القوانين والسياسات المتعلقة بالنزوح الداخلي: التبني العالمي والثغرات

تُظهِر لنا قاعدة بيانات عالمية جديدة حول قوانين النَّازحين داخلياً، والسياسات الخاصة بهم المجالات الجغرافية والموضوعية التي ما زالت النصوص القانونية غير كافية بشأنها.

في عام 1998 أُطلقت المبادئ التوجيهية للنزوح الداخلي ثم تبعها تبنٍ واسع للصكوك الوطنية حول الأشخاص النَّازحين داخلياً، ما يعكس الاعتراف بالنزوح الداخلي على أنه ظاهرة عالمية، وقد طورت مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية لشؤون اللاجئين من أجل فريق عمل مجموعة الحماية العالمية حول القانون والسياسة قاعدة بيانات محدثة عالمية حول قوانين النَّازحين داخلياً، والسياسات الخاصة بهم وتستحوذ هذه القاعدة بمعلومات حول البلدان التي يتوافر فيها قوانين وسياسات حول النَّازحين داخلياً، أو تلك البلدان التي هي الآن في صدد بناء مثل هذه القوانين والسياسات. وقد نَقَّحت مُفَوَّضِيَّةُ الأمم المتحدة السامية لشؤون اللاجئين وراجعت قاعدة بيانات محدثة عالمية حول قوانين النازحين داخلياً والسياسات الخاصة[1] بهم وذلك من أجل فريق عمل مجموعة الحماية العالمية حول القانون والسياسة. وتستحوذ هذه القاعدة على معلومات حول البلدان التي يتوافر فيها قوانين وسياسات حول النازحين داخلياً، أو البلدان الأخرى التي هي الآن في صدد بناء مثل هذه القوانين والسياسات.

وتضم قاعدة البيانات حتى هذا التاريخ 27 قانوناً و55 سياسة[2] طورت في الفترة ما بين عام 1998 إلى عام 2018. وتُبُنِّيَ 12 قانوناً وسياسةً في تسع دول مختلفة[3] قبل عام 1998 من بينها أولى القوانين التي سُنَّت بشأن النزوح الداخلي التي تبنتها أذربيجان في عام 1992 إضافة إلى السياسة الأولى حول النزوح الداخلي التي تبنتها كولومبيا في عام 1995. لكنَّ الأثر المُحَفِّز للمبادئ التوجيهية واضح تماماً في الغالبية العظمى للقوانين والسياسات وهي 70 من أصل 82 ممن تبنتها الدول منذ عام 1998.

ورغم الانتشار العالمي لقوانين وسياسات النَّازحين داخلياً، ما زال هناك غياب كامل للقوانين والسياسات في الأماكن التي هي بأمس الحاجة لها. ولا يوجد في الشرق الأوسط سوى سياستين للنُّزوح الداخلي، الأولى في العراق (2008) والأخرى في اليمن (2013)، مع أنَّ تلك المنطقة واحدة من أكثر المناطق تأثراً بموجات النُّزوح الداخلي الجديدة نتيجة النزاع والعنف. أما غالبية موجات النزوح الجديدة الناتجة عن الكوارث الطبيعية في عام 2017، فقد حدثت في قارة آسيا إلا أن تلك المنطقة مع أنَّها تحتوي على 15 قانوناً وسياسة حول النزوح الداخلي لا يوجد سوى سبعة منها تشير إشارة محددة للكوارث الطبيعية. وإضافة إلى ذلك، رغم أنَّ قارة أوقيانوسيا واحدة من المناطق الأكثر تأثُراً بالنزوح الناتج عن الكوارث الطبيعية فوحدها دولة فانواتو تبنت سياسة محددة حول النزوح الداخلي.

ومعظم القوانين والسياسات المسجلة في قاعدة البيانات العالمية (إذ حللت 73 من أصل 80 منها)[4] تحدد النزاع و/أو العنف على أنَّه سبب رئيسي للنزوح الداخلي لكنَّ 30 منها فقط يعالج مسألة التَّهجير الناتج من العمليات الإنمائية. ومن ذلك سياستان تبنتهما حكومة الهند في عامي 2004 و 2007 وترتبطان ارتباطاً حصرياً بهذا السبب من أسباب النزوح. إضافة إلى ذلك، لا تقر أكثر من ثلث هذه القوانين والسياسات (29) بالكوارث مع أن الكارثة كانت المحرك الرئيسي لموجات النزوح الجديدة في عام 2017.

إلاَّ أن مشكلة محدودية عدد الصكوك الوطنية التي تتعامل مع الكوارث الطبيعية تخف وطأتها بازدياد عدد القوانين والسياسات التي وإن لم تكن محصورة على معالجة النزوح الداخلي فهي تتضمن أحكاماً ونصوصاً قانونية حول النزوح الناتج عن الكوارث الطبيعية. ومثال ذلك الصين التي شهدت أكبر عدد من موجات النزوح الجديدة بسبب الكوارث الطبيعية في العالم (وصل عدد النَّازحين الداخليين قرابة 4.5 مليون شخصٍ في عام 2017) فقد تبنت الصين قانون منع الكوارث والاستجابة[5] تضمن أحكاماً حول مساعدة الأشخاص في المناطق المتأثرة بالكوارث، وإعادة نقلهم إلى أماكن أخرى.

الثغرات وتحديات التنفيذ

أكثر مرحلة تعالجها القوانين والسياسات المسجلة في قاعدة بيانات العالمية هي مرحلة ما بعد التَّهجير والنزوح. إذ إنَّ 73 من أصل 80 قانوناً وسياسة حُلِّلَت تعالج مسألة مرحلة ما بعد التهجير بما فيها 25 صكاً ينظر حصراً في القضايا المتعلقة بالعودة والانتقال وإعادة التوطين أو أي عنصرٍ منها. ويتضح ذلك على سبيل المثال في حالة سيريلانكا من خلال سياستها الوطنية للحلول الدائمة إزاء النزوح المتأثر بالنزاع إذ تنظر تلك السياسة في خيار عودة النَّازحين داخلياً أو نقلهم إلى أماكن أخرى أو إدماجهم محلياً.

وإضافة إلى ذلك، تبين أنّ الغالبية العظمى (55) من القوانين والسياسات المحللة التي بلغ عددها 80 صكاً تحتوي على أحكام تتعلق ’بالحماية والمساعدة‘، في حين أنَّ ما لا يزيد على ثلث هذه القوانين والسياسات المحللة تعالج مرحلة ما قبل التَّهجير والنزوح، وتشير في نصوصها إشارة محددة إلى منع التَّهجير القسري وتجنبه أو خفض آثار التَّهجير والنزوح الذي لا يمكن تفاديه إلى أقصى درجة ممكنة. ومثال ذلك كولومبيا، فهي واحدة من أولى الدول التي تصدت لموضوع الحماية من التَّهجير والنزوح، فهناك مادة كاملة في قانونها الأول حول النزوح الداخلي (القانون 387 لعام 1997) وتلك المادة مكرسة بالكامل لمنع التَّهجير القسري.

ولا بد أن تتوافر الدول على الإرادة السياسية والقدرة والمصادر أيضاً إذا ما أريد لها أن تتبنى في قوانينها وسياساتها ما يرتبط بالنَّازحين داخلياً ومنع النزوح الداخلي والاستجابة له، وتنفيذ تلك الصكوك. وقد وصلت بعض عمليات صناعة السياسات تقريباً إلى طريقٍ مسدود كما الحال في جمهورية أفريقيا الوسطى وجمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية، أمَّا في أماكن أخرى من العالم فنجد أنَّ الحكومات مثل حكومة فيجي وهندوراس ومالي والنيجر تعمل قدما في عملية تطوير قانون أو سياسة حول النزوح الداخلي. وتطوير هذه القوانين والسياسات المتعلقة بالنزوح الداخلي أمر مهم جداً وأساسي في ضمان حقوق النَّازحين داخلياً وخفض التَّهجير مع أنَّ التنفيذ ما زال واحداً من أكبر التحديات الباقية أمامها.[6]

إيلانا نيكولاو Ileana.Nicolau@EUI.eu

مرشحة لنيل درجة الدكتوراه، معهد الجامعة الأوروبية، فلورنسا

www.eui.eu

أناييس پاغو pagot@unhcr.org

مسؤول قانوني مشارك، المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين

www.unhcr.org

[1] طوَّر النسخة السابقة مركز رصد النُّزوح الداخلي www.internal-displacement.org/law-and-policy أما النُّسخَة المُنَقَّحَة والمُحَدَّثَة فتستضيفها مجموعة الحماية العالمية: www.globalprotectioncluster.org

[2] لأغراض قاعدة البيانات، نعرف القانون على أنه "منظومة القواعد التي تُصدِرُها الحكومة لتنظم من خلالها الحقوق والواجبات المناطة بأفراد المجتمع، والتي تعترف بها رسمياً على أنها مُلزِمة وتنفذها من خلال سلطة إنفاذ القانون المعنية." أمَّا السياسة، فنعرِفها على أنها "الدليل الإرشادي الذي يحدد الأهداف العامة للحكومة (أو جزءاً منها) بالإضافة إلى الطرق والإجراءات المتبعة لتحقيق تلك الأهداف. ولإدراج قانون أو سياسة ما في قاعدة البيانات هذه، يجب أن يكون ذلك القانون أو تلك السياسة متعلقة بالتحديد بموضوع النزوح الداخلي.

[3] على التوالي: أذربيجان، والبوسنة والهرسك، وكولومبيا، وكرواتيا، وجورجيا والجبل الأسود، وبيرو، والاتحاد الروسي، وطاجاكستان.

[4] لم يُحلَّل سوى 8  من أصل 82 قانوناً وسياسة جُمِعَت في قاعدة البيانات العالمية. وسوف تتاح التحليلات الإضافية قريباً جداً.

[5] يُصَنَّف هذا الصك القانوني ضمن بند ’الصكوك ذات الصلة الأخرى‘ في قاعدة البيانات العالمية.

[6] انظر مقالة أورتشارد في هذا العدد.

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Laws and policies on internal displacement: global adoption and gaps

A new Global Database on IDP Laws and Policies reveals the areas – both geographical and topical – in which provision remains insufficient.

The launch of the Guiding Principles on Internal Displacement in 1998 was followed by the growing adoption of national instruments on internally displaced persons (IDPs), reflecting the recognition of internal displacement as a global phenomenon. Revised and updated by the UN Refugee Agency (UNHCR) for the Global Protection Cluster Task Team on Law and Policy, the Global Database on IDP Laws and Policies[1] captures information on countries which have IDP laws and policies or are in the process of developing such laws and policies.

The database to date contains 27 laws and 55 policies[2] developed between 1992 and 2018. Twelve laws and policies had been adopted in nine different countries[3] before 1998; these include one of the first laws on internal displacement, endorsed by Azerbaijan in 1992, and the first policy on internal displacement, adopted by Colombia in 1995. However, the catalytic effect of the Guiding Principles is evident in the vast majority of laws and policies – 70 of a total 82 – having been adopted since 1998.

Notwithstanding the global spread of IDP laws and policies, there still seems to be a lack of laws and policies where they are most needed. There are only two policies on internal displacement in the Middle East, one in Iraq (2008) and another in Yemen (2013), yet this is one of the regions most affected by new displacements caused by conflict and violence. The majority of new displacement caused by disasters in 2017 took place in Asia but while the region has 15 laws and policies on internal displacement, only seven of them make specific reference to disasters. Furthermore, despite the fact that Oceania is one of the areas most affected by disaster-induced displacement, only Vanuatu has adopted a specific policy on internal displacement.

Almost all the laws and policies recorded in the Global Database – 73 of the 80  analysed[4] – identify conflict and/or violence as a cause of internal displacement but only 30 address development-induced displacement. This includes two policies adopted by the Government of India in 2004 and 2007 that relate exclusively to this cause of displacement. Additionally, only one third of all laws and policies (29) recognise disasters, although this was the main driver of new displacement in 2017.

The limited number of national instruments addressing disasters is, however, mitigated by an increasing number of laws and policies that, although not exclusively addressing internal displacement, do include provisions on disaster-induced displacement. For example, China, which has the highest number of new displacements caused by natural disasters in the world (almost 4.5 million in 2017), adopted in 2001 the Disaster Prevention and Response Act,[5] which contains provisions related to the assistance and relocation of people from disaster-affected areas.

Gaps and implementation challenges

The phase most addressed by the laws and policies recorded in the Global Database is the post-displacement phase. Seventy-three of the 80 laws and policies analysed address post-displacement, including 25 that exclusively consider issues related to return, relocation and/or resettlement. This is illustrated, for example, by Sri Lanka’s National Policy on Durable Solutions for Conflict-Affected Displacement, which envisions IDPs returning, relocating or locally integrating.

Moreover, while the vast majority (55) of the 80 laws and policies analysed have provisions on ‘protection and assistance’, only one third (29) of all laws and policies analysed address the pre-displacement phase, making specific provisions to prevent and avoid forced displacement or to minimise the effects of unavoidable displacement. Colombia, for example, is one of the first countries to have addressed protection from displacement: an entire section of its first law on internal displacement (Law 387 of 1997) is devoted to the prevention of forced displacement. 

States require political will, capacity and resources to adopt and implement their laws and policies relating to IDPs and to prevent or respond to internal displacement. Some policy-making processes have come almost to a standstill, such as in the Central African Republic and in the Democratic Republic of Congo; elsewhere, governments such as those of Fiji, Honduras, Mali and Niger are working through the process of developing a law or policy on internal displacement. This development of laws and policies on internal displacement is essential to guaranteeing IDPs’ rights and reducing displacement, although implementation is one of the biggest remaining challenges.[6]

 

Ileana Nicolau Ileana.Nicolau@EUI.eu
PhD candidate, European University Institute, Florence

www.eui.eu

Anaïs Pagot pagot@unhcr.org
Associate Legal Officer, UNHCR

www.unhcr.org

 

[1] The previous version was developed by IDMC: www.internal-displacement.org/law-and-policy; the revised and updated version is hosted by the Global Protection Cluster: www.globalprotectioncluster.org.

[2] For the purpose of the Database, a law is defined as “the system of rules issued by a government that regulates and prescribes the rights and obligations of the members of a community, formally recognised as binding and enforced by the relevant authority”. A policy is defined as “a guideline that outlines the main goals of a government (or part of it) as well as the methods and the actions to achieve them”. Laws and policies must be specifically on internal displacement to be included.

[3] Respectively: Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Colombia, Croatia, Georgia, Montenegro, Peru, the Russian Federation and Tajikistan.

[4] Only 80 of the 82 laws and policies gathered in the Global Database were analysed. Additional analysis will soon be available.

[5] This instrument is categorised under ‘Other Relevant Instruments’ in the Global Database.

[6] See Orchard article in this issue.

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview