تنفيذ المبادئ التوجيهية على المستوى المحلي

هناك أمثلة من عدد الدول التي نجحت في تنفيذ قوانينها الخاصة بها بشأن النَّازحين داخلياً وسياساتها، وتعكس هذه الأمثلة وجود عدد من العوامل التي يمكن أن تساعد في ضمان فاعلية التنفيذ.

ابتداءً بمنتصف عام 2017، أدخلت 40 دولة ممن واجهت مشكلة النُّزوح الداخلي حوالي 69 صكاً تشريعيّاً محليّاً وسياسةً (وحَدَّثَت السياسات الأقل شأناً أو أحدثت تعديلات عليها).[i]ويتبين للمتصفح لهذه القوانين والسياسات وجود قبول واضح بأن النَّازحين داخليّاً يحتاجون إلى نوع من الحماية الدولية. ومع ذلك، لا تذكر سوى 30 قانوناً وسياسة موضوع المبادئ التوجيهية صراحة، أمَّا عن تعريف المبادئ التوجيهية للنَّازحين فلا يتبناها صراحة إلاَّ 19 قانوناً. وقد أثيرت المخاوف منذ أمد بعيد حول مدى نجاح إدخال القوانين والسياسات المتعلقة بالنُّزوح الداخلي على المستوى المحلي، وما زال مشهد التنفيذ مختلطاً.[ii]

وهناك عدد أقل من ثلث القوانين والسياسات ممن نُفِّذَ دون مواجهة مشكلات كبيرة.[iii]وهكذا، على سبيل المثال، مع أنَّ السياسة الوطنية في اليمن لعام 2013 لمواجهة النُّزوح الداخلي تذكر إشارات مرجعية إلى المبادئ التوجيهية وتنص على أهداف واضحة للحماية، تبقى مشكلة عدم وجود القدرات الحكومية على التنفيذ أمراً معيقاً لتلك السياسة نظراً لاستمرار الحرب الأهلية في اليمن، ويعني ذلك أنَّ الحكومة لا يمكنها فعل الشيء الكثير لتنفيذ هذه السياسة فيما وراء تسهيل عمل الجهات الفاعلة الإنسانية الدولية.

وهناك أحد عشر قانوناً وسياسة لم تنفذ إطلاقاً فإما أنها بقيت في صيغتها المسودة لسنوات عدة (مثل مشروع قانون النَّازحين الداخليين الذي سنته حكومة جمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية لعام 2014، لكنه ما زال عالقاً في مرحلة المراجعة)، أو ربما كانت هذه القوانين لا تعكس إلاَّ المطالب الطموحة التي لم تكن الحكومة قادرة أو راغبة في تنفيذها. ففي نيبال على سبيل المثال، أبدت الحكومة التزامات مبدئية قوية بعد وقف إطلاق النار عام 2006 وتبع ذلك إدخال سياسة للنَّازحين لقيت ثناءً وترحيباً من المجتمع الدولي على أنها سياسة شاملة. لكنها لم تحصل على الموافقة الرسمية من مجلس الوزراء النيبالي الذي يقال إنه "يفتقر إلى الإرادة السياسية" اللازمة لاتخاذ الإجراءات المطلوبة حول هذا الموضوع.[iv]

وفي حالات أخرى، كان هناك سياسات نشطة وجيدة في السابق لكنها جميعاً أُحبطت. وهكذا، مع أنَّ بروندي أسست سلسلة من التدابير الرامية إلى مساعدة النَّازحين داخليّاً عقب نهاية الحرب الأهلية في عام 2000 بدرجات متنوعة من النجاح، وقفت الحكومة مكتوفة الأيدي خلال السنوات الثلاث الماضية إزاء الاستجابة إلى التدفقات الجديدة من النَّازحين الداخليين نتيجة تصعيد العنف وانتشار الانتهاكات الجسيمة لحقوق الإنسان على يد الحكومة.[v]

وفي بعض الحالات، هناك إخفاقات في جوانب التنفيذ للقانون أو السياسة. ففي حين تحدد حكومة العراق في سياستها الوطنية لعام 2008 حول النُّزوح الدعم المطلوب لمختلف الحلول الدائمة للنَّازحين بما في ذلك العودة والاندماج المحلي، وإعادة التوطين، ما زالت هناك تقارير تتحدث عن حالات من الإرغام على العودة.[vi] وفي أوكرانيا، ما زالت عملية تسجيل النَّازحين داخلياً موضوعاً إشكاليّاً رغم التخوفات الدولية، فما زالت الحكومة تطلب إلى النَّازحين داخليّاً أن يؤكدوا على الدوام مكان إقامتهم الفعلي.

ما سبب إخفاق التنفيذ؟

هناك ثلاثة تفسيرات لإخفاق التنفيذ. أولها يحدث عندما تلتزم حكومة ما بالمعايير التي تجسدها المبادئ التوجيهية لكنها تعجز فيما بعد عن المضي قدماً في عملية التنفيذ. وقد يعود ذلك إلى عدم وجود القدرة لدى الدولة، بمعنى أن تفتقر الحكومة للموارد المالية والعملية الرمزية الضرورية، وقد يحدث ذلك أيضاً بسبب وجود معارضة محلية ضمن دوائر الحكومة وخارجها.

أمَّا السبب الثاني لإخفاق التنفيذ فيعود إلى أنَّ العوامل الأساسية التي تدفع الحكومات محكومة بالمخاوف إزاء السمعة فتقرر حينئذ إبداء التزام استراتيجي خطابي للمبادئ التوجيهية دون أن يكون لديها أي خطة لمتابعة التزاماتها من خلال التنفيذ.

وأخيراً قد تكون الدول في وضع الاستجابة لجهود كسب التأييد والمناصرة من المنظمات الدولية وغير الحكومية. وقد تُقنِع هذه المشاركة المؤسسية الخارجية الحكومات بإنشاء سياسات أو قوانين وإلاَّ لما اتخذت الحكومة أي إجراء وعندما يتوقف فرض الضغوط عليها فذلك يؤدي إلى تراخيها وعدم متابعتها في عملية التنفيذ.

ولسوء الحظ، لا يبدو أنَّ مشاركة الجهات الفاعلة الدولية في صياغة القوانين ورسم السياسات ذات أثر كبير في إحداث فرق لناحية التنفيذ فقد شاركت بعض الجهات الفاعلة مثل مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية لشؤون اللاجئين ومجلس اللاجئين النرويجي في عملية الصياغة لـ33 قانوناً وسياسةً. وثبت أنَّ هذه الجهود أنتجت أقوى السياسات الممكنة على الورق، ولا شك في أنها تعكس المبادئ التوجيهية، ومرة أخرى نجد أن مشهد التنفيذ لم يكن بذلك الوضوح. ومن بين القوانين والسياسات التي بلغ مجموعها 33 صكاً أُعد بمثل هذه المساعدة لم ينقل منها إلاَّ 13 صكّاً إلى وضع التنفيذ، وهناك عدد مماثل لها يواجه مشكلات وصعوبات كبيرة في التنفيذ. في حين لم تنفذ سبعة منها على الإطلاق.

فعلى سبيل المثال، وصفت السياسة الوطنية للنَّازحين داخلياً لعام 2013 في أفغانستان على أنها صك محوري ومَعلَمٌ في ألطريق أسَّسَ لإطار عام شامل لحقوق النَّازحين داخليا.[vii]وصيغت هذه السياسة بمساعدة قدمتها كثير من الجهات الدولية للحكومة منها مفوضية الأمم المتحدة السامية لشؤون اللاجئين، ومكتب الأمم المتحدة لتنسيق الشئون الإنسانية، والمجلس النرويجي للاجئين، ومنظمة الأمم المتحدة للهجرة (المنظمة الدولية للهجرة)، لكنَّ تنفيذها ما زال إشكالية كبيرة لثلاثة أسباب. أهمها وأكثرها حساسية استمرار العمليات المسلحة لطالبان. لكنَّ وزارة اللاجئين والعائدين التي أُنيط بها الدور الرئيس في تنفيذ السياسة تفتقر إلى الموارد والقدرات والرغبة السياسية. أمَّا السبب الثاني، فمع أنَّ كثيراً من النَّازحين الداخليين عبَّروا عن اهتمامهم في الاندماج محلياً، ما زالت هناك مشكلات كبيرة حول حقوق الأراضي التي انعكست على ظهور معارضة كبيرة جداً على المستويين الإقليمي والمحلي، وهكذا لم يحرز أي تقدم يذكر نحو الوصول إلى خطط العمل الفعلية.

ما العوامل التي تقود إلى إنجاح التنفيذ؟

عبر الدول التي نفذت قوانينها وسياستها الخاصة بالنَّازحين داخلياً بنجاح يتضح لنا ثلاثة عوامل منها:

أولها ولا غرابة في ذلك أنّ إنجاح التنفيذ يرتبط بقوة القدرات التي تتمتع بها الدولة. ففي أذربيجان، انتقلت الاستجابة الأساسية الضعيفة بعد أن أقرت الحكومة أن النَّازحين داخلياً يرجح أن يبقوا في وضع التَّهجير في الأمد البعيد. وهكذا، بدأت الحكومة منذ عام 2001 بالعمل بنشاط على تحسين إطارها التشريعي من أجل أن تضمن تمَكُّن النَّازحين داخلياً من تلقي المساعدة والسكن بعيد الأمد ملتزمة بمبلغ 5.5 مليار دولار أمريكي من صندوق نفط الدولة. لكنَّ مثل هذه الجهود لا تتطلب بالضرورة مصادر محلية كبيرة. فقد تمكنت ليبيريا من بناء قدراتها بالتعاون الوثيق مع هيئات المساعدة الدولية لدعم جهود العودة الفعالة. وبالمثل، قادت سيراليون إستراتيجية فعالة للعودة بمساعدة بناة السلام في البلاد.

وثانياً هناك موضوع المساءلة أمام المؤسسات المحلية، وعلى الأخص منها المحاكم وهو من العوامل الحرجة والحساسة. وهكذا نرى المحكمة الدستورية الكولومبية وقد أحرزت تقدماً ملموساً في هذا المجال إذ أصدرت حكماً مفاده وجوب إدخال المبادئ التوجيهية كجزء لا يتجزأ من الكتلة الدستورية.[viii] وذلك ما منح المحكمة القوة على توجيه النقد للحكومة إذا ما أخفقت في إنفاذ التشريع الحالي أو عند عدم فعالية تنفيذها للسياسة. وبالمثل، بعد أن سجلت الحكومة الجورجية إخفاقات أولية في الاستجابة لوضع النُّزوح الداخلي فيها دفعت المحكمة الدستورية الجورجية الحكومة نحو تعديل قوانينها بما يتواءم وينسجم مع المبادئ التوجيهية.[ix]

وثالثاً هناك المساءلة أمام السكان المحليين التي يمكن أن تدفع عملية التنفيذ نحو الأمام. ففي كل من جورجيا وسريلانكا، تحسنت جهود التنفيذ تحسناً كبيراً جداً بعد إحداث تغييرات في الحكومة إحداها كان عن طريق الثورة، والآخر عن طريق الاقتراع والانتخاب. كما أنَّ المساءلة على المستوى الدولي يمكن أن تكون عاملاً جيداً وقوياً. ففي حالة كرواتيا، مارست الجهات الفاعلة الدولية بما فيها الاتحاد الأوربي الضغوط على الدولة لإنهاء الممارسات التمييزية التي تمارسها إزاء النَّازحين الداخليين من ذوي العرقية الصربية.

وهناك دور للفاعلين الدوليين لدعم هذه الجهود وتحسين معدلات إنجاح تنفيذ هذه الصكوك. وقد تتضمن الخطوات المطلوبة توفير المساعدة للحكومات للتأكد من أنها تتمتع بالقدرة اللازمة على تنفيذ هذه الصكوك، وقد يتضمن ذلك تحديث الوزارات الرئيسية القائدة والداعمة، وضمان تلقي المسؤولين الحكوميين للتدريب على القوانين والسياسات الجديدة. وينبغي للجهات الفاعلة الدولية أيضاً أن تحدد برامج التدريب وتدعمها لإفادة المؤسسات المستقلة المحلية مثل المحاكم، ومؤسسات حقوق الإنسان الوطنية التي يمكن بدورها أن تدعم تنفيذ القوانين والسياسات، وأن تمارس دور الضابط الرقابي للمسألة في هذه العملية.

فيل أورتشارد orchardp@uow.edu.au

بروفيسور مشارك في العلاقات الدولية، جامعة وولونغونغ https://lha.uow.edu.au/hsi/contacts/UOW244088

[i] انظر مقالة نيكولاو وباغوت في هذا العدد.

[ii] بنيت هذه المقالة على كتاب سيصدر قريباً للمؤلف بعنوان: Protecting the Internally Displaced: Rhetoric and Reality (Routledge)

(حماية النَّازحين داخلياً: بين الخطاب البلاغي والواقع العملي)

www.routledge.com/Protecting-the-Internally-Displaced-Rhetoric-and-Reality/Orchard/p/book/9781138799226

[iii] بُنِيَت النتائج على دراسة مكتبية شملت الدول الأربعين بناءً على البيانات المتاحة العامة من مختلف المنظمات.

[iv] Wyckoff M and Sharma H (2009) Trekking in Search of IDPs and Other Lessons from ICLA Nepal: Evaluation Report Norwegian Refugee Council Evaluation Report 45–6

(الترحل بحثاً عن النَّازحين داخلياً وغيرها من الدروس من منظمة المشورة والمساعدة القانونية-نيبال: تقرير التقييم)

www.nrc.no/globalassets/pdf/evaluations/icla_nepal_nrc-113211.pdf

[v] United Nations Human Rights Council ‘Report of the United Nations Independent Investigation on Burundi’, 20 September 2016, A/HRC/33/37, 19

(’تقرير التحقيق المستقل للأمم المتحدة حول بوروندي‘)

www.ohchr.org/EN/HRBodies/HRC/RegularSessions/Session33/Documents/A_HRC_33_37_E_AUV_.docx

[vi] International Rescue Committee, Norwegian Refugee Council and Danish Refugee Council (2018) The Long Road Home: Achieving Durable Solutions to Displacement in Iraq: Lessons from Returns in Anbar

(بيت طويلة طريقه: تحقيق الحلول المستدامة للنُّزوح في العراق: دروس من رويترز في الأنبار)

reliefweb.int/sites/reliefweb.int/files/resources/thelongroadhomefinal28022018_0.pdf

[vii] IDMC (2014) ‘Hope on the Horizon! Media Guide to Afghanistan’s National Policy on Internal Displacement

(’أمل يلوح على الأفق‘، الدليل الإعلامي للسياسة الوطنية لأفغانستان حول النُّزوح الداخلي)

www.internal-displacement.org/publications/hope-on-the-horizon

[viii] IDMC ‘Law and Policy Database: Colombia’

(’قاعدة بيانات القوانين والسياسات: كولومبيا‘)

www.internal-displacement.org/law-and-policy/country/CO

[ix] Public Defender of Georgia (2013) Human Rights Situation of Internally Displaced Persons and Conflict Affected Individuals in Georgia

(وضع حقوق الإنسان للنَّازحين داخليا والأفراد المتأثرين بالنِّزاع في جورجيا )

http://chca.org.ge/_FILES/2017/10/25/f6bdb4649ed8d8c1bd41bc86e1d19b637c87bffcd06f0a67a4138e0d046ce856.pdf

إخلاء مسؤولية

جميع الآراء الواردة في نشرة الهجرة القسرية لا تعكس بالضرورة آراء المحررين ولا آراء مركز دراسات اللاجئين أو جامعة أكسفورد.

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview

Implementing the Guiding Principles at the domestic level

Examples from a number of States who have successfully implemented their own IDP laws and policies reveal several factors that can assist effective implementation.

As of mid-2017, 40 States which have experienced internal displacement had introduced some 69 domestic legislative instruments and policies (omitting minor policies and amendments).[1] Across these laws and policies there is clear acceptance that internally displaced persons (IDPs) require some form of international protection. However, only 30 laws and policies explicitly mention the Guiding Principles, and only 19 explicitly endorse the IDP definition that the Guiding Principles contain. Concerns have long been raised around how successful the introduction of laws and policies on internal displacement has been at the domestic level, and the implementation picture remains mixed.[2]

Fewer than a third of laws and policies have been implemented without significant difficulties.[3] Thus, for example, while Yemen’s 2013 national policy for addressing internal displacement references the Guiding Principles and includes clear protection goals, a lack of government capacity – in the face of the ongoing civil war – has meant the government can do little to implement it beyond facilitating the work of international humanitarian actors.

Eleven of the laws or policies have never been implemented at all, either remaining in draft form for years (like the Government of the Democratic Republic of Congo’s draft IDP law of 2014, which is stalled at the review stage) or simply reflecting aspirational claims which a government was unable or unwilling to follow. In Nepal, for example, strong initial commitments by the government following the 2006 ceasefire led to the introduction of an IDP policy hailed as comprehensive by the international community. However, it has never been formally approved by the Nepalese Cabinet who, it has been suggested, “lacked political will” to take action on the issue.[4]

In other cases, previously robust policies are allowed to falter. Thus, while Burundi had established a series of measures to assist IDPs following the end of the civil war in 2000 (measures which have met with varying success), in the past three years the government has done nothing to respond to new IDP flows triggered by escalating violence and by gross human rights violations by the government.[5]

In some cases, there are failures in implementing aspects of a law or policy. The Government of Iraq’s 2008 National Policy on Displacement outlines support for varied durable solutions for IDPs, including return, local integration, and resettlement, but there are reports of coercion and forcible returns.[6] In Ukraine, the IDP registration process remains problematic in spite of international concerns and requires IDPs to constantly confirm their actual place of residence.

Why does implementation fail?

There are three explanations for the failure of implementation. The first is where a government commits to the norms embodied within the Guiding Principles but is unable to move forward in the implementation process. This may be due to a lack of State capacity, whereby the government lacks the necessary financial, practical and symbolic resources, and may also occur due to domestic opposition from within and outside the government.

The second reason for implementation failure is where governments driven primarily by reputational concerns decide to make a strategic rhetorical commitment to the Guiding Principles but have no plan to follow through on implementation.

Finally, States may be responding to advocacy efforts from international and non-governmental organisations. This external institutional engagement may persuade governments to create policies or laws where they otherwise may not have taken action; without further pressure, however, there will be little follow-through implementation.

Unfortunately, the involvement of international actors in the drawing up of laws and policies does not appear to make a significant difference to their implementation. Actors including the UN Refugee Agency (UNHCR) and the Norwegian Refugee Council (NRC) have been involved in the drafting process of 33 of these laws and policies. Such efforts have a record of producing the strongest policies on paper, most closely reflecting the Guiding Principles, yet here, too, the implementation picture is less clear. Only 13 of the 33 laws and policies drafted with such assistance have been robustly implemented and an equal number have had significant implementation difficulties. Seven have not been implemented at all.

For example, Afghanistan’s 2013 National Policy on Internally Displaced Persons was described as a landmark instrument which established a comprehensive framework of rights for IDPs.[7] In drafting the policy the government was assisted by a range of international actors including UNHCR, the UN Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs, NRC and the UN Migration Agency (IOM), yet its implementation has been very problematic for three reasons. Most critical is the ongoing Taliban insurgency. At the same time, however, the Ministry of Refugees and Repatriation, tasked with leading policy implementation, lacks resources, capacity and political clout. Finally, while many IDPs have expressed interest in integrating locally, issues over land rights have meant that there is significant opposition at the provincial and local levels and little movement forward on action plans.

What factors lead to successful implementation?

Across those States that have successfully implemented their own IDP laws and policies, three factors are clear. First, and unsurprisingly, successful implementation is linked to strong State capacity. In Azerbaijan, an initially weak response shifted as the government recognised that IDPs were likely to remain displaced in the long term. Starting in 2001, the government worked actively to improve its legislative framework to ensure that IDPs were able to receive assistance and long-term housing, committing up to US$5.5 billion from the State Oil Fund. But such efforts do not necessarily require significant domestic resources. Liberia was able to build its capacity in close cooperation with international aid agencies in order to support an effective return effort. Sierra Leone similarly led an effective return strategy with the assistance of peacekeepers in the country.

Second, accountability to other domestic institutions, most notably the courts, is also critical. The Colombian Constitutional Court has gone so far as to rule that the Guiding Principles should “form part of the constitutional block”.[8] This has given the court the power to criticise the government for failing to enforce existing legislation and for ineffective implementation of policy. Similarly, after initial failures to respond to its own internal displacement situation, the Georgian Constitutional Court has pushed the government to bring its laws in line with the Guiding Principles.[9]

Third, accountability to the domestic population can also drive the implementation process. In both Georgia and Sri Lanka, implementation efforts significantly improved after changes in government, one through revolution, the other through election. Accountability at the international level can also be a significant factor. In the case of Croatia, international actors including the European Union put pressure on the State to end discriminatory practices towards ethnic Serbian IDPs.

There is a role for international actors to support these processes and improve the rates of successful implementation of such instruments. Steps may include providing assistance to governments to ensure that they have the capacity to implement these instruments; this may involve identifying and supporting lead ministries and ensuring that government officials receive training on the new laws and policies. International actors should also identify and support training programmes for independent domestic institutions such as courts and national human rights institutions that can support law and policy implementation and serve as accountability checks on the process.

 

Phil Orchard orchardp@uow.edu.au 
Associate Professor of International Relations, University of Wollongong https://lha.uow.edu.au/hsi/contacts/UOW244088

 

[1] See article by Nicolau and Pagot in this issue.

[2] This article draws on the author’s forthcoming book Protecting the Internally Displaced: Rhetoric and Reality (Routledge) www.routledge.com/Protecting-the-Internally-Displaced-Rhetoric-and-Reality/Orchard/p/book/9781138799226

[3] Findings are based on a desk study across the 40 States based on publicly available data from a range of organisations.

[4] Wyckoff M and Sharma H (2009) Trekking in Search of IDPs and Other Lessons from ICLA Nepal: Evaluation Report Norwegian Refugee Council Evaluation Report 45–6 www.nrc.no/globalassets/pdf/evaluations/icla_nepal_nrc-113211.pdf

[5] United Nations Human Rights Council ‘Report of the United Nations Independent Investigation on Burundi’, 20 September 2016, A/HRC/33/37, 19

www.ohchr.org/EN/HRBodies/HRC/RegularSessions/Session33/Documents/A_HRC_33_37_E_AUV_.docx

[6] International Rescue Committee, Norwegian Refugee Council and Danish Refugee Council (2018) The Long Road Home: Achieving Durable Solutions to Displacement in Iraq: Lessons from Returns in Anbar reliefweb.int/sites/reliefweb.int/files/resources/thelongroadhomefinal28022018_0.pdf

[7] IDMC (2014) Hope on the Horizon! Media Guide to Afghanistan’s National Policy on Internal Displacement www.internal-displacement.org/publications/hope-on-the-horizon

[8] IDMC ‘Law and Policy Database: Colombia’ www.internal-displacement.org/law-and-policy/country/CO  

[9] Public Defender of Georgia (2013) Human Rights Situation of Internally Displaced Persons and Conflict Affected Individuals in Georgia 

http://chca.org.ge/_FILES/2017/10/25/f6bdb4649ed8d8c1bd41bc86e1d19b637c87bffcd06f0a67a4138e0d046ce856.pdf

Disclaimer
Opinions in FMR do not necessarily reflect the views of the Editors, the Refugee Studies Centre or the University of Oxford.
Copyright
FMR is an Open Access publication. Users are free to read, download, copy, distribute, print or link to the full texts of articles published in FMR and on the FMR website, as long as the use is for non-commercial purposes and the author and FMR are attributed. Unless otherwise indicated, all articles published in FMR in print and online, and FMR itself, are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs (CC BY-NC-ND) licence. Details at www.fmreview.org/copyright.

 

 

facebook logo Twitter logo RSS logo email.png

Forced Migration Review
Refugee Studies Centre
Oxford Department of International Development
University of Oxford
3 Mansfield Road, Oxford OX1 3TB, UK
fmr@qeh.ox.ac.uk  +44 (0)1865 281700
skype: fmreview