM) of the UN Migration Agency (IOM) indicates that 38% of IDPs in north-east Nigeria are not receiving information in their mother tongue. Speakers of some minority languages are particularly affected. Just 8.3% of Marghi-speaking IDPs receive information in their own language, and lack of information is reported to be a serious problem for 53% of Marghi speakers.

In July 2017, Translators without Borders (TWB) partnered with NGOs Oxfam and Girl Effect to survey a sample of camp residents and host communities to better understand their language preferences.[3] We found that IDPs speak many more languages than the primary and secondary languages reported to DTM researchers, with our survey identifying at least 10 and sometimes more than 20 mother tongues at each of the five sites.

Four out of five respondents preferred to receive information in their own language, although many could not read in that language. Since almost all information is currently provided in Hausa or Kanuri, TWB tested understanding of humanitarian messages in those languages. We found that only 23% of residents could answer a simple comprehension question on a short written text in one or other of these languages. That figure increased to 37% when a simple drawing accompanied the text. For Hausa and Kanuri, only audio messaging was effective across all population groups, at least for simple items of information. 91% of uneducated women whose mother tongue was not Hausa or Kanuri were unable to understand the written text. Participation, informed consent and access to services seem a distant prospect in such a context.

The preferred and most effective method – in-person or audio communication – can be provided with support from trained interpreters or field staff recruited and trained from among the displaced population. Because relaying audio information leaves no permanent record for the listener, it is best used in combination with simple text and graphics. For mass communication, radio is the obvious option – but unfortunately DTM data indicates fewer than 40% of households having access to radios.

Solution: data, capacity and technology

Data is key to overcoming communication challenges. Organisations supporting IDPs need to know what languages they speak in order to communicate effectively with them. At present that information is largely unavailable at the level of detail needed for planning; it is either not collected at that level or not shared.

Thanks to the data collection capacity of the humanitarian sector, that problem is relatively easy to solve. IOM’s DTM has been collecting site-level language data in Nigeria since mid-2017, providing a broad-brush indication for planning purposes.[4] Comprehension testing of the kind carried out by TWB in 2017 can fill in a lot of the detail and dig deeper into specific vulnerabilities. If humanitarian organisations were to add standard questions on language to household needs assessment surveys, this would quickly furnish basic data for communicating with IDPs right across the north-east.

With that information, organisations can work out which language skills they need to recruit for and which languages and formats they need to provide information in. Community feedback mechanisms can be tailored to the languages and communication preferences of the most vulnerable and hard-to-reach IDPs, including non-literate women, older people and people with disabilities.

In a context with low education levels and high language diversity such as north-east Nigeria, support will be needed to build translation and interpreting capacity in languages for which there are no professional translators. Many language professionals in the numerically and commercially stronger languages – Hausa and Kanuri – will need guidance on humanitarian response terminology, and on translating for an audience with low literacy skills and who are often second-language speakers. Humanitarian staff should learn how best to work with interpreters and how to write clear and simple content for the widest possible comprehension.[5] A library of resource materials can be built up in the right languages for the use of all service providers. Ultimately, that library can contribute to building the automated translation technology that will enable IDPs to have the conversations and access the information that they want directly. In time, they will be able to access instant translations and have their own words automatically translated into a language that a responder understands.

This type of data collection and sharing, capacity building and resource and technology development is already in progress for Nigeria, thanks to a partnership between TWB and IOM funded by the European Civil Protection and Humanitarian Aid Operations.[6]

Nigeria is exceptionally linguistically diverse but in other respects it is no exception. In cases of forced displacement, we know language is going to be an issue and responding organisations have a responsibility to find out what language and other communication barriers IDPs face. Where there are legitimate protection concerns about sharing information on language, such as the risk of some minority language speakers facing discrimination or violence if their mother tongue is made public, we must find ways to counter those risks. As we celebrate the 20th anniversary of the Guiding Principles, it is high time the humanitarian sector put the data, capacity, resources and technology in place to ensure that IDPs can claim their right to information they actually understand.

 

Ellie Kemp ellie@translatorswithoutborders.org
Head of Crisis Response, Translators without Borders https://translatorswithoutborders.org  

 

[1] The Guiding Principles are currently available in 54 languages:  www.ohchr.org/en/issues/idpersons/pages/standards.aspx

[2] Translators without Borders (2017) Language barriers in the humanitarian response in north-eastern Nigeria https://translatorswithoutborders.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/04/Language-barriers-in-the-humanitarian-response-in-north-eastern-Nigeria.pdf

[3] Translators without Borders (2017) Language profile of five IDP sites in Maiduguri, north-east Nigeria https://translatorswithoutborders.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/04/Language-profile-of-five-IDP-sites-in-Maiduguri.pdf

[4] https://translatorswithoutborders.org/communications-dashboard-internally-displaced-people-in-north-east-nigeria/  

[5] See, for example, TWB Field guide to humanitarian interpreting and cultural mediation 

http://bit.ly/TWB-field-guide

[6] Through this 2018–19 partnership, we hope to expand language support across the humanitarian response in north-east Nigeria in collaboration with interested partners. Please contact the author for more information.

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview